Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rainpixie 

16th April 2013:
I really enjoy the love triangle going on with the founders! It reminds me a little of lily and Snape in this chapter

Author's Response: That's good to hear! That's exactly what I was going for. I loved illustrating the parallels between Rowena, Salazar, and Godric and Lily, James, and Severus. It is essentially the same triangle that plays out to much different results because the women at their cores are so different from each other.

 Report Review

Review #2, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

26th January 2013:
Another amazing chapter! Absolutely loved it! :)

Author's Response: Hooray! Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by justonemorefic 

2nd January 2013:
I adore how you write the founders' romantic subplots; it's so sumptuous. Classy like the classics.

asfalkghjaf I don't even know how to express how much I ship him and her cold wit and his cold heart and together their banter. i think they rather deserve each other, Rowena being wishy washy and Salazar being so prideful. (mind my capitalization, im reading while on an exercise bike) that paragraph about their hearts asfdagh.

omg HE DITCHED CRABBE SALAZAR MY DEAR MY WOOBIEEE

ok terrible review b/c i am still biking ON WE GO

Author's Response: Cold wit and cold heart and they are so awful for each other but one can't help but ship them. Even though they clearly do not work together for long periods of time and there is just not enough love there to keep them belonging to each other, there's enough to keep them unsatisfied with other people. But they do deserve each other in the sense that Rowena drags Godric into the mix and stomps all over both of them while Salazar's silver tongue effectively chases her away. They are just bad romance, yo.

Reviewing on an exercise bike, I do not totally understand you Gina but ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by SilentConfession 

12th September 2012:
This is such a great chapter. I loved that the focus of this was on the Founders and that messy triangle. it made me really dislike Rowena though because I feel like she doesn't deserve either of them. I can't imagine this turning out with a happy ending for any of them as their love has either been half hearted, torn, or just a dead heart for centuries. That can't be good for anyone. Also, in this whole thing, i found myself sad for Helga of all people. Poor woman, she had no one. Anyway, that's a side thing with nothing to do with this other than i send love to Helga. And Salzaar because his heart was dead for centuries and that made me sad. I think that was my favourite line of this whole thing. It just hit me really hard and i wanted to squish life back into him.

Your narrative here is so lovely and different then your other chapters too but it fits because it is of the Founders and it fits their persona's and their time period. But the fact that you can go from the chapter before this (which was excellent by the way and i love Regulus to pieces, fair warning, i'm going to try and steal him one of these days and put him in my pocket ;p) and then wrote this kind of chapter where it's melancholic, the tone is different, heck, you even dipped into second person too is fantastic! You should be very proud of how you wielded this chapter because the imagery, description was phenomenal. Everything just read like a breeze and everything seem to just add to the atmosphere you were creating! Very good work!

What is going to happen to Crabbe? Ah he has to be in the last because i can't bear to see any of the other characters kick the bucket for reals!! NOOO!!! I hope he's brighter than he looks and is and that you sprinkle smart, witty dust on him somehow. Although... he is a Slytherin... he's cunning then... somewhere.

I can't believe the end! Salzaar being vulnerable??!! What is this world coming to? I like it though and it makes their whole story so heartbreaking although i do feel sad for Godric up on the bell tower with all his loathing and jealousy. I hope he goes and runs to Helga and they live happily ever after... :D

I kept having Snape/Lily/James flashes through this and it has some scary parallels and same wording dealio's going on but i'm hoping that their story doesn't end up like this at all. I have a weird spider sense going on inside my stomach but i feel like that triangle if you call it that didn't tear Lily up nearly like it did Rowena. I think (or hope anyway) that Lily actually made the choice she wanted.

