Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Ignite, Chapter 18: Powderkeg
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roisin 

16th March 2015:
Me and Albus both (except hopefully without the snoring bit on my end). I once managed to stay asleep even though a bat (!) had gotten into the room, and my friends were jumping on the bed trying to coax it out the window (yes, bed I was sleeping on). BUT I DIGRESS...

Even though I'm reading through a second time with the EXPRESS purpose of reviewing (because I wanna get to the NEXT part of the story), I find myself just wanting to cuddle up and click through and read ahead again without stopping to make comments. I, of course, blame you for this.

But, in a way it's good, because since I know some of the things that are coming I can fully appreciate how you've put it all together. And, since I haven't finished the whole story yet, and because there's a lot of intricacy, there's some stuff I just plumb forgot about, so I think it's good to give it a fresh read instead of jumping back to where I left off.

"Youíre not as expendable as me"--again, I am destroyed. You get away with this line because it's HIM thinking it, and he thinks it so nonchalantly, without being dramatized.

And the scene with Scorpius talking to Thane is SO brilliant, because he goes through like EVERYTHING the reader would be thinking. WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH THIS?!?!?! What is the motivation behind this attack?!?! Like, I can't even guess! Gharh!

Everything else in this story is so carefully planned and executed, I have to assume you're working up to something brilliant, and it's just SO FUN that I can't actually tell yet what that might be. Also, clever--because the Mystery isn't necessarily the central focus of the action. There's quite a lot of other things to be getting on with, so the pacing works really well with the amount of info you're doling out.

Hmmm. Maybe it has something to do with trade agreements? Just because that term has cropped up a lot recently. I feel like some important detail has already been brushed past, but I have no idea which one!

Author's Response: That is SUPER impressive sleeping. I'm genuinely impressed. Though I hope you don't snore like Al, he snores like a buzz-saw.

I'll accept the blame on this one. If my story is cosy then I'm doing this right and I'm not even sorry. But it IS interesting to get these in-depth reviews from someone who has read ahead, because most of the time I get first impressions, while yeah, you're giving feedback on stuff most people don't notice first time around, or feedback on how stuff now feeds in to stuff later - it's very appreciated, basically.

Scorpius is nonchalant, but he's also a dramatic little bunny.

I do love this scene with him and Thane. The two of them get a long and interesting road together, but there are deliberate choices in what Thane chooses to not say and what he seems uncaring about keeping secret. I'm okay with it at this point, because Ignite is far more a story about the Situation, of which the threat is only a part... but I could lament wrestling with pacing until the cows come home.

I would be very surprised if one could guess the plot on the amount of information currently out, THOUGH the various hints on what's going on in the outside world - minor as they have been - are entirely deliberate.

Cheers for all these reviews, SO appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #2, by EmmaGM 

9th February 2015:
This was one of my favourite chapters so far. I'm liking the character of Scorpius more and more as the story progresses. Going into the Forbidden Forest himself to help his friends is something only one Malfoy would decide.

The scene with Thane was amazing. We learned more about his character, but he stayed vague enough so his motives stay unclear. Great work!

Author's Response: Scorpius has hidden depths and certainly deeper virtues. Regardless of the sort of thing his father would have taught him. Glad you find Thane compelling! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Siriuslover177 

19th June 2014:
I am now very confused... So this guy cant be bad for saving them? But he still created this bad disease all over hogwarts... I mean, you kinda have to be evil to do that. And he gave nothing away when Scorp was talking to him. So he cant really get anything out of that. He really did not help Scorp in any way.

But I cannot believe he let Rose come with... I mean, I am glad, because otherwise he would have died, but Hermione JUST said that he had to watch out for them! Ugh, at least they are safe.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Turns out Prometheus Thane is a complicated guy. He had reason to unleash a virus on Hogwarts. He had reason to save Scorpius and Rose. Are these reasons incompatible? Who knows.

And Scorpius isn't that good at telling Rose 'no', as we'll learn.


 Report Review

Review #4, by LightLeviosa5443 

21st November 2013:
Interesting that Thane had no interest of taking their supplies or killing them. I wonder what he is up to? Is he just trying to create a diversion? Why did he even save them? That makes no sense.

Can't wait to read the next chapter to make sense of it.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Thane has his own plans and motivations. Some of these include his attitude towards killing people - does he have his own plans, or will he simply draw the line at needless killing? Evil is not all-encompassing, after all. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell 

23rd October 2013:
Woah! Okay, was not expecting that. And now Iím more confused than ever. What *is* this all about, anyways?

