Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

2nd August 2016:
Things are finally starting to get back on track now that James is making amends with all of his family and friends that he let down. You've really done a marvelous job writing James out of his funk.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Penelope Inkwell 

1st October 2013:
Well, that was a breath of fresh air. Glad to see that things are well on their way to being mended. What a relief!

Author's Response: Yup, things are looking up for James! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Slide 

25th January 2013:
Huzzah, Freddie. James is probably right, he's the easy person to bring around. Start small now your family's fine, mm? And good to see that it looks like Brigid is going to be as guilty as she is angry. It's only fair - neither of them have acted well all the time, but James doing wrong doesn't erase HER wrong and vice versa. I can see how poor Brigid tried to do best by James, after all, with Ingrid. Though ouch on how it all went down. This explains a LOT. They're like a slightly more dysfunctional and yet mundane Trio, complete with the Potter sticking his head in the sand come the big rows, and bonding over a fight.

Very interesting to see the Freddie/Brigid conflict, though. I like it, it's very REAL sort of personality clashes, the kind of things which are fundamental if they can't learn to compromise. And that takes a demonstration of compromise, not just ardent declarations of affection. And YES Freddie knows it.

Oh good, a Ginny-intervention. Because God knows the Potter men won't sort it PROPERLY out themselves. And also glad that just one nice conversation between Harry and James hasn't fixed everything. Life is Complicated. Glad Ginny's career is going to do fine without being stuck with one paper. Press regulation! How Topical. :D

Eeeshk. Yes, James, get it off your chest but do you want your second salvo to be taking her to task over Ingrid? Oh, well, it's honesty, and it's not WRONG, she just might not LISTEN. We'll see. At least you're explaining yourself in full, and at least she IS giving you the chance to get it out.

Aww, instead it's a heartbreaking reconciliation. And a good demonstration of why problems like this can't be sat on. Obviously Brigid knows how to fix things! Yay, she's been running his life for so long I don't think poor James would know what to do without her. D'aww, poor James with no chance to get back on England. Though I suspect someone might have a stroke of bad luck to see him on there... or this is it for good, who knows! At least he'll have another shot in a few years.

Good stuff!

Author's Response: Yeah, Freddie's the easy target. Because he's a bloke, and blokes are simple. IN THEORY. And also because James has more grovelling to do with Brigid than he does with Freddie - he didn't actually offend Freddie, but he messed things up big style with Brigid. And I'm glad that you like that Brigid IS at fault here, as well as the boys, because that's proving a contentious issue. I don't want James to seem like the victim in this, but at the same time Brigid was also in the wrong, regardless of her motives.

Glad that you find the whole backstory satisfying. It is a HUGE part of the New Trio's current interactions, mainly the Freddie/Brigid issues. And yes, James is a big fan of head-burying.

The Ginny/James chat needed to happen because Harry would NEVER tell James about his own insecurities off his own back. Their chat resolved a lot, but it didn't solve everything, and so Ginny needed to speak up at this point to clear up any lingering confusion. I thought you'd like the press regulation bit when it finally cropped up here :)

James did the right thing here, in getting his feelings about Brigid off his chest. Because how could they resolve things otherwise? Yes, it was risky, but at the end of the day SHE values their friendship too much to not understand where he's coming from. And yes, she runs his life. A lot. It's part of the problem with James - he's never had a chance to properly grow up, because he's always had his family and Brigid there to manage him. Not necessarily a good thing, though Brigid's ability to mend things does come in handy here. Certainly James' England chances look shot, barring a miracle! Cheers for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by imacullenpottergirl 

25th January 2013:
Amazing. Just Amazing. I just. Beautiful. Your writing is beautiful.

