Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

20th March 2017:
Liked how Rose and Scorpius were starting to get along a little

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotter 

13th September 2015:
Me again :)

I like that there's a hint of something going on with Scorpius and Draco in this chapter, and that makes sense with him travelling to King's Cross on his own for the previous two years. I wonder what it is... Rose pushing that subject can't be a good thing!

I really loved your desription of the forest, especially when the centaurs pased by, I really felt like I was there hearing them with the group. The twist in events here was so exciting! The build up was great, with the centaurs being spooked and then the fire and what happened to Scorpius at the end! I need to read the last few Dobby nominees but I'm going to add this to my favourites and come back to it asap!

I can really see why this was nominated, congratulations again.

Dee

Author's Response: I have been rubbish with replying to Ignite reviews. *cough*

Scorpius and Draco have a strained relationship - well, it rolls out in the story, but you're definitely picking up the clues! Though Rose doesn't realise she's poking an awkward topic.

So glad you've enjoyed the story so far! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by EmmaGM 

2nd February 2015:
Seems like this is where things really get interesting :) I love how you write the interaction between the teenagers. Perhaps you were one yourself not too long ago? It would explain a lot!

I really liked the story up until now and I'm very eager to find out what will happen. Jones and Selena appear to be pretty interesting characters as well. I hope to see more of them in the future. Great chapter! I loved it.

Author's Response: Yes, the plot finally kicks off! Alas, I was a teenager longer ago than you'd think. *weeps softly for her lost youth* I'll take it as a compliment to my writing. ;)

Definitely will see more of everyone, including Jones and Selena, in the future. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Roisin 

25th October 2014:
That whole beginning is just amazing! Methuselah correcting Rose, Selena's whole "I wasn't the one who was just *wrong* thing" - all excellent!

I like that, even this early in the story, Selena has all these really off-putting qualities that are usually assigned to People We Aren't Supposed to Like - but she's also just kind of excellent :)

And then I really like the attention to subtleties in the Scorp/Al/Rose dynamic. The awareness of boundaries, limits, necessity. Like, they all kind of know on some level that it's kind of all in good fun, and try not to push issues when it's important. But then sometimes they are just young and dumb and end up pushing those things and antagonizing each other when they shouldn't.

OK, so I haven't finished yet, and am still only on Ch24, but it was about here that I started to suspect Lockett??? I still have no idea whether I'm right or not, and keep going back and forth on that idea...

And GAH, I have no idea how I would have survived reading this before it was all finished! THESE CLIFFHANGERS.

WHICH, by the way, means I have to commend you on another point: I can't believe you wrote this in a serialized way!!! It seems so steady, the chapters flow into each other so well, it REALLY doesn't seem like it was written in pieces. AND, your whole narrative is so tight, and you keep track of all of your threads so well!

Author's Response: Selena is absolutely That Girl in High School, but I will never try to cart out an archetype like that without at least once digging under the surface. And she's ridiculously fun to write.

It's become a Game, with Rules, for Al/Scorp/Rose by now, even if Al hates it. They banter, they make digs, Al flaps after them, they go their separate ways. It's just What They Do, and then there are the big red buttons like Scorp's relationship with his father.

Suspecting Lockett? Interesting idea! She'd be in a prime position to make all sorts happen, wouldn't she.

I'm cruel with cliffhangers. I'd probably hate reading me. I do usually have a Large buffer before I go into posting (though as I recall, the buffer on Ignite couldn't have been too big by now), but if I can chop a chapter into very set events before I get started, it makes it easier. Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #5, by BellaLestrange87 

29th June 2014:
This story is really good so far! I like the humor in the bickering between Scorpius and Rose, and the reference back to Harry and Ron's schooldays. Usually I don't like cliffhanger endings, but this was a good one.

Author's Response: I'm afraid I'm pretty horrendous for cliffhanger endings. At least this story's complete so they're not too harsh! Glad you're enjoying the story so far. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by LightLeviosa5443 

20th November 2013:
Loved this chapter. I can't wait to read what's going to happen next. What were the centaurs running from or for? What was with the creepy fire and nasty smell?!

Great chapter!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: All in good time. Mysteries shall be revealed. I'll make folks dangle a little while more for the answers, mind.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by bomberchica 

16th August 2012:
Interesting chapter. I'm not entirely sure what's happening at the end, but I'm not sure that I'm supposed to know what's going on. I can't wait for the next chapter though! Please, please, please update soon!

Author's Response: The latest chapter has just hit the queue! And yes, there will be (some) explanations forthcoming, for now I'm just dropping an evil cliffhanger, 'cos I'm like that.

Glad you're having fun, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by SONofBEEDLE 

15th August 2012:
Good chapter. I guess this is where the real story starts. I liked how you depict the whole scenario. You can feel the stress and the fear. Everybody always make these brave and overpowered teenagers, but you keep the fact that they are KIDS and are afraid of danger and death.
Also, don't think we didn't notice that awkwardness between Scorp and Rosie ;)
Keep it up!
9/10

Author's Response: Yes, this is where the plot begins to kick in, and it should keep on kicking here on out. I'm glad it works as something compelling and also with believable reactions by the characters - they ARE only sixteen, after all.

