Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by J 

25th July 2014:
LADY TENABRA. !!!ARABELA DYNT!!! I CANT BELIEVE IT TOOK THIS LONG!! IM A SCRABBLE CHAMPION!!

Author's Response: Muahahahahaaa!

Seriously, though, thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Courtney Dark 

18th February 2014:
Tag!

Wow, this chapter was incredible! I both hated and loved it at the same time! Loved it because, as usual, your writing was absolutely incredible and the plot continues to thicken and hated it (in the best way possible) because what is happening in Hermione is just so horrible.

The scene between Ron and Hermione was just amazing . I am so jealous of your writing skills! And then when Harry came in...you seriously write him so well. I always, without fail, feel like I'm reading JK Rowling's words.

Oooh, I also really enjoyed the scene at the Burrow. I always love reading crowd scenes, as it's interesting to see how individual authors balance all the characters - you, of course, do an amazing job! And I can't help but find the thought of Draco Malfoy standing in the Burrow weird and amusing, even after all these years.

Okay, so in quite a few of my reviews I have mentioned my suspicions of Arabela Dynt. And now I am sure of it - she has to be Lady Tenebra! Which means that the big bad villain is in the Order of the Phoenix Meeting! Which is not good! Unless I'm completely wrong here...

Anyway, this was an amazing chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

There are definitely things not to like in this one. Hermione is being driven farther and farther into the darkness. At least she finally opened up to Ron and Harry in this chapter, but then things take an even worse turn at the end.

I spent a lot of time on the scene with just Ron and Hermione, so I'm really glad it worked well for you. It was kind of hard to imagine the two of them in this kind of situation, and predicting Ron's responses was the hardest part.

I wanted to capture some of that warm, comfortable chaos that everyone seems to associate with the Burrow and I've never been quite sure of how it plays out from a reader's point of view. Sounds like it's working OK. I loved the idea of Draco standing stiffly by the door, wondering how anyone could *live* in a place like this.

All I'll say is that you'll find out one way or the other about Arabela pretty soon. If you're correct then no, it's not good at all.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by peggy77 

26th November 2013:
I don't like this. Not at all. I actually feel sick to my stomach after reading about what Hermione is going through. I hope she can find some way to get the darkness...the dragon out of her soon. Personally I'd rather be dead than have to be filled with hate, or to know I had it in me to cause that much pain to someone else.

I'm sorry to say that I don't like what's happened to Hermione, but I feel I must. I sure hope there is some way out of this situation without her dying, but death would be better than living that way.

Author's Response: Aww, I'm sorry to leave you feeling so unsettled. Poor Hermione hits rock bottom in this chapter, and maybe the worst part is that the people around her can't even see how bad it is because the results are so positive. She would also rather not live this life, but until she gets Rose and Octavia back, she's not going to give up.

If you give it one more chapter, I think you'll find that she's strong enough to make it through.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by APerkins 

27th October 2013:
Ok. I think you did really well writin about Hermione and her struggle with not wanting to hate everyone but choosing to hate everyone as the better alternative to giving into the pain so that she can find Rose.
It's one thing to sacrifice yourself. It is harder to sacrifice others, and that harder sacrifice is what Hermione was willing to make if it meant findiing her daughter. Strong woman hermione.

still feeling Rons side kickiness. I think I will have to start an underdog club.

Also cause i dont like to be misleading. That whole pharmacist thing? Im not a pharmacist - well... probably not in the way you think.
My shirt says Im a surgeon, an ophthalmologist, an internal medicine consultant, a pharmacist a physio, a chiropractor, a dermatologist, an anaesthesiologist a grief counsellor, a financial advisor, a pathologist, a zoonotic disease expert, a ... and the list goes on to list about a billion other roles :)
Its a cool shirt.

Author's Response: That sounds like one heck of a shirt. Unless you wear an XXL, the font must be really small. ;)

I agree that Ron is a bit side-kicky in this chapter. It tends to happen whenever he's in the same place with Harry and Hermione at the same time. Guilty as charged.

