Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauder5 

6th April 2013:
I meant to keep reading this story a long time ago, but I haven't got around to it. But finally, I read another chapter. And it was as good as I had expected. Not that I'm not interested in the Devil's Duel and its outcome, but it was quite nice to get a break from it.

It was also very nice to see Sirius and Regulus get along. I see no reason why they shouldn't. Sirius must forgive Regulus after what he did, right? He was good, after all. So that makes me really happy.

Ariana was a nice addition too. I like how you described her fear of life on earth, and I hope we'll get to see more of her in this story.

It was also interesting to hear their speculations on the outcome of the Devil's Duel, to get a better insight on why they forced Peter to join and the rules of the imprisonment in the Grotta.

Overall, a very good chapter. I have no complaints, and I'm eager to keep reading :)

Author's Response: The Devil's Duel is a grueling, time-sucking, stressful occasion. As much as I liked writing the various rounds, the real meat and mystery is in the in-between chapters. You'll find as the story progresses that there is a whole lot more to this island than meets the eye.

I loved giving Sirius and Regulus the opportunity to have family again. The brothers had a great many years to reflect on what was important and what wasn't, and in my head I think they embraced each other fairly quickly after Sirius arrived in Cliodna's Clock.

Ahh, the speculations. They are endless. If there's one think you can say about the afterlife, it's that they have very, VERY little to do. So they will talk certain subjects to death.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by shadowcat2 

28th February 2013:
I loved absolutely everything you wrote about Regulus and Sirius. It was perfect.thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you liked it. Sirius and Regulus really need each other. They're all the family they've got, really, since Orion's wasted away pining for Walburga. They've got a bond in the afterlife that they didn't have when they were alive. A fresh start. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

26th January 2013:
Another lovely chapter. It was good to hear from Sirius what he and the others thought - especially to know that they understand that Peter's not what he seems.

Off to the next! :)

Author's Response: Sirius has had quite a few years to stew in the knowledge of what Peter's capable of. He and James and Remus need to give him credit where credit is due. While Peter is not a likeable guy, he's definitely a contender!

 Report Review

Review #4, by justonemorefic 

2nd January 2013:
cramp your style lol what style Regulus.

Since there wasn’t a whole lot of news to go around in Cliodna’s Clock even at the busiest of times, the Daily Departed liked to make their bold headlines absolutely huge with fancy calligraphy so as to leave very little unemployed space. yes, best. I am imagining one letter per page now.

AW REMUS GOING INTO TEACHING :3

ok so first you start hammering my heart with the grotta stuff again. And then you go and say things like Paying social visits to old friends, mostly. Says he’s thinking about joining the tenpin bowling league. (I expect no less of him) and “CONSTANT VIGILANCE!” Moody roared without warning, still fast asleep.

lolol omg are they still debating over HOUSES. This is like people in college talking about high school HA. Also duh, ofc claws never enter because we are smrt. s m r t.

“Oh, stop that. You can’t just turn into a dog every time you don’t like what someone’s saying.” SNORT. what a coward.

GOING ONWARDS.

Author's Response: Regulus has swag, yo.

One letter per page loool. TODAY'S NEWS: And then you have to turn to page 2 to read it because the headline takes up the whole first page.

PROFESSOR LUPIN 2.0

Ravenclaws know what they're doing. They're like lol you stupid people, go ahead and off yourselves while I live forever in my quiet little bungalow over here with self-refilling plates of cheesecake.

Sirius turning into a dog as a shunning method. ♥ He's my fave 5ever.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Akussa 

2nd September 2012:
Hi!

You know, I really like this relationship between the Black brothers. It's entertaining and yet, very warm. It doesn't feel like years went by where they hated each other's guts and decisions and I like that; it feels very believable. Their conversation about Peter was very enlightening. I like how Sirius admits that he doesn't unduerstands Peter and has no clue what to expect from him. It's a bit un-Sirius considering the man always seem to want to be right (or acts like he is) but it still feels natural.

Ariana was such a good addition to this scene; her carefree attitude is refreshing and I like that you didn't make her a complete lunatic, no matter what she has gone through. I loved that little detail, where she considers that the living are constantly living in fear of death; it's very consistent with how I imagine her to think.

Great chapter; it gave us another point of view and a lot of information about how the Grotta works and how they can get out of there.

Author's Response: In my head, Sirius and Regulus patched things up after Sirius died because of the common knowledge that they're all each other had. They're family. What's done is done and they've been able to establish a warm relationship in the years since. It makes me happy to know that Sirius has family again.

Ariana has a small role in this story but I like to imagine that she and Regulus are good friends. :) Glad you liked her!

