Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Libbypotter 

20th March 2017:
I love how they are interact. I must admit I find Rose's choice of Hector strange but it does make a good story and I love your view of Scorpius

 Report Review

Review #2, by Penelope Inkwell 

18th September 2015:
Hey there! I remember I enjoyed this story so much the first time, but I wanted to re-familiarize myself with it a bit before Dobby voting.

Poor Scorpius. I mean, Albus had a point--what he did was more than a little stupid and unfair. But, like he says, Scorpius prefers an audience. Having 2/3 of the school or so giving him the silent treatment is probably the worst punishment you could give him. Especially with Al not talking to him, either.


The difference was that where Rose ranted, Hestia was more the kind to conclude her diatribe with informative pamphlets... And according to Albus, Scorpius had taken the pamphlet explaining what a menace to society he was and had it framed. She'd not had the heart to tell Hestia.

Somehow I think that leather pants aren't going to be quite as anti-Malfoy as Rose suspects...

I'm glad that you show us this bit with Rose and Hector. When smart girls are taken in by jerkish guys, I really like when you get to see why, because otherwise it doesn't seem to match up to their character. I mean, 'we're all fools in love' or whatever, but since it's quite clear that Rose isn't at all in love with Hector, I'm glad that we can see why she doesn't realize how he is. He's a completely different, seemingly quite likable and even considerate, person around her.

Oh Methuselah. You're such a frustration, and such a joy *cries*

It cracks me up that Scorpius is so up on the gossip, but it seems very him. He's such a social creature.

I have to say, insulting someone's earrings is pretty catty and unnecessary, but I think Selena's pretty justified in being miffed over getting detention. Especially a Forbidden Forest detention. No earring is worth that.

'Presumed destroyed, Professor, it's not proven.'
--bahaha!

Reading this just reminds me of how incredibly well you manage to weave such humor into the angsty, horrible situations that are soon to come. That's such a gift. Congratulations on your Dobby nominations! You've earned them!

--Penny

Author's Response: Yay, returning readers!

Albus is right; Scorpius was entirely petulant and lashing out. He kind of wants it both ways; he doesn't want to fight for the truth, but he doesn't really enjoy being judged on it. But he could cope with silent treatment, until it's from Al!

Yeah, Rose is perhaps being a bit oblivious in assuming leather trousers are going to deter anyone. Unhelpfully, Hector fails to compliment. But noo, Rose doesn't love him - she is, indeed, more interested in something easy, fun, in someone likeable (as he presents, of course, differently to her!).

Methuselah, such a hoot. And of course Scorpius is up on the gossip! He's a fussy little fellow sometimes. Selena IS totally petty enough to make an unkind, catty comment about someone's earrings, but she really IS getting a disproportionate punishment! Entirely there by bad luck.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by HeyMrsPotter 

13th September 2015:
Hey!

Another really enjoyable chapter. I liked the dynamic between Rose and her friends in her dormitory. It's obvious from their conversation how much she complains about Scorpius, he really gets under her skin doesn't he?

I'm so excited to read on about the groups venture into the forbidden forest, I can only assume it's going to lead to more disagreements between Rose and Scorpius, which I'm very much looking forward to :p

Dee

Author's Response: Rose is pretty fixated with Scorpius for someone she doesn't like. And to be fair, he does wind her up considerably. But she does have reasons, and they're not JUST an unstated attraction. ;)

Doubtless anything those two do will include more disagreement. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheFawkesRebirth 

6th July 2015:
This story is really strong. As someone who's working on a big piece like this (or at least attempting to!), I'm glad I'm reading this. Your attention to detail is pretty brilliant as far as fanfiction goes. It makes me feel incompetent, but for me it's a good reference in that it shows me what I should be striving for!! The story is good, but it's also enjoyable. There's kind of a difference. A lot of the good writers on here get too caught up in description and flowery language. Not even JKR does that, and I think there's a reason.

Author's Response: Thanks! Really glad you're enjoying this, and I would much rather inspire than intimidate. I do try to take my writing standards seriously, but the point is entertainment. So I have no doubt you can do it too, and if you and your readers are having fun, that's what really matters!

And no, I don't do lengthy prose. Rambling, maybe, but not pretentious. My prose is thoroughly workmanlike, sometimes to its detriment. ;)

Thanks for the review, and good luck with your fic!


 Report Review

Review #5, by EmmaGM 

2nd February 2015:
Great chapter. The story is flowing nicely and your writing is amazing!

Author's Response: This is a bit of a filler chapter to shift characters around, so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by StarryKnights 

8th January 2015:
So far I really like this story! I like how you portrayed Scorpius in a different way than most other fan fictions.. he is usually portrayed as being a "bad boy" or popular and I like how he is much different in this one. I also love how you have all different aspects of a good story in yours: action, humor, romance, tragedy, it has the makings for a good story cant wait to read it!

