Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Run, Chapter 31: Newcomers
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Guest 

7th January 2017:
This is a piece of art!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Moggy 

18th August 2015:
I loved this story. I really liked the ending with how no one is gone forever it was a really nice twist!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Laurie 

25th June 2015:
I loved the story! It was very original, and you are truly a gifted writer. You captured the characters' personalities very well. If I could give you one tip: sometimes when I was reading, I couldn't picture the surroundings and I couldn't completely understand what was going on. I don't know if this was intentional, but I if it wasn't, I would advise you to elaborate on the surroundings and the actions. But all in all, this is truly one of the best fanfictions I have ever read.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lemonrind 

8th May 2015:
Thank you. This was fantastic.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Sarah 

1st May 2015:
This was very good! I'm a bit confused about what the clock was exactly though

 Report Review

Review #6, by copperdust 

19th December 2014:
*exhales*

THAT PLOTTING, THOUGH. Wow. The rarest of all gifts in the world of writers, you crafted an addictive and elegant plot that spiralled in on itself, all loose ends not tied up so much as woven together. The whole story seems seamless, all twists and turns shocking and yet they felt inevitable at the same time- as if of course the story could end no other way.

The concept of Cliodna's Clock and the races, while borrowing various elements from other stories, when put together were extremely original. The themes of the story- overcoming fear of death, dualities (such as opposite and doppelgangers), mother's sacrifices- they were all so connected with the original Potter series that though the third person omniscient style was much different, I feel that JKR herself would approve of how you continued her major themes. I also enjoyed the fleshing out of minor characters, none of which seemed to stand out as obvious OCs.

I adore that you allowed the strongest relationships in the story to be between those characters which never (until the end) were able to interact- the residents of Cliodna's Clock and their living loved ones. You get the sense of tension between James and Lily, both of whom ultimately want what's best for Harry, even though they hardly know him. I think the most devastating part of the story for me emotionally was seeing how the power of Lily's motherly love for Harry was driving her to the kind of self-destruction that Voldemort paralleled on earth. While he tore apart his soul trying to avoid death, instead getting ever closer to it, she risks death over and over, ending up with more time alive on earth than anyone else in the Clock. As heartbreaking as Harry's grief for the parents he never knew is, it's fascinating to see it from the other side- the parents who are horrifyingly unable to protect their baby and who know that their only chance to see him again is when he dies, and imagining the terrible double-bind of that- wanting your son to die so that *you* can see him again...it's really no wonder that Lily was falling to pieces.

You crafted a great mystery, and the action sequences were vivid and clear, easy enough to follow but definitely worthy of a movie screen. It's so hard to *write* an action or fight scene. Great job on those. My favourite duel was the first one because I loved trying to figure out who was who just from their behaviour.

And Fred and George's characterizations were pitch-perfect. You really picked up on the subtle differences between them in canon, like Fred being more foolhardy and reckless, while George is a little more caring and worried about others. Of COURSE Fred would be the one to impulsively enter the races and George would be the one to knowingly risk getting stuck in the afterlife so that Fred could have another year on earth.

Anyways, terrific job. I need to read everything you write! Please consider continuing on in original fiction in the mystery/suspense/adventure genre. There's not enough plotters like you out there.

 Report Review

Review #7, by MuellerKim 

28th July 2014:
Wow, I can't believe that this is the end! Five days of desperate reading, laughing, squeeling and frankly bawling my eyes out and I've finally finished reading this borderline masterpiece!
I don't even know where to begin; everything about this was semi-genius. The descriptions, the originality, the insane amount of detail and the ridiculously accurate characterisation. I dont have enough words on here to give you the review that I want so I'm just gonna list everything that I loved
Regulus Black and the way that he is so much like his brother (only a thousand times better because of his stellar slytherin charm), Snape's apology, the founders' love triangle, Crabbe's reaction when he lost the duel and confronted Slytherin (I can't believe that made me cry), Tonks' sacrifice, the hilarious moment when Fred tried to hit on Lily, Quidbumps (wouldn't want to play it personally but it'd be very fun to watch), the Weasley clock scene, George and Fred's switch and the greasy-haired git reference, the Narcissa and Teddy scene and everybody's escape to Witchery. There's so much more but really I loved it all! I hope Cedric finds love in Witchery and invests in buying better underpants in the future as well, he's just a really top guy!
Phenomenal read and well worth the time it took to do so! Sticking with the theme of immortality, this will be an eternal hpff favourite of mine, congratulations on being the incredibly talented author that you are and thankyou thankyou thankyou for writing this and particularly for giving Fred and the marauders a happy ending!
Olivia

