Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Alarte Ascendare 

20th October 2015:
I've been so engrossed in the story that I couldn't even review. I favourited it though.

First of all, I can't believe people actually plagiarize stories. I mean I know it happens, but to do it from a story that's actually not profit-oriented or is not earning anything at all? That's plain cheap. I dunno how you detect them though. But go you! Go after them!

When I started reading this story, there was this immense amount of respect that was just born out of nowhere. I started writing recently and you're my hero!

Seriously... I haven't looked away from the story until either my boss called or I fell asleep. I even read your story while on dates.

Pathetic, I know. But that's how god this is!

I see you've won a lot of awards as deserved. I didn't see any mistakes. The way you write is truly amazing! You know how to build suspense without confusion and to bring in tragedy with happiness. You don't sugar coat and you don't overdo anything. You grammar, vocabulary and sentence construction are amazing!

I don't know if you still write but I seriously hope you do. You deserve to win much more Dobbys!

Love
xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rainpixie 

16th April 2013:
This remind me of the hunger games only more people get to live, which is more comforting. I was wondering what was going to happen to peter! Very creative and exciting chapter!

Author's Response: lol, Hunger Games Harry-Potter style. Instead of one person living, only one person dies. Gotta have a lid on that population control!

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauder5 

11th March 2013:
Wow. I can't believe it's finally starting. You chose the perfect ending to this chapter, because it makes me feel like I have to go on and read the next one right away.

It will be very interesting to read everyone's motives for joining the races, and of course see who wins and who loses.

Also, don't worry about changing the setting from Titanic. This was absolutely perfect. And, as always, wonderfully written.

Author's Response: The Devil's Duel will soon begin! I'm so excited to see what you think.

The Titanic would have been fun, but I'm glad I didn't go that route. Since the Titanic is very Muggle, it would have lost some of its magic - and I wouldn't have been able to use some of the things I inserted. :3

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by shadowcat2 

28th February 2013:
Wow. I am glad i came back and started reading this story from where I left off. Am so glad this story is already completed. This means i don't need to wait. Yay!

Author's Response: Hey, shadowcat2! Thank you for returning. :) Hee, you came back just before things start to get interesting. Thank you for leaving me all of these excellent reviews to respond to! It's so exciting to receive such wonderful feedback on a story that's been finished and posted for several minutes; there's nothing as gratifying as continuing to see new reviewers pop up.

 Report Review

Review #5, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

26th January 2013:
Ahhh! Can't wait to get further into this duel and the rest of them! I now see what the plan for Peter was. It's quite a good plan, I must say, especially when he never thought of entering himself.

Another lovely chapter! Off to the next! :)

Author's Response: The worst punishment for a man whose foremost concern is self-preservation is making him risk his neck. The anxiety of it alone is liable to kill Peter.

 Report Review

Review #6, by LillyRoseanne 

18th January 2013:
I'll admit it, I'm hooked... I actually can't stop reading this... :D

Author's Response: Hooray! That's very encouraging to hear. :) Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by justonemorefic 

2nd January 2013:
Reading quickly but aaah Lily feels the judgment of everyone. This makes me love her again because she knows.

Sarah you should write for that reality show that's coming out that replicates the Hunger Games. how do you even come up with this stuff.

even James Potter had booíd it a few times, and it was Siriusís favorite part. Oh, boys.

RUN. RUNNN.

and this is me running to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Lily is aware of their judgment but it's not enough to make her stop. She really does have a problem. ("I could stop if I wanted. Any time. I just don't want to.")

...A REALITY SHOW THAT REPLICATES THE HUNGER GAMES? ARE YOU FOR SERIOUS?

lolz lolz lolz Sirius's favorite part of the whole tournament is booing.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Akussa 

2nd September 2012:
This is so exciting!!! I feel like I can't leave a proper review because I just want to keep reading!

