Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal 

4th April 2017:
I have to say having read near the end it is fun coming back and reading all about James' worries about making the team and questioning if the team will get far at all. I get to sit here and go 'oh James if only you knew!"

Still the publicity stuff was interesting. Too bad James wasn't prepped well for the interviews and knew that magazines and papers, particularly the mags like to get personal and ask questions about private lives instead of the important things the things that made him famous in the first place.

Anyway I am forced to wonder what is between James and Harry as James has no desire to talk to his dad and thinks his dad wouldn't care.

Also I wanted to ask - telephones? How do they work with magic folk is that something in your world that has been over come as phones are more a muggle thing than a wizard thing seeing as they can floo just a head in to talk direct and be a bit face to face.

Anyway, the chapter was interesting and I admit I actually laughed at James being so excited about being picked he almost left without wearing proper attire - silly boy! Makes one wonder what other fun things are in store.

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 

4th April 2017:
Here for Slytherin.

Ah, the dread and nervousness and anxiety as you wait for yourself (or in this case your squad) to be picked. It's kinda like waiting on an interview call or something so James' anxiety was totally relatable here. The way you built up to the moment was really good, by ticking off the teams one by one and telling what squads made it with his reactions to each.

That touch of it being James' dream, or aim, ever since he was seventeen gave the moment a lot more importance and made you want to root for him even more. I would have liked some more backstory into it though, maybe even a flashback scene to add to how much it means to him, but that's Just my opinion!

And wooo James is in!! The phone conversation was smoothly done, and I was relieved alongside James when i read it xD You have really gone into the nitty gritty of this which is nice, such as player registration and stuff. Added details to Quidditch that could easily be canon but we don't know about, so that's awesome.

The last bit made me smile and also worry a little. So people know about this "girlfriend" and James is on edge about it. His reaction to questons about his personal life matched Harry's pretty well - like father, like son. Of course he didnt like it. And uh oh, Carla has finally found out about the whole boy-who-lived thing! Time for James to spill the beans! It would definitely bring developments into their relationship.

Great chapter all in all.

cheers
angie

 Report Review

Review #3, by onestop_hpfan18 

1st August 2016:
Well ain't that just the icing on the cake. But James should have told her about his father instead of keeping out those bits when he was telling her about the second war. Brought it upon himself. But, gah, I can't believe he didn't at least visit his dad while at the ministry when he had promised his mum that he would. I'm so disappointed in him.

Author's Response: Yeah, James didn't help himself here, but it's the sort of situation where you'd put off saying something and find you've left it too late to have a convincing reason for not having mentioned it... silly boy. Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinchica08 

14th June 2014:
YAY he made the team! I'm so excited for James! But seriously, those questions he was asked were crazy. I would hate to have someone assume that I surpassed my mom and that I would be proud of that. I think I would have done the same as him and just walked out the door without a care for any of the other interviews. And then to get home and be asked about who the boy who lived is, yeah this is definitely a stressful day! Anyways great job on another chapter, I enjoyed it!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: I think it would be very difficult for any Quidditch player with a parent who played professionally to deal with the comparisons. Likewise, I can't imagine it was easy for any of the Potter kids, purely due to being Harry's kids. So for James to be in both positions at the same time, the press attention is pretty horrendous. This was definitely a stressful chapter for James! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell 

1st October 2013:
Uh-oh. Well, can't say I didn't see that coming, but yowza. Glad James made the squad! best of luck dealing with this issue, though.

Author's Response: Let's face it, this moment was always coming. James couldn't keep his family's past a secret for long...

 Report Review

Review #6, by imacullenpottergirl 

25th January 2013:
Oh no. Well, this is going to be good. Did I mention it before, I really don't like it when James and Carlotta fight, but I guess Jimmy had it coming for him didn't he. Deciding not to tell her as soon as he met her. Well, another great chapter, but I'm quite sad about James's relationship with his dad. It's truly heartbreaking.

