Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Courtney Dark 

26th December 2013:
Tag!

I always get so excited when I pop over to the review thread and see that you are the last one who has posted, because it means I get to read another chapter of this story!

I really enjoyed the section from Ron's point of view. His love for his family was just so clear that I really just wanted to hug him and tell him in will all be alright. Even though things don't really look alright at this stage. In fact, things look like they are going downhill with Rose and Octavia, but THAT'S OKAY!

I also really liked this bit: 'e had never possessed Hermione’s ability to rapidly analyze the details of a situation or Harry’s ability to make snap decisions based on instinct, but he liked to believe that given enough time to ponder things, he could come up with alternatives that they had overlooked.' To me, that summed up the dynamics of Harry, Ron and Hermione perfectly, and just stuck in my head!

I am extremely anxious to find out more about this creepy book. Somehow it seemed too easy for Terry to get it, even though he was in disguise, which makes me worried. Is it even the real thing? Or is it some kind of trap? I really, really hope not!

I love Rose's character. She has such a great personality, it's always amusing to read her POV's, even if they are quite dark!

I absolutely loved the Hugo/Albus/Scorpius/Fleur section! The conversation between Hugo and Albus felt so natural and then Scorpius was just perfect. And I really enjoyed Fleur's stories!

Awesome chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi, Courtney!

I get really excited when I see you tag me, as well! I love getting more perspective on the later chapters of CoB.

This was the first chance I've had in the story to really get Ron on his own and let him shine. I was really pleased to do it because I don't like stories where he gets pigeon-holed into the Second Banana Zone, unable to do much of anything without Harry and Hermione to lead him around. You don't get to be an Auror by mindlessly following Harry's lead. I liked that line about Ron's abilities, as well. I agree that it nicely sums up what he brings to the Trio.

You will find out much, much more about the creepy book over the next few chapters. It's a nasty piece of work.

I've never written anything that focuses exclusively on Rose, but I love writing her as a supporting character. Her dark, sarcastic sense of humor contrasts so well with where the other characters are mentally by this point in the story.

Fleur is another character that I really started to enjoy writing in this. I think of her as being a very intuitive, free-spirited sort of woman who values the wisdom and opinions of others, but doesn't feel bound by them. She gives some pretty good advice, which turns out to be a big help to Al, Hugo and Scorpius. The three of them are about to take a much larger role in the story over the next few chapters.

I look forward to every review you leave! It's so much fun to read them and respond! Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #2, by APerkins 

24th October 2013:
Oh, the happiest day of my marriage. :D

Thankyou for writing that so well. For spelling it out to us... (but not literally.) That section with Fleur was just perfect! Fleur is still annoying and .. ugh. Phlegm.


I am enjoying this too much to really focus on reviewing much. But I am a little... disappointed in the fact that Ron can manage to apparate to his parents place,defeat the bad guys and return, while Rose and Octavia failed to. Where's the girl power?
Preparation I suppose you will tell me?
Determination, desperation, deportation?

Anyway, I love the way you have .. no thats wrong. What you have Ron doing to the bad guy is sick and twisted and awful but you did it well.

And somehow you managed to leave us worried about the well being of Hermione, alone with an Evil Book that Harry knows something about but hasnt explained. You jsut leave these tantalising hints everywhere. Its fantastic.

I dont understand why Rose wanted to be seen as nonplussed. Well, again, thats not true. She wants to be nonplussed because that is her version of acting the innocent, unsuspecting, slightly flustered person caught doing nothing wrong.

But ... outraged, scared, offended,, disinterested, what made you chose nonplussed from the variety of options?

I like seeing her flatter Jade though... and you ... are just so good at this.

Author's Response: Hello, again! Finally getting to respond to this last one! I wanted to add some extra-special thanks for this review. It's number 950 on Conspiracy of Blood!

I hope that maybe you'll like Fleur a bit better as the story moves forward. She can be a bit pretentious at times, but hey, she's French. She has nothing but people's best interests at heart.

Ron does have many, many years of training and preparation that Rose doesn't have, but it's more than that. Rose still doesn't realize how much trouble she's in. None of the Next Generation characters do because they've never seen anything like this situation in their entire lives. Even if they think that the Ministry is clumsy and bureaucratic, they still believe in the inherent justness of the institution because their parents helped to rebuild it after the war. They don't understand how that institution has been subverted... yet.

