Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Run, Chapter 29: Evanesco
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

26th January 2013:
Simply genius! I hope you know that you very much are!

Unfortunately, I must get to the next chapter though because I'm far too intrigued not to! See you there! :)

Author's Response: Hee, thank you! I couldn't bear to kill Colin. There had to be a way out, some kind of alternative, and so that's what I did. He was simply too adorable to let die.

 Report Review

Review #2, by justonemorefic 

3rd January 2013:
I want to strangle so much of the crowd right now but at the same time I AM SO DAMN CURIOUS ABOUT EVERYTHING ALL THESE LOOSE tHREADS. I am so incoherent I cannae even leave a review.

WEEPING FOR COLIN AND i'm actually really happy Tonks doesn't have to go because I was at least prepared for Colin to go with my rampant predictions.

OH MY GOD THEY'RE MAKING A BREAK FOR IT. AHHH dfajkdfgab While citizens of Cliodna’s Clock could not swim out to sea past eight feet, the boats designed to transport people to the island were immune to this rule WHUT.

OH AND THIS IS WHAT JULIA DREW. SWIMMING UNDERWATER. I GET IT NOW.

if there was no in-between that we can remember leaving, then that means that we’re still in it. YES MY THEORIES!!!

AHHH THEY CROSSED OVER. LAV! EILEEN! DORCAS!!! -- WAIT. PAUSE EVERYTHING. I GET IT NOW. I GET IT. THE WINNER IS THE LOSER. THE WINNER IS THE ONE WHO DOESN'T WANT TO RELIVE THE EARTH ANYMORE.

And now I snuck a look into reviews and saw that there's a million universes and COLIN IS LIKE A KEEPER OF THE KEYS AND HE IS WITH ORLA AND EVERYTHING IS GOOD c:

Author's Response: And they're making a run for it! Last-ditch attempt to survive! Woo!!

THIS IS WHAT JULIA DREW INDEED. ♥ Wouldn't it just be the worst if they got down there and there was just nothing there. And they're like...well...good try. So they have to turn around and go back. That would not have been a good ending. I think readers would have tied me to a stake and burned me.

YOUR THEORIES!!! ♥

The winner truly is the loser. You think you're winning with the 24 hours but the other person, the one who prepares for death and has no choice but to accept it, passes over to a place where they're alive again. No more tournaments. THE FOG HAS LIFTED ~



 Report Review

Review #3, by Jess the Enthusiast 

10th October 2012:
I am in awe right now. So this is where the runner-up goes for the Devil's Duel, isn't it? But then why would Lavender be there? Wow I am absolutely amazed! And I have so many questions concerning this wonderful universe you've created! I mean, do people die in Witching if they can age? How do they get there? As in, why do some people go there and some go to Cliodna’s Clock? When are Orla and Colin going to kiss already? Are they even going to or should I jump ship now so as to save my shipping heart from all the heartache? I'm very curious. And you're very awesome. Because this chapter was just wonderful; I felt so sorry and happy for Fred in the beginning and my heart just died for Colin. And I just wanted him and Orla to just get away, so that they could exist in their little infinity forever. And I'm just so glad that they found Witching together; that they weren't separated.

Lovely chapter! And onto the next one!!

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: Yusss! This is where the runners-up go. Except not exclusively; they could go to any one of those doors, to one of the many, many afterlifes floating around out there for squibs and muggles and other magical people.

Lavender managed to squeeze in by chance. Cliodna tries to "collect" magical people to fill her village, but every now and then one of them slips through the cracks.

I feel bad for you because of the non-kissing between Colin and Orla. :P You are free to explore that with your headcanon! They can get married and have twenty babies. XD

Thank you for your reviews and for reading and for being all around lovely in general!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ardeith 

13th September 2012:
Wow! Just wow! Colin so brave and resolute. Orla so brave and clever. I was holding my breath when they were underwater. I'm so glad they're safe! :D

Love the image of the doors underwater! I could just picture that.