Anyway, great chapter, again! *scurries off to read more*

Author's Response: Since I've been mentioning the ordeal between Salazar and Rowena since the very beginning, I thought it was only fair to readers to flash back to the past for a minute and shine light on what they were like when they were alive. And the result is unsatisfying because as it turns out, Rowena was always torn between the two men. She was never sold on one or the other. Together they would have made the perfect man for her, and individually she couldn't choose. It's not fair to any of the people involved. Poor Helga! I neglected her so much in this story. She's just sitting on the sidelines in her tree house, not involved in any triangles. Maybe that's a good thing. XD

The atmosphere really surprised me! My favorite thing about writing Run was that I could change the tone depending on which characters I was writing, and the time period and mood. The duels are different from the melancholic bits, which are different from the lighter, humorous bits, which are different from bits about the founders. I loved being able to set the mood of this chapter with imagery, and being a fly on the wall that witnessed Rowena hesitating about being seen in public with Salazar.

Bahaha, Godric and Helga! Now there's a thought!

I'm quite pleased that you noticed all the James/Lily/Severus and Godric/Rowena/Salazar parallels. The difference between them is how Lily handles her situation vs. how Rowena handles it. And Rowena handled it very poorly, in my opinion.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! Your feedback is so awesome and warming to read. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by peppersweet 

7th September 2012:
Founders! I don't read much of it do I can hardly comment on it, really, but I like the spin you've given them here. Wow they were...erm...a rather more intertwined bunch than I originally thought. Weaving webs and whatnot. And crabbe is now without a tutor! Good! I mean, I pity him and all but...good. I feel so much for the other characters but sometimes I feel like I couldn't care less for crabbe. I pity him but he's nothing in the face of these other characters that I have so many feels for.

Author's Response: Samesies on Founders. I rarely read it (come to think of it, I rarely /see/ it). Lulz, I make everything harder than it has to be. ALL OF THE LOVE TRIANGLES~ And Salazar ditched Vincent, how lovely of him. Can't bring myself to feel sorry for Vincent. He tried to kill Ron's girlfriend!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jess the Enthusiast 

13th August 2012:
I AM SO SORRY FOR BEING SO FAR BEHIND SARAH! But I'm catching up today and tomorrow and I'm so excited!
This chapter was so beautiful; I just feel like all of your chapters are artwork but this one was especially...er, lyrical? I'm not sure if that's the word I want to use, but it's late and that's all that's coming to mind. Your usage of language is just so beautiful and poetic and picturesque and I just LOVE IT. I've never read any Founder's fics before but I think I'd certainly get into the era if you wrote one! (Do you have one by any chance? I'll have to take a gander through your author's page at some point). This love triangle between Salazar, Rowena, and Godric is so fascinating (poor Helga for being left out haha) and the way you wrote it really drew me in; I just couldn't get enough of it! I'm also fighting with myself over who is the better suitor and whether Rowena stringing the two of them for so long makes me dislike her or not. But that's just me rambling. ANYWHO I loved this chapter and since it's really late and I have to get up early to get a Polio shot tomorrow (*sob*) I'm going to read the other two chapters later. But I'm very excited!!!

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: BAW, JESS. ♥ You aren't that far behind! I'm excited to see you back here. I always love to hear your thoughts on this story. ^ ^

Eee, I'm so glad you liked this. I've found that the tone usually changes according to which characters are being focused on, and with some of them I slip into a more description-heavy mindset. I really, really loved being able to delve back in time to see what Salazar and Rowena were like when they were alive. A lot has changed since then but some things have still remained the same, even after centuries.

Alas, I do not have any Founders stories except for a one-shot I wrote forever ago about Helena and the Bloody Baron, called "Unrequited". But if you haven't already read it, Diamonds Into Coal by academica is a brill founders-era story about Helena and The Baron, which you might enjoy. :)

Haha, poor Helga. She gets a couple of brief mentions but she's largely ignored in this story. -guilt-

I've known people like Rowena who like to string along multiple men and I have always loathed that, so my opinion of her isn't extremely high. It's her biggest flaw, I think, and she doesn't even fully realize the extent of what she's done to them emotionally. She's inflicted a lot of damage by withholding final judgment on who she wants to be with.

