Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
60 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Nat 

7th August 2016:
Amazing story, couldn't stop reading it!

Author's Response: I'm really pleased to know that you enjoyed it.

Thank you for reading and letting me know!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Ben 

21st June 2016:
Hi, not sure if you still check these reviews, but just finished reading this, and wanted to say how amazing it was.
Emotional, exciting, funny and easy to read.

Closest Fanfic I have seen to the great JK Rowling. Thank you for all the effort I am sure that this took.

I hope that you haven't given up writing as you seem to have a gift.

12/10

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I confess that I don't check reviews every day (twice a day... every hour...) like I used to, but I do still pay attention.

Thank you for the kind words. I really appreciate it and I can't think of any higher praise than that.

I do still write from time to time, although I haven't posted anything in a while. Hopefully I can change that soon.

Thank you again,
Dan


 Report Review

Review #3, by Toni 

27th April 2016:
I have just finished this story, with tears running down my face. It is a beautiful story and I am glad Harry and Esme didn't get together. Always Harry and Ginny for me. Wonderful writing. Keep it up. Cannot wait until your next one.

Author's Response: I'm very happy that you enjoyed it.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by dumbledore_wannabe 

8th April 2016:
I found this story only a week or two ago and have been reading like crazy. I would probably be fired if they knew how much time I've spent reading it at work because I simply had to find out what happened next. This story is absolutely amazing. And the last part of the last chapter - I was absolutely sobbing and smiling at the same time. What a wonderful and entirely perfect conclusion to a masterful story. THANK YOU.

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the story. I do hope it doesn't hurt your career in any way. ;) Thank you so much for letting me know that you liked it. It really means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Bluewolf80 

13th February 2016:
I read this for the first time maybe a year ago. I just finished it again and I NEVER re-read fanfics! This one is worth it though. It is so well crafted that when I am reading it I am reminded of a master potter sitting at his wheel sculpting, molding, with clay that is gradually taking shape into a beautiful masterpiece.

Even on my second go round I still had trouble keeping all the grandchildren straight. I can understand why Harrry would use the tapestry to "cheat"! If I wasn't such a PotterHead and already knew all of them, it would be even harder. I'll have to go back and read 'Evolution' and get caught up. I'm so glad that you did not just make up names but used the canon ones.

I think that my favorite thing was the way that you included the character of Death. There were so many references to the Deathly Hallows story. Like the cloak and meeting as old friends. Loved it! I truly enjoyed the way you weaved that into your story.

I really think this is one of the best fan fictions out there. I hope to read more of your work soon. Keep writing! I'm sure that you will be successful.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

First off, thank you for leaving such a detailed, thoughtful review. It is greatly appreciated.

I... um... wow. You left me kind of speechless there. Not completely sure how to respond to such kind words. I have a giant smile every time I reread this review.

I always felt like Harry would want a large family for two reasons: 1) he never had a family to speak of growing up, and 2) I felt like he was very envious (not in a negative way) of the Weasleys for being such a close, loving family.

The idea of including Death in this story was something that popped into my head very late in the process of drafting that chapter. I had the trainman already, but prior to that he was modeled after a non-psycho version of the Trainman in the Matrix movies. He was a gatekeeper between worlds.

Again, I can't thank you enough for all of the kind words and for leaving such a nice review. It means a great deal to me and I'm very happy that you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #6, by swtmix 

13th September 2015:
This story was absolutely fantastic. I only just got around to reading it on my kindle but could not put it down the whole way so spent the entire Sunday in bed and reading. Thank you. Excellent writing and drew me in from the get go.

Author's Response: I'm really happy that you enjoyed it. Thank you for the feedback and thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #7, by mymischiefmanaged 

26th August 2015:
Ahhh oh my goodness Dan, I can't believe I've only just read this wonderful story. I think I've been put off reading it before because I didn't like the idea of reading a story about Harry after Ginny's death (you really know how to write heartbreaking stuff...) but you've handled it all so well and once I started reading I just couldn't stop.

I think this will be one of those reviews where I use up the word limit, so I'll try to be brief with my long long list of things I loved about this story. Okay, here goes...

