Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BBHP 

25th August 2017:
I actually really like Edie. She seems to have that chip on her she shoulder, trying to make the best out of her situation sort of attitude which combined with her snarky, witty personality is excellent to read. I might have missed it, but which house was she in? Gryffindor I'm assuming, since she's friends with Dean and Seamus, but right now, Edie almost seems like such a Slytherin!

 Report Review

Review #2, by onestop_hpfan18 

14th August 2016:
The way Edie is going to sneakily record the interview reminded me so much of Rita Skeeter. And it made me cringe at the thought. Something about all this just leaves a knot in my stomach, like it's all going to blow up when (a big 'IF') Oliver actually reads all the articles in the end. He's a private person and I don't think he'll take kindly to his personal life being aired out to the public so freely. I'm so nervous with where all this is leading.

Author's Response: URRGHH yes the secretly-recorded interview! Another aspect that really just needs to go. Like, of course Oliver knows she's going to be recording him, it's an *interview*. If he genuinely presented this to her as a date and she went against him, this would make sense. Or even better: if he was terrible at communicating as per Oliver's usual self, and he was trying to ask her out, but she is oblivious as per Edie's usual self, and just *thought* it was an interview...

That would be better.

Honestly, bless you for making it past the first like 10 chapters of this fic, sometimes the writing quality is really embarrassing.



 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

8th February 2015:
I have never bought a dress with the intention of leaving the tags on, wearing it for one day and returning it the next.

^ Guilty.

She's without a doubt on her high horse and as a pseudo journalist I don't trust her. I feel like she means well but at the same time...she's desperate. That's what it is. She's desperate to make a name for herself and start her career. I also think she has a bit of growing up to do herself which is ironic in a way because she acted as a 'mother' to her brothers and was their caretaker all these years. Clearly none of the worry or reality has hit her yet. Her friends still don't know she was fired even though I don't know how they don't since they always went drinking at the bar or would visit her. Something just isn't sitting right with me and I can't figure it out!

(As you can see i've done a lot of reviewing today. It's my day off so I won't get to indulge again for awhile!)

Author's Response: Hmmm, that's an interesting point about her being so motherly and also being so immature. I kind of imagined her being less nurturing to her younger brothers and more like a disgruntled assistant to her mother. You are very, very right though. She does have a lot of growing up to do.

Edie told Dean and Seamus that the Poisoned Apple was closed with a Dragon Pox infestation, or something similar (ack, it's been so long now I can't remember!) But it wouldn't have worked, mainly because Seamus was probably not listening when she told him ;)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by peppersweet 

16th June 2013:
Clink is slang for prison!! I hope that doesn't say anything about the contents of the chapter!!!

(Yeah, I'm back to abuse even more exclamation marks)

Also, wanted to respond to some stuff you said in your review responses -

1. Let me fawn over Edie forever, because YES she is THE most relatable character I've come across in about three centuries. Love her to bits.
2. A Highland Fling is a Scottish dance! At least I only confused you by saying Highland Fling - I could have said I was off to Strip the Willow or do the Dashing White Sergeant. Both of those are ceilidh dances. As is the Gay Gordons.
3. Canon accepted: I am witch with septum piercing, languishing in dead hipster central. (No, really. I've really become one of those lonely-person-with-notebook-in-cafe people of late).
4. I expect Edie to say 'OH BLIMEY FISH AND CHIPS TEA AND CRUMPETS THE LIFT AND THE LORRY!' in an upcoming chapter now.
4.(a) No, really, you don't need to worry about Edie sounding like a caricature! Her voice is really natural, and I know it's blimmin' difficult to write in a voice that isn't your own. I once wrote an Inception fanfiction and was called out in reviews for a) saying lift instead of elevator b) wildly overestimating the annual rainfall of Los Angeles c) saying queue instead of line. And it's hard enough not going full Scottish on my writing sometimes! So I can totally sympathise.
5. Feel free to make Oliver crack out a nae now and again. Nae bother. Nae fear.
6. Please do tumble Oliver's biography at some point. Also, odd question, but where in Scotland do you imagine him coming from? I need to know for...science.

Now Edie's expressed her plan to wear the dress and return it, I feel like something's going to go horribly wrong - a stain, a tear, Oliver dropping a pint on her...