 Report Review

Review #8, by MuNition 

2nd July 2014:
I posted the last few comments and have since begun exploring this site and reading more on it - mostly due to how this story piqued my interest. The story is great. Out of all the combinations of different ideas, this is one of the better executed and original ones I've read in HP fandom. So even with all my quibbles this story is asuredly (I had to misspell that and drop an 's' because of a content filter? REALLY?) provocative.

BUT, as you gave a reply which I can't reply to: my interpretation of Severus Snape is not happier or relaxed or anything like that. If anything, I think that by the time he died, he had long stopped loving Lily as anything more than an abstract concept and was perfectly aware of that. He knew that she wouldn't ever care for him the way he cared for her, and that he stopped caring about anything a long time prior. Including about her as anything more than a symbol for what his life could have been.

Perhaps darker, he'd already accept that his life was a complete negative influence on the world, and no matter how hard he worked to fix that it was an exercise in futility. His emotions in canon are always very basic ones on a psychological level (pain / hurt / pleasure, and the closest to a pure secondary one is anger - usually as an extension of a primary hurt), he shuts out the complicated ones completely.

I could expand upon this greatly and give a lot of reasoning, and in my head, Snape would be the first to admit that if there was an afterlife, there would be nothing for him there. Perhaps even going so far as seeing at death as the only way the war could end remotely well for him (relatively speaking).

The conclusion to this would be that he'd look to purposefully die in the afterlife and that his fervent hope was that there wasn't one in (at least) the year before he died. I don't think he'd be in a place to be able to have civilized discourse with James in the area... and quite possibly with Lily - whether it was his fault or not, she was an integral part of setting him down a very dark path, and one look at her would be enough to shatter whatever fantasies he'd been clinging to in order to survive to the end.

He'd just say "I'm sorry", and walk away, knowing full well that he won't be forgiven no matter what - even if such a possibility existed and that was completely too dark a line of thought. Once he'd be able to start healing, he would never forgive her for the damage she did (unless she did sleep with him, guys *can* be coaxed beyond 'stubborn' with feminine tools). And as for what he chose to do in the second round is absurd. He put his weakness on a soft target. The man went through two wars - even if he was an utter moron, he should have known better.

Oh, and quite possibly, he'd look to hurt Dumbledore. Not prank, not shout at, not argue, not guilt - that's the one person he'd probably think genuinely deserves to suffer and not an iota of comfort... and that would probably be as close to friendship as he'd get with anyone he ever knew. For a few years at least (he exhibits way too many symptoms of PTSD for any different outcome - he exhibited some milder ones at age 9 for crying out loud). Either that, or look forward to something cheerful like substance abuse.

Again, my interpretation of canon Snape is quite possibly darker than most.

As for Regulus - he was a year younger than Snape, with twenty years to lead a normal life in which he could have emotional growth (if anything, he'd be far more emotionally mature). Pranking seems unlikely, but that's your interpretation, so fair enough.

Other than that, I have a few nitpicks here and there, but this story is excellent, and very well written. I'm already nearing 4000 characters and need to find out how to continue send a message in some form (ahh, to be a noob again), if you would be willing to delve into deeper discussion (or ask me what I based that block of text on, which is an ultra bare-bones version).

Author's Response: Hi! I definitely welcome a Snape discussion, and I like that you brought all your passion to the table. I think that we view him so differently that we'll probably never agree on our interpretations.

I'll start with what you mentioned about Regulus. If Regulus were still alive on earth, I agree that he would have been more mature. But he's not alive. The thing about Cliodna's Clock is that it is a very small and unsatisfying place to exist. None of the residents have a real purpose. They can't leave the island. With the exception of the tournament, every day is exactly the same. They're stir-crazy, and that's why the insane notion of volunteering as a Grotta guard is even a thing. They're that desperate for a change in the monotony.