Ok, my toughts about the duel arena so far are : wow, I want to borrow your brains for a couple days, would that be alright? While my imagination has taken a long, long break, yours seem to be in full swing and it is just so refreshing to read such original ideas. Dueling in memories, all the while looking like somebody else; this is so brilliant!

Well, I can't say more, I just have to read the next chapter, sorry. Amazing chapter though!

Author's Response: That is the best response ever! I was very excited to introduce the idea of dueling in memories. It makes the options limitless, so I could basically do whatever I wanted.

I hope you like the duels! Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by shadowycorner 

14th August 2012:
I.am.shivering.constantly while reading this. You are so creative. The thing with the ship was brilliant. This entire story is brilliant. I am running out of superlatives here. I need to read more! -runs-

Author's Response: Eeep, shivering! I can't tell you how awesome it is to hear that. It definitely means I'm doing something right. And thank you, oh my goodness, for all of your nice compliments! I have a lot of fun with planning the duels. Transitional chapters between them are a lot slower as of right now because the various subplots are just beginning to take wing, but in later chapters things start to move along much better.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle 

21st July 2012:
OH MY GOODNESS IT JUST GETS BETTER AND BETTER. I am so excited that I'm finally at the duel and MY GOODNESS THIS IS GENIUS STUFF! You are so creative, I adore how the duel this year will all be in memories - and I absolutely love what round 1 looks like! It actually sounds like so much fun! If it was a game I would be so keen to play :P I really have to applaud you on the detailed development through this story!! I mean, all those rules - you can't attack a decoy, you can only throw the other 4 members of your team, but everyone looks different? Such a brilliant clever idea and one where I absolutely cannot wait to see what will happen!! Just for fun I'm going to guess that Rufus and Colin are going to get thrown overboard.. (no real apparent reason but maybe they seem slightly like the weaker members?) I really don't know though, all of the characters are smart in their own way!

The article at the start with Vincent was great too! I also really liked the countdown at the end where you said a number, then a short paragraph about an individual character and how they were coping. I really, really love your ideas and this Devil's Duel is so exciting and thrilling to read. I really can't wait for the next chapter so I think I shall go there now!! :)

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte!

I think you must be the first person to say that they would actually like to play in Round One! I can't even begin to imagine how I would try to eliminate someone when everyone looks different, and with those extra rules...blergh. I wouldn't be nearly clever enough to figure that out.

I really love writing rounds of the Devil's Duel - they're possibly my favorite chapters to write. All of the rounds are very different from each other, so hopefully that will suit varied tastes. I hope you like this year's Devil's Duel!!

:)


 Report Review

Review #11, by peppersweet 

19th June 2012:
I don't care what you have to do or how much I need to bribe you just PLEASE LET COLIN LIVE

ooh! there are like, ancient pre-founders wizards here I LIKE.

jsyk if colin dies I'm never speaking to you again okay

OMG. DUELLING IN MEMORIES. THIS I LIKE.

ahh name of fic in the fic *rings ceremonial bell*

i just. no words. GOT TO READ NEXT CHAPTER.



Author's Response: I ACCEPT ALL SORTS OF BRIBES, EDIBLE AND NON.

Dueling in memories weee! Fun fact: Originally I was going to make Cliodna's Clock one giant puzzle and one of the pieces in the center would "rearrange" to become another place in time, but I figured a Pensieve would be totes easier.



 Report Review

Review #12, by pennyardelle 

18th June 2012:
Still just loving it. :D You're so creative, coming up with all these brilliant ideas of settings for duels--I loved the one you mentioned earlier where it was set in a series of paintings. It just created this beautiful mental image for me. You said that you've tried to make this very dream-like, and you've succeeded at that a hundred times over. Your descriptions are marvelous.

Author's Response: Hi again! Eeep, thank you. :D I'm not very good at painting, but I like to dabble in it, anyway, and I love how colors smear together to make layers of other colors. I couldn't resist throwing Lily into a place like that.

Thank you so much, penny! I feel so honored that you like this story.

