Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Steven Carnell 

3rd February 2014:
This is a most interesting journey. A very good treatment of what could happen if it were possible to travel through time. We all do travel through time but it is in one direction and second by second. Very well written, plotted and imagined. Truly excellent.

Author's Response: Yes! you've picked out that important contrast between the "normal" travelling through time - the constant movement forward of linear time - and the time travel that Lily experiences: moving backwards in time, fragmented time, and cyclical time. She achieves self-actualization by living, not linearly, but cyclically, and she sacrifices herself to achieve it.

I'm very pleased to hear that you thought this a good treatment of time travel, and that you liked the story as a whole. Thank you for taking the time to read and review! :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by Nike 

22nd January 2014:
Just wanted to let you know that I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story.
Your characters are very original. You breathed new life into the characters of Alastor Moody and Lily Potter for me.
Lovely plot, you kept me guessing till the end :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed this story, and that you liked how the characters were portrayed. They are different from any way I've written them before, as well as from what I've read in other stories, which is always a risk in fanfiction.

It's also excellent that the plot kept you guessing. When writing it, I worried that it would be too obvious, but that's the trouble of being the one to create the twists - you never know whether they'll work.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this story! I really appreciate hearing from you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Smeemo 

8th November 2013:
Great story!! I love reading stories with unexpected pairings and evolving plot lines. Throw in time travel and well I'm hooked. Keep up the good work :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed this story and it's fantastic that you liked it for those reasons. Those elements helped make this story a great experience to write - there's just something about time travel, complex plots, and unexpected pairings. :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by cedrixfan 

29th July 2013:
Good lord. No joke, this is the first time I have read a fan fic in several years. YEARS--this place used to be my LIFE. And today, I visited on a whim and chose at random from the Dobby Awards winners list, and got blown away. Thanks a million for this. Beautiful descriptions, out-there plot (in the best ways), great suspense...wow. I tip my hat to you :). Keep at it, please! I'm definitely a fan.

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you very much for these compliments! It's fantastic that you picked out this story and that it had such an effect on you. It means a lot to hear how much you enjoyed reading this. :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by KMS 

10th July 2013:
This story was amazing - I truly don't think I will ever be able to think of Mad-Eye again without thinking that his madness resulted from the loss of his one true love too soon and believing that he died protecting the life of her father and therefore her life and their love and life together. I was so happy that he didn't have a bitter shrew of a wife as Lily originally thought and that Lily did not have to feel the fears and worries that she had imagined Moody's wife, as the wife of an auror, must have suffered, since she knew that he would outlive her. To be honest, I didn't like Lily very much during any of the parts during her own time, but came around to her during the bits with Moody - guess that's really where she was meant to be and where she was her best self. Mad-Eye throughout was fascinating and spot on as far as being true to the original character. A truly addictive and fascinating story - bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's fantastic that people are still stopping by to read this story, and I'm particularly pleased to hear that your vision of Moody has been changed by this story. An important aspect of this story turned out to be giving him this history, which is far more complex and traumatic than I expected it would be. But it's also a very romantic history, like you've mentioned, and that's something people don't associate with Moody.

Your point about Lily is very accurate - she's not meant to be particularly likeable when she's in her original time. To a large degree, it's because she doesn't belong there, and something inside of her acknowledges this even before she comes to the cottage. So much of the story is founded on her psychological state and the transformation she undergoes as she's first guided through time, then takes it into her own hands, at last deciding her own fate.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! It was wonderful to hear from you! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by the_undaunted 

14th April 2013:
It was one of the best stories I have ever read. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.
At first I thought it was a bit mindboggling, to even imagine such a pairing. But it all falls into place, and makes so much sense. I loved the twist at the end, which wasn't that obvious from the beginning. Hell, the best part of this story was that it was so unexpected, we could only suspect some developments, but it was rather by the end of the story when everything was illuminated.
It was such a great read, and I'm definitely eager to read more of your stories soon! Again, thanks!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you, it's wonderful to hear you say these things about this story!

The pairing does throw people off, though to me, the pairing was never the point of the story. It could have been any two characters divided by time, yet connected in some, I'll call it spiritual, way. The two of them just fit together in the end, and it was great to watch this happen as I was writing. :D

I'm really glad that the twists and unexpected nature of the story caught your interest - it's just what I was hoping for, to find a different way of writing a time travel romance.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! It means a lot to hear that you enjoyed the story!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Potterwatch124 

2nd April 2013:
I have to confess, I'm still a little confused about what exactly happened, mostly the ending... I probably can't see it exactly the way you did/do, but it was really beautiful nonetheless. Lily growing younger as Moody grew older and vice versa was tragic and brilliant at the same time. The story ended peacefully, which was lovely, and I loved the ending (confusing though it was) - I don't like many story endings, but I thought this one was really flawless. Awesome story!

