Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

22nd March 2017:
So so glad Rose knows

 Report Review

Review #2, by Roisin 

16th March 2015:
Bah--I love how disconcerted Scorpius is by Rose being civil to him. Like, he's so very disturbed.

Artemis' little POVs always make me giggle. You're basically writing in 3rd person deep POV for a lot of this, so head-hopping is a dangerous business, but somehow you really make the Artemis thing work! I guess because she's a cat? Anyway, it's always delightful!

The way this transitions into an argument is so masterful. Like, it just wouldn't be in character for Scorpius not to comment on Rose's change in demeanor (and he wasn't privvy to last chapter's convo with Albus), but Rose has pretty good reasons for finding it annoying (I try to be nice to you and you accuse me of manipulating). It's a totally convincing road back to Rose's BF conflict.

I'm just constantly in awe of how carefully crafted this story is. From the plot, to the dynamics between characters, you toggle everything with such an assured hand.

'Keep on smiling, Mister Malfoy. Most people can’t even see through it'--that kind of destroyed me. So good.

*Squee* Selena having a good idea and Methy assuring her for it gave me so much happiness! The dynamic they have is an unexpected one, but again, you really make it convincing. Their seemingly opposing personalities end up fitting together and harmonizing in really interesting ways, and I love it! And it makes sense--Methuselah is used to being smarter than everyone, so he wouldn't treat Selena like she's dumb. And because he's totally indifferent to normal social behavior, he wouldn't think to be unkind to her or withhold appreciation.

Bahahaha--have I said before that this story is almost weirdly like the Breakfast Club? Like, people who wouldn't usually hang out become isolated together, and then find out they strike up weird bonds? Selena's interesting, because her kissing Methy's cheek is partially motivated by whatever drive for attention made her behave the way she did pre-outbreak, and also she has limited options. But I like how something that /could/ be a flaw in a person becomes something different once context changes. In a way, she's the most open minded.

And then way to reinforce a positive image of Selena! The way she criticizes Rose's interactions with House Elves is so apt and brilliant--I just love that bit. Super duper on point.

AHA, the whole 'Scorpius/Miranda' reveal is so perfect! Again, every thread connecting perfectly. I love Miranda's strategy for telling Rose, too. Like, everyone has their part to play, and Miranda is a gossip, so she can process-of-eliminate based on peoples' relationships. Brilliant!

The whole drama around Miranda was, while petty, a well drawn out little mystery hook that made me want to click 'next chapter' right away, and it's so amazing that by the time you reveal it, there's SO MANY NEW REASONS to keep reading! A well utilized device all in all.

'crazy in the face'--*snort laughs*

You also wield the mulitiple POVs admirable. Like, /we/ know about Scorpius' drawn out battle with the Ravenclaw doorknocker, but it's amazing to see Rose's perspective of him in his mania. Just SO FUNNY!

Now to avoid mashing my hands on the keyboard and shouting "SO GOOD" over and over again~

Author's Response: Scorpius has never fully understood Rose's hostility towards him (and being Scorpius, just plain retaliated) so he has so many reasons to be suspicious of her changing tack.

Artemis jokes are cheap and silly and I will never stop writing them when she's on-screen. I could wax lyrical about how if a cat wants to be the centre of attention, they will BE the centre of attention, and thus I demonstrate it by even the prose derailing to contemplate Artemis' love for tassles, but... I just want to make cat jokes.

Rose and Scorpius in this scene just wrote themselves, honestly. I don't tend to plan emotional arcs in detail in a story; I know what the end goal is and I USUALLY know the major turning points, and I of course know when the Main Plot will affect the personal plots. But I certainly didn't go into Ignite knowing exactly at what point ScoRose would turn romantic, for instance.

Lockett; she gets Scorpius, and yet is never going to be the most delicate hand at managing him.

Would you believe me if I said I've never seen the Breakfast Club? Though I did realise partway through planning that I was basically writing it with MAGIC and LIFE AND DEATH STAKES, like going Michael Bay all over that movie.

It's taken looking back at Selena kissing Methuselah on the cheek before I'VE fully understood why she did that. Because, yes, they're actually relating as PEOPLE, in a way neither of them is particularly used to doing, and so they're finding a connection there. But Selena is accustomed to most of her interactions with people being manipulations. Even if she's got quite innocent intentions, she hasn't just kissed Methuselah on the cheek because she wants to; she DOES want to wind him up, get him questioning, play a game. It's a NICE game, and I could argue that here she's shunting him into HER territory, when talking nerd is HIS territory, but it's still a very deliberate act, not natural, easy affection.