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #13, by Hogwarts27 

14th June 2012:
Marvelous idea of being in memories, as you've done all along in this story. I'm interested to see how this will play out.

Author's Response: I'm pleased you liked it! Memories gives me basically endless opportunities to do whatever I want, so I'm enjoying the freedom that presents.

Thank you for reading and reviewing, and I hope you like the memory duels!


 Report Review

Review #14, by siriusblack 4 ever 

28th May 2012:
Amazing chapter! This is such a great story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm pleased as punch to hear it! Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

17th May 2012:
Woah! You're so amazing. I want to bow down at your feet. Where do you come up with these ideas? I want to pick your brain!

I can't even begin to comment on everything. I will say that the interview with Crabbe was rather...eye opening. I figured he didn't have a concrete reason to fight. He doesn't, does he? Aw, what if he wants to see Goyle?

That's cute. The tension is insane. I feel sick thinking that someone has to die in the end. I hope it's someone that I won't become too attached to. At the end of the day they all have their own stories and they're all worth something.

I'm not surprised Peter jumped right in. He's a fighter. I don't think he's given enough credit because it takes a lot to well...get your friends killed...live as a rat for all those years...serve Voldemort again...defy Voldemort...die. He really went through a lot and he's not in the Grotta for a reason too! So Peter could really be a contender.

Hm! I just don't know who will win. I think it'll be between Tonks and Lily though but then that might be to obvious, right? What if it was Snape/Lily!

Author's Response: -blushes- You are too kind!

Bahaha, Crabbe. He's just sort of floating around, being clueless. He's not all that invested in the tournament, but he's doing it because...well, because he's a bit dense and doesn't have much forethought.

Peter really is a fighter. He's so self-serving and selfish and so many other negative qualities, but he's also crafty. While the other people on his team are a bit more emotionally-soft because some of them are friends, or at the very least don't /dislike/ each other, Peter has no such ties. He doesn't have to care about what happens to anyone else. He can look at his opponents without any kind of emotion whatsoever, and in the end I think that is a more fearsome trait than someone with an intricate mental arsenal of spells.

Heee. I shall be keeping my lips sealed!

Thank you for reading and reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ardeith 

15th May 2012:
Great chapter! I love the idea of having the duel in memories! I knew you wouldn't disappoint when it came to the actual duel... The rules were perfectly clear. You made this chapter so fascinating, especially for a (what do I call it?) transitional chapter, one to explain the rules... Loved the countdown at the end.

As always, your humor is good. I enjoyed the opening article where Vincent Crabbe's lack of depth is turned into mysterious silence. :-)

And of course, I have so many questions and can't wait to see how it plays out... I noticed the memory came from a Grotta resident. Does this mean the ship will contain some dangerous, evil people?

Hope the spectators have a better view than the spectators at the TriWizard tournament! Can they see into the pensieve?

And thanks for the explanation of Murman, I thought you were misspelling the male of merpeople. I shouldn't have underestimated you!

Author's Response: Hi, Ardeith! :D

I love memories and how JKR used them in the books. I found it so interesting how people could just dip their faces into a bowl and they would be mentally transported into the mind of someone else, in a long-ago setting that's still perfectly clear because it was magically preserved. I just couldn't resist the allure of being able to do that with a bunch of characters here.

The spectators will be able to see everything; that's why I made the Pensieve so huge. Picture a scallop the side of a house - that's what they're going to be looking at. People watching the Triwizard Tournament wouldn't have a whole lot to do, would they? Never really gave that much thought, but that would have sucked...they couldn't see in the Black Lake, they probably couldn't see in the maze... You'd think they could have planned that a bit better. But in the Devil's Duel, they'll all be able to see everything! But the contestants won't be able to hear them because they'll be far away inside the memories. ^ ^

Haha, that's why I added that in the author's note - I didn't want anyone to think I was spelling 'Merman' wrong. At the same time, that's why I called it the Admiral Murman - I was reading about the Murman Sea and thought it would be a fun play on words.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aderyn 

11th May 2012:
Hi! Again, this chapter is wonderful. The more detail you reveal, the more excited I get about this story.