You wanted to see Ron step out of Harry and Hermione's shadow a bit, right? Well here he is in all of his bad-to-the-bone Auror glory. He really is a powerful, talented wizard.

Rose doesn't so much *want* to be seen as nonplussed, she's just being obnoxious. In her mind, she's quite sure that she's done nothing wrong and that eventually MLEP will have to let her go. Again, she doesn't realize how much trouble she's really in. Until it's too late...

Thanks for all the compliments and thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

8th February 2013:
I swear when I read Ron's action fight scene, all that went through my head was The name's Weasley, Ron Weasley. LOL, it was awesome. :P

The angst-y feels I get when I read how guilty Hugo feels just makes me so sad. Hugo is not allowed to sad, or make me sad. He's awesome, like his dad. And his mum, who I feel so sorry for, not being able to leave the house. But she has the book, and knowing Hermione, I bet she could find answers now. I hope Scor, Al and Hugo, or Ron, Harry and the others, find Rose and Octavia soon.

Amazing chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Ha! When I was writing Ron in that scene, I was actually thinking about Neo from The Matrix. It took a lot of restraint not to put him in sunglasses.

Hugo is feeling quite sad at this point. He feels as though he's let everyone down. Like I said, fear not. He will redeem himself after a fashion before the story is over.

Glad you liked it. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica 

6th December 2012:
Hello! I've come by for a holiday review swap :)

Ron reminds me of Neo from The Matrix, haha. I see he's come a long way from the boy who made himself spit up slugs as a result of a broken wand! I did like seeing that little touch at the end of the first section where he wanted to be like a little boy again, able to run for help to his mum and dad.

It was interesting how Ron told the man to "remember that part" right before casting the memory wiping charm. It's neat irony.

The effect of Tenabra's dark book on Hermione was really fascinating to me. It's almost like I'm watching her character disintegrate bit by bit, try as she might to hold it together and be a part of the fight against the New Blood Order. I see little flashes of the consequences of the war in Harry and Ron, but you've really outdone yourself with Hermione, especially with a tough girl like Esme as a counterpoint. I have a feeling that I'll need to keep an eye on her in the chapters to come.

It was a small scene where Albus and Hugo were fighting, and yet it was really powerful. Again, it really shows that war is making everyone tense.

Fleur! Oh my gosh, I love her! She seems to have really wised up in her old age, especially with that line about how learning to listen to Molly made her much happier in the long run. She's got that canon flair with her beauty and determination, especially in terms of Apparating all the way from Britain.

Looking forward to reading more soon!

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi!

This remains one of my favorite chapters, mostly because of the huge role Ron plays in it. Funny you should mention The Matrix, because in my mind I could almost see him wearing those sunglasses with his robes swirling around him in slow motion as he takes out the three MLEP officers who try to apprehend him outside the Burrow. More than anything, I wanted this chapter to make it clear that Ron Weasley is a very formidable Auror. That said, he does crave the comforts of home.

Hermione is in a very bad place right now. She wants to help rescue her daughter and granddaughter so much that she's starting to behave in some very uncharacteristic ways, taking risks that she would never ordinarily take. She's in a very vulnerable state of mind, and the book seems to have fallen into her lap at the worst possible time. Keep a very close eye on her.

Hugo probably would have fought with a signpost if nobody else was available. He's approaching the limits of what his relatively sheltered life has prepared him to deal with, and the guilt he carries from "abandoning" Rose in Britain is huge.

If you like the way Fleur behaves in this chapter, I feel fairly confident that you're going to absolutely love her later on. Enough said...

Thanks so much for all of your lovely, detailed and insightful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Pixileanin 

25th June 2012:
Back for another chapter, finally! Sorry it took so long. There's this thing called "distraction" that pretty much rules my life these days.

Ron is chilling in this first scene. It seems that he took Hermione's instructions to heart. I can see how he would be pushed to act like that under the circumstances. But t's like watching a good friend reach the end of his rope and all you can do is hope that he's not going to let go.

Rose's interrogation had me laughing out loud. I can totally see her saying those preposterous things, just to get a rise out of her captors. Unfortunately, her snark wasn't able to help her against the unknown intruders. Gosh, I sure hope that Octavia snuck off somewhere safe before all that happened! Jade seems like a sympathetic character, though I don't trust her. I don't trust any of the Ministry people right now, with all the unknowns floating around.

""As far as I'm concerned, you can take every memory I have from the past two weeks," Terry responded grimly. "I'd sleep better.""

