Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Felicia 

15th February 2014:
Wow. I almost regret giving you a 10 earlier, because it means there is nothing higher to give you for this chapter.

Loved the action scene. Loved the emotion. The whole "incredible superhero"-thing works here because, seriously, a lifetime of duelling and learning coupled with strong magical talent is bound to make you much, much better than random scum.

" In the middle of it all, he stood, powerful and miserable, triumphant and broken, bathed in fury and drowning in grief."

I read that so many times... Poor, poor Harry. :(

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm glad that you "got" the duality of Harry's situation in this chapter. The duel against the Blood Order was the culmination of a lifetime of carefully developing his talents and honing his skills. It should have been a triumphant moment for him. But he can't enjoy it in the slightest, because his "victory" means that he'll have to continue living without Ginny and seeing the people he cares about in danger. Poor Harry, indeed.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by peggy77 

26th November 2013:
Perfect! I honestly feel this has been your best chapter so far. Not because of the great fight scene, because we got to see Harry's emotions both during the fight and then afterwards when Ron and Hermione showed up.

It was good for Harry to get his feelings about Ginny's death out, but the part I loved reading the most were his thoughts as he was fighting the Blood Order Goonies.

Again, Perfect!

Author's Response: This chapter was actually my favorite out of the entire story. Harry is in such a dark place here, teetering on the edge. I thought it was really important to show everyone just how much turmoil there was on the inside.

You're putting a huge smile on my face! Thank you for sharing all your thoughts and reactions with me!


 Report Review

Review #3, by APerkins 

12th November 2013:
Ok, so I have to confess, I have read to the end, and am now coming back to review. I was beginning to feel like I was just repeating myself in the reviews, and running out of anything meaningful to say, so I have gone away, and come back again to look whit fresh eyes, and this time the words will be fresh- even if it is exactly the same as what I said in my last review (probably something along the lines of I love it, its amazing, you write so well, I love your dialogue, I love your characterisation)
you can see why I was having troubles right?

Anyway, I seem to have recall being vaguely concerned that Neville was a little harsh on Harry a few chapters back cause Harry checked out for 5 minutes or so after important person in his life had died.

This time, Harry really has checked out. Seriously, he's losing his grip. we are reading his thoguhts in response to the world that carries on around him, oblivious, and it sets up this creepy atmosphere. you write so well. Im sorry. broken record. I know.
No less true for all that though!

I am also wondering exactly how tempted Octavia is by the voice - she has plans for what she is going to do when she gets given the power it promises. does she realise it is evil? I wasnt sure, but I kinda like the seed of doubt that we were left with after that little snapshot of her and arabella.

Malfoy had one line in there that really struck me "If I thought that Id probably be lying thee with them"
yes. Yes he would, and that one line says so much about how much things have changed.

Ok. but why. WHY if Harry can go all avenging angel and kill a circle of death eaters singlehandedly, WHY are there death eaters in existence? Im not saying Harry should be kiling peopl,e but if he can kill them certianly he can incarcerate them right?

anyway, Im only so passionate cause Im sucked into the story line.

You write really well. I love you dialogue. I love the way you do action scenes. I think you have a great handle on the characterisations. I try so hard not to gush, and... well. I just want to gush.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

So you've come to one of my absolute favorite chapters in the entire story. This one was probably more fun to write than any of the others, even though it's incredibly dark.

I don't mind at all that you've read ahead. It makes your perspective more interesting, I think.

Harry pretty much hit his limit for what he could stand to lose after Neville's death. You're looking at a man who truly no longer cares whether he has to do -- up to and including sacrificing his own life -- so long as he doesn't have to watch anyone else die.

Octavia is definitely tempted, but there's that little bit of her grandmother in the back of her mind saying, "this is too good to be true." Another way to look at it is that she's one of the younger cousins in the extended Weasley family. She's probably been pranked and fooled lots of times by her older cousins. Regardless, she's cautious.

Things have changed a great deal with Draco. Older, wiser and acutely aware of the fact that some things just aren't worth fighting wars over.

Why? Because in his ordinary, everyday life, Harry isn't driven to the brink of darkness. Conjuring lightning is an inherently dark act, whether you're a grief-stricken wizard or a megalomaniacal galactic emperor. It's not a spell that's precisely targeted to minimize the harm that it causes. Lightning is deadly and indiscriminate. Something about that act seemed to me like it said everything that needs to be said about Harry's mental state.

I'm really glad that you're still enjoying the story. It's oh so close to being over. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

11th February 2013:
Harry was just... Deadly and dangerous in this, wasn't he? Not himself, but in a way so natural to see. After everything he's been through, everyone he's lost, I think I'd have been more surprised if he hadn't snuck off to find them and do what he did. And what he did to Nott, what he said kinda put chills down my back. It's odd for me to say this, but your Nott really got what was coming to him.

