Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Run, Chapter 27: Memories
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by shadowcat2 

4th March 2013:
Wow. Your ideas never seize to amaze me. The Battle of Hogwarts? Really, that's the cruelest thing that could happen to those two in their final hours.I hate the Devil's Duel. I really wish Colin could figure out something about the Tower and things got better. I don't want either of them to die. :/

Author's Response: Poor Fred and Colin. :( It would be a really horrible place to possibly spend your final hours - going back and reliving your deaths all over again. Just awful. It was intended to disorient them, make them less powerful opponents to each other.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

26th January 2013:
Oh goodness! My breath is caught in my throat, and I'm typing at the speed of light. I must get to the next chapter before I cannot survive from my anticipation, although that sounds absolutely ridiculous...

Author's Response: Eeep! I ended this chapter on a bit of a cliffie. XD I'm a really mean author in that way. Thank you for reading and always stopping to leave a wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by justonemorefic 

3rd January 2013:
COLIN IS HAVING AN EXISTENTIAL CRISIS, WHILE DEAD. THAT KIND OF HURTS MY MIND. But HE FOUND THE PUZZLE PIECE!! I MUST KNOW WHERE MY PREDICTIONS STAND D:

Pieces of Colin, through his eyes and Orla’s, would still be here tomorrow even if he wasn’t. It was Dumbledore’s wisdom fleshed out, the ordinary magic of memories enabling Colin to live forever. oh my babies, facing death so bravely c: you are a true gryffindor, more than gryffindor. Oh, and poor pale Fred. Fighting with his conscious. I DONT KNOW WHAT YOU'LL DO SARAH. BE GENTLE.

“You will be dueling inside your own combined memories,” he told them. “In the Battle of Hogwarts.” THIS IS NOT GENTLE.

“Your doppelganger in the memories, the ones who were really there at the time. You must find your actual selves as they lived and breathed, and actively prevent their deaths. I actually said WHAT THE NON-12+ OUT LOUD because that is CRUEL like, I can imagine both of them going, 'No I wouldn't want to change anything' because they BOTH died without regrets, doing exactly what they wanted, Fred for Percy, and Colin for the cause SO WHO WILL IT BE I SEE YOUR FORESHADOWING SARAH SO I AM GOING TO YELL IT BACK AT YOU!!!

Author's Response: YOUR PREDICTIONS GIVE ME SUCH LULZ. They are my favorite part of life.

The wee Gryffindors preparing to square off against each other. :'( Neither of them want to lose but neither want the /other/ to lose, either, and this is just the apex of regret right here. Door number one is 24 hours on earth and door number two is death. I think I would have died from sheer anxiety.

ROUND FIVE IS PRETTY CRUEL, I MUST ADMIT. But it had to be worse than any of the other duels. The stakes are high. DON'T HATE ME I JUST CAN'T HELP MYSELF, I ENJOY TORTURING READERS, IS THAT SUCH A BAD THING.

!!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jess the Enthusiast 

11th September 2012:
I am speechless. I've been wondering for a while what the final memory would be, and I certainly did not expect this. It's brilliant, of course, but sad as well. I can't even imagine participating in a challenge like this, the emotional trauma that go hand-in-hand with it. But despite how heartbroken I am over this whole ordeal, I cannot compliment you enough on how incredible this story is. All of these characters are so lovable; you bring the dead to life here and I'm so afraid to lose them all over again. I'll have to summon all of my courage to do so tomorrow. But in regards to this chapter, I think it was really well written (as always!). I really loved the way Colin and Fred chose to spend their possible last day: taking it all in. Although Colin's possible last day was ten times more adorable because he spent it with Orla!!! I'm not going to dwell on the fact that he didn't snog her senseless, but it was a good day. I feel like Colin leaving his mark like that was really beautiful and I have a bad feeling that it foreshadowed his death...I'm really nervous.
I also really loved how Colin picked up Fred's wand and gave it to him; I feel like that told a lot about his character.

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: I'm pretty sure that if I signed up for a tournament like this, I would be a basket case by Round 5. They're all so draining, and it's five rounds of emotional, mental, or physical torture one week after the other. I'm so pleased (I sound like such a broken record) that you love these characters. I worked so hard to make them as real as possible, to make their emotions tangible. Colin's last day with Orla. :( (You're right, they totally should have snogged ^ ^)

No one in Cliodna's Clock will ever be able to forget Colin, whether he lives or dies.

Thank you for reading and reviewing, Jess! You are the best!


