Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Run, Chapter 6: Registration
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauder5 

3rd March 2013:
This story is absolutely brilliant. It's like no other HPFF story I have ever read, and I just love the whole concept of it. I don't know how you came up with this brilliant idea, but you should be very proud of it.

Not only is the story itself fantastic, so is your writing. It really is a pleasure to read all your amazing description and beautiful language - very inspiring. Thank you so much for this story.

This wasn't exactly my favorite chapter. I didn't quite understand the part about the fifteen-year-old person who arrived. I guess I wasn't supposed to get it, right? I did however like the wonderful descriptions in the beginning of the chapter, the fact that Fred signed up for the Devil's Duel (but I'm a bit worried that it will come down to two people I don't want to see go: like Tonks vs. Lily or Lily vs. Fred - that would be too sad!) The part where a scent brought Fred back to Christmases at the Burrow nearly broke my heart - a beautiful, very sad little detail.

I think you're brilliant writing saved this chapter, because there was too little happening for me. However, I still enjoyed reading it thanks to your fantastic skills. I expect there will be more action and development of the story in the upcoming chapters, so it's fine!

Author's Response: Hey, marauder5! Thank you for popping by my story. :) I'm so thrilled you're enjoying it so far! Originally I had intended for this story to be four chapters long, about a couple of people sitting in a pub in the afterlife. Once I'd decided on one of those people being Cedric, it got me to thinking about the Triwizard Tournament, and the rest kind of snowballed extremely fast.

I can see why Registration wouldn't be your favorite. It's got a much slower pace. There are a couple of chapters - mostly before Round One - that seem a bit more filler-y but are essential for background information that will come in to play later. As it stands, you're getting closer to when the real story begins! I really hope you continue reading so that you can see what all the duels are like. The rounds are very different from each other, and I'd like to think that each of them will suit a variety of action/adventure tastes. Overall, I must own that despite the Devil's Duel this novel focuses more on the development of these characters and how one essentially continues to keep living on even after death. The way they all deal with death is very different.

The fifteen-year-old person will become much more clear very soon! I kept this person vague so that I could shift the focus to something else in the next chapter, and then could come back later and give that the attention it needs.

Eeep, I hope the upcoming chapters won't be too boring for you! The beginning of Run is a tad bit slow, and there are still a couple more filler-y chapters to go. My hope, though, is that it will be worth it. :)

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #2, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

25th January 2013:
Yet again, an amazing chapter! :)

Sorry to keep it short, but I'm too intrigued not to continue on to the next chapters! :)

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear it! Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by justonemorefic 

2nd January 2013:
CEDRIC ATTACKING FRED FROM BUSHES AND BEING AN OVERZEALOUS HUFFLEPUFF I LOVE YOU.

Also Fred would totally be me. I've been intensely curious about the Grotta since it was first mentioned because I like knowing all about the most terrible places. 'he set about finding out as much as possible about this new place he lived in, without having to outright ask anyone questions.' - and this is exactly how I would go about it, all sneaky so no one thinks I'm weird.

IS THAT LUNA'S MUM C: jammed it in her hair next to a sprig of honeysuckle lolol I just imagine this ginormous bouquet of weeds stuck in her hair that she never bothers to clean out.

HEDWIG. AHHH YOU EVEN REMEMBER HEDWIG. omg FRED ARE YOU FLIRTING WITH LILY. A MATE'S MUM IS OFFLIMITS BRO. CACKLING.

Ooh, I like that there's a bit of fate intertwined with this. Poetry of the universe c: Aaaah

Author's Response: loool when I wrote about Cedric springing out of bushes and attacking people I imagined Rachel side-eyeing me saying WOT R U DOING WITH HIM. But I could not help myself. I think Cedric would have been really lonely; he didn't really have many people there who were his age. And those who /were/ his age were from different generations, and had already established friendships with other people. CC is full of cliques.

I would be lurking around the Grotta as well, and then whenever someone from inside made a sound I would go running away screaming.