I said it would be Draco, it could only have been Draco who followed Harry in my head, given everything he's done so far to help get Octavia back. But to see the four working together to bring her back, that is strange to see. But that's family... I love that their common goal in saving Octavia brings them together.

Amazing, if a little scary, chapter. I'm kind of afraid of how Harry will pull through this.

Sam.

Author's Response: Yep, my Nott is a very different character from yours. He definitely earned his one-way trip to the permanent care ward at St. Mungo's. Harry was being Harry, same as always. This time, however, there was somebody else who could see what was coming.

Draco brings a definitely practicality to things, doesn't he? In a lot of ways, he's better able to see things for what they are than Ron or Hermione because he's not burdened by their optimism.

This was definitely one of my favorite chapters, having Harry dance on the edge of darkness. You're almost to the big finale!


 Report Review

Review #5, by rez 

7th November 2012:
I cried when I read Harry's speech about Ginny. god you're an amazing writer.

11/10

Author's Response: I'm really glad you liked this chapter. It's one of my favorites in the entire story.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by shadowcat2 

14th August 2012:
Harry is so lost without Ginny. How can make something so sad and yet so beautiful? You're one amazing writer. The story is almost over. I think I will keep on reading the next chapters until I can no longer keep my eyes open. :)

Author's Response: Yay! Look who's back!

Yes, Harry is very lost, but he finally starts to overcome his grief in this chapter.

I hope your eyes stay open for a while. ;) Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by CloakAuror9 

25th July 2012:
That. Was. Intense.

Wow. This chapter was so packed with actions and emotions, in a way it's kind of mind-blowing.

Harry's thoughts were killing me through-out the story. They were just so dark and scary, it's like all the happiness, joy and all good things in him were getting sucked out by the war. Maybe it is. *shrugs* Harry's fury was just so scary. The way he snapped wasn't something I expected at all, but I really should've it coming! Considering what had just happened in the last few chapters. I must admit though, I kind of enjoyed seeing him 'snap' because we rarely get to see his dark side and it's also written well so what's not to like?! And also, I know Nott kind of had the legilimens thing coming for him, but I can't help but feel sorry for him. :

Though, the way he doesn't really think before he acts frustrates me a lot -it always has, anyway. On that point, (and I know I've said this like a million times before) I thought your characterisation of all the characters, especially Harry, always seem so real and very canon. They might be all grown-up in this story, but the trio is still the same and I like the fact that you do that.

"Ever since Ginny died. All I've wanted was to be with her again." And cue the tears. (Have you ever noticed how much you make me cry? Esme, Neville and this! I don't even know how I'm going to react to the end.) I think somewhere inside all of the readers we've always known that it's what Harry has always wanted, but for Harry to say it out loud...it's just completely heart-wrenching.

Ron is a really great guy, punching sense into his friend like that! It's great to know that he still very much cares for Harry after all that has happened -not that I expected him not to, or anything. And so did Hermione, man their friendship really goes a long way.

I love how Draco had a chance to be a part of this chapter! His scenes might have been small, but his little 'stunt' (I don't know what else to call it.) with Harry was really nice. I really enjoyed reading about Draco, you should totally write something about him. *cough* hint *cough*. (I don't know why, but I kept on feeling as if I was reading Drarry scenes! Is that weird or what?)

I realise that I talked a lot about Harry on this chapter and I'm really sorry about that! I would've talked about the other characters as well, but my lunch time has ran out! I'm going to catch up with the story this week, I hope!

Taaa,
Izzy xx
(I hope the review made sense!)

Author's Response: Izzy's back! Yay! So excited to see you!

I'm really glad that the intensity of the chapter came through. All of Harry's anger and grief really peak in this one. Everything that he's been through culminates in a single moment where he no longer cares about his own life or the lives of the Blood Order wizards. He is determined to find some sort of closure, and whether he saves Octavia or dies trying doesn't matter much to him. It's a very dark place.

His behavior also represents a tipping point for Ron, who just can't look the other way any longer. It all comes together for Ron in that one moment, when he finally realizes what's been going on with Harry. I think he had an idea after Harry almost apparated into mid-air during the ambulance chase way back in chapter 25, but this one removed all doubt.

And this leads to one of the story's big moments for the trio. All of them have struggled to some degree to deal with their grief over Ginny's death. Harry's difficulties are fairly well known to the other two, although they didn't understand the full extent. Hermione was aware of Ron's guilt, but not the true depths of it. And neither Ron nor Harry knew about Hermione's broken lunch date on the day Ginny died. An awful lot of things finally made it out into the open.

