Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maskedmuggle 

28th August 2013:
Hey!

It's been forever.. but um, I'm so glad I finally get to read this story again! It appears that you're not really satisfied with this chapter, but I think you did quite a good job with it! I found the whole Regina McFey part really intriguing. What I really liked was how you said this: She was authoritative, commanding, and more than a little scary., but then you also showed it really strongly through her dialogue and the way she was talking to Rose.

It's interesting seeing Rose and Krum back together again (as in, talking to each other). I'm actually really starting to root for them now - and I don't think I really was before now. :P So I thought this was a great chapter - well written as always! Moving on~

- Charlotte

 Report Review

Review #2, by CambAngst 

3rd March 2013:
Hi, there! I am slowly but surely getting there. Where did all of my reading and reviewing time go?

I thought your physical description of Regina McFey was fantastic. She came across as being so intimidating, so sculpted and just so... intensely, fiercely fake. It was pretty amazing. It's one thing to be an artificial woman with tons of nips and tucks and a whitened smile and a spray tan for all seasons, but this lady sounds like she's taken it to a whole different level. And she's cold. Merciless, brutal, calculating and downright scary. There isn't a doubt in my mind that she could eat Rose for lunch.

The way she dissects Rose's relationship with Krum was a work of art. She takes a tiny example, the fact that Rose doesn't know what Krum likes for breakfast, and puts Rose instantly on the defensive. Then she proceeds to drag Rose through the drugs, the injuries, Rose's own family background and the way she's being portrayed in the press. It was downright surgical, the way this woman makes Rose doubt every last thought she's had since the moment she laid eyes on Viktor Krum.

What better way to feel special than to be the one Viktor comes crawling to when he’s got no where else to turn? The truth is, she's the only one desperate enough to take his calls. Of course, until you came along, that is. - This is what I suspected about Liddy when we first met her. Not that I'm taking anything Regina says as gospel, mind you. I have a strong feeling that she has her own angle on this situation. Perhaps we'll find out what that is before it's all said and done. For right now, I'll just choose to believe that her visit is more than what it seemed.

Go get him, Heart wrote. Get him, bring him home, and let’s put this whole mess behind us. - Brilliant. The world really is that simple when you're the boss, isn't it? Oh, and I guess it helps to be devoid of conscience.

Rose's angry discussion with Krum about his motivations for leaving was pretty revealing for me. It took me right back to that line of Liddy's about Viktor being a flame that left you feeling cold and dark when he was gone. Rose's life already seems to be starting to exhibit a lot of those swings between the highs and the lows and they're always driven by Krum vacillating between being open with her and shutting her out. It's not a good pattern, at least if you're Rose. It certainly makes me want to put more stock in Regina's comment about him destroying lives.

Krum knows exactly which buttons to push to reel her back in, doesn't he? He lets her get all worked up about the book and then, casual as can be, he acts as though it's been his plan to finish it with her all along.

"That's absurd. This isn’t any more your doing than mine. I could have said no. I could have stopped this if I'd wanted to, but I didn't."
Viktor gave her a wry smile. "It's sweet that you think that, but it isn't true. And even if it was, it's just more proof you don't know what's good for you."
- Wow. Whatever else I might think about Viktor Krum, the guy has big brass... erm, let's just say he has no problem calling life as he sees it. Sadly, he's probably right in this case. He has so much more experience when it comes to this sort of thing than Rose.

The way that Rose's heart -- her desire to stop being the safe, boring creature of habit that she'd become and genuinely live her life according to her own desires -- overrules her better judgment at the end of this chapter was heart-warming in a "love conquers all" kind of way and horribly troubling in a "that poor girl is so screwed" kind of way. It seems that Viktor does have a bit of a noble streak, but his own heart is getting the best of him as well. I hope for the best for both of them, even though I'm 90% sure that isn't going to happen. :(

Anyhow, here are a couple of small things you might want to take another look at:

And right now they’re thinking you’re a girl from a good home and a nice family who was all too happy to toss her morals aside to grab herself the inside scope on this little book deal she’s got going. - the inside scoop

Talk about the tea calling the kettle black. - OK, so I spent about 5 minutes on google, thinking, "this is some really common British expression that I've just never heard before." That happens to me about once a week on HPFF. Most of what I found, however, was about a blog post trashing Abercrombie and Fitch. So I'm just gonna flag it and you'll have to tell me whether you meant to say that or not.

Regina’s warnings still rang fresh in her mind, and the humiliation of having her privacy striped away by the press was like a fresh wound, threatening to rip open anytime she thought about it. - her privacy stripped away

So I'm really curious what it was about this chapter that didn't turn out the way you wanted, because I thought it was really good. Highs and lows, highs and lows... Poor Rose must have a hard time keeping track of whether she's happy or sad sometimes. Me, of course, I'm just happy that I have more chapters to read!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked the physical description of Regina. I try to avoid going too overboard with what every character looks like, but with her, I thought it was important to establish that she's physically intimidating -- enough so to make Rose insecure -- but that there was also something off about her, like a wicked queen from a fairy tale.