Love the link back to the picture and Lily's and Snape's playground!

I'll have to reread this some time because I know I'm missing things, I was just reading so quickly to find out what happened...

So is Cliodna's Clock just one of the worlds? How do people end up where they end up? Would Colin really have vanished, if he hadn't escaped or would he be in one of the worlds?

More! More!

Author's Response: Colin and Orla forever~

This was one of my favorite chapters to write! I wanted to make the underwater scene as vivid as possible even though it was so dark and murky. It was basically Orla and Colin in a nutshell - mysterious, brave, and a venture into the unknown.

Cliodna's Clock is one of many, many worlds. People end up where they do randomly, although Cliodna tries to draw magical people into her world whenever possible. If Colin had Vanished, he would have ended up in another one of the worlds, like Dorcas did. ;)


 Report Review

Review #5, by TenthWeasley 

13th September 2012:
I don't know what I thought was going to happen upon reading that quote at the onset of the chapter. And now that I'm done, of course, that's brilliant (good grief, I am rolling in a vat of feels and jealousy in this moment), but I knew you had some trick up your sleeve in writing this. I've read enough of your writing to know that nothing is as it seems, in the best way possible. You trick and maneuver and sprinkle red herrings, and basically I want to write like you. (I've got this weird metaphor in my brain now I picked from from a mass communications lecture about skyscrapers and maps, but it's kind of weird. I'll not use it.) I am just very, very envious/admiring of the way you're able to pull things off. You write like no one else, ever, and it's just fantastic.

OKAY CAN I JUST HAVE A REALLY QUICK MOMENT. This isn't even the biggest-hitting part of the chapter, but I sense I'll forget to say it if I don't while I'm thinking about it, so just thank you for writing such a fantastic Cedric in this story. You did him so much justice. ♥ Oh, and briefly (I am shrinking in embarrassment, this review is so scrambled), this line:

Although it pained Remus to hear her talking like that, trying to convince the boy to let Tonks take his place, he offered Tonks’s shoulder a reassuring squeeze. -- Tears in my eyes. You have made me cry with the past... what, four or five chapters. How do you even do this. Seriously. How are you this good at writing.

My brain really hurts right now; there's so much to take in. The entire second half of this chapter makes me, like... holy cow. I can't even. The coming up from below, Colin's shoe, the photograph, Witching. Eileen (SNAPE'S MOTHER, GOT IT) and Lavender and just...

This is fantastic. So fantastic. I want to leave you a longer review but I seriously hope you know how much I love this story. And you. ♥

Author's Response: I'm going to have to start looking for new ways to fool you. :3 P.S. You will have to tell me about this skyscrapers and maps thing because it sounds interesting.

I HAVE A SERIOUS THING FOR PORTALS.

You already know that all of the Cedric was for you~ (and everything in his teeth is also for you).

Remus. :( I LOVE HIS LOVE FOR TONKS. I JUST LOVE THEM. CAN I SAY THAT. I like to write them as a pairing even more than I like them as individual characters, if that makes any sense. If Remus wasn't so angsty, I would probably write him more. But then again I love his angstiness. I wish I could just find a really long, wonderful novel about him and Tonks. There's probably a ton of them out there.

I feel like Colin and Orla have always belonged in Witching, and the only reason why Orla didn't get placed there right off is because she was meant to save Colin.

Your reviews and your unwavering support of this story is something I have never taken for granted, I want you to know. You don't /have/ to read my writing but you always do, anyway, and your feedback has shaped it more than any English or creative writing class I've ever taken. You are the best. ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by pennyardelle 

11th September 2012:
O_o

I've said it before, and I'll say it again...HOW do you come up with this stuff? Amazing.

And I loved all the hate for Claudius and Cliodna in this chapter. Lily was the best.

Author's Response: Wooo Lily, sticking it to Claudius! I kind of wanted to do a fist-pump for her. She tells it like it is, that Lily.