Dean wat no DEAN DON'T TELL ME YOU LOVE EDIE I WILL PERSONALLY CRAWL INTO THIS FIC AND SET YOU UP WITH EVERY GIRL IN IT IF IT MEANS I CAN HAVE EDOLIVER

Ooh can Eddie make an appearance at some point? That sounds like the BEST friendship ever.

Father Christmas!! That description of the restaurant was amazing! I want to go there now~

There's no way I could ever dislike Edie, high horse or not! The poor girl's had such bad luck lately, I just want to see her getting her own back at everyone. And dishing the dirt on Oliver. (And possibly ending up with him, I don't even like him all that much but...I ship them?!?!)

♥ onwards!

Author's Response: YYYOOOUUU!

Oh wow, I hadn't even thought about Clink being slang for prison... I'm sure I could find some way of bending the context of this "literature" into meaning exactly what I want it to (as per my undergraduate degree.) Hmm, Edie is in a "prison" that she created for herself, because she won't allow herself to look past her first impression of Oli--NOPE. Just the sound of glasses clinking.

1. Um, can we please talk about Flora Lancaster and the painfully awkward and relatable-ness?
2. I seriously thought it was throwing a log, like in the Highland Games that happens around here (in southern America, where we are JUST LIKE SCOTTISH PEOPLE)
3. YES. It is canon indeed. And I am totally in to sitting in places alone, I feel like every entry in my journal essentially says, "Why do I keep coming here, the coffee tastes awful." It's where I do my serious-est of writings!
4. I kind of want to find a way for that to happen?
4(a). Blimmin'! Didn't know that one either. That's really funny about your culture mix-ups, yeah, California is pretty arid, like annual-wildfire kind of arid!
5. Nae will he not crack a nae! (Did I do the thing?)
6. I totally will do that... trust me. It's the same bio I wrote for my first story on my HPFF page from FO-EVA AGO, but built-upon.

I should have taken that and gone with it, with the dress, but it just felt like TOO MUCH bad stuff was happening to her. So I just kind of glossed over it? Which wasn't really intentional either... I need some closure with that, it's really been bugging me!

YOU LIKE EDIVER NAOW?! ♥

Let's go sit at The Hanging Moon, at separate tables, with our notebooks, and not talk to anyone and write bad poems, and every now and then we'll solemnly look up at each other and nod. Plan? Plan.



 Report Review

Review #5, by LittleMissPrincess 

21st March 2013:
OMG NO WAY I LOVE EDIE!

AND SUPER EXCITED FOR THE INTERVIEW!

Author's Response: I AM GLAD YOU LIKE HER CAUSE SOME PEOPLE HATE HER RIGHT NOW?

 Report Review

Review #6, by MrsJaydeMalfoy 

15th March 2013:
Dun Dun DUN! I wonder if Edie will actually follow through on that threat to take Oliver down, or if she'll change her mind and/or some unforeseen catastrophe will occur.

And although I have thoroughly enjoyed this chapter (and all the other ones), I now officially have some serious post-reading depression... I can't wait for another chapter!!

As for your question in the Author's Note, no, I'm not really angry at Edie. It feels weird, because a part of me thinks I SHOULD be, but I really kind of sympathize with her. A part of me wants to see her and Oliver together, but a part of me is cheering her on to take him down!

I love this story SO much; it's going in my favorites! And PLEASE update soon!! ♥ 10/10!

Author's Response: Oooh, will she follow through? Will she not? A good question indeed!

Haha, post-reading depression. I know the feeling all too well. And I'm entirely flattered that you feel that way! Luckily, the next chapter has just been validated ;D

It's so cool that readers have such mixed feelings about her and Oliver. Yay! I really wanted to evoke that kind of feeling. It's exactly the same kind of internal battle that she's having with him.

Thanks so much for all of your amazing reviews, and for the favorite, and for being so awesome! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by alice 

12th March 2013:
I have been a fan from the beginning, but Edie really needs to grow up. I think your writing style is great and easy to follow. It's just her character that makes me cringe and develop a sort of annoyance with the girl. She sounds fabulous when the story isn't about her work or Rose. I just hope she has the balls to grow up sooner than later...

Author's Response: Hallo! You definitely aren't the first person to say that, haha. She does indeed need to make some changes ;D

 Report Review

Review #8, by the_giant_squid 

11th March 2013:
Oh my goodness, you can't leave us hanging like that! The restaurant sounds fabulous and I can't wait to find out how the "interview" goes!

Author's Response: OMG HI GIANT SQUID

I seriously can't imagine anything but the actual squid typing on a computer now... day has been made.