Hermione is willing to sacrifice everything -- up to and including her own life -- to save Rose and Octavia. I think you're right that the sacrifice she makes to keep the dragon from destroying her is probably harder in a lot of ways that just letting herself die.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Jimmy 

13th August 2013:
Lady Tenebra= Arebela Dynt I knew a while ago but this chapter cemented it :)

Author's Response: You could be right. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

9th February 2013:
Hermione attacked them! Now I really hate this book. And it's got the owner's mind in? Whoa! But it just shows how real and true and... unwavering their friendship is, that they know her so well that they knew something was wrong and they're trying to help her rather than listening to her and letting her go. I don't know what I'd do if Ron lost her this time. And Harry. It's just not the same without the three of them together.

So, I'm processing Harry being with someone else. Esme has grown on me, though she'll never be Ginny. The emotions she felt when they found Katerina in the last chapter was what finally let me, but I love the interactions between her and Harry and I agree with Hermione - Esme and Harry just looked so natural together sometimes. If they do end up together, I hope it helps Harry come to peace with Ginny's death.

Ooh, I got chills when Hermione almost killed him. Like, OMG, this book has just twisted her mind, they have to help her kind of chills. I really hope they do.

Amazing chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hermione is obviously in the depths of a very dark place by this point in the story. She's been forced to cling to her anger for so long that she's nearly drained. Ron and Harry and her determination to save Rose and Octavia are the only things keeping her going.

Esme will never replace Ginny. But she does offer Harry a chance to start over and possibly find someone to share his life with once again. I'm glad that you've come to like her. I do think her character compliments Harry pretty well.

In the end, Hermione was no longer in control of her own actions. Her anger, fueled by the book, was completely in control. And it did very nearly kill Rowle. Only a supreme effort on her part was able to stop that from happening.

You're on the home stretch. Not much father to go now. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Elenia 

29th July 2012:
Wow! Just wow! I don't know what to say - you've left me completely speechless!

Just give me a moment to clear my thoughts...

Phew, that was a crazy chapter once again. I didn't even notice the length of it as I just wanted to read more and more. I probably wouldn't even care if your chapters were 20+ words long, I'd still want more!

The intensity of the first scene is just mind-blowing! I can't even remember half the things I wanted to say!

My first thought was 'No, Ron, don't go there! Just let her be there alone!' but again my shouts were fruitless since he wasn't listening d: But now, after reading the whole scene I have to say that I'm really proud of him! I think you've done a wonderful job on his character. He's still the same Ron we all know and love, but you've developed his character well and you can really see how much he has grown thanks to being married to Hermione and because of his Auror training!

Excellent detective work from Ron, I'm happy that he could figure out that something was wrong with Hermione!

And then we have the Evil Hermione using the Imperius curse on her husband! I wanted to cry and shout and cry some more! Her agony felt so real! But Ron fought it! That was amazing.

Then Harry came and the fighting began! I can't even begin to describe how perfect that all was. Everything just flowed and I could really feel like I was in the room, watching them fight!

Oh, and the fact that Dark Magic pleases the dragon and lets Hermione have a moment of peace from her pain makes perfect sense!

Urgh, somebody punch some sense in Tennant already! He thinks he's so smug and better than everybody else. Just urgh! But it was nice to see him here, I was starting to wonder what was going on at Hogwarts. I guess we'll soon hear more about that.

Then the ending scene in the Burrow. I liked how Hermione was coping with her anger problems d: hopefully everybody just keep leaving her alone so she doesn't snap at them or try biting their head off.

Is she going to be the one who makes the connection between the letters? I feel like she's so close, but her problem is getting in the way and fogging her mind. So I think it will be somebody else...

There you go, feeding my hopes again that Harry and Esme are getting together. Please make it happen? Will you do it if I ask really, really nicely? ^^

Loved Luna! Is that light I see in the end of Hermione's dark and angry tunnel? Will it really be love that will help her overcome the dragon? *fingers crossed*

Ooh, more intensity! I wanted to tell Hermione to calm down and back away so the others can handle it but I just couldn't. And I knew she couldn't have either. Her daughter and grandchild are in mortal danger and she was facing the man who could help her find them - there was no way she could've stopped before she got an answer from him.

