Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Courtney Dark 

23rd December 2013:
Tag!

Ugh, this chapter was so amazing! My eyes were glued to the screen the whole time, because so much was happening, and I just want to find out more!

I loved, loved, loved the section from Rose's point of view. Firstly, because Octavia is extremely cute, and secondly, because I loved how normally it started off - Rose explaining to Octavia why she had to stay at Muggle school, and thinking that she had too much Weasley pride to borrow money from the Malfoy side of the family. And then it all started to go downhill from there. I have a very, very bad feeling about what has happened to Rose and Octavia, and I just hope that feeling is wrong!

We got to see Tenabra again! Yay! Well, not really yay, considering she is a pretty nasty lady, but you know what I mean. I think she is an absolutely brilliant villain - she has everything you could possibly ask for in a fictional character. She's mysterious, sly, cunning, clever and pretty damn scary!

Oooh, I did not see the twist with Terry coming. Yay again for minor canon characters!

I also loved the Harry/Ron/Hermione segment, just because you write the golden trio so perfectly! And I'm really enjoying Esme's character, too.

Awesome chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: First off, let me say that I feel badly about only getting around to responding to this review after you've already tagged me **again** and left another one. I'll definitely try to be more prompt in the future!

I'm really glad that you enjoyed Rose's point of view. She's so much fun to write because she has certain things in common with me. She's has to try to be a parent to Octavia when she sometimes doesn't feel like an adult, herself. Or at least she feels like she'll never quite measure up to her own mother and certainly not her grandmother. That's where the self-doubt and self-deprecation come from. As far as what happens next, she and Octavia are definitely in danger. A great deal more than she realizes...

Lady Tenabra is large and in charge by this point. She has the Ministry eating out of her hand, but the Trio have still managed to elude her grasp.

I had a great time planning the twist with Terry. I'm not sure how many readers remember Ron leaving Harry alone with Esme way back in chapter 18 so that he could join the raiding party at McNair's house, but that's when it all started.

I really appreciate the compliment on the Trio. They aren't the only focus of the story, but if I don't write the three of them well, the rest of it really doesn't matter so much.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by peggy77 

25th November 2013:
The pace/action has picked up so much that I haven't even thought about reviewing for a while now, sorry. I'm just to into the story, can't seem to read it fast enough, lol!

Well, now I really think I was right about Arabella Dynt/Lady Tenabra. Either they are one and the same or they are at least working together; otherwise why would Lady Tenabra have the case files and the missing book?

I'm getting tense reading...good story!

Author's Response: The story pretty much gets faster and faster as you get closer to the end. Don't worry about reviewing every chapter. It's just awesome to know that somebody is making their way through and enjoying themselves!

Again, all I'll say is that you might be onto something about Lady Tenabra. But she is very cunning and devious. Perhaps she's trying to deceive you. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by APerkins 

24th October 2013:
Hey, I am enjoyign the freedom to review, and am going to run out of as much time in the near future, but I want to say just one last time.. I love this! :)

Yay Hermione on a power trip. Surprised there isnt more angst about being wheelchair bound n stuck at home (or "Go start a presidential campaign Harry!") but then HErmione bossy is pretty typical.
Lols to Darth,
"Mum has Uncle Hugo been drinking?"

oh, and my favourite.

Rose and Octavia captured! Yay to raising the stakes! (eloquency has given way to brevity).

Author's Response: "the freedom to review" I think most authors would encourage you to make as much use of that freedom as you possibly can. ;)

Hermione finally takes control in this chapter. She's watched Harry sneak around in the hopes of keeping anyone from getting hurt unnecessarily for long enough. Now she's ready to fight.

Those were two of my favorite little quotes I slipped in. I'm glad you liked them!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Alize 

17th October 2013:
Rose is so stupid. I couldn't even imagine putting a child in danger like that. If my brother told me to run and hide during the middle of a war I would no questions asked. Arrrggghh... Nvm brilliant chapter!

Author's Response: Rose made some questionable choices here, but you have to look at it from her point of view. Nothing in her life has ever prepared her for the possibility that the Ministry would be trying to kill her. Both of her parents worked in the Department of Magical Law, as did her uncle. It's just inconceivable to her.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Cassius Alcinder 

22nd June 2013:
I loved the Darth Vader reference, so fitting!

I really have to feel bad for Molly here, after all those years of thinking her kids were in "mortal peril" she probably let her guard down for a while, but now its happening all over again.

I really enjoyed the Terry Boot storyline, it really adds a whole new layer of suspense hoping he can stick around.

Author's Response: Hi!

I love a good Darth Vader reference. Although I find Lady Tenabra to be more similar to the Emperor.

Poor Molly is caught in that bad place between what Dumbledore would call "what is easy and what is right". She wants to know that all of her children (including the grandchildren and great grandchildren) are safe. Unfortunately, that may no longer be possible.

Terry will be around, but not in as prominent a role. I'm glad you enjoyed his subplot.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

8th February 2013:
OMG... STAR WARS! :D

Finally! I clapped with Susan when Hermione yelled at Harry, about time someone knocked some sense into him. It's definitely time stop hiding and start fighting, now that their family are practically being hunted down and Rose and Octavia are in custody.