YARR THAT IS LUNA'S MUM. Which you know by now. Because I am responding to this in a fashionably late manner. ~

A little bit of fate, yes. :3 ALSO OTHER THINGS. WHICH YOU ALREADY KNOW. I CANNOT BE MYSTERIOUS AT THIS POINT BECAUSE YOU'VE READ THE WHOLE THING.


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica 

25th August 2012:
Hello again, my dear Sarah! :)

I love how you once again dropped me into the middle of the opening scene and showed me Colin's arrival from the perspective of an outsider. It was neat to watch her attempt to unravel what was going on, and you did a great job building the scene and bringing me to the 'point' of the chapter.

So many interesting facts about the Duel here! The image of a Pensieve teeming with blood is quite creepy, but I like the use of boiling blood as a symbol for how people will act in the real race. I liked seeing Hedwig here - figures she would be hesitant about actually doing owl duties here - and I'm assuming the red-haired girl is Lily, correct?

Another lovely chapter! Sorry this review is a bit short. I'm blaming it on the fact that (a) it's late and I need to do some housework and (b) this chapter flew by for me flow-wise, as per usual.

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey there, shiny new prefect!

lol, I had to read the first paragraph of your review three times before I understood what you were saying. Do you mean that you thought the newcomer was Colin? Because Colin was watching the arrival of a newcomer - at this point Colin has already been here for two weeks. The newcomer is someone who will crop up again in a couple of chapters from now. I might have just read that part of your review wrong, and if that's the case, just ignore me. :P

I view the Devil's Basin as something that was invented to keep people interested in the tournament between duels. I would imagine that it gets boring in the afterlife, so gambling on outcomes is a major event here.

You'll see about the red-haired girl later. :3

Thank you for the lovely review. This chapter was a bit filler-esque (as are most of the beginning chapters), so I'm relieved that it didn't drag. Thank you for reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle 

14th July 2012:
Hey! :) This was another fantastic chapter! Every chapter is always so thought-provoking and this was no different. Once again you introduce new characters, but straightaway you make them feel so familiar. It was interesting to hear about the McKinnons, even though we didn't really see any interactions (and you are so brilliant at portraying characters through their actions and dialogue). The newcomer and Colin Creevey was really intriguing, though I have to admit that right now I'm slightly confused and don't really get it..

Um, but anyway, I loved Fred! One thing I'm surprised about is that you haven't really focused on him reflecting on George at all - it is definitely way overdone but I'm surprised that it hasn't been touched on at all. Just wondering? and slightly curious :) Haha, I just loved this! "Good.. There’s someone new. Maybe Diggory will stop jumping out of bushes at me for a few hours if he’s got someone else to harass.. Cedric was much too stealthy for his own good, and was bound and determined to corner Fred and force him to take part in activities like frosting-tasting at the bakery.." This story really does have everything: humour, mystery, adventure, drama.. And I loved how Fred decided to figure things out by himself. Also, his pranks - very amusing. He decided to take all of the laces out of Crouch’s shoes for good measure, and tossed them high into the branches of a tree after he left. Ahh Fred! ♥

When he went to sign up, that was also interesting. I'm curious about the nameless girl! But I really loved the owl - Hedwig moment. Again - wonderful surprises in this afterlife that I never expect. It was also cool about the instantaneous delivery of letters and how there was no rain in the afterlife. It's cool because it really gives the afterlife that feeling of strangeness and unusualness. Thinking about that led me to this: one random thing I just got curious about was the economy/money in the afterlife. I can't recall if you've mentioned it before or if you are going to, but do they use galleons, have jobs and such?

But once again, such an enthralling chapter to read (and I'm not even up to the Devil's Duel yet!), I can't help falling in love with every character, and wonderful, wonderful writing. ♥ Also, I'm really sorry about the length of my reviews. Hopefully they're lengthy in a good way :)
- MM

Author's Response: Hey, maskedmuggle! I'm eager to address a few of your questions/thoughts, so I'm pouncing on this review quickly. XD

Haa, yes, the newcomer bit was meant to be somewhat confusing. It was a way for me to introduce a new character without bringing them completely into focus, so that I could concentrate on other things and make them demand more of the readers' focal attention.