But NOO! Do not drop that book when she's there too! She can't have it back! Somebody crab the book! Urgh! Why, Dan, why? Now I need to suffer because I don't have time to read the next chapter yet!

Oh, and why am I always using so many exclamation marks when I'm reviewing your story? I feel like I'm shouting all the time. I guess it just shows how excited I am about everything.

I'll see you soon again ^^ I'm going to catch up with your story before you end it!

~E

Author's Response: Good morning! So excited to see you back again!

It's interesting, I think you're the first reviewer who thought for even a moment that Ron should have left Hermione alone. She was certainly very intimidating at this point. But I agree with you, I felt very proud of him, as well. He manages to overcome a lot of emotional conflict in order to look at the situation objectively and realize that something wasn't right with her. And he handles it pretty well in the end, I think.

The fight between Harry and Hermione was sort of a preview of what ultimately happens at the end of the chapter. She's beginning to lose control of the dark power that she's been using. To his credit, Harry shows a lot of restraint and doesn't fight back. The outcome might have been very different if he had, and I don't necessarily mean that he would have prevailed.

Yes, the dragon is appeased somewhat by her use of dark magic. Although even this relief is temporary.

Punching Tennant would be a waste of a good punch, although it would probably feel good. ;)

Hermione was just sort of treading water at the Burrow. Containing the dragon just enough to function. Her mind is very fogged at this point.

I feel so very bad that I couldn't find more opportunities to include Luna in the story. She's so much fun to write and such an intriguing presence. So I tried to make the very most out of her two, relatively short appearances.

Hermione doesn't attack Rosier *only* because of Rose and Octavia. She was trying to bluff him at the beginning, implying that she would use the book's dark secrets to torture or kill him. But once he called her mudblood, her anger took over and she completely lost control. She very nearly did kill him, until Harry's voice snaps her out of it.

The book is safe for the moment, but everything is clearly at risk with Arabela in their midst.

Thanks so much for all of your long, fascinating and all-around awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Pixileanin 

11th July 2012:
I am relieved that Ron found the vials of sleeping draught and was able to pick up on Hermione's deception. It's a good thing you have a large cast of characters, or Hermione would have overpowered Harry and then where would we be?

I enjoyed the intensity of the scene, with all the emotions running high, Ron on fumes from lack of sleep and Harry stepping into the middle of everything. Their experience with Horcruxes gave them the clue they needed to figure things out for the short-term. I really liked how you connected that.

Tennant continues to shine as a beacon of indifference and self-centeredness.

Loved what you did with Luna and Hermione. I am sad that JKR didn't give Luna more page time. It would have been interesting to see her more developed and know what goes on inside that head of hers.

The scene with Goyle continued to ramp up the intensity from the first scene. You really went all out to show us how powerful that book can be and the repercussions when someone uses it. Egads! No wonder Tenabra is such a beast!

The flow of this chapter impressed me the most. You continue to amaze and surprise!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

The cast of characters just seems to keep growing. Sometimes I can barely keep them all straight. It is very fortunate that Esme was there to help Ron and Harry out. Otherwise, Hermione might have been the death of all of them, which would have been just as bad for her.

I'll stick with my standard disclaimer on the book: it behaves like a horcrux in most ways that matter. That doesn't mean that it's a horcrux, though.

Tennant is a schmuck, that's for sure. But his position inside the castle makes him a dangerous schmuck. Keep an eye on him...

I'm sad that *I* can't give Luna more time. She's such an awesome voice of reason, yet so peculiar at the same time. She's just a joy to write.

The book is a very powerful dark artifact, and it seems to crave pain and bloodshed. It will get much worse before it gets better.

I'm glad you liked the flow of the chapter and that you're enjoying the story. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jchrissy 

13th June 2012:
Okay, so Hermione really didnít consciously decide to use that curse, I mean she thought about it, but her Dragon took over and pretty much did the rest, right??

