Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cirque Du Freak 

4th June 2013:
Ahahahhaa, I remember you showing me this chapter an age ago and laughing at it because BARBIE AND THE CHARMING CHARMS PROFESSOR. (':

That was hilariously unexpected and ksadfhsdfuhsdjf Elliot Cooper needs to put that sass under control otherwise he'll end up just like Archie ahah.

I also really enjoy how Archie's so lax but not lax enough to not let his students call him Archie - the line is there, small and almost insignificant but there (':

I enjoy all the introductions of all these manic characters because they're all nutters and its a constant stream of mind-boggling nutjobbery so yeah

ONWARDS

 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charm 

23rd April 2013:
Ok it may have taken me ages to come back to this story, but that doesn't mean I didn't want to! Gah, I'm so excited to be here. I should probably get on with reading and reviewing rather than saying jibber jabber (Did I really say jibber jabber? Kill me now :/)

Ah what does this story do to me? I'm already crying with laughter after the first paragraph. It sounds rather like my RE class, and I suppose most people take as they think it's a doddle then end up failing, dropping out, and in situations like the ones you described!

I loved Archibald's observations of his pupils. I think I would have had the same reaction to Ronald's name too. I wonder if they learnt about McDonalds in Muggle Studies or not?

Wub this line was perfect - '“Are you calling us thick?” Squeaky demanded. Oh, hell.' To be fair, I could quote the entire chapter in this review as it was all so awesomesauce but that would go over the review limit :'(

Ok I don't think I can recover from this '“Sir,” Shelly said helplessly, so quietly he could barely hear, “I’ve got a crush on her.”

Well that was new.' All he said was 'that was new', I would just be like what? Are you serious? You like your teacher? Then run away and tell someone the gossip. I guess that just shows how cool Archibald is, if that's his reaction.

I may have sounded like I was little mentally unstable in this review, but I assure you I'm not, I'm just high on caffeine :P

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey Kiana!

Thanks to coming back to Muggle Studies! This is one of my babies (actually, saying that, they're all my babies - I'm so attached to all of them) and I'm so glad you enjoyed the chapter aha :)

AHHA. His non reaction! That was one of my favourite parts of the story to write, because... well I guess he's so used to all the crazy that it's just like 'oh that's new, what's next?' but yes definitely real fun to write.

THANKS for such a lovely review! You're awesome :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by AlexFan 

17th April 2013:
I love Archie and even though his name isn't the best one out there, I find that he really makes it work. Archibald is just one of those characters that can pull off anything.

I love his thought process, it really is hilarious and I'll probably be annoying everyone I know telling them to read this evahse it's hilarious.

Author's Response: Oh man, I really love Archie so I'm glad I'm not the only one. So glad you liked it, AlexFan, and thanks for reviewing :D :D :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by academica 

11th March 2013:
Hello! Here from Team Blue for the Review Battle!

I love how you took an event as simple as a student asking to transfer classes and pumped it full of life. What could have been sort of a boring conversation was funny and easy to follow, and I liked seeing Archibald's head spin as he tried to keep his students from getting at each other's throats.

Speaking of Archibald, the characterization is great. I like how working with so few students allows him to get each of them down to a science. It was interesting to get his take on the lackluster pupils in his class--and thank goodness someone brought up the McDonald's connection, because it was sitting in the front of my mind the whole time.

I noticed a few minor typos and punctuation errors, but nothing too big. Overall, it flowed quite nicely.

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi Amanda!

Archibald is one of my favourite character-characterisations of all time, just because he's so world weary and lovely... and it makes my day everytime I hear someone else likes my Archie too.

This was a really fun chapter to write so I'm really glad you liked it! And I'll be sure to actually go back over this chapter and edit it soon :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne 

27th February 2013:
I love the character names so much! How do you come up with them all to have those specific names?
Have you ever seen Greg Davies live stand up? Archie makes me think of him so much, when Greg talks about when he used to teach.
I love seeing a story from a teachers point of view :D
Can't wait to reread more of your awesome story!

