Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

2nd August 2016:
It may not have been the confrontation that we needed, but it was the one that James needed to get all of his insecurities off of his chest where his relationship with his father is concerned. This confrontation had to exist before things could even begin to be repaired between the two. Great chapter.

 Report Review

Review #2, by CarolPotter 

27th February 2016:
I can barely put to words how much your story is growing on me. The quality and the emotion that your writing transmits it's just out of this world.
I can relate so much to James, to what he feels about how everyone treats him, that these few chapters almost made me cry.
Thank you so much for this beautiful peace of writing. You have a gift. "Use it well".

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review, James still has a special place in my heart and so it's lovely to know that people enjoy reading Rails. :) This chapter was a tough one to write, I hated making him so miserable! But it's all worth it in the end. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by gigi 

14th February 2015:
Intense! So sad :-( Very well done!

Author's Response: This chapter nearly broke me to write. Poor James. Luckily this is as low as things get for him, it's pretty rough though. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by merlins beard 

27th January 2015:
I cried through the whole chapter... hope it gets better soon, i can't take much more of this... really well written though

Author's Response: This chapter was the hardest one to write. It was oddly enjoyable, as things had been working up to this for a long time, but at the same it was very sad to put James, Harry and Ginny through this pain. It's all up from here though! :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Gabrielle Avis 

23rd April 2014:
We'll I'm about dead. It is three in the morning an I haven't cried this much since I read The Fault In Our Stars. I have literally had to stop reading to cry and let out silent screams. This story is amazing.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for reading so much! This chapter is about as bad as it gets so I hope you've read on to see how things pan out. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by BrighterThanTheSun 

14th February 2013:
Thanks for clearing that last bit about squibs up.
I've got to say, I quite literally cried after this chapter. I don't know how I've become so attached to this story, but it really touched something in me. You're a truly gifted author.

Author's Response: No worries! Yeah, this chapter in particular was a rotten one to write! Luckily for us (and James!) this is pretty much the trough; things get better for him from now on. I'm glad you're enjoying, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by imacullenpottergirl 

25th January 2013:
I don't know what to say. I feel his pain. I feel his suffering. I really do. And it's hurting me. Hard. And this is the point in time where I inform you that you have actually succumbed me to tears. I am actually crying. I just, I dunno what else I can say.

-Abhi

Author's Response: And this is the worst chapter of them all. In terms of what happens, and James' state of mind. At this point, he's nearly totally lost. I'm so sorry that it's so upsetting! But it had to be done, and at the same time it's quite rewarding as a writer to know that people are so engaged with the story and the characters. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore 

18th January 2013:
I cannot believe that just happened! I know the relationship between James and Harry was bad, but I can't believe that he tried to curse his own dad! And Harry and Ginny have done so much for James and he doesn't even care. James is being so stupid right now and it makes me sad, but I guess he has to sort himself out so that we can see things getting better.
I love this story though, even when James is being stupid about everything!

Author's Response: Harry/James is bad, but James's foul mood exacerbates the situation here. He's so blinded by his anger for Harry that he doesn't see that Harry genuinely cares for him. Luckily he begins to sort things out after this :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Slide 

3rd January 2013:
And from the first sentence I am all excitement! Apprehensive excitement. This is perfect, I must doff my figurative hat to you, because I have been chomping at the bit for Harry/James stuff and now you deliver it when my instinctive reaction is, "Oh, no, not NOW" because James is so delicate I can only feel SORRY for him. So you give me what I want, and now I don't want it!! It's THAT good!

And disappointed Ginny. Oh dear. And Harry is within his rights to be this angry, and James is within HIS rights to be this angry, and even if it's horrid and unfair all round it's really the only way it would go. ...I should have guessed, really, that it wasn't merely LUCK which got James out of being arrested. OMG Harry PAID HIM OFF? No wonder he's hitting the roof. Wow. Wow. Harry must HATE to have to do that. James has 'made' him use his wealth and connections to keep him out of trouble, which Harry has to HATE doing, and yet...

Oh, this is so good.

And Harry confirms much of what I had assumed. But GINNY. Wow. I need more words than 'wow', but it's a good one. They are so awesome in their thoroughly messed up way. And Ginny's editor is something I can't possibly name with these ratings on these reviews. And also perhaps not very bright. Hmm, WAS it Albus who told Harry? Not 100% on that.

And James is rocketing from 'understandable crazy' to 'jerk crazy' by, again, invoking the "my life is so hard compared to Lily's", and this is going to end badly and - Oh. Well, that was an understatement. Yeah, um. James. Bad James. No wonder Harry's storming off. You lost all moral high ground there -

Wait, wait, wait, you're ANGRY WITH GINNY THERE? No. Oh, no, James. You keep on finding lower and lower to sink and I still love you but this is crossing one hell of a line. If Brigid can't break through, if Lily can't break through, if his parents can't break through, I really don't know who can. Because I assume Carla won't just swan in through the door and make everything okay, unless more is going on behind the scenes, but I don't think it IS.

THIS IS DELICIOUS. OM NOM ANGST.