I loved the way you had Ron pulling back from his love for Hermione and forcing himself to actually look at the situation, then using his skills to figure out what the heck is up with his lil lady! The way you had her breaking apart was so perfectly paced, her lashing out, then trying to reason. It was all just really great.

Itís so frustrating that Hermione has Lady T figured out and on the tip of her brain, but your stupid Dragon is basically clouding her up too much.

Oh, and there have been small hints at her desire to commit suicide or just let this kill her once they find Rose and Octavia, I really donít think you would take it that far, so Iím not going to get too worried (yet).

I think you are giving us a clue with Luna.

ďAt the funeral, I was with everyone in the world who mattered to me. Well, all but one. Love is the best cure for being angry, you know? Iíll leave you alone now.Ē

She seems to have been a clue to helping Hermione recover her fear of the wheel chair... could she be unknowingly helping Hermione survive this?

Draco and Ron. still bantering with one another, itís great.

I wish I could say I didnít like the Hermione Rosier scene, but I really did. He deserved every second of it, what I donít like is how much of Hermione that is going to hurt (real Hermione, not Dragon Hermione) oh, and the fact that Lady T heard the whole thing.

I didnít become an emotional wreck during this one, yay!

Author's Response: This one was easier to read, I think, although still rather dark.

You are absolutely correct about Hermione. She walked up to Rosier with the intent to merely frighten him and the dragon took over.

Ron had to fall back on his training to have a chance to fix what's wrong. It's good that he has that. I'm really, really glad you liked the pace at which she crumbles. Writing it, it felt like it happened kind of fast. But now I read it and I think it's better.

In her own mind, I guess I would say that she hopes that she'll survive, but she doesn't think she has any right to. She's used dark magic. She treated Ron terribly. She cursed Susan. She attacked Harry and Esme. Those are going to be tough things for her to get over.

Luna is just a magic cure-all for what ails ya!

I'm glad you made it through this one emotionally intact. The next one... um... please don't read it if you have a client meeting coming up, OK? Thanks for all of your awesome thoughts and feedback!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Remus 

31st May 2012:
Hello!

The whole thing with Ron & Hermione was fantastic. I like the transition you had Ron go through. From husband to auror and looking at Hermione as a suspect. Brilliant transition there.

The balance between Dark Hermione and normal Hermione is great. The reader can seriously see her struggle and understand why Hermione is acting that way.

I wonder what Rory's end is going to be when you finish this. He's just a sorry man who just thinks of himself as the best thing ever. Xerxes is another character I wonder about how he's going to end. Even Rita Skeeter had an end of sorts. The only reason why I say it is because at the beginning of the story, he had a lot of mention and then nothing. Specially since he had a contact at the Ministry. Was it Arabela?

I think I mentioned this before but your Luna is amazingly spot on. Although I'm sad...because in almost fanfic that I've read she's a widow or the story is about how she loses her husband. Poor Luna.

In a couple of reviews back I mention the whole thing about whether or not Cho was married because of her last name. The reason why I mentioned it was due to consistency. Every witch that arrived or that you've mentioned has had their married name, but with Cho you didn't. That little detail just jumped right at me. Nothing biggie though.

Hermione letting go in the end was brilliant. Now the bad thing is that...well...Arabela is there...and is seeing everything. Things are about to hit the fan and it's NOT going to be pretty, that's for sure.

Well, suppose that's it for now!

Until next time

-Perelandra/Rosie/Remus

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I felt like it was important to show Ron's thought process progressing. At the time he returns to the Gaunt Shack, he's exhausted, frustrated, worried sick about Rose and Octavia... generally not in a good state of mind. So it takes him a little while to figure out that something is wrong. But once he realizes it, his training kicks in.

Rory Tennant has a day of reckoning in his future, but I haven't figured out the precise form it will take yet. It's a decision I have to make very soon...

For whatever reason, people don't tend to write Luna as a "happily ever after" kind of character. My motivations were simpler. The whole character of Rolf annoys the ___ out of me. I always felt like Luna and Neville should have wound up together, and I wanted to keep that option open. But I'm very glad that you think I write her well. I have had so few opportunities to work her into this story. I try really hard when I find a way to work her in.

