Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Run, Chapter 4: Double-Edged
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by findingalways 

26th June 2014:
Hiya, round 4!

Oh, the story is getting exciting! I love that you spend time setting up the story instead of just plopping us smack into the middle of it, that makes me very happy. Plus, you explain everything the reader - such as myself - wants to know through dialogue, much of the time, rather than simply through large, overly detailed paragraphs. You include the perfect amount of details and information where we're informed yet not bored.

Cedric is very nice. I can see how being there could harden you over time, so I like that his personality now is not just completely different from GoF, but that it has evolved. His caring nature toward Colin and Fred (wherever he is) shows that he's still the same Hufflepuff he was. I think Hufflepuff are typically charismatic and kind, and he is. He's brave as well, though. I like him.

Colin is sweet, but I feel so bad for him. I can't stop myself from seeing him as an eleven year old. I thought he posed an interesting question about when the worse/better time to die was.

Salazar, wow he was interesting, as was Ravenclaw! Wowza. Do I sense a little Founder love going on? Ooh. I would love to know what's going on exactly between the two of them. I enjoyed hearing about the races from both of their takes, nice touch with that.

Another excellent chapter; thank you!

10/10

 Report Review

Review #2, by StoryWebber 

9th April 2014:
This chapter's really good, too!
Amazing work!
Keep writing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by soliloquy 

27th June 2013:
Ah. All the feelings are already swirling. I can only imagine Lily's desperation and the suckiness that is having to defeat your best friend.

Who did Dorcas want to see? Was there anyone specific? And did any other canon characters get killed off?

I have so many questions about this world! So many ideas and thoughts and wonderings...ugh.

If Rowena attempted to run off and was caught, how come she wasn't sent to the Grotta?

Ah. i wish this review could be better but I'm running off to read the next one.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rainpixie 

16th April 2013:
I am finding the idea of death after death very uncomfortable. I'm anxious and excited to see what happens next. I have a feeling you are going to be pulling on my heart strings very shortly!

Author's Response: Death itself makes me extremely uncomfortable - the finality of it, the unknown. I'm a bit of a masochist for forcing myself to think about the afterlife for several months while writing this novel because the idea of the afterlife freaks me out a little.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #5, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

25th January 2013:
Another amazing chapter! With every chapter, I feel like I'm actually there in the scene witnessing it. It's absolutely wonderful, and I'm sure the following chapters will do the same! :)

Author's Response: That is the highest praise I could ever ask for. My hope is always to make the writing vivid, so that the author can immerse themselves into it. It's wonderful to hear that you felt like you were really there.

 Report Review

Review #6, by justonemorefic 

1st January 2013:
Ugh like I never know how to review you sarah, because I just read and everything's perf and deceptively canon when it's not real canon. Lawd knows I can't write it, so when I want to go back to HP and read something that feel like an extension of the series (and even better, gasp!) I will run to you ♥

First, I appreciate how you put so much thought into Cedric's thoughts at the Tournament. It's so much more than an simple reflection of how he could have avoided dying; he was in the tournament and wanted to win and it reminds me that Cedric is not Harry, and doesn't have Voldy and the gang on his mind. He wanted to win.

And then Colin breaking my heart with being newly dead and philosophical. And because you're awesome you manage to shove in Salazar and Rowena like nothing and I SHIP THEM FROM TWO PARAGRAPHS SO MUCH AND IM THINKING TO MYSELF, 'they've been bantering like this for CENTURIES omg'.

(insert my liveskyping comments NO DORCAS NO. Loving this less-than-pristine Lily, she's so... interesting, and I'm bored by most Lilys so AIRPUNCH FOR YOU)'

I'm so glad you addressed basically EVERYTHING I have been thinking about regarding the races, like people not entering in order to be immortal, people who are most desperate are usually newcomers and those with something to go back to, trying to run off on earth etc. I'd be willing to wave away plot holes for something as intricate as this but I don't even need to c:

(and I also love the ending 'I've tried a few times' and Colin's quite 'she?')



Author's Response: Oh Lord, here I am. I HAVE 105 UNANSWERED REVIEWS AND IT'S ALL BECAUSE OF YOU. lol after your spree I was so scared of responding I just gave up 5ever.

That's why I admire Cedric so much. Harry was just hurled into everything against his will. He was interested in the tournament, sure, but he didn't try to fake his way in like Fred and George. I think he was mostly just excited to watch something happen to someone /else/ for a change. And then the goblet's like LOL NOPE. Cedric, on the other hand, really wanted a taste of that for himself. It would suck to get upstaged by a fourth year who's not even supposed to be allowed to participate.