Author's Response: I have not seen such a thing! I think I may have to actually look him up though, because I reaally love Archie so it's always nice to think that he ha a real life inclination somewhere.

Thank you, Tammi! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by ChaosWednesday 

16th December 2012:
Hey it's Whiskey from Holiday Review Swap!

I chose this story because it sounded fun and original, and it didn't disappoint ( that's also why I decided to read a second chapter :P)!

I like the idea of a sarcastic teacher sticking to his subject against all odds. Some of his comments are hillarious (I liked the part about him never leaving the walls of the classroom). Although I wish we knew more about his motivation and life, I think it would add more perspective.

You had the good idea to give all the students nick-names, which helps keep them apart although there are so many, and makes them seem more unique and eccentric. This way, you also focus on the group-dynamic of each class rather than on individuals or situations, which is different and more interesting.

Basically, this was fun and the only advice for improvement I can offer is that maybe you could add some back-story to the Professor. He is our narrator, after all, and we see everything through his eyes. It would help to know about who he is and how he really feels (he can't always be experiencing only irritation-discomfort, can he :P).

Also, some more conflict, plot development or theme-choice could help make each chapter seem more complete and consequential. Either have each chapter function like a short-story, or have them actually follow up on one another. So far, you seemed sort of unsure as to what you actually wanted to say...
Every real story is tells more than just itself, you know what I mean? Maybe you could turn this into a reflection on the way Muggles are peceived different after the war, or you can switch to making this a story about exploring the life and times of the professor. Or something else, of course. But there has to be a point...

Well, good luck, I hope I could be of some help ^^ Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #7, by soufflegirl99 

24th October 2012:
I love all the nick names, and how he remembers all the students - it's a very clever idea and yet very real as well.
I absolutely love this character - he's unique, funny and very very witty.
The 3rd person is probably the best I've ever seen, it works fabulously well with this, the ramblings, thoughts, extra bits of information that makes it an absolutely unforgetable and a joy to read.
This story is all round perfection and amazingly creative, hilarious and fambubblybumshus!!
I loved it :)

Author's Response: I hadn't written all that much first person before writing this, but I think this is definitely my favourite 3rd person story to write. It's just so entertaining, ahha.

I'm really really glad you liked it! And I can't deny that it's been hella fun to think of all the nicknames ;)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Phoenix_Feather49 

13th October 2012:
Just found this story! Absolute brilliance, will read on :)

Author's Response: Glad that you liked it! :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Manga_girl 

16th August 2012:
I love all the characters in this! Haha, they seem hilarious, especially the names Ronald MacDonald and 'thicky-Vicky'. They make my name seem so boring!

Anyway, this is a great chapter! 10/10!

Emma xx

Author's Response: Pah, coming up with all the names has definitely been one of my favourite parts of writing this story :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by SerpentineOffering 

10th May 2012:
I remember reading the first chapter a while ago, it made me laugh hysterically. It seems I'm back for me, which I couldn't be happier about! First of all, I love your writing. It's very well done. A couple spelling errors here and there, nothing big at all nor does it distract from the story.

I absolutely love Archibald. He is fantastic. He has a fantastic name. I can seriously imagine my previous teachers having the same thoughts about us, which makes me laugh even harder.

This is a wonderful chapter addition to what has started off as a wonderful story. Great job!!

Recenseo

Author's Response: Ah, I'm really glad you're back too. I'll be going back to check for those spelling mistakes very shortly - might as well have it all in tiptop shape.

I love Archie! He's one of those people who I really really wish existed. Ahha, the names have been a lot of fun for this story

Thanks for a lovely review! I'm glad you're enjoying it :)

AC


 Report Review

Review #11, by NaidatheRavenclaw 

5th May 2012:
Aha! Back! :D

So this was just as awesome as the last chapter. Archie's a good person. I just realized he's portrayed by Robert Downey Jr (I think, I'm terrible with identifying actors) on your banner so I might have to rethink that whole not going to obsess over him thing :P If he can cook, I'm sold. WAIT NO HE'S OLD. THATS KIND OF CREEPY IF I OBSESS OVER HIM. Then again, I obsess over the Doctor and he's like 1000 something. STAY ON TOPIC NAIDA. OKAY.