Fred! Ahh, Fred. He is one of my favorites. You are not the first to notice that I don't bring up much about George in the beginning, and my reasoning is very simple: Fred is not the mopey sort. I see a lot of fics where after Fred's death, George is endlessly depressed and feels like half of him is gone, etc. (I've written a story like this, as well). But the thing is, Fred knows that George is perfectly fine. Fred knows that he himself is perfectly fine. Even though he's separated from his family, there are much worse situations he could be in, so there isn't as much to mourn from his perspective. I just don't see him as the type to go on and on about his sadness, so when you see him mention George in this story, it's not in the tragic context. It's more so just fond reminiscing.

Ooh, there is rain in the afterlife! Hee, there just isn't any rain over the town hall. The town hall has no roof, so it doesn't rain over that area; or maybe that's why they put that building there and made it roof-less, who knows. :P

The money/economy is a good question. I imagine that they use Galleons/Sickles/Knuts as the usual form of currency, but that everything is more or less free. Cliodna's Clock is self-sustaining: They don't run out of food, water, or materials. Everything is bottomless, endless, and with that comes a lack of need for things like money because everyone can just give stuff away for free and never run out. I think that those who still use currency are those still hanging on to their former lives, preserving the familiar.

I'm so, so glad you're enjoying this story, and don't worry about the lengthy reviews - I LOVE lengthy reviews, especially thought-provoking ones like these.

Thank you so much. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Angelwithoutwings1470 

14th July 2012:
i hope he wins, so he can see george again. i dont think lily should as she always does though. loving the story! were did you get your insperation from? xox

Author's Response: A Fred supporter! I love Fred so I'd say that's a pretty sound choice. Yeah, Lily hasn't gotten much support because she's already won the prize so many times in the past.

Inspiration comes from art, interestingly enough, and music, and everything else around me, rolled up into a strange little ball. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by ScarletEye158 

18th June 2012:
This was such a detailed chapter! The starting really had me amazed. I could never write something so full of description and emotion. It just seems like it'd be so hard! I also liked Fred's thoughts. He kind of reminds me of what I would be like if I were to be in his place... He seems so confused and amazed and I liked his conversation with the red-haird woman. I'm guessing it was Lily, and I thought it was funny how he was talking about Harry right in front of her. & Poor Hedwig! No need for Owls anymore? :(

Anyways, great chapter and I'm excited to finally start reading again! (I got randomly busy and haven't had the time! :/)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi, Amanda! Baha, take your time; this story isn't going anywhere. ^ ^

Fred is just kind of floating around, checking things out and trying to get a handle on his surroundings. I think I would be kind of like that, too; sort of disoriented and half-amazed. Poor Hedwig, indeed. :( At least she's enjoying a long retirement, I guess.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by forsakenphoenix 

18th June 2012:
OOH, a newcomer! I want to know who it is.

Your imagery in the beginning was beautiful. I'm seriously in awe at how easy everything seems to flow and gah, everything is just gorgeous. The end. There is only so many times I can flail about your mad writing skills, you know.

I have so much love for Colin. He's just so sad and precious and I want to snuggle him.

eee, I love Fred in this chapter! He's still got a bit of his prankster side here, what with the viper eggs and all that. omg, tell me that was Luna's mother that pointed out Town Hall. I love how you just include all these minor characters and ahhh, it's fabulous.

hahaha, I really hope that's Lily Fred is ogling because I find it hilarious. And you kept saying red-hair so that's why I think it's Lily. I'm glad to see she signed up too! I wonder who else will sign up...

It's sad that there are so many newcomers because of the war, but it makes for an interesting decision as to who moves on to the duels from those who signed up!!

I can't wait to read more. Words can't express how much I adore this story and you!