Dood, I wish I could go to The Hanging Moon (even though I'd never be able to afford it either!)

Thanks so much for the review :3


 Report Review

Review #9, by Courtney Dark 

4th March 2013:
Seamus and Dean are back! I absolutely adore the scenes in which Seamus, Dean and Edie are all together. They're always so fun to read, and they must be fun to write, too.

I don't know how you do it-how you make every single chapter so perfectly amazing and professional. The characters all feel so real, even the minor ones, and I love them all to pieces! The scene between Edie and Oliver was amazeballs (wow, I can't believe I just used that word-I apologize) and I swear I was grinning throughout this entire chapter. Edie must be one of the best original characters I have ever read-and I certainly don't dislike her! It's probably just me, but is there something going on between Dean and Edie? Because it kind of felt that way in this chapter.

Anyway, I can't wait for the next chapter and part two of the interview. Perfect, amazing, hilarious, fantastic, awesome writing!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hello you!

I know, I love those scenes too! I've been trying to find way to sneak them in, even when they're not exactly progressive for the plot ;3

I'm so, so, so, incredibly flattered that you like Edie so much. And the banter between her and Oliver. And this story, in the first place!

The next chapter is all written, but it packs SO much information that I'm in the process of weeding it out a bit.

Thank you so much for the review. ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Hope's Mom 

28th February 2013:
Hmmm. Edie is not above using wiles, lies and deceit to get her story (and her revenge). She may get her story but may not like herself as much at the end. She talked about trying to instill morals in her brothers but seems to be not above ignoring her own. Jae's appearance was unexpected as was Dean's attitude toward her inner with Oliver. Thank you for the new chapter.

Author's Response: You are totally spot-on about Edie! She sets these high expectations for other people and when they fail to meet them, she becomes disappointed in them... or worse. This will definitely come to play later on in the story, when things begin to ~*~culminate~*~!!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by zipzin 

28th February 2013:
This is great! I really imagine these sorts of interactions between a celebrity and reporter (okay maybe not all of them, but a certain dynamic of them) and I really like all of Woods Woodiness? I'm not sure if that's the right word. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: haha, there's definitely some professional boundaries being over-stepped, eh? I'm glad that you overall found it to be believable, though! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by ValWitch21 

27th February 2013:
Hahaha, dead fly in the pasta... My cousin once found a hair in her ice cream, ate all around it, then went back to the shop, told them that it was unacceptable, and got another one for free.

Slapping brothers is self-defence, yep. Edie's got that one right. It can also be a way of showing affection.

And apparently, that could qualify for Seamus and Dean. Honestly, you have no idea how much this reminds of my brother, with the knocking and walking in instead of waiting for an answer. Males...

Oh. Are those Deadie shipping feels that I detect? Maybe?

Candle-lit canoodling - that is one of the best phrases I've ever read. ALLITERATIVE WIN!

Hypatia my dear, I've missed you, even if you're not physically here. Does she come back soon? Oh, and Edie still has to go on a date with Jae, which is going to be very interesting after their encounter here.

Everyone is setting Edie up with people in this chapters, poor girl. The evil reader sleeping within me has just perked up and snorted.

Edie is a bit of an elephant in a porcelain shop, isn't she? I love seeing her uncomfortable (I do feel some pity, don't worry, but it's just too funny to watch her squirm).

Naww, I wanted the interview here! And why is she bothering to defend Rose?

Eagerly waiting for your next update, this chapter was great again!

Author's Response: Hello, miss Val!

Oh my gosh, I would have been so annoyed with your cousin if I worked in the icea cream shop! That's pretty funny though.

I was pretty proud of "candle-lit canoodling" myself, haha :D And Hypatia will be making an appearance again. I've only got one planned out in the good ol' plot outline, but that doesn't mean there won't be more!

Yes, elephant in a porcelain shop is a good analogy! I'm glad you like to see her being uncomfortable. I want it to be entertaining and very rarely dramatic, if that makes sense.

Oooh, perhaps I should go back and edit to clarify that bit. Edie wasn't defending Rose, she was just telling him she'd been reassigned--which is technically a lie--so that Rose wouldn't be able to 'interview' him again.