Oh, poor Octavia. I don't know what I'd do if anything happened to her, though I'm hoping she's able to get herself and Rose out, like she did at the house. Because that just made the kid more awesome. :)

Amazing chapter.

Sam.

Author's Response: Ha! So you're a Star Wars fan, are you? I'm a really big fan, myself. I vaguely remember seeing A New Hope in the theater in 1977. If that isn't dating myself, I don't know what is. ;)

I think most everyone was clapping with Susan. Harry has been so scared of doing something that causes somebody to get hurt that he's sort of missed out on the fact that his inaction has also allowed Tenabra to hurt people with impunity. It took something as shocking as Hermione calling him out on it to get him thinking.

Octavia is a tough little girl, but that toughness is going to be put to the test. Just hang in there, that's all I can tell you at this point.

So glad to see that you're still following along. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by academica 

15th November 2012:
Hey! Sorry for the belatedness of this review :)

I love the beginning with Rose and Octavia. Their mother-daughter relationship is absolutely precious. It's neat to watch Rose's different reactions to her daughter; she can see parallels of her own mischievous behavior in Octavia, while at the same time she seems in awe of Octavia's intelligence, and then she adopts a stance more reflective of her mother and McGonagall. It's also sweet how much she truly cares for her family. I have my suspicions about how safe she and Octavia will actually be with Magical Law Enforcement, but hopefully everything will be okay, especially since Molly and Arthur know that something isn't quite right.

Lady Tenabra continues to fascinate me. I thought she made an excellent point about Voldemort--his own selfishness is what cost him the realization of his dreams. Tenabra almost convinced me for a moment that she was ready to give up everything to see her cause furthered, and then it took a darker turn when I realized what her message really meant to the men standing around her. They're all expendable, and the more willing they are to give it all up, the easier it will be for her to use and discard them at will. She's scarier than Bellatrix could ever be, in a strange way.

I liked Terry's section, too. Yet another minor character who has been given a richer role here! I liked hearing about how he infiltrated the NBO and watching him sneak about behind the scenes. I certainly hope he doesn't get caught soon, though.

Hermione's outburst might be the best part of this chapter. It reminded me of Ron's outburst in Deathly Hallows, in that it was this moment of real pain and fear that came through. I think Hermione has been through so much that it's impressive that she's held things together this long. I also liked her line about her faith in Harry--it does seem like he can do anything with the help of his friends, and I hope the knowledge of that will help him keep his strength in this dark time.

Great job, and sorry again that this is so late!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi, there! No worries. I know it's a busy time of the year.

Rose's struggles with Octavia are mostly due to the fact that Octavia embodies some of the best and worst traits of both sides of her family. She has Hermione's brains, a good dose of Weasley snark and just enough of the Malfoy aloofness. It's a tough combination for a parent to manage. Going with the MLEP is a decision that won't turn out so well, unfortunately. :(

One of the most interesting and rewarding things about writing Lady Tenabra is the constant ambivalence and subterfuge. Even when she's telling the truth, she's often lying to you. Her observations about Voldemort are, like you said, spot on. But her reasons for revealing those insights are anything but altruistic. She's trying to make sure that all of her followers are enthusiastic cannon-fodder. She is scarier than Bellatrix inasmuch as Bella had one true love: Voldemort. Tenabra is loyal only to herself.

Terry has been lurking since Ron's team captured MacNair back in chapter 18. And it's finally paid off.

Hermione did finally hit a breaking point of sorts where she can no longer stand Harry's clandestine approach to fighting the Blood Order. And Harry needed to hear it from her; he wasn't going to listen to anybody else. But you're also right, her outburst is motivated as much by her own feelings of powerlessness as any anger she feels toward Harry.

Again, please don't worry about the timing. I always enjoy seeing your reviews, whenever they come. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Pixileanin 

19th June 2012:
"Rose had been a very well-behaved child... at least until she met Scorpius."

THAT was the most brilliant characterization of Rose and Scorpius ever! What a precocious little girl Octavia is. You're doing a great job of capturing the attitude and self-awareness that brilliant children possess. Unfortunately, the little geniuses also think they're nigh indestructible too and their parents have to stay two (sometimes three) steps ahead of them to keep them under control and no, I'm not talking from experience here at all. *motherly eyeroll*

At least you left a clue for Arthur and Molly that Octavia had been taken. I liked the POV switch. I could almost hear the silence, except for the crickets as Arthur came out to poke around.

I really like the twist you took during Tenabra's speech about why Voldemort was ultimately defeated. It wasn't much of a pep talk, more like a warning of how they were all going to end up if they didnít succeed... very, very twisted. I liked it! (Not that I'm twisted and dark or anything.. I wrote Weasleys, you know.)

Loved that Terry is on the inside of the operation and spying on Tenabra. I did not see that coming at all. I also like how you're showing us that he finds her place unexpectedly easy to get into. Makes me thing that the master villain might have some exploitable weaknesses after all. He's taking some big, yet necessary risks. Gosh, I hope he's not going to end up like Rowle. *is worried*

And it's about time that Hermione knocks some reason into Harry. I loved Susan's applause, and I'm assuming that she'd be the one slapping people around if she were able. Eventually, they're going to have to stop planning and start acting. Might as well be now. Hmm... I wonder if Harry will suffer a flashback of Hermione's outburst when he sees the cover of "Journey Into the Depths of a Dark and Angry Soul".

