Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

7th March 2015:
She slapped the side of my face. “You found a way around it.”

^ Yes Lily, yes. Avery is going to make her team and Bink is going to make his. I think he will as a reserve though. Is that why he pushed Rose away? Because he knows he's not going to be around and he won't be able to have a real relationship? Oh Bink!

I think James will do it. I mean we have a sequel happening but I think he has too much talent for someone like David Flynn to ruin his life and his career in one shot. By his letter James showed that he has more to offer than just what he does on a broom.

He has heart.

That's what all exceptional players need (and have).

 Report Review

Review #2, by queenwombat 

19th November 2013:
I haven't left any reviews because I got into this story but I just want to tell you A I totally ship blink and Roes B I love James even though he needs to A snog Avery B let his family date people and C I don't actually have a C James is pretty amazing anyway I think he's a great character C congrats on getting married ( I really hope you're happy (everyone deserves happiness) and D this chapter made me cry like a little baby. Or like a grown up watching 7 part 2 or reading 7th or sixth lol anyway thank you for blessing me with this story you're incredible!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by deceptive_serenade 

9th February 2013:
I've always loved the friendships in this story. Either between Bink and Freddie and James, or James and Avery... whatever. They're just so realistic and wonderful.

Of course you can stay there forever. Shut up Avery. You can get pancakes later.

Ahaha they're just so cuuute ♥

AW THEY GOT TRYOUTS! :D

But I feel so bad for James, oh god. *sniff sniff* He should just start his own Quidditch team. Is that legal? Haha. But Jaaames. LET ME HUG YOU. IT'LL BE OKAY.

I'm going to cry, Janice. HAPPY NOW?!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review and the re-post of the original review as you changed pennames! It means a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #4, by zipzin 

10th October 2012:
Wow this story is great! I read the entire thing in three days and I must say it is fantastic! You have an amazing style of writing and sure there are some errors but they aren't that disruptive so I don't really think they are a provlem! I can't wait for the next chapter or the sequel so keep writing you're awesome!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!

And oh yeah, I bet there are quite a few errors, as I write and post instead of taking a lot of time to edit. I spend too much time on edits for my original work, I'd rather give people the chapter sooner rather than later. So I bet there are quite a few :) Thank you so much and I really hope you enjoy the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Didi_Sartat 

10th October 2012:
I also kind of remember Bink proposing to his glass of vodka.

At least he named me the best man. Take that, Freddie.

Author's Response: That is one of my FAVORITE lines. I added that in during a reread, giggling the entire time. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by imacullenpottergirl 

10th October 2012:
OH NO.
Oh no.
no.
Oh, James.
no.

You cried. So I cried.
Please don't make me cry.

James, I love you. So does Avery.
And you love Quidditch. Don't forget that.
Please.
Never.

- Abhi

Author's Response: AW. I'm sorry for making you cry.
Only I'm not. Because authors eat that up.
But sorry. Ish.

Thank you so much for the adorbs review :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Catching the snitch 

7th October 2012:
Ah this story gives me heart pains. My ideal ending for this story hmm of course a happy ending! James getting a tryout for a quidditch team and him and Avery and him getting back together. Thank you so much for writing this story cant wait for the sequel!

Author's Response: Haha! Heart pains. Aw, I'm sorry :( But I'm not. But I am! Thank you SO much for reading! I really hope you enjoy the final chapter and the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Loony_Scorpy 

7th October 2012:
Wow I can't believe there's only one chapter left! I have absolutely no idea how it will end but I'm sure it will be brilliant. So so happy Avery got the offer! But I'm super sad for James :( Hopefully he'll come up with an awesome plan though! Loved it as always :)

Author's Response: Isn't it so strange? It has been SO long. Thank you so much for the review and ALL of your reviews! I really hope you enjoy the final installment!

 Report Review

Review #9, by ilikecookies 

30th September 2012:
AH!