I'm pleased to say that Draco will be with you until the end. His role is actually rather important. The next project I'm planning to post is actually a Draco-centric story. Two chapters are already written, although they need some revision.

It's understandable that there's a lot of focus on Harry. This is, after all, mostly his story.

Again, it's so very nice to see you. I hope that everything calms down in your life and you find that elusive balance you've been searching for. Thanks so much for all of your amazing, detailed, thoughtful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Pixileanin 

17th July 2012:
Fury. This chapter was aptly named.

There were so many charged moments in this chapter. My head is spinning so fast that it's hard to sort them all out and comment on each of them specifically. I came away with a breathless, heart-wrenching feeling, knowing that deep down, Harry will half-regret what he did. Or maybe not?

Everything, from the haze of Harry's thoughts in the beginning to the resolve he had to end it, going it alone, was incredibly well-paced and deliberate.

I loved the unlikely and unexpected ally he had in Draco. Draco was all business, and rightly so. I think that's the best and only reaction that Harry would have dealt with seriously.

"Lightning erupted from his wand again and the air screamed in protest. He opened his heart and emptied everything into the curse. The shield charms of his remaining attackers were pierced like tissue. For one deadly instant, three lives were joined on the points of jagged, blue streaks of plasma. Then it was over."

That. *speechless*

The Legilimens portion was absolutely spectacular. Harry ripped through Nott's mind in such a fast-forward, ruthless way and when he was done, there was nothing left. I could actually visualize the pictures Harry saw, flashing in his view, frantically flipping through the memories like... like a flip-book, I guess. You wrote this very much in the way that I suspect Legilimens works. I always assumed that if the caster wasn't careful, his "victim" could be irreparably damaged by an invasion of the mind. And the emotion that you infused into Harry's actions was crazy. I mean, he was half-crazed, but it was also crazy-good.

Hermione's revelation was a surprise to me. I think it helped that Harry wasn't the only one with secret thoughts about Ginny's death. It was beautiful to see the three of them coming together again.

I'm ready to see some Tenabra action. I'm sure it's coming up somewhere in the next few chapters. Though, I'm terrified for Octavia. She's been lucky so far. I only hope her luck will hold long enough for her rescuers to get her out of that cave.

Superbly done!

Author's Response: Good morning! Always a nice surprise!

From the earliest drafts, this chapter was meant to be very intense. The particulars changed a few times as the plot evolved, but I think it's still very similar to what I had in mind. I'm glad that it came across as intensely as it did. It certainly felt that way while writing it.

Draco seemed like the best choice to send along with Harry. He wasn't going to try to talk Harry out of anything because, at least for the appearance's sake, he doesn't care about Harry. He also thinks of himself as cold and ruthless, although I think he's learned a new definition of those terms after watching Harry dispose of the Blood Order.

When I came up with the lightning curse, I was basically thinking of Sith lightning from Star Wars. It's an inherently dark spell, one that can only be cast in anger. By this point, Harry is pretty much beyond caring, though.

For the scene where Harry essentially destroys Nott's mind in search of Octavia, I was thinking of a couple of things. First, there was obviously the gross violations that Snape inflicts on Harry during his Occlumency "lessons". Second was the scene in the second Matrix movie where Neo is flying at hyper-sonic speed to rescue Trinity and the Matrix is essentially being swept up in his wake. I do think of the damage to Nott as being totally irreparable.

Hermione's confession came to me in the spur of the moment as I was writing the end of the chapter. I was kind of worried about how it sounded, but I liked it too much to take it out. I'm glad you liked the trio's "moment". It was a long time in coming.

If it's Tenabra you want, she's back in the next chapter. Hang on, things only get faster from here.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

16th July 2012:
I'm back! Woo-hoo! Let me tell you I fist pumped for you yesterday. Did some 'wedding' moves that's always a crowd pleaser and then proceeded to pass out on my bed a few minutes later. Congrats on reaching your goal!

It could have been him, you know? Tom Riddle could have just as easily gone after him. We both fit the prophecy. Do you ever wonder how things would have turned out? How Neville and I would have turned out? Would it be me over there under that sheet instead of him?

^ You know I wouldn't have expected Harry to even voice that. I feel like that's something that has always remained unsaid. As if it was said outloud by too many people it could have been true. Of course we know it could have been true but sometimes saying things and putting it out there in the 'universe' just brings back bad vibes. It makes me think if Harry would have wished it was Neville all those years ago.

I think at one point he might of. Just because it meant he could have had a family but I donít think he would have pondered the thought too much because Neville had been just as hurt as he had. Maybe worse because his parents were alive but they weren't responsive.

Everybody dies, mate, sooner or later.