You have such a hugely impressive grasp of a massive cast of characters. All of your main characters and main supporting characters are beautifully well developed, and you even give lots of the people in the background moments that show how much thought you've put into them (Fleur stands out as an example of this - she wasn't a big character in the overall plot but you showed how strong she was and the moments she had in the spotlight were essential). I love the care you've given every single one of your characters. It makes them so much more believable and really makes the reader want to see what happens to them.

On a related note, all your canon characters are wonderfully and impressively in character. I'm always very scared to write Harry or any of the key people from his Hogwarts years, because I just feel like JK did such a good job creating them and I wouldn't want to try to write her characters and not do them justice. You've got every single one of them spot on, as well as expanding some of the people we didn't see so much in the original books. It must have been difficult to do but you've pulled it off flawlessly.

Your characterisation of Percy is probably the best I've ever seen.

I really love the ongoing tension between the older generation and the younger generation, and how it mimics what Harry found so frustrating when he was growing up. I love seeing the older generation struggle with their hypocrisy in wanting their children to stay out of danger even though they would have refused to. Also, I love that in the end the teenagers had an essential part to play - it's very in keeping with the general spirit of Harry Potter.

I'm hugely impressed by how you handled Esme's character. You managed to make her likeable and very plausible as a candidate for Harry's love, while still letting Harry and Ginny be the great love story of the novel. It's very clever and very true to life, although I'm kind of glad that Esme and Harry never really had their moment because that would have complicated the whole reunion with Ginny in the end.

I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT YOU KILLED NEVILLE! I understand why you did it, and it definitely contributed wonderful things to the overall plot, but ahdarsjrlkeajljslkgj it was super painful to read. But WELL DONE for creating such a wonderful Neville. Over the original books we see him develop so much, and he probably goes through one of the biggest journeys as a character. You've shown how that journey carried on for him after finishing at Hogwarts, and I feel like at the point he died he would have been very proud of his achievements, which is probably all that 11-year-old Neville ever wanted. You made him a wonderful headmaster and I reckon Dumbledore would have been very proud of him.

I really really like the idea of Harry ending his life as headmaster of Hogwarts. It was the first real place he saw as home, and I like the idea that he would return to it. But I also think it only really works in the context of your overall plot, which again says wonderful things about your writing. It wouldn't really make sense for Harry to go back to Hogwarts as headmaster if he was still with Ginny, but given her awful death it's good that he's found a positive way to spend his old age.

Also I like how it gives Ron an opportunity to lead the aurors, because after all these years looking after Harry he's definitely ready for the job.

Your Hermione is wonderful. She's still the same girl we see in JK's writing, but you've shown how her experiences have hardened and changed her. I really like how she's now got this fierce drive to protect her family, and how this drive has changed her.

I'm running out of words but just quickly wanted to talk about MALFOY. I just love everything about how you wrote him. I already love your Draco from 'Detox', but I think this gave us much more to admire, and I really really like how it ended up being him who followed Harry at the end. It feels like a lovely 'growing up' moment for them both. (Also, I like how intertwined their families are at this point. It's a benefit of writing this era rather than focussing on Rose/Scorpius at school).

I don't know if you ever plan to come back and edit any of this, and you very much don't need to because it's already wonderful, but I did just have one suggestion for if you ever feel the need to make any changes. I guessed very early on that Arabela was the villain, and I think this was mostly because she was mentioned a few times without much reason to be, which drew attention to her as a possible suspect (don't know if that makes sense but hopefully it does). Later on I doubted my suspicions because we saw some more of her kindness to Percy, but I think her character could remain much more mysterious if you added one or two scenes in the very early chapters that included her and introduced her through Percy's eyes as a very kind and caring friend. If she was more of a character in her own right from early on, it would be more of a shock to discover her true nature. Like I said, this is just a suggestion and is very much not required, but I thought it might be worth mentioning as an idea.

Love love loved reading this, Dan. I'm in awe of your writing and look forward to reading more of your wonderful work. I can't believe it took me so long to get around to reading this but I'm very glad that I finally have.

