Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

1st August 2016:
It's great to see that despite James having to explain the war to Carlotta in the previous chapter that things still seem to be running smoothly between them. And that lunch seemed about the most horrendous thing to have to sit through. Props to James for keeping his cool, especially when Carlotta's father started berating his 'low income career choice.'

Author's Response: Carla's definitely handling the discoveries about the wizarding world very well so far, given she's learning about how her kind used to be persecuted. And I LOVED writing that awkward lunch scene. *cackles* Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by slytherinchica08 

21st March 2014:
Another great chapter! I really liked the look into Carlas family and how they interact with her. It was very interesting to see and it made me feel extremely bad for her. On the one hand her dad is extremely nice but then he isn't very supportive of her wanting to pursue a career in food. Then there is her mom who just seems completely disapproving of like anything and everything. At least Carla doesn't seem to be too bothered by it. I thought it was really sweet to have the opening of the story be with his mom and Freddie. It set it up really well and was kind of an awe type moment. I couldn't help but smile throughout this whole chapter. It was all really cute and just a fun read. I very much enjoyed it! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Ah, Carlotta's family. I'll confess, this scene happened because I wanted them to be introduced before the sequel, and from James' perspective (the sequel isn't actually his fic). But they were a scream to write, especially her mother. And I just melt every time I write a James/Ginny scene. She is the BOMB. Thanks again for all your reviews! It's lovely to be receiving such in-depth thoughts on chapters I haven't read in a while. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Penelope Inkwell 

1st October 2013:
Ah, meeting the family. That was funny. I think you drew them very well. I've definitely met a few Mrs. Martinez-es in my time (actually, I may be related to some), so she cracked me up. But on the whole, it went better than might have been expected.

I love how you include these little conversational touches that seem so real: my family would totally argue over the proper way to cook sausages, and I can certainly see someone bemoaning screw-cap wine. It's little things like that that really make this story shine. It seems so realistic. You really do a lovely job!

Author's Response: I'll admit, I'm very anti-screw cap myself. There's nothing more satisfying than uncorking a bottle of wine. Carlotta's mum was a joy to write, she becomes a bit more important in the sequel which I have planned. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by countrymusicfanatic 

9th September 2012:
Ooh, meeting the parents! They're getting serious and don't even realize it haha. Great chapter!

10/10

Author's Response: They are indeed - though they don't think it's a sign of their seriousness of course ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by feathers101 

8th September 2012:
i loved this chapter so so much! Please please please
update again soon!!! I only started reading your story
for the first time a few days ago and I'm hooked!
Really can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: The next chapter will be up as soon as the queue allows! Thanks for reviewing, I'm glad you're enjoying!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Slide 

6th September 2012:
Freddie's right, James. Whipped. Ah, Rose, bending the rules so. Your parents would approve (Ron openly, Hermione quietly). I confess to wanting to see more of your Rose and Albus, they seem cool. But obviously I know the pain of not wanting to focus on too many of the extended Weasley brood! Good to see James isn't really fussing too much over Cato and Brigid; it rarely does go down well to have a "make sure you treat her well" conversation. If they needed that conversation it's TOO LATE and tends to just aggravate others. Typical James for it to, ultimately, stem from a bit of jealousy at another ladies' man in the field. Ah yes, Leggy Allegra. I don't think your James and my Scorpius should meet. It would be unfortunate. But I can't deny your James will probably wind up influencing the depiction of my James, when it comes to it. Oop, good judgement, James, ditching the girl who gets that drunk, that quickly. Alcoholic or not it's not a good idea and not fun to be around!

Ah, meeting the family. Either goes very well or very poorly. I'm sure James is possible of charming them; on the other hand this can backfire HORRIBLY on occasion. You don't want to give the parents the impression you're a suave manipulator charming their daughter! Lucky dodge, James, on the football, just as well nobody asked you what team you play for. He could have been caught out PRETTY badly then, but I imagine Carla's clever enough to have not told her family he plays football if THEY actually knew much about football. I see the mother and brother are going to be the problem, though I cannot but agree with her on the subject of screw-top wine. It's a TRAVESTY. I am warming to Ms Martinez. Cultured and a little bit superior, I love her.