Thank you for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #6, by shadowycorner 

14th August 2012:
Peter is a dangerous rat. I'm worried about what he'll do! Sirius and Regulus interaction was awesome. i enjoyed every little bit of it, and then Moody came with his 'Constant Vigilance' roar and I burst out laughing. I ♥ Moody! Also, i just remembered that I forget to mention the little things that really put me in awe: the meadows manor, the people who've been kissed by a Dementor...oh and what I totally adored was the imagery you made with dragon and thestral wings being the sails of a ship! That took my breath away. I just forgot to comment on it because I was so overwhelmed with all the events of the chapter!

Author's Response: Peter is not someone to underestimate. I feel that in fan fiction his character is consistently underestimated quite a lot - whenever I see him in stories, he's always bumbling and stupid and transparently creepy. I don't think James, Sirius, and Remus would have hung out with him if he portrayed himself that way. He knows how to lie and manipulate, and he doesn't care who he has to stab in the back in order to secure his safety. That's a dangerous trait.

Thank you! If I lived in Cliodna's Clock, that's where I would work, Meadowes Manor. It feels like a peaceful place, and the job description would be sufficiently fulfilling considering that they live in a place where it's difficult to really make a difference.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by maskedmuggle 

23rd July 2012:
Aw this was a really lovely chapter!! I loved Sirius and Regulus here - I thought it was fantastic that they were so close together and like proper siblings bickering for fun too! It makes me curious to see how Sirius would have reacted upon learning that Reg was on the good side! It was just so enjoyable to read this throughout.

Some of my favourite bits: "After all, how would anyone be able to admire his chiseled cheekbones if they were covered up with an extra pair of eyes?" Haha

"Says he’s thinking about joining the tenpin bowling league." The random quirks of Dumbledore!

According to Cliodna’s Clock’s rules and regulations, this meant that she would have to spend a minimum of sixty years in the Grotta before she could be eligible for relocation to Cliodna’s Clock. THAT MAKES SO MUCH SENSE! I like this punishment! How do you keep coming up with these clever ideas?

I loved all of the conversation here - from Ariana popping in, to Sirius turning into a dog, discussing Peter, Moody's random shouts.. the relationship between Sirius and Regulus was just awesome to read about :) ♥

- Charlotte

Author's Response: I feel like if anyone was given a raw deal, it was the Black brothers. They were raised by awful parents; one of them got pulled into the Death Eater circle, dying young. The other was disowned, framed for murder, and then spent most of the rest of his life in Azkaban before being stuffed into his childhood home, locked up like a prisoner again, only to then be killed by his cousin. So in the afterlife, I wanted the brothers to accept each other as family again, because they really need that. It makes me happy to think that they have each other.

Regulus is one of my favorites to write - he's so carefree and easygoing because he has no friends or family on earth, so his existence is quite smooth now. I have a lot of fun with him. ^ ^

Haha, Dumbledore. He's an eternal enigma - brilliant but slightly batty.

Thank you for pointing out those specific bits you liked! It's always nice to know which parts readers enjoyed the best.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by peppersweet 

19th June 2012:
all your description - this place - it is so wonderful - all the scenery - hnng

because you've included so many characters that died in such tragic ways or I was so fond about in the books, I have so many feels reading this, /so many feels/

yeaah dumbledore on the bowling team! woahyeah! wooo!

Oh, stop that. You can’t just turn into a dog every time you don’t like what someone’s saying. - I took a break from feels to laugh out loud at this.

asdflkjhdfgfhgldfhgj

^ that is how I feel about this fic. and you.



Author's Response: I'm picturing Dumbles bowling now and he's wearing a clown suit. I don't know why. His shoes are huge, though. Maybe Sirius and Regulus would transfigure themselves into bowling balls and go whizzing around just for kicks, and I might have eaten too much chocolate today, and I feel very keyboardsmash about you as well.

sdjfksjfjsdf ILY ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Hogwarts27 

14th June 2012:
A very pleasant read. Really enjoyed learning more about how things work in this world, and reading the interaction between the two brothers.

Author's Response: Thank you. :) I liked writing this chapter. I find it prudent every now and then to switch focus from the ever-present Devil's Duel and the more negative emotions that people have, and their sadness. I'm really not a huge fan of writing angst, so I always need to have certain characters in my reserve that I can depict without having to explore more, "I'm so sad that I'm dead, I miss my family, etc." Regulus and Sirius presented the perfect opportunity for that sort of lighter, more comical interaction.

