Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

22nd March 2017:
Scorpius needs to be part of the Weasley family

 Report Review

Review #2, by Roisin 

16th March 2015:
'Scorpius gave an elaborate bow to hide the twisting in his gut'--Scorpius in a nutshell.

Just giggling solidly through the opening section. I'm having a difficult time believing this story is something that got written on a once-blank page, and instead suspect that it actually just sprang fully-formed out of the aether.

Man, the building comparisons between Thane and Scorpius are really potent. Very interesting!

I love the line 'September was dying.' Also, I just realized that Scorpius and Artemis have weirdly similar personalities... There's something in there...

Hah, your reveal with the Marauder's Map was brilliant. (Also some feels, because, you know)

Man, I just got kind of wrapped up in this chapter and completely failed to make comments. The whole Draco/Scorpius bit was really well done, and I like that the meeting early helped set the stage for it. Very well planned! Scorp's ranting was a really marked shift in personality, which mirrors Rose's change in behavior in an interesting way. I wouldn't say they're expressly connected, but they're both the results of parallel emotional arcs.

Anyway, the plot and emotional pacing is just fantastic!

Author's Response: An unintentional nutshell, but an apt one!

I wrote Ignite right off the back of heavy, war-time, coming-of-age angst fanfic, so I think I was just so relieved getting to write something light-hearted (you know, with people getting trapped in a house of plague - that kind of light-hearted) that I just went to town on whimsy.

Scorpius and Artemis... pretty faces, easily distracted, mollified by fuss and attention, may savage you if sufficiently provoked (and very capricious on what counts as provocation). Yeah, I can see it.

I enjoyed writing the Marauder's Map a whole guilty lot.

Huh, interesting point on Scorpius' anger about his father being a serious shift. It's one of those things where, writing from inside his head, I've always KNOWN it was there, so while it was a new layer to come out, the feelings with it weren't necessarily meant to be something NEW... ahh, the joy of perspective.

Parallel emotional arcs are entirely coincidental. :D

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #3, by EmmaGM 

9th February 2015:
This Thane character is getting really interesting. The part with the Marauder's Map was a very nice touch. I loved it!

Author's Response: Thane's a mystery we'll take some time to unravel! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Siriuslover177 

19th June 2014:
Draco is such a horrible person. That is what he sent his so. The one that could br dying. The one that is trying to save the whole school. Wow. I just cannot believe someone would be that cruel to their own family. And how is Al supposed to react? With his family being so supportive, and nice? Its not like he has any idea how Scorp is feeling. Its just sad.

I like Scorps and Roses tready. I dont want either of them fighting. Esspecially since what just happened to him. I really want her to ask him what happened with Miranda too. I just really want to find out the truth!

And this guy behind it all does not seem very... nice. I really hope they find him, and more information on how to cure this.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: This Draco is absolutely not a nice person. He cares for his son, but in a very messed up way, and one which often does harm. He thinks he's trying to encourage him to be 'better', albeit by a very subjective definition of better.

 Report Review

Review #5, by water_lily43175 

30th December 2012:
I'M HERE I'M HERE I'M HERE.

Prometheus provides another chapter image option! Happy times, though I hope this doesn't mean less Scorpius/Albus/Artemis image time.

"Prometheus Thane is dead." Why doesn't that surprise me? Oh, Scorp. "You're wrong, I'm right." I love him. I'm with him though; I reckon Thane has staged his death or something. Possibly. Don't know anywhere near enough about him yet to know why he'd do such a thing though. READING ON.

Rose standing up for Malfoy. Unbelievable. Already I love this chapter so much, and I'm barely into it! Hermione's spot-on attitude towards Scorpius, treating him like she would his father, assuming that he's the same. Admittedly Scorp - or anyone - telling her she's wrong is a bad move and one she's not going to take too kindly to, but SHE is disinclined to even consider taking him seriously because he's a Malfoy. So in character from them both. And ROSE. Stubborn as anything, but even she can't deny that she had Scorpius figured out wrong. And now she sticks up for him to her mother. Love it.

SO. Thane.

"'Miss Rourke is correct,' said Methuselah, who did have such a habit, just for rainy days". DEAD. Love him.

Pro-Dark magic family, but NOT Voldemort supporters. I like this. Avoidance of the Voldemort-lite villain? And Prometheus is a very interesting character. Freelance freedom-fighter! It makes his motives much more intriguing. And actually I agree in that it makes him a more dangerous character, because its less clear just what our six are meant to be fighting here. It saddens me that the main reaction of the group is 'He's from a Dark magic family, of course he's bad.' Even Albus. Poor Scorp!

Owls are safe. Happy days!

'Al told me off so I stopped.' Because Scorp will do anything Albus says. Love this. And I also love the little reference to Matthias, I like having more insight into him. He intrigues me as a character. The funny thing is, I probably wouldn't notice him if his surname wasn't Doyle!

