Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

2nd August 2016:
I hope Freddie confesses his feelings to Brigid, and soon. I think they'd be a perfect fit for each other. Almost like a Ron and Hermione for their generation. At least that's how my perception of them has unfolded. I would have liked to see some dialogue interaction between the family, but maybe the next chapter picks up where this one left off. Anyway, this was yet another superb chapter. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by drifting 

14th December 2014:
This is a long overdue review.

I really like your story - my favourite characters are Ginny and Lily. I like your development of Ginny a lot more than the canon Ginny. Sad as it was, your writing of the scene/ confrontation between James and his parents when they come to his flat, was excellent. The part where James shuts the door on Ginny was really gut wrenching; very well written.

I never saw the plot twist coming. But looking back there were so many hints. That was beautifully done. Lily is a really fun and intense character.

I really like that your story goes so much beyond the standard fanfic romance genre. There is a lot more depth to the characters. This is so evident in the conflict in so many of the next gen characters. In fact it was this point, which sets your story apart from most others, that made me finally write this review after so many chapters (sorry about that - you really deserve many more reviews; but if it means anything the review count really is not an indicator of story quality most of the time). Ok I am rambling now.

Back to the story - the transition from World Cup call
-up James (where you had me as a reader in a really upbeat frame of mind) to downbeat James (where I was depressed) was very good. You really managed to move around my emotions as a reader all over the place.

I wish there was more to Carla so far. But there's many chapters to go, so fingers crossed.

And congrats on your Dobby win. You really deserved it in my opinion.

Author's Response: And this is a very long overdue response!

I dislike canon Ginny. I can see where Rowling was trying to go with her, but she didn't really show us enough of her. It's only fanfic that has brought me round, and the head-canon I have of her now is, I think, a lot more developed than the book canon. I do adore her in Rails, and I'm glad you liked her too. :)

The confrontation with James and his parents was hard to write, but oddly enjoyable at the same time; all of that angst had been building up for a long time and it was kind of fun to write the explosion. James shutting the door in Ginny's face was fairly brutal, but pretty vivid too.

And Lily. I'm so glad you like the twist, it was hard to not give it away but worth it for the payback, and it's interesting to delve into what life would be like for a Squib.

I always set out to write a story that was more than just a Next Gen romance - I'm all about that angst! I'm guessing that James' conversation with Fred in this chapter was what prompted you to review; I can't help but feel that the fame and life achievements of Harry and co really would affect their kids, although I didn't necessarily expect things to become QUITE as angsty as they did!

There is more to come on Carlotta - lots more - so hopefully you enjoy that. :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by ComeOnSweetCatastrophe 

17th February 2014:
I started reading this story thinking it be a cute Muggle romance/Quidditch plot...boy was I wrong! THE FEELS! I just can't take it...this is so good! And all the thought and detail you've put into the Weasley clan, into the "lost generation" is so intriguing. Can't stop reading!

Author's Response: Wait - you're on chapter THIRTY NINE already?! I'm impressed, and also very flattered that you've read so much so fast! This is definitely not just a cutesy romance fic, and I'm glad that you're enjoying it. I always knew I wanted a Weasley clan who were still affected by the war in some sense, because they played such a huge part in it that I don't think they and their kids would be able to get rid of that legacy. This chapter in particular became a bit more melodramatic than I expected, but I was pleased with how it turned out. :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell 

1st October 2013:
Wow. This was a really marvelous chapter. Of course, when you finish reading DH, you like to think that it'll all be happily ever after. But that's just not the way life works, is it? And of course it was worse during the war, but James is right, it still would have had reverberations.

You've done a great job of thinking through the difficulties all of them might face. It's sad to think of Fred and Angelina being that way, but it also makes sense. And Lucy and Molly, having to deal with the fact that their father betrayed the family--I never really thought about the fact that that information might get around, and how hard it would be. And I just love what you've done with Lily, highlighting the difficulties of being a Squib, which is only lightly touched on in the books.

You've thought this all out and explained it wonderfully. And that's why we have fanfiction, I suppose. We get to explore the problems that are left, after the cover closes. I think you have truly done an incredible job of this. I hope you know just how good a writer you are. Your words just flow in a way I seldom find in fanfic. I'm so glad that I've found this story. I hope to enjoy reading your excellent work for a good long while.

Thanks.

