Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cirque Du Freak 

4th June 2013:
ARCHIBALD WAS SO GREAT IN THIS CHAPTER. He was such a boss and I am so proud of him for shocking a whole actualy class in awe with his long paragraph of talking and stuff. That was so great ahaha. AND ALL THE NAMES the lit duo being ironically chavvy omg so great and genuinely felt the pride Archie felt when Dom made a Muggle joke I AM AS PROUD AS YOU ARCHIE.

I loved the excuse of getting in all these characters because of the lack of progress towards Muggles because its all actually legit which is fabulous and probably one of the tiny bits of plot you have running through this whole thing (besides two other small bits but SPOILERS).

Continuing to always and forever love this ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm 

3rd May 2013:
I never thought I would see George Samson in a chapter image, but there's always a first for everything!

Aw poor Archie having to look after the equivilant of wizarding chavs, I get why George Samson is there now! I almost want the Bonfire thing to go ahead, so we can see what they may do to it!

Yay we get to meet Dom and Fred! I loved the pair of them and you gave them such refreshing characteristic you couldn't help but fall in love with them! I'm with Archie on the parent curelty front, ignorance really is bliss in some cases.

Oh god the intelligence level of those people was so low it made me laugh! I really feel for Archie, I mean, how could you not know what the pointy end of the pencil does?

I think you may have meant Lorcan here 'Locran' :D

So the bonfire night went off without a hitch then? That's rather surprising, as I was almost expecting something Fred and George esque to happen! I suppose Vicky setting the ground on fire was more than enough though, and thank god it didn't do anything more damaging!

Another great chapter, and I can't wait to read more :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: I had to have a bonfire, because there's no possible way in which something wouldn't go wrong when you have Archie + students + fire so you know... couldn't resist ;)

I love writing about Dom and Fred so expect them to be starring characters for most of this humble little story. Along with Archie, of course.

I'll go change that thing now. Thanks for pointing it out.

SO GLAD YOU LIKED THE CHAPTER :)

Helen


 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne 

27th February 2013:
I love that Archie is doing anything he can to avoid the head teachers office :D
Seriously Helen these names are hilarious! I love that the wizards are naming their children this without realising :D
The students are pretty crazy, I blame it on having to deal with their names.
Go Archie telling James off! *snaps fingers sassily*
Will a lesson or activity ever go smoothly?

Author's Response: I genuinely just have a book of stupid name for Muggle Studies. And then I sit there scrolling through the lexicon going 'do any of these magical surnames have potential?' and then that's my lifffe.

i doubt smooth is on the agenda :')


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jessica_GinnyizGr8 

26th December 2012:
The chapter was so punny! Yummy.
(Though that was the oldest most cliched pun, it was intended)
I was giggling throughout this chapter. How do you get these little sparky ideas of DH Lawrence and Guy Fawkes and Herriot? Ah! They were a joy to read.

Just one thing though:
'Ignore him,'Miss Barbie said, 'he's just bitter because he's signed his robes.'

I'm sure that it is a typo and you meant singed but when I first read it I was like 'Eh, What?'

Author's Response: YUMMY PUNNY.
Aha. Guy Fawkes was the idea of TGK, and I just love James Herriot so much it just had to happen. AND YES that should be singed (I'll go back and check that over right now). Thnks for this lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Hope's Mom 

25th August 2012:
I loved all the literary references (and the lit duo)! His group of volunteers wasn't unexpected but sure added a lot to the chapter. Archie may have done his compulsory students more good than he could ever know - at the minimum maybe they'll be more careful around muggles just to avoid Azkaban! Thank you for all your work!

Author's Response: Pah, it was a 'I'm interesting it lit references' sort of day when I wrote this. Potential that it got slightly out of control but, you know, I'm not proud. Thanks for a lovverllyy review (as always!) :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Crescent Moon  

25th August 2012:
I loved it!! So funny XD
It's great to meet some new characters and the ones in chapter 6 again.
I have to say for a minute I thought Freddie or someone might try to push Guy into the fire if he was there but it's probably better off for everyone that it didn't happen.
I laugh so much while reading this story I'm lucky I'm alone at the moment.
I'm off to go and read the spin off now :D

Author's Response: AHAHAH. Oh dear, it is probably for the best that Guy wasn't around for that bit I should think, as funny as it would have been I think pushing people into bonfires might have caused me to bump up the rating somewhat... ah, well. I guess we'll see. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Gryfindor 

8th June 2012:
It was the last line that did it for me, encapsulating the three chapters I read to a T. It was a perfect way to end the chapter, and I'm surprised that more people haven't reviewed this chapter, even just to comment on that final line. Muggle Studies is fun... if you enjoy such things as these students get up to. Poor Archibald!