Emma xx

Author's Response: Hi, Emma!

I've been staring at this review for a few days now, thinking, "How on earth am I going to fit a decent response within the character limit?" And look, I just set myself back around 100 characters. Better get started.

I've said this in a bunch of responses, but it always bears repeating: Having Ginny not be a part of this story was the hardest decision that I made, bar none. I adore Ginny and Harry together and I hated doing it. But I needed to put Harry in a certain place for the plot to work.

Having a large cast of characters was a blessing and a curse. On the plus side, when I needed to bulk up a chapter, I could always throw in a scene for one of the minor characters. The huge negative was trying to find enough "screen time" to do all of the characters justice. I did start to really like Fleur, which is why she got her own scene in chapter 40.

Keeping the canon characters -- especially Harry -- in character was the most important thing to me. The tricky part was doing that while aging them 50 years...

The tension between generations wasn't really part of my initial idea, but it became unavoidable as the story unfolded. Characters like Molly were never going to accept the idea of the grandchildren and great-grandchildren putting themselves in danger, but as Hestia says, it's more their world now than it is Molly and Arthur's.

I am breathing such a sigh of relief that you liked Esme. I agonized over nearly every aspect of her character and her story arc. I'm still not completely sure I should have killed her off.

Yeah, I feel genuinely terrible about Neville. There just wasn't any other way. Headmasters of Hogwarts don't retire. That said, I wanted to give him a hero's death, one filled with purpose and courage. I think I did alright in that respect.

I like where Ron and Harry ended up. I agree with everything you said about Harry, plus I liked him so much when I put him in scenes with the kids. I think it's a great match. And Ron needed to live out from under Harry's shadow.

Out of the trio, I felt like I did the worst job with Hermione. Part of it is because she was injured, but I never felt completely sure about her story arc. I guess it ended up in a good place, but something still bugs me about it. Too late now, though.

Draco's story was one of the key pillars of what I was trying to do. I wanted to show that he could be a hero without changing everything about himself. To put it another way, Slytherins can be heroes and still be Slytherins.

Ugh. I telegraphed Arabela way too early for most people. Thing is, I didn't want to spring her on readers completely out of the blue. It felt a little dumb to me to suddenly introduce the Minister's secretary and effectively say, "Surprise, she's a powerful dark witch who's pulling all the strings! Didn't you know?" So I had to give people a chance to figure it out. Apparently, I made it too easy.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by JJ 

10th July 2015:
I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart. This story was exactly what I was looking for. I recently finished the books for like the 7th time and I desperately wanted to know more of what happened after they finished. I greatly enjoyed the more mature twist you put on it and I can't believe how much I felt I needed this. You are amazing!

Author's Response: Hi, JJ.

I really appreciate the kind words. When I started reading fan fiction, I was exactly like you. I didn't want the story to end. I'm really, really happy that I've been able to extend it a bit farther for you.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

-Dan


 Report Review

Review #9, by Alex 

22nd December 2014:
Thank you for this wonderful, heart wrenching story. There would be more to say, but I think that my first sentence summoned it up very well.

Author's Response: I'm really happy that you enjoyed it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Bethan 

8th December 2014:
Breathtaking story, kept me up at nights and away from my uni work but it was worth it. You have a true talent for writing and I can't wait to read more from you.

Author's Response: Hi! Once again, sorry for disrupting your work, but I'm really pleased that you liked the story. I hope you get a chance to read more.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Mariano_Pingitore 

8th October 2014:
Another wonderful story comes to an end. I've been leaving reviews here and there throughout the story but I wanted to save some things for the end. First of all, this is the first fic I've read that takes place so long after the events from the books and it's been very enjoyable to see the main characters as grandparents. It makes for a different angle. The plot was very addictive from start to finish, too. I really liked the way you portrayed the characters, in particular Neville, Susan and Draco,and the growing pains of the new generation, so different to what it was like for the ones who were teenagers during the war. It was a masterful mix. The only thing I really missed was Arabela's background, I would have liked to know her story and her motivations.