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I really love writing Octavia. She is a very precocious child, but in many other ways a "normal" little girl who can whine and be lazy and devious with the best of them. Being so much younger than her brother and younger than the majority of her cousins, I tend to think of her as the baby of the family who knows that she has most of the adults wrapped around her finger.

I'm glad you liked the PoV switch there, because it hasn't been universally popular. ;)

Tenabra is a master manipulator. She is going to say whatever it takes to motivate her followers to do her bidding. I was really pleased with the twist that she puts on the story of Harry's battle against Voldemort. Funny how one can take such an uplifting series of events and twist it to convey an entirely different message.

Terry has been living on the inside. And Tenabra, for all her brilliance and cunning, is fallible. It wouldn't be a very interesting story if she wasn't.

Hermione finally reached a point where she couldn't take any more. She's been the least happy of the trio about being a fugitive. It just isn't her style. And she realizes that Harry needs to publicly stand up to the Blood Order if they're ever going to be able to defeat Tenabra.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jchrissy 

7th June 2012:
I am in love with Octavia. Really, I wish she was real so I could snatch her up. She is such an amazing child, that kind that you want to strangle 90 percent of the time, but the 10 percent is SO good and perfect, it makes up for the 90. I like that you have made her a normal kid. She is a brat, she doesnít have great control over her actions, she wants a reason to everything she is told, but you can still tell she is a sweet, loving little girl who idolizes her parents. I just really like her character development in general. Your interactions between her and Rose are so well written, also. They are natural, smooth, and really seem like Iím looking into an actual mother daughter conversation.

It also worries me that Rose doesnít believes this witch and doesnít understand what a dangerous place sheís going to be in. Obviously she canít avoid them or try and run, because that would not only be risking her daughters life, but make things worse. I think she thinks by being agreeable she will at least be able to get Octavia out of the line of fire. ahh. Something bad is going to happen :(. I. Want. To. Know. Why. She. Had. Ginnyís. Wand. NOW. Please? :)

Tenabra does not need anyone but herself, and she makes that clear. She is always ahead of her followers, and keeps them completely in the dark with what she wants. You, my dear, have created someone even more terrifying than Voldemort. She almost makes him look like an all bark and no bite type. Itís scary, actually. She is cold and not only is human life nothing to her, but she doesnít tolerate mistakes and she knows that she doesnít need any of her followers enough to keep them alive if they displease her. Really, really scary stuff. She is getting cocky though, and hopefully that helps bring her down. Iím stoked that Rowle is dead. If Lady T keeps this up, sheíll have killed off all the pure blood supremacists before the trio takes her out! Woot!

I had no idea Terry had infiltrated them! I didnít even have a guess! Iím so excited to see where his find comes in, and Iím really pleased that someone has put something past Lady T.

I am so happy Hermione has finally thrown her fit, gotten these men back on track, and did it all in such a Hermione type way that I am left speechless. She had the right mix of anger and sympathy. She told him what he needed to hear while making him realize that she understands, but that it doesnít change the fact that they need to act, and that Harry needs to take control. Yay,I love Hermione tantrums! Although Iím sure sheís feeling pretty crappy about it, now...

This chapter is one of my favorites so far. Maybe just the sense of urgency throughout it. Ooops, neverming. The Fiona one is still my favorite because of how much I love her, but this comes in close second ;)

Author's Response: Good morning!

I really tried to put a lot of thought into Octavia: the way she speaks and thinks and reacts to things. It bugs me when people write young children like miniature adults. She is a very sweet little girl, but also very precocious and probably a little too smart for her own good. She has an older brother who's around ten years older than her, plus so many older cousins, so I tend to think of her as the type of kid who's always been treated like a princess but wants to grow up too fast in spite of that.

Rose is still a little naive, like most of the rest of the world. She believes that if she's in the custody of the MLEP, that's the worst thing that can happen to her. It's a natural thing to think after so many years of peace in the magical world. But you are correct. She is wrong...

Well, just to be fair to Voldemort, did he really need anyone aside from himself, either? Think about how he treated Bellatrix, in spite of her fanatical devotion. Tenabra is getting a bit cocky. And as you already know, it costs her.

Hermione's fit was a long time in coming, and it was necessary. Harry would have been happy to go on operating underground for a long time because it meant that he didn't have to put anyone at risk aside from himself, Ron, Hermione and Esme. Tenabra had figured that out, as well. And she's now put his family in play as a way to pressure him out of hiding. It's a chess game...