Thank you so much for reading and for your awesomesauce reviews. :)

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #7, by cazvalleygirl 

9th August 2012:
A whole chapter on Salazar! Yay :)

I really liked it. It wasnít a surprise to read of Slytherins love for Ravenclaw. Youíve hinted in the past and I knew there must have been a reason he had turned into such an old grouch lol. But in all seriousness I did feel such pity for Salazar in this chapter. Iím not sure how he has kept loving a woman who has broken his heart for another time and time again, Iím not sure she deserves either Salazar or Godricís love actually. Whatís more, if she had filtered between the two all of these years she clearly doesnít love one with all of her heart, maybe she and Snape should just get together? Lol ;)

Iím interested to see what will happen with Crabbe now heís lost his mentor, but I canít dwell on that because I have ten minutes peace and quiet and Iím determined to read the next chapter : ) x

Author's Response: Salazar! Woo! I try to stuff him in wherever I can simply because he's so much fun to write. He was a bit more sobering here, not his usual sarcastic self, but I loved writing him nevertheless. His feelings for Rowena remind me of stories I hear about people all the time - Person A and Person C both love Person B, who is for some reason unable to choose. Does she love them both just because both of them love her back? So is it more about receiving love and the way that makes her feel? Neither Godric nor Salazar deserve that, to be let in only halfway, and I'd hardly think it would be fulfilling for Rowena. I think we've all met people whose love lives are like watching a car crash; this is one of those relationships.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I love responding to them. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ardeith 

31st July 2012:
The writing in this chapter is just beautiful. People rarely write Founders fanfic and when they do, it's rarely great and/or quickly abandoned. (If you know a good Founders fanfic, I'd be curious...) Anyway, I think it's because it's so far back in time, people trip over the historical details, anachronisms creep in there and it gets jarring. You've done a wonderful job by staying close to your wrenching love triangle and only using small details to remind people that this is centuries ago (Rowena's horse, wattle walls, etc.).

Because I think you're amused by our speculating, here goes. With Salazar cutting Crabbe loose, obviously we're going to think Crabbe has no chance. Which probably means he will advance. But that means he's in the finals and I'm sure you will have it come down to Colin/Tonks or Colin/Fred because you want the readers torn between two appealing characters... Unless they somehow cheat the game... Hope you're amused! :-)

Author's Response: Hey, Ardeith!

Oooh, I'm quite fond of Diamonds into Coal by academica, which is a novel about Helena and the Bloody Baron. I've admittedly not read much Founders Era, for the same reasons you stated. I'm so pleased you liked my glimpse of that era! I tried very hard to make it compelling and historical but not feel like it was so terribly long ago so as not to deter much from modern times, if that makes any sense.

You're right, speculating does amuse me greatly. XD Garr, it's so frustrating though because I always want to comment on theories but can't. I always start typing and then end up writing spoilers and I have to backspace over it all.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by house elf 

27th July 2012:
I've been wanting to read this for a while due to the gripping summary (and awesome banner) and I'm so glad I finally did! I was a little intimidated at first because of the length - I'm a slooow reader.

I love love love this story! You've probably heard this all before, but it's by far the most creative, original, interesting, convincing, addicting, carefully put together (and all the other adjectives...) fic on the archives. I just, I can't even put into words how much awe I am in of your writing. The characters are written perfectly. I'm constantly kept on my toes and surprised about what happens next.

I'm really glad this chapter was founders-based - I've been missing them. But I have to admit, I'm really looking forward to the next round :D Those chapters are the best.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi, house elf! I'm so glad you gave my story a try. I know that it's so long and I update every week so that builds up pretty quickly. D: So I very much understand your hesitation! So happy you read it, anyway!

Oh my goodness, those are a lot of wonderful adjectives. I'm so, so flattered! I don't even know how to respond to that, but my jaw is somewhere on the floor.

I must admit, I love posting the round chapters the most. XD And as of right this moment, I have updated the next chapter today, which means that next Wednesday is a duel chapter! (I stuff three transitional chapters between each duel.)