Author's Response: Colin is so snuggle-able. He may have been rather like a fly in canon, buzzing around Harry so much, but he was young and generally so sweet, and he /always/ had Harry's back. He unconditionally supported him, and I think he's a right little hero.

Yepp, that was Mrs. Lovegood! I always picture her as being the most well-adjusted to Cliodna's Clock because her daughter was so welcoming of the unknown and was well-adjusted to death herself.

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback!!


 Report Review

Review #9, by marlita1311 

18th June 2012:
"May the odds be ever in your favor."
hehe
another nicely written chapter!
i liked how you keep on changing on every chapter the person you are focusing.
you already gave as info on so many "lost-ones" in the Final Battle.
I want to read Lilly's encounter with Severus.
i think it would be veeery interesting.
~marlita

Author's Response: Bahaha.

I have such a huge cast of characters that I have to be pretty choosy in who I write about and trying to give them equal face time. I like being able to write about one or two people in one chapter and then switching it up in the next - it makes the writing process much more fun.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by peppersweet 

18th June 2012:
That was mrs lovegood, wasn't it? but Fred's fancy girl...still a mystery...

Got to dash through these chapters at the speed of light but I am loving this and I'm so emotionally invested in all these characters...I can't help but think they all have good reason to go back and i don't want any of them to dieee ;A;

Currently? I want Colin to win. heh. Colin or one of the lupins. ♥

Author's Response: Yarr, that be Mrs. Lovegood! Fred's fancy girl lolol...

YOU ARE WHIPPING THROUGH THESE CHAPTERS SO FAST, I HAVE WIND BURN ON MY SCREEN. Also eee yay, emotional investment! That makes me giddy. Baww yay, a Colin supporter. He needs your votes! The Lupins are also good choices. That is, if any of them sign up/are selected for the tournament. :3 :3 :3 SNEAKY MUSTACHE THROWS YOU OFF THE SCENT. I TYPED THREE OF THEM AND NOW YOU ARE DIZZY AND YOU HAVE NO PRECONCEPTIONS.



 Report Review

Review #11, by Hogwarts27 

13th June 2012:
What a wonderful chapter. Such nice rich imagery at the beginning, and I think you got Fred just right. You've got such a wonderful imagination for what all these characters would be doing. This has been an absolute pleasure to read so far. Going on the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm trying to get inside everyone's heads and see what they would be up to if they arrived in this strange place. This story has so many characters who suffer from a lot of angst (Tonks and Remus, Snape, Lily and James), that I decided to focus more on Fred's lighter side in this story. If I got into his misery with being separated from his family, the story would be too bogged down with angst. Regulus and Sirius will also provide comic relief rather than ruminate too much on their woes.

Wow, that was a rambling response. Bahaha.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by LittleWelshGirl99 

6th June 2012:
Hiya! I saw there was a new chapter up, and I really wanted to read more :D

I love the way Fred you described Fred in this chapter- showing his fun, lovable, pranking personality even in death. 'managed to stuff a nice load of viper eggs in Mr. Crouch’s teapot'. I can just imagine it so clearly! Tears of laughter in my eyes ;) And wow, I wonder who the red haired woman is? It'd be so cute if she and Fred got together...I love thinking about how perhaps Fred could fall in love/get married even though he's dead. It's so cheering!

'That’s me, Fred thought. I am going to win.' AHHA I SO WANT HIM TO WIN. I LOVE HIS SPIRIT. LOVE THAT LINE. Although I can imagine winning being very bittersweet- yes, you get to see all your relatives and loved ones but it's not like you're actually reconciled iwth them or anything. A classic look but not touch situation. :(

Enjoyed it so much, as usual! Very inspirational writing.

-LWG :)

Author's Response: Hi again, LWG! So happy to see you back!

Fred's a bit of a tricky balance. I wrote him in another novel and got to focus more on his playful side because he was alive. In this story, I want to keep his personality relatively the same, but there's also striking the balance between the funny guy and the guy who's just died and is now alone. I'm glad you're liking him. :) You will soon discover who the red-haired woman is!