I WISH JAMES GETS SIGNED. Poor James. He should tell his dad. And and get a tryout. :(

Author's Response: I feel for James, but he'd never be able to live with himself if he got a leg up. That's just not the kind of guy he is. He doesn't do pity things. Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by roxyroxtheworld 

29th September 2012:
nice chapter!!! and thats awesome how avery got a tryout : ) and bink to : ) i am curious to what the next chapters gonna be like though and wow this chapter made me really want pancakes lol : ) love this story!!!

Author's Response: Go on and get some pancakes, haha! Thanks so much for the review -- hope you enjoy the rest of the story and its sequel!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Shay_Gryff 

26th September 2012:
Hello! I REALLY want to read this story, but I have that patience of a hyper squirrel on coffee, so could you PLEASE tell me about how long it will take for all the chapters to be (re)validated?? PLEASE?!?!?! It would give you another reader! Because if the answer is a weekish (give or take) I will stop, drop and READ!

I've Heard this story is awesome, so I want to read it! Let me know please!

Shay_Gryff

Author's Response: I placed the chapters to be revalidated on Friday so I'm not sure where they are. I apologize for the inconvenience, but I put in the edits as soon as I found out they were unvalidated. I'm sure the validators are working hard to keep the queue down :) They're amazing! So it should be shorter than a week. I really hope you enjoy the story and I can't wait to see your thoughts! But yes, it should definitely be before a week. I hope! Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by sleepless_nights 

26th September 2012:
Wow, I can't believe that this story is comming to an end! I'm already looking forward to the sequel.
I really like how unpredictable you leave the ending. I can't tell if James is getting his quidditch career and how things will go with him and Avery. I'm hoping for an happy end, but who knows... (Well, you know, but you know what I mean ;) )

Author's Response: Isn't it strange? I've been writing this so long.

I'm glad you think it's unpredictable. You've read my mind on exactly how I wanted it. It could realistically go either way. And honestly, either way James would make the best out of it.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Christiana 

22nd September 2012:
ah i love this story so much. update son!!

i'm convinced james and avery get married and have beautiful little babies. (: ...eventually.

next chapter. james finds a way to a quidditch team try-out? i'm not convinced this is the end of his quidditch life.

Author's Response: So glad you're enjoying it! They should definitely have all of the beautiful little babies. Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by HPsmartone32 

21st September 2012:
SO GOOD. fjalks;ghsdlkfj i'm so sad this story is almost over. and really glad that there will be a sequel. i really hope aves and james get back together, they're so cute. also that james works it out.

also congrats on getting married :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And also about the story. It's kind of sad that it's almost over, but there's much more James were that came from. I just couldn't give him up.

Thanks for the review! I hope you like the sequel!


 Report Review

Review #15, by radicallyali 

21st September 2012:
Reading this in the bath tub (go ahead and judge. I'm sick.) so ill leave a proper review later but hell yeah I wore James aviators to the wedding. Did you really expect anything else?

Author's Response: Not even judging. you know why? Because I'm not surprised.
And not surprised about the aviators too.

Thanks for the bathtub-review.


 Report Review

Review #16, by MiSTY_VoLPe 

19th September 2012:
ahh gosh nearly finished! soo keen for the sequel!
thankyou thankyou thankyou for always updating such amazing chapters!
feeling so bad for james at the moment- but im sure things will look up eventually right... right? RIGHT?! you wouldn't be that cruel as to make him live the rest of his life in misery? RIGHT?!
also really happy that Avery got an opportunity!
update as soon as you can!!

Author's Response: It really is almost done, isn't it? Ah. By the time I'm responding to this it has been done for a while and this just makes me super sad.

I can't keep being cruel to James, but I absolutely can continue to mess with him. Ruthlessly.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by pensiveprincess 

19th September 2012:
So can we talk about how many times I've read this chapter since it was published... because I'm on 3 and I think it might hit double digets by the time the week is out. Why? Because this story is just so good. Can you be addicted to a story? I think I am... ooops.