Awkwardness? From Scorp and Rose? Nah! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

12th August 2012:
Ugh. I hate being busy. IT'S OKAY I'm finally here.

Poor Scorpius. Albus is still hacked off with him. Sigh. Although to be fair, he's not only lost an evening, he's spending it in the Forbidden Forest. I don't blame him for being annoyed. Although he should really be taking it out on Nat because she was the one who put him in detention, the cruel cruel woman. I'm not liking how snappy she seems, it doesn't bode well for BTP.

Methy is one of those really infuriating people who nitpicks about EVERYTHING. Gah. SLIGHTLY more amusing because it's Rose, although I like her more now we've had the chapter from her point of view because she seems much more human now. Well done Scorpy for not joining in with the Rose-antagonising. Al wouldn't have appreciated that.

Surely Nat should have COPIED her map to give to the others? Letting them walk off without a map really doesn't bode well, even if they do have the ability to throw up red sparks.

'But they got them usually in the course of saving the world.' Oh, Al. I love you.

Oh, poor Scorp. Don't mention his father. Bless him. And Al telling Rose to stop it. Despite how angry he is with Scorp, he still stands by him. I love this bromance. And once more we can tell how much Rose respects Al, even if she doesn't agree with the bromance, by the fact that she quits the antagonising despite upsetting Scorpius in such a satisfying manner. Even if she doesn't quite understand the magnitude of the ill-feeling within the Malfoy household. Om nom character depth.

...I knew that not having a map would End Badly. Death by centaurs? Or not, given that, you know, that would be a short story. With no illness. And no Scorose. Speaking of Scorose, an adorable little moment in the face of possible imminent death. There's nothing like a herd of centaurs to breach even the deepest void.

Oh no, Al. Don't follow a light in a forest. That NEVER ends well. It won't be werewolves or murderous Death Eater fathers, but that still leaves a LOT that's not been ruled out.

'This last was at Albus, who finally looked shamefaced for having cracked a height a sasquatch would be proud of.' Oh, this sentence is truly beautiful.

Once more Scorp deflects an uncomfortable moment with humour. Rose is worried about him, so he smirks at her obnoxiously. Bless him.

Casting a spell. RIGHT. I'm going to hazard a guess that this is a ritual that will create a terrible illness which will plague the school, leaving only Scorpius and the others untouched because ... they're not in the school at the moment? Because they're close enough to the incantation place that they become immune to it? UNSURE. But it's all beginning to happen now. And I LOVE it. This totally explains why the prank in Potions was relevant. Here was me thinking it was just something to add to the Scorose antagonistic relationship, but NO. It's to get them into the forest. Marvy marvy. I am well and truly excited for more now. GOOD CHAPTER NEXT PLEASE.

Author's Response: Albus would still be upset with Scorpius even if he hadn't also been given detention (that just doesn't help). He asked Scorpius to drop it, and Scorpius was petty and malevolent instead when he'd indicated he would behave. This hurts Al's trusting, kind soul.

Professor Nat is not the world's happiest woman, no. Though bear in mind, whatever's in BTP, that was twenty-five years ago. Cal would have to work hard to have traumatised her for a quarter of a century! I assure you that anything you think is an influence in BTP is certainly not ALONE in making her how she is today. And 'today', some kids just blew up her supply cupboard. Also, in theory - she's not wrong, the Forest isn't THAT dangerous only a little way in any more (well, it's not supposed to be), a map wouldn't have actually helped anyone (you still need landmarks to navigate by, and after running from centaurs they would have still needed to do the exact same thing to get their bearings), and she doesn't want to give Scorpius Malfoy the opportunity to copy such a thing. God knows what he'd do with it.

Methy is a pedant, very much so. But he is also the only person who can routinely beat Rose in academics, and so she's not exactly going to be gracious back at the best of times. Hermione's brains mixed with Ron's competitiveness. It's not going to be pretty. And yes, though I want to explore more of the Rose/Albus relationship, I'm glad it does come across that she shut up for him, not for Scorpius (though she was genuinely surprised at having struck a nerve like that, and probably wouldn't have niggled because they try to antagonise, not outright HURT one another, USUALLY), just as Albus put his own anger aside to back up Scorp.

Yeah, at the 'light in the woods' bit I snickered to myself, because Scorpius is clearly more genre-savvy than Tobias, and is going to be SENSIBLE and try to SNEAK up to find out what's going on. And see... yes, your guesses are most interesting and indeed, the prank was important, it wasn't just a Funny Opening Line, the detention is Massively Significant to the entire plotline.

FINE more chapter soon, queue permitting.


 Report Review

Review #10, by LillyRoseanne 

12th August 2012:
OH Cliff hanger... :D Very much enjoyed that chapter. Love the characterisations, as I may have said before :) Can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Ayup! I am sometimes cruel with cliffhangers, you may begin to learn. Glad you enjoyed this, I quite liked the banter in this chapter myself.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review