So, first off the news article. It sounds like a Rita Skeeter article in that the writer is oblivious--and doesn't understand anything about Crabbe. She's just writing to write and gain attention. That makes me wonder, where would someone like Skeeter end up? Is there a place for morally ambiguous people? I mean, Rita Skeeter isn't as evil as Death Eaters, but she is malicious. Peter Pettigrew did end up in Cliodna's Clock, but he was more pathetic and weak willed than Rita... Interesting things to think about :)

Hmm, I hadn't considered that Cliodna would still be around. But it's cool that she is. I like the idea of the celebrity/famous citizens sitting up front. Though I have to wonder why the Founders weren't included--perhaps they don't get along well... Also, where is Albus? Is he just not at the games or is he not in Cliodna's Clock at all?

I know that Ptolemy was a real historical figure, and that his real first name was Claudius, but I find it interesting that he shares a first name with the announcer at the Hunger Games. This likely a total coincidence. Or it could be that Suzanne Collins took the name from Ptolemy. But I just thought of it when I read it.

Hmm, the people of the Grotta were creepy as always. Was Bellatrix -actually- doing legilimancy? Can she still do magic?

Also, I find who was selected to be interesting. Peter and Crabbe are hardly brave. And I have to wonder what their motivation is to enter. Peter isn't brave, and who does Crabbe have left to visit? Who does Peter, for that matter? I'm sure this will be revealed though...

And the set up of the first round is epic. I love the idea of them going into memories--that literally leaves every possibility open for settings. Seriously, the whole concept...I can't even. You did a good job explaining the rules so that I get what's happening and what will happen. I love that they're impostors, and that they must eliminate a person from their own team in this first round. It is going to be very difficult, I'm sure and I can't wait to read how you write it. Now the action begins!

Also, it would have been pretty cool to have it set on the Titanic, but I like this setting as well. The Titanic doesn't have any magical ties (though I suppose you could invent some) and the scale of writing about that would be huge. It would certainly add to some impending sense of doom (for example, everyone would "get off the boat" when it sank...) but it would probably require tons of research, depending on how accurate you wanted it. Plus there are about a billion more people on board.

And that last bit. Three, two, run. It just came off as so chilling. I don't know why, but it almost seems not just like Claudius is telling them to begin but also to run away, like there is something very bad about to happen. And the way you describe their reactions to it is perfect. Like they're confused and probably a little worried as well. And this is the perfect way to incorporate your title. I don't know, I'm not expressing myself well, but now I just have the feeling that things are going to be very very bad. The title has this horror-story feel, and though it's not one, I know, I feel that sort of foreboding-- like they have no idea what they're about to find.

Anyways, I could ramble on about that last bit for ages, saying more and more incoherent (and probably inaccurate) things. But I very much enjoyed this chapter and now cannot wait for the next one. Thanks for updating so frequently, it makes it all the more exciting because I don't have to wait so long to find out what happens next. :)

Author's Response: Hey, Aderyn! Thanks for another fantastic review!

Rita Skeeter sort of inspired the tone of that newspaper article. Rita tends to spice things up by reading way too much into things and sometimes inventing things altogether, because it's a way of intriguing readers. I imagine that the afterlife would get so monotonous and predictable that in order to keep people reading the newspaper, the writers would have to adopt an attitude similar to Rita's towards news. Morally ambiguous people, I think, would probably go to Cliodna's Clock. The Grotta is so horrid that only the worst of the worst go there - the people whose souls are the darkest. Rita's a pretty bad egg, but she's not nearly at that level.

Haa, I suppose you could call them celebrities. In my mind they're just very good friends - they're all smart and sort of notorious, so birds of a feather flock together. The Founders, as you said, don't all get along well enough to sit next to each other. Helga's perfectly lovely to everyone, but the other three have some issues.