Such a good job. For the record you described the post-cup party perfectly. For polo we never got cups, only plaques, but if we could have drank out of the plaque we would of; thus the James cup chug was spot on. As was the morning after hangover. Having college flashbacks now... pain, horrible pain.

The ending did confuse me however. One minute James was staring at the peeling tape on his locker (nice touch btw) and the next he was a fool next to a barbecue? I'm sure more will be explained in the next chapter, but thought I'd let you know.

Loved Lily. You also had quite a few one liners snuck in there that were phenomenal.

Can not wait for the next chapter + sequel (i love you)!!!

And congrats on the wedding!

Author's Response: Aw, I miss seeing your reviews.

You're rereading! AHH I love when people reread. It's even better than reading.

I aimed his post-cup party after the after-parties for the Stanley Cup :) Flashbacks... oh yes. I had those. Don't speak loudly.

The ending is foreshadowed in a previous chapter, but it'll make sense in the next one. When people read it once it is complete, it'll make sense because one is right afte the other, but that's the disadvantage of one-chapter-at-a-time.

Thank you SO much! I really hope you like the sequel just as much.


 Report Review

Review #18, by A Reviewer 

19th September 2012:
Congrats on getting married! How exciting marriage life must be!
And I absolutely LOVE (!) this chapter and all it's Javery parts were so bittersweet! I wish they'd get back together already, they're sooo adorable together!
Yea for Lily for giving James a slap in the face to help him realize that sitting around being sad won't do anything. I don't really get the ending but I'm thinking it has to do with James and an unofficial tryout? Maybe?
I'm sooo excited for the next chapter and then the sequel yay!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's pretty much the same as non-married life but with a different last name, really.

So glad you're enjoying the story. Thank you SO much for the review! Can't wait to see your thoughts of the rest :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jen 

18th September 2012:
I don't think I quite understand the end bit of this chapter. I feel so sad for James, but I'm sure there will be a way around it - as Lily said, he found a way.

But I don't get it... how did he become a fool?

Author's Response: The end is foreshadowed, but you'll figure it out at the start of the next chapter.

Thanks for the review! hope you like the rest!


 Report Review

Review #20, by starrunner555 

18th September 2012:
the story better end with a james and avery snog and james getting a tryout! update soon!!

Author's Response: Haha! Talk about a serious happy-ending, huh?

Thanks so much for the review! keep your fingers crossed.


 Report Review

Review #21, by ggilon 

18th September 2012:
first off, I really missed reading your writing! It's always great, and as a result, always alot of fun reading.

Now to the chapter-I liked it all. The ending was so sad, and at times I wanted to tear me hairs off in the javery parts, but it has to be this way I guess... Well, i'll just have to wait for the happy ending!

this is an awfully short review in my standards, but I really think I summed it all up...

I can't wait for the next chapter! till it goes up, i'll have to settle for reading your tweets and the blog... but you know what they say, good things take their time!

so congrats on the wedding, and i'll e on the edge of my seat waiting for the finale!

Author's Response: Glad you're back! Missed you :)

So happy you enjoyed the chapter. it was definitely a little/lot heart-wrenching.

Feel free to check out my other work if you get bored/anxious. Thanks so much for the review! i hope you like the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Shindig 