^ I feel like Ron's responses are kind of cold. I understand though. They haven't exactly completed their task and I know he cares for Neville and all those other people. I don't think it's acceptance that 'hey everybody dies sooner or later' I feel like it's more him trying to be the one that keeps Harry together. To me, at this moment, Harry has pretty much reached his breaking point. I don't know how much more he can handle. He will complete his task, getting Octavia I'm sure, but after that I don't see him being an Auror or putting himself in the crossfires. If he lives through this all of course.

But he isn't going to...right? For some reason I keep thinking, for the last few chapters, that none of this is actually going on. That it happened, but really Harry is dead. He was part of the entire thing and itís more of a reflection until he hops on that train and finally goes off to the 'beyond' or wherever it is you go.

No?

Yes?

I'm warm. I'm cold. I'm most likely cold. I can't shake the feeling though.

Nobody noticed as Harry stood up and walked to the rear of the Great Hall.

^ Why is it that no one ever notices Harry do these things? Like they really expect him to lay low and not go, trap or no trap. Honestly Ron!

The entire portion with Octavia and Arabela was surprising. I didnít think what Draco did to her would actually hurt her but the last few chapters have made comments about her weakness and the book trying to control Octavia. Octavia is such an interesting character, I think. If she wasn't strong I don't think she would be able to defy Arabela like that. She's still a child but there's untapped power inside of her because any other child would have crumbled if Arabela was trying to get into their minds. IMO at least.

It seemed perfectly obvious to Draco. The others had been too busy debating their ludicrous little plan to notice Potter slipping away.

^ I didn't see that coming. I didn't know who it was that grabbed onto Harry's hand but it makes sense it was Draco. He has always been the one to notice him slipping away or going out after hours so he could spy on him and see what he was doing. It's interesting to think that they could have been friends if Harry had accepted his handshake and hadn't stuck up for Ron.

I love these two parts: Wounded men moaned in pain and the acrid smell of burned flesh assaulted his nostrils. He crawled forward, numb to the carnage he had wrought.

Maybe I've got the wrong man, Nott. Maybe none of it is your fault. But vengeance has to start somewhere and you just drew the short straw


Awesome! Harry's fight scene was awesome. It wasn't even a fight scene. It was more of him just letting his rage loose and just kicking you-know-what. About time too. Sometimes I feel like Harry is too 'vanilla,' while others I feel like Harry is on the brink of insanity. One more small push and the Harry we know could disappear.

Ever since Ginny died. All I've wanted was to be with her again.

^ We've known this for quite some time. I'm surprised that Ron and Hermione hadnít really realized before this. I thought it was obvious from the moment he had that conversation with one of his kids in the very beginning chapters. I think it was during his birthday party or something like that.

I don't even like Ginny, you know. For some reason there's something about Ginny in the books that irks me but I still appreciate her character. I understand where Harry is coming from. It takes a really strong person to go on after the love of their life died. She really helped him survive after the war and gave him another chance at happiness, at a life he never could have had.

I can't even guess whatís going to happen from here. Harry could die. Harry could live. I know they're going to defeat Arabela. I'm positive on that part but everything else? I have no idea.

Author's Response: Wow. Sounds like you have your wedding moves down. On a tangentially related note, Old School was on TBS the other night and I was watching the wedding scenes at the start. That really has nothing to do with your review, but that movie is glorious.

Where was I? Oh, yes, your review. I don't think Harry spent too much time thinking about how things would have been different if Neville had been marked by Voldemort instead of him, but with Neville having just been killed, a lot of things are playing out in Harry's mind. He's agonizing over every choice and every possibility, and he's convinced that he's going to see the rest of his friends and family killed before it's all said and done.

Now that I think about it, Ron's reply wasn't especially sensitive. I think he legitimately had no idea how to respond to Harry. He's watching his best friend implode before his very eyes. Harry was always the tough one. The brave one. The hero. I'm sure it's not easy for Ron.

Everything that's happened over the past few chapters is very real, but I'm glad that it had a surreal quality to it if that's what you're saying. Everyone is under unimaginable strain. Nobody has slept much. I have to imagine that life would have taken on a very surreal feeling by this point.

People really do seem to ignore Harry at very key moments. It's almost like some omnipotent hand that's directing events from afar needed it to be that way, isn't it? ;)

Arabela is indeed dying. And she knows it. But Octavia has shown the ability to resist her. While Octavia is a very bright, very special child, there's a bit more to it than that. When Chapter 38 validates -- hopefully today -- you'll get the last key piece of the puzzle.

Draco is still inherently suspicious of Harry. Always will be. And he realizes the futility of what the others are plotting, so he simply chose to pay more attention to Harry.

Everything in the carriage house played out to the words of The Sentinel by Judas Priest in my head. It's as close as I'll probably ever come to writing a song fic. I'm very pleased that the idea came across. Harry is beyond the point of really caring what he's doing. He utterly destroys the remainder of the Blood Order as his anger and grief consume him. But in the end, it brings him no peace.