Yeah, I'm still a bit torn over what to do with Cho. I'm going on the assumption that she's still married to Michael Corner, the father of her (now deceased) daughter, but I'm flexible on that point.

Things hit the fan with Arabela soon. Very soon. Wait and see...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by ginerva_molly_weasley 

21st May 2012:
Ooooh now I read this because I really want to see where everything was going to go and I must say I was not disappointed.

Hermione has changed a lot in this chapter from the woman we saw at the beginning of this story and I truly feel we saw a darker side to her today. Ron could tell something was wrong with his wife and I think that it was very. good in a way that you made her imperiurise him. It was extremely interesting though that Ron thought it was a Horcrux of sorts.

The way she treated Harry really wasn't good but it worked and showed the change even more. Harry's theory about it not being a horcrux is good. I just like the idea of his whole mind being in there especially because we sort of know that he was completely evil!

Tennant... well i don't really know what to say about him apart from it was very clever of you to bring him up again to just remind us that he's there.

The whole scene with Goyle and Rosier was awesome! Its nice to see the tension and just how far they'd go. The blood boiling curse well using it to some extent on Rosier was amazing

Well done

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Things are starting to move at a very fast pace as we roll down the hill into the end of the story. Hermione is not herself any more. Things have gone very, very wrong for her, and she's struggling to regain some control over her anger.

I'll give you my standard line that I have been giving Alyssa for two consecutive review responses: the book behaves like a horcrux in most ways that matter. Beyond that, I'm not really able to say.

Yes, I basically just wanted to jog everyone's memory on Tennant. He's about to become rather pivotal.

Rosier is still exactly the man that Tenabra felt such disdain for a few chapters back: pathetic, clinging to his blood status and living a life utterly devoid of accomplishment or distinction. And Hermione's anger definitely puts him in his place. I had to tone that scene down quite a bit to be sure that it would make it through validation.

Thanks so much for your awesome reviews! I really appreciate them all.


 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

21st May 2012:
There was a storm or something early this morning at around five o clock. For some reason I thought this was the perfect moment to read your story. Eerie, eerie, eerie.

"I think after all we went through, I know a horcrux when I feel one."

Is it a Horcrux? It sounds like it could be but then when Harry dismisses it and Hermione too it just seems like that's too would be too easily connected to Voldemort but the book isn't connected to him though. I'm not sure it is one but I do think it would have to de destroyed the same way, with the sword or with a fang or something similar because of the dark magic.

But they don't have fangs or the sword roaming around, do they? I mean. The sword tends to materialize at moments when it's most needed by someone who has true intentions. I think in the end if they need and if it can destroy the book the person with the truest intentions might ironically be Hermione. She's not going to stay angry like she is right now forever. Hermione is strong, her pathetic pity party of how she's not strong had no pity coming off of me. We know she's strong. They know she's strong. I think after she finds Rose and Octavia she'll be able to defeat the dragon because she wouldn't be angry anymore. She'd be feeling love and worry (and anger and every other emotion you can name) but love kind of overpowers anger and evil in Harry Potter, doesn't it?

At the funeral, I was with everyone in the world who mattered to me. Well, all but one. Love is the best cure for being angry, you know? I'll leave you alone now."

You gave Luna lines! I loved seeing her here, even if for just a brief moment. This is what I kind of mean too. Luna is right, love is the best cure for anger. So why shouldn't someone like Hermione who is surrounded by all this love be able to finally push the dragon out of her, no matter the consequences after she completes her goal. I don't see her not finding Rose and Octavia, it's not really an option to me so I'm just going to assume that they're going to get them. Are they going to be okay? I doubt it. Will there be casualties? Sure. But even if they're half alive I think it'll be enough for Hermione to push the dragon aside and realize what matters to her the most is right there and she can't go on the way she is because it'll just hurt them.

This was such a dark chapter but in a way I thought at the same time it wasn't. More of the focus was on how Hermione feels/acts and I couldn't feel sorry for her or shocked at the way she was acting. I don't read her when I read this chapter. I imagine another person and she's just experiencing this out of body experience.