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

27th July 2012:
She lifted her fair palms up to cradle his face, and he couldnít suppress a slight smile that marred his otherwise troubled expression. "I'm yours. You're safe." She hesitated - he could see it written plainly across her face in Godric's fancy penmanship

^ Wow. At first I didn't make the connection for the characters but I just woke up so excuse me for that. I really felt like I was reading an entirely different story. Salazar was so different and honestly I wanted more. I wanted to know about the two of them and what his life was like before he died. I think you could write a great Founders story and pretty much put that genre 'on the map' on the archives.

He'd cried so much that his eyes were plagued with popped blood vessels, and he began to swiftly age, growing old over the course of a month. When he lay in his coffin, his once-black hair now curls of silver, his thin supply of friends had barely recognized him.

^ I almost cried too and I'm not even attached to her emotionally. There was something about his pain that was just so sorrowful. I can't help but feel for him.

I think him not helping Vincent is going to be a game changer. He's not very bright. Yes, he has nothing to lose and is willing to use whatever tactics that come to mind but he's not going to be able to win (I think) without some help. I mean, Tonks can use dark spells if she wanted too. They all really could but sometimes it's not about using dark spells or brutual force. Sometimes it's about pure strategy, about using your brain. I don't think Lily was the strongest but I think she won all those years because she had the drive and the brains to succeed.

Does he?

Author's Response: Hi, Deeds!!

I'm truly surprised by how much I liked writing this era. Maybe it's because it was just a fleeting scene and I didn't have to go into much historical detail -everything around them was sort of blurry and I could just focus on Rowena and Salazar. I've never written Founders extensively but it sounds like a challenge and challenges very much appeal to me. Who knows, when I'm finished with this, I might dabble in that! A prequel of sorts... Baghh, now I have plunnies. XD

I feel so horribly for Salazar here. He's so broken.

You pose an excellent question. Of course I must be vague, though, and only answer with a:

:3

Heee. Thank you for reading and reviewing!!



 Report Review

Review #11, by WitnesstoitAll 

26th July 2012:
SARAH.

GOODNESS GRACIOUS. I don't know how, but I managed to miss this update yesterday and crey... I feel so badly because this is so, so good.

I know this entire chapter is about the founders, but I can't help but draw parallels to the triangle between snape and lily and james. Especially with their physical descriptions... The opening scene was gorgeous and a half... the second person works so, so well. and the imagery... gah. can I just sink into the words and live there?

I loved seeing a bit of Salazar and Rowena's lives before death. And I found it particularly telling of their relationship that Rowena didn't want to be seen by Godric while in salazar's arms. I loved when Salazar said that bit about ... by not hurting him, you're hurting me. gahh. I actually feel for the man and wish Rowena would just love him.

Annnd you clever, clever writer, you. Youíre all that I need, she had once told him. And donít ever let me forget it. Those words. You've written them before...and I believe it was when Lily was speaking to James about Severus. And here rowena is speaking to Salazar. gahhh. It's like parallel... but not parallel b/c it's like all in a funhouse mirror. Godric is James in appearance and virtue and Salazar is Snape in appearance and virtue except not actually and it's all distorted. Love is such a strange thing and love triangles the strangest of all. This is beautiful, on so many levels -- your characters, your description, this world is so, so rich and well developed.

Gah. I would read this story if it was solely about the founders... only it's not... it's about so so much more than that... the politics of the races, the contestants, all those living in the village... the grotta. ermehgerd.

This is so brilliant, and you never cease to amaze me with it.

Author's Response: MEL. ♥

I love, love, love how you pick up on stuff. I think there's always a level of apprehension in writers that the hints they lay are too vague and will be missed, but you picked up on the parallels, and I'm just very YAY.

Rowena is sort of the representation of women I've seen in just about every love triangle in existence. They have it in their heads that they have to choose between these two people, that they /must/ make a choice, that it's all down between these two people. And it always makes me wonder: shouldn't you find someone with everything you want, instead of those qualities divided between two people? I've never understood that. If you can't make up your mind between them, then you shouldn't be with either one.