I hope I can keep making you guess which chapter is your favorite! ;)

Thanks so much for all of your great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ashling586 

18th May 2012:
Here with your review request. This was another great chapter. The scene with Rose was great. I liked the boy bullying part and Octavia pulling the trick on him. I think it is normal of young kids to pick on one another and as a parent I know it is hard to tell your child how to react to such things, but I can imagine that it would be harder if my daughter had magic at her fingers to use as well. I am sure my cat would be in the most trouble should that happen.
I hated the fact that Rose and Octavia were captured by the ministry but at the same time I am glad that it happened because it forced the trio to really get into the action rather than staying in the shadows.
I still think that the dark lady is the ministers secretary since she would have the best access to the minister, but I know that you won't tell me whether or not I am right or not.
I also feel that Esme and Harry would make the cutest couple she reminds me a lot of Ginny and I feel that Ginny wouldn't want Harry to be alone for the rest of his life.
I found myself during Hermione outburst, going YEA! GO Hermione! You tell them!, it was great. Now the real action begins, but at the same time it gives the reader the idea that the story is coming to the climax which means that it will be ending soon, which is sad.
Great job and I enjoyed every minute of it.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Octavia is a very special child, and like most special children, she has difficulties relating to children who are less gifted than her. Like most children that age, she also tends to be a bit lazy, and doesn't understand why she needs to bother with muggle school. So she acts out. To me, it's just part of making her real.

Rose and Octavia's capture is definitely a turning point in the story. The conflict with the Blood Order is no longer just about Harry, Ron and Hermione, and it's become a lot more personal for all three of them.

You are correct. I won't tell you. ;)

Harry and Esme are rediscovering some feelings for one another, but there's still a long way to go. Don't start planning a wedding any time soon. But I agree, Ginny wouldn't have wanted him to be alone for the rest of his life, although I think she still would have wanted to hex any woman who got too close. That makes sense if you think like Ginny. ;)

I'm glad you liked Hermione's outburst. It was a long time coming. Throughout their time in hiding, she's been the least comfortable with Harry's approach of going undercover and operating in the shadows.

You still have a ways to go before the end, but it's closer than it was, as they say.

Thank you for all of your great reviews!



 Report Review

Review #11, by Remus 

12th May 2012:
Hey! So sorry about the delay! Lazyness struck and I've been trying to brainstorm for the next chapter in my own fic.

On with the chapter tho!

Olivia is definitely interesting here. She feels like she's on the edge of being a true Weasley or a Malfoy with the hatred of Muggles. It seems to me that she feels she's better due to her having magic, a superiority thing. Hopefully that can be dealt with...she IS young...but easy to mold in the wrong direction too if they're not careful.

I like Rose's patronus. She and Scorpius seem to have a very dysfunctional relationship. It seems that they need to sit down and talk...you know...after all is over.

Aaaand Rose and her got capture. Awesome...this is definitely NOT good! Wonder what Draco and Scorpius are going to do to get their granddaughter and wife back! Dun dun duuun!

Lady Tenabra is starting to become one of my favorite fanfic villains. I still don't know her real motive behind all of this...wish I could say more but that would give away who she is out here in the reviews. Hahaha. Spoilers! Aaand she has the minister under a spell of some sort. Wonderful...hahaha, this is definitely not good! I absolutely like what you wrote about why Voldemort failed. Glad you were able to see what JKR was trying to say without she having to spell it out.

OMG! Terry is McNair! At the beginning I thought McNair was a turncoat but you definitely got me here.

Hermione's outburst was great and Susan's clapping was the icing on the cake. If you've ever played Portal 2...her clapping reminded me of GLaDOS when her OS was put inside a potato. However, I do hope they're not walking into a trap because Tenabra will definitely use Rose and Olivia to lure Harry and Co. I wouldnt put it past her...

Anyway, as always.great chapter!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Aren't you planning a wedding or something? ;) No need to apologize. I always appreciate your reviews, however long they take.

You know, I hadn't thought of Octavia in that light, probably because I already know what her role is in the rest of the story. But you have a point. She does come off a bit Malfoy-ish in this chapter. You could interpret her behavior as a superiority thing or as a typical 7-year-old kid laziness thing. I guess I think of it as the latter, but I can definitely see how it might seem like the former.

Rose and Octavia are in a bad place now, and they don't really know *how* bad yet. More on this to come...

I will say this much about Lady Tenabra's motives: they are completely her own. She truly doesn't care about anybody else. The rhetoric she uses to motivate her followers definitely has elements of truth, but as long as they obey her, she doesn't really care what she has to say.

Ha. I'm really glad you liked Terry's infiltration. It was a lot of fun to think up and write.

Hermione's outburst has been coming for a while, and even as the author it was one of those "heck, yeah!" moments. I'm not a big gamer, but I get the idea. Hermione's speech is basically a louder, angrier version of what Susan was trying to tell Harry at the end of the last chapter.

Thanks so much for all of your awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Elenia 

11th May 2012:
Hello again ^^

I think I have mentioned this before, but it's really impressive how you have all these huge chapters but none of them seem to be a filler or anything. There's always something important happening in every single one of them, making the plot more and more interesting. And this chapter was no exception.

Ooh, they got caught! I did not see that one coming, at least not so soon. I thought maybe they'd be on the run and hide for a while, but this makes things more exciting!

Even though I wish Rose would've fought the Ministry officers, I do think she handled the situation well. She just tried to think what was best way for them to be unharmed and didn't want to cause any trouble to anybody else. And since there was an officer she recognized, of course she'd trust them when they guaranteed their safety. But now I can't wait to find out what happens next, because I know it will be something bad.