18th September 2012:
Ehrmagerd. Oh my GAWD. MISTRESS. Like. Agg.
So. I'm not going to really comment so much on the chapter. I don't understand the end part really. But the rest was brilliant. In writing skills anyway. Everything else was upsetting. Agh. I don't mean it like that. It just was upsetting to see him getting crushed and denied. Like, if you remember my long ranty teen pregnancy review (that seems like forever ago, doesn't it) this was the reason I hated them. I mean, pregnancy is longer and you get the ruining of their lives over a longer period, but they can pick up after it. I know Ryan can and will. James had it all set out, so prepared, his future was solid since when he was very young. The thought of it when it hit him when mr Flynn told him he couldn't was really awful. It was. However, there was still a hope that there'd be a flaw in Flynn's plan, a problem, and it could be sorted out. Now, I do know you don't like the generic plot, but I sort of wanted that to happen. Also, when James is thinking about it, some of the most poignant points of when it actually happens are mentioned but not as sharp or painful. Yeah, I found the chapter when James collapses extremely upsetting. But this one sort of finished off the job. Like if someone you knew got a type of cancer with a 5 percent survival rate, you'd be devastated. After a while though, you'd realise that there was a chance that they'd make a comeback and survive, and it just had to because there had to be a happy ending. You keep your hopes very high up until you almost believe it's fact. This chapter was like when the person finally dies. All those far fetched hopes I depended on went out. Now, I'm not saying this affected me as much as someone dying, but it was a very eye opening chapter.
The fact that bink, a friend he hoped the best for but never really expected to get it unless he had as well, got it killed me. It really did. I don't know whether that or the fact that avery got it, the girl he was supposed to go with, devastates me. Him seeing his friends go where he wanted to be was so, so painful and so poignant. It completely dawned on me that James might not get his happy ending. It probably finished the job.
The lily thing. I'm not sure about it. I don't know whether you've set us up to believe he'll get it or if he actually will.
I get that you like twisting plotlines. It's fantastic and really original. It's enjoyable and not cliche. In writing this I've sort of ended the job myself. I can accept that James might not get it. The thing is, if he doesn't, I won't be able to read this story for a while. I can't deal with too much depression at once. So I'd let the sequel go on a while before i started to read it.
My imagination is running wild with things James might do if he doesn't get onto a team. If he doesn't, it is definite in my mind that his friendships with avery and bink would disintegrate. So, theres my opinion.
You did a phenomenal job on this chapter, Janice.
Tell Seth well done for getting this fantastic chapter dedicated to him as YOUR HUSBAND!
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Whoa. Spacing, woman. This is a WALL OF TEXT.

The end part was foreshadowed, but will make complete sense at the beginning of the next chapter.

I definitely know what you mean about that shred of hope and the generic happy ending. I know people crave that, especially in fanfiction. But you know it's not real. That's not always how things work. But it does sometimes. I don't like to follow that path becuase in so many instances it creates a forgettable story. And I'm kind of conceited. I want people to remember my stories. To come back to them and reread them. And if I just had James get a letter because surprise - David Flynn was making it up - you'd be happy at the time but then look back and think... well, that was convenient. And lame.

The lily paragraph. That is EXACTLY what you should be thinking. I want you, as the reader, to wonder what I'm setting up. Am I setting up that James will find a way, or that he will find something else?

I want to bring much more reality into fanfiction. Too much of it you can see coming a mile away and I am well aware of the risks. Trust me. I get fewer reviews than a lot of other people simply for that reason. And that is a risk I am willing to take.

Thank you so much for the wall-of-text review! i hope you enjoy the rest of the story and its sequel!


 Report Review

Review #23, by asdjka 

18th September 2012:
that was sad :( please update soon

Author's Response: Aw, it really was. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley 

18th September 2012:
Poor poor Jamesie.
Okay, so he is THIS close to a girl he is totally in love with (even though he won't admit it) and he just won the Quidditch Cup and he is a star player.
So life maybe isn't so bad?
And Lily's right. He always finds a way. So surely he will. Never say die. Argh I just want him to be happy!
Thanks so much for this chapter, SOO looking forward to the last one! (Javery action, anyone?)

Author's Response: Haha, you are completely right. But of course he doesn't see it that way .James is always looking toward the future and it's hard to be so happy aobut things in the present when you know your future is ruined.

NEVER SAY DIE.

Thank you so much for the review! Hope you like the rest of the story :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Justanothermuggle fan 

18th September 2012:
i hope james gets a spot on the tornados(i know it!)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! Keep your fingers crossed.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>