Well done, James. You survived it. Now just hope they didn't like you SO MUCH they want to see you again. Good chapter!

Author's Response: James is UTTERLY whipped. Rose is a menace. I can try to throw her and Al in more to please the masses, and actually they DO have a bit of a role in the next Arc, but in general they're secondary characters. Heck, Lily was meant to be a secondary character, but the fact that she's a Squib just seems to push her into the picture ALL THE TIME. That, and I love writing Maddie.

My James and your Scorpius would get on RIDICULOUSLY well. Especially if alcohol and leggy girls were involved. Possibly TOO well. Yes, they should never meet. And I would thoroughly love if my James was to influence yours. :)

James is very good with people in general, so meeting the parents isn't a massive issue for him - HE can pull off the charm perfectly, it just requires them to like him. And they do, to a certain extent. Carlotta's mother is one of my faves, she DOES seem a bit stuck-up but it's just what she's like. And I was definitely projecting with the screw-top wine issue, to me a wine bottle has to have a cork! Cheers for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by imacullenpottergirl 

6th September 2012:
Oh James, you do have a big ego. tut tut tut.

Another amazing chapter! It was so cute, and the whole nervous thing was super adorable!
I can't wait to see what happens when they realise that now it's serious, they would make such a good couple. He is totally whipped, just as freddie said. That guy is too smart.

I quite like Carlotta's family, they are quite a odd bunch. Her dad seemed nice, except when he went droning on about careers and stuff. Her mum seemed sheltered and quite cold, but I think she will warm up to James once he shows some commitment.

Can't wait until the next chapter! Thanks for another great chappie :)

Author's Response: Yup, James' ego ended up a bit bruised, bless him. It can only be a good thing :) I DO love Carlotta's parents; they're two of my favourite characters and it was great to finally throw them into the mix! Carlotta's mum doesn't have an issue with James not showing commitment ... it's just what she's like. It's not malicious, she can just be a bit aloof! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by missclaire17 

5th September 2012:
LOL I can only imagine how hard it would have been for James and especially his ego that he had to take that from her dad!! xD it's like... I dunno Crisiano Ronaldo gettin patronized for his career! xD it's remarkable that James was willing to put up with all of that for Carlotta! It's like what Freddie said! James really is whipped, sort of, and h doesn't realize it!!!

And I'm glad that SOMEONE realizes how ridiculous their situation is xD

And somehow I don't think that James would have seen Allegra lately, unless it was just in the passing. It seems like all of his time is spent with carlotta or at Quidditch.

And speaking of how James found Carlotta that one night, I get the feeling that she's sort of hiding something. Probably not anything bad but it seemed weird, how James, Fred, and Brigid found her.

Carlotta's parents give me mixed feelings about whether I like them or not haha
Her dad seems nice but the way that he kePt going on and on about their careers whereas her mum seemed cold but she was obviously much more sympathetic about dreams and aspirations.

Btw, when the time comes that James and Carlotta decide to stop dancing around the subject that they ARE exclusive, would James tell her parents about the wizarding world?

Somehow I can't see that going down too well xD

Author's Response: Yeah, poor James' ego took a bit of a pounding in this chapter! One of the biggest prospects in the Quidditch world, and he's being talked down by a clueless Muggle ... Bless him.

James is, indeed, utterly whipped. He puts up with far more than he would have for Cassie. Course, he reasons it out with the argument that he's met other girls' parents - but he knew them already so it's totally different!

Yeah, that's pretty much Carlotta's parents summed up; her dad is much friendlier in general but wants his daughter to do well career-wise. Her mother is definitely much more aloof but she has a soft side. I utterly love them! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review