Salazar and Rowena have been bantering for so long that I imagine their conversations to just consist of snarky glances by this point. It would be exhausting to be them.

My characterization of Lily is, I think, the biggest detour from canon character-wise. She threw off a few people because she's like a big delusional grizzly bear here. She is not a dainty princess. She's not a saint.

ON TO THE NEXT REVIEWWW~ P.S. Gina these are totally going to suck.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Robin 

22nd October 2012:
Wow. i enjoy reading this so much, you write really good and it reads fast and easy. I love how you let the personalities of everyone come out so great. Im gonna read everything, you hooked me. Please make this a real book (if you would get JKr's permission i think) but i would buy it! It would be really great to see this in the bookstores. You thought about everything so well so far, and i bet it will continue. Thanks for writing this!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! I worked very hard on this story, so it makes me happy to hear this positive feedback. Unfortunately, this can only ever be fanfiction, since JKR owns the copyright of everything Potter-related. :) I'm just happy that she doesn't mind us writing the fanfiction!

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by academica 

12th August 2012:
Ah, so we finally get the details about the Devil's Duel! And yet I have so many questions - why does Lily want so badly to keep going back to earth, if she's truly happy here with James? (I get now that it would be breaking the rules to talk to Severus, though.) What is her strategy, really, to have won so many times? How did the Lily Potter from canon transform into this cutthroat competitor - I mean, it sounds like she's a bit fit for Slytherin now! I'm very intrigued to learn more about her and her history with the Devil's Duel. I'm also very curious about the Grotta, more so than before - diseases, you say? I hope I'll soon get a glimpse of life on the other side of the fence, so to speak.

I gotta say, it must have been pretty awkward to stand there in the midst of Salazar and Rowena's back and forth bickering. I sense some deeply boiling tension there under a veneer of teasing. I love how perfectly Slytherin Salazar really is, wanting everyone else to keep being foolish enough to join the Duel so he can keep his life.

Another lovely chapter! I'll be back soon! :)

♥ Amanda

Author's Response: You again! ♥

Out of all the characters in this story, Lily's characterization has changed the most since her canon days. This has resulted as a combination of being dead for so long - death does funny things to people here - and subjecting herself to the Devil's Duel so much. Throughout this story there will be speckled hints about why she has done this. All we really know about Lily from the books was that she was compassionate, stuck up for what was right, and she fiercely loved her son. This last trait has affected her here in ways that she's not yet aware of - her preoccupation with winning that 24 hour prize year after year, and seeing Harry, has consumed her and shoved aside other aspects of her personality. It's warped her. During the rest of the year in Cliodna's Clock she is as lovely as ever, but when the tournament rolls around she changes to become what she has to be in order to get through those harrowing conditions. Whether this makes her admirable or horrible is up to you to decide.

You will definitely learn about about her history in the Devil's Duel, as well as the Grotta! And you're right about Rowena and Salazar - under the mild bickering there is a lot of ugliness trying to claw its way out. I get a lot of inspiration when writing about them from Diamonds Into Coal - it's because of how much I love that story that they get any kind of spotlight here at all. I never found the Founders era very interesting until you wrote it. Speaking of which, I am behind on. D: Expect a review on that from me very soon!

I can't wait for you to read the next chapter - there is a hint of Severus. :3 And in a couple of chapters from now you'll get to see his POV.

Thank you so much for reading and for your lovely reviews. :) I ramble so much when I respond to them. ^ ^


 Report Review

Review #9, by shadowycorner 

4th August 2012:
Great way to clear everything about the races! Now I finally understand everything. I love how hardcore Lily is, even though the thing with Dorcas must've been so tragic. This story is amazing. It's such a unique way to bring characters from different eras together. Salazar and Rowena were a great addition. I'm also curious about people from the Grotta.

Author's Response: Lily is very one-track-minded when it comes to the tournament. During the other months of the year, she's perfectly sweet, but in June she's quite focused on doing whatever it takes to win the prize so that she can see Harry. Salazar and Rowena are a couple of my favorites to write about. You will definitely see more about the people from the Grotta later!

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by VioletBlade 

18th July 2012:
Sarah! Hi! I needed to catch up on this story and the second task definitely aided me in that!

