Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Ignite, Chapter 13: Firefight
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

22nd March 2017:
Rose called him Scorpius!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Roisin 

16th March 2015:
You are so clever! Gah! How do you write serialized fics yet they flow together so well? Like, you established in the last chapter that the crate-legs were starting to ware out, and that's critical to this scene. Just. Bravo.

I also like how you play Heroism throughout this story. Like, Scorpius' first instinct is to run, because IT BLOODY WELL SHOULD BE. In the end he decides to fight (and that decision doesn't take long), so it equals a net heroism. But I like that there's realistic reluctance to his arc.

And I really appreciate how the action isn't always "they went looking for trouble" or "they were just minding their own business," but is a combination of both. Sometimes they hatch a scheme to go to the forest, sometimes they're just picking up supplies. Having a mix makes it much more believable than just having one or the other!

Hah, I love this line "Stupefy. Petrificus Totalus. Locomotor Mortis. Stop. Bloody. Coming. You. Stupid. Things." Also, props on making the redcaps legitimately scary and threatening, despite their size!

Ah! And then the way you orchestrate the series of events for Scorpius to straight up act as bait, and it's convincing! Especially now he's invested so much into the battle, I'm willing to believe his choices.

"If Redcaps kill me because I shot myself, this is going to be so embarrassing." Bahahahahahaha

And then, BAM--cliffhanger number two! Gosh this is such a well-plotted story! The lines of cause and effect are both clear and intricate, and everything works so well to serve the narrative. And like, COMPREHENSIVELY. You even got a little ScoRose shipping out of it.

SO GOOD!

Author's Response: I wrote this with a little bit of a buffer, but I think any of the flow off Ignite is sheer luck, not craft.

Scorpius really isn't an anti-hero - but he's got a way to go before he becomes a more typical hero. I'm always keen in these more action/heroic stories to explore physical courage, and its development in the series is integral. I must say, it makes life much easier when it comes to danger to be writing for teenagers. They can do risky stuff which gets them into trouble without stretching credulity!

Redcaps are a super creepy bit of mythology, but being kind of small they presented a good 'intro' threat, an enemy that could be worrying but manageable, and also inhuman enough to avoid the worse questions of violence intrinsically threatening one's sense of self.

ScoRose. They sneak in everywhere, those crazy kids. Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by EmmaGM 

5th February 2015:
Very good chapter. The action scene was written very well.

Author's Response: Thank you! I guess it's the first fight of the whole saga, glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Siriuslover177 

19th June 2014:
I cannot believe Scorp did that to himself -_- he is really dumb:P I am glad that Rose was there to savd him though. And that the ingrediants are safe.

To think, in a plauge, and to almost die by that? *sigh*. I hope Al and Scorp recover fast. They really have more important things to worry about than them.

~sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Scorp can be brave but pretty hapless. And Rose helped, but Lockett also did save him! It would be a silly way to die.

 Report Review

Review #5, by LightLeviosa5443 

20th November 2013:
Oh my, what's wrong with his head?

Great chapter. I love his way of distracting them, brilliant. I laughed when he stunned his own foot. Funny.

Author's Response: We'll see. Soon.

Stunning himself in the foot. It could only happen to this universe's Scorpius Malfoy. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Mad Eye 

12th November 2012:
I love this story! update asap!

Author's Response: I have emerged from my slump and more chapters are forthcoming. Promise! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by go hannah abbott 

10th November 2012:
love it please write more!

Author's Response: I have emerged from my slump and more chapters are forthcoming. Promise! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by water_lily43175 

9th November 2012:
Oh man. I LOVE this, reckless as Scorp is. The initial reaction of wanting to get the hell OUT of there, and then staying because Al wasn't budging, and THEN basically sacrificing himself like a complete Gryffindor fool for the cause ... I love him.

Haha, typical Scorp, that the Red Caps wanting his blood to stay alive is FINE, but the minute they want it for vanity, THAT'S NOT HAPPENING.

And only Scorpius would manage to Stun HIMSELF. What a complete idiot, haha. Love Rose's genuine worry for him. Oh, she cares. She CARES. Yeah, Enervate not Finite Incantatum blah blah blah but you know that so all is good.

Aside from the obvious thing coming from this chapter - REDCAPS? What is happening here? - this demonstrates the best of Scorpius superbly. He's not necessarily willing to put his life on the line straight away, especially if it's blatantly obvious that the odds are stacked against him, but he'll do it FOR ALBUS. It's such an incredible sign of solidarity, and I guess that's the reward you get for having such a good heart and extending a hand of friendship to a Malfoy. Ugh I love Scorbus. They almost shouldn't be Slytherins, with all of this "stand by each other" stuff. Stick 'em in Hufflepuff! More please :)

Author's Response: This chapter really is Scorpius at his best, and does show how Albus brings out the best in him. It's not strictly how he stayed JUST for Albus (though that was a little bit it), but Albus works very much as his conscience, reminding him what's at stake. So it's a combination of loyalty and being persuaded. There's plenty more to come on the history of Albus and Scorpius - Scorpius and his Women aren't the only mysteries in this story! - but you're right, their relationship and its history is super important. In many ways, Albus saved Scorpius from who he could have grown up to be.

But they are both definitely Slytherins. Scorpius for reasonably obvious reasons, though I know Albus totally doesn't appear like a Slytherin. Give him time!

And, of course, Scorpius' priorities are totally straight when it comes to his dignity. Blasted Redcaps. Their presence is explainable, have no fear, and all part of the Wider Plot. As is the Finite Incantatum (incoming edit justifies its usage better).

Fortuitously I am making grand progress with Ignite for NaNo (well, I'm on target) so there's not just the extant buffer to work through, but 2 and a half chapters from the last week and a bit already. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LillyRoseanne 

7th November 2012:
Just thought I'd point out that the correct counter-spell for a stunning spell would be 'Enervate' the reviving spell...

Apart from that was good. I like your Scorpius, he's not all out amazingly clever which is a nice change :D

Author's Response: Good catch on the spell; I'm putting some edits through to justify Rose using 'Finite Incantatum' instead. My bad!

No, my Scorpius is a pretty silly guy, bit his heart's in the right place, as this chapter demonstrates more than any others. Glad you're enjoying the story, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Pottergirl7 

7th November 2012:
This chapter was awesome! I can't believe Malfoy stunned himself! One thing though, the revival spell for being stunned is 'ennervate'. Just so ya know! Loved the chappie!!!

Author's Response: Good catch on that spell! My bad. I've made a few changes (when they come through) to justify Rose using Finite Incantatum. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jen 

7th November 2012:
OMR, you can't leave it like that! You're killing me here!

Author's Response: Cliffhanger after cliffhanger, I know! More to come soon. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review