Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LiveInTheAM 

4th December 2015:
I know this is a review made for a chapter long ago written and inevitably unread, but I have to say this before I forget. I've been reading this story non-stop and don't intend to ever quit until I'm done, and - allow me to affect true Harry Potter fashion here - bloody hell, mate, you are one talented writer. Your pace is perfect. Your descriptions are individual and delightful. And your characters are deep. I'll say it again, you are incredibly talented. Publish something, anything.

Author's Response: I got to the review! Eventually, it's been a busy week. I'm so glad you've found the story and are enjoying it; I hope you stick it through to the very end.

I do, indeed, self-publish some bits and bobs; they're out there in the cyberspace somewhere for those who know where to look. ;-)

Thank you very much for your kind words, and for your review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotter 

13th September 2015:
Hi, again :)

Oh goodness, it all went on in this chapter! I can see why Scorpius reacted the way that he did because of Rose throwing the Miranda thing in his face but at the same time Albus was totally right, it's Miranda and Flynn that Scorpius is angry at, not Rose. Having said that, Rose definitely gave as good as she got with that bat-bogey hex! Boy, there's a lot of tension between those two isn't there? I feel sorry for Albus being caught in the middle of them.

Another brilliant chapter :)

Dee

Author's Response: Scorpius threw a bit of a tantrum here! Rose wasn't to know what she said was a sore spot, but it was still unkind; Albus, however, is right. And also suffers a lot stuck between them! Rose doesn't hold back. Her temper is still her father's.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by EmmaGM 

2nd February 2015:
Very good chapter. It was nice to see one of the new teachers at work. I think you handled the friction between Rose, Albus and Scorpius wonderfully. Their reactions were very believable for sixteen year olds.

Author's Response: They're very silly kids right now! And prone to bad decisions, like bickering like this. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Roisin 

25th October 2014:
I love the whole 'researcher who things teaching would be better without the students' thing! That's TOTALLY how a lot of college professors are!

Also, and I totally forgot to mention this in the last review, but I really like how you write Slytherin attributes. Like how Scorpius is really aware of when he seems convincing, whether or not people suspect him, etc. And then, in the last chapter, the whole thing about whether or not to fight the rumors, etc. I like reading about Slytherin qualities without them having an Evil edge - where instead of 'manipulative,' people are 'keen social observers,' and so on.

I also just can't believe how tightly plotted and just PERFECT this whole story is! You have this inciting incident, and then all these clear lines of cause and effect later. Everything happens for a reason, but always feels organic rather than forced. And you have these more interpersonal plotlines to keep the story progressing and interesting before the Main Plot gets going, and carry them through the piece. JUST EXCELLENT.

Plus, all your characters are really great and dimensional. They all have flaws (well, maybe not Albus so much, at least not right now), but they are still endearing!

On to the next!
-Roisin

Author's Response: Yeah, I've had professors like Lockett. Harsher for a schoolteacher, but she's not been there long and isn't thrilled by it.

I really try to keep my Slytherins nuanced rather than evil/unpleasant. When they're more heroic, I see them as being heroes of quick wits, in action and with people. We'll see more of that from Selena as well as Scorpius.

Albus is a much simpler character than the rest, and in many ways he's my biggest weakness here because I let him become a foil more than as 3-dimensional as the other guys. But he grows into it.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Siriuslover177 

19th June 2014:
*sigh* why did Scorp have to do that? He knew Rose and Al would get mad at him. And of course the teacher is going to say something. I understand that he is angry with what Rose said, but I agree with Al, he cant be mad if he doesnt want people knowing the truth.

Although Rose really shouldnt believe everything that she hears. I mean, what would Flynn really know about the situation woth Sirius and Miranda? Nothing.

I hope Al doesnt stay to mad at Scorp. I dont want everyone to be mad at him.

~Sarah
10/10

Author's Response: Scorpius' worst trait is that he will act or speak without thinking, especially if he's angry or hurt. That's a curse which will bite him a few times to come.

Rose's worst trait is that she thinks she has all of the answers, which means she decides ahead of time who to listen to and who to ignore. She'll learn.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Europa27 

30th December 2013:
I really dont like Rose here... although i dont know her side, i feel like she is behaving too much like a high and mighty princess...

Author's Response: At this point, no, Rose isn't hugely likable. On the one hand, we haven't had her point of view yet - which is why it comes next chapter. As a writer, I knew what was going on with her and why, but I was aware she wasn't coming across as so sympathetic, so I wanted to get more into her head so we could see her when she wasn't being wound up by Scorpius. That said, "Why does Rose hate Scorpius?" is probably THE big question of the personal dynamics of Ignite.

But she's not meant to be flawless, so I'm glad she's getting a reaction! Thanks for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #7, by LightLeviosa5443 

19th November 2013:
I really liked this chapter.

I'm interested in finding out Scorpius' side of the story, and what really happened in the past relationship that is causing all of these problems. Also, when is Rose going to break up with Flynn, because really! He's such a prat!

I love your writing style, I waited a few chapters before I started to review to make sure that I was really captivated, but I know I'm going to continue reading this one. Brilliant job!

xoxo LL

Author's Response: Scorpius' story will come out over the course of the fic, have no fear. As will some sort of resolution or peace-making between Rose and Flynn who, really... he DOES have good points. Just he also has glaring flaws she has yet to see.

I'm glad you're enjoying the fic! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by bomberchica 

16th August 2012:
Another great chapter. One thing I noticed though, is that Ginny didn't invent the Bat-Bogey Hex, but rather made it famous, more so.

Author's Response: You are right! I should address that, for some reason I thought she invented it (which would have been a tall task, but then, Snape invented Sectumsempra). Still, I shall correct that - it's not a big deal, as it just needs to be an uncommon 'signature' spell.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #9, by water_lily43175 

16th July 2012:
IGNITE. Crying with excitement right now. I'm addicted already! Lockett. Tell me it's a cross over and that she is Nat. Or at least a relation. This, I would love.

Ah, Mr Doyle again. Happy days! Miranda is a Travers. Bleurgh.

Oh, Scorpius, what on earth are you up to? This boy is going to end up in a lot of trouble someday at this rate. HMM. "Apparently the notion of ribbeting was euphoric". Nice.

THAT'S what Scorpius is up to. Low blow from Rose trying to involve Albus. Tsk tsk. Angry Albus, oh dear. Although at least he's angry with them both. Rose was seriously horrible there. I am not liking her at all! Though I suspect that's partly because all of this is coming from Scorpy's point of view, but even so, she is not being nice. Love the whole comparison between Scorp and Al in terms of Potions skill. Yet another reason why they are the best bromance since Harry and Ron themselves (except NEITHER of them were particularly good at any aspect of Potions. Though I expect they would have been better if not for Snape. That's beside the point). VERY GOOD MORE PLEASE.

Author's Response: Yep, that there's Nat! I realised when I was building the character and their background that I could make it Nat and lose nothing - and it added new depth, at least from my perspective as a writer. So lots of family associations with this one, Matt Doyle and yeah, poor Miranda has unfortunate family connections.

Rose was, indeed, rather unreasonable. I mean, from her perspective it's not like she doesn't have reason to be upset and to go off on one, but drawing in Albus is a bit beyond the pale. She has her reasons for taking Scorpius' behaviour PARTICULARLY badly, however. And Albus knows it's bad, but Albus will be eternally even-handed and is perfectly capable of holding them both accountable for their individual misdeeds. Just the bromance is all sad right now. ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review