--Penny

Author's Response: I really loved writing this chapter and exploring the themes in it. The Weasleys are such a unique family, in that they ended up more involved in the war effort than perhaps any other family. I don't think it would be easy, to have that kind of legacy attached to you at all times. And at the end of the day, that was where James' downfall lay; he worried too much about the comparisons, instead of just trying to be his own person. It's a downbeat note to end the chapter on, but I think it's a sentiment that needs exploring. I can't thank you enough for your kind words on this, because it's a chapter that I was really pleased with. Thank you ever so much for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Slide 

6th March 2013:
*looks mournful* Here! No excuses. *chirps up* Chapters!

James has probably been on a broom since he could work (or before, if his father's anything to go by); six weeks on the ground is no laughing matter. If we didn't know it was serious before, we sure do now!

But he's being grown up about it. He has screwed his England chances (barring some mishap, which I'm not ruling out - but under current circumstances he's not coming back) and so is focusing on the team. It's good, it's a show of his growth and humility. But I particularly like it because this isn't a NEW side of James; he's always taken his work seriously, and this is more that aspect of him rising to the forefront than a whole new leaf.

All right, maybe a new leaf if he's not drinking with Freddie! Brigid may need a job which introduces her to more men who, as James says, AREN'T her clients. I mean, good for her, but that's a disaster in the making. At least they're rich sportsmen. She could do worse! Speaking of... Freddie...

And James passes on some of his refound maturity. By yelling, but - well, passes on his wisdom of not sitting around feeling sorry for one's self. And Freddie shows JUST HOW DEEP his damage goes. Woah, poor guy. I feel for him, but he is not his parents. This sounds more like an excuse shielding his own insecurities than literally "I don't know how to love her"; perhaps "I don't know how to be loved", because being raised in a loveless marriage is likely to mess with your head in a multitude of ways - but regardless of Freddie's EXACT damage, it's still legitimate damage. Clearly Freddie does know what a loving relationship LOOKS like, but I guess this means he knows he wasn't born of one.

James still says all the right things. Much love for James, as ever. I must again gush over him; it's hard to write a story from such a narrow perspective (if you're me), but James remains a nuanced and likeable character even if he's being childish or unlikeable, and so it keeps us reading, for him. It might be lovely to see other characters through his eyes, but we're still mostly here for him, for how others relate TO him. That said, I think this is why Lily is such a stand-out character in the story, because she has her Own Dramatic Impetus in a way nobody but James does.

BUT I DIGRESS. It's good that, even 30 years later, the war's not gone. It shouldn't be and wouldn't be. The parents were all so YOUNG when it happened, and that makes it all the more likely their suffering would pass on, even a little, to their children. It makes you wonder how much damage binds people together, and how much that matters. Still. They do have each other, and that's the part that shines through the most, and matters most. Good little chapter.

Author's Response: Yep, currently James' imminent England prospects are looking pretty non-existent. He HAS matured some - the him of old would've found it much harder to tell himself to move on with things, and he took the news of his drop pretty badly in the first place, of course. But he's learning to re-evaluate his priorities. And he HAS always been incredibly loyal towards the Falcons, but this is him realising that the team is bigger than him right now. And he'll have more chances. He's still only young!

Oh, Freddie. He's messed up. He's incredibly insecure, of course he is! It's almost an inferiority complex - given who his best pal is and who his family are, it's not hard to see why doubts might creep in. In essence, he cares too much for Brigid and doesn't want to allow himself that chance to screw things up - so he instead screws up his entire friendship with her. Of course he's capable of being in a loving relationship, it's just the entire concept is alien to him and so it scares him off. James ... is in a bit of an unfamiliar situation here. But nevertheless, he does a good job at telling Freddie what he needs to hear! Whether it actually has the desired effect is of course another issue entirely.

It really is reassuring to know that James remains loveable and understandable no matter how idiotic he's being! Having a more limited perspective DOES make it harder to portray him well when he's being a bit of a douche, because there's no other perspective to freshen things up or even things out, so I'm glad as always to know that he remains in people's good books! (Totally unsure about apostrophe usage there. YOU HAVE MADE ME PARANOID.)