Selena is in some ways the worst of them all because she doesn't CARE that she's flawed; she doesn't really care when she hurts or upsets people. And yet, that lack of caring transforms to a rocking self-awareness, because she doesn't build up this image of herself as a Good Person, which helps her stay insightful and also really good at dishing out truths.

The Miranda Mystery is such a high school thing, but then, Ignite's all about these characters shedding their misconceptions about each other, and this is probably the first misconception I introduced to readers. I'm still glad something so VERY silly was compelling!

Sometimes it's funnier being in Scorpius' head. Sometimes it's way funnier watching what he does with no idea of his mental process, and who better to be bewildered by this than Rose?

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by EmmaGM 

5th February 2015:
I just love the relationship between Rose and Scorpius. You write the interaction between the two of them so well.

A lot going on in this chapter. Seems like Scorpius has discovered the identity of one of the culprits, and probably the leader. I'm curious what his story is.

Your writing is absolutely amazing. The story is very descriptive without boring the reader and your dialogue is fantastic. Terrific work!

Author's Response: They have their bickering chemistry rather down, don't they? Scorpius will remain hot on the heels of this Thane fellow, of whom we'll certainly learn more.

Very glad you're enjoying the story, and thank you for your kind words and reviews!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Guest :) 

3rd January 2015:
o loving this so far! I was curious about Thane's first name and apparently Prometheus, was in greek myth, a titan who gave the knowledge of fire to mankind- was this perhaps intentional?
Interesting characterizations of everyone, I especially enjoy reading about Selena, although on the face of it she is just a typical 'pretty, dumb blonde' you slowly integrate her less shallow aspects of her personality- which is great because that adds a sort of depth to her character.
I was inclined to dislike Selena at first but I find myself warming up to her more often
And Jones! His speech is sometimes difficult to follow but i think that's sort of the point. I'm excited to see his play in the future chapters.
Overall good job- i'm very excited to read on, the idea of a quarantine is very unique and you've managed to play it off very realistically
And your depiction of modern day house elves is hilarious tbh, and I adore burly Al (who's normally described as scrawny)- the image of him is quite attractive lol

Author's Response: The symbolism of Thane's name, and the connection with the fiery motif of Phlegethon and the story in general, is, indeed, intentional. Selena's a favourite of mine, she has a lot of depth which we'll get to over time.

Very glad you're enjoying the story! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Siriuslover177 

19th June 2014:
*fist pump* They found him! Good! So maybe now they can learn more about who he is, and why he would do this to them!

And Jones and that girl? What is going on with that. I mean, she kissing him? Very odd. But cute.

And aghh, I want to know what happened with the whole Scorp Miranda situations. Although I am glad that Rose finally knows it was not his fault. Maybe she will start to think differently about him.

Ah, this is really all so much!!! But still really good.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: It's a first clue! We'll see where it leads them. And Selena's flirting a bit, it's what she does, but she's not used to boys like Jones, so she's still figuring that out.

Eventually we'll hear the truth about the Miranda/Scorp thing. Eventually!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell 

23rd October 2013:
Can I take a moment to say that I just really like Selena? I meant to mention it before. I like how she started out seeming like the typical mindless blonde, and turned out to be much more. I like how she maybe has a thing for awkward, brilliant Methuselah. I like how she calls Rose out on the flaws that she’s never been able to see in herself. She tells it like it is.

And, despite that she doesn’t always own up to her own mistakes (she isn’t exactly apologetic about ruining Scorpius’ reputation), she doesn’t talk down to the House Elves or Methuselah. She’s a really great character to have.

Speaking of Methuselah, I like how this fic actually has someone more brilliant than Rose. I like what you said, about her having a once-in-a-generation mind, but his being once-in-a-century. It changes up dynamics a bit, and I think that’s good. And the fact that he talks like a super computer is just delicious icing on the good characterization cake. Also, loved the Nahuatl bit. I study that sort of thing, so it was nice to see it get a shout out : )

Good work to Scorpius’ research and riddling skills! Also, Prometheus Thane--what a name. He just *sounds* evil.

I can’t stop reading this--totally hooked!

Author's Response: Selena was meant to be a slow-boiling appreciation. She comes across as vapid and then does grow up, but also shows there was depth there beforehand. I won't lie I'm modelling her in the form of great characters of pop-culture like Buffy's Cordelia. Complete with the capacity to see right to the heart of matters - and, like with Rose, express them pretty much no diplomacy! But certainly no angel.

Methuselah gives me an excuse to research all the fun little things, like Nahuatl and Chocolate!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Casey 

14th June 2013:
I love the name Prometheus! With the whole fire connotation throughout the story and the fact Prometheus brought man fire in Greek mythology. It fits really well. Great story! But I want some rose/scorp!!!