I completely forgot about the Claudius in Hunger Games, but that's amusing to see the parallel. I chose Ptolemy when I went to the lexicon and looked up witches and wizards on trading cards and in folklore. Originally I had planned for Cliodna to have had a partner in designing the themes for each Devil's Duel, so I liked the alliteration of Cliodna and Claudius. His importance has fallen a bit to the wayside since I planned that, as he serves more as Cliodna's mouthpiece than anything else.

Nope, Bellatrix wasn't doing Legilimency. She's lost her magic. She was just trying to psyche Tonks out, trying to unnerve her.

You'll find out why Peter and Vincent signed up in upcoming chapters, I promise. ;)

Ahhh, I am so relieved that the rules seem to be clear! It sounded a bit muddled in my mind and I was concerned about explaining the unique rules that accompany this challenge so that the readers would know in advance what was disallowed and what the goals were, and how everything would go down. I'm breathing a pretty huge sigh of relief that it translated across clearly enough.

Oh my goodness, after writing Chapter 12 I was so glad I did not write about the Titanic. The research alone would have taken ages, and trying to cram as much realistic detail into the chapter as possible would have made it much too long. Plus, there would be /way/ too many decoys, so the goal of the challenge would be pretty nearly impossible.

It took me forever to come up with the title for this story. I was leaning towards calling it 'The Races' or 'The Devil's Duel' but even though both would be apt, they seemed a little bit flat, somehow. I got frustrated and just decided on 'Run', which was ironically the simplest title I had come up with and came to me out of nowhere. It evoked that sort of foreboding tone I was going for, the panic and underlying horror, without having to say too much. I'm rambling now. But I'm glad you like the three, two, run thing because that's /exactly/ the reaction I wanted you to have.

Thank you endlessly for reading and reviewing. I very much enjoy responding to your wonderful and thorough feedback. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by TooMuchMagic 

11th May 2012:
Oh my god. I've just read the whole thing in one go and it is SO VERY ENGAGING. I'm really loving the general plot and idea of this story - how the dead all continue "living" in a village of the afterlife, and the tournament that's used to purge one citizen a year, and gift the winner with mortality for a day. It's so brilliant!

Your writing is wonderful as always, of course. I first read your story Curious Happenings At Number Twelve (which blew my mind; how can someone write so well!) and I've known that I can count on you for good fiction ever since. You've got this way of description and story flow that's so seamless and enchanting. I love the little storylines that run with the different characters! The interactions between Salazar and Rowena (my favourite parts of this story, I think!), Lily Potter's risky determination, Cedric's eagerness at finally having friends his age (only to be snubbed, poor thing!). Even the little "hellos" exchanged by guard between Walburga and Orion, stuck in different places, got to me.

K, if I don't stop now I'll never. I'm just truly excited to read the rest, I can't believe the tournament's finally starting! I'll be awaiting your updates very eagerly, and adding this to my Reader feed right away :) 10/10 x

Author's Response: First of all, thank you for visiting my author's page! I've seen you pop up several times in reviews and I want you to know how amazing it feels to have drawn you back here for more. So thank you, thank you, thank you. :)

Oooh, the Rowena and Salazar bits are your favorite? That's quite lovely to hear. I like writing about them because they're not taking part in the Devil's Duel themselves, so they provide a sort of outsider's perspective - a view of life for those who don't put their souls at risk. It kind of fascinates me to sit and think about what people would do and how they might behave if they knew they had millenniums and millenniums to live. I really like being able to write about such a wide variety of people (and I agree about poor Cedric, being snubbed. Mean old Fred!)