Author's Response: Ah, the ending. I think you're right that it makes more sense in my head than it does on paper, but the idea is that time works in a loop - Lily creates her own future, using the cabinet, but abusing time travel eventually kills her. Time travel always makes timelines more complicated - one day I'll figure out how to make it work in a way that's easy to understand.

It's a wonderful compliment that you still enjoyed the story, even more incredible to hear that you've found the ending beautiful. I often don't write happy endings, but this one, I couldn't help but make it something special. That's why it means a lot that you liked it.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Debra20 

31st March 2013:
I think I've started for an entire 5 minutes at the screen, thinking how to start my last review for this story. It's done> This is the end and I feel like crying. This is the first story that I've ever truly finished on the Archives. I have a habit of starting long stories, but never finish them. I feel happy that this was not the case. I don't think it could have been either because it was too much of an interesting story to NOT reach it's end.

I am both confused and thrilled with the ending. Confused because you divided the chapter in two different times and I don't know which shows the true ending. Although, considering this is a time travel story, I don't think there is any TRUE ending. Maybe they are just different dimensions? In any case, I'm going to go with the last one where Lily and Alastor are finally together. It gives the entire story a sense of a completed cycle that makes me all fuzzy inside.

I just love how you portrayed the house in the last part. At the beginning of the story, the house is introduced to us as a boring place, a space where Lily doesn't seem to fit in because she feels she has lost so much because of her foot injury. But it's not the house that's at fault I believe. It's the person living inside it. I think the phrase "beauty is in the eyes of the beholder" accurately explain what I'm trying to put through here. Having experienced so much since the start of her journey, meeting love and finally having the chance to be with him in the end, give the whole place a completely different atmosphere. Beautiful ending! LOVED IT!!!

Thank you Susan. Thanks for writing such a gripping story, with so many to learn from it and so many to take home with you. It was truly a pleasure reading this story

Author's Response: Wow, your first story! It means a lot that this story was able to keep you going right till the end - it's a problem that I have too with reading on the archives, so I understand. Thank you for coming back to read and review each chapter! :D

Is there ever a true ending? :P They are the end of the same story - the first is the literal end of Lily's life while the second is the end of the time travel narrative. The previous chapter introduced the adult Lily - who is the Lily from the portrait - and including her "ending" here brings the story full circle, reflecting how Lily's timeline goes in a circle (there's also the ring, another circle). I used to have a third ending, which shows Neville discovering the portrait, but it didn't fit as well as I would have liked.

Oh, I'm so glad that you liked the portrayal of the cottage in this chapter! It's so central to the story that it might as well be a character - it's always at once her home and her prison. She has that vision at some point about being trapped in the house, waiting for Moody's return - and even when she tries to escape from Moody, the house seems to prevent her. Yet at the end here it is the only place she truly belongs - at both death and rebirth, the cottage is beautiful, filled with light and love, and it gives her that happiness she sought for.

I can't express how happy your compliments have made me! :D It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed this story so much! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Peta 

22nd October 2012:
Hi :)
So I've just spent the entire day reading your story from start to finish, all in one sitting. I have to say, I think this is the best story I've ever read - and I'm not just talking fan fiction, I mean everything. Lily's emotions just drew me in, I felt what she felt, I cried when she cried. You are an amazing writer, your descriptions and writing style are just beautiful. And that plot line! Oh my... you just had me guessing until the end, surprised at every twist and turn.
Anyway I'll stop gushing now, but my main point was that I really loved your story and can't wait to read more of your writing! Best of luck, and I hope you keep writing for a long time to come :)

Author's Response: This review is phenomenal! Thank you very much for taking the time to read this story and let me know what effect it had upon you. I've read your review many times and it still leaves me speechless. Your response to the story was what I hoped for - I wanted to write something emotionally moving and turbulent - but I wasn't sure when I finished if I'd quite succeeded. It means a lot to hear that you enjoyed reading this, and that you think so highly of it. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by ruby_slippers 

17th October 2012:
This was brilliant. You are a very talented writer

Author's Response: Thank you! It's fantastic that you enjoyed the story so much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #11, by BellaCamille 

14th August 2012:
Ah, wow! This is an amazing story, perhaps some of the best I've ever read. It all comes together so well in the end and it all makes sense and it's all so fitting. Beautifully written.