Looking but not touching is the perfect way to describe it. It would be tough, that's for sure.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!



 Report Review

Review #13, by WitnesstoitAll 

6th May 2012:
Here I am... sneaking to read another chapter because it is infinitesmally better than learning about lymph nodes.

Please, please, please tell my that was Mrs. Lovegood who pointed town hall out to Fred? And Lily that he was oggling? I love your writing (in case you haven't already gotten that none-too-subtle hint). The way you give out just enough details to keep the astute reader in the know even though your narrator hasn't a clue who he is talking to. It's brilliant, really. I also really adore the mental picture I have of Cidona's Clock. It's so random and homely and quaint all at the same time. It really feels like a small town in the most organic sense of the term. The tiny details about mice and Godric's cat and tea kettles and all of the minor characters -- they all just add together to form this living breathing organism that is Cidona's Clock. It doesn't at all seem like a bad place to spend eternity.

Don't think I looked over the new arrival to Cidona's Clock... I just had to gush about the gorgeous setting and description first. It is eating me up to know who the new person is, and I want to march on over to Colin and force him to tell me. I am sort of curious as to why he was perched in that tree as well, but priorites priorities. I must know who the newcomer is first. :)

I adore your Fred. (As I always have). I love that even in death he's curious and inventive and prone to eavesdropping and wondering and thinking and the like. I am very nervous about him entering the tournament. Lily and Tonks (assuming she enters) seem like they'll be touch competion and if you kill Fred AGAIN my heart will break.

Great Chapter. xoxo

Author's Response: MEL. ♥

You procrastinator, you. But I certainly don't mind; you're going to ace all your finals, anyway. You're like some kind of machine.

YEP, THAT WAS MRS. LOVEGOOD. And First Star to the Right was 100% the reason why I wanted to write her. I just adore the way you write Luna and in my mind her mother is a lot like her; Mrs. Lovegood appears again in a couple chapters from here and I sat there thinking about the sort of language and imagery you use in First Star so that I could try to mimic that Luna-esque feeling.

The new person. Hee. I didn't mean to make the newcomer into a mystery, but I did want to bring someone else to Cliodna's Clock without having to provide information about them right away, as I wanted to shift focus back to fleshing out the rest of the characters first. As for why Colin was perched in the trees - that's anyone's guess. In my head, he was doing a lot of wandering around at the time, investigating.

Fred. ♥

Thank you for the lovely review, Melissa. (hug)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jess the Enthusiast 

6th May 2012:
Another fantastic chapter! I loved how Fred acted around Lily; it was a nice reminder as to exactly how young James and Lily were when got married, had Harry, and died. I hope this scene wasn't a foreshadow of who is going to end up in the final round against each other - I really don't want either Lily or Fred (or anyone if I really think about it) to disappear forever.
Great chapter! 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Thank you, Jess! It's easy to imagine that Lily and James were much older because of the actors who played them in the films, who looked to be around parent-age. In reality, in DH, Lily and James shouldn't have looked too much older than Harry himself. I like to be conscious of how young they really were when they died while writing; it makes them feel like more than just someone's parents to me.

Ahh, but someone will disappear forever. I don't know why I didn't just write a story where everyone is immortal and they just eat cake all day. Sometimes I wonder about myself.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by shadowcat2 

5th May 2012:
Wow. Who is this mysterious pretty girl that Fred met?
"Just do whatever you can in the Duel to make sure that whoever should win, does win."
this line definitely confused me. Finally, who is the newcomer? is this the girl we just met? Oh oh, that was luna's mum, right? the moment you described her eyes I could tell it was her. I think your description is amazing. I would love to read more of your works once I am done with this one. :)

Author's Response: You will soon see! :3 Even though you've read it already so you already know. XD

That line refers to the fact that a lot of people enter the tournament, and some are more deserving of the prize than others, so he wanted Fred to keep that in mind. The newcomer isn't anyone in the second half of the chapter, but yes, that blonde woman is Mrs. Lovegood!

Aww thank you, I would love it if you read some of my other stuff!