I love Octavia! She's like a little Hermione, combined with some Malfoy traits. Especially her cunningness shows that. But you still managed to make her sound like her age.

I think you could've made the transition from Rose's POV to Arthur and Molly's a bit better. Even though it's such a small thing, I think it would work better if you cut it from the previous with a section break.

The scene with Tenabra was interesting as well as the next one with Terry as McNair. Showed us more about how cruel and clever she is. But then you started to show that maybe her plan isn't as flawless as she seems to think with the next scene. At least that's what I thought first, but then I started to think maybe that all is just a trick and you're trying to mislead your readers into thinking that. I don't know, I haven't decided which what I really think. All I know is that Terry's plan succeeded a bit too easily.

Oh, and I did not realise it would be Terry disguised as McNair! I've you've mentioned that before, I've completely missed/forgotten that one! I found myself wondering 'We're seeing McNair's POV now? Why on earth is that?' but then it was all explained and I was in awe. And then I felt stupid for not realising that you always have something clever planned d:

Then we're back with Harry and the rest of them and Hermione has her little outburst when they find out about Rose and Octavia. I really liked that, although I felt bad for Harry, because he's doing everything he can to keep everyone safe while trying to prevent another war from coming into full motion. He really didn't deserve that. But I do understand where Hermione is coming from and I probably would've acted the same way d:

Hmph, you're making this so hard for me. I have so much things to do today, but now all I want to do is to read the next chapter! This is really kind of frustrating. Why did you have to make this story so addicting?

See you soon ^^

~E

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Bwahahahaaa! All your time is mine! Mine, I say!

Just kidding, but I'm really glad you find the story so addictive.

So lately, my biggest problem has been fitting in all the plot points that need to go into each chapter without going over the 8,000 word mark. Based on the reader feedback I get, it seems like there's something about that number that some people find very off-putting, so I try to stay below it. But I'm not sure I'm going to succeed in every case, since I've already blown past it once.

Rose, I think, was trying to behave like a responsible adult. She really has no idea how much danger she's in, which is a distinct drawback of the secretive approach that Harry, Ron and Hermione have been taking up to this point.

Your point is definitely taken on the switch to Arthur and Molly's PoV. It's a challenge, because I hate to slice and dice the chapters up into too many sections. I'll take another look and maybe there's a better way to handle that.

Tenabra is completely, utterly ruthless. People who cross or disappoint her have a very short life expectancy. But she isn't omniscient. She's so smart that she tends to discount other people's intelligence a little too much. In this case, it has come back to bite her.

I'm glad that Hermione's outburst invoked some mixed feelings, because I was having some similar feelings while writing it. Hermione has simply reached her breaking point. In her heart, Hermione is a Type A, by-the-book kind of gal, plus she's a worrier. Combining the stress of being a fugitive with the difficulty of being a paraplegic and adding the fear and worry for Rose and Octavia, it was simply too much for her. I hope it was clear that she also feels somewhat bad for snapping at Ron and Harry.

I understand your pain on having too much to do. I want to just lock myself away and spend all my time on writing chapter 32, but real life does not permit.

Thanks so much for all of your thoughts and insights!


 Report Review

Review #13, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

2nd May 2012:
I'm on my phone so I can't copy and paste anything very easily so I can't discuss what I really want to in this review (and it's going to be terribly short) but I have nothing to do while I sit here and wait to have a meeting with my Professor so I knew it was the perfect time to read a mass chapter of yours.

You really did not disappoint. The ending was by far the best part of the chapter. Hermione snapping is actually something I've been waiting for myself. She has always followed Harry but come on, her daughter and her granddaughter are both in danger, Hugo isn't really the strongest person (I don't want to question his bravery either because he's not used to the current situations that are going on) and Hermione really can't do anything. She'd have to wheel herself around and that would seriously hinder her if she were to come upon several people that could attack her.

I think Ron will be next to snap at Harry. I know Hermione really hit him with his words but I don't think Harry fully comprehends what's going on and what he needs to do. I get that he doesn't want anyone to get hurt but he has to take responsibility, people want to follow him. Many would follow him when it comes time for another 'battle' and he can't protect everyone even though he wants to.

I was surprised that Rose went easily with Octavia right in the head of danger. I know she doesn't know what's going on but just for a second I thought she would have tried to atleast have Octavia rush off towards the Burrow. I would figure if her brother told her she's in danger and her house was broken into by the security that she would have connected the dots. I guess it's because she's never have to lived with fear of anything happening to her but obviously something terrible is going to happen with the both of them.

I actually think Octavia can hold her own. I think she has more Malfoy in her than Weasley, which isn't a bad thing because I see both traits in her but the Malfoy part overpowers. She's very cunning for someone her age. She's not afraid to hurt someone if they hurt her she'd do it back. Her magic wouldn't be as strong as someone who has a wand and knows all about the dark arts but I think because her magic isn't exactly controllable she could atleast harm them enough where she would be able to run off in a certain situation and protect herself.

