Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

22nd March 2017:
Weasley family tree more vicious than the whomping willow, priceless

 Report Review

Review #2, by EmmaGM 

3rd February 2015:
Amazing work. You write beautifully.

Author's Response: You flatter me. :D Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Roisin 

12th December 2014:
Back!

So I said last chapter how much I just LOVE how you played this whole Harley thing--rereading this chapter reminds me how brilliantly it was done. Like, here, we're from the kids' POV, so they seem all awesome and cool and like they owned Harley. It makes it that much more meaningful later when they get SUPER PUT IN THEIR PLACE about their kind of Privileged Paternalism. Like, 'I AM YOUR SAVIOR, DO AS I SAY.' I love the kind of socratic arc you gave the whole thing, and how you occupied Rose and Scorpius' POVs, only to show how they were wrong later.

Like, they objectively get it about Civil Rights and all, but it's clear that they never really internalized what that *meant.* Which also makes sense, because Hermione's early days of SPEW were definitely well intentioned but, critically, culturally insensitive (I could go on and on about how that was an intentional allegory for NGOs and Missionary organizations, since Rowling said Potter was directly inspired by her experiences at Amnesty International working in the African Research department--she would have been keenly aware of that stuff).

The other thing I like about Harley is that he isn't 'cute.' Like, I think Rowling was being very intentional about the fact that all the elves she introduced readers to on a bigger level were really different from one another (Dobby, Kreacher, Winky), and used them as ways of showing how the issues of oppression can manifest differently (and also, how all communities are diverse). The rights struggle for elves is definitely a central thematic point in the Potter ethos, and this is one of the only NextGens I've EVER read that continues that theme towards its logical next steps!

And then, I just really liked the whole mini-newspaper thing :) It actually seems really realistic, and reminded me about how the Deaf Community campaigned for closed captioning on News Channels during the 80s.

Oh, and ScoRose too--that was good. Really, so much was good about this chapter. Very easy wit, much clever. I JUST GET REALLY INTO ELF STUFF.

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: I'd like to say I fully planned Harley's dramatic arc; I didn't. House Elves became a natural question, and I knew I wanted to present them making progress, and enjoyed the idea of some of them becoming complete unionist die-hards. Harley came from that, and was awkward in a stereotypical way, but I do try my best to find the truth behind even minor characters and stereotypes. So as I kept writing, he became more fully-fleshed and dynamic, which updated the whole House Elf movement for the story.

The kids don't have a clue. Intellectually, yes, but they don't get exposed to House Elves, and now thing aren't continuously horrendous it's harder to get outraged about it. And I could see Hermione (who I imagine would have moved to significantly more sophisticated activism, and in this world helped the House Elves unionise rather than stuff like SPEW) boring the life out of her children by ranting as a cause they would see as being 'over.' Basically, they think they live in a post-prejudiced society, poor naive fools.

I came from originally not caring much for Dobby (I mean, I still don't) to really appreciating the House Elf story and the nuances of it as I got older and reread the books. Though I do wish it had been concluded in a slightly tighter matter, but that's an entirely different subject!

Cheers for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Siriuslover177 

19th June 2014:
Okay, good? With the house elves helping it will be much easier to try and find out what is really going on. They really need help, and if the ministry or mungos cant give it, then I am glad the house elves can.

What happened on that stairway? I mean, Scorp was getting pretty close to Rose. And then Rose just running away like that. I can feel the tention already, and I like it. I want them to get better friends, and maybe more?

I am glad they are going to sleep somewhere else too. That seems like a good idea.

I hope everything gets figured out soon.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Rose did a good job at getting the House Elves on board. They'll be a lot of help. Scorp and Rose are starting to figure out maybe they don't hate each other, which makes things a little weird for them! We'll see how it goes down.

 Report Review

Review #5, by LightLeviosa5443 

20th November 2013:
I love how Scorpius and Rose had that little moment in the hallway. It was so cute!!

Can I just say that I love how fabulously smart Rose is? And I'm so proud of Scorp for remembering that bit in the Hogwarts contract!!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: I felt bad writing Rose in this story - she IS rocking smart, but she's always stood next to Methuselah Jones who, as we'll see, is a downright genius. But Rose is academically smart and ALSO far better than Jones at lateral thought, dealing with people, and working with a dynamic, changing situation. She has her moments of shining.

As, sometimes, so does Scorpius. He survives by wits, not smarts, but he's no slouch in the brains department when he gets going. Poor kid needs to realise this.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell 

22nd October 2013:
Brilliant job Rose Weasley! And an excellent idea from Scorpius Malfoy! See what happens when you play nice, kids? Collaboration is the key to success. Your explanation on why Rose knew that aspect of the Handbook was very believable, by the way. And I loved the image of Scorpius slogging his way through a bunch of dry records trying to figure out a way to outwit the Foreman. It shows a different side to him.

Also, I adored the line about the Weasley family tree being more threatening than the Whomping Willow!

Great work!

--Penny

Author's Response: Here we finally see Rose do something that's not mostly "be a bit judgey". And I did want her to have a source other than "I read it in a book", because her smarts do go a bit broader than Methuselah's. Scorpius, for his part, CAN hit the books. He just doesn't like to!