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Akussa 

29th April 2012:
Hi!!

Alright, so many mindblowing things in this chapter, once again, that I can't concentrate. The opening was beautiful. The way you described everything was so poetic and lively; it was a work of art! I am very curious as to who this new comer is though and I feel like you'll keep this up just a little longer before telling us...

Fred was perfect. I absolutly loved how he hit on Lily!! I can't wait for him to figure out who she is; that'll be hilarious!

One of the things I love about this story is how original and complete it is. In every chapter, you give us more detail about how this place works and looks and it feels like, to you, this world is very fullfledge (this time around, it was the amazing Pensieve). The wait you describe it to us also gives us a clear idea of how it is. That being said, I want to know about the Grotto!

What a great story, I know I've said it before but I repeat it. I love it! Great work!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for the reviews!!! The newcomer remained a mystery in this chapter because I wanted to flesh out the other characters a little more before introducing a new one. You will find out more about them very soon!

Thank you for saying that, that was indeed my goal. By the end of the story, I want everyone who reads to feel like they know the setting and the characters very thoroughly. The Grotta is something you will become more familiar with a few chapters down the road, I promise.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by cazvalleygirl 

20th April 2012:
RIGHT ITS OFFICAL! I LOVE THIS STORY!!!

Out of all the stories that I have read on hpff, and believe me, its quite a lot, this has taken 1st place. I can honestly say I have enjoyed each and every chapter!

If this was a published book I would buy it in a heartbeat, you have nailed every character down to a tee! I really can't praise you enough! Promise you will finish this!!! PLEASE!

It seems Cliodna's clock would be a very peculiar place to live, and not because of all the dead people lol! The place seems to be alive somehow!

I hope we get to see some of Grotta, I imagine it would be such a dark place, and Bellatrix without magic!!!

I'm guessing the whispy blonde haired lady is actually Mrs Lovegood! I love how you include characters that we've never actually met in the books but always wanted to learn more about!

I'm trying to guess who the new arrival could be but so far I'm coming up blank :/

Anyway, I know my grammer and spelling is probably atrocious because I'm rushing like a mad woman to read the next chapter but I dont even care because this is so good :)

Author's Response: My head might explode from your fabulous compliments. Thank you so much. :) :) :)

And you have my word, I will finish this. No matter how much writer's block I may get, no matter how many other stories I may want to write, this story is going to be priority number one and I am seeing it through to the end. Guaranteed.

I'm glad you said that about Cliodna's Clock being alive somehow, because that's the sort of feel I wanted it to exude. It's like its own organism. As for your comment about the Grotta, let's just say that I took that into account when I wrote chapter ten yesterday. ;)

Yes, that's Mrs. Lovegood! You'll see more of her very soon. Heee, you will see more of the new arrival soon, as well.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Ardeith 

10th April 2012:
I'm becoming obsessed with your wonderfully creative story and the world you've created here! Every detail is just so intriguing...the Town Hall suspended above the roots,etc.

I like spotting all the characters from canon. I was absurdly pleased to see Hedwig made it to the afterlife. :-) And the blonde woman with the weird jewelry...do we "know" her? Or at least know of her?

I was a little confused about the hiding people. (I realize it's supposed to be mysterious...) There's the "newcomer" and there's Colin, right? And we don't yet know why they were hiding, right?

I'm being repetitive, but this is truly one of the most creative stories on this site and I love it!

Thanks,
Ardeith

Author's Response: I like the Town Hall and its lack of steps. And Hedwig! Now there's an unnecessary death if I ever saw one. Poor bird. :( As for the blonde woman with jewelry, just ask yourself if you can think of any other blonde, dreamy-eyed people in Potterverse who wear strange jewelry and just might have a dead relative. ;)

The newcomer will come to light soon-ish! For now I am keeping him/her in the dark, so as to focus on preexisting residents.

Thank you so much for reading and for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by notreallyblonde44 

9th April 2012:
How could I resist leaving the 100th review?!