This story makes for an excellent comedy - I can definitely picture it being some sort of wizard sitcom (it could work over the Wizarding Wireless Network). Writing it in this style as a short story collection rather than a continuous story makes it a refreshing read - I haven't read a fanfic collection in a while, and this format does have a very different feel to it. I can't completely describe it because, while there aren't cliffhangers or an overarching plot stringing the chapters together, there's still something in this that pulls readers along to see what happens next.

The authors names... major laughs there. Even James Herriot is an author (rather than just a character - the books are biographical *nerdishness*), and as a literature nut, I caught all of the references. My god, the wizards have chosen the craziest names for their kids, but it's a very different crazy from those ridiculous names all the Mary Sues get. :P I appreciated Archibald's jokes toward his students, especially poor Lawrence. XD

Excellent work on this story! I still have to catch up on your McGonagall one, but I'm glad that I was able to read a different kind of story from you - this isn't one I normally would have read, so those review exchanges definitely come in handy sometimes. :D

Author's Response: Hey there Violet Gryfindor! I've just had this horrible moment when I realised that I still owe you reviews and am now metaphorically hitting myself over the head with something heavy and metaphorical.

YES! This should definitely be a sitcom. Ohmygosh, I'm totally imagining it now and I would really really really love to watch it, ahha. I'd never written a short story collection before and I guess I thought it would be easier to write given I have quite a lot of WIPS on the go.. and I've really enjoyed it.

Yes! I know James Herriot is also the author (who doesn't love All Creatures Great and Small?) and I'll probably insert that in my authors not at some point. Not really sure why I didn't throw it out tere in the first place. Ahha, I really loved writing about the wizardings kids names - so much fun to write about, ahah.

Thank you for such a lovely review and am so sorry about your reviews! They will be with you VERY SOON I SWEAR! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by accioHPFF 

21st May 2012:
Helen! I can't believe I didn't keep following this story better!

I really like what you did with this chapter, making it about Bonfire Night and the effects of Halloween. I think some of the anecdotes about what happened at Halloween was my favourite part, because it's just really funny, ennit :P

Some of the references you made were great :D One or two of them I didn't initially get, but I somehow knew you'd get a Sherlock reference in here :P

Overall, I loved this chapter! I really liked the way that he spoke to them about the chances of them surviving in the muggle world too. I don't know what else I can do, except list EVERYTHING in this chapter that I liked :P

Great job :)

Author's Response: Oh hey Scott! I can't believe you haven't been following it better either (loljokeI'mjokingyougetitit'snotveryfunnyI'msorry).

ENNIT. GOt to love a bit of humour. Ahahah, of course Sherlock was going to creep in there somehow! I was actually quite surprised I didn't get him in there sooner.

Thanks for a lovely review Scott! :)

-Ac


 Report Review

Review #9, by ariellem 

21st May 2012:
“It doesn’t smudge.” Penelope Pilliwickle said, sounding quite delighted.

Archibald wanted to engage her in a conversation about the extensive selection of novelty pens in his office, but thought that now possibly wasn’t the time.

I love this whole chapter, I love Archie, you can expect a nomination for most original character from me for him when the dobbies come around. He's brilliant and I love him and his muggle nuttiness. I love his students as well, Dom and Freddie and all the wonderful references you make. :) Maybe some chapter could have a Doctor Who joke in it? ;)

Author's Response: Ahahah, oh Archie how I do love you! Oh wow Arielle, that's a really really lovely thing to say! I have absolutely loved writing about Archie and he is one of my favourites so THANK YE VERY VERY MUCH.

This whole thing has been a blast to write :D


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheGoldenKneazle 

18th May 2012:
Oh, this was all wonderfully brilliant Helen! For a start - ARCHIE GOT HIS BIG MOMENT OF POWER :'D And then he even scared some kids! There are so many first-timers in here, and it's all a total scream.

I loved your plot for a start - it was so great to have the criminal records bit, which was a totally amazing idea btw, and then the bonfire! Ahha I feel special for being credited at the end, thankyouu :) I adored how there was still a lot of silliness, like with the marshmallow explosion, even when an evening was going so well haha!

Archie's insults are just one of the best things about him. It was brilliant how he kept mentally insulting the extra student helpers, and the mental analysis of Thomas Hardy and DH Lawrence? LOOOVEDIT! Archie's so scathing yet so pathetic (the novelty pen collection came up again! Hurrah!) And Guy Fawkes was wonderful, too; you did November proud!