Thank you for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #10, by ScorpiusRose17 

14th June 2012:
Hi there! I have finally gotten the chance to continue reading this brilliant story of yours! I just had to leave a review for this chapter!! =)

I loved it! Regulus is one of my favorite characters and I was so excited to see how you portrayed him and Sirius. You did such a great job!! They are so fun to read about and I really liked Moody in the background too.

Keep up the awesome writing! I know you will. =)

-SR17

Author's Response: Hi again! Thank you so much for returning. :)

Regulus is so fascinating; I was so excited for the opportunity to write him however I wanted. He wasn't extensively explored in canon, so I could develop him any which way I pleased, and so I chose to make him a bit like Sirius, but more smug and Slytherin-y. He's a lot of fun to write.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I hope you come back for more!


 Report Review

Review #11, by cazvalleygirl 

31st May 2012:
Hello again, and please forgive my late review, my excuse is the weather! We have actually received some sunshine here in Britain over the last week so basically been lying around getting myself all pink : )

Anyway, enough about me and my sun burn and on to the chapter! I adored it from start to finish. The dynamic between the two brothers is so interesting to me. I suspect that they had to work through some issues before they got to the place they are currently at and I love where they are at! Their banter in this chapter was so comical and so well written.

Although Regulus is nearly young enough to be Sirius’s son there doesn’t seem to be a huge difference in their level of maturity and I wonder if that is because Azkaban stumped Sirius aging at the age of twenty one? I suppose he didn’t experience a great deal of life experience after that. We have never known him to be with a woman, and of course he didn’t have children. His friends, to me at least, seemed to be his life and when you wrote ‘None of his mates ever wanted to play Quidditch when it was pouring buckets, much to his dismay (But it makes visibility so interesting! I thought you Nancy boys liked a challenge?).’ To me that sounds like the moans of a teenage boy rather than a thirty six year old man. Look at me analysing your characters lol! I LOVE THIS STORY!

And I’m glad you gave us more of an insight into Clionda’s Clock. Particularly I loved the idea of the cottages in the tree’s and the underground lairs, brilliant stuff!

I am so happy Ariana is alright; she suffered enough in life so I’m thrilled you’ve made her happier in death. And we had a mention of Dumbledore and Moody, yay! Not that I’m a huge fan of Moody but it’s nice to know he’s there plodding along.

Try as I may I just can’t get interested in Colin. I’m sure the actor in the film ruined that character for me lol! But I am intrigued by what was so obviously troubling him on the beach.

Anyway, I feel very spoilt today because I get to read another chapter straight away!
Again, 10/10, Charlotte x

Author's Response: You can have some of my sunshine! It's hotter than Hades over here in my neck of the woods. I'm holed up in my house with the air conditioner turned on full-blast.

This chapter was refreshing for me to write because in my other chapters, I have to deal with people dealing with things - like Fred dealing with his death, Remus and Tonks dealing with their deaths and the loss of Teddy, Snape and Lily and James all dealing with each other, etc. So it was nice to be able to write about two people who are somewhat at ease, and have already established a friendly relationship before I came along and had to write them. In my mind, Regulus and Sirius had to work out some things after Sirius arrived, but Regulus had been waiting in the afterlife for so long already that he was ready and willing, and both of them jumped on the opportunity to have a real family again.

I mentioned in an earlier chapter about how Sirius was keen on pretending he'd been living in Cliodna's Clock for ages and that everything was hunky-dory. Sirius, in this story, is still coming to terms with the fact that life went on for James after James's death, and that life didn't include Sirius, and vice versa. He can't pretend to be twenty-one years old anymore, but he wants to. It's his comfort zone. He spent so much time in Azkaban thinking about James and everything he'd lost that being reunited with his best friend more or less made him revert back to a more carefree mindset. That and the fact that he's free: before his death, he was labeled a mass-murderer, and couldn't so much as walk outside. Here, he can do whatever he wants.

lol I love analyzing characters, too. XD

Ariana and Moody and Dumbledore are plodding around, mostly in the background. You will see more of Moody and Dumbledore in chapters soon to come. :3

Bahaha, poor Colin gets no love. I'm sure that the actor from the films ruined him for me, too - which is why I'm using Andrew Garfield instead. MUCH easier to deal with. ;) All I can say about Colin's actions in this chapter is to pay close attention to them.

:3 I'm so vague, lol.