Poor Terry! What did he ever do to you to give him that kind of punishment? I thought it was fitting that Hermione had lots of things to keep her distracted while Harry and the rest went to check out where Octavia and Rose had been.

Seriously? Scorpius dueled Ron while proposing to Rose? *rolls over* Typical NextGen stunt. I am always happily surprised at the blatant mood change when you write these younger characters. Very daytime drama... not that I watch daytime drama... it's just the whole feel of the scene changes when they come on the screen. I find these scene/mood changes refreshingly light compared to the Golden Trio characters and that Tenabra woman, who, I'm assuming, is never going to get light and fluffy, no matter how good a mood she gets into.

Another fine chapter!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Ah, distraction. I know it well. It's keeping ch. 36 from being wrapped up as we speak.

I'm glad that my portrayal of Ron worked for you. He really is near the end of his rope, and we're finding out what he's really capable of both as a wizard and as a human being.

I wanted to add just a bit of levity to a rather dark chapter with Rose's interrogation. She really has no idea how much danger she and Octavia are in, so she's being painfully snarky. Jade is basically just an innocent victim, one of many who will suffer because of the Blood Order.

Terry has been under a lot of stress. I think it says something when a character is plunged into open conflict and it's sort of a relief.

I kind of think of Scorpius as a "whatever it takes to get by" kind of guy. He comes off as a slacker, but he can elevate his game when something is really important to him. The contrast between the older generations and the next gen characters is not by accident. It's the difference between a generation raised in the middle of a war versus a generation that has reached middle age knowing only peace and security. And, no, Lady Tenabra doesn't have a light, fluffy bone in her body.

So glad you're enjoying it! Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Elenia 

19th June 2012:
So, I didn't feel like writing today and decided to read some stories. I told you I wasn't going to read any of your chapters this month so I wouldn't get distracted from my own story, but I couldn't resist the temptation any more, especially after you said that I was so close to a not-so-captivating chapter. Way to get me curious! That was just an evil plot of yours because you missed my reviews, wasn't it d:

Haha, kidding of course ^^

Anyways, here I am again, being sucked into your story from the very first sentence! I already knew this was a bad idea and that I couldn't stop reading, but meh. These reviews count as words for NaNo too, right?

The first scene with Ron was great! I like how you gave him a moment to shine! So often he's portrayed as the least talented from the trio, it was really nice to read him beating all those officers by himself!

This continues in the second part, I think you've done a tremendous job with his character! He's very canon, but clearly has become more mature.

Hrr, I get shivers from even thinking about the fall he made the officer do! Cruel, but what wouldn't one do when their children were in danger! And he got his answers without anyone getting hurt and the officer wouldn't remember a thing from the whole encounter, so no harm done d:

Ooh! ROSE! What happened there? She's alright, isn't she? Please let it be a stunning spell! Urgh, you and your cliffies.

“Yeah,” he answered with a sigh. “I’ve been using polyjuice non-stop for a couple of weeks. I hope I didn’t do anything permanent.”
^ Ooh, props for that sentence! It never really was mentioned anywhere if there were that kind of side-effects if one used Polyjuice potion too much, but that really does make sense! Great thinking!

That whole scene was really interesting. I like it how you have all these different POV's in this story but still you manage to make each and every one of them stand out from the other. For instance those little remarks Hermione made from the body language and glances, the others wouldn't have noticed something like that. And since you have so many different POV's going on, it's a really hard task to manage, but you're doing it perfectly! So well done ^^

And yes, finally some fortune for the good guys as they now have the missing documents and the evil book. I didn't let myself get my hopes up in the previous chapters when Terry got a hold of them, I was certain something would happen to him and they wouldn't get them, but I'm glad I was wrong (:

As for the last scene, that was great too. I love it how you've made Fleur to be so strong and not the horrible version I've read so many times in other stories. I did once again frown a bit because of her accent as I don't think one could hear it anymore after so many years in England, but it's not that big of a deal really (:

But oh no! They're going to try and apparate back! I have a bad feeling about this, I really do! Please don't make them splinch themselves!

Another great chapter and the plot is moving along nicely! Can't wait to read what happens next! Let's see how long I can wait, shall we d:

Take care ^^

~E

Author's Response: She's back! Yay! Sure, reviews count as NaNo words. ;) I think I might have actually succeeded without trying if that's the case.