-Abhi

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore 

18th January 2013:
I love this chapter. We finally get more of the story and it's nice to understand what went wrong between James and Harry; Ginny's explanation really helps to make things better again!
And it was absolutely great to get some of the history between James, Fred and Bridgid. I don't quite get why Bridgid was so intent on breaking James and Ingrid up though. I have a feeling there are probably some more issues that Fred and Bridgid have to work through before they can get together, especially from what Fred said about her.
There's no Carla in this chapter, but I hope she comes back soon - I want her and James to get together!
Please update soon, I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Harry/James was near-enough wrapped up with their conversation, except for this bit - which he would never admit to! But it needed airing. I'm glad you liked that bit :)

Brigid cares very much for James, and has always known that he resents his father's fame. As such, she has always looked out for him and tried to make sure that he doesn't get hurt by anyone. Unfortunately, here she was blinded by that need to protect him, and she took things too far. There is indeed more to the Freddie/Brigid story which will emerge in time. Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Corleone 

14th January 2013:
LOVED Ginny's explanation to James about Harry! Another wonderful chapter! keep it up!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed that bit, because I knew that James' chat with Harry still didn't quite explain why Harry didn't try more with James. I'm glad it's convincing in the end. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by missclaire17 

14th January 2013:
kljsd;gklhSLKDJF:LSHDGKLSDF
THE FEELS THAT I GOT IN THIS CHAPTER!
I loved that whole bit about Freddie, James, and Brigid. I feel like that was just SO realistic and explains so much of why Freddie and Brigid didn't get together, why James exploded on Brigid, and everything of the sort.

I think Freddie and Brigid have some major problems to work out with one another though. The whole wanting to be with each other yet not wanting to be with each other needs some serious heart-to-heart talking.

I'm so glad that James is getting so much progress! :D
The fact that he's going to fix his career now makes me so much happier because I hated him being pulled off the England squad and put on suspension. James should fear Sinead's fury. I have a feeling that she's one of those that will give him even tougher training of the sort because she hated to put him on suspension and hated even more to lose him as a player.

The whole debacle between James and Roxy playing Chaser will be an issue though. I feel like once James really gets his feet back into his career, Sinead's going to have one hell of a time figuring out what to do with four brilliant Chasers.

THE BIT ABOUT HARRY AND JAMES!
Men and their unwillingness to talk about their feelings! Honestly though. I'm so glad that they talked it all out because nothing hurts me more than to see father and son fighting.

Author's Response: The whole backstory with James, Freddie and Brigid is a HUGE part of why Freddie/Brigid isn't happening yet - though not the sole reason. And the other reasons need to be addressed before we can even begin to hope that F/B comes to fruition! They do, indeed, need to have a proper talk about things, but Freddie needs some more sense knocking into him first, sadly.

I'm glad that that whole confrontation between the three of them was realistic, because James certainly wouldn't have just flung off the handle at Brigid otherwise. He'd have been annoyed at her, yes, but not THAT mad.

Sinead won't be easy to win over, that's for sure! But at the same time, she DID hate having to suspend a player, and even more so because it was James, so she's not going to take the moral high ground here if it has a negative impact on her team as a whole. And Sinead WILL have a big Chaser problem to sort out in a few chapters' time ... but not quite the one you'd think! It's certainly a problem that plays into James' hands. :)

Yup, things with Harry and James are fully sorted now. James needed to know why Harry didn't approach him, and of course Harry wouldn't tell him that himself so at this point Ginny's input is needed. But now they both understand the other's point of view, and James has regained a father figure in his life, which is going to be hugely important for him. Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Courtney 

14th January 2013:
It was nice to finally get the full story, but I don't get why Brigid was so obsessed with breaking up James and Ingrid. That seems a little disturbing to me, unless she actually had any evidence for her mistrust and you make it seem like Ingrid was wonderful, but just misunderstood. Although at least Al was on her side so she doesn't seem as crazy. And it was nice to see another side to Freddie here, and to get more of an understanding about the friendship between the three as it hasn't seemed very strong since the time of the story (especially between Freddie and Brigid) and I didn't think either of them appreciates or treats her that well. It makes sense now that they never actually apologized or resolved things, but it's annoying that James and Freddie still blame the whole thing on her as James is the one who decided to end things, not her, so he is responsible even if she wasn't a good friend during the whole thing and it sounds like Freddie was just as horrible to her in the situation. So I still think Brigid deserves better than him and hope she stops moping after him as he isn't willing to forgive or accept her flaws and treats her and her feelings with so little respect despite the fact that he is far from perfect himself. Maybe Freddie really is wiser than Brigid in realizing that they wouldn't work together as a couple, but then he really needs to talk to her about it all as he knows he is just hurting her over and over again and she deserves to find someone who will really care about her. I hope that James finally addressing things with both of them will encourage them to do it themselves because it sounds like they are all messed up from the past and need to just let it go and move on. So at least James is starting to do that and will hopefully be able to deal with things better now in the future.
And it was interesting to hear why Harry pulled away. It makes sense that Harry would be a somewhat dysfunctional father considering his own pas, fearful of rejection and have a hard time connecting.
And personally I don't see why he is still so hung up on Carlotta. She hasn't been particularly nice or empathetic in any of this and I don't like her that much myself. It seems the only great thing about her was that she didn't know about his fame and liked to have casual sex, but after the way she has behaved in the fall out, I think James should just try to move on, unless she is willing to actually put in any kind of effort and actually care about him,