Author's Response: Yeah, I wanted to play around with the stereotypical depictions of Scorpius. I thought the charming joker could let me use the usual ploys while still shaking things up a bit. He's still a popular Quidditch player who's good with girls, but... also more than that.

I do like stories to run the gamut in style. Not pure anything. Action is best when you get the emotions and complexities with it. Emotions are best shaken up with high stakes and danger to push characters in unusual ways. I'm glad it's enjoyed! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Roisin 

25th October 2014:
I really love the way you flit into Artemis' POV! It's such a great way to weave levity and comedy into the story, and also, YOU ARE AMAZING AT WRITING CATS. Again, your easy wit shows!

Methuselah is just tremendous. I love the way he speaks! He reminds me of someone, but I can't remember who... Hmmm... Someone from a book or movie :(

I also like this whole Matty Doyle situation. I kind of ship him and Rose? I'm also shipping ScoRose??? I like that you threw another ship in there!!! Especially since I'm not usually big on romance and stuff! More on how you do that well later :)

I continue to be impressed by the handle you have on your characters. Charming, charismatic, dynamic characters can be difficult, and the fact that he appears so natural and effortlessly written and REAL really shows your strength as a writer. Sometimes, "I want you to like this person" gets a little out of hand, and varies into inconsistent. Here, he's consistent, but not without depth.

I also really like that Rose is a Smart Girl, but not some asexual prude who needs to be Awakened by a Bad Boy into Burning Passion. [FEMINISM!]

I also like that, as far as I've read, Rose's appearance isn't ever a big deal - yet she clearly has pretty healthy self esteem (knows she looks good in leather trousers).

I also appreciate that Rose has actual tangible reasons for liking Hector (even if the reader disagrees). I hate stories where girls are a Prize, and they go out with antagonists Just Because, as if they have no actual agency, and are there to be won.

Basically, I love how you write Rose!

Author's Response: Writing cats is my guilty pleasure. Artemis steals the show every time she appears.

Methuselah was loosely inspired by Mordin Solus of the Mass Effect games. Albeit considerably younger, more vulnerable, more insecure and, lacking a better word, more 'human'. Some people have also compared him to the Beeb's Sherlock, but that certainly wasn't an influence as I'd not really watched any when I wrote Ignite (*cough*And I'm not a huge fan*cough*).

Doyle was a sneaky side-character never planned who has... well, rather grown in his role. I think his existence partly helped to flesh out some of Rose's emotional background beyond Hector, who's not all that likeable. She has had perfectly nice boyfriends before ScoRose kicks in! And yeah, the girl's allowed to HAVE these emotional entanglements, and she's allowed to want a hunky boyfriend without much going on under the surface if she wants to! I have tried, VERY hard to not let Rose get demonised for her relationship history, even by other characters. She had a very unsympathetic start to Ignite and it would have been too easy to dismiss her and Hector as that generic relationship solely there to create a triangle. But there are reasons for her choices and her feelings... I have been stubborn and feminist on these matters.

I'm glad/surprised you like Rose by now! I mean, I DELIBERATELY wrote this segment because there was some audience backlash against Rose, and I realised we'd seen her ONLY from very unsympathetic POVs of Scorpius, so I knew the Rose in my head wasn't getting a fair shake on paper. But I'm glad this chapter's worked for its Intended Purpose.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Siriuslover177 

19th June 2014:
This detention is going to be interesting. I really hope Rose and Scorp can keep their mouthes shut for one night. And if they dont finish they have to come again? Goodness, they are going to have to bust their butt tonl get this done.

That Matt guy seems like he still likes Rose. I mean, him not liking her boyfriend, and the whole him getting mad at her for her being short kind of shows it.

I hope her and Flynn break up soon. Yes, he visted her before practice, but still. I just dont like that she isnt really all that into him either. Like, he isnt smart, and he apparently does not kiss well.

I hope Al forgives Scorp soon too. I dont want Scorp to have no one. He needs Al with everything going on with Miranda.

Great chapter.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Scorp and Rose not argue for one night? Unlikely. Though they'll have to buckle down to get the detention done, which will be a hard task.

Matt's a guy we'll see more of in the future. He and Rose have a complicated past, and as you can see, there are problems with Hector! Though Rose is enjoying having a more low-maintenance boyfriend.

Albus and Scorp will be okay. Give them time! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LightLeviosa5443 

20th November 2013:
I love detentions in the Forbidden Forest! Those are always the most fun! I'm really liking the way this story is coming along, though what I really can't wait for is for Albus to forgive Scorpius. Poor guy.

xoxo LL

Author's Response: This one will definitely be a detention to remember! Albus and Scorpius will make up soon enough, don't worry - they can't stay mad at each other for too long. Albus is far too forgiving.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by bomberchica 

16th August 2012:
Hahaha Selena is my new favorite character I think. She's so dumb, but funny. I really like how Albus and Scorpius work. They seem like such good friends.