I'm not entirely sure but I think you're starting to show us (very sneakily) that there are faults in Lady T's plan or atleast with her because she seems very cocky. She seems to think that no one can actually harm her and that she's too strong for Harry and everyone else. I thought it was a nice touch that she talked about Voldemort because it kind of shows who she is compared to him. In reality she says he's weak but he was just like her. He was consumed with the idea of staying immortal, yes, but he also believed that no one could hurt him, especially Harry (even though he defeated him countless of times). She's not giving Harry enough credit which makes me laugh a little bit because he didn't get enough credit when he was young and now that he's a much older man they're also not making him a huge contender to spoil their plot.

By the way nice job with the Darth Vader line. I just so happen to be a huge Star Wars fan.

Sorry if this review is unreadable or sounds jumbled it's hard to type on a cell phone.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I completely sympathize with the cell phone situation. I've tried to do reviews on my phone in the past and just failed miserably. About the best I can do is jump back and forth between the browser and the notes app, but it's just not the same. This was an amazingly long review for thumb-work!

Hermione's blow-up has been a long time coming, going all the way back to when she was trying to talk Harry out of fleeing from Ministerial Security when they tried to take the trio prisoner at Harry's house. She is a strong believer in doing things by way of the rule of law as opposed to doing them in spite of it. Losing Rose and Octavia because Lady Tenabra is trying to get to Harry was the last straw for her.

To me, Ron is on the fence. He sees the merits of both Harry and Hermione's differing points of view, and he's trying to find a balance. More on Ron's inner monologue in the next chapter...

Rose is the daughter of an Auror and a Ministry attorney and her godfather is the Head Auror. To me, that means that she has a lot of respect for authority, probably too much in this case. Hugo's message was enough to get her to want to flee her flat, but she wasn't convinced enough to try to flee from three officers who had her surrounded at wand point.

Octavia is precocious, but not *that* much. She was also very frightened, so I don't think there was much of a chance of her leaving her mom's side. Someday, though, she's going to be a very powerful, very headstrong witch. If I ever have the free time, I think I might enjoy writing an Octavia story.

Lady Tenabra might be brilliant and cunning, but she's human and she's not omniscient. Like Voldemort, she has her flaws, although she might be a bit less in denial about them than he was.

You didn't think I'd be able to go 170,000 words without a single Star Wars line, did you? ;) At some point, you need to post a picture of Yoda!

Thanks so much for sticking with me. I love your writing and I really love your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #14, by shadowcat2 

30th April 2012:
Octavia is so smart. Really, it's like she is even smarter than little hermione. Poor Rose and Octavia. I just hope they don't get tortured by Gamp. And we still don't know anything about Octavia's role in Ginny's death. so many questions.
Terry Boot was undercover and he finally found some new evidence and book.finally, Hermione is breaking down. Poor Harry. I wish he didn't have to suffer like this all the time. Hermione's outburst was almost like Ron's outburst in tent. it made sad.
reading the next chapter now. Bye!

Author's Response: Octavia is a brilliant little girl, and she's as fiery as her mother. You will find out more about what happened with Octavia when Ginny was killed, but not until almost the very end.

Terry has found some very interesting things. Just how interesting becomes clear over the next few chapters.

Hermione finally just hit a point where she could no longer stomach all of the sneaking around. She believes very strongly that what they're doing is right, and she wants to make sure the whole world knows. It's a very different position they're in now than when they were 17 years old and being hunted by Voldemort.

See you again soon! Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #15, by CloakAuror9 

21st April 2012:
Hello! Hello!

Ah..yes, I know! I was late again...I'm really sorry. Sometimes, I just get lazy and say I'll do my reviews tomorrow, but then the next day things actually happen and yeah. I bet you're so tired of me apologising, but that's what you get from me. :D

Ha! 300 reviews; 150,00 words and 9,000 chapter reads! That is awesome, congratulations! :) I think you deserve every single one of them. You are one of the nicest authors I have ever come across, you never let the story go astray, you always reply to the reviews, you update regularly and the chapters are never boring.

I loved Rose's bit at the start of the chapter, its like one of those 'Oh-just-another-day-in-Rose-Weasley's-Life' and you are all calm, because her and Octavia are so cute...then BAM! the Ministry comes and get here, I got an adrenaline rush from that believe it or not. I was like 'Run Rose! Run!' yeah...went a tad over there :P

Lady Tenabra is such a lovely character, don't you think? I think she's a cross between Bellatrix's craziness and pure-blood obsession (though not so much) and Voldemort's power. I like the way she is very unlike Voldemort, she just doesn't sit there and let her minions do all the work. She's a very smart villain and she seems to know what she's really doing, so I very much love her.

Terry Boot has discovered something very important...I wonder what! :D I was very much on the edge when he was watching Lady Tenabra and when he was thinking about hitting her with some spell, I was like: Go for it, Terry!, but then he didn't do it. :( Which is a good thing-ish...if he did it...well, how will the story continue?

Hermione is on a big rage, I like how you kept her very much in character even tough she's an adult already. She's such a caring parent and grandparent! Oh, what would Harry and Ron do without her?!

Overall, I got quite a shock from the chapter since there were a lot of things going one at a time. I really enjoy changing from one point of view to another because it kinda spreads the whole chapter and makes it always interesting. :D A fantastic chapter as always!

Oh dear, this is quite lengthy isn't it? Oh well...sorry 'bout that, I tend to ramble for most of the time so yeah..