What gets me though is that she knows who Lady T is, she has the letters in her head but because she's not thinking clearly she cannot rearrange them in her head and come to the conclusion. Of course if she could there really wouldn't be a point to this story because she could just kill her and that would be that. That really wouldn't end the story on the high note that it has been.

It was also interesting to see how the Weasley family reacted to Esme. I just don't see Harry and Esme ending up together. I think there's an attraction and an understanding between the two and they could make each other happy but at the end of the day it isn't going to happen. I think it's more due to the fact that I don't know who you're going to kill off. It could easily be Harry in the end because we go back to the prologue do we really know if it takes place before the events of what has happened or does it take place after the events of everything happened/during, meaning Harry could have been killed in the crossfire.

Hm. It would be interesting if you kill such an important character...

Author's Response: Is it a horcrux? Not precisely, no. Hermione is correct. The means of creating one would not have been available to Herodonthus when he was imprisoned in a cave on the Isle of Mann. But Ron also has a point. In most ways that matter, the book behaves like a horcrux. Can it be destroyed? We shall see...

Without really intending it, Luna has become "the giver of sage and indispensable insight" in my story. It's just how I think of her, really. She always seems to have a way of showing up at just the right time with just the right thing to say. And her words will prove invaluable soon.

"Out of body experience" is not a bad way to put it, actually. Hermione's life has gotten well out of her control by this point. She doesn't really attack Rosier so much as her anger, fueled by the book and the dragon, does it for her. While the outcome is desirable, the morality of it is probably something that she'll grapple with for a long time.

Harry is indeed facing death once again in the prologue. The prologue is the beginning of a scene in a chapter that's coming up rather soon. It's one that I've been writing in bits and pieces for a couple of months now, because Ginny does appear in it and it's been difficult and emotional to write. I hope it works as well as I think it will.

Well, I see that you've already read and reviewed the next chapter, so you already know what's about to happen. Thanks so much for all of your awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Roots in Water 

20th May 2012:
Itís Roots in Water here with your review!

Oh my gosh- your story continues to take crazy turns that I never would have expected. Hermione's actions in this chapter... Well, I suppose I should have realized that she might do something like this because of the dragon's presence in her body, but I never thought that it would consume her to such a point that she would torture someone. It'll definitely be interesting to see how she continues to react to her actions because it's obvious that she wants to get away from the dragon's grasp.

I'm glad that Harry and Ron are now aware of her predicament because, as it's been said before in this story, if they're together (almost) nothing can stop them. Together, they'll work out something to release Hermione and in the meantime they can stop from people from interacting with her - at least that will minimize the damage the dragon is doing to her relationships. As well, I'm really glad that they didn't destroy the diary, though the "stab" metaphor was an interesting one to use. One of the keys to stopping Hermione's pain and the war will probably be found in the book.

I'm also intrigued by the brief conversation you mentioned between Fleur and Esme. What were they talking about... I feel that something good and necessary to the progression of the opposition of the New Blood Order will come out of it. (On a side note: it was nice to see that Hermione has become more accepting of the relationship between Harry and Esme, though there isn't much romance happening between them at the moment.)

I noticed a small typo: with "rather than staying anrgy" it should be "angry".

Going into slightly less relevant topics, Bole's apology was a little odd - why would he think that Ron would still be angry at him for an incident that had occurred decades ago? It makes me curious about how much Bole regrets that incident himself - I doubt it would have been the first thing to come to his mind to explain Ron's presence otherwise.

As well, I found it amusing that when Draco tried to take the prime position before Rosier Ron refused to budge. The image of the mini-battle as they tried to shoulder each other out of the way was funny to picture and I can only imagine that Rosier was less than impressed. Luckily (or unluckily for Hermione, I suppose), Rosier was shocked enough by her actions to tell them the secret. I hope that they put it to good use in the next chapter and rescue Rose and Octavia.