Yayy, I'm so excited for the tournament to begin! I don't think I've ever enjoyed writing a story so much. Thank you for reading and reviewing! I will be updating very soon. :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by WitnesstoitAll 

11th May 2012:
omg. The titanic. I feel like Rachel would have had a coronary she'd have been so excited. Anyways. I love the group of contestants you've fielded. Some of them, I rather question their motives, but I'm sure it'll all be revealed with time. People like Lily, Fred, Colin and Tonks have very clear cut motives. I think James maybe wants to keep Lily safe or knock her out of the running. Severus I'm sure is in it for something to do with Lily. Crabbe is a bit of a mystery and I hope he actually makes it a round or two in so I can learn more about him. Cedric, I'm not really sure what he wants from this but I love him, so yeah. Maybe he'll finally win a tournement? How ironic would it be if he came in second and died yet again? lol. Morbid, but funny nonetheless. Peter is a nother interesting character. Who does he have on earth? He hates his life in cidona's clock, but he still values his life. I'm very interested to see what you do with him.

Update like, now. Please. K thanks.

Author's Response: The biggest downside to changing my mind from writing about the Titanic to going with something new because I didn't want to look like a copycat was knowing that Rachel would have loved it. Heck, I probably would have had to talk her into writing the whole scene for me because she knows so much about it and most of my knowledge consists of what everyone's hair looks like in the movie. ~priorities~ lol I wish I could see Rachel's face if she were to read you saying that it would be amusing if Cedric were to lose again. -snort- If I do end up offing him, I'm pretty sure she'll kill me. XD Gah I want to just say outright what everyone's motives are, but soon enough you won't have to wonder any longer. Explanations will pop up in due time.

Thank you for being lovely, Mel. You're such an awesome friend. ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by TenthWeasley 

10th May 2012:
Settle all of your quarrels, love as much as you possibly can, and make every moment count. -- This is AMAZING and I am so, so jealous of it. I seriously want to write this down somewhere and carry it around with me so I can remember to live by it. It is such a fantastic quote, and I have gotten chills each time I've read it. Which, by now, amount to about ten or fifteen. ♥ In my opinion, one of the best sentences you've ever written!

Fred's exchange with Cedric at the end! Oh, this is going to sound stupid, and I don't really want to tell you because I know you're going to read this and come back to laugh at me. But I got a bit misty-eyed reading that, just because he's back and I can't even begin to tell you my appreciation that I can read him again. And I want to write him and it is your fault. (SEE. YOU'RE LAUGHING.)

I cannot believe you're making me wait a week for this next chapter. I just cannot believe it. And I'm pretty sure, for your information, that that falls under the heading of cruel and unusual punishment, so if you get notice of a lawsuit, YOU HAD IT COMING TO YOU. I adore the idea, though -- memories! Oh my gosh, yes! Yesss! Why are you creative and how is it in any way fair that you get all this talent? That is such an original idea. And while it would have been so amazingly cool to see my favorite characters running around on the Titanic (I know too much about that ship, it's a little ridiculous) and INTERACTING WITH JACK AND ROSE (I know you were considering it), I am beyond excited for this Duel. (More parentheses because I didn't use them enough above.)

And legitimately am getting clench-y feelings because I want to read it so bad. THIS IS THE COOLEST STORY. THE COOLEST. You should be so, so proud of this, because I am proud of you for writing it, and it's one of the best and most original and all the best adjectives. And I just got a bit dizzy, so I think I'll stop because for some reason I am feeling all teary and sentimental.

PLEASE UPDATE SOON PLEASE. I love this story! And you! ♥ ♥

Author's Response: OH HAY, I LOVE YOU BACK AND STUFF. ♥

See, you shouldn't have told me in advance that I was going to laugh at you, because then I automatically started to laugh at you before even knowing why. And lulz, (hug). You poor Cedric-deprived soul. Why are our favorite characters the dead ones? Cedric and Snape, and then Fred and Sirius, IT'S JUST NOT FAIR. I have been telling myself to write more about Cedric because I know you're looking forward to seeing him, but at the same time it's a bit intimidating to tackle someone you love so much. I might have to inquire later about what you think Cedric would most enjoy doing in the afterlife, and then convince you to beta a Cedric-centric chapter for me. My bargaining chips are virtual cookies.