Aaah the return of some of the best characters! Dom, Freddie, Vicky, Boris, Gina... Elliot Cooper. Elliot is possibly my favourite character (although this is in doubt, since it's hard to beat Dom and Freddie). He's so horribly smug and arrogant and I just want to throttle him whilst fangirling about Aragorn and making fun of the silly non-muggleborns :'D

I was basically hysterically laughing all through this chapter. Never stop writing, Helen 8D 10/10 for everything!
~Lottie

 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

15th May 2012:
THIS CHAPTER WAS FILLED WITH WIN, WIN, WIN. I don't know where to begin -- GUY FAWKES. THEGOLDENKNEAZLE IS A GENIUS!

I'M GOING TO APOLOGIZE BEFORE HAND BECAUSE MY REVIEW IS A JUMBLED-MUMBLED MESS.


but mostly she probably thought he was doing something quite illegal and just wanted her out the way.

^ HAHAHA. CHARMING CHARMS TEACHER AND ARCHIE. Oh, if only he knew how much he's going to like her a few short months later. I SHIP THEM EVEN WHEN ARCHIE DOESN'T LIKE HER. SHE IS CHARMING AFTER ALL.

longer it would take for Aurora Sinstra to find him and drag him, kicking and screaming into her office.

^ Wonderful image. A grown man getting dragged to the Head's office.

his girlfriend was already irritated enough at him without them having to actually co-inhabit the same apartment

^ The same girlfriend he wanted to go on a bicycle journey with, no? No wonder they didn't last.

And now I have that Queen song stuck in my head but it's a mash-up with Fat Bottomed Girls.

I DON'T KNOW WHAT GOES ON IN MY HEAD EITHER.

jaunty

^ THAT'S ONE OF MY FAVORITE WORDS. (I thought you should know).

Jigger

^ Jigger! That's like Jigga, right? Like Jay-Z (JZ?) calls himself, 'Jigga said what?' No. Wait...is it Jeezy? No...

Well I clearly know so much about my own 'muggle' culture. I am a shameful American right now.

She said she'd didn’t have no sweets cause she was just walking back from the pub, and that I weren't dressed up neither. So then I said I'd just take her money and she got angry

^ HAHAHA. COULDN'T STOP LAUGHING. This happened to my mother's friend on halloween once. This kid asked her for candy outside a church and she didn't have any because HELLO SHE WAS COMING FROM CHURCH so he took his toy sword and told her to give him her money or he was going to 'stab' her with the sword.

He was like six.
She was traumatized.

I thought it was pretty hysterical. Oh, lots of laughs with this chapter AC/HELEN. Lots of laughs!

 Report Review

Review #12, by justonemorefic 

15th May 2012:
perpetual out of orderness, oh Helen. Archie with his smoothness lolol. I just sort of always imagine him skidding from hallway to hallway (as RDJ, of course), sees someone, skids the other way, acts inconspicuous while someone else is around.

Hee I love that this is how they deal with trick-or-treaters. I suppose Muggles are the treats and tricks are compulsory then?

GUY FAWKES AND TOM HARDY YEAAAH. AND A SHERLOCK HOLMES REFERENCE SNERK YOU DID NOT JUST GO THERE. Now all you need to do is cast another professor in here with Jude Law :3

Trick-or-treat = mugging muggles lolol THAT ISN'T EVEN LEGAL IN WIZARDING LAW, C'MON. Get yerself together there, Herriot.

For future reference,” he finished, holding the pen in front of his face, “you click the top bit.” No no no, sometimes you twist it too. And AWW DORIS, What's the point? Heee puns galore, you know the way to my heart.

I love how there needs to be a small army to watch over the Muggle Studies kids. THE MARSHMALLOWS. I have the same priorities, don't worry, Dom.



Author's Response: AHHAH. I like to imagine Archie like that. Actually, scratch that, I just like to imagine RDJ like that. I just like to imagine RDJ though.

Hesosmoth. Ahha.

I just had to have a Sherlock Holmes references. I fall more in love with Sherlock Holmes daily, so it has to sneak in somewhere. And I just had a reference-frenzy and start throwing things anywhere.

Terry Boot as Jude Law? We'll see. We'll very much see. Pah.

THAT'S A GOOD POINT. Archie's teaching is letting them down... he'd turn up and get a screw-top pen and not know what the hell to do.

PUNS 4EVA.

Save the Marshmallows.

Always.

THANK YOU FOR SUCH A LOVVELY REVIEW :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #13, by Sarahthebookworm 

14th May 2012:
Hi there! It's me again.

So I loved this chapter just as much as all the others. I enjoyed the increased length of the chapter; I hope you do it again. I'm sad that this is set in November though; I wanted some more Archie/Dionne action (wow, I actually remembered her name!). But at least I got to see some interaction and his previous thoughts on her. However, I can't wait for April. Please tell me you'll post that this month? *puppy eyes*

I didn't get all the references (I'm Canadian), but I think it shows Archie's love for Muggle culture perfectly. He's so nerdy, and his mind immediately jumps to muggle culture. I think its cute, though. I also enjoyed how he tries to postpone the inevitable by first patrolling and then using the Bonfire Night as an excuse, but then resignedly accepts his fate. Archie is a strange cross between a pessimist and an optimist. Before something happens, he's all gloomy and dreading it, but after it happens, he tries to put it in the best possible light. I'm getting to like Archie's character more and more each chapter.

