Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Aleine 

11th June 2015:
Oh dear... Lily a Squib... Oh my God... I cannot believe it!!

AND YOU HID IT SO WELL!

Your award is truly deserved...

Author's Response: BAHAHA I love these kind of reviews! Thank you so much, it was ridiculously amazing winning the Dobby. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by gigi 

31st August 2014:
Lily a Squib, wow, you held on to that quite well, I'd never have guessed. I was wondering earlier why she couldn't apparate at 18 and thought that was a mistake, but now I see the truth. The reveal seems to be going well so far, better than I expected which makes me wonder if I should trust Carla, hope it doesn't backfire.

Author's Response: Ha, I struggled at times to keep this one quiet! I remember stumbling across a fair few issues when writing these early bits. I'm glad you liked it, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by slytherinchica08 

15th March 2014:
Ok so what I said about last chapter really adding a lot to Lily's character, well, I lie. This chapter just added so much more to her character and she wasn't even around! I can't believe that Lily is a Squib! I didn't even see that coming at all. You did such a fantastic job of keeping that hidden especially since last chapter had a lot of talk about her school and what she was doing but now things are really starting to fit in and I think Lily is now one of my favorite characters. There is just so much to her and I just want to know more about her! This story just continues to amaze me and it makes me want to read more and find out everything. It has all become an I need to know situation rather than I want to know. I need to keep reading. This story is seriously addicting and I dont think that I'm going to be able to stop until I run out of chapters to read. I'm actually rather sad just thinking that I'm already over 1/6th of the way done with the posted chapters because that means sooner or later I will have nothing left to read! I also like that Carlotta has warmed up to magic as well and is now rather interested in it and wanting to continue to be around it. I'm very much looking forward to reading more! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: It was really hard keeping Lily's Squibness under wraps! I remember nearly making a few blunders in the previous chapter, when it came to references to money and things. She's one of my favourite characters to write, so I'm glad you like her so much! And don't get too sad; you still have 50 more chapters to read! :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell 

1st October 2013:
OH. My. Gracious!!!

So, I've been a silent reader for a bit--sorry! I just got rather addicted, but I've every intention of going back and leaving proper reviews. I'm really enjoying this story. You're writing flows flawlessly. It's been a long time since I ran across an author that was new to me who was of your writing caliber. Brava!

And so, I just HAD to stop and applaud you on that incredible reveal. I was like, "But wait--" and yet, every single thing I could think of that you've written about Lily could be explained by her being a Squib at Muggle school. How hard for her, to be the daughter of Harry Potter and a Squib! But she pulls everything off so flawlessly, it just makes me like her all the more. Speaking of which, love that you give real depth to your secondary characters. I think Lily may well be my favorite, though I'm fond of all of them. Wow, I'm still reeling. That was excellent. Please accept my virtual round of applause. Can't wait to read forward!

--Penny

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for all the reviews! :)

I wanted the Lily sub-plot to come totally out of the blue. There are clues, but they're the kind of clues that only become apparent on a second reading - or at least, they're apparent, but not for what they are. That was my plan, at any rate! It seems to have paid off though, and so I get immense pleasure and satisfaction at this type of review. Lily is probably one of my favourite characters too - James HAS to come first, of course, and I have a soft spot for Harry and Louis, but I also love Lily. Although a lot of that is probably down to Maddie, who steals every scene she's in. Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by onestop_hpfan18 

7th July 2013:
I'm enjoying this fanfic. I also like that you made Lily a squib, too. It's different and gives more perspective to that end of the spectrum (what it would be like if one of the magical families like the Weasleys and Potters were to have one of their own born non-magical). I also like Carlotta's character thus far. She's a strong female character, and I love her with James. She really brings out the best in him. Great job so far on the story!

Author's Response: Making Lily a squib was by far and away my best fanfic decision EVER. I don't think I realised at first just how much of a contrast she would be, both with James AND Carlotta. And it's nice to be able to explore the troubles of being a squib in a magical society, as well. I'm glad you like Carlotta, too - after all she's a fairly important character! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Genia 

28th March 2013:
That was really unexpected.. and really good! All the time I just assumed Lily would be playing Qudditch and attending Hogwarts... really well written!

Author's Response: Yup, this was definitely meant to be a surprise! It was hard to not give the game away, I did nearly slip up a couple of times. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by BrighterThanTheSun 

13th February 2013:
hey! so, since this story is already completed, I figure you won't be changing anything, but I'll let you know anyway. I'm like 99.9% a squib has to come from a pure-blood family, as its the opp. of muggle born, and Lily technically can't be squib because Harry's a halfblood...so yeah. But I adore this story so far(: It's written extremely well!