Surgical -- I love that description! Rose and Krum go back and forth a lot, and though he's really skilled at it, Rose can hold her own. But she really isn't any match for Regina because Regina won't play fair. Krum will tease but Regina goes for the kill.

I'm so happy you singled out the line about Liddy. Regina does have her own motives but she isn't wrong about this one. At the same time, I really don't see Liddy as a bad person. She likes feeling needed and important, and is probably more selfish than she wants to admit, but she isn't out to hurt anyone.

Haha, I can't argue with you on Krum. He isn't one for being tactful if he isn't in the mood, not to mention arrogant. But that doesn't make him wrong... It's interesting what you said about Rose too. My goal (whether I was successful at it or not) was always to have the reader root for Krum and Rose as a couple, but the feedback I've been getting, particularly around this point in the story, is that people are sort of half-hoping they can make it work and half wanting to slap Rose upside the head and tell her to get out while she can. I like the idea that there are more layers to it (even if I wasn't smart enough to add them intentionally), but I worry that it weakens Rose as a character. Hmmm... some food for thought on my end, I suppose.

I'd love to tell you that the tea/kettle is some super cool expression, but alas, it was just a mistake on my end. I guess I was going to write teapot but that's not even the right expression either *forehead slap* Anyway, I fixed it and the other mistakes, so thank you for pointing them out.

I think I was so unhappy with this chapter because I'm a big chicken and ended up cutting the big emotional reveal I had planned in my head. I wanted Krum to say something important to Rose, but every time I tried to write it, it felt super cheesy. I thought it said something important about his character but I just couldn't make it work. *sigh* But I am VERY happy to hear that you liked the chapter anyway.

*Phew* Sorry, that was another long reply. Is there any way, really, to respond to reviews without coming off like a total narcissist?!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Dark Whisper 

13th February 2013:
Well, I do not like Regina McFey. There is something about her that reminds me of Lucius Malfoy and his false pity that he shows Harry. It just isn't genuine. And even though Regina might be telling the truth, I'm not so sure it is to "help" Rose than it is to "hurt" her and make her feel completely insecure... only to tell her "I told you so" when it happens.

It truly is sad that Viktor has had so many failed relationships. A tragedy, really. It seems that he has no trouble getting the girl... it's keeping her that's proven disastrous. ;(

"Viktor destroys lives." Boo hoo. :(

I love this scene at his home. I love that it seems to be in disarray. I love that the seat he is sitting in looks so old and there is a bed placed where it shouldn't be. It's as if it is nearly uninhabitable, and yet here he is to think about things. What is right? What is wrong? The book? Their relationship? The trouble that he is in. The trouble he inadvertantly 'caused' her. He is a man of depth and his thoughts are deep here. Something tells me that he has been here before thinking on similar things thoughout his life. Perhaps someone gave him advice long ago and he comes back to be in the presence of their memory.

I can fully understand and appreciate what it means to truly 'go home' to where you grew up and clear your mind to think about your life. I've done it myself and found it to be quite reflective and certainly reminds myself of my roots and where I've come from.

This chapter is just beautiful and very real to me.

I think you did a wonderful job of their meeting and dialogue. I love the long breath that he lets out when she says that she doesn't want him to end it. It was like sweet relief.

But then Krum is torn a bit in doing 'what is good for her.' I just love it.

I understand your Author Notes about not being happy with a chapter. I too, have had the same issue and it can be paralyzing. I'll have to remember your 'Onward and Upward' advice.

Your talent abounds.

Thanks so much for this wonderfully descriptive, believable, heart-felt story.

Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Writing someone as nasty as Regina was a lot of fun. I do love a villain. I never thought about it before, but you're right, she does have a Lucius air about her -- very much with her nose in the air, looking down at Rose.

Gah, I still have nightmares about writing the scene at Krum's place. I must have gone through a hundred drafts, so it's EXTRA nice to hear that you liked how it turned out. I suppose the house is a pretty heavy-handed metaphor for Krum's life -- in bad shape but not beyond hope. I imagine he's escaped here more than once before too. I kind of think he likes the chaos.

Yay, I love that you commented on Krum's torn feelings here. At this point, I really don't think he knows what he wants more -- for her to stay or for her to go. He knows leaving would be the right thing, but he so wants her to stay with him. Who doesn't want a man who can't stand to stay away *sigh*

Thank you for all the lovely compliments. I've been struggling so much with my writing since finishing this story, so the kind words are so very much appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #4, by momotwins 

2nd January 2013:
Oooh Regina's nasty. In an interesting way. And oh man, Krum's house in Bulgaria sounds awful. Poor guy. He's really a mess. I feel sorry for him. And Rose, och, she really ought to stay away, cause he's broke as hell and in legal trouble and... Well, if she were a friend of mine, I'd advise her to stay away. But this makes for a much better story, doesn't it? ;)

Author's Response: Regina is a piece of work, to be sure. And we haven't seen the last of her, unfortunately. And yes, Rose could probably do with a good shake. Someone needs to tell her to run away and fast! But some girls, they just can't resist a man in need of saving.