This story is FANTASTICULABOUS! Yes, I mixed a bunch of words together, but I don't care. I love this story. Your diction is impeccable, imaginative, and flawless! Your characterizations are spot on and better than I could ever write. You peg Fred so perfectly. And Lily in this chapter cracked me up! I'm curious to see the results and I guess the reason behind all the entries this year is due to high new number of people entering the Clock. (Side note: Boo Peter! I dare say, I actually want an explanation for his existence *cough).

Anywho, all I can do is rant and rave and fangirl about this story. Things you've gotten a dozen times over I'm sure (and I hope you have, 'cause it's much deserved). I saw on TGS that you already know the results, so I cannot wait for the story to unfold and I hope we can meet all the characters that have passed in the Clock. Along with a taste of the Grotto, maybe a hint of Bellatrix? That would be smashing ;)

&love; already favourited; awaiting more; thanks for sharing this with us at HPFF!

--Ellie

Author's Response: YAY 100 REVIEWS -dies of happiness-
Thank you so much!

Hee, Lily in this chapter. :3 She's like LOL WHATEVER, I DON'T KNOW WHO YOU ARE AND I DON'T CARE. She's got her own agenda and Fred with his wandering eyes is not on it. And yep, you hit it right on the nose - more people are signing up than normal because so many of them have arrived in the Clock just before the races are to start. Hee, Peter. He's sort of in the way everywhere he goes, isn't he?

I can promise that you will indeed have a taste of the Grotta. :3 I shall now hush up on that front so that I don't reveal anything.

Thank you so much for reading and for this review! It was awesomesauce. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

9th April 2012:
Gah I love this story!!! Amazingly well written! Please update soon! I really can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll be updating in a few days. :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

9th April 2012:
Oh no! It didn't come into my brain until now that obviously Fred wants to win. So, we have Fred, Lily, Remus and Tonks. Remus wouldn't fight against Tonks like James won't fight against Lily so it would be Fred, Lily and Tonks. Fred doesn't have ties to Lily but he does to Tonks and Lily doesn't have ties to either so she would let them die. So, really it's either between Lily/Tonks or Lily/Fred because, Tonks and Fred have the same motives and probably would be 'friends' like how it was on earth but I doubt it would end up being Fred/Tonks since Lily has more of an advantage since she won for 13 years.

Wow, this story is just...really plays with your mind!

Author's Response: You are very good at deducing! And you're quite right - Remus won't go against Tonks. But Tonks will willingly go against any of the others because she's very driven. And although Lily's won so many times, Tonks is freshly dead and in exactly the same position Lily was in sixteen years ago - a mother of a son who has just been orphaned and has neither of his parents. She's definitely going to be a threat to Lily in this tournament.

 Report Review

Review #22, by AC_rules 

8th April 2012:
So I guess this is the time where I leave my last review for awhile and add this story to my favourites and regret the fact that it isn't all finished right now and I can't just read the whole thing and absorb it in anything.

I'm assuming that the girl Fred thinks is fit is Lily? AH. That has actually made my day. I can't wait to know what he makes of that when he finds out about it, ahhhaaa. But, he's entered and I didn't want him too. You can't kill Fred twice, can you? It killed me the first time, please don't do it a second time.

And Hedwig was there! That made me smile a lot. The Mysterious new comer? So much stuff going on and I want more immediately. Update soon?

Honestly, this was wonderful and I thoroughly enjoyed it :D

AC

Author's Response: I saw that you added this to your favorites - thank you so much for that. And thank you for taking the time to read and review every single chapter. It's really made my day. :)

Hee, you will see about Fred later. :3

Hedwig! The unsung hero. I had to include her, of course. She's the best owl ever. The mysterious newcomer will be properly discussed soon, as well. I haven't written much about this person yet but he/she is already one of my favorite characters.

I will be updating within the next few days. Thank you so much for these reviews, they have made my WEEK! :) :)



 Report Review

Review #23, by Becka Potter 

7th April 2012:
I LOVE THIS!! Its so different frm other stories i've read and it's so well written cant wait to here what happens next update soon :) :DD

Author's Response: Hooray! Thank you! I'm pleased that you're enjoying it. ^ ^ I'll be updating quite soon, I promise. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I appreciate it very much.