I don't really know how I come up with it, to be honest. XD But I have a big thing for portals, so I couldn't resist the floor of doors. Maybe it's my desperation to get them all out of there alive, at the eleventh hour.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Hogwarts27 

9th September 2012:
I had a feeling there would be some saving grace for the loser of the races, and this did not disappoint. Terrific imagery and excellent chapter.

Author's Response: I couldn't resist saving them both. I got way too attached to Fred and Colin; but more than that, saving Colin enabled me to explain what happened to all the dead characters in canon who didn't make an appearance in Cliodna's Clock.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by peppersweet 

7th September 2012:
SARAH I'M SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW I COULD HUG YOU. He's safe! He made it! And we discovered the mystery of snape's mother AND THE PHOTOGRAPH vdkvdlfkvdbkmkffvfv no words. Seriously - close to hysterical tears right now over here.

Author's Response: I COULD HUG YOU BACK. I LIKE HUGS. Colin is safe!! Hurrah! You would probably have killed me otherwise. -slinks away- And Eileen comes into the fold, and the photograph is explained, and I am just so happy right now because you /get/ this story. You've picked up on every little detail AND I COULD JUST SQUISH YOU, EXCEPT I WOULD GET DIRTY GLASS SPLINTERS BECAUSE YOU ARE AN UNWASHED JAR.



 Report Review

Review #9, by Celestie 

5th September 2012:
SO MANY FEELINGS. Also, the idea of another afterlife past Cliodna's Clock is fascinating and also makes so much sense. No wonder the depot man was assigning places, I suppose. Witching sounds like a better place already, though ageing doesn't sound all that attractive but after a few hundred years of staying the same age, it might get old (no pun intended)...And Orla's a genius.

I'm really happy Colin got his happy ending. While it got me thinking that in Witching, people are allowed to age and die...where would they go next? Or would they age forever until they turn into crickets or something? But it does seem to cast Cliodna in a bad light...because if it's not really necessary to kill off people, then why bother? Cliodna's Clock no longer seems like an ideal place to live at all. And there was that whole bit about the match being weighed in Fred's favor...

Also, I noticed the appearance of Dorcas Meadowes in Witching. Wasn't she killed off by Lily a few years back? So does that mean that even after being Vanished, it's possible to end up in other afterlives? Perhaps Colin loosing would've gone okay after all, but of course, he wanted Orla with him.

;___; EILEEN'S HERE. POOR SNAPE. He's going to be separated from her forever if he doesn't get a move on.

And that ending with the photograph was a beautiful reference back to ch 19. But defying even time?
And I honestly need to give this story a reread sometime...I feel as though I've missed some details along the way. But for now, to finish it!

Author's Response: FEELS. ♥

I'm sort of tempted to write one-shots about other afterlives, of worlds like Witching. I'd rather like to depict middle-aged Colin... The best part for Colin is that now he knows about all these worlds, and so he's kind of the 'keeper of the keys' in that sense. After he dies in Witching, he'll just go somewhere else. He no longer has to have that fear, because the proof of eternal existence is right in front of him. Cliodna's Clock residents have a worst-case scenario that Colin is now free of.

Dorcas's presence signifies just that - that when you die in one place, you pop up in another. If Colin had just been Vanished, he still would have gone to Witching or to another random afterlife. But this way, like you said, he has Orla with him.

Severus will see his mother someday, no worries!

Yarp, defying time. :3 It's a door to 1970, to the same era where Severus and Lily were children running around the park, playing in the sandbox.

Thank you for reading and reviewing, Celeste! Your support has been incredible. ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

5th September 2012:
Awww such a wonderful chapter! Really, really well written! So glad that Colin got a happy ending! Absolutely loved it! Reading on now :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I wasn't sure if people would roll their eyes at me for deciding to spare both of them, but I couldn't bear to kill Colin or Fred for a second time.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review