Anyway, won't make it any longer for you! Bye! :D
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Please, stop apologizing! I really love your reviews and any time you can make the time is good for me!

It's been a crazy ride, I have to say. I kind of thought this story might end up being long when I was going through my rough drafts, but I had no idea it would end up being this long. And the reception, well that's just been humbling.

Rose's always-sort-of-interesting life just got turned completely on its head. I do really enjoy writing her and Octavia together. Octavia is the type of kid who can make you regret not staying childless and then fall back in love with her in a very short length of time. I have more big things in store for both her and Rose, because I love the characters that much.

Ha. I'm not sure "lovely" is the word I'd choose for her, but it is a really enjoyable challenge figuring out what her next move is going to be as I write. Actually, I try to think several moves ahead with her, because that's how she thinks, but she's also opportunistic. I actually don't think of her as being much like Bellatrix. Bellatrix was completely crazy and fanatically devoted to Voldemort. Tenabra is cold, calculating, and loyal to nobody but herself.

Yes, Terry has made a critical find. You'll see just how critical very soon...

And Hermione has finally put her foot down and insisted on a change in strategy. It's really about time, and she plays the counter-balance to Harry's tendency to shun the responsibility of leadership.

A lengthy review? I wish I had this problem more often! ;-) Please, feel free to ramble on as long as you like.

Thanks so much for all of your awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #16, by ginerva_molly_weasley 

3rd April 2012:
This is yet again another fabulous chapter!

I love the different points of view within this particularly at the beginning with Rose and Octavia. It gave us an overview and a reminder again about Octavioa's misbehaving habits and how simply that her misbehaving can sometimes be amazing for them getting out of tight spots. Rose also seems to be quite recourseful but quite trusting because she believed that she had time to pack and then apparated to the place where she assumed she'd be safe however she obviously wasn't. I also like how you made her trust the authorities even though in this case it obviously wasn't the best decision.

I think Lady Tenebra is actually growing on me, she seems to be very knowledgeable and some things she says are very all seeing and all knowing such as Voldermort's fatal flaw was that he was completely obsessed by his morality compared to Harry who had gradually lost everything throughout the series of the books. I love just how ruthless and brutal she is but by her manipulation how she gets everyone to agree with her.

Terry Boot :o I did not see that little twist coming! I'm intrigued to see what he found though specifically, why it's so urgent to get it to the trio but also where Lady Tenebra and the minister went! I really liked the fact that you had someone undercover because even though it would have been difficult you used a very experienced auror which made up for the difficulties of it!

I LOVE HERMIONE! She's so assertive and dominative and I just love her and just the way she acts even though she can't walk at the moment. You really see her love for her family and I actually love that in this story!

Well done!

Author's Response: Welcome back!

Octavia is quite a handful, but that's mostly because she's a very bright, very curious and not very patient child. She wants to grow up right away. It's rather alien to her mother, so they often clash. But it did prove very helpful.

Lady Tenabra is a very complex character. There are definitely things to admire about her, if not exactly like. She sees things very clearly, albeit from a completely self-centered, cold and ruthless point of view. And she really doesn't care who gets hurt in the process.

I'm glad that I was able to sneak up on you with Terry. I tried hard not to telegraph that one too hard. His discovery will turn out to be very important in the next chapter.

I am so very pleased that you liked the way things ended up with Hermione in this chapter. The poor dear has been through a lot and she simply reached a breaking point where she couldn't handle all the sneaking and subterfuge any longer. And she's right, to an extent. Part of the reason that she and Harry have always complimented each other so well is their differing points of view.

Thanks so much for all of the awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #17, by MNR 

26th March 2012:
Hi,
I just found your story today and read all 26 chapters as soon as i could.
I find the story extremely gripping and i can't wait to see how the rest of it goes. i especially can't wait to see who Lady Tenambra is and if she has any link to the Second wizarding War.
Please keep the chapters coming!

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm really glad that you're enjoying the story. I'm working on finalizing the next chapter now. Lady Tenabra's story is slowly coming together. All will be revealed soon...

Thanks for reading and taking a moment to review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Kathleen 

26th March 2012:
Loved it! Can't wait to find out what happens next!!

Author's Response: Soon, my dear, soon!

Thanks for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #19, by kecske 

25th March 2012:
Hi!
I'm very glad I've found your story! To be honest, I didn't start reading it for a while, because I found the language a bit difficult XD My native language is not English, but I can usually read fanfiction without looking up words in a dictionary. The few good fics that I've read so far and really really liked, however, were ones like yours - using rich vocabulary. I learned some new words while reading :D
Anyway, what I wanted to say is that not only the vocabulary, but also the style of your story, the characterization and the way you manage the plot are great and not something you come across often when browsing fanfictions (unfortunately).
From time to time I marvel at your ability to move several characters at once and still manage to keep the plot going effectively. I like how you pay attention to characters like Percy, who isn't one of the most popular characters... But you made me interested in his character development and I can't wait to find out more about what his role will be in this war.
Also, before I started to read your story, I was afraid that older characters like the trio are going to act the same way they acted at the age of 17. But you could make me believe that they really got older, yet they still stayed in character.
Anyway, I'm not very good at writing reviews, but I wanted to let you know that I love and enjoy your story and I'm waiting eagerly for the next chapter :) I'm sure you put a lot of time and effort into writing this story, so thank you for that :)

Author's Response: Hi. So I have to disagree with you right away. You are not at all bad at writing reviews. This was one of the most articulate, useful and encouraging unsolicited reviews I've received in a long time.