Okay, I finally understand a little more about the races! It's interesting that Cedric would have signed up for them as he had participated in something similar, the TriWizard Championship, and lost his life doing that, but I suppose the urge to see someone from your former life does pose a very tempting situation! I don't know if I've mentioned it before in any of my other reviews (that's how long it's been, I'm afraid!) but I really like the fact that Lily has participated in the Races each year so she could see Harry! Even if she couldn't talk to him, it was really interesting to look back on the events in the book and kind of imagining Lily beside her son, probably especially when it was most heartbreaking, as the Races are in June and he'd have been with the Dursley family during that time. She would see how much he was suffering under their guardianship but not being able to do anything about it. Anyway, I also really loved that you introduced us to the Founders! Well, not all of them, but definitely some of them! I find myself wanting to find out more and more about the relationship/love triangle? between Godric Gryffindor, Rowena, and Salazar... hmm... ;) As always, you've written a very lovely chapter and it's so unique, as always! Love this and this entire story!

~Becca

Author's Response: Hey, Becca!

In my head, Cedric signed up for the races just because it reminded him of the Triwizard Tournament. My version of the afterlife can get monotonous and boring after a while, so when there's slim pickings on what to do all day long, a little bit of risk once a year starts to sound appealing if you know what I mean. ;) I think it was too irresistible for him to pass up. You will definitely find out more about the founders as time progresses - particularly the three you mentioned. So glad you liked it!

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by iloveblack 

12th July 2012:
All I want to do right now is continue reading, but I thought you deserved a review ;)
I have to say I am absolutely amazed by this story so far. I have been looking for a fic to get totally absorbed in for a long time and I think I've found it.
Your writing is very smooth, enough descriptions that I can visualize everything, but not so many that I get bored or feel it's a total overload. I truly believe that I could paint huge sceneries of Cliodna’s Clock, if I was remotely talented in that area that is.
I can't really comment on grammar, punctuation or spelling, as I am not a native English speaker, so let's just skip that part.
Plot wise I am so intrigued that I had to force myself to stop reading and take these minutes to write a small review. I am usually not one for after-life stories, but I saw that someone recommended this fic in the 'Story Recommendations' thread, so I thought I'd give it a try.
I love how you've built up your own little world with magical details, such as the moving sheds, and given each character their own little space. You're quite brave for introducing so many characters, and I hope that you don't get muddled up or have to drop too many as the story progresses. All the characterizations seem to be in character, I especially liked Lily in Chapter 3. I have to admit that at this point I am not really interested in who is going to sign up and win the Devil's Duel, but more in how the relationships (non-romantic) are going to develop, especially that of Rowena and Salazar.
I recommended this fic to my sister's and I can't wait to find out how everything is going to continue.
I don't know whether you can see the rating I'm giving you, so I'll just tell you: It's 10/10, because if these four chapter don't deserve it, I don't know what does.

Author's Response: Hi, iloveblack! Thank you for pausing to review. :) So happy you like this story so far! I love what you said about how you could paint huge scenes of Cliodna's Clock, because that vivid imagery is something I've been working very hard to get across. I love paint and I dabble in painting, but I'm not very good. I've found that I prefer painting with words.

The large cast of characters, astonishingly, hasn't muddled up the plot. The same characters I focus on in the beginning of the story, I am focusing on at the very end as well. Minor characters weave throughout, but for the most part the focal points remain the same.

I think you are the first person who has said that they prefer character development to action! I'd say that most of the story's attention is paid to relationships between citizens of Cliodna's Clock, their adjustments to death, etc. The Duel is still a huge running plot, but it's tempered with a lot of quiet chapters revolving around people's day to day lives.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and for the 10/10! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle 

12th July 2012:
LOVE LOVE LOVE! Ah, I cannot even express my admiration for you right now. -bows down- Oh my goodness, this chapter is perfect. Everything you write is so perfect. The plot, the characters, the dialogue, EVERYTHING is just so perfect! Gahh, right from the beginning - you absolutely nailed Cedric's character - I can totally imagine him not as patient and selfless here, and how much he must want a companion like Fred or Colin. And you're so canon too, and I love how you stuck to the details - like how Cedric was even briefly friends with James before Sirius came. I would never have thought of it, but Cedric and James are only a few years apart! I would really, really love to see an exploration of James and Sirius though - I wonder if they are still such tight friends even with the huge age gap difference now!