Nice to see a bit of Scorpius and Rose working together, though.

So many questions!

Author's Response: Yep! Thane has his motivations, which he will not advertise any time soon. As for Rose and Scorpius, they do make a good team. Wonder if they'll figure this out...?

 Report Review

Review #6, by MadiMalfoy 

3rd February 2013:
OH MY GOD THAT WAS GOOD! :D I personally hate the Acromantulas--I think it was because I watched CoS when i was younger--but they worked for this. :) So Scorpius finds Prometheus Thane, eh? I'm curious, is there a certain connection with the name Prometheus (i.e. the man who stole fire from the Greek gods)? It ties in with the story very well if it does..Anyway, fantastic job, so excited to read more! :) xx

Author's Response: I hate spiders. Acromantulas seemed an appropriately creepy obstacle to throw out there for this scene. I couldn't do what Scorp and Rose do in this.

Prometheus Thane's name is not entirely accidental, nope. But then, I'm throwing my fire symbolism around left, right, and centre, which, well, the story IS called Ignite. More to come soon, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by R o s m e r t a 

3rd February 2013:
I just really need to tell you what an incredibly talented author you are. The intricacies of the plot and idiosyncrasies of each character really go to show the amount of care you've put into this story. Thank you for sharing it with us poor plebeians here on HPFF when you should be out there writing for the masses :) I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: I do try to write for the masses as well! We'll see how well this works out. And you folks are hardly plebeians; I enjoy thoroughly writing for fun and for an audience who's having fun along with me. That's what I love about fanfic and that's what I'll keep on putting into it - no pressure, just good yarns. Thank you very much for your kind words, your readership, and for your enjoyment!

 Report Review

Review #8, by AriesGirl40 

1st February 2013:
Now I'm curious what the nasty guy really wants

Author's Response: His motivations are indeed complex. More as we continue! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

1st February 2013:
Here for the doozy. It better be REALLY good, but no pressure.

Oh no. I have a REALLY bad idea about what Scorpius is up to here. The word "expendable" NEVER refers to anything good. And sure enough, it's not good. The FOREST? Man, Scorp, I love you but you're an idiot. Oh, but it's fine because Rose is going with him, that will make EVERYTHING okay. I have so much feels for the fact that she's refusing to let him go by himself... But it's still a really stupid idea. And Scorp feeling overprotective of little Tim is just adorable. He's like the Jeremy of Ignite - and if he gets in the way of Scorose there will be hell to pay.

And, naturally, I love the bit about James and Albus struggling to cope with being Harry's kids. SO MUCH YES for this. Although I'd disagree with Rose - her uncle may be the big cheese, but she has TWO parents who did all that stuff, James and Albus (and Lily) only have one. So she has at least as much right to feel pressured by it all. :)

OH GOD Acromantula hunt was always going to end badly, wasn't it? And then, and THEN, they're saved by THANE? Wow. He's a curious character. All of the potential motives that Scorpius reels off seem plausible, and very interesting. And this raises so many questions! Aside from the obvious one of why all this is going on. Why let them GO? Why save them in the FIRST place? Thane is far from clear cut, and I LOVE this. And will the Acromantula skins do anything? Thane's let them go with them ... but what if he doesn't mind if this is cured? What if that's what he WANTS? Argh, questions questions questions and no darn answers! Spiffing chap bro.

Author's Response: Do I promise goodness and not deliver? And yes, they're both being VERY stupid. But stupid is a hop across the line from daring? No, no, still stupid. One of those acts of many virtues, but sense isn't one of them. Tim's an important character, yes - Jeremy was never seen again after his diabolical interference, but we'll see more of Tim and what he means to Scorpius.

While Rose might have both parents as heroes to contend with, there's only one Harry Potter. But we will see how those pressures begin to weigh down on and affect her - and further nuances of how they affect poor, poor Albus.

It wasn't sensible to go on an Acromantula hunt, no. They almost got away with it - but they had no flying car to save them. They DO have an evil arch-nemesis, of course. And yes, I'm happy with this scene, and how it goes down. Thane's a 'villain' I am keen to develop more and we'll see him further in future installments.

I can't promise answers SOON I do admit. ;) Cheers for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review