I've tried so very hard to keep Ron true to himself without landing him in the Second Banana Zone. It's hard, and I find him the hardest of the trio to write. So I'm really glad you like the way I've gone about it. When he's dealing with the three MLEP officers, I'm almost picturing him as Neo in The Matrix. And he is willing to do whatever is necessary to find out where Rose and Octavia are, as evidenced in the scene at Canary Wharf.

Rose is... well, she's in a lot of trouble. How much remains to be seen...

Poor Terry has been under a lot of stress. I'm sure he's a wreck and he'll just be happy to look in the mirror and see his own face again.

Hermione is still the most observant of the trio, and the most analytical. I'm really glad you like the way I differentiate her PoV.

The good guys have struck a blow, but Lady Tenabra will have her moments, as well. It's far from over.

In spite of it all, I still rather like Fleur as a character. I think she gets the sort end of the wand in way too many fan fics. She's going to let the boys make their own choices, just as she has always been able to.

You'll find out soon how their attempt to apparate across the English Channel goes. Because you can't resist! Ha, ha! You are mine, dearie, all mine!

Seriously, though, go write some more Gwen and James. I need to know what happens next! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jchrissy 

10th June 2012:
I love love love love love love Ron. Really. This is so perfect-

"He had never possessed Hermione’s ability to rapidly analyze the details of a situation or Harry’s ability to make snap decisions based on instinct, but he liked to believe that given enough time to ponder things, he could come up with alternatives that they had overlooked”

I am happy that Terry is back, I was getting worried. You’ve made him a very strong character without over playing him, not many people could hold their own faking a blood order member after watching others get burtally murdered for far less that being a rat. PS- You and should watch the Son’s of Anarchy series... they show you exactly what happens to rats ;)

I’m hurting for Scorpius. He is such a devoted, loyal father and husband. Knowing him and Rose, the last words they said to each other were probably said while yelling. Both his girls are missing :(. I’m also very curious as to where you are going to take Al, Hugo, and Scorpius. (I can’t even think of Al and Hugo anymore without my head replaying, ‘think of Fiona on the kitchen floor moaning’ really, I’ll never be able to take those two seriously again.

Something is definitely going on with this book, Harry, and or Hermione. Great.. more twists. You are killing me!!

You have Harry and Esme easing into each other... but I am not going to talk about that, because, well, you know why.


Can they do the apparation?! You wouldn’t go splinching some of the main characters at a time like this, would you?! PS. I love that you made Fleur the one who could do it. Thank you for not playing into the ‘I’m pretty and blonde so I must be dumb’ stereotype. I was smiling during that entire conversation.

Obviously I loved the chapter, like always. I’m sorry I haven’t reviewed more this weekend. I’ve been pretty much multi tasking everything, and you know that I wont read your chapters while multitasking.

I am getting so nervous to see how everything plays out, and can honestly say if I don’t feel happy at the end, I am going to make sure to get you back for it!

-J

Author's Response: Hello, again!

The way that Ron came off in this chapter was kind of a personal victory for me. I was so pleased with it. I wanted to make it clear that Ron is a competent, powerful wizard in his own right and he's perfectly capable of taking charge of a situation without Harry around. To use a term one of my other readers put in a review, I wanted to get him out of the "sidekick zone".

Terry is back, and he played an important role. Now he joins the rest of the team as the war begins in earnest.

Scorpius is determined to save his family, no matter what personal risks he has to take. And now he has Al and Hugo backing him, which will be a big help. I plan to have some fun with the three of them, even though the story is fairly serious from here on out.

Oh, there's a great deal going on with the book. A lot more than meets the eye.

I am going to do what I can to make you happy at the end, although I can't promise the path between here and there will be smooth. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Remus 

15th May 2012:
hey!

Great chapter!! I have to point out tho, you have a weird formatting issue when Terry is speaking. "It almost seemed like he was


imperiused, but something was off. He was too lucid and he couldn't stand on one foot very well when she ordered him to."


It just jumps from one paragraph and forms another.


And that's it! Sorry for the amazingly short review but I had a long one before the computer at work booted me off...so I got annoyed and just wrote this. Haha!

Till next time!

Perelandra

Author's Response: Hey, there, stranger!

That formatting thing drives me crazy. It happens intermittently when I'm copying and pasting from Google Docs into the HPFF editor, and it always occurs when something is formatted in italics. Thanks for pointing it out. I'll take a look and get it cleaned up.

