Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

2nd August 2016:
Ah, so we got to meet the ex-girlfriend that broke James's heart. I think this was good closure for him. Now he can try to fix things between him and Carlotta.

 Report Review

Review #2, by EMAW 

1st April 2014:
So I've read this story thru 2 or 3 times at least, really need to get around to your other stuff as well. Professional Quidditch stories are my weakness and I just love this one.

So I have one dream/question...What is Hugo's future? Hugo hasn't seemed to be around much, but he does obviously play quidditch. My dream? Hugo signs with the Cannons in some sort of Off the Rails spin-off or just within any main sequels your apt to do just to throw a bone to his poor father. It would be "off the rails" as it gets to sign with the Cannons and maybe add an interesting twist(though with what this one is setting up you already have plenty of those)considering the Falcons seemingly general dislike of the Cannons and of course his poor father's love of the Cannons. A resurgent Cannons led by rookie Hugo Weasely would be the bee's knees for me as I consider myself somewhat a suffering Cannons fan as well.

Thanks for the story and I can't wait to see how it finishes out and if you have anything in store for a sequel.

Author's Response: Two or three times? Wow, thank you! I have to confess...the Weasley cousins are rather underdeveloped in terms of what they do, and Hugo in particular is one cousin who I don't have much planned for! I love your plan for him, who wouldn't want a resurgent Cannons? I'll have to plan his future out a bit more, hopefully you might get your wish. :) I do have a sequel on store, more info on that to come at the end of this fic! Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Penelope Inkwell 

1st October 2013:
Oh, I like her! Good to see James finally taking in some positive advise. I suppose Ingrid's just right for it, too--outside his family and friends, but someone who still knows him quite well. That's a shame about her boyfriend, though. Poor thing.

Author's Response: It was nice to FINALLY be able to introduce Ingrid, because I really do love her. James was at the point where his family couldn't help him because he just didn't want to listen to them. Ingrid is someone who knows James well, knows how to deal with him - and hasn't upset him whatsoever, which helps matters. And of course I give her a dying boyfriend, because I am CRUEL. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by imacullenpottergirl 

25th January 2013:
Well, the bombs keep dropping don't they. I really like Ingrid though. Sometimes bad things happen to good people, and I can't help but feel bad for her. She is amazing, and so are you. I can't even begin to tell you how much I admire you. You are amazing. And let no one tell you otherwise.


- Abhi

Author's Response: This is probably where things stop getting worse for James. Aside from the Quidditch matches; it IS hard for him in that he's not playing. But he's stopped screwing things up - possibly because he CAN'T screw things up any more than he has done; he's at the lowest of the low.

But at the same time things begin to pick up in this chapter for him. Ingrid's an important character in this part of the fic, and I'm glad that you like her! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore 

18th January 2013:
Poor James, sitting in a shabby bar and drinking his troubles away surrounded by shady characters.
It's good for Roxie, but is it wrong that at the same time I kind of hate her for benefitting from James' problems, even if he has brought most of it on himself?
I knew there was some mysterious ex that was going to come in at some point, but I have to admit I was kind of dreading it. I didn't want this to become one of those stories where the character sees their ex and they fall back in love etc - what would have happened to Carla then? So thanks for not doing that! As a result I really like Ingrid, because she's finally giving James some perspective, and maybe now he'll start sorting things out in his life, so he can get his job and Carla back!

Author's Response: It's not wrong for you to hate Roxie for that at all - it means you want James to do well which means you empathise with him and so I've done my job well :) And I'm not the kind of person to throw in a mysterious ex who the main character goes back to! Here, Ingrid understands James in a way that others don't, and knows the best way to deal with him, which is why she's important. Things begin to look up for James from here! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Slide 

3rd January 2013:
He's drinking in a run-down bar during the day. He just needs whisky, a cigar, and some country music ("The music of pain") and he's doing fine.

...good for Roxie? Well, something good's coming of all of this. I also randomly demand to know more of this random Welsh burly Beater. Funnily enough I have a soft spot for them. ;) Though perhaps this random drunkard is more pressing. Or at the very least he's the common man telling James what a silly bugger he's been playing at being these past few weeks!