Yes, war scars still remain. But they'll all get by, eventually, in their own ways. James is making progress, and Freddie is learning that he too can become his own person. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Potterblotter 

1st February 2013:
Again excellently well written, gunna need some excitement soon, ie: Quiditch match with play by plays, or Carlotta action would some great options ;) lol

Author's Response: Glad you liked! More Quidditch is on its way in the next chapter, and Carlotta reappears in a couple of chapters' time as well. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ashley 

30th January 2013:
really well written chapter :) I love James' inner thoughts about the lost generation being them instead of their parents. You updated soo quickly! It put a smile on my face :) Freddie was really adorable and you gave him great depth which I wasn't expecting.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked James' reflections on his family - it was always meant to be a theme running through this fic, that they're all affected in their own way by being who they are, and that it was going to take James a while to figure it out and realise that he's not alone in feeling the pressure he feels. I didn't necessarily plan on it happening like this, but I started writing and it came out, and I liked it. :) It's important for James, though, as well as revealing why Freddie is the way he is. I always knew there would be more to him than first appeared; he's just very insecure. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Corleone 

30th January 2013:
I loved this chapter from beginning to end! I thoroughly enjoyed James and Fred's talk...it was a new way of seeing George and Angelina's relationship. While it was unusual it also makes perfect sense because Angelina "dated" Fred in school and the two of them marrying was just a coping mechanism! Really really loved James' thoughts on his entire family. He's right, they're all screwed up in their own ways! Loved it and please update soon!

Author's Response: George/Angelina intrigued me from the start, because the books always implied Fred/Angelina! I think there are a million ways of telling the story of how they hooked up, but in my eyes the grief over losing Fred was what drew them together, and so that's how I portray them here. And it's a hugely important factor in why Freddie is how he is - he's not insensitive and obtuse, he's just completely insecure and doesn't know what to do about it. And it was fun to explore how the whole generation suffers from being who they are, even if it is a slightly downbeat chapter. Glad you enjoyed it! The next chapter will hopefully be up in the next week. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by missclaire17 

29th January 2013:
THIS CHAPTER GAVE ME MAJOR FEELS!
first off, I'd totally disagree about George and Angelina not being in love but I do agree about them getting together out of grief. I believe that they fell in love afterwards but grief was what brought them together in the first place. Irregardless of George and Angelina though, what Freddie said made me feel so bad for him. Fred didn't have to deal with his uncle's death but even now he's still feeling the effects of everything in the war because it's not like their parents can just forget about everything that they experienced through that traumatic period.
Then when James went on to talk about how abnormal their entire family is and how each of their family members went through something difficult because of their parents' past, and yet in the end, the Weasleys still stayed together as a family.

It's so incredible that you wrote this because I'd never truly given this a thought. Of course, I don't think any author who likes the Next Generation would disregard the fact that the Next Generation totally had it difficult because of their family's past but the fact that you wrote about them being literally lost because of where they fit into the world is so incredible. They're not the ones fighting the war; they weren't the war heroes. Yet, they're not completely unscathed because their parents were the war heroes and the effects are still on them even if their classmates just read about the war and voldemort in a textbook.

I loved this chapter. (:

Author's Response: George/Angelina is a next-gen pairing which I would LOVE to explore in more depth because I think there's so much to make out of how they got together! Away from Rails, I would probably lean more towards the approach that they genuinely fell in love at some stage, but for literary purposes I slightly exacerbate their situation here to make it appear more to Freddie as though they really don't love each other. Of course, even in this situation they're still happy and they still like each other, as James was trying to say himself, but Freddie doesn't see it that way.

This chapter ended up a bit more downbeat than I'd expected, but I'd always planned on exploring how Freddie's parents' past affected him, namely in his refusal to do anything about his feelings for Brigid. From there, James' observations about the others just came out, and I think it helps him more than anything else because it helps him see that he's not actually alone in struggling with his parentage. I'm really glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodore 

29th January 2013:
I think I must have some talent for managing to be looking on HPFF whenever you update this story - I really love everything you write! There wasn't as much happening in this chapter, but I'm glad that we finally found out what is really holding Fred back from going out with Brigid. I like the way that James is now reflecting on his life, but also that he isn't so self-absorbed and he's beginning to realise that everyone, and especially his cousins and siblings, have problems with life and have to work hard to adjust and cope with it all. I'd like to see Carla coming back in the next few chapters but I really enjoyed this one. Well done once again and I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Plot-wise, little happens in this chapter but we get to learn a LOT more about Freddie, who up until now has come across as being a bit obtuse. In reality, he's just as insecure as James is, but in his own way. Not that he's being at all sensible about the whole thing! And yes, it is about time James realises that he's NOT alone in struggling to deal with the hand that he's been dealt, and with the pressures that his parentage has landed on him. Carlotta will crop up in a couple of chapters time; there are a couple more things that need to happen before then. Hopefully the next chapter should be up soon. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review