Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GingeredTea 

21st August 2015:
So, it's been awhile (sorry about that!), but I felt like I fell right into step (after spending a bit figuring out what the last chapter was that I reviewed!)

You began this chapter with such a benign sort of rhythm that I just KNEW something terrible was about to happen - that somewhere, this plan was going to unravel. The casual pace served only to heighten my anxiety - perfectly written!

Hugo had never felt like such a failure.. Yeah...I would have too in that situation. Can't imagine the guilt his wife must feel. It really served to show us how peaceful the world has been for this generation.

The next scene was almost as funny as it was tense! Harry and Ron just do not make good driving partners - it must be karma left over from flying to Hogwarts. lol

Harry was never very good at seeing himself as the leader, although he usually did well acting as one.

This was a fantastic chapter! I was on the edge of my seat for the entire last scene!!

Author's Response: Hey, Tori! It's review answering morning!

I like to change the pace frequently during chapters. It keeps my readers awake. ;)

In fairness to Fiona, what's happening around her is completely foreign to her entire life experience. The idea that the wizarding government would be trying to kill them just doesn't register as possible in her mind. She also doesn't deal well with high-pressure situations *and* she's French.

Harry and Ron work well together, but it often seems to be in spite of themselves.

I think that Harry hates the idea of leading people because of all the residual guilt he carries from the war. But when push comes to shove, he does what comes natural, which is to lead people.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Courtney Dark 

17th December 2013:
Tag!

Ooh, I loved this chapter!

The section from Hugo's point of view was great and fun to read, though highly frustrating at the same time. I was getting that whole body clenching sort of feeling and felt like screaming at the screen FIONA JUST LISTEN TO HUGO! Grr! And now they've taken the portkey, leaving Rose stranded! Hugo! I mean, I know you had to think quick and all, but what the hell is Rose going to do??

Charlene was great. She definitely added a bit of humour to the chapter, which was awesome, and I loved the whole driving the ambulance down the motorway thing. You write action packed scenes so well, and this was no exception. I felt like I was caught up in the moment completely! And I was actually worried for a second there that Harry was going to go through with his dangerous plan. Thank god Justin and Neville turned up in time! And before I forget, I would like to thank you for not making Ron a stupid, bumbling, slightly useless wizard - I have seen that done too many times to count and it always annoys me.

Oh, Neville on a broomstick! I loved reading his reactions and everyone else's reactions to the ride! And Susan is such a great character! I've really enjoyed the last three chapters, which have had a lot of her in them!

Looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hellooo, Courtney! Awesome to see you back!

It's funny you mention it, because I remember feeling kind of similar while writing Hugo and Fiona preparing to leave. Don't judge her *too* harshly, however. Like Hugo, she's a post-war baby. She really has no frame of reference for a situation where the Ministry has been subverted and you can't trust anybody. Rose has a big problem, unfortunately. More on this very soon...

I could hardly believe my good fortune when I was able to pull Charlene out of the Dust Heap of Disposable One-Appearance Characters and reuse her. You might remember her from way back in chapter 5, when Harry takes Artie and Dennis to see Frank and Alice Longbottom.

I'm stoked that you liked the ambulance chase so much. It was one of my favorite scenes in the entire story. (Yes, I admit that I'm tragically American. Even in a story about wizards, I have to include a car chase.) I could never make Ron a bumbling, sub-par wizard. I just don't think of him that way and in a few chapters you'll see him really shine in a couple of scenes all his own.

Poor Neville. He hates flying so much, but most of his friends are Quidditch junkies.

I grew to love Susan as I wrote this. You haven't seen the last of her.

The story turns decidedly darker and starts to really pick up speed from here on out. I can't wait to see what you think!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by APerkins 

24th October 2013:
Hey! A story arc! I didn't even notice! Wanna know why?
Illustration:
Which means i now get to ask what a story arc is .. cause yeah, I get the main focus is on susan :) but you're still advancing the main plot.

Also I wanna apologise for me typos in the reviews. Mostly I'm reviewing on my phone so predictive text is fun and I forget to reread properly. No I don't forget. I just reread in a hurry cause I'm eager for the next chapter.