In my mind, Harry has never been quite as forthcoming with Ron and Hermione as he was with Rose way back in the chapter with the family dinner. The three of them fell into this mindset during the trial where they were completely suppressing their feelings in order to deal with the crisis at hand, and they never completely pulled themselves out of it. Each of them mourned in their own private way, aware of the suffering of the other two but not really wanting to go through the pain of discussing it. Those walls came down in this chapter.

Again, I'd ask you to withhold judgment on Ginny and Harry until the next chapter validates. A lot of things get said that Harry never had the chance to say when she died.

Thanks so much for all of your long, detailed, thoughtful and all-around awesome reviews! And thanks for all of your encouragement as I plowed my way to 400 reviews. You're pretty inspiring, you know that?


 Report Review

Review #10, by Remus 

11th July 2012:
Hey Dan! So sorry that it has taken me forever to come back! :( Work, House Cup, and my own story have been getting in the way...but I'm here and excited to read what happens next!

Just so you know...I don't know if I've forgiven you yet for killing Neville. Bah!

Harry is once again in a dark place. Poor guy, everyone is dying left and right and he has no time to sit down and mourn the loss of a very old friend. This is a guy who really puts his own dark emotions in a bottle and I can't even fathom what will happen when he releases them.

Ron here is brilliant. You've really made the character that I love the most really develop, mature and become wise with his years. In a way, I see him as Harry's rock and someone who will knock some sense into him when he's in his 'Woe is me' stage.

Octavia is quickly becoming one of my favorite characters. I enjoy reading from her point of view. Her view of the world is less complex than an adult. Its either black or white with them. She's also painfully honest. To tell Lady T that the voice is talking to her and that it plans to give her the gift was a bad move but she's just a child. I like how you managed to grasp that innocence in a child and put it in writing without flaw. Children are always hard to write, honestly, at least I think so. We stopped being children a lot time ago so we forget easily how simple the world was back then.

I have to tell you something...out of all the Weasleys, Percy was the one that I disliked the most. I still think that he should've died rather than Fred...however, because of your story I've grown to like the guy. I have a bad feeling that you're going to kill him off...and I feel slightly bad for him. In a way, he's suffered a lot and perhaps needs his own peace. For Molly's sake I hope you don't kill him, though.

Draco is absolutely brilliant. The idea of actually joining forces with Harry must've killed him a bit on the inside but it was something he needed to do for Octavia. Speaking of Harry...he is a great uncle to Octavia by marriage, right? Just trying to get the ever confusing Weasley/Potter family tree clear in my head.

And...Harry snapped. Brilliant. I LOVE this small insight of a Dark Harry that we got to see. He's still on the defensive but its great that we finally see him snap. All the deaths he's seen and felt guilty of really come into play here. Such emotional section. And he feels no remorse about what he's doing.

"Maybe I've got the wrong man, Nott. Maybe none of it is your fault. But vengeance has to start somewhere and you just drew the short straw."--This is the Harry I've been waiting to see and the waiting paid off. The anger he must feel...

And wow...Ron really knocks some sense into Harry. Good for him!

I have to be honest, I got teary eyed during Harry's rant about death. When he spoke about how he was after the Battle of Hogwarts felt very real. Not like some stories that everything his fine and jolly with him as if everything he went through was nothing. The poor guy really needs his eternal rest. I can't even fathom what will happen if Ron or Hermione die before he does. I remember from the Prologue that he's in King's Cross and Ginny finds him. I just have no clue as to what that means...guess I just have to wait and see!

Overall, this was a great chapter once again! I'm glad that I'm a bit behind. That way, after I get done with my project, I can continue with chapter 37!

--Rosie

Author's Response: Hello, again!

If that was forever then forever felt really short to me. ;) Please, don't feel rushed on my account.

You know, I hadn't thought of this as a "Draco" chapter, but now that you mention it, he pops up a lot, doesn't he?

Harry always has and still does tend to bottle up his emotions. What happens when he lets them out? This is the chapter, my friend.

I love Octavia to death. She is challenging to write, for exactly the reasons you're pointing out. She's a precocious child, but she's at that age where children first start to understand the world just a bit and form strong opinions about things. And they haven't developed much of a sense of tact, either.

I'm really hoping that, by the end of the story, you might have a different impression of Percy. If not, I hope you can at least think of him as sympathetic in a way.

So Harry snaps, and he snaps in a very dark and spectacular fashion. I was hoping that you, of all my readers, might comment on the fact that he conjures lightning. In my mind, there's a definite parallel to the way that Sith Lords are able to use the dark side of the force to throw lightning at their adversaries. It's definitely a dark spell, as well as the way that he uses legilimency to essentially destroy Nott's mind in order to find Octavia.

