Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StoryWebber 

10th April 2014:
That's GEORGE!
That's freaking, GEORGE WEASLEY!
How do you write like this, man?
You just got me the most excited, hyperventilated and stunned as I have ever been while reading a fanfiction!
Gods of Olympus!
I NEED to read the next chapter...

 Report Review

Review #2, by theblacksisters 

29th October 2013:
Lisa Turpin? It seems a lot of people really liked 'What Lies Behind.' I did too.
Anyway, you seem a bit like me. I always have an inclination to add subtle hints of some of my favorite series.

 Report Review

Review #3, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

26th January 2013:
What in Merlin's name are you doing to me?! I've had a hard enough time getting through this chapter with my blurry vision, due to my watery eyes; now I'm having heart palpitations with the end! Which, of course, is absolutely brilliant, as was the clock!

Now that I'm done being rude: this chapter was wonderful. I absolutely loved it, beginning to end. Nonetheless, now that my heart palpitations have calmed down and my eyes aren't so watery, I can go forth into the next and final chapter.

Author's Response: And THIS was the reason why Fred won. He's the only one of the contenders who could possibly pull off a switch like this - not just because he's the only one with an identical twin but also because he's the only one gutsy enough to try it. Giving him another year on earth to fit in all the things he didn't have time for, is the absolute best gift George could ever have given him. And George of course didn't think twice about it. Now George will get to see what the afterlife is like - almost like cheating - and experience some adventures of his own. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by justonemorefic 

3rd January 2013:
walk quickly lol.

ooh OOH IS FRED FIGURING OUT SOME MYSTERY. because I hope there is still more people who can find out. But I love that he just sort of spends his time looking around because, I dunno, I kind of just hoped he would. Feeling alive and all that.

Haa, loophole. Still got it, Fred. Awww, HE WENT TO DELIVER TONK'S LETTER c: omg you are giving me such happy endings right now, Sarah. And Narcissa reunited with Andromeda feels feels feels.

AAH AND HE'S HOME HE'S HOME. Ohhh, 'lost' :c that's where it's been this whole time. CC really is a place for that, no? The lost.

“There are rules that comes with this. I am very clearly breaking them right now, talking to you. I’m not supposed to be seen or heard or anything.” I hear him saying this so casually like 'oh might be thrown in the depths of hell and such. I think. Mayhaps.' And he's got to leave George behind because that's the way death's got to be, but I hope he finds some sort of loophole in the punishment, because that's the way a Weasley's got to be.

OMG IT'S GEORGE OMG. !!! !!! ! !! ! WUT.
YOU'VE ONLY GOT 2000 MORE WORDS HOW ARE YOU GOING TO WHAT.

WITCH. WIIITCH.

Author's Response: Some people were kind of upset that Tonks didn't win because she couldn't deliver the letter, but this is so, so much better because she still gets to have the letter delivered but there's none of the pain that comes with seeing her baby and then having to turn around and leave. And obvs if she'd won, she wouldn't have been able to sneak in and hold him because Andromeda and Narcissa are both there and she most likely would not have had the nerve to reveal herself to them.

Lost. :( Which is what the clock will say for George now.

SWITCHING PLACES. PLOT TWISTS 5EVER. My goal was to give the readers whiplash to the point of death.

~


 Report Review

Review #5, by Jess the Enthusiast 

11th October 2012:
Wait...what? I AM SO CONFUSED WAS THAT FRED OR GEORGE AT THE END?? MY BRAIN HAS BECOME MUSH AND AHHH

I'm guessing that that must be George, but why? Why would they switch places like that? And how is that possible, I mean, Fred's dead! Wow, what a twist! I just...wow.

Okay, so since I'm so uncertain on that, I will discuss what I am certain about: how incredible this chapter is. There's so much emotional drive and I'm just so amazed. I loved the part with Narcissa and Teddy; I'm so glad that she reunited with her sister since I think that is very much possible. I mean, Andromeda was left alone to take care of Teddy when Tonks and Remus and Ted died. I'm sure that Molly and Harry stepped in to help, but I really love the idea that Narcissa came too. And I was about ready to cry during the scene at the Burrow when Fred's place on the clock kept changing. And the part with Molly was so beautiful and so sad. Brilliantly done!

So I'm on to the next and last chapter; I'm sad that my journey with this story is ending, but I'm excited to see how it concludes! (I mean, what is going on in Witching? And George and Fred?)