Thank you for reading and reviewing, as always!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jess the Enthusiast 

31st May 2012:
Sorry I'm late with my review! I LOVED this chapter; I mean, the Black brothers are some of my favorite people! I've always been obsessed with Regulus's "R.A.B." note and Sirius is so darn dreamy ;)
I really liked the way you portrayed the two of them (particulary with the way neither of them wanted to get up to get the newspaper and then when Sirius screamed like a girl, haha). And then it got me thinking that I really like the way you portray everyone. I mean, here you have this story where you have all these canon characters and you do a fantastic job writing for all of them, so bravo! That must be so hard!
Also, I'd like to point out that I really liked the end where they discussed Peter - very interesting stuff!
10/10 :D

Author's Response: Wooo! The Black brothers are deffo underrated, especially Regulus. I mean, seriously, that note he left. Gives me chills. Every time I think of it, I picture Regulus facing off with Voldemort and going COME AT ME, BRO.

I've got to say, it's kind of intimidating to write a story where almost every single person is canon. There are very few OC's, so that restricts my freedom. I like the challenge of it, though, and it's so much fun to write. I'm VERY relieved that you like all of the characters and my portrayals of them! That's so encouraging, I can't even express it.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

- Sarah



 Report Review

Review #13, by MagicalInk 

30th May 2012:
Hello,
Well, it wouldn't be enough to say that I love this story. But I really do. I just hadn't reviewed because I was always catching up and making you go back and respond five chapters before could be quite bothering. But guess I finally caught up!

The plot of this story is just great. I know many other writers that had they had the Races' idea, they would've set it into a dystopian future. Instead, you entered afterlife, and actually gave life to all the characters we love and miss.

And not only that, you're also giving them all such depth, goods and flaws, they actually feel real. In this chapter particularly, you've shown us how once they die, or they go to Cliodna's Clock (the 'good' ones), their 'growing up' sort of slows down. Physically, they keep the same, but mentally, their process of becoming more mature and wise –in lack of other words, is prolonged as they're not living the craziness of life. And it's great you're keeping them canon, because surely death would change them, but they're always them and it's a great thing to read.

Also, the imagery is so embracing and complete, we could see, feel and smell it all. All the details are softly introduced, as we are introduced into them, and magic and 'everyday life' fit so well together with your words it's really enjoyable.

Funnily, as I've caught up and read through a few chapters sometimes in the same day, this isn't the kind of story you read without resting. Actually, I think it might be because we need some time to take in all the information and characters, and I just feel like chapters are broken in a way so we have time to think. And it's a good thing, taking our time to read it calmly and really enjoy, because there really is a lot to enjoy.

I knew Lily wouldn't make it this time, she just couldn't. But who will? You're giving each character their own qualities and it is really hard to predict. Even while not in the games, you're showing us that they could all do it, and hooking the reader more by turning flaws into advantages and pros into cons. Please keep that little mystery going!

This chapter was as great to read as the others, and a nice break from the previous. There's something that confused me though, but I just guessed it to be a typo:
"Remus and Sirius exchanged glances"
Shouldn't it read Regulus? Yes, it must, and did I mention I'm loving him? He's vain, and smart, and childish, and simply interesting. You see? I could at least give you three adjectives for each one of the characters you've developed, and that is an amazing job as there are so many of them.

So I guess all this rambling was to say this is a very original piece, great work, astonishing enjoyable read, and I wish you to keep it going like this! Not to mention the quick updates and the changing plot!
I think I'm in love xD

~Val

Author's Response: Holy wow, what an amazing review!

Firstly, thank you for pointing out that typo! I kept finding myself typing Remus instead of Regulus for some reason, and had to go back and scan, but evidently I missed one. In the chapter before that, I kept wanting to write 'Admirable' instead of 'Admiral'. :P

And oh my goodness, reviews in earlier chapters never bother me. I always love seeing people's thoughts on whatever they've just read.

You're spot-on about their maturity plateauing after death. They get to this place where they don't really have to do anything if they don't want to, where it's just perpetual leisure, and that really does take its toll.

I find it strangely pleasing that you had to take a break between some of the chapters. I like that, because it means you're absorbing more information than you might have if you'd marathon-read the whole thing in one go. It's like cake. It tastes better if you savor it. XD

I'm trying not to make the winners and losers too obvious, by giving them all their own strengths. For these characters, their flaws can come in handy in the races.

Regulus is becoming a favorite of mine to write. He's very relaxed, very satisfied with himself, and he gets his kicks by bugging other people.

Thank you SO much for this wonderful review. I feel like my jaw is somewhere near the floor - I'm sure I'll come back to reread this several times, because it's so encouraging. :) So thank you for taking the time to read this story and for leaving me this thorough review that has completely made my week. I usually update every Wednesday - so that's today! Time to go upload a new chapter. ^ ^

Thanks again!!

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #14, by Ardeith 

29th May 2012:
There was so much good stuff in here! I love how you can write filler-type chapters that are so engrossing!

