Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

22nd March 2017:
House elves with union rights, priceless

Also just to say for the hundredth time I love your Scorpius

 Report Review

Review #2, by EmmaGM 

3rd February 2015:
Great chapter! I particularly liked the part at the end. It makes sense that Hermione pushed through for elf rights and it's nice to see she was succesful. It's also logical not all elves wanted freedom and chose for their old lives. Nice writing, as usual.

Author's Response: Hermione certainly spent time working towards House Elf rights, but I can imagine the transition was harder for some than others. And then, some of them are Foreman Harley.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Roisin 

5th December 2014:
Back!

So when I first read this chapter, I was all like "GUYSuh, HOUSE ELVESuh!"--and then, just as I was thinking it, you did JUST THAT! Bravo!

And THEN, I almost got a little stroppy over Harley's characterization (just because personally, I really support labor unions)--but since I've read what comes later, I think you did a really admirable job of doing a nuanced analysis. Harley might come off like a negatively stereotyped labor boss just now, but it does lend itself really well to what happens later, with Scorp and Rose reevaluating their perspectives. Great job with that!

Overall, this chapter did an excellent job of keeping stones from going unturned. You addressed everything that a picky reader might think of, and all the while, continued to build the dynamics between the characters.

OH, and I continue to really enjoy your Rose. Hermione is a character I'm really protective of, and so by extension, I have a lot of feelings about Rose. Throughout this story, we really see her exhibiting both Hermione-ish and Ron-ish characteristics. She's clever and righteous, but not a carbon copy of her mother. Stubborn, and easy to anger like her father, but more circumspective.

And then I think I've already said how much I like your Albus and Scorpius characterizations. They really feel like the sons of the men I imagined Harry and Draco growing into. (But if I'm being super honest--I'm not feeling the faceclaim. He looks about 30 years old!)

Author's Response: If the writer can provide the plot thing just as the reader thinks of it, that's apparently excellent pacing! It happens to me sometimes.

Ha, Harley doesn't get the best introduction in the world, does he? It was intentional. I'm highly sympathetic to his cause (and the real-world causes to which he is analogous), but I think it's important people like him aren't always seen as Grateful to be Saved (like Dobby) or Unaware of their Plight (like Kreacher). Harley is unpleasant, he is prickly, he is rude, he is defensive, and he is, in my opinion, pretty *right* about the state of his people and how they are treated and seen. The Gang doesn't get the luxury of hearing the hard truths from someone who tells it to them in ways they find palatable - tl;dr, I wanted to portray Harley's oppression in a different way to how these things are often portrayed. *cough* ANYWAY.

I'm glad you enjoy Rose! The poor girl has, in some ways, the WORST of both worlds from her parents. Stubborn, proud, quick to anger, occasionally insensitive... lucky she got the brains, huh?

Who was facepic for this chapter - oh, why did I use that picture? Huh, weird choice. I'd probably rethink a few of my FCs a few years on ('specially Albus) but that requires redoing pictures, the height of interruptions to my lazy days!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Siriuslover177 

19th June 2014:
How could the house elves not help??? There are one six people not sick, they need help! I really hope the other house elves help out, because if not I dunn how they are going to manage helping out that many people.

And how are they going to contact thr ministry? There is nothing they could do besides maybe using their patrones, but I dont think they know how to use that spell.

I just hope that everyone gets better!!

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Harley's got his reasons to be stubborn, but they're not the best reasons in the world. And no, they don't know how to cast patronuses, not even the professor!

 Report Review

Review #5, by LightLeviosa5443 

20th November 2013:
What a mean house elf! I guess Dobby was the only helpful one of his race, huh? I mean, if they helped the students, then the six that were still well could figure out what was going on.

I really hope they find out what's going on. I kind of giggled when I saw Potter was checking on Hufflepuff though I'm not entirely sure why.

If Scorpius has been outsmarting teachers for years, couldn't he find a way to break into the Headmasters Office?

You've created an extremely captivating and interesting story, and I'm impressed with how many details you've put in and what you've created. I'm absolutely loving this story.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: I'm sure there ARE other kind and helpful House Elves. Just Harley isn't one of them - or, rather, he's not helpful in the way Dobby's helpful.

Scorpius likes to think he's been outsmarting teachers for years. He can pull the wool over their eyes in the classroom, on occasion. Beating the wards and protections around the Headmaster's Office? That's something else - but we'll see about that some point in the future.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Mad Eye 

4th October 2012:
THIS IS SO GOOD. UPDATE ASAP PLEASE!

Author's Response: I shall be updating soon! Glad you're enjoying and thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by water_lily43175 

2nd October 2012:
It's so like Rose, to carry on when there is absolutely nothing that she can do, to completely refuse to give up. Even when she's working herself to the bone. It would appear as though pretty much everyone else has now gone down with this illness, which means that Super Six times are coming! This is exciting.

Oh, poor Matthias! I love Rose's worry about him, there's obviously SOMETHING there still. Oh, poor Rose, she's got far too much on her plate. She's PUTTING far too much on her plate. Someone else needs to take control here because she can't, she'll just self-delegate.