Ron also snaps, in a slightly different way. Like Neville a few chapters ago, he reaches his breaking point with Harry's self-destructive behavior. It isn't until he allows himself to snap that he finally realizes just how deep those self-destructive impulses actually run. It's a very tough moment for the trio. They all have to come to terms with Ginny's death in a way that they have been avoiding for four years.

Chapter 38 is actually written already. I felt like I should wait until I have at least my beta draft of Chapter 39 complete before I post it. But that's coming along pretty well, so who knows? I might throw it into the queue tomorrow.

Thanks so much for being such a loyal, enthusiastic and thoughtful reader. The closer the story draws to its end, the more I've come to realize how much your support means to me.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Roots in Water 

7th July 2012:
It's Roots in Water here with your review! It seems that I've finally caught up, though I know that you'll be posting your next chapter soon.

Woah. This was definitely an emotion-packed chapter and you wrote it in such a way that their emotions came through with a very high intensity. I must say that I hadn't been expecting Harry to admit that he wants to die and it was very interesting to watch the trio bond again over Ginny's death. It reminded me of the beginning of this story, when Harry was at Ginny's grave (and it sure does seem like a long time ago that I read that chapter).

I think that part of what continues to make Ginny's death so heart-wrenching is that is wasn't only the death of a loved one but it also served as a beginning point in a war that is still going on. They still haven't healed as fully as they could have from her death and their current situation is constantly reminding them of it.

Furthermore, Hermione's confession about her "role" in Ginny's death was a surprise and her line "How do you tell somebody..." was very real and sad. I'm glad, though, that they were finally able to fully share their feelings about Ginny's death and that Harry doesn't feel quite so alone in his despair anymore.

(As well, I wonder what Draco was thinking as they had their moment together and if it will change how they interact in the future. I don't think I could treat a person exactly the same after seeing them in such a vulnerable position).

As well, I liked how you had Harry's thoughts running throughout the chapter. It helped to give us a good idea of his mental state and to make his emotions seem more real. He's definitely in a dark place right now, pushed over the edge by Neville's death. I wonder if he's going to feel any regret at a later (much, much later) date when he remembers how he essentially destroyed Nott's mind. From his speech just before he entered his mind, though, I think that he won't be able to feel too much regret, if any, because he has been put through so much a the hands of blood purists.

There were a few things that I noticed, though. To begin, I was a little surprised by the line "A low murmur arose in the hall" because at the beginning of the chapter you had said that everyone was shouting and crying. It just seemed a little odd that all of a sudden the noise level would have dropped so much without you saying something like "a hush fell over the crowd". However, it's a very small detail. As well, I was a little confused by the phrase "draw a bead" - I'm not quite sure what you meant by this. Is it a typo or is it a saying I haven't heard of before?

However, Lady Tenabra's thoughts on the "good" versus "bad" people are very interesting. I believe that she's showed her cynicism before but it was particularly evident here. I suppose it's hard to believe in the goodness of people when you're leading a crusade against a particular group of people and I wonder if this trait is a result of her career or if she chose her path because of this trait.

All in all, I think that you did a great job and created a very powerful chapter. Once again, thanks for requesting and I look forward to seeing what will happen in the next installment!

Author's Response: Hey, Roots!

An awful lot of things came to a head in this chapter, and it was definitely very intense. I'm glad to know that I'm still able to surprise you just a little bit at this very late point in the story. So it's true. I've hinted at it a few times over the course of the story, but Harry does miss Ginny so badly that in his weaker moments he wants to die.

Hermione's role in Ginny's death wasn't necessarily meant to be a huge secret, but it does help to explain just a bit why she's been so reluctant to think of Ginny's death as being part of a larger conspiracy, as Harry does. She doesn't want to think of Ginny's death at all. Maybe, just maybe, her emotional walls were a little more sound than Harry's?

Poor Draco. He is a complete third wheel in this conversation. But he is learning something about his contemporaries.

In this chapter, I thought it was really important to keep the reader plugged in to Harry's thoughts as much as possible. This chapter really is all about Harry and his failed attempts to come to terms with Ginny's death. He will very likely regret the carnage he wrought inside the carriage house someday. Not so much the deaths of the Blood Order members or the destruction of Nott's mind, but just the fact that he really lost control and unleashed some truly terrible magic. I tend to think of the lightning spell as being the same sort of hate-fueled magic as Sith lightning, if that fandom means anything to you.

I take your point on the atmosphere inside the Great Hall. In my head, I had the idea that the owl arrives some time after the chaos of the battle has died down and the wounded have been mostly moved to the hospital wing. But I didn't make that clear because I was deliberately trying to keep Harry's PoV very disjointed and spartan. I probably should have.