Thanks as always! I hope to see an update from you soon! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFan 

26th February 2013:
I feel so bad for Oliver, but damn, Edie really does hold grudges doesn't she? I was reminded of Sunday when I watched the Oscars and the host was talking about Zero Dark Thirty and he said,

"This a movie about a woman who spent 12 years chasing Osama bin Laden and which showed a woman's inability to let things go."

I thought it was really funny even if it was insulting and I immediately thought of this while reading this chapter. Oliver just can't seem to catch a break when it comes to Edie. She really is proud, she's more proud than I am!

Anyway, I really enjoyed reading this and may I just say, I hope that you get a lot of reviews on this story!

Author's Response: Gah, that's mildly sexist of whoever said that (I'm going to go ahead and venture a guess at Seth McFarlane), but anyway! Thanks for the review. I wanted Edie to be human, and to have bad characteristics. So her stubbornness and judgmental tendencies are definitely two of those ;3

I really appreciate you coming back for the new chapter! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by bester_jester 

26th February 2013:
Yay another brilliant chapter! I just love your regular updating, it means I don't need to wait forever to get my fix (at the risk of sounding like a drug addict).

I'm not so sure that I like Jae. He gives off a strange vibe to me. And Dean's behaviour at the start of the chapter was really cute. I feel bad for him.

Thanks for a mega chapter! I can't wait to read the rest of the interview :)

Author's Response: Hello there!

Yes! I've really tried to update this story regularly because I used to be so bad about it. It's getting a bit more difficult these days, as I don't have all of my pre-written chapters from NaNo anymore. So currently I'm finishing a chapter and sometimes uploading it immediately afterwards--but that makes me really nervous! Of course I will try to keep up with the updates, though!

ANYWAY, rambling over now. I don't really like Jae either. Haha, could you tell? I do feel bad for poor Dean, though! :c

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Siriusly89 

26th February 2013:
BOOM! I AM BACK!

Seamus! He is back! And he being innapropriate! Good auld Seamy :p I missed him and his wonderful randomness. And I am sorry, but nobody can tell me that Dean doesn't like Edie after this!

Can I just beg for a little bit here: Please let Edie end up with Dean! Because in almost every novel, the good-looking Quidditch player with problems gets the girl, but to be honest, Edie has enough problems of her own to be getting on with! How about the best friend artist gets the girl? Eh?

And Jae, I'm sorry but I'm too busy trying to get you to put Dean and Edie together, so he just needs to go away. Seriously, why is he even here? He needs to leave, or else I'll just invade and 'take care of him' ( lock him in a trunk, Barty Crouch Jr. style!)

And Oliver trying to make Edie jealous with Miss Ada, so funny! Can he not see she is busy trying to stay upright in her heels? Fist-pumping Edie. . . . ah you have to love the poor girl for trying!

AAAH! REVENGE! Oh yes, sneaky Edie has come out to play! I AM ROARING IN APPROVAL OVER HERE :D

Ooooh yes Oliver Wood, you are going down! I can't wait to read the interview and I hope devious Edie is here to stay for at least another chapter! Do you know what would be interesting? Oliver getting Edie back! You know, him outing her! Of course, I still strongly dislike Oliver (as my loyalty to Dean is unwavering :P) but Edie can't be the one coming up with dastardly schemes all the time, I think Oliver needs some evil time too!

Another brilliant chappie (and thank you for the Seamus, I should be okay for at least three chapters now :p)

Author's Response: Hallo!!! :D Reclaiming the first spot for a review, yay!

Yes, Seamus was being quite inappropriate wasn't he? But that's part of the reason we love him so.

Hahahaha, Jae. "He just needs to go away." He's kind of a twit, isn't he? :P Don't worry, there will be some more of him. I WILL MAKE YOU SPEND TIME WITH HIM AND IT WILL BE PAINFUL.

I suppose I should re-write that bit with Ada being mentioned. He wasn't trying to make her jealous; he was worried that Edie would overhear Mr. Herrera. That's why he didn't introduce them, either. And I won't say anything else!

(You're entirely right, though, about Edie just trying to stay upright in her heels.)

I'm so excited to see that you are such a strong Dean fan!! I really didn't want this story to be two-dimensional enough that people would only support one relationship possibility (or none at all...haha.) And I won't go far into this at all, but Oliver definitely has some scheming up his sleeve. ;3

I'm glad I have satiated your Seamus withdrawals! I had a lot of fun writing the first section of this chapter. I ♥ him too, but I think you win President of the Seamus Fanclub.

Thank you so much!! Your reviews are always so wonderful!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review