Again, I love all the wacky and wonderful students you've thought up for this story. And it's amazing how many of their names are eerily similar to famous muggles. :P I mean, Guy Fawkes? Really? How common are those two names? ;) You really have a talent for names. John Jigger, Doris Dingle and Penilope Pilliwickle cracked me up.

We got introduced to the Lit Duo, as you promised! I'm liking them already. And, John Watson! I love Dom...and Fred, of course. Both overenthusiastic, sometimes a little too helpful, and great for comedic relief. Just what Archie needs to assure him that there are still people who pay attention to him.

I love how Archie interacts with his pupils; his dry humor and sarcastic wit are simply hilarious. And their reactions are pretty funny too. It cracks me when Archie keeps all his frustration bottled in and then unleashes it on a hapless student. The poor student's and Archie's reactions are hilarious to see (read about?).

One thing I think really makes this story funny is how you imply so much more through Archie's thoughts than just what you tell us in detail; it leaves so much to the reader's imagination. So although your chapters themselves are rather short, it seems so much longer and as if we are really experiencing what Archie sees. An example is this paragraph:

"Admittedly, Fred had taken the 'remember, remember the fifth of November' chant a little bit too far, but those sorts of things were nothing compared to how truly terrible the daily compulsory lessons had been.

And, yes, he’d had to ban most of his students from using the sparklers but that hadn’t exactly been a surprise. And it was probably for the best that Hugo Weasley learnt that sort of language at this point, rather than stumbling across it in a situation where Fred was available to explain and define what each choice swear word meant. Really, it was healthier this way."

The imagery these four sentences convey! Amazing! The whole Bonfire Night was great; the little glimpses of the various characters, Vicky's stick catching on fire, the water spell, and of course, Thomas Hardy's final comment!

I also really like how you link your various chapters together, despite writing them in the wrong order; I think it takes a great deal of talent. I think you're a great author in general; you write so well in such a variety of genres. I've read several of your stories, and although they're all brilliant, they are all so different and unique in their own ways. I think it's a sign of extraordinary talent that you can write a variety of characters and situations so spectacularly well. Have you considered publishing something of yours; not just fanfiction? I'd love to read something of yours, unrelated to Harry Potter if you do decide to try!

I would paste favorite quotes, but it's almost 1 AM, and I have homework to submit it at school tomorrow. I'm pretty sure I covered everything I could have said, in any case. Anyway, great chapter as usual. I'm really looking forward to more!

Sarah

PS - I tried to sign in to post this review, but it's not working for some reason. Any ideas?

Author's Response: SARAH!

First can I say that this review was so beautifully wondering. It's the sort of review that I posted in the reviews-that-made-your-day-thread and also copied and pasted it to friends because it was so delicious and shiny and made me feel all squishy inside. You're amazing and I always look forward to your reviews so much!

Following that, sorry for taking such a long time to respond. I'm sort of in the middle of exams and I wanted to make sure I had enough time to give this review all the time it deserved when I got to responding it. But, well, on rereading it for like the seventh time I realised I couldn't wait any longer. So here I am!

I was very much planning another update this month! There was supposed to be two or three, but unfortunately the queues been long and I've been slow due to exams... but, I think I might start writing the April chapter now as you've definitely inspired me a little more! I'll get to it when I've answered a few more reviews, I think :)

PAH. Guy Fawkes. I just loved that one. Oh, yeah... all those surnames are actually CANON. Yeah. They're all mentioned at some point in HP (I used the lexicon, I won't deny) but I thought they were just wonderful so had to use them. John Jigger is definitely my favourite xD

Fred and Dom are some of my favourite creations of all time, hehe. They're just so hilarious and beautiful :D

ARCHIES RANTS WERE SO FUN TO WRITE IN THIS CHAPTER. With a different bunch of students he finally got a chance to let off some steam and, well... it was interesting. A lot of fun to write, hehee. I love Archie's world weary look on life. Lots of fun to play around with :D

And he's so geeky! Pah.

Awwh, thank you so much Sarah! I'd love to be a writer one day and I'm working towards it in a round about sort of way. I've written a couple of original novels and things. I'm not quite good enough yet, but I'm determined that one day I will be.

Thanks for such a truly lovely review! You're amazing and wonderful and all the other positive adjectives.

-AC/Helen

(not sure about the signing in thing, I'm afraid!)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review