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: THAT WAS GEORGE! ♥

Fred's only dead in Cliodna's Clock. Like, he's dead on earth, too, but only the buried version of him. When he won the tournament and went back for his 24 hours, he was like a new person who's able to age. George's aging will stall while he's in Cliodna's Clock, meanwhile. They switched places so that Fred could have a year to say goodbye.

Narcissa's been a really crap sister, but with Bellatrix gone I think she and Andromeda will realize how much they need each other. They can have a fresh start now. I'm so pleased you liked her cameo! Teddy's already lost his parents, so he needs as many actual family members as possible.

Thank you for your fab reviews, Jess!!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Ardeith 

13th September 2012:
This was such a great chapter! I actually read it slowly think and savor some of the stuff. After two action packed chapters it was a great change of pace. This I loved:

"The little things stuck out the most to him, things he’d forgotten all about – the horizon, namely. In all directions he could see mountains, valleys, lakes. He could see the blurred shapes of faraway towns, with tiny people in them moving about their days. None of them had any idea that a ghost walked in their midst, and couldn’t possibly know how lucky they were to be able to do the simplest things like working and listening to the Wireless and visiting friends."

Fred's dilemma about going home was so real! I kept thinking about what I would do in such a case. I would want to go see my mom and sister, but would it be worse if they were all sad and missing me and crying when things reminded them of me? (There are a million hidden minefields when you're missing someone.) Or would it be worse (for me anyway!) if they seemed fine and uncaring of the Ardeith-sized whole in their midst? Fred was smart to think that he'd drive himself crazy...

And brilliant use of the Weasley family clock! For a story that delightfully ranges so far from canon, you make better use of canon than nearly any fan fic that I've read. I also loved Molly watching from the window as Fred and George embraced.

Questions: do you end up in the place you died? Or the place you were buried? Or just some inconvenient place Cliodna and the powers that be leave you?

And finally...It's GEORGE?!? What the.?!?

Author's Response: Writing this chapter lent me a new perspective on life for a few days. We take everything for granted. It's hard to realize how beautiful everyday life is until it's gone forever; all around Fred, people are going on with their day to day activities, not knowing how wonderful it is, not appreciating the gift of breathing, of sunrises and sunsets and being with their families all day long.

It made me so delighted to hear that this made you think about what you would do in this situation. I have no idea what I would do, personally. I would want to visit my family, but then again I think I would regret it too because I would only be able to get so close before having to turn around. It would terrify them to see me back from the dead, so mingling with them is out of the question. I think I would spend it doing something ordinary, just absorbing the ordinary-ness of it all.

To answer your question, basically the most inconvenient place Cliodna and the powers that be can leave people. In my headcanon, some winners are even dropped off in different countries than the ones their loved ones are on. Cliodna's quite rude in that way.

GEORGE. :3

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by pennyardelle 

11th September 2012:
When the clock pointed to home, I actually started crying.

I'm so glad neither Colin nor Fred had to lose their souls, or whatever would have happened to them. I'm glad it was Fred that got to go back to the living world. I'm glad he disregarded the stupid rules and talked to George, and that Molly caught a glimpse of them. (And Narcissa with Teddy!)

I kind of hate you for making me cry, but I'll probably get over it.

Author's Response: :(

-hands you box of tissues-

(Secretly incredibly glad that you had that reaction, though! It means I did something right.)

I totally copped out here and saved both of them. I just couldn't imagine ending the story with one of them dying, and letting Cliodna win again. They deserved to beat the system. It's something Lily couldn't have achieved because Lily is too close to the problem. All she can think about is the big win, the 24 hours. She's so absorbed that she couldn't look at it objectively anymore.

Fred definitely disregarded the rules, like a true Weasley twin! And Molly needed that glimpse. :) Narcissa with Teddy is a subtle way of showing what her life must be like now. With Bellatrix gone, maybe she's realized she'd better make peace with her only remaining sister. Andromeda needs that, too, since she'd just lost her daughter, husband, and son-in-law.

Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Hogwarts27 

9th September 2012:
Another excellent chapter. Loved Molly's magical clock, loved Fred breaking the rule to talk to George.

Author's Response: Thank you! Fred's a Weasley. Weasleys and rules don't really get along. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by patroni 

6th September 2012:
WHAT?! No, but that's... WHAT?!