"Draw a bead" is apparently an American expression that just doesn't translate well. It comes from the early days of firearms, when the sight on the end of a rifle barrel was literally a bead of metal, added at the end of the fabrication process. So "drawing a bead" meant to place the sight of the rifle over your target. Need a better metaphor...

Lady Tenabra is nothing if not interesting. Her thoughts are fairly complex, and in this case she truly believes what she's saying.

Thanks so much for sharing all of your thoughts and reactions with me. They're always very insightful and helpful as I try to keep the story moving forward. Oh, by the way, was I right about Pansy? ;)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Linaewen 

2nd July 2012:
It's not often that I follow a story and eagerly await updates, but this one has managed to draw me in like almost no other HP fan fiction work has done. I absolutely love how the characters are more mature than they are in the original series, but they are still utterly recognizable as themselves. Plus, your minor and original characters are so well fleshed-out! You truly have a way with words, especially with describing action sequences.

This chapter was so dark, with the glimpses we have into Harry's mind. For some reason the fight scene in this chapter made me compare Harry to Anakin Skywalker (and I know you enjoy Star Wars, given your paraphrasing in an earlier chapter). He's deriving his power from a great, dark well of grief and pain and feels that no one can fully understand him. If he wash't so inherently noble, I think the wizarding world would have to worry about having another Dark Lord rise!

Throughout the story, you've hinted that all he wants to do is be reunited with Ginny in death, but you'v never come right out and said it, which makes Harry's statement that much more powerful in this chapter. Fortunately he has great friends in Ron and Hermione, who are written so perfectly true to character in this chapter. Ron storming ahead and punching while Hermione flits nervously behind, attempting to restrain him - so in keeping with their personalities.

I also enjoy your characterization of old man Draco. His character still retains the arrogance (albeit faded) and snappy wit of the books, but it's clear that he is a loving husband, father, and grandfather. He has so much of his mother in him; family is the most important thing, and he'd to to any lengths to save his granddaughter.

I can't wait to read the conclusion of this story, but at the same time I'm almost sad that it will end. No matter what, though, I'm sure it will be brilliant!

Author's Response: Hello, there!

Thank you so much for the kind words. I really appreciate knowing that you enjoy the story. I'm coming up on a year since I posted the first chapter, and the end is in sight. Still, I always love getting a first-time review from a reader.

I hadn't really thought about parallels between Harry and Anakin, but they certainly exist. He definitely delves into some dark places in this chapter. I think of conjuring lightning as fairly dark magic. I guess that's another parallel to the Sith. But he is inherently noble. He's just been pushed farther than he knows how to handle.

Harry desperately wants to be reunited with Ginny. When he lost her, he lost a huge part of himself. Ron and Hermione are part of his fragile bulwark against utter despair.

It has been very enjoyable to take the Draco Malfoy that I remember from HBP and DH and explore him much further. It's amazing how three relatively short scenes -- Draco crying in Moaning Myrtle's bathroom in HBP, Draco failing to kill Dumbledore just before Snape does it and Draco deciding not to identify Harry for Bellatrix in DH -- took a character who was fairly one-dimensional and not all that interesting and transformed him into something wonderful and complex. Just another facet of JKR's genius as a writer.

I will also be sad when the story is done, but also relieved in a way. This has been a huge personal investment for me, and so far I've managed to not mess anything up too badly. I hope I can keep that up until the end!

Thank you so much for taking some time to leave a review. I would love it if you let me know what you think when the story is all said and done. Or more often, if you like. ;)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jchrissy 

2nd July 2012:
Finally! You know I need to make sure Iím nothing close to multitasking when I review CoB, but I really think today was conspiring against me to keep me away from reviewing chapter 36!! Anyway, donít be mad that I took so long, I wouldnít want you to set Astoria after me or anything..:)


Anyway, letís go! I love the confusion of conversations you have going through Harry. Heís so far from everything that only these little lines are really reaching him, like heís on the outside of a glass wall looking in, where everything is just a bit muffled and distorted.

Harryís thoughts about getting away from him while they still have the chance, they are so dark and so hopeless. I love the way you balance them with Ronís very honest answers, which are obvious to us, but not to Harry. We realize how many lives heís saved, but he only sees the ones that he believes have been lost because of him. Poor, poor Harry :(.

Hermione is so perfect in this entire scene. I could feel her sympathy, her begging Harry through the tone of her voice to come back with her. You did am amazing, she is perfect.

Harry is so numb to everything, why did they even think he would listen? Of course heís going to go act, he thinks the second he acts and itís done, the sooner they are all out of danger. It reminds me so much of when he walks to the woods during DH. He doesnít realize what happens if he walks into his death, he just thinks for some reason if he is gone, theyíll be safer. Heís a frustrating man, isnít he? Then again, what ones arenít!