So Elliot Cooper was satsifyingly hateable. And I'm so in love with all the nicknames. Barbie. Thicky-Vicky. Where do you come up with all of this awesomeness? :D Archie was being appropritely teacher~like though. Or attempting to, at least. He did pretty well with it, to be honest.

Oh, and Ronald McDonald. Can't forget about him. I'm picturing him as a clown now. Because, you know, that's McDonald's mascot and all that. What House is he in? (sorry if you mentioned it :P) Cause it'd be awesome if he was a Hufflepuff.

And really, who needs a plot when you have all this humor? :D Another awesome chapter! Is the next one pancake puns? I'm really excited for that one :P

-Naida

 Report Review

Review #12, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

15th April 2012:
Ronald McDonald

AH! Ronald McDonald, HIS NAME IS RONALD MCDONALD. Once I read that I said out loud, "YUM, CHICKEN NUGGETS!' Not like I have a stomachache or anything...cause I do...and chicken nuggets and food are the last thing I want right now.

AND THEN! Because I'm not normal I started to sing the Big Mac song! Do you know that one? It was like Two all-beef patties, special sauce LETTUCE cheese pickles onions on a sesame seed bun!

Two all-beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun!

It was WAY before my time...and now I am actually really hungry.

Elliot Cooper. The most loathsome student he'd taught. It was a close competition when you factored in Reece Hickenbottom, who'd been perversely interested in bodily functions and had spent a year talking about defecation and showing off his only two talents – burping and farting.

AH! HAHAHA! Why is there always one of those in every class? Too funny, I once had a Maraduars story and Peter liked to discuss bodily functions...and he was very interested in saliva.

(Sorry, I'm so weird!)

Archibald was so shocked he had to sit down for the rest of the lesson. It went against the way of things, for students to actually be productive.

It wasn't natural.


This reminds me of when I went to visit my high school about a week ago and the kids were running around playing tag instead of actually learning something in class. And then when I actually found a room with students in it, they weren't actually doing work.

Productivity? PSH!

I love Archie! I think I might have a crush on him...whoops!

Author's Response: I HAVE A CRUSH ON ARCHIE A LITTLE BIT TOO. It's been awhile since I've fancied one of my own characters. I always think that's a bit weird, really, but I love Archie to bits and if he was real... well, what a good world it would be.

RONALD MCDONALD. The best thing about this was trying to use canon surnames that sort of make sense for the next-gen eras and seeing if I could them to have amusing names. I had SUCH a laugh, ahha.

I don't know the big mac song. I feel the need to go search for it.

AHHH. I can see Peter being like that a little bit. And, yup, there's always at least one Reece (unfortunately...)

I always find it obscure when I do work in maths lessons. It feels unnatural and strange because we just /don't/

This was a lovely review and you'll be getting the rest of your responses really soon! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by justonemorefic 

8th April 2012:
I DID SEE THAT THIS WAS UPDATED TWICE, and I was like I swear I stopped on chapter 3, but I looked at chapter 4 and was like, no... I left a review.

Oh lawdy the names. Just... the names. Nicknames and wordplay and everything galore in this fic.

Snort I just love all the unintentional (I suppose that's a relative term) insults that fly around with this group.

these nails are reinforced by three different spells, do you want them in your eyeballs I WISH I COULD USE THIS THREAT IN REAL LIFE.

Awww Shelly. And LOL ARCHIE. Archie Awkwardness is the best Awkwardness.

Also lolololol I see your meta-joke with the muggle fantasy right there. brill end bit.

ramble ramble rambo ♥

Author's Response: Ahh, if you wanted a tip on how to confuse all readers about all things... don't add the chapters in the right order. Everyone's just like WHAT WHAT'S HAPPENING but, well, my bad for not planning ahead and writing in order.