Author's Response: It's not completed yet! I've still got another twenty or so chapters to come. :) And I did check up on the workings of Squibs when I first started planning this fic. Squibs are described as though they're the opposite of muggle-borns, in the pure sense that a squib is the non-magical child of two magical parents, while a muggleborn is the magical child of two non-magical parents. But there's no specification as to what type of blood the magical parents have to have - just that they have to have magic. And, as we know, blood status doesn't effect "how much" magic someone has - you either have it or you don't. So, Harry being a half-blood doesn't prevent Lily from being a squib. But thanks anyway! I always appreciate constructive criticism, especially as I've gotten things wrong before! And I'm glad you're enjoying as well. Cheers for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore 

18th January 2013:
I knew there was something that we had to find out about Lily, but I definitely did not see that one coming! I guess I just assumed that she was at Hogwarts and could do magic like the others. I feel kind of sorry for her, but she seems like a cool character. I'm glad that Carla found out about magic and she's sticking around. I hope we get some more explanation about Lily in the next few chapters!

Author's Response: Lily has it a bit rough, being a Squib, but she's making a good fist of things! Hope you've got the explanation you wanted :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Harrypotterforever 

13th January 2013:
I love your story, but the squib thing doesn't make any sense:/ lily can fly.. Non magic people can't. I thought maddie and lily played quidditch so I'm kinda confused right now.. Muggle at hogwarts? Or I thought that was where they were attending I'm very confused right now.

Author's Response: The Squib thing is a huge thing to throw in, I realise that. :) Lily CAN fly, but not very well; it's mentioned in an earlier chapter that James and co are surprised at how well she can fly in the circumstances. Flying doesn't require a witch or wizard to channel their magic into the broom; it's already enchanted to fly. Squibs still have some element of magic in them, even if very minimal, so I think they'd be able to maintain their balance on a broom and encourage it to fly, though actually playing Quidditch would be beyond them. Lily can't Apparate though - that's mentioned as far back as the first chapter - because that DOES require the individual to use their magic at that point.

It's never actually stated that Lily attends Hogwarts or plays Quidditch, that's just the natural assumption. This was deliberately written so that you, the reader, would discover about Lily at the same time that Carlotta did. I certainly endeavour to make things fully clear from this point onwards! I hope things begin to make sense, because I made Lily a Squib for a very specific reason, I didn't just throw it in because I could. I apologise for the confusion but I hope you continue to read, and I'm very glad you're enjoying everything else! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by AriPotter 

10th July 2012:
Wow, you pulled that off really well. It was completely unexpected. I spent James whole speech trying to match everything up in my head.

Author's Response: Thank you! This was a hard one to write, because obviously it's not new to James but it IS to you readers so it proved quite challenging to write. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Slide 

18th May 2012:
Questions! And answers! And then MORE QUESTIONS!

Lily is a Squib. FanTAStic. Awesome Squibs are awesome, and Lily is totally awesome. That's great, that she doesn't let it slow her down, that she is completely turning it into a strength. I had, after all the Obliviating talk last chapter, been wondering if What Was Going On With Her was some HORRID SECRET the Potters were wiping people's memories over, but this is faaar more interesting and original.

Poor girl, that had to be a heartbreaking discovery, being the daughter of Harry Potter and a Squib, worse than being your average Squib, but she is handling it, and her life, AWESOMELY.

Ahem. And I'm glad Carlotta's also handling the magic well after calming down. Good on Freddie and Brie for being such good friends in helping James with it, especially since they've expressed their disapproval - that's what good friends do!

Author's Response: I TOLD YOU I LIKED SQUIBS. :) Lily is the kind of person who, when put into such a situation, is more likely to seize the opportunity in it rather sit and mope, and so she's doing that, and I have Big Plans for her. She definitely helps to bridge the gap between the wizarding and Muggle worlds, which will be a big help for Carlotta. The next chapter is full of Lily (and Maddie) which you may like :)

Sometimes I think I've done Freddie and Brie a disservice, because they're James' bessies but he hasn't spent much time with Freddie so far, and the time he HAS spent with Brie has been when she's managing his life. So this chapter was nice to write because they had their 'friend' time, and yes, they helped him out massively.

Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by fortheloveofwords 

2nd May 2012:
I did NOT see that coming! That's really cool though, and it's great that Lily can still be positive about it.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by MargaretLane 

28th April 2012:
You handled that whole Lily thing brilliantly. It isn't easy to write something in such a way as to hide it from your readers but to allow them to think "oh yeah, that makes sense actually" once they find out. I've tried it once or twice and made a complete mess of it, so I am in utter awe of this. For that alone, this chapter gets 10 out of 10 from me.

Best of luck with the exams. Hope they go well.

Author's Response: Like I mentioned, I found it so hard to not type anything which gave away that Lily was a Squib. It was RIDICULOUSLY hard! Which is why I'm so glad it's now out in the open :) Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #14, by claire 

25th April 2012:
AH
OMG IM DYING!
CARLOTTA KNOWS!
KSLDH:GKLSDJFKLSDHGKSDF
IM LIKE DYING OF RELIEF THAT SHE IS TAKING IT WELL
AND THAT JAMES DOESNT HAVE TO OBLIVIATE HER!
KLADGH:KLSDJFJKLSDHGKLSDJFKSLD
i
cant
even
omg.
KLJD:SGKLHDKLSFJSDKLg
i love this chapter lol
i didnt think that carlotta was going to tell anyone
just because people are going to say she's mad.
and in the case that she did, she'd probably
need to have recorded a video of james doing magic or something for people to believe her, imo
but anyways. thats beside the point lol
i LOVED LOVED LOVED that part about the australian quidditch game. and brigid, fred, and james's betting.
that part cracked me up SO much xD

KLSDGJ:LKDGHSKLDG
AND LILY'S A SQUIB! WHATTT!
SKDJG:SKLDGH:SKLDFJKSD
that was DEFINITELY not something that i expected.
. LILY A SQUIB!
SDJKGH:KLSDFJKLSDGHKLSDJLKSGH
that must make carlotta feel better though.
that at least someone is like her. not involved with it
but then totally manages.

ah, good luck on your exams!!! :D
it'll make me sad there wont be updates until june.
but then this is a good chapter :D LOL
and no cliffies because that REALLY would kill me then.

Author's Response: I LOVE THIS REVIEW. Haha xD

The betting over the Quidditch game came totally out of the blue! It wasn't meant to be in the chapter at all, they were just meant to be watching it, and then the match took over the chapter and made it HUGE. But I liked how it turned out :) Yeah, Lily a Squib! You have NO idea how happy I am that we've got to that stage, that's one of my favourite plot threads *huggles it* Thank you so so much!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Courtney 

25th April 2012:
I was definitely surprised about Lily, but it makes sense as I couldn't figure out why she would have had to obliviate someone. And Carlotta seemed to take it okay. I wonder what James thinks is going to happen with Carlotta knowing if he hasn't admitted to himself yet that he wants to actually have a relationship with Carlotta. And I have to say I was way annoyed when Brigid made them breakfast and cleaned up after them without either guy even offering to help. I seriously want her to find a romantic interest who treats her with more respect. I am interested to read more.

Author's Response: This is the trouble with James; he doesn't want anyone else to have Carlotta, but at the same time he doesn't do relationships, as he's said numerous times, so that's going to prove to be a bit of a challenge for him! And yeah, he and Freddie take Brigid for granted far too much for their own good. Don't worry, I've got lots of good things in store for her :) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by danceegirl 

25th April 2012:
Is James going to be with Carla? I don't really mind, only I kind of hoped he'd be with Brie. Bit of a shock that Lily's a squib, didn't really see it coming. This interesting though, i've only read one other story where James is with a muggle.

Author's Response: He will be with Carlotta eventually, yeah, there are a few obstacles in the way first. Brigid is more like a Hermione-type figure, a good friend who possibly looks out for him too much for him to be interested! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Kathrynen 

25th April 2012:
Omgsh Lily's a squib! that's so unexpected but you wrote it in really well. I love it actually, because squibs are so looked down on but with one of the most famous families being a squib then they can't exactly be too mean to them. plus she does so much! omgsh that work load must kill her! I love how you put in that she goes to boarding school so we all assumed it was hogwarts but it was actually a muggle school, how weird!
And carlotta's arm? something weird is going on there! reveal it soon man! I can't wait, I love this story!!

Author's Response: Thank you! :) Yeah, I'm really looking forward to writing Lily's storyline, Squib rights and all that! And yeahhh, massive workload, bless her. And Carlotta's story will be later down the line, there's lots that will happen before then though :) Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review