And of course, I loved this insight between Godric and Rowena. How wonderful to see two founders here after all this time! Ahh I said it before, but it's just such a wonderful surprise to have random characters I recognise popping up all the time. It feels so natural! Every sentence in this chapter is a perfect reflection of the character and just so, so enjoyable and engaging to read. I really love this story (your writing is just brilliant and you are very talented), and I cannot wait to get to the next chapter! :)

- MM

Author's Response: Eee yayy!!

I can't really express my appreciation for your feedback, but I can liken my present feeling to something along the lines of floating along in the clouds, surrounded by balloons and ice cream. XD

I love thinking about the ages here, because it's so easy to imagine James as being way, way older than Cedric - but physically, they're quite close in age. Before Sirius died, James must've been wanting some more male friendship and Cedric fit the bill; but then Sirius came along and Cedric was left to fend for himself.

I very much enjoy portraying the Founders. They bring something else to the story - perspective and memories and a rich sort of history. It's one of my favorite things to write. :)

Thank you for reading and reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #13, by forsakenphoenix 

18th June 2012:
I just can't get over how fabulous this story is. It's so well-written and the idea of the races is unbelievably creative. Your characterizations are the best part for me. Each character is unique and you write their experiences in Cliodna's Clock differently. Yes, they've all probably gone through that same stage of denial but each person deals with it differently, and I think you do a fantastic job with each character.

Colin. Oh, sweet Colin. I adored him. And Cedric too - I love love love your Cedric. The glimpses of his former self, desperate for glory, you kind of see that desperation a bit here in the afterlife too, but instead of looking for victory, he's craving companionship. He's so much more mature here, too. Despite the fact that he's so young, spending years in the afterlife has made him grow up.

I love getting the background of the races from conversation and learning about how motivated and brutal Lily can be. I also thought it was sweet that James dropped out of the races when Sirius had died. It's kind of interesting to see how desperate some people can be for that opportunity to spend twenty-four hours on Earth, even if it means risking your soul to do so.

ALSO, Salazar and Rowena! I love it. You can tell by the way they speak that they've been around for a very long time and that they're both so very wise, both from age and from experience in the afterlife. Plus, I think Salazar might have a little crush on Rowena, eh? ;)

This story just blows my mind. Seriously. Every chapter is better than the last one. I just want to steal your talent and bottle up, keep it forever. It's perfect.

Author's Response: Aghh, Missy! You will soon find out how bad I am at review responding. Lots of rambling and broken record-ness. I suck so much that I've sometimes just left people poems instead of a real answer.

Baww, Cedric. He's such a good guy that it's hard not to root for him. He used to be popular and surrounded by friends, and now he doesn't really have that anymore, so he craves the companionship he's missing.

I think that some of the appeal of the tournament is that you always want what you can't have, and being the one person who gets to go home and see their family is a pretty big deal, something many other residents would envy. I would imagine that beyond the month of June, when the tournament isn't going on, life would be boring and tedious. The monotony would be so suffocating in such a small village that by the time June rolls around, I think people who aren't even totally interested in the 24 hour prize would sign up just for something to do.

Salazar and Rowena. ♥ They are complicated people. You might be on to something there with that theory of a crush! Baha.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!! These reviews have inflated my head to the size of Mars.


 Report Review

Review #14, by peppersweet 

18th June 2012:
Colin ;A;

Ah, I get the races now! Initially when I saw 'races' and 'cliodna's clock' together I had this mental image of people chasing each other round a clock face and...yeah I don't know why I'm telling you this.

Another fantastic chapter. I have so many Colin-related feels and creys...wow, I wonder what'd happen if he entered in hope of seeing Colin?

I have to stop reading soon and surrender the laptop but I really dont want to. This fic is addictive ;~;



Author's Response: People chasing each other around is pretty accurate, but lulz, no clock face. I SHAN'T SAY ABOUT COLIN AND HIS POSSIBLE ENTERING~~

:3



 Report Review

Review #15, by pennyardelle 

17th June 2012:
Loved the part about Lily's motivations for winning. Of course she would fight as hard as she possibly could to see her son.

The tone of this story is so otherworldly--absolutely perfect, considering that it's set in the afterlife. I don't know how you write like that, but it's fantastic.

Author's Response: I'm always nervous for fans of Lily to read this story because while she's still retained most of her original characteristics, you will soon see that death has changed her somewhat. Lily is sort of lost at sea right now, caught between the desire to see her son and the sorrow that comes with only seeing him for 24 hours before she inevitably has to return home where she won't see him again until another year at the soonest. It's done some pretty damaging things to her psyche. I think that Lily has sort of been waiting for a very long time for someone to give her permission to not enter anymore. She feels like this is something she /has/ to do because if she doesn't, then how is she a mother? But at the same time, if she continues to risk her soul, she might never get to meet Harry in the afterlife at all. There's a lot of internal struggles going on.