All in all, heartfelt congratulations for the quality of your work and the ability to stick with the project until it was seen through. That would be an ability I seriously lack. Thank you again for this wonderful story, it's time for me to check the rest of your work!!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

One of the biggest things that appealed to me about the idea for this story was the fact that it was set long after most other HPFF stories I've read. I liked the fact that all of the canon characters are very well-established as leaders and elders of their world. It allowed, I thought, for a better contrast with some of the low points of the story. Being able to show two additional generations of the family was also a big benefit. I enjoyed writing them all.

Strangely enough, Arabela was being honest with Percy about her true background. She was born to a half-blood/muggle-born couple who died during the war. She was raised by her father's school friends who never trusted the Ministry again due to the things they saw during the war. Her foster parents taught her that if anyone ever learned the truth about her parents, she would be in danger. As she grew older, the fear and loss she felt during and after the war twisted into an all-consuming need to control her own safety and destiny. I hope that helps you to understand her a bit better. There's definitely a short story in this somewhere...

Thank you so much for all of the kind words. Writing this was a labor of love and I really appreciate the feedback.


 Report Review

Review #12, by MLW 

28th September 2014:
Great story! Thank you for sharing your gifts.

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Luke1813 

17th August 2014:
I'm a 42 year old man who, prior to three weeks ago, had never been on any fan fiction site. As someone who has experienced loss, I was deeply moved by your story and your writing. Your 64 year old, widowed Harry struck a chord within me in a way that Rowling's teenage Harry never did. Of course, my life is much different now than when I read her books.
Just wanted you to know that I truly enjoyed your novel. You are a talented writer, and I look forward to reading more of your work.

Author's Response: Hi, Luke,

As a fellow 42 year old man -- no joke, that's the actual truth -- I can appreciate where you're coming from. I enjoy reading Next Gen stories about angsty teenagers getting pregnant at wild parties in the Gryffindor Common Room after winning the Quidditch Cup, but the connection is never really there. I feel like I connected a lot with this Harry while writing this story, and I'm really glad you felt the same.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. I hope to hear from you again soon!


 Report Review

Review #14, by caapotter 

30th June 2014:
I have come across several fanfics since I started this addiction. Some are good and nice, and I am one to like the funny and light stories. My life is so full of problems that I like to be light-headed when I read. Then I started yours. At first it wasn't really my style but before I knew it the story took me in completely. I admire you very much and if my fanfic is a quarter like yours in quality I'll be forever happy. Congratulations. It's an amazing story. You have very much to be proud of. Thank you for this. Thank you for not giving up. If I can suggest my own fanfic "Being Parents", it would be a honor if you read it and maybe reviewed with your thoughts. I have learned tons whilst reading and surely got inspired by your talent.
By best wishes, Caa xx

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm really struggling to get the smile off of my face at this point. Thank you so much for all of your kind words. It's hard to explain how much they mean to me.

I'll be sure to check your story out at some point.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by LoonyMooney 

17th June 2014:
Wow, great story! You are very talented :) I really enjoyed it
Thanks

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by dobbywhisky 

16th June 2014:
You are brilliant. Don't ever forget that.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all of the kind words. I appreciate them more than you know.

 Report Review

Review #17, by GLacerda 

15th April 2014:
I read your story and reread several times the chapters in which Harry and Ginny meet in Kings Cross, especially the last chapter, and every time I could not hold my tears. In fact, I'm trying to stop them at this very moment as I write this review. I am a young man of 19 years living in Portugal. The Harry Potter saga has had and continues to have a major impact on my life, because she accompanied my adolescence. I recently started reading the online fanfiction and I was very touched by "Harry Potter and the winters after the war" and "Harry Potter and the Summer after the war". Now, I found your story and I just can thank you for this wonderful story you wrote.
I can only hope to find a girl with whom I can have such a great connection as Harry had with Ginny: a bond that lasts beyond the veil.
God bless you

Sorry for any errors (I'm not a native speaker ;) )

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I'm really pleased that you liked the story and that you felt such a strong emotional connection to it. Reviews like yours put a huge smile on my face that doesn't go away for quite a while.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by hpfflover1 

2nd March 2014:
Wow. Just finished reading and I have to say your story was amazing! Loved it!