Work computers are annoying. Can you believe they actually expect us to use them for work instead of reading fan fic and writing reviews and responses? Who do they think they are? ;)

Speaking of next time, when you get around to reading the next chapter, be sure to pay careful attention to the author's note at the end. :-P

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #9, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

2nd May 2012:
Sorry again, this is on my phone but it seems this is the only way I can get through your chapters without being interrupted. I like to focus on the story compared to other ones I read because you pack so much into one chapter.

Ron is really something else, isn't he. I can already see (in my head) a fight between him and Hugo breaking out. Nothing too serious but I don't think he'll take it lightly that Hugo wasn't able to protect Rose. It'll remind him of Ginny because he was always ready to protect her. He even tried to protect her from Harry all those years ago, from Dean, sure it was more over protectiveness in the fact that he didn't want his sister to date but protecting her from is essentially what he was doing. I can understand why Hugo is so distraught about it and why he would get into a fight with Albus. He would have been fine if he had been able to get her in time, they all would have.

I don't know if they're all going to make it across such a long distance. They have determination, yes, but they're shaken up. I feel like their emotions are clouded, they need to think straight. They don't seem to have much of a plan and going to Malfoy Manor is a start, yes but then I think back to Draco in the past chapters.

I think about the offer he was given to join the Order and his refusal. Will he tell Scorpius? If he tells Scorpius and Scorpius can't find Rose and Octavia, will he join? I think they would only to find Rose and Octavia but how dangerous would that be? They would essentially be 'undercover' they would be playing both sides, kind of like Snape did all those years ago and we know how that ended.

Oh, and then Hermione. This is what I'm wondering. Since the book has dark magic is it pulling Hermione towards it? Or is it just something inside Hermione that wants to know what's inside the book because of her legs? I felt like when I was reading that part that there was actually something inside the book that had magic coursing through it that could effect her thoughts/decisions perhaps and could possibly over power her but I could be wrong because you didn't really go into detail it was more of an introduction to that part of the plot.

Sorry again if this review is unreadable. Being on a phone and writing this up isn't easy!

Author's Response: Please don't apologize for your phone-reviews. I love the dedication! And it means I'm getting the raw, unfiltered reactions, which I love.

Ron is a lot more hard core than he lets on. I don't think he'll wind up in a fight with Hugo, but Hugo would be in big trouble if they did. Hugo is very distraught, and he has every right to be. But now he's going to go try to make things right...

You'll find out very soon how the long-distance apparition goes. It's tempting, I think, to look at the situation and say, "well, Fleur can dot it, it can't be that hard." But she was a tri-wizard champion.

I hate to discourage your speculating, because your thoughts are so interesting to me, but I'm going to do it just this once. Draco and Scorpius will not be joining the Blood Order. But your idea of them pretending to be interested as a way of getting information... well, you could be onto something there. ;-)

Holy crap. Your thoughts on Hermione... have you been reading ahead? Or was I just way too obvious? Inquiring author wants to know. ;)

This review was eminently readable, very pleasurable to read, and combined with the first one it made my evening. I read your forums page about working towards 1,000 reviews and I think you've set a very admirable goal for yourself, one that inspires me to want to review more. I'm currently at 260, so I have a l-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-ng way to go...

Thanks so much for all of your thoughts and ideas and theories. I love them all!


 Report Review

Review #10, by shadowcat2 

30th April 2012:
Ron is breaking down. Albus and Hugo are arguing. I really hope they find Rose and Octavia as soon as possible.

Author's Response: I'm not sure that I'd say that Ron is breaking down. He's just getting really, really determined. Perhaps a bit desperate.

Hugo is very upset. He blames himself for Rose and Octavia being in danger, and he took some of that out on Al. Fortunately, Fleur came along to help them all realize what was important.

Sleep well, dear reader! Thanks for all of the awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #11, by CloakAuror9 

26th April 2012:
Hey there!

So...is it just me or this chapter was shorter than your average ones? Nonetheless, it is forever interesting especially the bit about the books...seems to be a powerful book. I am so interested to see its contents!

