Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Ignite, Chapter 7: Fever Pitch
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

21st March 2017:
Scorpius is certainly self aware although he hides it to others so well

I am so happy to immerse myself in this, you are a great writer

 Report Review

Review #2, by Libbypotter 

21st March 2017:
Scorpius is certainly self aware although he hides it to others so well

I am so happy to immerse myself in this, you are a great writer

 Report Review

Review #3, by MuggleMaybe 

16th August 2015:
MuggleMaybe here for the Review & Rec Dobbys thread. :)

Oh my goodness! This story is too addictive for it's own good! I meant to stop and review every chapter. I meant to stop for the night after chapter 5. And now here I am at the end of chapter 7, and I really don't know how I got here because it was all one suspenseful and exciting blur of plagues, bat-boogey hexes, centaurs, and teenagers too proud to admit they might actually fancy someone rather than hate them.

In other words, I am loving the HECK out of this story!!

I really enjoy your version of the next gen characters. Scorpius Malfoy, who I generally love, remains lovable in his way. Rose is brilliant and biting and short tempered. Al is level-headed, responsible, goodhearted. All of this *sounds* very typical of next gen, but somehow you've managed to make it all fresh and new in your rendition.

Frankly, I have to leave a review, because I want to leave a Dobby's request and this was the previous rec (and because this story absolutely deserves the review! I'm giving it 10/10) - but I honestly can't think of anything more to say because I am too distracted with finding out what happens next. THAT is how amazingly engaging this story is!

So, yeah. Bye. ON TO CHAPTER 8! :D
~Renee

p.s. it seems rather likely I'm going to be up way too late tonight now... ;)

Author's Response: Woo! I love it when people find this story anew. So glad you've been enjoying it, and so glad you've carried on reading!

Scorpius is easily lovable, so I'm more pleased to know you love Rose, who sometimes gets a bad rap from readers at htis early stage of the story. But she is brilliant and flawed.

Thanks a whole bunch for the review and I'm a LITTLE sorry you stayed up too late. But not that sorry. ;)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Roisin 

27th October 2014:
SO MANY HEAT BASED IDIOMS!!! This one is especially brilliant ;)

You do a really excellent job of ramping up the story in this chapter, and writing all this chaos. Writing this rapid outbreak is definitely an ambitious and challenging task, and I thought you did a tremendous job of it!

And the way you introduce the necessity of quarantine, and explain it, is really realistic and organic. I also really like that you looked at all the questions raised (for some kids, it was their first week at Hogwarts), and wrote it tightly enough so as not to leave holes (portraits can communicate).

And I love Scorpius' little bit about how he can help by making people roll their eyes at him, because they enjoy it :)

When I first read this chapter, I really didn't know how wide the illness would spread! I was all surprised and stuff that the ones on detention were the only to be spared!

I also got super suspicious about Lockett for hiding, but then that doesn't actually make sense to be suspicious of, now I think on it. If she'd planned it, she wouldn't be so freaked, right??

And then, the whole 'should we go into the forest' arc also plays out in a really realistic/believable way. Not like, yelling "DON'T SPLIT UP" at your TV screen stuff.

But, GAH, that door riddle is driving me crazy! What???

Author's Response: You'll see me struggling with these as the story goes on. Eventually I cheat and move on to light in general. No more idioms for the third story! I'm all out!

This chapter was particularly difficult to write. Moving from 'one person is sick' to 'this is an affliction striking the whole school' was oddly tough as a transition, and it's easily the chapter I had to crack at hardest and longest. Thank you!

While the grasp of the nature of illnesses may be shaky (thank you magical plagues, you can take whatever form I wish you to), I have tried to think as logically as possible about the various problems and challenges. Though it's also taken some consideration of portrait power.

Lockett COULD be hiding deliberately to assuage suspicion. Hmm? HMM? And, yes, Scorp's special power is making people laugh. He doesn't always value it as much as he should.

It's a joy of writing kids - they can do impetuous stupid stuff like going into the EVIL FOREST, but it's still best to wind them up and drive them to that point.

The riddle upset Scorpius as much as you. 'What is the mother's name.' No question mark. Statement. Evidently the Ravenclaw door was trying to be a difficult little so-and-so that day!

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Siriuslover177 

19th June 2014:
Oh my goodness... everyone is getting sick! There is only one teacher left? And she wont even do anything about it. Hogwarts is going to turn into caous.

I am glad only Lily is sick out of the Potters and Weaslys though. I hope they get some help... i dunno how these students are going to save everyone.

I hope Scorp finds something in the forest. I dont understand why anyone would want to attack children. I mean, my goodness. And their parents probably have no idea what is going on.

This is just crazy... i hope everyone gets better soon! This spread sooo fast.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Unfortunately there'll be more than just Lily succumbing to the illness, and there are Other Assorted Weasley Cousins out there. Some people out there really are evil enough to attack children. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by LightLeviosa5443 

20th November 2013:
I really liked this chapter. I'm so curious as to what's going on. I honestly would just plow through them, but I thought I'd let you know how much I'm enjoying the story, as I like it when people do that for me!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Certainly not going to object to people stopping to say a few kind words about my work! It's good to hear, and I'm glad to know you're enjoying this. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by rozen_maiden 

28th October 2013:
So, I am in love - deeply, deeply in love - with your story. I am enjoying it so much, I had to stop reading to take the time to tell you. Of the three days I've been reading it off and on, your characters (particularly Albus, Socrpius and Methuselah) have not been far off my thoughts... they are just that good. They are so well rounded and realistic, and your attention to detail with every one feels as if I am reading a published work.
Yes, I could really rave all night, but your story just keeps dragging me in. I will definitely be back, reading this once I get the chance. I am very fast becoming a fan :)
- Mahalia

Author's Response: I'm very glad you're enjoying the story! There's plenty more to come, and the last chapter will be up soon, so you can probably enjoy it all the way to the end. I'm rather fond of the characters myself, so it's always good to know the readers enjoy them.