The tone I'm going for is kind of dream-like, because whenever I imagine the fictional Potterverse afterlife, I've always thought of it as like a fluid thing...as differing according to each individual's perspective. Wow, these are some rambling responses I am giving you. ^ ^

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by ScarletEye158 

13th June 2012:
This is so interesting! I can't get over how creative you are and how awesome this story is! I really liked hearing about the rules and how Lily would do anything to see Harry. It makes sense that the longer you are dead, the less likely you are to join the races. I can really see where Rowena and Salazar are coming from, but still, 24 hours on earth would be pretty awesome if you normally wouldnt be able to see your loved ones anymore. This was such a great chapter!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, I'm so flattered! Thank you for your kind words, I'm just blown away. :)

The appeal of the races wears off with age and adjustment because once you start to see people perishing in them, their souls gone forever, the 24 hour prize starts to seem less and less worth that risk.

Thank you, as ever, for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Hogwarts27 

13th June 2012:
I just found this story, and I'm really enjoying it. I'm not much of a fanfic reader, and it's unusual for a fanfic to keep my solid interest for 4 chapters, but this story idea is absolutely captivating, the characterizations are excellent, and the writing style is totally engaging. You have a real talent for writing. I loved the chapter when Fred arrived, loved the Remus/Tonks part, loved the chapter with Lily avoiding Snape and exploring all her uneasy feelings. It makes me anxious for Snape to show up. On to Chapter 5 and loving it so far.

Author's Response: Hi there! Wow, I came back this morning and you have left me so many fantastic reviews! It's really made my day. I hope that I can respond to all of them soon.

I only just discovered fan fiction in late 2010, but I've been writing it steadily ever since and I've managed to find some really amazing stories on this site. If it's unusual for a fan fic to maintain your interest for four chapters, then I'm quite happy because you've made really swift progress in reading this.

Thank you so much for stopping by to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by marlita1311 

9th June 2012:
haha there is no big surprise that Salazar is still evil..
the real question is why is he here and not on the other island?

~marlita

Author's Response: Haa, Salazar's a bit of a bad seed. And even though he's bad, he's not /completely/ evil. Only the worst of the worst end up in the Grotta, the other island. You'll see later that their punishment is only suitable for those who are pretty much beyond saving.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I hope that you continue to do so.


 Report Review

Review #19, by LittleWelshGirl99 

31st May 2012:
I feel partly sorry for, but partly annoyed with Cedric in this! He just wants some friends his age again, but he REALLY needs to give Colin and Fred some space.

I keep thinking about how sad it is that Fred and George are basically at opposite ends of the universe now, and that when George dies he'll be about 90 and it will be so weird D: YOU'RE MAKING ME THINK SO MUCH ABOUT WHAT EVERY CHARACTER WILL EXPERIENCE WHEN THEY DIE NOW!!

And oho! Loving the Rowena/Salazar chemistry. Very interesting indeed ;) I wonder why Salazar's in Cliodna's Clock at all? He seems selfish and manipulative, even in death.

What a last line. *drooling*
-LWG

Author's Response: Baww, poor Cedric. He's a bit annoying at this stage, but he really does mean well. He just misses being a normal teenage boy, so he's hoping that the arrivals of Fred and Colin will make him feel like the guy he used to be - the one with all the friends.

Fred and George are /so/ far apart. :( It's so sad. And I never even thought about the fact that George will probably be all old-looking when he arrives. O o

I'm pleased you like the Rowena/Salazar interactions. XD Salazar is indeed selfish and manipulative, but he's still not completely evil. Only those who are lost beyond repair are sent to the Grotta - you'll see later why only the worst of the worst are deserving of that punishment.

Thank you for reading and for all the lovely reviews. :) :) :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by NaidatheRavenclaw 

6th May 2012:
OKAY SO I THINK YOU WIN THE BEST CHARACTERIZATION PRIZE. HANDS DOWN. I BOW TO YOU.

Slytherin was pretty much my favorite part of this chapter. He was so...Slytherin :P Completely self serving and enjoying picking on poor Colin. Of course he's been able to stay alive all these years. His relationship with Rowena seems interesting. It's definitely something more than just having known her for centuries. I'm intruigued to see how this is going to develop.

