Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

3rd August 2016:
I loved this chapter so much. It was just the light-hearted father/son chapter we needed after that heavy one a few chapters back now that everything is smoothed over more or less between them. And I definitely giggled over Harry looking for where Ginny hid the cake she had just baked... and even when it became clear that he had stolen Carlotta's file from the MAC (there's the Harry we know and love from the books). And then that last line from Ginny, berating Harry for eating cake before dinner, such a classic. Loved it. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Penelope Inkwell 

1st October 2013:
Yay! James is getting on with his dad, or at least starting to. And I'm very excited about the prospect of seeing more of Carlotta. I've missed her.

I'm also quite pleased that James has begun to really talk to Brigid and Fred. I think that'll be very helpful for them all.

Author's Response: Exhibit number one of my joy of writing Harry/James moments now they're actually TALKING. Harry is a scream. And knows exactly what to say. It's definitely about time James took more interest in Freddie and Brigid's lives too, rather than sitting back and letting them 'get on with it'. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Genia 

29th March 2013:
I just love how you end your chapters ;)

Author's Response: I did enjoy writing that moment :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Slide 

6th March 2013:
At least James is philosophical about the ire he's won from the Prophet. But it's only the Prophet. They're plonkers anyway. And at least he knows it, knowing they'll blame him for losing Ginny. Don't lose sleep over it, James! Heh, that's so typical him, to cancel his subscription by default rather than by intention.

But, bless him, again he's the voice of reason in the Freddie-Brigid situation. Poor guy, he's not in an easy spot, even if they're worse off. And Brigid is smart enough to see both sides even if she's also proud and occasionally insecure to blind herself to it.

Ha, typical man, Freddie, to tell her his issues and then seem to do nothing about it. Good on Brigid to not lap it up; he has problems and problems need WORK. She does also have a point about James - it isn't his place, so much, but he is a friend and so there are things he could have done. Being hands-off is sometimes about respecting people's business - but sometimes it's a handy excuse. Poor Brigid, anyway. Freddie has my sympathy but it's her I really feel for in this, mostly because she has no control over the situation and she's doing about the best she can, but she's STILL unhappy.

Yay Al is here. And it's time for Potter-brothers-insecurities, and of course Al is more sensible than James about this. But Al would have to be mental to be less sensible than James about this! It's also nice to remind us that Al and Lily have a very close and healthy relationship - because there's so much closeness with James and Lily and so much distance with James and Albus, it's easy to assume that Albus and Lily are also distant, because we don't see it. But they are still brothers, and brothers give each other advice! Sensible Al.

It's always cute to see the little domestic hints of Harry and Ginny's life together. Even if it'll always be skewed when seen through their son's perspective. I couldn't see Harry taking the teaching job either - he'd love it and he'd be good at it, but this is the man who became an Auror even after defeating Voldemort. He clearly doesn't have much of a 'retire on a farm' streak in him like most heroes. Interesting, he had the file all along. And, of course, there's a page missing (listing some HORRIBLE ILLNESS I'm sure). He's right to keep it hidden, I think, but also right to light a fire under James to make him talk with her. It's not an easy situation to be in but he's done well.

Nice chapter with Potter men fun! The fic's focused so much on James-Lily and James-Ginny so it's good to see some more of Al and Harry.

Author's Response: James has re-evaluated many, many things. Like how little he actually cares about what people think of him. He always disliked most of the Prophet's reporters though, so it's not too much of an evaluation. ;) Nevertheless, he won't be losing sleep over his public opinion ratings!

Brigid is smart. And knows what's good for her. But she also knows what she WANTS, and that's where her problem is - she wants someone who is making himself unattainable. James WAS an idiot by not getting involved sooner - because the hands-off approach only works for so long in this kind of situation. He's only a couple of years late. In some sense, Brigid has no control - but because Freddie is point-blank refusing to do anything, that almost puts the ball back in her court because if anything is going to happen here it has to be on her terms. It's not an ideal situation really. Good to see that all parties are understandable here. :)

This was possibly one of my favourite chapters to write so far, because of the Potter men! Much conversation has obviously been had about the joys of writing a post-Voldemort, carefree Harry, but I haven't had that opportunity yet because in James' eyes he wasn't that person. Sigh. But he is now! Albus, too, gets his moment with his bro. He is most definitely the more grounded, sensible brother, although I'm sure James would enjoy the task of loosening him up a little bit. Yep, he gets on very well with Lily - neither of them are nearly as messed up as James, so there's really nothing to get in the way of a healthy sibling relationship! And Harry. Definitely won't take the teaching job. Not until he's got a beard to rival Dumbledore's at any rate. He had the file - how else was he going to get in the way of the Obliviators? I love your determination that there's a horrible illness on the missing page. EVEN IF you've already read the next chapter by now. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Potterblotter 

17th February 2013:
Loved this! Harry and James chats are the best!