Author's Response: I work on my symbolism sometimes. ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jimena 

17th December 2012:
I loved the part where nahuatl culture is mentioned, maybe because I'm Mexican ;). Great story! It is one of the best fanfictions I have read lately.
Ps: I love Scorpius!

Author's Response: I did enjoy my research for this! So many references in fanfic to magical history and so forth draw on Celtic and Greek mythology and the like, so I wanted something else to spice it all up a bit. Glad you're enjoying the story, and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

5th December 2012:
Yay Methy chapter image!

Hmm, Rose is being nice to Scorpius today. Her talk with Albus has helped. I mean, siding with Scorp over Artemis? CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. Artemis is in danger of stealing the show right now, I utterly love her.

Scorpius has some good ideas! Yay for him. Oh, don't snap at Rose like that when she's being NICE. He really doesn't know what's good for him sometimes. Easy to understand why he's confused though, it's a big change from her.

...oh yeah. Rose has a boyfriend. That's depressing.

Aha, Scorpius' "my detention saved our lives" comment arrives on the scene, happy days!

"I wasn't much older than you when-" WHAT? When WHAT happened? Is this just a reference to Voldypants, or is this a hint at something MORE? Ugh so intrigued at what's going on with Nat right now.

Oh, Nat DOES see Scorpius' worth. This makes me very happy, that he's valued and that people see what his strengths are. "Nobody knows what's going on with Jones." WORD. But yes, big thumbs up for Nat's little chat here.

Oh, Selena and Methuselah together are so cute. I've changed my mind, I like Selena/Methy. I really like her, too. More Selena please!

Oh, Selena and Rose get on SO WELL.

Oh. OH. MIRANDA STUFF. He cheated, except he didn't cheat, SHE cheated, SELENA KNOWS, oho, the world makes sense. Rose feels bad. REAL bad.

And she's doing a LOT of learning about herself right now, isn't she?

I love excited!Scorp. Oh, he's so funny. "I had TWO HOURS' SLEEP on a book! Drink your tea!" And the door. The DOOR. He's hilarious. Deranged indeed! He needs to chat with Stubbs' door, that would be the best conversation EVER.

Whoa, Thane is found. Exciting development!

Author's Response: Rose is seeing a little bit of sense here. Albus has helped bring her down to earth. And Artemis is a terror of a cat, though I can't deny I sorely love writing that creature. Every scene she's in she becomes a little terror.

And Scorpius is expecting Rose to have something up her sleeve, some agenda, so forth. Else why would she be nice to him? That, and Scorpius still has his own issues of doubt and gloom and is remembering Hector exists. Which is enough to put a dampener on anyone's day, really!

Lockett is specifically referring to the war, in this instance. But bear in mind she spent 9 months in Azkaban in the war. It's tough, writing this as a stand-alone piece while those who have read the Anguisverse have a certain insight into Nat, but it's a 25-year gap, and there's plenty more to come. We get a LOT of Professor Lockett and how and why she is the way she is. Also, here's that flash of that Nat we all used to know: The one who was good with people, the one who understood the value of a laugh. The one who sees all of that in Scorpius and knows why it's useful, even if she doesn't/can't do that herself any more.

Selena's stealing the show in this chapter, I was happy with how it came out, even if I have such a ball writing Methuselah. And it was about time Selena and Rose had a conversation, I am a fan of good, strong female relationships and yet I write them so dang rarely! Selena knows lots. More than she's letting on. But she's still loyal to Miranda, she's not going to sell out her best friend - and she'll take a crack at Rose while she still can. Why not?

Sleep-deprived, excited Scorpius is, in fact, a bit deranged. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by LillyRoseanne 

4th December 2012:
Ooooh! More give me more, please!

I love this, it is amazing!

Occasionally it gets a little confusing as to whom is speaking, but a quick re-read is normally enough to work it out, thought you might want to know though...

Keep it up :D
x

Author's Response: More is forthcoming, I promise. Thanks for the heads' up about dialogue presentation, I'll keep an eye on it in future. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by MadiMalfoy 

2nd December 2012:
Dun dun dun! Absolutely fantastic! However, I want some rose/scorpius love! Keep writing please :)

Author's Response: Oh, there will be ScoRose good times, have no fear. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by AriesGirl40 

2nd December 2012:
Well, thats part of the mystery ferreted out. Just who exactly was he though? They really need into the headmasters office, dont they?

Author's Response: A name only gets one so far, indeed. The Headmaster's Office would be helpful but it's not the only source of answers! Yet. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review