Author's Response: *jaw drops* Thank you! Wow, this is fantastic to hear. One of the best... I don't know what else to say other than "thank you." It's wonderful to have written something where all the pieces fit together, though it's better to have written something you enjoyed so much. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #12, by Niamh 

16th July 2012:
I'm first and foremost a terrible reviewer, which is why I've never bothered to actually make an account despite the fact I'm on this site all the time, but when I found this a while ago and read it from start to finish, I felt compelled to leave a review. Just...wow. This story is amazing, complex and you pulled off the execution brilliantly. I never figured out until the last chapter how it was all going to slot together. It was a bit heartbreaking, but in a good way. Thanks for writing this story, it's completely different to anything I've ever read before. 10/10.

Author's Response: Wow, this is fantastic. Thank you so much for this - it made my day to receive it, and it's still making me incredibly happy. To hear that something in this story struck you like that and compelled you to review is what every author loves to hear. I certainly don't think you're a terrible reviewer - this on you've done is fabulous!

I don't know how to respond to this review in the way that it deserves. Writing this story was an incredible experience, one I wish I could repeat, and it wonderful to see that the experience of reading it is just as special. Thank you for taking the time to read this story! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #13, by elastic 

1st June 2012:
Um well. I have to say I've never read anything quite like this, and that I'm fairly sure I enjoyed it. In fact, I might just read the entire thing over again right this minute. I like that it's so... pretty, and I know that's not the word for it but it's the only thing I can think of. It just reminds me of a mass of colour that twists and turns and never really ends. Something you could probably look at forever, and never fully understand. And well, I think that's very pretty. Or perhaps some other word that makes more sense but is lost somewhere in a continuous circle of time and forever out of my reach.

But I won't get philosophical.

Impressive, really, how you have a, er, "happy ending" sort of thing without minimising all the loss. I really do like that, and I think it's an important thing for an author to remember in a story like this (though no story is quite like this, of course), that the characters should really earn their peace. Not so much by their own actions or thoughts, but by... well, the way it's all written. I suppose I'm saying the ending was well worth the story, and the same in reverse. Though I'm not really sure that makes any more sense.

In any case, I feel very much... at peace with this story. And I do like that. And I think you're a perfectly lovely writer or perhaps in a less poncey way that's drifting off in space. But it is there somewhere, I promise.

Well enough of this, I'm sure you've loads of things to do, just wanted to let you know I appreciate it all.

xx

Author's Response: This review has floored me for a considerable amount of time, and I'm sorry for my failure to respond to this sooner. To see that someone had "got" the story like you have is a wonderful thing, and I'm very thankful that you read and reviewed. It's a story that has meant a lot to me, and your review has helped cement that.

"Pretty" works well enough - I think I understand what you mean. I love how you described it as a neverending mass of colour and that elusive thing, like a strange painting, that attracts one's eye, but remains just beyond one's grasp. Wow! It's incredible to hear that this story has had that effect upon a reader. I've never been able to see this story from the outside, but it is unending - at some point, the plot turned back on itself again and again until Lily's life became not the linear time of most, but an endless cycle. It's the thing I've wanted to see in other time travel stories, but it never quite happens. For some reason, here, it did, and I still don't know how.

You're right about the ending. There can't be a happy ending, not in a perfect fluffy way - the trauma that both characters have undergone is too powerful, and to evade it would undermine any realism I may have achieved in this story. They both will die; they both will be unhappy; but that's what people do; it's the natural process, and there's no way to escape it, not even if you have power over time. I'm really pleased to hear that the ending was worthy of the rest - I have a fear of ending stories because most endings are let-downs in their own way, and I didn't want that for this story. I wanted something that provided closure, but was equally open-ended.

Thank you so much for this. I hoped to write something different, something to evoke emotion and thought, and that, from what I see, is exactly what it did. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lillylover22 

12th May 2012:
Im glad they found each other. 10/10 : )

Author's Response: That's great to hear! This ending was strange because I wanted to end it in so many different ways (so I included three of them), but then I couldn't decide on the order of the scenes. I'm glad that I settled on the happy ending as the last scene because it does emphasize that, in the end, they are together. It may have been a temporary thing, but that's life - they at least had /something/.

Thank you very much for all of your reviews! I'm happy to have followed you through the story. :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by Aphoride 

5th May 2012:
Oh my gosh. I... gosh, I honestly don't know what to say... I just read this all in one go - I couldn't stop, no matter what - and... wow. Just wow.