Thanks for reviewing, and I hope you enjoy the rest!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Penelope Inkwell 

22nd October 2013:
First off, this is a very well written story! The grammar, so correct! The sentence structure, so varied! The vocabulary, so wide! Itís beautiful enough to make me want to write a sonnet. Of course, we all have to start somewhere, as thatís how we learn, but after reading through a great many stories who arenít quite to this level yet, this is wonderfully refreshing.

So far, I really enjoy the tone of the story. The plague took me by total surprise, but youíve written it excellently. I could certainly see everything panning out this way. I also like how youíve given Hogwarts an all new staff. I know witches and wizards have killer longevity and all, and Harryís professors *could* still be there for the next generation, but itís nice to see some fresh blood in amongst the castle faculty.

I like that the characters all seem likable without appearing perfect. Scorpius is charming and willing to stand up for whatís right, but he obviously also makes mistakes. He can be vindictive, or choose to take inaction where action would perhaps be the better path (i.e. in clearing his name). Rose has poor taste in men, is uptight, and is sort of judgey, however, she certainly knows how to take charge in an emergency, and sheís willing to worry even for people she can hardly stand. And Albus, though he always means well, clearly hasnít learned from his father that authority isnít *always* right and that sometimes just doing as your told wonít get anyone anywhere. But heís obviously honorable. Even Methuseleh has redeeming qualities, such as a willingness to get involved even when itís not the suggested course of action. That takes bravery, too.

So, Iím liking all the main players so far. This is gripping, and Iím excited to know what happens. Must read on!

Thanks for the great story!

--Penny

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm not sure it's sonnet-worthy but I'm glad it's technically proficient, because I admit I don't give as much dedication to editing my fanfic as I do my original work, and then I kick myself because I make mistakes.

I did try to cook up a decent array of new staff. Typically, I made a mistake considering I mention one former Professor being around (Flitwick), then forgot, and routinely mentioned Sprout. The one character we know canonically got replaced. Typical!

Glad you're enjoying the story and the characters. They make their mistakes and have their flaws most certainly, but I do want them to be overall likeable, for their errors to be more times you want to smack 'em rather than times you hate them forever. But, yes! Plenty more to read. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

1st September 2012:
So, normally I sort of review while I'm reading. I think that's why some of my reviews seem long and rambling. But right from the start of this one, I figured that this would be The One where it all went to hell, and I couldn't stop reading to type anything! So I'll see what I can cobble together now because WOW, what a chapter!

First off, I love the chapter titles. LOVE LOVE LOVE them. Especially this one. You must have had great fun on the idioms websites!

The stuff in this chapter happens so fast, it's so exciting! I'm guessing that this is the one that you were struggling with, and I can see why you were concerned, but I think it worked out really well in the end. It IS fast-paced, but when something this dramatic is happening, fast-paced works. And it's daft, because I should have expected it, but I was still really shocked when Rose said that Stubbs, Pheasey and pretty much EVERYONE had gone down with this illness. And a bit sad when Lily got ill as well, the poor thing! :(

Nat disappointed me in this one. Hiding? REALLY? Tsk tsk. Good on Scorpius for giving her a lecture! I like Methy's idea of investigating things more, I really am warming to him now! Although I didn't not like him before, it's just he came across as being a bit obnoxious in the first chapter. But I actually love him now.

More Scorose chat, which I liked. Nothing's really changed between them YET which is obviously making it challenging for them to work together to try to sort this out. Which I LOVE. So much opportunity for character development. OM NOM. A bit excited for more.

I loved the Ravenclaw door's question. Oh, Scorp, you adorable thing you. Bless him.

GOOD CHAPTER.

Author's Response: Yeah, this was the chapter which was an outrageous PAIN to write. The transition between 'people are getting ill' and 'almost everyone is incapacitated' was clunky and difficult. This chapter wound up not as bad as I feared, but you should have seen it (or, really, shouldn't) before editing. I cut a good 500 words of sluggish prose born of struggling to move things along. Didn't want it to happen too fast, found it hard to envision the step-by-step process by which everything went to hell. I'm pretty happy with it in the end but it was horrid to work on.

I do like my chapter title theme. Somewhere down the line I became incapable of writing fics where chapters don't have some sort of theme, be it the 'The' of Shade/Shadow, the 'ions' of Renaissance, the quotes of BTP. Fire/heat/etc is an entertaining one. Certainly each fic in this series, if it gets that far, will have its own theme. I do love my idioms. Though I had more fun with the riddle website for the Ravenclaw door. That's going to have to make a comeback at some point.

Nathalie Lockett in this story is... quite a different creature to what one might expect. There are reasons and she has history but certainly disapproving faces are appropriate at this time. I'm glad Methuselah's growing on you; he's writing himself, his investigative endeavours weren't originally planned but they'll really work for pacing. So PLENTY more of him next chapter.

More BTP next but! As promised, all new content from here on. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review