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Albustheboss 

23rd January 2014:
What a wonderful, sad story. I can't count the amount of times i cried, the last time, just now, from happiness. Thank you. So so much.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Aww, I really hate to make anyone cry, but I'm glad the story was engaging for you.

Thank you! Thank you for reading and taking the time to let me know how it affected you.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Anton 

5th November 2013:
thanks!

Thanks for an amazing story. One, if not the best, stories i've read here.

I cried in this last chapter, it was so beautiful, and that said, I'm a male at the age of 22, so nice work!

Author's Response: Hi! I'm really glad that you enjoyed the story and I appreciate all of your kind words. Sorry to make you cry, but I'm really happy that you felt such a strong connection.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ellie 

3rd November 2013:
I have been reading HP fan fiction for a long time and it is been a while since a story has gripped me like this one. You used JK Rowling's incredible world and marvelous characters to create a stunning, heart wrenching and thrilling story. I held my breath, I cried and I laughed. I love the way you developed the characters and weren't afraid to to make big decisions. The story line had so many twists and turns, it was a real novel and I have loved reading it.
Thank you for putting in the hours and effort to fashion such an incredible story.
'Wit beyond measure is a man's greatest treasure'
'I solemnly swear I am up to no good'

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Wow. That a pretty strong compliment and I appreciate it a great deal. This story was always a labor of love for me and it's the most amazing feeling in the world when I'm able to connect with a reader and find out they enjoyed it. I also love your quotes.

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Hahah 

27th September 2013:
Amazing going to re read again!!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I'd love to know more of what you think on your second pass.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Parker Lovelady 

14th September 2013:
I must say that this is one of the very best stories I have ever had the pleasure of reading. I hope that you will do more long stories in the future. I have also enjoyed all of your short stories. You have great skills thank you for sharing them with me.

Author's Response: Thank you for all of the kind words. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the story. Thank you for taking a moment to let me know.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Benn 

12th September 2013:
absolutely brilliant. for three nights it has had me coming back for more. the characters and story defiantly pull at a heart string or two. its been brilliant sharing this journey with you. thank you

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for the kind words. I'm really glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for taking a moment to let me know!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Pete W(alertpw1975) 

1st September 2013:
I finished this story last weekend and have been thinking of what I wanted to say here all week long. First off I plan on re-reading this story and reviewing every chapter for you, but I just couldn't stop to review because it is an amazing story. I also loved the Delicate stories and was so happy that you used that version of Rose and Scorpious for your story. I believe that at some point in the future Harry Potter will need new stories. This is the type of story arc that could be a new trilogy for the Wizarding World. Much like the Thrawn Trilogy was for Star Wars(I noticed you and I also both enjoy that as well). I will probably say this again in another review of this story but, the Ginny's Tale chapter affected me like the end of the movie Titanic. Well done!! The Epilogue also to a little lesser degree. The action in this story is better than any other story I've read. I will say that I have read many stories of Harry Potter fanfiction on this page and on another and this is the best story I have read yet. Keep up the good work! I loved how you wrote Draco and Astoria, so I will be checking out your story for them.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

Wow. It's not easy to respond to praise like that, but I'll give it a shot.

Certain stories you read in a fandom make such an impression on you that they become your personal canon where no canon exists. After reading Delicate, I don't think I'll ever be able to think of Rose and Scorpius any other way. The story is amazing on every level and there's a very good reason why I don't believe any other story will ever knock it from its perch as the most read, most reviewed story in the HPFF archives.

As far as comparing my story to the Thrawn Trilogy... holy crap. That's praise on a level that I can't really even get my head around.

I'm really glad that Ginny's chapter worked so well for you. As I said in the Author's Note, that chapter was written in bits and pieces for several months before it was actually complete. It was too emotional to write all at once.

I hope you get a chance to check out Detox. It's still a work in progress, but I'm trying to wrap it up in the next month or two. It's been a bear to write in places, but I'm really happy with how it's turned out.

Thank you so much for taking time to share! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>