Hey. Never mind.

I lost my notebook with all the names in the other day and I was like NO because, I thought all this namery was just lost... but i found it.

That was a fun story, right?

I'd just be all... these nails are reinforced by several layers on nail varnish that I didn't take off properly before putting the next layer on... eyeballs? Which isn't as excited, really.

I love your ramble ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by CloakAuror9 

24th March 2012:
Archie just made my day! From the moment I read about him, I knew that he's a character that I would adore quite easily.

Tell me, what's your secret to writing humour so good? This is the funniest fanfiction on any fandom I've ever come across with! Plus, its so original! What's not to love?!

Jeez, I'm so glad you requested this story!

Shelly...shocked me, to say the least. My eyes literally bugged-out! I mean, its not that I have a problem with anything...but it was shocking! You just don't expect that to happen in the middle of student-bickering and nail-trauma! If you think about it though, it is a really good way to reveal a secret or idea. :P

One word: F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C.

Green With Envy 2012,
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: This review just made my day! So I guess we're even and stuffs? Heheh, Archie is currently just my favourite character... I just, ah, I love him so much (so I'm glad you like him too).

OH wow. Thank you very very very very very veyr veyr very very very very very very very ery much for that humanngollousss compliment (when people say nice things, I forget how to use words properly).

Ahhha. Done entirely for the shokc factor. Writing that scene was just, well, I thought it was hillarious as I was writing it.

Thank you very much for this lovveellyy review! :D

AC


 Report Review

Review #15, by littlemisssnape 

23rd March 2012:
Oh, this story is unlike anything I've ever read and I really love it!! I'm continuing now!

Author's Response: Hehe, I like to think it's quite unique! I'm having a blast writing it, so I'm glad you're enjoying it too :)

AC


 Report Review

Review #16, by SexyDoorFrames 

18th March 2012:
This chapter was hilarious. Seriously, you write humour effortlessly. Archie ;) was a delight as always, I really like what you're doing with his character. And I'm really liking Shelly so far! This is starting to be an excellent story and I'm really enjoying it so far. Seriously, some of the names/nicknames for the characters had me in stitches! I love this story!

Author's Response: Thank you! That means a lot, especially coming from you - as you're definately one of the funiest authors I've read for a really long time. AHha. Oh, Archie. I have so much love for him.

Thank you very very much! :)

AC


 Report Review

Review #17, by ariellem 

18th March 2012:
Elliot Cooper was calmly explaining how ‘The Lord of the Rings’ had changed his life and how he thought that might be an interesting take on the coursework criteria to cover a muggle Fantasy.

This was so awesome, I couldn't breathe because I was laughing so hard. Great job as usual!

Author's Response: Ahhha, oh Elliot. He's not all bad, right? ;)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #18, by TheGoldenKneazle 

18th March 2012:
THIS CHAPTER. Oh my gosh Helen, I don't know how you managed to do it, but I'm laughing so much it's embarassing... the awkward, silent laughter where your stomach hurts? Got that, because this is one of the most hilarious chapters I've read in a looong time!

For a start, I absolutely LOVE all the hilarious punny names - Ronald McDonald, Xavier Box, thicky-Vicky - and the way that nobody ever gets them except Archie. He's such a muggle-nut it's cute :3 Also, the irony of "no degrading nicknames" was rather brilliant :D

In the most hilarious way possible, Elliot Cooper was the epitome of annoyance (although I loved your description of the disgusting Reece Hickenbottom. So gross.) - and Shelly's line of “Oh my God,” Barbie/Shelly said, holding out her usual, long fuchsia nails, “these nails are reinforced by three different spells, do you want them in your eyeballs, Cooper?” was pure brilliance! Could not stop laughing.