Author's Response: I was looking forward to your feedback on this chapter. :) This still isn't the complete story; as Freddie hinted at, there's more to him holding back than just an argument they had a few years ago. But this is a big part of what's going on with them. Brigid basically overreacted; she saw over the years how fearful James was of being used for his fame, and she came to be as paranoid as him, because she cared about him and didn't want him to get hurt. She saw James getting close to someone whose mother was a renowned golddigger, and of course she was going to fear that the same thing was going to happen to James. She was rash, but then, nobody's perfect, and if Brigid has a flaw it's that she tries to look after her friends too much.

Having said that, it doesn't make all of this her fault at all, as you say. James and Freddie DO realise that; they don't blame her entirely - the reason why this episode holds Freddie back isn't just because of what she said to him, but because of what HE said to HER. He recognises that they were both at fault. And her flaws - the fact that she cares TOO much - are what endear her to him. The moments when she frustrates him are also the moments when he cares for her most. He's more than willing to accept her even with her flaws... it's more his own which hold him back. But that's a spoiler for a later chapter. :) As for James, he at least acknowledges that he wasn't as brave as he could have been when he ended things with Ingrid, but he IS pointing the finger at Brigid a bit more than he ought to. However, he just wants her to see that while he appreciates that she looks out for him, he'd rather she let him make his own decisions, even if he DOES make mistakes along the way.

If there's one thing I do regret about this fic so far, it's that perhaps James hasn't spent enough time with both Freddie and Brigid. They were together more at the start, but James' Quidditch career and Carlotta have meant that Freddie and Brigid have been pushed to the sidelines somewhat. They WILL become more prominent as their storyline takes shape, and I hope that their friendship becomes more convincing. James takes matters into his own hands in a few chapters' time, and I hope you'll enjoy that!

I'm glad that Harry's side of things is convincing. I was worried that people might react with a "well why didn't one of them just SAY something?", but that was the whole point; they were both too fearful to say something, both worried that they were the one in the wrong. And while Harry may have had a few father figures around when he was younger, he doesn't have any life experiences to draw from that could have helped him with James, which is where his unwillingness to act stems from originally.

James has a lot of thinking to do about Carlotta. His initial attraction to her was purely that she didn't treat him like the other girls who knew about his family did (not to mention the legs!). He's grown to like her for more than that - her caring nature, her sense of humour and the fact that he generally feels at ease around her - but he needs to work out whether he wants to actually be with her, or whether he just likes the idea of an escape from the wizarding world. I can understand why she perhaps hasn't come across so well in recent chapters, but James DID hold back a massive piece of information from her, and so her anger, while not perhaps wholly justifiable, is still understandable. She went into this whole thing expecting a little bit of fun with no strings attached, and all of a sudden finds herself caught up in a whole different world, with a wizard who has far more inner demons than she had any inkling about. So her natural reaction is to scarper! There's more to HER to come, which hopefully makes her actions more understandable... but she definitely cares about James, perhaps too much. After all, she wouldn't have gone back to him otherwise...

Thanks very much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Teena 

14th January 2013:
I Love You
And I also Love your fast updates.
Amazing!
Keep up the good work

Author's Response: I like to have a couple of chapters' worth of buffer, so that I can always have something in the queue. The next chapter's already in waiting! Glad you're enjoying, thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review