You have that ability, like JKR, to blend the everyday/real and the magical. Sirius' and Regulus' battle over the newspaper was so real...just like my sister's and my battles over the remote ("hand me the remote", "no, it's closer to you!"...). Every sentence is so rewarding...such as the bit about how the newspaper magically updates.

And I loved the stuff about housing in Cliodna's Clock. I am torn as to whether I'd want to live in a tree house or a cliff house!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for reading and reviewing. ^ ^

Bahaha, the battle of the remote. For my brother and I, if we were both sitting in armchairs and one of us dropped the remote on the floor, we would try to slide it over with our feet or just give up, settling on whatever was already on T.V. Laziness ftw. XD

I'm afraid of heights, so the tree houses would be the lesser of two evils for me - those cliffs are just too high!

:D


 Report Review

Review #15, by TenthWeasley 

25th May 2012:
I think this is one of my favorite chapters so far. (Which is a bit ridiculous, because chapters of this story are beyond the banality of being classified into favorites). I just -- the CHARACTERS in this bit. ♥ Your characters are always my very, very favorites. True story. And I feel like I spend a lot of my reviews talking about your characters more than about, you know, the plot, but I have so much appreciation for them. So I'll probably do it again here; you've been warned.

Oh my gosh, Regulus. That is the best Regulus! I was smiling so much every time he opened his mouth and more words poured out -- his newspaper-reading exclamations had me in stitches. He is very much Sirius's brother here, and that's one of the things I like most about him, that you can actually tell they're related. AND YOU INCLUDED THEIR AGES. Never even occurred to me that age gap that'd be there when Regulus died -- holy wow, my mind hurts with the comprehension. I was imagining, you know, an eighteen-year-old and a twenty-year-old and now my world is flipped. (I don't know why that, of all things, impacted me.)

I feel like Ariana and Luna would get along very well. :) Which makes me wish she, too, was dead, because that would be an interaction I'd be beyond interested in reading about. YOU KNOW, IT JUST OCCURRED TO ME. Thinking about Gilderoy, who I also selfishly wished death upon -- what happens when you lose your memory, like he did? Is there another sort of holding place for lost memories? Oh my gosh, what this story does to me. I don't have time to think on that, or I'll want to write it and that could be detrimental. But this is not about me, it is about you! (While we're on the slight subject of getting off topic -- I don't have much to say about Colin in this chapter, other than oh, he needs hugs. Lots of them. No one should take beach-walking, seashell-collecting ventures alone, especially in the rain. Where is Orla?!)

Moody's night-shouts had me rolling. He is so the sort to do that, too, and maybe that's what I was trying to get at above, in my paragraph about Regulus in which nothing was revealed. Sadness or humor or anger, your characters are CANON in the best ways. It's like you know them inside and out, even when a side of their personality was never explicitly written in canon, and I have no qualms in believing whatever you choose to write them doing.

I feel like this review makes less than no sense. I feel like a lot of my reviews to you make less than no sense. And it's so, so hard to review you when a) I basically go to mush about everything you write, and b) I talk to you about this fic and my feelings on it on a weekly basis, reviews aside. I adore everything about it, and I seriously just love reading your writing. And that is what roughly half of my allotted review character count boils down to -- write more things, always more things, and please do not ever stop. ♥ I seriously cannot wait for next Wednesday (oh my gosh, that is like almost a week away) for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Arghhh this is going to be a lamesauce response.

-rolls over and dies-

First of all, squee forever that you like my characters! It's hard to take credit for any of them because there are very, very few OC's in this story. REGULUS. He's so fascinating; I was very excited to get to give him whatever spin I wanted to since his personality is murky in canon. I didn't plan ahead what his character was going to be like. The only other time I wrote Regulus was in a one-shot where he had a few screws loose, but here I ended up viewing him to be a lot like his brother. I figure that some of his git-ness rubbed out of him over time after his death, now that he was away from his mother and Death Eaters and all that jazz. Despite their difference in age, I'd like to think that Regulus and Sirius's personalities complement each other. Above all, I just wanted to give them family again.

Luna was my inspiration for Ariana. Ariana is like a more lucid version of Luna; she's missing some of Luna's acceptance for the unknown, as she's been cooped up in the afterlife for so long and it's kind of addled her. I think that the afterlife has addled all of them in one way or another.

You will hear more about Colin and Orla later. :3

Moody! He lives! Err - sort of. :P

And I've been sitting here cross-eyed until all of the words look like gibberish because I am so not in the right place for review responding. So I apologize muchly. But I loff this review, as I loff all of your reviews, as I loff you. ♥

P.S. I WILL WRITE ALL THE THINGS. TOMORROW. BECAUSE I AM A PROFESH PROCRASTINATOR.