Yep, I used those words before. Although I do believe that in Lily's case, she said 'want' instead of 'need'. :3

And here I thought no one would like this chapter because it was founders era! I thought everyone would find it boring since that era isn't very popular on the archive. Ermehgerd, Melissa. I'm so full of feels. You are so awesome, you have no idea, and you've helped shape this story in ways you don't even know, you and Rachel both. You are the maple syrup to my french toast.



 Report Review

Review #12, by Bluebell 

26th July 2012:
Amazing story-the idea, the characters' portrayal, the writing. Well done doesn't seem an adequate response but it's all I can say unless you want a bunch of words stringed togther in an incoherent sentence!

I loved, loved,loved this story. And may I add your characters are some of the most real one's I've read. so many people just keep their canon characters two dimensional but you've not only stayed true to the canon but added realistic strokes and shades to make them more real. It's beautiful, I can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Hi, Bluebell! Thank you for reading and reviewing. :) I'm so, so happy you think these characters are canon and multidimensional. I have a large cast so I worry that some of them slip through the cracks, and it's very encouraging to receive this kind of positive feedback about them.

Thank you so much for reading! I update every Wednesday. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by ValWitch21 

25th July 2012:
Great chapter, I am so jealous. You manage to convey so many things in your story and your characters are just perfect...
Poor Salazar, I had a big lump in my throat. Please make him happy? Please?
And now that I'm done with my puppy-eye plea, I'm going to switch into I'mahorribleperson mode: please let Crabbe get to round 5 so he can die then. I know it's just horrid and nasty to ask for a character's death, but if you kill off anyone else I'm going to break down and then probably hex you...
You can't kill Tonks. Or Fred. Or Colin. Please? *puppy eyes*

Even if you do, you're still an amazing writer, and this story is just as amazing.
I can't wait for the next chapter (is it just me or do you update every Wednesday? In that case YAAAY!)

PS: I'm not giving you 10/10, even though you do deserve full points, because this chapter was too sad for my own good.

You do deserve 10 though: your writing is beautiful, your plot is breathtaking, your characters are perfect, and the language freak that I am can't help but appreciate your flawless spelling and grammar :)

And now I'm even more jealous than before.

Author's Response: HAHAHA. I don't think I've ever had someone withhold a 10/10 because a chapter made them sad! But to hear that you liked this chapter so much, and the rest of the story as well, is so wonderful to know that you've got me grinning from ear to ear. XD And I do feel bad for Salazar. I feel bad for Godric, too - Rowena just can't seem to make up her mind.

Poor Crabbe! Oh my goodness, everyone wants poor Crabbe to die. He gets no love or support in this story from you readers, which he probably has coming since he's such a bully and all.

Yes, I update every Wednesday! :)

This review made my week. Thank you so, so much.

^ ^


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

25th July 2012:
I was so happy to see Salazar as the main character of this chapter! I completely adore how you write him! I love him! Now I just want him to be happy!
Ah this chapter was as brilliantly written as always! Can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: Yay! That's fabulous to hear - I wasn't sure what readers would think of the random detour into Founder's Era. I just really love Salazar and wanted to tell a bit more of his story.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by TenthWeasley 

25th July 2012:
Jumping on this update like a boss! Ėmuch flexing of the arm muscles- I have no shame in admitting that Iíve been sitting here refreshing the page for a good couple of hours now, waiting for this chapter to pop up, just because Iíve got plans tonight and didnít want to leave you hankering for a review until tomorrow. WhichÖ sounds kind of arrogant, now that itís typed out. ďHi, hello, yes, I know you wait for my reviews, peasant.Ē (Iíve literally had nothing to eat but coffee and a Jolly Rancher today. Fair warning.) But no, seriously, Iíve been waiting for this to pop up!

Okay, so that first bit. ♥ That is such an eerie comparison between James and Snape, and it actually makes Snape kind ofÖ creepy. Heartbreakingly so, but creepy nonetheless. I love the use of second person, though; it kind of reminds me of Purgatory somehow, how Luciusís parts are in third person and Narcissaís are in first. And then it reminded me of The Night Circus (which is a more apt comparison, now I look back on it), and how the story alternated between the actual plot, and a second-person tour through the circus. I adored it, though Ė it grabbed my attention, which is fantastic, and mostly because of the way you describe things. Which always gets me about your writing, but that leads into the next section of this review! (I like methodical reviews.)