Considering I can't keep up with the Weasley family tree I doubt outsiders to the family can either. :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by AriesGirl40 

21st October 2012:
Problem solved. Good thing Rose pays attention at home :)
I think it's a good idea to move to the guest rooms too. What if their ammunity wears off? Who would be the last man standing?

good chapter, shows they can work together if they need to.

Author's Response: Rose - she might roll her eyes like Ron at the dinner table, but she's still Hermione's daughter enough to stop and listen.

If their immunity wears off... well, they're probably up a certain creek without a paddle. Certainly not living in close proximity to the infected is a sensible choice to minimise contagion, though it's a bit of a desperate effort considering how virulent the sickness has already proven itself to be. Desperate times call for desperate alliances. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by sineadf 

21st October 2012:
Well, I thought I should review since I've been reading this story for a while now, and absolutely loving it. Honestly cannot believe it doesn't have more reviews! So I thought I should up your count :)
Well-written, fantastic characterisation and an exciting plot, I cannot wait to see where this story goes.

It's also so great to see an Albus that is not just a Harry-clone, I love him.

Author's Response: I certainly shan't object if you feel compelled to review! And reviews breed more reviews. I'm glad you're enjoying this, and I'm certainly glad Albus goes down well, he is, indeed, meant to be Different while still believably the son of Harry and Ginny. Thanks for reading, and thanks very much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by LillyRoseanne 

12th October 2012:
Love it!

Amazing as always, keep updating, we love you for it :D

One thing though, noticed that this sentence didn't make sense to me.
"You keep reminding me. Like it's a small animal that needs feeding I neglect."
I had to read it a couple of time before I think I understood what you meant.

Loving the Rose/Scorpius double teaming the House elf though, that was cool the cocky little beep :D

Author's Response: Updates will come as regularly as I can get them out! There's a good buffer of chapters written so they should come at a decent rate, have no fear.

The quote, in that case, refers to the responsibility being a small animal, like Scorpius is a neglectful pet owner. Though you're right, it is a bit clunky; I shall take a look at it in later edits.

Glad you enjoyed the chapter! I think this one's a good 'un, if I may say so myself. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by water_lily43175 

12th October 2012:
Scorpius was 'probably dossing off somewhere'. Oh, Rose, give the poor guy a break!

'Methuselah Jones didn't operate like normal people.' Truer words have never been spoken. Or thought. Whatever, point still made.

Loving the little Rose insight into her little 'fling' with Matthias. It's blatantly obvious that she still cares about him in some capacity, and if I wasn't championing Scorose then I'd be wanting her to get back with him. Basically, anyone but Hector!

I had that EXACT thought about having a Malfoy pinned to a wall the moment the sentence appeared. And then, next paragraph, Rose herself works out the second meaning. Amazing.

Oh, Rose. Six people left conscious and you go for the "I'm a prefect" line. She is SO Hermione Granger's daughter. Ungh, employment contracts and employee handbooks. I'm practically up to my eyeballs in employment law right now, oh the joys! I feel Scorpius' pain. And the House Elf reform stuff bores Rose to hell. She really is Ron Weasley's daughter, eh?

A miniature version of the Prophet for the Elves. That is so cute!

'It was a common expression she encountered whenever anyone thought they might have to march into the intellectual battle of figuring out the Weasley family tree, which could be more vicious than the Whomping Willow.' AMAZING.

Oh, Rose is good. Scorp is good. Elves OWNED.

Oh, Scorose moment. AMAZING Scorose moment. He cares, he really cares! And I'm longing for the moment when he REALISES that, because at the moment if he does know, it's a subconscious thing. And Rose, beginning to see the good side of him; the side that is clever, and CARING. Yeah, this epidemic is definitely going to bring out good Scorp in Rose's eyes. EXCITED. And of course, that's the main purpose of this chapter - sorting out the Elves is good, but it's all about the little Scorose steps. BIG LOVE for this one!

Author's Response: It's Rose. She will perpetually assume, whatever's going on, that Scorpius is up to No Good. Though she is, indeed, rather more accurate in her assessment of Methuselah. Glad the thoughts about Matthias come off well - there's a definite fondness there, but I also hope it implied how there were personality incompatibilities there. They broke up before they would wind up hating one another, and while that makes it sometimes complicated, it's probably healthier all around. Despite, yes, the power of ScoRose, those two are quite sweet. Matthias perpetually shoves himself into plot plans wherever possible (as I say, it was almost him, not Hugo, joining them into the Forest - but I thought it would be better to flesh out one of the Clan).

You can tell I wrote this chapter while also up to my eyeballs in HR work? And yeah, Rose shows the best of both worlds of her parents in this chapter - and the worst! She might have found the House Elf Reform Stuff more interesting if it were more 'relevant' to her, but she's still a teenager and the greatest injustices are still behind her; Hermione going on about it is only going to induce Ron-like boredom.

Scorp does care. The biggest obstacle to ScoRose here is Rose; just her behaviour drives him away, and drives him to aggravating her intentionally. But this is a start; this is the first time she's seeing his better traits, because she can't ignore them or brush them to the side. And you're right: that is what this chapter's all about, that first step!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review