There's very little to do and that can have adverse effects on people - especially coupled with the temptation to stay forever young because they don't have to age here. Regulus came to Cliodna's Clock as a Death Eater. I imagine he would have overcompensated in trying to be likable, because he would be surrounded by those who hated Death Eaters. Somewhere during that period of gung-ho overcompensation, I envision him as getting stuck in arrested development. It's like how Sirius had some issues after he got out of Azkaban because he'd undergone so much trauma and his maturity was stunted. A man who'd lived out an ordinary life wouldn't have been as reckless as Sirius was. I gave some of Sirius's qualities to Regulus partially because they're brothers. Both of them are pretty messed up. I don't think they'll be able to grow until they find a way off the island.

I have noticed in your reviews that you have a tendency to be very blunt. Sharing your opinions is great, but you might want to watch how you word your criticisms. I finished Run two years ago, so I'm not going to go back and change round two. Everything that happened in that round, happened because I was playing God and I dictated it. When you say that his actions were 'absurd', based on your own personal feelings about Snape's characterization, remember that your opinion is subjective and criticisms of that nature are not constructive. And when you sign your name as "Ugh..." in a review, there is someone on the other side of the screen who has to read that. I spent a great deal of time and energy on this story. You might have written some of the elements differently, but keep in mind that we all have differing views of these characters. NONE of us are exactly spot-on, with the exception of JKR. Telling me that I wrote Snape "wrong" and confidently asserting what he would and wouldn't do, when neither of us know for sure what he would do since we're not JKR, isn't constructive. As fans, all we can do is guess.

Some writers have thicker skins than others. Luckily I can take a bullet to my story and I'll be okay with it. But please keep in mind that for some of us, posting stories for others to see is a vulnerable thing. Negative review can really ruin an author's day and perhaps their outlook on their story. I've seen authors on HPFF completely give up on a novel because they received a review that wasn't necessarily a flame, but did make them feel like they shouldn't bother posting anything unless it pleases absolutely everyone. Which is impossible. If I were on the receiving end of some of the more nitpick-y ones, I would be really disheartened. This is fanfiction. We're all amateurs. The way you phrase your opinions is important; focus more on what you like than what bothers you and remember that your words carry weight.

Anyway, thank you for reading Run and for your review, and I hope that if you haven't already, you write a Snape novel. All of my fanfiction exists because I couldn't find versions of characters on the archive that I wholly agreed with. If you're having difficulty finding a Snape you can really get on board with, definitely try your hand at that.


 Report Review

Review #9, by StoryWebber 

10th April 2014:
This is, without doubt, the most amazing Harry Potter fanfiction I've read, the only exception being G. Norman Lippert's James Potter series!
If you haven't read it, you should definitely try it. It's the best!
But Run was amazing! I don't even have words to describe it, it's that great!!
I just loved every part of it, and after reading this, I don't think I'll ever bring myself to write a fanfiction again :(
By the way, all the Devil's Duels were amazing, but the one I liked the best was thegoblin-fire-incident one. The Uprising.
Second-best was the fun-house one. Twisted Towers.
Then comes Hogwarts, Quidbumps and the ship one!
Speaking frankly, the first Devil's Duel was epic. I thought nothing could ever rival it. But that was before I read the rest of them!
Okay, I should stop rambling now, but I just want you to know that you are a wonderful writer with a whole lot of imagination!

 Report Review

Review #10, by hoggyhoggy_hogwarts 

7th April 2014:
I don't even know what to say.
This story was absolutely brilliant. Amazing.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Alisia 

2nd April 2014:
Ho-ly crap. Thank god for your imagination and talent. This is such a unique story, I am immediately elated that I've had the pleasure to read it and simultaneously bereft that it's over. I WILL go back and review every chapter but, you know later, when I've pulled myself out of the funk you get once you've finished an epic story and contemplate what you've just read and then you have to come to terms with the story ending and rejoin the 'real' world. And after I've gotten some sleep. It's 4:30am. I couldn't stop reading this.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Mrs.KjPotter 

20th January 2014:
Wow! One of the best fanfics that I've ever read!!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by dramaqueen728 

4th December 2013:
I genuinely loved this story. Thank you for bringing these characters new life. You're an incredible writer, and I just so appreciate this story.