Author's Response: I love writing Harry/James discussions now they're getting on! Bless them. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by sleepless_nights 

16th February 2013:
Oh dear, I want to know what Carlottas 'secret' is so badly! And I can't stop myself from speculating... is she pregnant, does she already have a child? A husband? Some illness?
I'm so excited for the next chapter! This story really is amazing!

PS: I always wonder about Carlottas last name. Isn't Fortescue the name of the ice cream place? Is that a coincidence?

Author's Response: Intriguing theories! I'm not saying anything on them though. If you're lucky, the lady herself might do next chapter... ;)

Carlotta's surname is totally coincidental! I just wanted a typical, slightly middle/upper-class British surname, and that's the one I came up with. I like the idea that she might be distantly related to Florean though! Maybe she could run the ice cream parlour in a few years' time? Hmm... Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by missclaire17 

14th February 2013:
So there is something so personal going on with Carlotta that she's avoiding James.
It would be completely like Harry to remove the file and take out that one page and not tell anyone.

I'm torn about whether the Obliviators having a file on everyone who can be a threat to the Statute is ethical or not... while it makes sense, it also doesn't seem right to have all of this personal information, ya know?

I LOVE seeing Al, James, and Harry interact with ecah other. Or more like James and Al talking and James and Harry talking.
The fact that James will now try even harder to find a flying instructor for Hogwarts because Harry doesn't like Ginny to be away from home is so sweet! It's also kinda cute that Harry still doesnt like to be parted from Ginny in a prolonged period of time. It's really cute, the way that they're like that.

I hope that Carlotta will let James know what is going on, and they can fix it so they can get together.

Author's Response: There is indeed something personal going on with Carlotta. It's big. And it's revealed very soon. :)

The Obliviators' files are totally not ethical! Perhaps knowing the identity of any potential threat is reasonable, and where they live - but they really don't need to know most of what they accumulate. But it's so easy for them to collect this kind of information (the Ministry always seems to know these things!) that they wouldn't consider it to be an invasion of privacy. It definitely leaves an unpleasant taste in the mouth though.

I'm enjoying the conversations that James is able to have with Harry and Albus now they're not clouded with ill-feeling. The chats in this chapter in particular were very fun - and easy - to write. And I love Harry/Ginny as well, haha. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore 

14th February 2013:
I really enjoyed this chapter! I knew there was something that Carla is hiding and this chapter has just made me even more curious about what it is - I hope we find out soon! Even though I do really want to know, I'm glad Harry took the page from the file because I'm sure that Carla needs to tell James whatever it is herself. I'm also glad that Harry knows already because there's someone there for James when he does find out, if he needs it (I have a few ideas about what it is and if some of them are right, James will need support!)
I also really liked the fact that James is becoming closer to Al and Harry in this chapter, and realising that he needs his family. Even if it was Al's suggestion, it was good to see him asking Harry for advice instead of Ginny.
I'm glad that Brigid didn't do something stupid like forgiving Fred straight away and falling into his arms, because he doesn't really deserve it. If he changes and she can forgive him, it would be nice to see them try going out, though. I feel sorry for James there, stuck between his two best friends!
But it was another brilliant chapter and well done!

Author's Response: Carlotta's secret will be revealed very very soon! I hope it meets up to expectations. :) I'm intrigued as to what your ideas are! You'll have to let me know if you were right...

I'm thoroughly enjoying writing James' conversations with Harry and Albus now that they're all okay with each other! Harry is certainly going to become an important figure for James, because regardless of how old he is, he still needs his dad to help him out sometimes.

Brigid won't be dishing out forgiveness to Freddie any time soon! He's been a complete idiot, regardless of whether his reasons are valid. Unfortunately it does indeed put James in a little pickle! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Courtney 

13th February 2013:
I'm glad to see Brigid and James' friendship on the mend. And I'm so glad she didn't just fall into Fred's arms. He's been a total jerk even if he had some bizarre reasons for not wanting to be with her, he definitely didn't need to rub in her face that he was shagging other girls all the time, like James said. I really don't know if I even want them to get together unless he really gets his act together and apologizes and changes his behavior soon. I think it would still be very hard for Brigid as everywhere they go they'll probably be running into his shag buddies.
You have made the whole Carlotta thing so mysterious. I wonder what her deal is and I'm so glad that Harry took out the personal information as it would be wrong for James to get everything from her file. Hopefully they'll get to talk soon. Its great to see James making an effort with Harry and Al. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: James has definitely realised just how good a friend Brigid has been to him over the years. And he's lucky that she's such a good friend that she's forgiven him for everything! She certainly won't be forgiving Freddie any time soon though. He's got a lot of work to do!

The Carlotta mystery will be solved imminently. I'm glad you like James' interactions with Harry and Albus - it's nice and surprisingly easy to write them having friendly relationships! Next chapter's in the queue, thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review