 Report Review

Review #5, by pennyardelle 

11th September 2012:
Okay, so I usually wait until the end of the chapter to write my reviews, but I had to stop.

Because.

WHAT THE WHAT. ARE YOU SERIOUS?

My jaw seriously dropped when I read the part about it being the Battle of Hogwarts. I was right there with everyone else, gasping in horror.

And oh my god, it's even worse. They have to save themselves from dying?! And they'll see what would have happened if they had lived?! AND PREVENT THE OTHER ONE FROM SAVING THEMSELVES?!?! AND IF THEY KILL THE OTHER PERSON'S DOPPELGANGER, THEY WIN?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

This is wrong. You are an evil author. Which, of course, means that this is the most epic conclusion you ever could have come up with.

From the start of this chapter, I suddenly realized that my proclamation about wanting Fred to win might have been a bit hasty. I felt terrible for Colin out there in the water. I mean, okay, if I really had to choose, I'd still choose Fred. But it's harder than I thought.

MUST READ NEXT CHAPTER.

Author's Response: SOMETIMES I WONDER WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME. I'm attracted to writing plots that are painful, scary, or unpleasant to experience. I struggled with throwing characters right back into the battle - not just because it was sad/cruel, but because technically it was difficult. To have the time restriction, the objective to prevent their doppelgangers from dying, and to still include canon details of what was going on around them, was daunting for me. I think I like to make things hard for myself. -__-

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by peppersweet 

7th September 2012:
I'll admit it...my eyes were actually burning with tears during Remus and Colin's exchange...

Wait - Orla took the blurry photo of the tree - actual shivers down my spine because - no. No.

Putting Fred and colin back into the battle is the most horrible form of horribles. If I didn't like you do much I would hate you for this (that made a lot of sense, I know)

Author's Response: ♥ ♥ ♥

Remus and Colin have a bit of a relationship here, what with evolving from professor and student to Order member and Dumbledore's Army member fighting side by side, and then here they are on a beach in the afterlife, dealing with horrible emotions all over again.

ORLA TOTES TOOK THE PHOTO. LIKE NO ONE ELSE CAUGHT THAT BIT BUT YOU DID. YOU ARE BRILLIANT. ♥ lol but you do like me so you can't hate me. ~ HORRIBLE PLOT TWISTS AHOY ~


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ardeith 

4th September 2012:
OMG! What a chapter! I repeat, who would EVER enter this duel? How incredibly cruel to send them back to the battle where they died! I love how it seems each round gets psychologically more intense. From round one on the ship where there was no emotional/psychological torture till now.

This chapter was so well written. You do elegiac so well. How perfect that the final round takes place at sunset! And how creepy is Claudius! He is actually enjoying this torture!

I have a couple questions, if it's not giving too much away... This round seems designed for Colin/Fred or at least two people who died at the same place. What would they have done if it was Colin/Lily (I don't remember the exact teams)? Also, what if Colin died at 9P and Fred at 12M? Doesn't that mean it would be easier for Fred who only had to keep himself alive an extra hour? This is a measure of how good and how intriguing your story is!

And finally, loved this description of Fred:

"the young man was so bright, so vibrant that for the world to lose him would surely make the sun burn just a bit dimmer. Fred changed each and every life he touched, leaving smiles and laughter in his wake everywhere he went. He had no idea how precious his existence was, how his energy and brilliance made those surrounding him shine, as well. A walking light."

It says just as much about Remus that he notices this and thinks it and appreciates it. I think this is consistent with canon Remus and you've captured the reason he gets so much love from fandom.

CAN NOT WAIT for the next chapter!!!

Author's Response: Ardeith!

I'm such a mean writer. Sending them back to the scene where they died. And what you said about how this round seemed designed for Colin and Fred - you are exactly right. Each final round of every Devil's Duel is always tailored somewhat to the two people dueling. If this year's Duel had come down to, say Peter and Severus, it would have been a totally different scene. Maybe something from the first wizarding war. But since it came down to Fred and Colin, this was the card they were dealt.