 Report Review

Review #24, by TenthWeasley 

6th April 2012:
On one of the windowsills, the glass darkened by the banner that hung directly on the other side of it, a memorable white owl sat staring down at Fred. -- HEDWIG. ♥ I for some reason never expected to see her, but it's so cool that you remembered to include her! Canon proclivity shining through again ~

“Very fit,” he murmured. “Very fit, indeed.” -- LULZ. For some reason that just conjured up into my mind creepy images of Florean Fortescue stalking Hesper. And now he's going to go steal Colin's camera and go all dodgy and lurking about in alleys, and he'll take pictures of her but they'll be all blurry and then he'll get so mad he'll try and kill her and get banished to the Grotta and will inevitably be taken out by Dolohov because he resembles Fabian Prewett. DO I WIN A PRIZE?

This sort of reminds me of the Hunger Games, what with the blood collecting and Fred's determination to win at all. I don't know if it was an intentional comparison or not, but it's not a bad one, to be sure. :) There's that slightly dystopic element to it all, even thought this is the afterlife, and you know how much of a sucker I am for a good dystopia. I absolutely can't wait to see how you handle the Duel itself, who gets selected (I've already got a fair guess, of course, for plot purposes) and who comes out on top.

Also, if you make Cedric die, we'll have massive issues. :3 I'LL TASTE TEST FROSTING WITH THAT BOY ANY DAY, YOU JUST LET ME KNOW WHEN HE'S FREE.

Your imagery is so gorg. ♥ I'm really sorry it took me so long to read this chapter, but as always, it was top-notch, of course. I'm very envious of the masterful way you seem to be able to tell a story, combining all these elements together in a virtually seamless and utterly compelling fashion. 'Tis a gift and I am glad you make good use of it!

Lovely chapter, my dear, as always!

Author's Response: EWW FLOREAN FORTESCUE /WHY/ JANE, /WHY/. I will never be able to read that passage with Fred's eye-spying the same way ever again. I will probably have to reword that now because all I can think about is weirdo Florean creeping around with his camera and ice cream, asking people if they want free refills. Omg creeper Fortescue, get out of this story. You were not invited. Except you are in this story, but you are not a creeper. You just own an ice cream shop. But there will not be any free sundaes from you.

Oh lawd The Hunger Games comparisons again. -claws out eyes- I TRIED SO HARD TO MAKE IT TRIWIZARD TOURNAMENT-Y BUT HUNGER GAMES IS SO IN THE MOMENT RIGHT NOW THAT MY ATTEMPTS ARE WOE, IT'S ALL ANYONE SEES~ The blood thing is something I introduced so that people know what it is later when it will actually mean something, but yesh, Fred deffo wants to win. But, I mean, they all want to win. But I've been ironing out the kinks in what this year's races are going to be like, AND I THINK YOU WILL BE PLEASED. It's changed quite a bit from the rough draft I initially talked about. I'm extremely excited to write it because all five rounds of the Duel are going to be vastly different and eee, I just can't wait to write it. It's going to be so much fun for me. And it's not, I promise you, very Hunger Games-ish. The only thing that will be remotely similar is the fact that it's a bunch of people in a competition. Like in the Triwizard Tournament. Cough.

CEDRIC MIGHT BE SAFE, HE MIGHT BE A GONER~ I shan't tell! I will dig out Cedric from under Dudley's chair and ask him what time he wants to go frosting-tasting with you.

Aww, thank you. ♥ You leave such lovely reviews. I always look forward to reading them and I despise responding to them because I'm a rambling mess.


 Report Review

Review #25, by cheesecauldron 

5th April 2012:
MORE!!! MUST HAVE MOREEE!!!

Author's Response: Haaa. Thank you! I will be updating soon! P.S. I like your pennname. ^ ^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>