 Report Review

Review #14, by theblacksisters 

29th October 2013:
Great ending! I KNEW there was soemwhere better than Cliodna's clock. And I've read 'Don't Look Back.' Isn't it great?

 Report Review

Review #15, by Boterham 

5th October 2013:
I've just LOVED all of these chapters! They're amazing! In my opinion, you should start writing your own books, 'cause I would buy ALL of them!!!

Lot's of succes with (possible) other fan-fics.

Greetings from The Netherlands!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Back in Black 

14th September 2013:
Loved this! So incredibly original and it was superbly written!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Nargles 

7th August 2013:
That was such an amazing story. I can't even use words to describe how utterly awesome it was. There's a good reason that this story won the most original award. How did you even come up with the idea? It's pure brilliance. I love how you make the characters live on after death. Now I'm no longer sad about all the deaths. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #18, by sirius_groovy 

12th May 2013:
Hi,

I just feel proud that I stumbled upon your fanfic. It was brilliantly and professionally written and way beyond the years. It has definitely set the bars higher for aspiring HP fanfic writers. Although initially it reminded me of Hunger Games a little bit, it took a different path later. You have provided amazing depth to all characters and your attention to details is amazing. I could easily visualize the grey shades of all characters with your beautiful description. This was unlike anything I ever read.

So original and gripping. I cancelled my weekend plans to finish reading this! :)

I really pray that you write a novel for real and publish it. We are in dire need of writers like you. :)

Good luck!!

 Report Review

Review #19, by magicalsquib 

30th March 2013:
I have just read this story from start to finish in about four hours, absolutely loved it! A specific highlight for me was the prologue bit to chapter 22, it was beautiful! Your descriptive writing and imagery was perfect and it literally made me cry. I loved your idea of Run as a whole and am sad to see it end!
Lots of love x

Author's Response: Four hours!!! Oh my goodness, I am so pleased that you sped through this that quickly. You must have really enjoyed reading it!

Thank you so much for reading and for your wonderful words about Run. It amazes me to see the positive feedback I've gotten from it, and every review reinforces how happy I am that I ever started it.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Terri 

9th March 2013:
This has absolutely been the best piece of fanfiction I have ever come across! So original, and well written, and just freakin awesome. I loved the idea of the many afterlives, and shifting time, and living memories... the Devil's Duel also as a concept was very Hunger Games and super interesting. It's tough to write action adventure, and in so many different perspectives too. The twisted paradise of Cliodna's Clock being undone by a boy like Colin Creevey was supremely satisfying by the way, definitely a top moment. My favourite element though has to be the bit where Fred and George switch - just brilliant. I'm sorry for gushing so much but I can't help myself! Loved loved loved it I hope JK Rowling for whatever reason will read this some day.

Author's Response: Thank you, Terri!! I'm so thrilled you liked this. There's literally millions of fan fiction stories out there, so I don't take it lightly to hear such wonderful compliments.

Action/adventure really is tough to write. I get one chance to paint an image in readers' minds and if I don't segue from one character to another in a fluid way, it will jar readers and become confusing. Colin Creevey ending up being the one to plumb Cliodna's Clock's secrets brings a smile to my face - I always root for the underdogs, the innocent ones.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! And oh my, I think I would be too terrified to have Rowling read this. I can't imagine anyone playing around with my own original characters and it would probably irk her to see what I did to her creations!


 Report Review

Review #21, by shadowcat2 

4th March 2013:
OMG. I didn't realize Fred and George switched places. Thank you for explaining everything about the photograph as well. I absolutely loved this story. I wonder why the Potters never left. Maybe they're waiting for Harry first.
Thank you for writing this story. We are really very lucky to have writers like you among us. THANK YOU

Author's Response: The Fred and George switching was a blink-and-you'll-miss-it moment. They physically switched places while embracing each other (when Molly was looking on at them through her window). There was a very subtle change in attitude while he was flying back, since secretly it was a different person, and then finally he tapped his lack-of-ear and said it had been blown off by a greasy-haired git. XD Oh, George. ♥

You're correct, the Potters are waiting for Harry. :) Lily may be out of the Duels now, but she's still hell-bent on seeing him someday. They're going to wait quietly and patiently for him to arrive.