Right, let's try writing something coherent ;)

It was amazing. Absolutely amazing. The whole plot was so intricately woven together, so perfectly done - I never suspected, not really, that Lily herself was the woman in the portrait, that she was his wife. It occured to me at one point that Lily had had red hair at one point, and if the dye grew out... but I never thought it would actually happen. I didn't think about what was going to happen, really. I was so hooked, I just kept reading. Ah, gosh, all the little things in there that I now understand having finished it - the whole thing with the notes and the cupboard and the rings and the fire - just made it so brilliant. The idea itself is incredible, but the fact that you actually managed to write it without confusing yourself or the readers? Mind-blowing. (Also, I've read Jane Eyre and I barely noticed the similarities in some places until you pointed them out at the end of the chapter :P)

Your characters were wonderful as well. Lily was just so brilliant - so young and naive at the beginning, so foolish and curious and kinda happy-go-lucky in a pessimistic, moody way, if that makes sense. Then, at the end I can absolutely see her turning into the spiteful woman in the portrait, driven mad by the knowledge of what happens in the future. Moody was just perfect. Nuff said. I've never seen a better Moody written, and he's so difficult to write, so all credit to you for that.

I just loved this. I loved it so much. It was absolutely incredible... gosh, it's just perfect. Absolutely perfect.

Aph xx

Author's Response: Thank you! This review has had me squeeing for some time now - it's a fantastic thing to have received, not only because it was a surprise, but because it's just plain brilliant. It means a lot that you enjoyed the story so much - to hear it called "perfect" is amazing beyond words. ^_^

The plot twist with Lily and the portrait was a sneaky thing - there were many times when I thought it was too obvious, but others when it wasn't obvious enough. There are so many gingers in the Potterverse anyway that it could have been someone else - maybe even an ancestor of Lily via the Weasleys (that would have been cool, actually - I wish I'd thought of that sooner :P). But what was interesting about making them the same person was that it emphasized Lily's fear that it was all a dream. If it was all happening in Lily's head, then she would be battling herself (the portrait) for the desired object (Moody) and Freud would have a lot of fun. :P

It's wonderful to hear that you liked the characters, too. Sometimes Lily was difficult to work with because she was so bitter and dark, all her ability to hope and be happy buried deep within - but she could feel, and do so profusely, which tears her apart from the inside out. She became far more complicated than I ever expected.

And Moody. ^_^ Oh gosh, I think I fell in love with him myself while writing, so it's a great treat to hear that his characterization in this story was spot-on.

Thank you again for this fabulous review! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by fishergirl 

5th May 2012:
Congratulations, once again you have reduced me to tears. This is beautiful.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! This is the kind of emotional response I was hoping for with this story, and it's wonderful to hear that it worked, and that you enjoyed the story. :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by justonemorefic 

5th May 2012:
SUCH A HUGE CONGRATS FOR FINISHING THIS. I want to shake you and just show you do you know how perfect this ending is? This whole story? I got all teary-eyed the whole way through.

Twenty-seven years together, wow. Twenty-seven before she had to close the loop. There are seriously no words for that whole scene. You have the perfect words. Her dying words ;A; I felt like I understood so much more, from Moody to this future dying Lily to even the missing time in those 27 years and how it might have come to this point.

I'm so happy you ended with the happy scene in which they reunite :3 even if it is bittersweet. Lily seeing Moody's scar for what he thinks is the first time, and his arm around her. Time finally slows down and Lily's finally, truly alive. Endings are so hard, but I love this dual set-up you've given us.

I've blabbered enough, I still don't know how to express just how much I loved this all ♥ This is one of those fics that I'll always remember.

Author's Response: Thank you, Gina! *glomps* It's done! I'm still in shock.

Perfect?

PERFECT?! Yay! The last scene was the ending I wanted to write at the beginning, but as usual, I second guessed myself all the way through, which is where the other two parts came from - there were too many unanswered questions if I left them out, even if it meant breaking the continuity of the narration. Bringing everything full-circle became more important, and I'm really, really glad that it worked.

That death scene is strange because Lily knows that, in a couple of days, if not sooner, her younger self will appear. At once she has the comfort of knowing that Moody won't entirely lose her while also remembering that will also drive him into madness - a necessary madness, one could say, but it must still be painful. Again, the timeline is so twisted that everything is marked by duality - endings are beginnings and vice versa. In my head, if this even matters at all, I saw these two scenes happening simultaneously, the older Lily's hand falling at the same moment as the younger Lily and younger Moody kiss - the scenes would blur together, the cycle never ending.

Thank you so much for helping me through this story. It's been awesome to read your responses to each chapter - they've been really inspiring. ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review