MEMORIES. I HAVE BEEN WANTING TO TELL YOU ABOUT THIS PLOT POINT FOR A CENTURY AND IT'S BEEN HARD TO KEEP MY MOUTH SHUT. I am not good at keeping secrets and this has been a trial for me.

LOL JACK AND ROSE WITH WITCHES AND WIZARDS. I think that even though I was originally bummed that I couldn't write Titanic anymore for fear of looking like I was copying someone else's idea, I'm glad I changed it. The Titanic would have required a lot of research on my part and it's so full of Muggles and whatnot. If I opened up the door to Muggle memories, it might have left too many options for the rounds and I would still be sitting here making up my mind on which ones to choose.

I JUST WANT TO THINK ABOUT COOL WHIP NOW.

Eeep, your adjectives. -falls down into fluffy cloud pillow like a cross between the Philadelphia Cream Cheese commercials and the Serta commercials-

U IZ AWESOME.


 Report Review

Review #21, by EmilyChristine 

10th May 2012:
Oh my goodness this story is so brilliant! I just read it all this morning (instead of studying for finals, oh well) and I could hardly put it down. I love how original this idea is and you've captured so many of these characters perfectly. But one question, at the begining when Fred arrives, the man called him George, why? Was that just a random part that I read to much into? haha I was just curious to see if it was improtant at all. Anyways, brilliant story, I'm so glad I started reading it (: Update soon please! I can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Bahaha, procrastination at its finest. XD (Good luck on your finals, though!)

Good question about Fred being called George. I'm leaving that open to interpretation - you could take it either as a sign of the twins always being mistaken for each other, even in the afterlife, or as something darker, in that George was supposed to die instead of Fred.

Thank you so much for reading and your this wonderful review! And I usually update every Wednesday. ;)


 Report Review

Review #22, by cazvalleygirl 

10th May 2012:
Hello...Again! : )

It's not funny how much I adore this story! After putting my children to bed on a Wednesday night I find myself rushing to log onto Hpff to see if you have updated, and you have! And what a chapter, completely brilliant yet again!

The residents of Grotta among those in Cliodnaís Clock made for an interesting read. I felt so awful for poor old Orion; it must be terrible to see someone you love so desperately pathetic. I was wondering why Orion got sent to the Clionda's and Walburga to the Grotta. I'm sure you may already have explained so forgive me if that is the case, but there is so much information in your story remembering every little detail without looking back is a challenge lol.

I see Bellatrix hasn't lost any of her wicked malice yet. She is so horrible but Iím sure Grotta will take its toll, although I admit she does make for interesting reading when sheís so vile. And I was intrigued to see Clionda herself attending the duel; I hope we get to see more of her and why the village of the dead is named after her. The birdís pecking at her face was quite disturbing lol! Where do you get these ideas lol!

The whole idea of the first duel, the Admiral Murman, WOW! I must admit, I did wonder how you would top your previous description of the duels inside paintings but this! Memories!!! ARGH! I really am so jealous of your creativity! I love it! And Iím so interested to see how theyíll work out whoís who!

I so hope that Tonkís does well, Iím sure she will. Iíll feel so bad for whoever has to die; they are all decent people, well except maybe Peter! But heís showed he does have some courage and that has surprised me. Please do not let it be Severus: (maybe he feels like he has to enter to prevent Lily from winning and ultimately risking her existence? Perhaps he canít bear to lose her again? And I still canít fathom Peterís reasons? Come on give us a clue, please : )

Another 10/10, and thank you for such an enjoyable read! Cazvalleygirl x

Author's Response: skdjsdjgksd This review. -hugs it to self-

Good question about the placements of Orion and Walburga. I haven't explained it and I'm not sure if I will delve into that in the story, but in my mind Walburga was just a really nasty, nasty person when she was alive. Her soul was just so ugly that there wasn't really anywhere else to put her. That isn't to say that she can't reform, because she's definitely turned around a bit since death. It's sad that it took the erosion of most of her soul to make Walburga more human, more compassionate, but there you have it. And with Bellatrix, it's very possible that the Grotta will take its toll on her as well. Whether it improves her or destroys her, is yet to be seen.