I love the fact that you are still trying to maintain the canon characters. Harry trying to fix the broken window is a very noble and Harry thing to do, he will try to keep as much people safe as possible. Ooh! And what is this...is this a hint I see? The little flashes of annoyance in her eyes were far less common, and a couple of times Hermione had caught her staring at Harry in a way that suggested more than just a collegial interest. Okay, so I now I shouldn't be getting my hope too high up...but Esme and Harry...couple...great...you know? I mean clearly Esme is ready to fight this war...and gah! Its so hard to explain. I just hope they get together... :(

Scorpius & company to the rescue! I wonder what will happen...would they just be the rescuers the trio just need or would they just complicate everything else?! Ah! So, so, so many questions and most of them won't get answered any soon...oh well. I guess there is always the next chapter :P

Ramble, ramble...I'm not exactly the most helpful reviewer ever, so for some light CC...

I think you are in a very steady pace as every chapter progresses on. I like the way you always have a few different POV in every chapter, and give us a variety of things to comment on.

The plot of the story, I view as a big messy tangle of rope and as the chapters go by they (hopefully) get tangled. You also give us a lot of suspense factor, though nothing big, and you always keep me on edge every chapter because I don't know what will happen next.

The suspense can't kill me anymore...I am immune from it (or so I hope!)

Great chapter as always!
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Hello, again!

This one was a bit shorter. As we turn the corner into the home stretch of the story, some chapters will actually be quite short because they focus more on very narrow, intense aspects of the story.

Yes, Harry and Esme are falling towards one another if not exactly for one another. There's a lot of unresolved history between them, but tense circumstances tend to bring out people's true feelings. Still, they're both old and wise enough to approach things carefully. You'll just have to wait and see how it turns out.

Scorpius, Al and Hugo are coming back to Britain, although they're still not truly ready to take part in a war. I have some interesting things in mind for them.

I feel like I have settled into a fairly consistent pace, but it's about to pick up considerably as things draw to a close. I hope I can untangle most of those ropes for you, but I'm sure I'll leave one or two knotted up. These are the things that sequels and one-shots are made of. ;-)

Thanks so much for all of your great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #12, by parashar_harry 

21st April 2012:
i am completly luving ur study. each chapter is amazing, and also all the fight sequences are amazing too owo
thanks for this chapter
the description of book power rminded me of the elder wand power which u have described almost same in ur one shot, i wonder how moine will handle this power as she is reading the book?
also i am surprised that someone has taken rose, before ron who is this third party i am curious to know
just one more thing why are u not letting the children to fight, all of them are grown up, even some of their children are in 6th- or 7th years. what kind of gryfindorrs, potter or weasleys they are ? i am really disappointed from next generation?
10/10

Author's Response: Hi, there.

I'm glad you're liking the story. I really enjoy writing the fight sequences, so I'm happy that they work for you.

Herodonthus's book does grant a certain type of power, but the price is very high, as you'll soon see. In that way, it's similar to the Elder Wand, but that's pretty much where the similarities end.

Rose's captivity is explained in detail over the next two chapters.

Up to this point, the next gen characters (who are all middle-aged at this point) and the third generation have all been kept out of the fighting. This is because the older generations want to spare them from the horrors that they endured during the last war. But they probably won't be able to keep them out much longer...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ginerva_molly_weasley 

5th April 2012:
Hello with your review on the most up to date chapter of this story :D

Very short chapter in terms of the eons you usually write but nevertheless I think it's one of my favourites! The way you show the pure determination within Ron's mind to make sure that his daughter and granddaughter were safe was enthrawling. I loved how mature you showed him to be with not giving into his urges to go back home but instead uses ruthless methods to get the information out of a man who is really only doing his job. This shows Ron in a different light but it also shows that he loves and cares for his family and that matters more to him than terrorising some poor law enforcer type guy.

Rose is one of the funniest characters being smart and cheeky with her answers but then spotting the good cop bad cop attempt already! She's very clever but also I love her concern as a mother about thinking about her daughter. I really want to know what happened though to Jade, Rose and Octavia because it seemed like a brutal attack reitterated by Ron's message.

I love the way everyone also jumps to Ron's aid even though they are at risk themselves. They all know that they need to find Rose and Octavia and I see the side of Hermione which shows that whilst she wants them all to be safe her mother instincts overpower all reason andlet them go.

It's a nice touch!

Author's Response: Hi, there! Welcome back.

Ron is capable of being utterly ruthless when he needs to be. He is not going to allow the Blood Order to use his family as hostages without a fight. He's going to do whatever is necessary.

Ah, Rose. I love everything about writing her. She is a complete, unrepentant wiseacre, and she is very bright. It's her father and mother coming through. You'll find out what happened to everyone in the Exeter field office very soon...