Also, it was a wonderful twist to have Shelly having a crush on the charming charms teacher - definitely did not see it coming! But I love how Dom and Fred always randomly make it into the chapters... and please, please recount the experience of the spacehopper for us in one of these chapters? Having popped up several times I am dying to see exactly what happened XD

And, that was a brilliant ending that I adored - Elliot Cooper was calmly explaining how ‘The Lord of the Rings’ had changed his life and how he thought that might be an interesting take on the coursework criteria to cover a muggle Fantasy. // Archibald was so shocked he had to sit down for the rest of the lesson. It went against the way of things, for students to actually be productive. It was pure awesomesauce, that was xD so unexpected! and I loved Archie's reaction :D

Anyhoo, I hope you write more of Archibald and his fateful classes soon. He's so brilliant! Total 10/10 ;)
~TGK

Author's Response: Heheheh, -adds this to the list of my favourite reviews of all time-

I love that type of laughter! Ha, I guess it's kind of kooky that half my stories are really depressing and this is like /mah funny/ one. Oh dear.

RONALD MCDONALD. And, technically, McDonald is a canon surname. BOOM. You can't imagine how much fun I had scrolling through my list of wizarding surnames looking for amusing possibities :D

You can always trust Barbie xD

AHHHA, I didn't see it coming and then I was hit with this immense brainwave and I was like OH OF COURSE and then I was cracking myself up writing is... so I'm glad I'm not the only one who found it funny.

I may try and fit the space hopper thing at some point, but it might be fun just to leave you all wondering... Hm.

Thank you for this lovely review and I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D

AC


 Report Review

Review #19, by marinahill 

18th March 2012:
So many funny things in this chapter! (I'll ignore the confusing chapter thing because I still don't quite understand it, other than you've put in a new chapter here :P )

Archie is a delight as always. He's snarky and witty and so much fun. You know I love this oodles so I'll just remind you how amazing you are with my favourite bits:

"most of his class were either pregnant, in prison or unemployed somewhere other than Hogwarts by the time Seventh year rolled along."

"one girl had unexpectedly and prematurely given birth to twins in the boy's toilets "

Ronald McDonald

"I've got a crush on her."


Keep it up ;)

Marina

Author's Response: Aha, the chapter thing is just my lack of planning. I was just going for 'I'll post chapters when I've written then' then I was like, WAIT I NEED A PLAN so this story now has a plan... in which it has a chapter for each month of the year... and I'd already posted February's and December's so I had to go backwards, ahha. /end Helen fail.

Hehhe, I loved those bits ^ :D

AC


 Report Review

Review #20, by Sarahthebookworm 

16th March 2012:
This new chapter was really funny! The reason why Shelly didn't want to take Charms was unexpected, but hilarious. I love how all the different students all have their own unique, funny personalities,.
I was a bit confused at first about why this was chapter 2, but then I remembered that you said you were going to make a chapter for each month. I recognized this as the one I hadn't read yet.
Anyway, great job again, and please update as soon as you can!

Author's Response: Ahhha, I'm not going to lie after finising this chapter I was sat at my computer going 'that was... /hilarious/' for about ten minutes before I started to consider that I might be the only one who found it funny. Then I decided that I was fine with that.

Aha, I guess it is going to get pretty confusing. I was confusing myself with 'It's the forth chapter, but it's actually chapter two...' and, eaahhh... but, heh. it'll be fine.

Thanks for the lovely review!

AC


 Report Review

Review #21, by moondrifter 

16th March 2012:
XD Words cannot describe how awesome this fic is! I love how blasé Archie is about his students and the hilarious patterns in students who take Muggle Studies. He sounds like a uni tutor I once had except she'd actually call people by their nicknames to their faces (there was a guy in my class who looked like Edward Cullen). This fic had me laughing so much especially all the students with terrible names. Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you very much moondrifter! I love writing Archibald just because well, i can't explain it - he's just wonderful. I love the guy, ahha.

Oh, Archie, he does /sometimes/ call them by his nicknames... but it doesn't always work out as he planned and the odd-law suits aren't very, er, helpful to his career :P

Thanks for the lovely review! :)

AC


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review