I love Remus. Sometimes he irks me because he was so absent in Harry's life prior to Harry's third year at Hogwarts, but I really do love him. And I think he's perfect for Tonks.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I feel lucky to consider you part of my readership because your reviews are so lovely and thorough.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Caroline 

4th September 2012:
What an amazing idea you've had for the last task! I've been following this story obsessively (but never eviewed because I'm a poop) but your awesomeness has forced me to react! This is wonderful,incredible,smashing (and all other positive adjectives) you've got me waiting impatiently for the next chapter :) I can't complain about your updating speed though, I am impatient because your story is so interesting but not because your slow in posting :D
Please go on being awesome :)

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, Caroline! The last round was a punch to the gut to write but I'm so glad I finished it and it came out the way I wanted. And I'm glad it didn't disappoint - Round 5 was supposed to be the most emotionally difficult, and it seems it was! I hope I redeemed myself by posting the rest of the story all in one go very soon after you left this review. ^ ^

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by WitnesstoitAll 

1st September 2012:
Oh my god, Sarah. This -- how could you stop there!??!! Oh my lord. wow. This is going to be a terribly short review, I'm afraid b/c my to-do-list is about eighty miles long, but I couldn't help from popping in here to read this update. It was so touching to see Colin's inner thoughts after seeing Fred's in the last chapter. How cruel of you to make them the last two contenders... the youngest of JKR's casulties from the battle of hogwarts. And you cruel cruel author... forcing them back into the the very battle that killed them originally. You slay me. I don't know if I can handle reading the next chapter. You can just lie to me and tell me that they both live. It's okay.

Annnd the winner gets to see what would have happened had they lived?!!? did I read that right?? that's almost as bad as having died not knowing... being dead and knowing what could have been.

Ah. these races are shadey and I don't trust them one bit and I'm on tenters and hooks to see what happens and I love colin and I love Fred and ermehgerd. too many feelz.

also just as an aside, I really love this passage and I can't even describe all the feels I felt when I read it: "And Fred… Remus knew Fred. He knew and loved his whole family. He’d had Fred as a student, as well – and the young man was so bright, so vibrant that for the world to lose him would surely make the sun burn just a bit dimmer. Fred changed each and every life he touched, leaving smiles and laughter in his wake everywhere he went. He had no idea how precious his existence was, how his energy and brilliance made those surrounding him shine, as well. A walking light."

love this story and can't wait to see what is going to happen. I certainly hope you have a trick or two up your sleeve so my heart doesn't explode when colin or fred is snuffed out.

Author's Response: HELLO MEL, SEVERAL MONTHS LATER ~

I know I must be cruel because I never even considered two other people going head to head in the final round. My mind sought out two of the youngest characters, both lovable for different reasons, and I never went back on that. It could never have been someone obviously bad versus someone obviously good. If I didn't tear my readership and have them second-guess who they wanted to win, then I wasn't doing it right. In retrospect, it's amazing to believe that no one guessed this pairing from the get-go. I had you all thinking it would be Tonks and Lily. :3

The races are totes shady. Someone needs to haul Cliodna over to the Grotta or something, srsly.

Trick or two up my sleeve? You know me too well. :3

♥ I LOVE YOU MELISSA.


 Report Review

Review #10, by house elf 

31st August 2012:
The suspense in this chapter was just brilliant! And what a dreadful, twisted, amazing idea for Round Five- i gasped along with the people in the stadium :P back in the place where they died... really can't wait for next Wednesday!

Author's Response: It's such a horrible thing to put them through, but I really wanted the last chapter to have a lot of heaviness to it, a lot of emotion. I'm so glad you liked this chapter! Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by TenthWeasley 

30th August 2012:
This chapter basically yanked my heart out of my chest, turned it into a corkscrew, stomped and smashed it, jerked it inside out, and then stuffed it back in. And even though I say this for nearly every chapter, this was honestly one of my very favorites for those exact reasons. ♥

I don't think it's anything like a secret that I've got slightly masochistic tendencies about me, or that the sadder something is, the more I like it. But you are so thoroughly good at writing sad things (which is a high compliment, so you shouldn't take it otherwise!) that I honestly cannot help but love them. You are extremely, extremely deft at toying with your readers' emotions, making them feel exactly what they should feel. And even though I read (and sniffled over) this chapter last night, there's still a painful, just-punched feeling inside me, re-reading bits of it now.

I detest you for making it come to this: Fred versus Colin, two of the most innocent and lighthearted characters in the entire series. I'm still praying for some kind of miracle ending, in which they both come out on top -- even if that's not even the remotest of possibilities -- because I can't bear to lose either of them. Colin just... gahhh. You killed me with his section.