All in all, this was another fascinating chapter and things are spiraling closer and closer together. I was pleased to see that Hermione was suspicious of Arabela - the fact that she wants Percy to become Minster makes me nervous... As well, are you going to show an interaction between Percy and his wife some time in the future because it's been some time since we last heard any thoughts on the deteriorating relationship and I can only imagine that Arabela's influence on Percy has made the situation worse. Thanks for requesting!

Author's Response: Hermione is losing more and more control over herself as she must rely more and more on her anger to keep the dragon from consuming her. Imperiusing Ron and attacking Harry were conscious decisions, albeit heavily influenced by her state of mind. What happened to Rosier was more like her anger acting on its own accord. Scary stuff.

I honestly hadn't thought about what Fleur and Esme were discussing. If I know Fleur, it started out as an introduction and quickly morphed into a discussion of Esme's feelings towards Harry. Fleur is easy to talk to that way. ;)

Thanks for spotting the typo. I'll jump in and patch that up.

The line about Bole was kind of a throwaway. I just wanted something a bit light hearted to contrast Ron's grim mood. I guess it didn't come across as well as I'd hoped. :-/

Draco and Ron were simply acting juvenile. Both were trying to intimidate Rosier but they wound up failing utterly because they couldn't stop competing with one another for long enough. Of course, Hermione then comes along and makes their whole shoving match moot.

Hermione is more than just suspicious of Arabela, she dislikes her. You will see Audrey again, although it won't be for a while. The next chapter just validated, and I think it's going to clear up a lot of things for you.

Thanks as always for your wonderful, well-thought out review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by CloakAuror9 

14th May 2012:
Hello CambAngst! (I'm sorry! I really don't know your real name! So I'll have to call you by your username.) :P

This is really, really weird! For some reason, I was expecting a dark-ish chapter, but we ended up having a happy/scary chapter. Not that it disappointed me or anything :p Your chapters can never disappoint!

Though, my reviews probably do! I went back to my very first few reviews and...oh gosh, they were ridiculous. I kept talking about 'pace' and 'flow', I don't even do that anymore and it wasn't too helpful either! Gah, its a wonder why you kept requesting for more :P

Anyway, moving on from my irrelevant ramble, I though this chapter was super-awesome. Hermione is taking a small step towards fighting off the dragon, but from what I think it would probably take her a lot more steps to finally get rid of it. The power of 'the dragon', as we saw at the very end, seemed very tempting to her and I don't think she'll be doing much resisting any soon...or will she? I don't even know if she'll completely get rid of it!

I'm also glad that despite her pain, she noticed some changes about Harry and Esme's relationship. Maybe the others did too, but they weren't just ready to accept that she's a possible partner for Harry because that would mean that they'd have to face the terrible truth that Ginny is dead.

Also, I noticed you said that Harry and Esme's yelling match had only been two week ago! Oh my gosh, it feels longer than that! I mean sure you take time to update and stuff, but the events passed right by my eyes! Whoa. I feel like this 'war' has been going on for months now! This is completely mind-blowing.

There's also Percy and Arabela Dynt (*cough* whose name can be re-arranged to spell 'Lady Tenabra' *cough*). I'm not too sure about Percy, is he a good guy or a bad guy? I think he's in the in-between, he doesn't seem to fully realise what he's doing. I haven't been following him too much because I'm too focused on Harry and Esme's relationship (if you can even call it that!) I swear, you need to write a one-shot or something about the two of them after this story! :P

Overall, I think you are doing a really great job with the story! Even my cousins love your story (but they never review, ungrateful people they are! Sssh, don't tell them that! ;) ).

Ta,
CloakAuror9 xx
Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Hello, again, my speedy reviewer!

I'll PM you. I feel like we need to be chummier. ;)

You reviews do not disappoint! I love all of your thoughts and observations. As an author, it's great to find out what readers are thinking. And if you recall, you used to focus on pace and flow because I asked you to. Now stop being silly. You are awesome!

Hermione is trying to find her way back to the light. It's going to be a difficult journey, to be sure, but she's taken the important first step of admitting she has a problem and asking for help. Dark magic is kind of like alcoholism that way. ;)

Harry and Esme... ah, my greatest dilemma of this entire story. Whither their relationship? It's a tough decision.