I just feel somehow that I see things exactly the way you do, and I mean that not as a creepy statement (I feel like thatís a word Iím already using too much in this review) but because I literally see your scenes as the way you describe themÖ before you describe them. Like this line:

It was late autumn, and while the ground was still thickly smattered with rotting leaves -- Thatís exactly how my mind had formed the ground in that little mental picture you get when you read something, even before I read that. And I do think it has something to do with the atmospheres you build for your stories and how easy it is for me to sink into them. When I read this story, Iím nearly fully immersed in it, and thatís one of the things I love best about it. And I know I talk a lot about your imagery and descriptions, but every time, itís something that strikes me.

I love your Founders (although Iím kind of missing smarmy Gryffindor right now, but thatís all right). I donít normally like to read a lot about them, and so consequently havenít, but I lovelovelove Salazar/Rowena. Because, and I think Iíve said this before, he gets so much crap in fic. Roar. It is always Godric/Rowena and now you set up a sort of tragic love triangle between the three (which is clearly the best kind of love triangle) and thatís such an original thing to do, where theyíre concerned. ♥ And I love it all the more because itís not a happy-ever-after romance, and Slytherinís still in sort of agony over her:

Somewhere between the space of now and then, Rowena had chosen Godric over emptiness and Salazar had ended up alone, unwanted. -- Favorite line from this chapter. That kind of broke my heart, in the best, best way. Your characters are so human, realistically written and driven. Can I draw a comparison between him and Snape? Was that the purpose for the two sections together? THATíS ALMOST A SNILY THING, WHAT ROWENA DID. NOT REALLY, BUT THEN SORT OF. Iím having small epiphanies while writing this, and Iíve got that twisty sort of feeling inside of me.

And ooh, I want to know what happens to Crabbe in the next round. A small, selfish part of me wants him kicked out for booting Cedric. And a larger selfish part of me wants him to stick around until the end and then get defeated. Because now Iím thinking about it, he probably got by on Slytherinís merits, not his ownÖ

Boo. My head hurts. Clearly you should just post the next chapter so I donít have to think about it too much. ♥ And yay, Iím so happy that I got to read this before tonight, so I wonít be plagued with guilt about it! Not that itís a chore to read, because it definitely isnít. But you are very deserving of first-day reviews if anyone is, and I do sort of feel like I owe you them. :3 Again. Running on coffee, and the more I defend my actions the more muddled they look to me.

Are you tangled up yet? BRILLIANT CHAPTER, AS ALWAYS. ♥

Author's Response: HAYOOO ♥

First, just going to lulz for a bit because of the Snape/Lily/James thing. ♥ ♥ ♥

Okay, that is totes creepy, you seeing the leaves before I write them. I think I know why you saw that scene before you read the explicit details, though - because that's exactly how I saw it without even realizing it, which sounds super confusing but, like, I wasn't really thinking about the weather/season on a conscious level, but I had this vision of a buttery, leaf-strewn morning circulating around and, I think I have stopped making sense. Some scenes just arrive exactly how you expect them to, because for some reason it just seems the most natural. ARE YOU LOST YET? ON TO THE NEXT PARAGRAPH~

Baww, smarmy Gryffindor. And now because of you, it's impossible to think of him without thinking also of Lockhart, and shippiness.

Okay, confession, I have no idea how this love triangle wormed its way into a chapter of its own because initially I intended for this to be a very, very, very small background thing. But I derno, Slytherin started plucking on my heartstrings, woe about his troubles, so I decided to dip into Founders. And I'm surprised by how much I liked doing it.

ONCE UPON A TIME THERE WAS A WRITER NAMED TOUJOURS PADFOOT AND SHE HAD LOTS OF LOVE FOR A WRITER NAMED TENTHWEASLEY AND THEY BOTH BECAME FAMOUS, THE END.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review