Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

1st August 2016:
James is an idiot. Seriously. I really hope that he stops himself before the clothes come off. I get that he's upset, but seriously... he finally admitted aloud that he 'liked' Carlotta, and the way he confessed it sounded like he meant it as more than a friend. Gah. So much drama in this chapter. Loved it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by gigi 

12th February 2015:
First of all, I'm not sure how I forgot about this story that I started reading last summer and dont know why I didnt finish. But I luuurve it and intend to see it to completion this weekend. Now to the chapter.

Ah James! He needs to get his head out of his derriere already. In all his 21 years, has he not heard once from his family that his dad was never big on expressing his feelings? Doesn't mean he doesn't love James or isn't proud of him. Harry never chose all the media attention associated with being the Boy who Lived, the Chosen One or the Man who defeated the Dark Lord any more than James chose that associated with being Harry Potter's son. Yes, the media follows him more than his more accomplished team mates because of his parents' achievements, but they all give him his due chops for his own success, so he needs to quit feeling underappreciated and be thankful for what the wizarding Gods and his parents' genes have given him and respect his dad for what he's done instead of resenting him for it. I don't see Al and Lily doing that. And when it comes to Carla, he needs to put himself in her shoes and realize that she has a choice in whether or not she wants to be a part of this media circus that comes with being James Potter's gal, that he and his dad did not. But this story wouldn't have the title if James didn't have these insecurities and he's obviously in love with her even if he doesn't realize it because he wouldn't fall off the rails if he wasn't.

Love the story and can't wait to finish it :-)

Author's Response: A lot of the issues with Harry and James stem from the fact that neither of them are good at discussing their feelings. But yes, James is being silly. Albus and Lily are at a different point in their lives to James ... he has a lot of growing up and realisation to come. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by slytherinchica08 

14th June 2014:
Oh no this chapter is just so very sad! From James finally telling her about his dad and his involvement with everything and how he thinks he is this huge let down and then the fight with her! Gah this has to be a horrible day probably one of the worst! But it was a really good chapter. You really made me feel his emotions and how raging he was and everything. This story is so enjoyable. I look forward to reading more!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Yeah, this was a sad chapter to write. Poor James. :( But at the same time it was a fun one to write because it was the catalyst for pretty much EVERYTHING. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell 

1st October 2013:
Well...ouch. I suppose that's the word that about sums this chapter up.

Author's Response: I think it's safe to say that both James and Carlotta needed a dose of tact in this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #5, by imacullenpottergirl 

25th January 2013:
James. James. LISTEN TO ME. You are meant to be with Carlotta. DO YOU UNDERSTAND ME?! Not some bimbo who has legs and a dimple?! Don't do this!!!
Please. Don't. For my sanity, please, don't. But somehow, I already know that you did. Gosh. Look at me. This story has turned me into a nutcase. I heard guys like them?

-Abhi

Author's Response: Hey, Allegra's not a bimbo - she's not like Cassie Lynch! But all the same it's a bad move from James. He's on a slippery slope, and falling fast! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by missclaire17 

29th October 2012:
AH
DRAMATIC!
I knew it'd be dramatic but I wasn't prepared for THAT! omg
i can't handle it. that was so.
i have no words for it. at all.
i knew it was going to be bad but i had no idea that it was going to be THIS bad. honestly, this was... honestly, James should have expected that she'd be mad. there's no way that she wouldn't have been mad because who wouldn't want to know that you're having this fling with someone whose the son of probably the most important guy in the entire world? but at the same time, I can't believe that she just said she wished she never got involved. it's just... i don't understand how Carlotta can just say that she wished she never got involved at all. it is understandable since her picture and all of her personal information is in the papers, and that's got to be scary. but i feel like James being a professional Quidditch player, Carlotta should have expected it. even in the Muggle world, that would have been something that would happen, so as smart as Carlotta is, I can't imagine that she completely didn't think that no one would spot them together out in public, ya know?
I just don't... *SIGH*
Carlotta... from James's POV, you're writing the way a girl (at least a girl like Carlotta) behaves really well because I really can't understand her. all that I can say is that she's scared and James didn't tell her anything which would scare anyone.
but at the same time, I just don't know... I wonder how much she actually likes James.
James is COMPLETELY in love, in my opinion. When James is hurt, he turns it into anger, which is so clearly demonstrated xD
*SIGH* oh James. Carlotta. *SIGH*

Author's Response: Yup, this one's a biggie! James should have told her about Harry earlier, and he's now paying the price for not doing so. As for Carlotta's reaction ... it possibly seems a bit over-the-top, but perhaps James doesn't know the full story in terms of what's going on in her head. She's certainly quite the enigma :) James isn't necessarily in love, per se, but he DOES like her a LOT. And so her walking out like that isn't going to go down well. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Slide 

29th October 2012:
Aw yeahh. Chapter chapter chapter. *bounces in eagerly* Oh GOOD, acknowledgement that Ginny rocks despite not playing internationally. Not that your Ginny has been anything but awesome, but though Ginny isn't a favourite of mine I get so over-protective of her due to fandom hate! Also for some reason I'm tipping my hat at correct use of possessive apostrophes on "writer's childrens'". You'd be surprised how easy it is to please me sometimes. BUT. Important stuff.

Hah. Sorry. Before important stuff, giggling at the author's rose-tinted glasses impression that Harry was a good student academically.