Author's Response: There's more to her than meets the eye - but she's certainly not an intellectual powerhouse, especially alongside Rose and Methuselah, or the clear-thinking Albus, or the cunning Scorpius. It's interesting you say their friendship comes across even in the chapter where they're most at odds, I think that says something. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #11, by LillyRoseanne 

5th August 2012:
This is good. Really good. I love your character and plot development. Hooked on the whole Scorpius/Miranda debacle, and wondering how long it's going to take rose to realise the Flynn is a douche...

Keep it up... I will be waiting with baited breath...

Author's Response: Thank you! This is a plotty story, ultimately, but I try to keep the characters driving the action as much as possible. Scorpius/Miranda is a mystery that shall be unravelled at some point, and Rose/Flynn? Well, she knows he's not a saint, but he's so pretty... even smart girls are allowed their eye candy sometimes. ;)

Updates will be forthcoming. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by ladymontgomery 

1st August 2012:
I am pleasantly surprised. When I first began reading this I assumed it was going to be just another Sco/Rose story, however, this has a considerable amount more depth than most stories on here. I find myself enjoying it, and the fact that it doesn't completely revolve around Sco/Rose. So far, my interest is piqued.

Author's Response: While I'm not seeking to reinvent the wheel in regards to ScoRose, I am trying to avoid falling into many of the pit traps which the pairing often has to contend with. But yes, it is more of a story in which Scorpius and Rose (and Albus, and others) are the main characters in the plot, and the romance is just Something Which (eventually) Happens. It shouldn't be teenaged drama day-in, day-out.

I'm glad you enjoyed, and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by AriesGirl40 

1st August 2012:
The Forbidden Forest! Well, then I am glad Rose dressed so wisely. There are reasons why the place is Forbidden, Ya know?:)
Awesome chapter, see you next one.

Author's Response: It's not the Forest of Nice Things, alack and alas. Clearly Rose's leather trousers as THE key to staying safe. And, apparently, to giving men heart attacks.

I'm glad you're enjoying this! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by water_lily43175 

1st August 2012:
IGNITE. Rose. Excited.

Peregrine. What a name.

I absolutely ADORE Scorpius already. He clearly thinks so, so much of Albus, and it almost seems as though he lacks a bit of self-confidence. Bless him. And he is finally actually playing the guitar. Oh, I do wish Al would forgive him quickly, because he KNOWS he's done wrong. I don't like seeing Scorp so downtrodden. The poor thing.

Rose's friends are interesting. Hestia comes across like a bit of a wet blanket. Cheryl seems like quite a character though.

Ooh, Matthias time. "It was, of course, the wrong thing to say when she was in leather trousers." DEAD. Oh, do go away, Hector. Nobody likes you.

Okay, I like Methuselah now. He is truly hilarious. And I'm enjoying Serena, as I thought I might. I'm going to stick my neck on the line here and say she IS one of the six? I could trawl back through all previous correspondence to see whether you've already said this, but that is EFFORT.

All in all, another thoroughly enjoyable chapter. Obviously by this point Scorp, Al and Rose are all thoroughly fleshed out, but the secondary characters are definitely taking shape now, and I absolutely love them. Meth is adorably obnoxious. Serena is ... well, Serena. I do hope Nat is only the way she is when she's teaching. If not, and if this is BTP-compliant as opposed to just reusing a character, then I fear for her and Cal's storyline. Matthias is DELIGHTFULLY intriguing, as I'd expect from a Doyle. Hector seemed nicer in this chapter. All to be expected though, given that we were seeing him through Rose's eyes. And I WANT MORE IGNITE. But I want BTP too! First world pains...

Author's Response: Peregrine Hollis' parents clearly didn't like him. And Scorpius is pretty pathetic without Albus, yeah. We'll be exploring their friendship and its origins as we go along, but certainly Albus and their relationship are pretty integral to Scorpius' self-worth and, I suppose, general happiness.

I thought we needed to see more of Rose's life. Typically, of all the new characters in the dormitory scene, I had the most fun writing Artemis, however. Matthias promptly demanded more background and attention than I'd ever intended on giving him, and Hector is... well. Not supposed to be liked. Except for by Rose, diverted by biceps.

I'm glad you like Methuselah! I think he's a hoot. You're right, Selena's one of 'the six', and with her I'm hoping to take an archetype I've used before (you are not wrong to compare her to Ariane) but develop and explore it a good deal more. Nat (or, perhaps, Professor Lockett, as she ought be called) is... I won't give anything away. Though I write as much of my stuff as possible to be universally compliant, and though the Anguisverse does not impact on Ignite at all, they exist in the same universe in my head until story demands they split.

More action and plot next chapter - but, yes, BTP first. At least we're on to new content now! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review