- Abhi

Author's Response: Yeah, this was always on the cards, the minute James decided to withhold the truth from Carlotta. Things might still have been fixable had he told her about Harry when she found out about Voldemort, but he didn't. And now he's in a mess. Poor James! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Slide 

26th October 2012:
This beginning made me think about time zones, which got complicated and my head hurt. So that's bad. The rest, however, is very good. Ha, James doing that betting we sports fans do of "I hope we don't come up against X team" and then you realise there are LOTS of teams like that and, some day, you'll have to beat one of them. Of COURSE he's in the team. Well, it's the plot, innit? Good for James.

D'aww Ginny. Mum of the century in this, it's great to see. And channelling her mother a little bit which is extra sweet. OOH DADDY ISSUES. Go on, James, talk to Harry. Give me the low-down. The sitch. Gimme.

I still love the levels of detail in the Quidditch 'politics' and intricacies. Makes it all feel alive, you know? But then you know I like adding detail to those bits of the wizarding world, figuring out how they might work. And roll on the media fuss! James might be used to it in theory but now he'll be famous in his own right and so that's likely to get more nasty.

...very nasty, very quickly. Well, I can see why he got prickly but he's going to have to learn to live with that kind of hard questioning from the press, and harder! Tsh, James, making life difficult.

Oh dear. She knows. That one was always going to bite you in the rear some day. Today's the day, Jimmy-boy! Delicious chapter.

Author's Response: Time zones made YOUR head hurt? Try being the one WRITING that bit! I kept forgetting countries and having to go back and add them in, it was a nightmare!

James made the team. SURPRISE! Didn't expect THAT, did you? ;) It is, indeed, the plot. How successful he is though, time will tell :)

We do have a mutual appreciation for fleshing out previously-vague aspects of the wizarding world. Of course, here it would be a complete failure of a Quidditch fic if I didn't! But it's all part of the fun. Glad you like it all :)

James doesn't deal well with press, and unwanted attention. As you can see. He wants to make a name for himself on his own terms, for purely Quidditch reasons, so he really doesn't react well when people are interested in other stuff. Something that he will have to learn to overcome, and fast. Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by missclaire17 

22nd October 2012:
OH
JAMES
he's in BIG trouble.
Carlotta's not going to take this lightly.
i KNEW that he should have told her beforehand.
at least she didn't find out because James and Harry had a huge argument.
But this isn't good at all!
James is in MAJOR trouble.

I do like how James wanted to see Carlotta and that the sight of her made him smile.
The questions about Carlotta from Deirdre that irked James were interesting.
I don't expect its the first time that he's been asked about his personal life, and I can certainly see why he's upset.
But I feel like even if James wanted to answer questions about his personal life, he wouldn't know how to answer that question about Carlotta anyways because they're not just friends but they're not in a relationship either.

*SIGH*
oh James...
I cant wait to see how he gets himself out of this situation with not telling Carlotta about Harry and all of that stuff.

BUT ON ANOTHER NOTE!
I LOVED THAT JAMES GOT INTO THE SQUAD!
I felt worried FOR James because he was so worried himself that I started to think anything could happen. BUT OF COURSE HE WOULD MAKE IT!
reading about that made me so ridiculously giddy the entire time xDDD

(btw, I'm sorry for not leaving a review on the last chapter! I thought I left one but it turns out that it didn't go through D: so I apologize! xD)

Author's Response: Yeah, this chapter definitely goes from the highest highs to - well, not quite the lowest lows. We do of course have the fall out from this to come. But James goes very quickly from being the happiest guy in the world to being the most miserable grouch! Though he does have good reason, poor thing. He did, indeed, make the squad. He's better than he gives himself credit for!

He should, of course, have told Carlotta about his dad before. As we all knew. But then, he's not the most sensible when it comes to that kind of thing! And he really didn't like the prying into his private life. He's had it before, but it's never been as intrusive as this. And it's made worse by the fact that they know about Carlotta and they're asking questions that he can't answer!

I'm hoping that the next chapter will answer a few questions for you. It certainly covers the James/Harry issue! So hopefully you'll enjoy that one; it should be up within the next week or so. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review