 Report Review

Review #16, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

25th May 2012:
After all, how would anyone be able to admire his chiseled cheekbones if they were covered up with an extra pair of eyes? Besides, it would be too time-consuming to have to put them on whenever he wanted to read advertisements for discounted melons and cat litter.

^ OH REG. Melons and cat litter? Er...well, I see what he likes. He sounds very odd but I adore him already. I want to read entire stories of this Regulus Black. The relationship you have of the brothers was really interesting and fantastically done. I could picture Sirius and Regulus horsing around and being overall pleasant with each other. I wonder though, do they talk to Orion?

Ariana stumbled backward with both arms flailing, losing one of her shoes again. It darted away like an excited puppy, disappearing into the dining hall.

^ I thought Ariana and her shoe was just adorable. I thought her personality matched Regulus's and Sirius's well. You really have a knack for pairing the best characters together because her little snippets gave the chapter a slight comedic feel while Regulus and Sirius were a bit more 'in your face' and dramatic. She's like a breath of fresh air.

The conversation about Peter was interesting because that's how I feel. I know I said this before but Peter isn't given enough credit. Yes, he did terrible things but he knows what he has to do to protect himself and you can't blame him for that. Wouldn't it be awful if it was Peter and James at the end?

And Peter kills him?

WOAH. That's an option...isn't it? Hm!!! Sneaky...sneaky...

Author's Response: Hi, Deeds! -flails- You've given me so many reviews lately, I don't think I'll ever be able to pick my jaw up off the floor. So thank you endlessly for stopping by Run again!

I just had to make Sirius and Regulus on good terms. They deserve it. Regulus died so young and his only other family is Orion, who is just kind of waiting for Walburga to relocate or for Walburga to die; and Sirius has lost so many loved ones in his life that I really wanted to give him this. Not just his friends that he treats as family, but the real family that he never really had. I think that Regulus sometimes tries to communicate with Orion but Orion is mostly not-all-there anymore, from the emotional trauma of being separated from his wife. I think Sirius pretty much ignores Orion. Seeing his father like that probably frightens him a little bit.

Yay, I'm glad you thought that Ariana fit in with Regulus and Sirius. I like mashing up unlikely people together and seeing what their interactions would be like despite gaps in age and how long they've been in the Clock, etc. We don't know much about Ariana, but we do know that Albus is a genius. I imagine Ariana to have a sort of dreamy brilliance - a lot like Vesper Lovegood. She experiments and magic is more second-nature to her than to anyone else. It's all she knows.

Peter is eternally underestimated. His old friends need to learn to stop pretending that they've got him all sorted out. Peter always plays up the aspects of himself that are expected, just so that he can turn around and show everyone that they don't know what they're dealing with.

Eeep, that's definitely an option!

-lips are sealed-

XD Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aderyn 

24th May 2012:
Hi!

This chapter is quite interesting, I think, for establishing the setting even more. I like that you've added more details about housing, since the population of Cliodna's Clock has to be quite large, I would think. And again, you're being quite creative with the mines, and the tree houses. Apparently, I guess, the disparity between goblins and wizards doesn't change much. That's another good thing about this story, though people change after they die, there are some fundamental things that don't.

I liked seeing the interactions between Sirius and Regulus. It was nice to see the two brothers getting along, or teasing each other. Regulus' attempts to get Sirius' attention were quite amusing. "Oh, I say!" I was laughing at that, since it sounds so pompous. Again, it's a bit interesting, or sad, I can't decide to see the age differences between the two. I mean, Regulus still acts 18, while Sirius is a bit more mature. That must be hard for spouses etc to deal with too.

Ariana was a bit abstracted, as I would have expected. However, I think the way you wrote her makes a lot of sense. She wasn't sane for much of her life, and thus (perhaps like the Longbottoms) spent most of her conscious life in Cliodna's Clock. So her dislike of Muggles seems a bit eerie, considering what Albus and Grindlewald were like as boys. Considering the huge turn around Albus made, that Ariana dislikes Muggles seems a bit ironic, or something. Though the reasons you give are completely justified.

I find it interesting that no one mentions Lily directly in this chapter. I mean, the Brothers Black are discussing all the contestants. And considering that Lily's won so often, it seems odd that there would be no mention about her getting out so early in the competition, I would think. But that's a minor thing.