Poor Hermione. The stress of not being able to help is really starting to get to her. We see a lot more of that in the next chapter.

Thank you so much for sticking with this for so long. I know the chapters are sometimes brutally long, but I like to be thorough. Your reviews really mean a lot!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Roots in Water 

29th March 2012:
It's Roots in Water here with your review!

Ah- another amazing chapter! I just loved everything that happened here and I think that you're doing a fabulous job of continuing the story.

To begin, I really enjoyed your characterization of Ron. He acted exactly how I thought he would when his family is threatened- morally ambiguous and determined to get his way. And he almost succeeded! His method of torturing the information out of the Auror was very effective- it was terrifying without being bloody; it was almost all in the mind. And best of all, it worked. However, I think that my favourite part of Ron's sections was the moment when he waved to his father after Arthur had waved to him. It really showed his care and affection towards his family and it was a really nice moment between father and son (even though they were far away from each other). It was also very sweet to read that Ron wasn't only worried about where Rose and Octavia were but also how they were being treated. In particular, I liked his question about if Octavia had been read a bedtime story before being tucked into bed. It really showed just how much he cared for them.

Rose's part was very well done as well. I think that you did a great job with the dialogue during her interrogation- it really showed her fiery and rebellious side. It was too bad that someone else got to her before Ron did- I kept imagining that Ron would appear when the man was questioning Rose and say "Or he could be right here!" and then proceed to rescue his daughter and granddaughter. I do hope that they'll be alright, though, and I can't imagine who would have kidnapped them because they were already in Ministry custody, which would suit Lady Tenabra just fine... Has another player appeared on the field?

I think that the majority of my favourite moments in your chapters come from small moments. I think that my favourite moment in this chapter was when Esme said "You would 'ave been proud of 'im," she declared. "The closest 'e came to acting noble was when 'e tried to repair the window before we left the apothecary." It was very funny and so very true to character. I could just imagine Harry trying to repair the window, determined not to "hurt innocent bystanders". It's a wonderful trait to have but it can get in the way sometimes.

Furthermore, it'll be interesting to see what happens now that Al, Hugo and Scorpius are apparating back to England- will they help or will they just get in the way? However, I do commend them for their determination- I don't know how I would have felt about Scorpius if he hadn't been so determined to rescue Rose and Octavia. As well, I liked Fleur's appearance in this chapter and I liked your explanation for long-distance apparation- it makes sense and follows what we know from the books.

All in all, this was another excellent chapter, one that I thoroughly enjoyed. I can't wait to see what happens next- thanks for requesting another review!

Author's Response: Hello, again! Always nice to see your reviews.

I'm very pleased that you liked this chapter. I don't know whether you felt it, but the ball is starting to pick up speed as we roll towards the end of the story. There are more surprises yet to come, but everything will happen really quickly from here on out.

I don't have very many Ron-centric sections in the story, but they're always a joy to write when the opportunity presents itself. Just a quick clarification: the wizard that Ron was terrorizing was part of the Magical Law Enforcement Patrol, not the Aurors. He probably would not have gotten the drop on three Aurors quite so easily. The entire section was a lot of fun to write. I picture Ron as having a good dose of that Weasley temper, although he hides it better than Ginny.

I love writing Rose. She's such an insufferable wiseacre, even when she should know better. Her mouth doesn't get her in trouble, per se, in this chapter. She's already in far more trouble than she realizes. But it was entertaining to write. And Lady Tenabra's orders were to deliver the captives to her, so there's no mysterious new player to cloud things.

Harry can't help being himself, even if he's been ordered not to act "noble." Good thing Esme was around to temper his reactions. They work well together, no?

And Al, Hugo and Scorpius are back in the mix. They'll soon be in the thick of things, which I hope holds some very entertaining possibilities.

Thanks so much for all of your awesome reviews. I hope to get to read the next chapter of Wilted Flower later today!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Em 

29th March 2012:
Yeah, Ron being a badass! That part was awesome! But oh no, now I'm worried about what happened to Rose! :o

Excellent chapter, as always! =)

Author's Response: Hi, there.

Part of what I wanted to accomplish with this chapter was to show that Ron is far more than just Harry's lieutenant. He's a very capable fighter, especially when he's angry. And he has a complete lack of moral ambiguity when it comes to Rose and Octavia. He's going to do whatever it takes, no matter the consequences.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review