Oh ho ho, who're YOU. YES I knew there was a mysterious ex. This must be her! Yes. *sips coffee* She's a smart cookie. Their story sounds rather tragic, and it looks like she'd have been good for James, but I'm glad she's being helpful and supportive! And if she's been out of the picture a while I guess James has a harder time assuming that she's out to get him/judging, etc.

...dying guy. Oh God, there's no good bit in here, not if Carla's ALSO got something heinous. Poor Ingrid. Gives up everything for the guy, loses the guy. But hopefully she's smart and capable enough to do all right, at least, after this. It'd just be good if she has people to support her! Like James. They clearly make good friends.

Hmm. We'll see how he does trying to fix his life. Got a lot of work to do, Jimmy-boy!

Author's Response: Yes! Whisky and country music solve everything! He's probably consuming a lot of Firewhisky, so that's one element sorted, right?

Roxanne has benefited from James' meltdown, but it can't be easy for her given that it's not only a teammate, but a cousin, who is going through such trouble. Haha, the random drunkard. He wasn't meant to have had a role at all; none of the patrons were meant to talk to him at all! But then I decided it might be better this way. So James gets life advice from a Hog's Head regular. :)

Random burly Welsh Beater? Meh, he's not interesting at all!

Mysterious ex makes her appearance. And helps things. Their story is a bit of a sad one. Their relationship might not have lasted that long after school, who knows, but she was certainly good for James at the time, and even now she's one of few people who truly know how best to deal with him. It does help that she's not been around, because it certainly makes James feel as though she means everything she says and doesn't have any ulterior motives - and more importantly, SHE'S not done anything wrong to him that he can get angry about!

Dying guy. Because, you know, I like to make my characters' lives as hard as possible. But Ingrid's a strong woman, she'll be okay. This isn't the last we've seen of her!

I still love your Carlotta theory, haha. Utter win for crackpot theories!

Life-fixing begins next chapter. Excited? GOOD. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by DianainGA 

3rd January 2013:
So glad this story was updated!! LOVE IT! Can't wait to see James get his mojo and Carlotta back! Please don't wait so long to post!

Author's Response: Glad you like! James starts to get his mojo back soon; as for Carlotta, that's a more difficult task. The next chapter's already in the queue! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by missclaire17 

3rd January 2013:
AW!
SO I KNEW IT! I WAS RIGHT! sorta. I think.
She was the girl from James's past.
Ingrid wasn't what I expected but I really like her. What I love is that they can be really good friends around each other even though they were involved with each other before.

I'm so glad that Ingrid gave James a good talk though. Everything that she said is just the epitome of what I want James to hear.

Surprising that James has been spending so much time at Hog's Head. I feel like Roxy must feel horrible because James being in this state is incredibly good for her career but at the same time, James's well-being is probably more important to Roxy because he's family.

Either way, I hope that James can take Ingrid's advice. I want to get to know everything that Carlotta's thinking. I wish that when James goes to talk to her, she can tell him everything.

*Sigh* I have to say, Ingrid really is interesting. I do love her as a character already.

Author's Response: Ingrid is indeed the girl from James' past. I'm glad you like her; she's one of my own personal favourites. She definitely knows James very well, and more importantly she knows the best way of handling him, which is why he's more willing to listen to her! She'll crop up again a bit later on in the story.

Roxanne's situation isn't the best, I agree! We'll hear from her in a few chapters' time :) As for James ... well, he's more willing to listen to Ingrid than he is anyone else. But whether he can take her advice is a different story. Hopefully a few questions are answered in the next chapter. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Corleone 

3rd January 2013:
Wow really deep stuff!! Good to see that James is getting a little perspective and seeing that someone has is far worse than he does! Great chap! update soon!

Author's Response: Yeah, someone finally tells James what he needs to hear - and more to the point, he listens! In one sense Ingrid has it worse than him, but she's dealing with things a lot better than he is. The next chapter should be up soon! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by hpgrl 

3rd January 2013:
yay! things are starting to look up again! I loved this chapter and Ingrid seems like an intriguing character. I hope we get to see more of her. Can't wait for the next chapter! Seriously, this is my favorite story right now and I got so excited when I saw that you had updated :D

Author's Response: Things are indeed beginning to look up! Ingrid will crop up again in a few chapters' time. Glad you like her! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review