Author's Response: You can't ask me for something and then complain when I give it to you! But yes, this is entirely the wrong time for Harry to visit James, but Harry is a bit clueless and I like making things difficult for James, so this is what you get.

Yes, Harry has used his name and connections to get James off scot-free. He's stooped to the very same level that he despises other people operating on, has done the one thing he hates the most, just to help his son. And James seems ungrateful for it. Of course, Harry can't understand how James could have let this happen when he had everything he ever wanted. And James, in his current state, feels victimised by this attitude of his father's.

Ginny's editor is indeed an idiot. But then, he's a Prophet employee; what do you expect? And Albus was the one who told Harry about Kreacher. Again, he cares about James in his own way, but right now that won't endear Albus to James at all.

All of James' life, Ginny has been the one person who's supported him the most, and so the thought that she's siding with Harry, of all people, against him, hurts a lot. In reality, she was scared of James at that moment. All very sad. But she does want to help. He just won't let her.

ANGST indeed! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by thatravenclawchick 

18th December 2012:
This story is killing me, i swear...its bloody fantastic! :) x

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by missclaire17 

16th December 2012:
omg
im literally in TEARS because of this chapter.
the combination between me being emotional these days and this chapter wasn't good lol
my mom walked in and looked at me weirdly bc i was crying xD

anyways.
LKSJDG:LKHSDLKFJSLKDHG
I DONT EVEN KONW WHERE TO BEGIN!
i don't doubt that Harry loves James because we obviously know how against corruption in the Ministry he is, and i don't doubt Ginny at all because before i was confused why she missed saturday at breakfast.
but it's all so SAD for the three of them.
the tension that broke between all three of them was just so heartbreaking, especially when Ginny was begging James to talk to her. the part when she said, "i'm your MOTHER" made me so sad. and it wasn't even like he didn't want to let her in, but that he kept remember Harry and everything between them so he didn't because i don't think James can bear it if he physically saw that look on Ginny's face, and i don't think that's something he'd ever want to see.

either way, i'm guessing that we've reached the lowest of the lowest point here. the confrontation wasn't really what i thought it would be but it was so incredibly dramatic that i wouldn't have had it any other way.

A NEW CHARACTER?! WHAT! O.O
im so confused who that new character could POSSIBLY be. another girl? o.O the girl that Brigid originally/supposedly chased away?
that's going to be my guess.

I feel more than happy that it's going to start getting better for James because I feel like it's been the breakdown of everything. suspension from the Falcons, getting kicked off England, family and friends estranged... *SIGH*

oh James... how I can't wait for you to become better again.

Author's Response: The bit at the end with Ginny made me cry to write it. It was so HARD, I hated it! But it had to be done :( I'm glad that it's clear that Harry and Ginny DO love James; that was certainly something that I wanted to come out of this chapter, even if to James it's the final straw. Harry would never abuse his position at the Ministry for something trivial, so the fact that he's doing so here says a lot. And yeah, Ginny missed breakfast because she was busy attempting damage limitation of her own. Bless them, they're going through a lot right now for James' sake.

I like your thoughts on the new character! And I think (hope?) you'll be pleased :) It's hard to imagine how things could get much WORSE for James! Although I'm sure I could give it a good go, haha. But yeah, they do begin to improve in time. Don't worry, you won't be waiting for long :) thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pattalack 

15th December 2012:
This story is so addicting! Can't wait til the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Next chapter will be in the queue as soon as it reopens. Glad you're enjoying, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Corleone 

15th December 2012:
Man! I was expecting fireworks but DAMN! I knew James & Harry had a bad relationship but he probably would have killed Harry with that curse! I do think Harry could've been a little more tactful though... REALLY felt sorry for Ginny having to choose between her husband and firstborn! Please update soon because they're closing the queue for Christmas!

Author's Response: James isn't thinking straight right now which is why he tried to use such a serious curse; if he wasn't in such a state he wouldn't even have considered using it, even on Harry given their relationship. It's not a healthy but they're still father and son, plus James doesn't have a violent bone in his body normally. Harry COULD have been more tactful... But if he was then he wouldn't be Harry :) And yes, horrible situation for Ginny. I was hoping to get the next chapter into the queue before it shut but I ran out of time in the end so I'll have to wait until it opens now unfortunately. But I'll try to get it posted as soon as possible! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ananya 

15th December 2012:
OH. MY. GOD.
I'm speechless. Can you please e-mail me the next chapter? My id is - ananya . sachar 96 @ gmail. com
No spaces in between
I don't think I can wait for the next chapter.
James seriously needs to get his act together.
And I seriously cannot believe James was about to Sectumsempra his own father.
The characters are extremely believable and bot cliched at all!
BTW, You Rule. :)

Author's Response: James DOES need to get his act together. He's clearly not in the right frame of mind; he would never have dreamed of using such a serious curse on Harry otherwise. I'm glad you like the characters! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by RoseScorp57 

15th December 2012:
I absolutely loved it! It was sad and I keep hoping James can fix things for himself, but it was great and charged with so much emotion.

I'm really looking forward to the next chapter! (:

Author's Response: This chapter is very sad, yup! The last bit in particular was very sad to write. Next chapter will be up as soon as is possible, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review