Oh God, why. Taking pictures of him, remembering his life -- I AM TEARING UP AGAIN, DARN YOU. I can't even form coherent sentences right now, and it's just really hard to tell you how much I just thoroughly enjoyed this chapter. I hurt so much for him, Colin. But Fred, too. And Remus in this chapter, just because I'm sort of thinking now that he's got to see one or the other of them die, hasn't he? I reiterate my previous statement: Why on earth (or Cliodna's Clock) would anyone even enter the Devil's Duel. I'm biting my nails to the quick just to see which of them's going to be left standing at the next chapter.

SO EXCITED FOR THE FINAL ROUND, BY THE WAY, BECAUSE THAT IDEA. THAT IDEAAA. ♥ I love, love, love the concept of it -- somehow it seems kind of video game-esque, but they're down to their last lives. Which is kind of a stupid allusion but then, it works, you know? Gahh, how do you even conceive these ideas. When you go into a story, you don't do anything halfway. You don't start with loads of enthusiasm and just sort of fade out midway through; each successive chapter is as real and honest and captivating as the next, and that's something I strive for. I will learn from you how to do these things. :)

Worst. Cliffhanger. Ever.

OH MY GOSH BUT NOW IT'S JUST HIT ME THAT /NEXT WEDNESDAY/. I WILL KNOW THINGS I SIMULTANEOUSLY CRAVE TO KNOW, AND AM SO MUCH BETTER OFF NOT KNOWING. DO YOU REALIZE HOW INTENSE THAT'S GOING TO BE. Can you please make Wednesday now?!

This freaking story, man. ♥ You're so genius.

Author's Response: It is pathetic that I have taken so long to get around to this. I blame the fact that you leave me the longest, best, and most intimidating reviews. I would rather write twenty reviews than answer one of yours because I just ramble and never do it justice.

Fred vs. Colin. Honestly, I thought you would be suspicious from the start that I would be carrying Fred through to the end. I started this on the heels of So, Listen..., some of the reasoning being that I wasn't ready to put his character away yet, so I was paranoid throughout this entire story that you would know he would be one of the competitors in the final round.

Video game-esque, heee. I can see that. And you have no idea how happy your comment about making each chapter just as good as the last one makes me; it was very, very important to me to try to keep the momentum constantly building. A lot of stories have all of the plot in the first handful of chapters, and everything winds down so quickly. The only way I was able to achieve lasting momentum was to end the story at the final round, and to make sure in advance that each round was interesting in their own right and I had enough information and characters to fill the gaps between those duel chapters. It was a challenge, which was why I loved writing it so much. It's rewarding to receive praise for that since I worked so hard on it.

YOU'VE ALREADY READ THE WHOLE THING, SO NO USE REPLYING TO YOUR LAST PARAGRAPH. ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by harrietm 

30th August 2012:
Brilliant! Loved the Colin/Remus and Colin/Orla moments!!! And so excited (but anxious for both Fred and Colin) for round 5!
Although, I'm intrigued regarding what would happen is both of them managed to keep their doppeganger alive and the deadline was reached...?
Maybe I'll find out later ;)
Hanging out for the next update :)

Author's Response: Hooray! Colin really needed Remus's wisdom and Orla's support.

If both of them managed to keep their doppelganger alive until the deadline...well, you'll hear more about that in the chapters to come. ;)

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ValWitch21 

29th August 2012:
I spent my whole day today thinking "It's wednesday, Run will be updated." Then refreshed my favourites non stop. Then eventually I clicked on your Author Page, thinking that maybe there was a problem and that the chapter would be late. And when I clicked on your page, this chapter was up.

Fangirling all over the place now.

This chapter was so beautifully written, I'm not going to give you my favourite quotes because I'd just copy and paste the full chapter down.

I actually held my breath the full time it took me to read - I only realised this when I started breathing normally at the end again. Phew.

WHY DID IT HAVE TO BE COLIN AND FRED?

:(

And putting them back into their own memories? How horrible is that? In a positive, wonderfully-written horrible kind of way. I'm so amazed by your talent...

I can't wait for the next chapter, but at the same time I'm not sure I want to read it because one of them will probably die (unless you come up with a way of making them both survive? Please?) and the scroll bar will be too short again.

Ugh. Don't know where I left my brain again.

More please?

10/10, duh.

:)

Rambling revieww again...

Author's Response: Baww, I miss updating on Wednesdays. :( (Since by the time I'm responding to this, I'm very much late to the party and have uploaded all the chapters).

I feel terrible on the one hand for tossing Colin and Fred back into a living nightmare, but I love to challenge myself and knew that if I forced myself to write such a duel, it would impact the readers, too.

Thank you for reading and reviewing and for your awesome support! I love to read your reviews. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review