I really appreciate your comments on plot and characterization. They're obviously two of the most important things when you're telling a story like this, and they fact that they're coming across clearly to you is important. It has been very tricky to age the canon characters believably, so I'm really pleased that you thought I did a good job.

Please feel free to leave your thoughts on the story any time you like. I really appreciate the feedback.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Em 

21st March 2012:
AH, this chapter had me on edge!! SO AWESOME!

Author's Response: Hello, again. I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Anonymous 

21st March 2012:
AMAZING! You are a fabulous writer and I am so excited to have stumbled upon your story! I am telling all my friends that read HP fanfic that this is a must read. Keep updating!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words. Reviews like this one really help to fuel the muse. Updates will continue to come, albeit probably not as fast as they did early on. There are so many more plot lines to keep track of now.

 Report Review

Review #22, by Roots in Water 

20th March 2012:
It's Roots in Water here with your review!

Another great chapter, one with many developments. I don't know quite where to begin... I'm a little shocked by the last section of the chapter (in a very fantastic way, of course).

Since that's what's looming the largest on my mind, I guess I'll start there. What a difference! I hadn't expected Hermione to burst out like that but she definitely had reason to. I can't imagine the pain and shock she'd be feeling at the news that both her daughter and granddaugher are missing, captured by the Ministry. As well, I hadn't exactly thought that their current methods counted as "sneaking about like criminals" but I understand where she's coming from. It'll certainly be interesting to see how their emergence from hiding will affect the course of the war (can you call it a "war" yet?). However, this is the changing point in the crisis; I know it. And it makes me so excited and interested in the coming events.

As well, I think that you're continuing to do an utterly fantastic job of managing the separate plot lines and, in particular, of intersecting them. The way the orbs came into play here, one after the other, helped to create a lot of tension and interest.

Terry Boot's perspective was quite a surprise but I liked how you mentioned that his undercover job was Ron's opportunity- he's certainly still a master of strategy! As well, I think that your portrayal of his reaction to the job is quite realistic- I can't begin to imagine the horrors he is exposed to on a regular basis. And is the journal mentioned here the one Lady Tenabra had searched for so frantically earlier in the story?

And as much as I enjoyed the chapter as a whole, I'd have to say that my favourite part of it was Lady Tenabra's speech about Harry's victory against Voldemort. It was a very empowering speech and one that made a lot of sense. I think that you phrased it very powerfully, especially the lines "He had something that he was not willing to lose/And in the end, in spite of all his power, it cost him everything." It's very true that Voldemort feared death above all else and would stop at nothing to defy it while Harry would stop at nothing to defeat him. They pursued their goals with equal ferocity- Harry just picked the goal that mattered the most in the course of the war.

Just a small thing: with "gag gifts she'd stoop to asking " I think that you're missing the word "before".

As well, I enjoyed the small scene you wrote at the beginning of the chapter between Rose and Octavia. It definitely added an element of humour/normalness before the drama of the rest of the chapter and was showed a very realistic relationship between mother and daughter. Furthermore, I liked the little details you included (as always) that give glimpses into their history/everyday lives, such as the birth control potion and Rose's skill with locking charms.

All in all, I really enjoyed reading this chapter and look forward to the next update! Thanks for re-requesting!

Author's Response: Hello, again! I always look forward your thoughts and observations.

Hermione finally hits her limit in this chapter. Ever since the trio + Esme were preparing to flee Harry's house, she's been very uncomfortable with the whole concept of avoiding the charges leveled against them by the Ministry. Harry was worried that fighting the Ministry in the open would make their family a target, but ironically the fact that Lady Tenabra couldn't attack them directly led to the exact same outcome. So Hermione has decided to take a much more active stance, even if her ultimate goal is to force Harry to lead, much the same as Susan.

Poor Terry is a wreck at this point, but he's so happy to get away from his undercover assignment that I think he'll bounce back rather quickly. I stole a bit of inspiration from The Departed in characterizing his reaction. The "journal" is actually a book that Tenabra has had all along: the dark magic spell book/memoir written by Herodonthus the Imperious. The whole line about it being Voldemort's journal was something she invented to help motivate her followers.

I'm so glad you liked her stump speech to her minions. I liked it, and my beta reader liked it, but I was still afraid that it wouldn't come off very well to a more casual reader. I really loved the irony of having her praise Harry -- albeit in a back-handed sort of way -- while pointing out Voldemort's flaws, yet still use the speech to motivate her followers to try to complete Voldemort's mission. She's just that sort of evil genius.

And the interaction between Rose and Octavia exists for two reasons. First, I felt like it would be pretty jarring to just dump the reader directly into their flight from the London flat. It needed some sort of setup. Second, Octavia is just too adorable. I like getting more of her into the story where I can.

I'll take a look at that line you pointed out. I honestly can't remember how that was supposed to read.

Now I'm off to read and review the new chapter of Wilted Flower! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review