I'm glad we got to hear Sirius' take on why they made Peter enter. It sounds as if they were more than angry at him...though it is understandable. But still, I would not want to be Peter--at all. He has to live the rest of his life knowing his only friends hate him.

This chapter wasn't as action filled as before, obviously, but it was still interesting. Though there were funny moments, I still found it a bit unsettling. There is something about how people interact in Cliodna's Clock that is not entirely human. I can't place exactly what it is, but perhaps its a lack of purpose or drive...besides the competition, everything they do is for leisure. There is no hurry or need to advance in anything, because they have forever. While everyone does normal human things their outlook on life, or rather existence has changed dramatically, which contributes to this feeling of things being not quite right.

Once again, you've displayed your talent for creating a setting and a whole new world in general. I don't know how you keep up with it all, but your attention to detail and congruence with things in the Harry Potter books is astounding! I can't wait for more! I'll be interested to hear about the next round of the competition and perhaps to see Lily and James' reactions/interactions.

Author's Response: Hi again!

I considered giving the goblins and witches/wizards equal rights, but realized that Cliodna's Clock is a much younger village than Earth and that they would probably be behind the times.

I imagine Regulus to be a tad pompous, since in canon he was a bit of a git who liked to please his parents and was into the blood purity and all that. The age difference between the two brothers is slightly depressing; I think both of them are good at ignoring that and pretending things are like they've always ever been.

Ariana, I think, had such a troubled childhood (magic exploding out of her at odd intervals, not going to regular school, not being exposed to many people and always being shut up in her house) that she doesn't remember or understand what life is like on Earth. She doesn't exactly dislike Muggles per se; she more so fears for them, and feels sorry for them. She thinks that residents of Cliodna's Clock are infinitely safer than Muggles are, since they didn't have magic to help them and given all of the problems that they have.

You raise a valid point about Lily's absence. I decided not to mention her in this chapter because she will feature prominently in the next chapter, and I didn't want to give her more face-time than would be fair. It's also to emphasize that even though the tournament is very important and exciting, not everyone lives it and breathes it like Lily does, and at this point Sirius is more concerned about vengeance than how Lily fares in the Duel. After all, Sirius did break out of wizard prison just to find Peter and murder him. And knowing that the graveyard scene in Goblet of Fire was helped along by Peter's assistance, I don't think Sirius would forget this in a hurry.

I agree about the unsettling nature of Cliodna's Clock. There is no natural life cycle, no drive to complete some sort of bucket list before their deaths. They live in a small place and the lives they lead are even smaller - it provides a claustrophobic feel. They're supposed to be on a permanent holiday of sorts - some of them don't have to work at all if they don't want to, and others do just for some sense of purpose, but everything is tilted. Unless it's June and they or their loved ones are in the tournament, tomorrow will not bring risks. It will not bring problems. It's just day after day of the same thing, and I imagine that over time, that monotony would do things to a person's psyche.

The next round is approaching soon, but there's two chapters about other things before we get to it. And as I commented earlier, you will see some of Lily and James's thoughts. ;)

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by TooMuchMagic 

24th May 2012:
I like how this chapter lets us readers learn more about Cliodna's Clock and the Grotta :) It's interesting to know that the Grotta residents can appeal to be transfered over, but waiting the span of your life is so very long! My heart hurts for Walburga and Orion all over again :(

And I would love to live in the tree house neighbourhood btw, it sounds so whimsical. Pretty much like living in some kind of woodsy fairytale *_*

"Oh, stop that. You can't just turn into a dog every time you don't like what someone's saying." - I couldn't stop laughing at that! OMG. Sirius turning into a dog mid-conversation to annoy people. So funny, what what :'D

Brotherly squabbles: BEST.

I'm actually feeling quite apprehensive now about Peter. He may actually make it to the final round... And win O.O He DOES have the very handy ability to transform into a rat and sneak around hiding/plotting. *worries*

I'm so excited for the next chapter. Will it be the second round? I hope so, I do! 10/10 x

Author's Response: Walburga has a lot of time left before she's eligible for an appeal. The odds are definitely against her.

I would love to live in the tree house neighborhood, too! There are parts of Cliodna's Clock that aren't so awesome, like the whole one person must die every year thing, so this angle showcases more of the fun differences between life on Earth and life after death. Cooler housing options in the afterlife!

I ♥ Sirius. His squabbles with Regulus was such fun to write because Sirius is one of my favorite characters to write, and Regulus will squabble with anyone just for kicks, so I've been itching to write the two of them together.

Peter's definitely not one to underestimate. I think that part of what makes him the biggest threat is that not many of the others are even considering him a threat at all.