Rose is, once more, being NICE. And Scorpius doesn't know how to handle it. She's beginning to learn a lot about him, now she's started noticing him more. Picking up on his insecurities about his family; he may not be a carbon copy of Draco but he hardly wears his heart on his sleeve in terms of how he feels about them, and certainly not to ROSE, so the fact that she's picking up so much suggests to ME that she is, in fact, quite observant. She was clearly watching him in the Great Hall...

And an agreement to end the hostilities. I like this. Wonderful Scorose developments in the past few chapters.

Ah, the Map! That will come in handy. Love Scorp's Prongs remark, haha.

Oh, Scorpius. His family are utter idiots (stronger words are available but, you know, 12+). I love every moment of this passage; Scorp's anger about his dad, Al's attempts at pacifying and reassuring him, the fact that Scorp is only saying all this BECAUSE it's Al... Love it. Love the whole chapter. Plot developments regarding Thane but, more importantly, Scorose developments and, or course, a lovely Scorbus moment. Because I love those. EVEN IF Albus was silly at the beginning of the chapter. I like!

Author's Response: Prometheus does indeed provide options for chapter images, but we won't have too many of him. Nothing could interrupt the slew of Artemis pictures, after all! Artemis is an important character. Scorp is indeed an arrogant toe-rag in the manner of his father; Hermione isn't completely judging him based on Draco, but now she has to go head-to-head with him to argue her case, it's stirring up old resentments. It's one thing to intellectually know he's not his father's son. It's another thing to keep your cool in a tense situation when opposing him.

Rose, however, is also her mother's daughter to the extent that she (without half so many issues) can look to the logic of the situation, and SHE can see that Scorpius has a good argument. And she might be so angry with him, for so many reasons, but she will hold to the logic and the principle, which says Scorpius needs listening to. I do love Methuselah took. ;) He's a hoot to write.

Definitely avoidance of the Voldemort-lite villain, but there's a lot more to Thane than we have yet to see. His motives are shrouded in mystery for a reason, a mystery we will continue to uncover. But old prejudices remain, and people are being a bit short-sighted: He's from a Dark magic family, he's set AGAINST them already, so Albus is just lumping him in with the rest of his bloodline. Naughty Albus. But yes, Scorp will do anything for him, which is why most of the time the Rose/Scorp fights are precipitated by Rose. Most of the time.

We will have more on Matthias as time goes by. He's his mother's son, clearly, involving himself when originally he was JUST a name, and then I wanted to mention AN ex of Rose's (because the girl deserves her own happy, active dating life), and now I have PLANS for him. So many plans.

Rose is a smart girl, and she sees more than even she lets on. A lot of this has been nestled in the back of her mind for years about Scorpius, even if she doesn't realise it. The problem with hating someone is that you do pay an awful lot of attention to them! So in her way she knows him well, despite how much she thinks she might not.

And, finally, we get more than off-handed comments and assumptions about the state of the Malfoy family. And it's not a great family, absolutely not - but Scorp's got Albus, which makes it all okay. And Albus might be silly, but he is still Al - he gets over it. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by reader 

18th December 2012:
this is so good. please update soon.

Author's Response: Update shall be soon indeed. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by AriesGirl40 

14th December 2012:
Yea! The animals are safe. No animals were harmed in the making of this fan fic :)

I hope when Scorpius is older and on his own, he becomes something HUGE that his father can't get in on.

Draco should have learned something in how he was treated by his father.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you :)

Author's Response: The animals are all fine and cannot be infected. Or that would be very sad! Though 11 year-olds are infected, so that's hardly nice. Scorpius also has every intention of becoming something huge and successful which has nothing to do with his father - and you'd have thought Draco would have learned, but these cycles are difficult to break out of, and Draco learned his lessons too late. We'll see if Scorpius is going to fare any better.

Thanks for reviewing, and hope you had a good holiday season too!


 Report Review

Review #8, by fizzingwizzbies 

14th December 2012:
Really loving this story, the characterisation of everyone is so great. I loved the dialogue between Scorpius and patronus Hermione - very funny. I also love Albus and Scorpius' friendship! Keep up the good work!! :D Oh and Rose/Scorp is fab also.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you're enjoying all of this! There will be plenty more of them all, especially plenty more Rose/Scorpius. Cheers for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by MadiMalfoy 

14th December 2012:
Yay quarantine is slowly breaking down! :D I see some Rose/Scorpius finally happening, whether he realizes it or not (he doesnt yet :P) and I'm excited to see what they do with the Marauders Map! Get the next chapter up as soon as possible after the winter break! Happy Holidays! :)

Author's Response: Quarantine is breaking down, walls between people are breaking down, and no, Scorpius is completely, utterly oblivious - for now. Next chapter will be up very soon, I promise! Thanks for reviewing, and happy holidays!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review