--

I keep writing this in every review but this chapter really was my favourite. I love that you explored every detail of Fred's homecoming, from the clock to its impact on his family. I'd grown so accustomed to seeing things from the point of view of the Cliodna's Clock residents that I'd forgotten what it might be like for the people left behind. But everything in the Burrow seemed utterly real- Molly's reaction, the general buzz of curiosity from everyone, George stomping through to see the clock and then leaving in a state of frustration, longing, anger, disappointment- just everything.

And the conversation between the two brothers! It was wonderful to see them quarrel for once. Well, not quarrel but be in such different positions that their usual, fluid harmony- talking at the same time, knowing what the other is thinking- becomes difficult to achieve. And you took them in directions that we haven't really seen in the books before: real, aching sadness, desperation, almost-anger at times. And yet they remain believable as a double act throughout. I suppose it must have been an interesting dynamic to explore and you did it beautifully.

Another moment that took my breath away was the simply image of a mother gazing through the window at two fuzzy shapes, willing the scene to exist and yet knowing that it is impossible. And so she stands there although she is itching to run out and check, because she thinks that if she leaves, the scene will too. You anticipate every loophole in your narration and extend your story to cover them, making the whole scene seem believable, real and watertight.

To go back to the last line though, WHAT?! Oh, the confusion of the guard in the first chapter seems even more significant now. Must.Turn (?).Page.

Author's Response: Hi, patroni! Sorry for taking so long to respond to this. D:

I knew that this chapter was going to be one of the longest in the bunch. I wanted to take my time with it, since the whole duel led up to this moment. It would feel like cheating the readers to only skim the 24-hour experience when Fred worked so hard to get this prize.

It felt so otherworldly for me to write the Burrow after I'd been writing about all these dead characters in the afterlife for so long. But it also felt really nice to get back into that, with the warmth and life and canon-ness. I was very careful with the clock scene, since I'd been imagining it for months in my head and wanted to write it exactly as I saw it.

I can't tell you how wonderful it is to hear that you liked how I wrote the twins' interaction. It was difficult to take them how they were in canon (finishing each other's sentences, almost always in agreement with each other), and show how they've grown in slightly different directions since Fred's death. Fred especially is different, because of all he's been through. But still, they're the same old Fred and George underneath it all, and they ended up on the same page even if they took different routes to get there.

Your reception of the scene of Molly at the window is giving me warm fuzzies. ♥

Thank you, so very much, for taking the time to read this story and for leaving me these amazing reviews. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Celestie 

5th September 2012:
WHAT

WHAT

NO GEORGE WHY

OMFG THERE ARE NOT WORDS ENOUGH FOR THAT ENDING. I WAS LIKE WAIIIT HE SEEMS SO HAPPY TO BE GOING BACK AND OMG HE HAS TO GET USED TO IT WHAT DOES THAT MEAN

WOMAN WHAT IS WITH ALL THESE PLOT TWISTS

LILY GETTING OUT, JAMES GETTING OUT, SNAPE GETTING OUT, TONKS GETTING OUT, TONKS = COLIN EXCEPT COLIN GETS AWAY AND NOW FRED BREAKS THE RULES EXCEPT IT'S /GEORGE/

MY BRAIN NEEDS A HOLIDAY. I JUST CAN'T WITH YOU.

Did they concoct some kind of plan to keep switching places every year as they alternately win the races? Or George goes to the afterlife for Fred permanently?
IS THIS WHY GEORGE MARRIES ANGELINA - BECAUSE HE'S SECRETLY FRED HMPH

I just - I just

-falls over-

Author's Response: GEORGE. ♥

I WAIT TIL THE END AND THEN ~ALL OF THE PLOT TWISTS~ The end of this story has more momentum than the rest of it combined, I think.

This review made me laugh so hard, Celeste. ♥ I'm just imagining you sitting there going WOT. I've truly enjoyed reading all the reviews in this story where people predicted Lily vs. Tonks or James dying or Vincent dying, and then when everyone was positive that it was Colin vs. Fred, I just whacked you all with metamorphmagus Tonks. Legitimately cackling right now.



 Report Review

Review #11, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

5th September 2012:
So glad Fred got to talk to George! Such an emotional scene though :( Oh and the Weasley's special clock was just a genius idea! What a lovely touch. Can't believe only one chapter is left! I've enjoyed your story so much!

Author's Response: He got to do more than just talk to George, if you noticed the very end. ;) The Weasley's special clock was something I have been itching to include for AGES. I was always curious about what it would have said after Fred's death.

Thank you so much for being such a faithful reader and reviewer. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review