AND THEN COLIN. My heart was breaking for him at the start of this chapter. Colin's death was one of the most heart wrenching for me in DH because he was so sweet and innocent. And death is unkindly preying on that :( Just having him contemplate death like that move me close to tears. HE'S TOO YOUNG D: If he competes in the tournament, I'm going to lose it. Well, I'm going to lose it for anyone that loses. WHY IS THIS SO GOOD?

Must. Keep. Reading.

-Naida

Author's Response: EEEP THANK YOU.

Salazar is definitely self-serving. His only concern is number one - himself - and he could really care less about what happens to everyone else. He's the kind of person who would refuse to share his supplies in the event of a zombie apocalypse, even if he had enough to go around and last the entire town eighty years. He would just sit there and hoard it all to himself.

Colin. :( I think JKR only threw him into the 'death pile' because it was the most heart-breaking thing she could think of. THE HEARTSTRINGS. SHE PULLS ALL OF THEM. Woe~

Thank you SO SO much for reading and for these spectacular reviews, Naida. They've really made my day/week/month.

:)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jess the Enthusiast 

5th May 2012:
Yet another amazing chapter!!! The rules to this game are so interesting; I can't imagine how you came up with the whole concept! And while I was surprised to hear about Lily's ruthlessness in the races, I can't really say that I blame her. Has James ever won? I bet he doesn't try very hard so that he doesn't have to face off with Lily.
I love this story!!!

10/10 :D

Author's Response: Thank you, Jess! Yeah, Lily does get ruthless in the races. She's one of those people where you can sort of see where they're coming from, but it's also obvious that she takes things to extremes. Nope, James has never won. :( And you're right, that's exactly why. He doesn't want to be pitted against Lily because he wouldn't want to win OR lose against her.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by shadowcat2 

5th May 2012:
I absolutely love your version of the founders. I haven't read many founders era story. But I really liked the relationship between Rowena And Salazar. I think I will finish the rest of the story by today. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I very much like writing the Founders - some Founders more than others, as you can see. I'm very glad that you're liking the relationship between Salazar and Rowena so far.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!!

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #23, by Akussa 

29th April 2012:
Hi!

I finally have time to get back to this amazing story and I'm glad. I seem to remember reviewing this chapter though; have you deleted my review because it wasn't 12+ or did I read the chapter, review it in my head and never thought a second more about it? Doesn't matter, I'll do it again (anyway for me it feels like a second time!!)!

I really liked this chapter, especially the part whit Ravenclaw and Slythering. They were very nicely written and I enjoyed their exchanges a lot. It gave us a lot of insight on the competition and what the competitors might do to win. Slytherin's explanation as to why he doesn't want to participate anymore was very, er, Slythering of him : chosing self-preservation over all is at the core of their belives and you tranlated that very nicely.

Poor Colin though, I felt so bad all through my read. You really did a great job with him, his personality, his fears, his sadness. It was all very touching and perfect.

I really like how Cedric is just so happy to have friends his age for once and he can't quite controle his happiness no matter how sad the others are right now. It feels really believable.

A great chapter to a story that keeps on getting better and better. Great work!

Author's Response: Hi there! I haven't deleted any reviews, so you must have just read and not left one. ^ ^

Salazar is one of my favorites, I've got to admit. He's got some sour qualities, but he isn't /evil/. He's a lot better than Peter, who was a Gryffindor. In this story, you're very right: self-preservation is very much at the top of Salazar's list of priorities. Everything else he can pretty much ignore because it isn't worth his time. I'm glad you liked the bits with Colin and Cedric, as well. :)

Thank you for the encouraging reviews! I very much appreciate them. Thank you for stopping by my story. ^ ^


 Report Review

Review #24, by cazvalleygirl 

20th April 2012:
Very interesting, I love how you've potrayed Salazar, sly and cunning, just like in life. I was happy to learn more about the races aswell, its such an unique story! I know I've said it again and again but it really is!

Anyway must go, there is more chapters to be ready : )

Author's Response: Salazar is swiftly becoming one of my favorites. I like the contrast between him and the generations of Slytherins who come after him. He's bad, but not evil. He's a lot like Severus, I think; if their lives had gone as planned, I don't think either of them would have ended up nearly as grouchy.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

9th April 2012:
Wow I feel like I'm reading a published book rather than fanfiction. Such a great story! I love Salazar and Rowena :)

Author's Response: Eeep, that is a wonderful compliment! I do not take it lightly. Thank you so much. :) I love Salazar and Rowena, too. I want to write more of them soon.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>