Oh yes. Daddy issues. Let's dig in. Wait, Carla's issues first. Okay, yes, if nothing else - history of persecution and social issues aside, not that they're easily pushed to one side, James has no real leg to stand on with how his family's fame should have guaranteed his romances would fall into the stage of public attention. Which DOES affect Carla, and she's well within her rights to be irked he didn't warn her. And that she'd find out and, hey, yes, lying isn't cool. She's angry but she's right to be, and she's right on the money with her accusations. Let's see how James copes.

Eeeshk. Okay, aside from his justifiable frustration at not being his own man, Not Cool for him to act as if Lily's better off than him. I mean, she's happy, she has a life, that's good - but it's not what she would have chosen, and I can only imagine the horror and heartbreak she went through, and how she has to compartmentalise her ENTIRE LIFE, being neither a full member of the Wizarding World and incapable of being a full member of the Muggle world - so, yeah, no love for that one, James. Even if it's just on this one issue, and I know he's irked and I'll forgive him soon enough, bad James. No biscuit.

Okay, that forgiveness was quick. Had to suck for an eleven year-old, and all the more love for Brigid and Ryan. And being hand-waved to good grades, Yowch. And all that - okay. Good reasons to be bitter, James. But, oh dear. I would imagine that Harry's more awkward and incapable, and likely gave Lily more attention because she needed reassurance, and Al the attention because he actually COULD help him with Auror stuff, whereas James has likely done fine by himself, to Harry's eyes, so he left him to it and now there's a rift fuelled by James' bitterness and Harry doesn't know how to fit it. That's my guess, anyway, which still makes Harry a bit of a pillock, just a believable pillock.

Oh - oh dear. 'Stupid fling.' Oh, oh dear, duck and cover. Yeahh, that wasn't going to go any differently after that point. Both of them being stressed and stupid and that's what happens under such circumstances. They're both wrong and they're both wronged and that's how it works. I'm not too worried, though; they wouldn't be the first people to say bad things in the heat of the moment and then move past it. Go forth, James! Go forth and celebrate and drown your sorrows!

Oh, look, it's a disaster on leggy legs. Fantabulous chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, we love Ginny! Although I'll admit, I used to hate Harry/Ginny. I love them now though - naturally, or I'd have split them up! ;)

BLEURGH apostrophes let's move on.

Oh, I reckon that the wizarding world would COMPLETELY fabricate Harry's academic history. Besides, he defeated Voldemort so he MUST have been a top student, right? Heck, back in the day Skeeter seemed to think he was top of the class. Before she decided she hated him, that is. Possibly the most frustrating thing for poor James; feeling as though he's overshadowed by an academic success that Harry never actually HAD.

Yup, Carla definitely has a MASSIVE point here. She's being gossiped about in the paper; she had a right to know about Harry and the connotations that his fame has. Course, James genuinely didn't know that she was being speculated over, but he should have realised that there was a very strong chance that this would be the case. Alas, he doesn't often think things through properly.

James ... is messed up. As you can now see. Underneath his exterior he's very insecure and resentful. In his eyes, Lily DOES have it better, because his issue is the attention he gets and the comparisons to Harry - and she gets none of it. And he sees that she's happy and coping with things, and so doesn't think about just how hard it IS for her, being a Squib. So it's an understandable feeling for him to have. As for the speculation on Harry's perspective ... you are partly right. Keep that all in mind. We'll get his side of things eventually. You may not think of him as quite so much of a pillock. :)

...disaster indeed. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ananya 

29th October 2012:
One word - AMAZING! That was soo bloody awesome! i cannot wait for more. Please update fast cause i dont think i can wait!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed! This is definitely one of THE biggest chapters of the whole fic in terms of character development. I'm currently writing the next chapter so hopefully it won't be too far down the line. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by soufflegirl99 

29th October 2012:
No James, don't do it!
I'm sorry I've messed up you perfect number of reviews (123) but after a great deal of screaming at the computer at James and Carlotta, I couldn't resist reviewing :)
Brilliant cliffhanger - this story is brilliant for those tense, insightful and gripping paragraphs that have you hooked.
I love the depth to James you add - most people don't bother when they're doing 1st person, but you make it os much more realistic by adding his thoughts, and description.
"A ringing silence fell upon the flat" that's awesome description of James's shock, and how it would've actually felt like.
You wrote the raging argument very well, explaining all of what it really would be like for Al and James - I love the original touch of Lily being a squib, an have done through out the whole story.
The whole story plot, is very well written, and well thought out - you are definitely pro at story writing.
The newspaper article is brillaintly portrayed too, and very newspaper-y, grabbing all the best gossip, exaggerating it, and the fickleness in it I thought was quite believable.
I love everything about this tory - from the title to the content to the characters, it's all fantastic and clever and witty!! :D

Author's Response: Please, don't apologise for leaving a review! I'm not that fussed about a perfect number :)

Writing in first person was a massive challenge at first, because I've always done third person before, but I decided that in this fic, first person would work better. It's tough at times because of course there are some things that James doesn't want to admit even to himself, but it's also easier to hold back things like daddy issues which is good ;)

Lily being a Squib is, if I do say so myself, my favourite of all the aspects of this fic. She manages to steal the show every time she features - I'm not sure whether this is good or bad! But it does have the added advantage of providing a contrast between her life and James and Albus' on the other hand. Glad you like it :)

The newspaper article was an utter pain to write! It took me about ten drafts to get right in the end, so I'm glad that it's convincing.

Thanks for reviewing! It's really nice to know that people are enjoying what I'm writing :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review