Thank you so much for READING this story! I'm very lucky to have such wonderful readers and reviewers. I'm so happy that you liked 'Run'. :)

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #22, by Lululuna 

28th February 2013:
The story wrapped up beautifully. I was particularly moved by Fred and George switching places - so perfect, only the twins could pull that off! - and the idea of these amazing characters getting to live in an alternate afterlife of their own choosing. I really think you should do a sequel/prequel focusing on Salazar and Rowena, since they were two of my favourite characters, or just a sequel in general because this was so great. Pretty please? :) haha, thank you for this wonderful story!

Author's Response: So glad you liked the George and Fred switch! That was the part I most looked forward to writing throughout the whole novel. Hee a sequel/prequel. Never say never, I guess! No idea what the future holds. If I ever get the plunny, maybe. :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review this story!

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #23, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

27th January 2013:
Absolutely, positively, mind blowingly incredible!

Every chapter was flawless. All the dots connected...everything was just perfect, and I couldn't stop reading. I cannot believe that it's over, but that just makes me excited to see other works that you have done! :)

I loved how you executed each and every character as well. They never strayed too far from the original characters although they were in a completely new environment. I absolutely loved that part of it!

I'm so glad this story didn't become your four-chapter one, as you were planning. Don't you love when that happens though? That happened with a story of mine, it was only supposed to be three chapters, but then turned out to be novel.

Again, a marvelous, flawless job! I honestly can't wait to delve further into your creations (and hopefully you won't mind the pile of reviews I leave)! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so, so, so much for all of your amazing reviews. I cannot possibly convey my gratitude at having gotten such a wonderful response to my story. I didn't think Run would be the type of thing many people would want to read since it wasn't centered around romance, and it ended up being the most-read story on my page. The fact that you stumbled upon it and left me these lovely presents to read and respond to is the cherry on top. :) I hope to see you on my page again!

Thank you.

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #24, by MrsHTx 

16th January 2013:
One of the most original stories I have ever read. Great imagination!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Thank you for reading and reviewing. :) I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #25, by justonemorefic 

3rd January 2013:
OOH PEOPLE GOING MISSING !!! PEOPLE GOING TO WITCHING EEE. A LOGBOOK THAT WAS STOLEN. Please be Colin and Orla ferrying people to Witching.

IT IS.

This ending is everything I wanted and more. It's. Like this thing of beauty you frame in a museum that lots of tourists stop by and snap pictures at. You're the Lourve, Sarah. The Lourve. And I read that thing about Orla's photo earlier, and I think I forgot to mention it amongst my need to keep reading. But it's chilling to think of how all the worlds combine so seamlessly, like Fred and George switching, obviously you can't just /tell/ people there are universes unless you want a zillion Doctors going about. Cliodna's almost like a bit of a queen over her world, no? And I think I can find a lot of reasons why things happen if I think of it that way. I must, I must train myself not to think of CC as a finite death, but a small bubble of a world itself, like Witching.

Sarah, you've pretty much rewritten my entire HP headcanon. like, this is beyond perfection, I love you to a million gazillion bits for making it possible for me to read and experience this. I had high expectations 'cause you're Sarah and you blew those all to pieces.

one final ♥ for run.

Author's Response: Yarr, they are ferrying everyone to Witching! NUMBER ONE CLIODNA'S CLOCK RULE: BROKEN.

snortsnortsnort

Baww I am the Lourve. I will just bask in these compliments. I'm so happy you liked this story and you've rec'd it many times and I can't even tell you how floaty that has made me. (h) (hug) (h) I know that does not work here but it's all in the sentiment.

There were a lot of loose ends that needed tying, and I tied up as many as I could (but not everything, because in a span of two months everything reaching resolution would be unrealistic. Rowena is doomed to her love square forever.). And you're right, Cliodna's the queen of her little universe. She detached from wherever she sprung out of and planted her flag on this little two-island chain. And she's pretty much the god of it.

REWRITTEN YOUR ENTIRE HP HEADCANON, HOW DOES ONE RESPOND TO THAT. I just. I can't. -ded-

You are just the best. I lurve you to pieces and admire you so much as a writer. You're one of my favorite authors on this site so to have you enjoy something I've written is supes rewarding and gives me many squealy feels and can I just strangle you with my lurve because I feel like doing that just reading all of these fabulous reviews again. I know I'll continue to come back and reread them, too.

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>