Alas, round two will have to wait until chapter 16! Still a couple of chapters to go before then. ^ ^

Thank you for reading and for your magnificent reviews. :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by fizzingwizzbies 

24th May 2012:
Wow just started reading this story and love the originality of it! In some ways your writing style reminds me of Philip Pullman in the Amber Spyglass.. I'm not sure why but it just does. But yes awesome story- you really manage to transport the reader into another world... Oh and I love the Sirius / Regulus relationship :)

Author's Response: I've never heard of Amber Spyglass - I'll definitely have to check that out! And I'm very pleased that I could transport you to another world; that's always my number one goal since that's personally my favorite part of the reading experience.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

24th May 2012:
Haha awww I love Regulus and Sirius! Their relationship is so interesting.
I also love Ariana and her mischievous shoes :P
Great chapter once more!! Thanks for the quick updates :)

Author's Response: Hooray! Thrilled to hear it. I rather liked writing about their relationship. They have an easygoing, long-established repartee by this point.

Ariana's shoes. :3 They do what they want, yo.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #21, by WitnesstoitAll 

23rd May 2012:
First Review! -dances in celebration-

Sarah, I thought this chapter was a delightful pause in action to follow-up the last chapter. I adore your characters and your description, so the chance to see more of both was awesome-possum. I loved your description of the tree and rock homes -- your creativity never seems to amaze me. I think I'd personally like living amongst the trees with Helga. That's another thing that never ceases to amaze me... the casual way you weave canon character after canon character into minor roles and mentions in your story. It really is almost artful in style.

My favorite thing I learned in this chapter was the bit about residents of the Grotta being able to appeal and move to Cliodna's Clock. I would have to imagine that that is indeed very rare, and the moment shared between Regulus and Sirius about their mother was touching.

I absolutely loved the interplay between the two brothers. It was a very realistic interaction between siblings, the teasing the mild sarcasm, the way they knew just how to annoy the other enough, but all the while being friendly. Their conversation about the contestants was very interesting. I love what a wildcard peter is becoming. If nothing else, he certainly excels at self preservation. It was sort of haunting to think how many in the race have killed. When you rattled that list off, I was like ... wow. Cedric (H) I thought your characterization of Ariana was fabulous. In some strange way, she reminded me a bit of Luna. She is sort of strange and distant and marches to the beat of her own drum.

And Ravenclaws are indeed much too clever to enter the races. :P

Soroh this story keeps getting better and better and I don't know how since each chapter is like the best thing I've read. You rock and are the tomato sauce to my ravioli.

xoxo

Author's Response: So, rage forever because I'd written this long lovely response and then mozilla decided to crash on me. RUDENESS.

Anywho, I really enjoy action/adventure and the Duels, but I think I like depicting average day-to-day life in Cliodna's Clock even better, because it sort of outlines what the rest of the year looks like when nothing exciting is happening. In those times, there is both restlessness and ease, with no immediate threat on anyone's lives. In some pockets of the town, life goes on as usual all year round, regardless of the tournament. Since Regulus, Sirius, and Ariana aren't in the Duel themselves, they can afford to forget about it for a few minutes. P.S. I would totes live in the tree houses with you. And my roof would be made of gelatin so that if anyone tried to run across it, they'd get stuck.

I think that the whole Appeals process is kind of cruel, because it's this small beacon of hope that next to nobody ever gets to take advantage of. And seeing as how wizarding lifespans are longer than average, those are some long Grotta sentences they're looking at. Walburga's only been in for thirteen years and it's already half-killed her, so a few more decades is not likely to be in the cards.

I don't know why, but I never considered Regulus and Sirius not being close in the afterlife. By the time Sirius arrived, Regulus had been there for a very long time already. He would have been lonely, and their father has more or less lost his mind because he's separated from his wife. Sirius never really got to have a family and he's lost so much that both brothers jumped at the chance to have a closer relationship.

Wildcard!Peter is also something I'm enjoying. He threw me for a few loops in the books. His motivations were predictable but his behavior wasn't always as easy to foresee. I think Peter is a very complex individual and I find him fascinating in an ew-he's-repulsive-but-oh-my-god-I-love-character-study sort of way.

I sort of pulled inspiration for Ariana from Luna, as you could tell. I think Ariana would be a bit of an oddball, having had such a caged, troubled life.

I was going down the list and seeing which contenders were in which House and I was like, wow...there aren't many Ravenclaw characters, are there? So I decided that it's because Ravenclaws are too smart to go off themselves. Right now they're all living up in the rock houses, building radios out of tissue boxes.

Aww, your encouragement means the world to me. (hug) And you are the stuffed crust to my DiGiorno's.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review