The birds pecking at Cliodna's face was a pretty bizarre thing to throw in there but I derno, it just popped up. XD Mythology tells that Cliodna traveled with three magical birds whose songs could heal the sick, so I kind of tweaked it a little. Sickness-healing birds aren't really necessary in a place like the Clock, so I just made them a little creepy.

Yay, I'm so stoked that you liked how this year's races are going to be in memories! I'm trying to make each round have its own set of unique challenges, because I don't want any of this to be easy for them. I mean, it /is/ called the Devil's Duel, after all, so they're going to have to work very hard if they want to win.

Heee, Peter's and Snape's motives. *cackles like evil witch* I shall not say, you will just have to wait and see!

:3

Thank you for reading and reviewing! It never fails to make my day.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Celeste 

10th May 2012:
Sarah, I would formally like to marry this story.

Seriously. This is still one of maybe two stories I actually read immediately upon seeing the update. Perhaps even more sadly is I've noticed on what day you update and it's on my list of things - TV shows, manga updates - that I have to remember to keep up with. Like please please give us super long 7k chapters. I would just sit there, devouring my screen.

You are brilliant. Oh my gosh, so brilliant. The reason I put off reading this story in the beginning was that I was considering my own HP afterlife story and I thought it for the best that I didn't read something that would possibly influence me. Aaand that was probably a good idea because as soon as I read this story, I trashed that idea because it completely pales in comparison.

Anyway, again, your use of minor characters and description and your plot is just breathtakingly awesome. Looking forward to the first round SO much. This is just a brilliant idea. I'm placing my bets on...Scrimgeour and...oh, I don't know who being knocked out in the first round. I want to say Crabbe but I feel like that would be an obvious answer. Maybe Cedric? Though I feel Cedric v Fred is inevitable. Maybe Colin? But the whole Colin v Fred thing also has amazing parallels - both clearly want to go back for their brothers and that's an interesting Tonks/Lily-like tension. Oooh maybe it's James? I hope it's James.

I really really hope it won't be Tonks v Lily in the final round D: The amount of cries that I will cry will be ungodly.

This review has been just about everywhere but it is very late at night and I'm going slightly cross-eyed so I probably shouldn't have reviewed in the first place BUT I COULDN'T MISS THE CHANCE TO FANGIRL AND SO, HERE I AM.

Author's Response: -dies-

CELESTE. ♥ YOU GIVE ME FLAPPY FLAIL-ARMS AND MUSH-BRAIN. ♥

I've gotten in the habit of updating on Wednesdays because Wednesdays are the most boring day of the week for me so it's a way to sort of spice up the monotony of it a little. Lol 7k chapters. Everyone else would be frightened by the word count and stop reading.

I didn't know you were going to write an afterlife story! I think you should still write one, anyway. There are plenty of afterlife fics floating around out there and no two are the same. Yours is pretty much guaranteed to be glorious, so WRITE ALL THE THINGS! Seriously, I want to read it.

Let me just say how much I love seeing your guesses. I don't trust myself to remark on any of it, but it's very amusing to watch. :3

I feel so flattered that you like this story. Your opinion is very much treasured. If you see any puddles of goo on the floor, try not to step in them because they are me. I have melted.



 Report Review

Review #24, by ariellem 

10th May 2012:
Hello, great chapter as usual. :D, sorry for leaving a longer review, I'm just not feeling well. Expect a detailed comment on your page soon. :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Baww, I hope you're feeling better. :( Thank you for reading and reviewing, even though you're not feeling well. It means a lot to me. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by blue_splash 

9th May 2012:
Ooo how exciting! I can't wait for the games to start! Personally my bets are on Fred cause he's just adorable haha. Great chapter though! Enjoyed it a lot and I can't wait for an update (:

Author's Response: Fred is extremely adorable, that is true. ♥ I'm pleased that you enjoyed it! I hope you like the next chapter. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>