Thanks for the run of unexpected reviews. They totally made my day :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lily Evans 

26th November 2012:
I think that this is a very original idea and I love your take on Rose and Krum! I love how you write them and somehow you just make them work. It's not like all of the other next generation fanfiction that I've read which made me very pleased! I hope to see an update from you soon! This is going in my favorites. :D

Author's Response: Thank you, Lily. I'm so glad you're enjoying the story. It's been a lot of fun to do something kind of different. I'm going to try really hard to update again before Christmas. Thanks for the R&R :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by The Empress 

20th November 2012:
I look forward to updates :) This chapter was, like the others, great. I especially liked Regina and Rose together. As I mentioned before, your way with your characters is brilliant.
Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all the reviews you left. I really appreciate you taking the time to R&R so many of the chapters. I'm so glad you've liked the story so far. I hope to post an update again soon!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ardeith 

25th October 2012:
Why would you be angst-ing over this chapter?!? It's good!!

I loved/hated the character of Regina. She's so awful to poor Rose. I think I relate too strongly to Rose...umm because I started a relationship around the time I started reading this. Anyway, that's a tribute to you because Rose is so well written and real! I know my BF has a gorgeous ex, blonde and beautiful in a way I will never be and it's daunting. :-(

Also like the way you portrayed the roller coaster of Rose's feelings. Sometimes it does seem easier to go back to the simple, boring life you had before, but you never do make that choice, do you? Though I love Rose and Krum together, maybe she'd be better without him.

Don't stop writing! I want to know what happens!!

Author's Response: Thank you, Ardeith. Sorry I've been inexcusably late in responding to this review. I'm so glad you "liked" Regina. I definitely wanted her to be someone you could love to hate, all deliciously awful and utterly intimidating. And I'm glad you're able to relate to Rose. I'm really trying to make her someone anyone could see a part of themselves in but without making her a totally blank slate. Thank you again for leaving another lovely review. Despite the lag, I do really hope to update again soon!



 Report Review

Review #8, by ruby_slippers 

18th October 2012:
Damn it, I started reading this today and now im totally addicted! And there's nothing left to read and im not complaining or asking you to hurry or anything like that im just spewin coz i was really getting into it and had a rythm and now i have to wait haha! Its like when you were reading harry potter for the first time and you mum made you stop and put it down for dinner! Thanks heaps for writting this and i can't wait to see where you take it! I love your depiction of the characters and their complexities. And i love that you've taken Krum, I haven't actually read much about him in fan fic at all and so its great to find a future gen one with him that is both well written and has a convincing portrayal of him!
Cheers!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm so glad you liked the story enough to read so much of it in one go. It's been a lot of fun so far for me writing about Krum. You get some sense of who he is from the HP books, but there is so much room left to play with. I'm really happy you're finding him complex and convincing. Thank you so much for the review. I'm really glad you're enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jchrissy 

10th October 2012:
Are. You. Mental??? Are you.. Phew. Okay. 12+ Jami.. breath. BUT ARE YOU MENTAL? What wouldn't you like about this chapter? What??

I've told you before that I read the first chapter of this to be nice during the HC because you do so much. AND NOW I am fourteen chapters in and love it more with each one. You have no idea how much I needed this tonight. I've been trying to work on a few different one shots, they both suck, nothing was working and I just wanted to throw my computer, so I tried to relax and clicked on my favorite stories. AND WHAT WAS AT THE VERY TOP? Tu Da!!! Seriously, this chapter may have saved my sanity.

AND GIGI IS NOT NICE. But I found myself kind of liking her, anyway. She seemed evil and like she isn't over Krum and wants to make sure he's never happy again, but I still liked her... I don't know what, her frankness I suppose? But not that exactly. I just liked how you did her, it was awesome. I could see that scene so perfectly.

AND THEN! Krum. Krum! What are we supposed to do with you?? Do you care about her? Do you love her? Is she something you want to treasure or is she going to be left with a broken heart? Because really, if you decide next week that you're done with this and leave her to pick up the pieces, I'll be super angry at you. Not (you) Becky.. I'm talking to Viktor.

He does care about her, right? He loves her?

They are so destructive together, but in more of an exciting way than negative. I just need to know what happens. This story has it's claws in me. If it was an actual book, I would have finished it the same night I picked it up. It's that addicting.

Bah. Thank you for saving my sanity tonight ♥

Author's Response: Oh, Jami. What can I even say to your wonderful reviews? I am undeserving...but I shall happily accept them anyway!

I am so happy you "liked" Gigi. I didn't have it planned in my head that the throwaway character from chapter two would be Krum's ex, but I always intended to write in an ex or two to stir up trouble. I'm not a mean person by nature, but it was a LOT of fun to write someone so catty. And you are so right. She isn't about to let Viktor a single moment of happiness.

As to Krum...well, I already told you my thoughts on him. He does care for her, he's just really not good at relationships. Alas, methinks she shall get her heart broken with this one.

Thank you again for all your support on my little story. I'm glad this chapter saved your sanity...though I think it took mine down a few notches along the way!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review