I absolutely love seeing things through Octavia. Her blunt, simply ideas are so true to her age, yet the way she sees things is terrifying beyond her years. Especially the fact that she realizes someone needs to come for her soon or it will be too late, that part was heartbreaking. Sheís such a strong little girl, but knows she isnít close to safe and that this person is going to hurt her.

Draco Draco Draco.. I Loved that you switched to him for this. Him and Harry are a bit more alike than they realize, arenít they? ;)

His statement about Tom Riddle is so perfect, especially the tie in that he asked Harry the same question about using his real name right before he died. Itís amazing.

Everyone who dares to care about you dies. Your mum and dad. Sirius. Dumbledore. Remus. Ginny. Esme. And now Neville, too. Goodness darling, this one made me so sad :(. I canít believe how many times my heart has broken for Harry.

Rose is just a shell now. Ron and Hermione? Fate is saving them for dessert. - Got to love that bit of extremely dark humor. Especially considering Harry honestly believes it.


The fighting scene is so well done, Dan. I honestly donít understand how you keep the positions in your head well enough to turn them into reality. Itís great, I can imagine every single move Harry makes. I really like when he gets two BO members to curse each other.

Dracoís statement about lying among them if he thought it was an accomplishment is beautifully done and delivered perfectly. A small sentence that makes a huge impact.


And Harry finally breaks. Itís so painful, but at the same time he needed to do that, he needed to finally let everything out of his heart and as hard as it was to read, it was one of the best things heís done towards recovery.

I expected Ron to feel the way he does, she is his baby sister, but Hermioneís revelation is such a shock. There was never any hint that she should have been with Ginny that day. But sheís right, how do you tell someone that you feel like if you would have only kept to your word, they would still be alive? Though, in all honesty the truth is they would probably just both be dead. This gives the three of them something so strong to hold onto together, the realization that itís eating each of them, and though Harry lost the most with a wife, best friend, everything, this is a great reminder to him that they all lost her. Not just him.

This was such an amazing chapter, Dan. And very accurately titled. You have moved us one very large step closer to a resolution... and it better be a good one! ;)!

Author's Response: Hello, there, darling! So nice of you to stop by!

So I think you're completely aware that this was a very dark, very emotionally-laden chapter. Harry reaches his very lowest point here. He is fully prepared to die, but not in the completely selfless way that he faces death in DH. In this chapter, there is a definite element of escape. He's tired of the grief, tired of the pain and simply unwilling to face the possibility that anyone else he cares about might be killed. It's a heart-breaking place to be, but he is able to summon surprising strength from this very low place.

I'm really glad you liked Hermione. You can thank my beta reader for a good chunk of that. She really helped me to fine-tune Hermione's dialog in this chapter.

I love Octavia so much as a character. After all she's been through in this story, it's going to be interesting to have her as a constituent of "my" world if I ever decide to write anything that follows up on CoB. It dawned on my somewhere through this chapter that the things she's seen -- her mother grievously injured, Esme killed, Percy placed under Tenabra's control -- are definitely going to affect her.

When I started writing this chapter, I had one idea of Draco's role and it definitely changed. He wasn't meant to be quite so serious and solemn and brave. His role was more about dropping snide one-liners. Funny how things evolve when you start to commit words to paper.

The fight scenes are always my favorite to write, and this one was no exception. My biggest anxiety is that the whole thing comes off as being "too easy" for Harry. I'm still not quite sure how I feel about it. He's definitely drawing on some very powerful emotions. I'm not sure how the fight would have turned out if he hadn't been able to conjure lightning, which is definitely a dark spell.

When Harry finally breaks, that was hard to write. Some of his dialog actually goes back to a very early draft of the story, when the plot was quite a bit different. I was pleased to still be able to use it, because I've always liked it.

I'm so glad that you liked it! I'm so close to the end now that every chapter feels like such a big deal. I sweat every little detail and worry about how it's going to play out. Thanks for all of your encouragement and kind words!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Em 

2nd July 2012:
Gosh, this chapter was heartbreaking, but in an entirely different way than the previous chapter was (I'm still not over Neville's death! Definitely not over it!).

I want to reach into your story and hug Harry and Ron and Hermione and Draco and Rose and Octavia and Percy and everyone who isn't Tenabra or her cronies.

Author's Response: Everyone involved is suffering through some very difficult times. All I can say is that I think it will all work out in the end. And I'm sure all of the characters would appreciate your hugs. :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lilly Luna 

2nd July 2012:
Honestly, I am sobbing right now. Beautifully written! I love you story so much.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! I really hate to make anybody cry, but I'm so happy that you like the story.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review