"Albus' first, unkind thought was that his best friend was the last person to help in this situation." Albus! Be nice! Though I do see his point; Scorp isn't the most sensitive person when it comes to Rose so would most probably not be the most tactful of people in this situation.

You can tell that Methuselah isn't as well versed at dealing with Rose as Scorpius is. Not that Scorp is anywhere near GOOD at it, but he at least wasn't going to say "We've just been in the Forbidden Forest with a load of Demontors", at least not straight away. What a silly.

Ah, FINALLY, Nat takes control, instead of hiding away like a coward. About time. I kind of forgot about Selena for a moment, given that the last couple of chapters haven't really involved her. Bet she's been hiding away doing her nails. HAHA, she sits in the chair that Methy pulls out. Amazing.

Wow. So Rose, Methy and Selena have to go and check on everybody in their houses, and Al gets a house that he's not even in. How will they know who everyone is? Tough job, that. And poor old Scorp doesn't even get a job. How very sensible of Nat - except, if she HAD given him a job then at least she'd know where he was.

'When Scorpius Malfoy said "I've got an idea", standard procedure was to duck and cover.' Amazing. Oh, he SO cares about Rose right now, even if he doesn't see it. Bless him.

Okay, with this first house elf interaction, I was scared that you'd suddenly forgotten how to write them. I really shouldn't have been, because you clearly got the speech and behaviour and whatnot right in Ren, but so many people get it painfully WRONG that it was just a natural reaction when I came across them talking in first person and wearing clothes here. But then I read on and it makes sense, and oh god I love it. Foreman Harley is amazing. Boots up on the table like Gideon, oh yeah! I like the fact that some house elves still haven't changed; some of them seemed far too stubborn right from the start to embrace something as radical as this. And I had the exact same thought process when Harley called Scorp "pipsqueak". The cheeky little thing! Very good idea of Scorpius' to ask the house elves to help nurse people. Shame that Harley is being painfully awkward! I'd see his point if it wasn't such a heartless one. Intrigued to see where this little issue goes, because I can't imagine you'd have stuck it in otherwise. HMM. Lots going on in this chapter, I like very much!

Author's Response: Rose has her mother's determination and her father's stubbornness and of course she'd work herself to the bone. It's a coping mechanism as much as a means of solving a problem! And yes, there is definitely a Bit More to her and Matty, which will be elaborated on; stupid Doyle worming himself into plot and so forth. Rose MIGHT be able to delegate - but she'd need to basically have a team who'd do things exactly how she would, so that's impossible. And that she can't trust Albus right then for delegation is rather telling, since 'Reliable' is Albus' middle name (well, one of; another is 'Sasquatch').

Al IS being harsh - though what he means isn't just that Scorp will say the wrong thing, it's that Rose gets ratty around Scorpius even if he's not doing anything, so it's BOTH their faults. But yes, Scorpius would have been a bit more diplomatic than Methy. ANYONE would have been more diplomatic than Methuselah Jones!

Professor Nat and Selena should get a bit more screen-time; Selena especially has been neglected. You know how I was struggling in how to present her but I think we're past that. She'll be fun! Albus gets to check Hufflepuff because it makes most sense for someone to check their own house, and with three Slytherins and no Hufflepuffs, send the most reliable Slytherin. 'tis a tough job; they'll have to rely on numbers and any students still conscious enough to answer questions.

Scorpius is definitely more bothered about Rose than he lets on. Glad the House Elves do work! Certainly this is meant to be House Elves a quarter-century on and after a lot of reforms - but yes, not all of them move on. Just as the Malfoy House Elf is at one extreme, Harley is DEFINITELY the other extreme rather than the norm. I did worry I was writing them a little like goblins; I'm meant to be more poking fun at union stereotypes than corporate stereotypes (which goblins embody), but the line gets fuzzy. But I'm glad Harley's enjoyed, he's a hoot to write! This little 'side mission' will be dealt with, no worries. The plot point exists for more than me just beating up Scorp's ego.

I have other plot points for that sole purpose. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by LillyRoseanne 

30th September 2012:
Ooooh Burn from the house elf!

Loving it, so don't know what the hell is going on, and really would like to find out sometime soon, in the meantime however the suspense is quite enjoyable... :D Next Chapter PLEASE! :D :D :D

Author's Response: I am glad that not knowing what's going on is a good thing! All will be revealed, in good time, in good time. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by AriesGirl40 

29th September 2012:
Soundslike their going to have to do some re-negotiations with the house elves. wonder if some new sox will do the trick???

Author's Response: I think Harley would prefer a new tie - but yes, bribery is always a good idea. We'll have to see what Scorpius thinks of. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ladymontgomery 

28th September 2012:
I love Scorpius's character, I do. I had a suspicion that they'd be the only people left, and why don't they ask the houselves to leave the castle...or would that spread the magical illness too?? I'm at a loss as to what's going on and I like it :), this novels really good :))

Author's Response: Scorpius thanks you for your adoration. Yep, it was rather inevitable it'd be those six left behind! As for the house elves, they COULD ask them to leave, but they don't know much yet about the illness or how it spreads. Perhaps, when they learn more, they will - but in the meantime it's a risk they don't want to take. Glad you're enjoying the twists and turns! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review