I deliberately decided to keep the pace of the story really fast. No need for this to drag out over months.

Hmmnn... So you may be onto something re: Arabela. You'll know soon...

You know, Harry and Esme's time in the Pyrenees might make an interesting one-shot. I have so many little writing projects piling up. Where will I find the time???

Tell your cousins to get with it! All the cool people are reviewing. Yeah, that's it. All the cool people.

Thanks so much for all of your time, effort and thoughts. You're all caught up now! I'll try to fix that as fast as I can. ;)


 Report Review

Review #15, by rose18 

13th May 2012:
As scary as it was for Hermione to get the location out of Rosier she was aiming to save her daughter and granddaughter -- every mom could understand that and at least in one way would want to be that powerful.

Author's Response: Hi!

Hermione has already made huge sacrifices to save Rose and Octavia, so I agree that she would be willing to go even father. But not everything that she did to Rosier was her choice. At some point, she really lost control and her pain and anger were acting on their own. That's part of what she's struggling with.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by shadowcat2 

11th May 2012:
I am speechless. Really, I am. I don't know how to describe what you wrote. The relationship between Ron and Hermione is so beautiful. I can't even imagine how horrible all these must be for Hermione.
I have read so many fan fictions here in hpff. There are so many story I have fallen in love because of it's writing and style. Your story have taken my respect for hpff to a whole new level. I just want to say that we are lucky to have a writer like you in our hpff community.
Your once upon a time marathon reviewer,
shadowcat

Author's Response: I love Harry and Ginny to death, but in many ways, Ron and Hermione are a lot more fun to write. Ron's goofiness combined with Hermione's persnickety nature makes for endless possibilities.

Hermione is suffering terribly, to be sure, but that is the price she has to pay for the decisions that she's made. You'll see how it all plays out soon.

I'm really glad that you're enjoying the story. Your compliments and devotion mean a lot to me.

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #17, by parashar_harry 

10th May 2012:
ohh bloody hell, i have read so many fiction here but never like this chapter has come across me. so many secrets, so many theory really my mind is full of thoughts.
i am sure this chapter is best on this site. u have raised ur level so much that now u have to compete to urself in next chapter for getting full rating from me ( ^_^ ).
i was really worried about moine. first of all i too wanted to see her walking but now the price she has paid , oh god now i knew the real horror of dark magic.
u have portrayed the dark side of moine so so well that now i am very happy that she is in good side. i am sure if she will try she will become more viscous than tanbera.
i just don't know, but dynt ( lady who is with with percy ) seems to be fishy to me. i agree to moine doubt at her.
the line where moine called draco, owo amazing even i too get scared.
ron is always my fav character and the way he was talking to moine in the starting shows his true love for moine. i think those who love to pair up moine with draco should read the first half and then they will understand his true love.
the man who has created the dark book seems to be grand grand grand father of sytherinn. he is so evil, how come any one can become so evil its beyond my imagination.
i am hoping that u will write more abt the book write in next chapter. u are really grat author , in the beginning of the story u had created one villain who killed ginny, then came in picture lady tenbera and now that man ( i am sorry his name is little difficult to remember ) who created the book. u know now i am not so curious abt lady but that man is killing me.
please update soon.
the length of this chapter is good but i was sad in the end as i want more. please update as soon as possible. i will check daily for ur update.
10/10
parashar_harry

Author's Response: Hello, again.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed this chapter. Like the one before, it was rather dark, and I've been worried about how it will be received.

Hermione has put herself in a bad spot, but she can admit it and accept it now, so that's a first step. She put on quite a show to frighten Rosier into giving them the secret, unfortunately it wasn't completely a show.

Herodonthus's book is the read deal: a genuine dark artifact of incredible power.

Mainly, I try to keep the chapters under 8,000 words, because that seems to be a magic number where some readers find it too long.

The next chapter is probably a couple of weeks away, as I'm having some issues getting it all to sound right. But fear not, it is coming!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review