Point is I really enjoyed the story arc. Well written.

I find the references to Hugo and al being kids insulting and am offended on their behalf! They aren't kids! They have Honda n everything.

On well actually Hugo is a big kid. Was actually impressed that you put a character into both of them in a matter of lines. And I forgot in the last review to mention how well done the harry and Rob planning to go rescue Hugo and Al from the ministry was. The tension made me want read faster so I could see whether or not they would go off in the wrong direction or whether they would get the message in time! Thrilling bit of writing :)

Author's Response: In fairness to you, I think I decided that these three chapters formed an "arc" after they were pretty much done. It sounded like a good thing to say in an author's note. ;)

Don't worry about the spelling and grammar. I have yet to have a problem figuring out what you mean. Except for that Kriffin/Hermys mix-up, but you clarified that quickly enough.

If you're Harry or Ron or Hermione -- particularly if you're Molly or Arthur -- I don't think Al, Hugo and their contemporaries will ever stop seeming like kids. It's a generational thing. I'm not sure what having a Honda has to do with anything, but I suspect your autocorrect is biting you again. :p

I originally had Hugo's patronus arriving in the attic and Harry and Ron rushing directly off to the lake. Then I remembered Susan's message. Frankly, it works out better because it leaves a bit of a knowledge gap between Ron and Harry vs. Hermione and Esme. At any rate, I'm really pleased that you liked it!

Thanks so much for all of the awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Alize 

17th October 2013:
Loved this chapter... The humour in a life or death situation... So typical of Ron and Harry!

Author's Response: I sort of feel like when Ron and Harry lose the ability to laugh about a situation, they're probably in deep trouble.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

8th February 2013:
When you're yelling at the screen that if they even think of hurting Hugo, I'll hurt them, then wanting to hug him and tell him he's not a failure for protecting his family, that's when you know that you're officially hooked and have been for a while, just been too focused in knowing what happens next to really see it. :D

I'm so glad Susan is going to be okay. She's quickly become one of my favorite characters. And Neville has just become even more awesome than I thought, and I already thought he was pretty darn (darn? :P) awesome.

Loved the action scene. And Charlene, she made me laugh when she was talking to Harry and distracting Ministrial Security.

Amazing chapter!

Sam.

Author's Response: I'm working my way through all of these, slowly but surely!

Ha! I've read a lot of reactions in reviews of this story, but I think you may be the first to admit to yelling at your screen. I don't think of Hugo as a failure, either. The job he was handed by his father and uncle was one that nothing in his life ever could have prepared him for. Fiona's reaction is very telling; she doesn't believe that what he's telling her could possibly be true.

Susan will survive, but her injuries are quite severe. Still, she's able to contribute something to the conversation. She is honestly my favorite character in this story, outside of the trio. And Neville is very awesome, although he's still awful at flying.

You might recall Charlene from way back in Chapter 5, when Harry takes Artie and Dennis to meet Frank and Alice Longbottom. I really enjoyed being able to pluck her off of the proverbial dust-heap of single-purpose characters and give her a second dose of the spot-light.

Glad you liked it. And I will get caught up soon! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by academica 

18th October 2012:
Hello Dan! I'm here with another requested review!

The beginning of this was scary! Is it bad that I'm pretty mad at Fiona for taking her time getting ready? I get that she has a point about transporting a small child, but still--poor Hugo, having to leave Rose hanging out to dry. Hopefully we'll get to check in with her in the next chapter.

I liked Harry and Ron's great escape with Susan. It's nice to see that there are still lots of people coming out of the woodwork to help them. Harry's influence must have lasted long after Voldemort's defeat, and it warms my heart to see that he's not quite as alone as he sometimes feels. I loved Charlene's little diversion with the "code," though I wasn't as big a fan of her dialogue up to that point. I felt like she talked a little too long and her comments interrupted the flow for me a little bit. I kept wondering why the guards hadn't looked over and noticed Harry and Ron as she kept talking.

Now, to the point--the car chase. I really liked it, and I definitely felt that sense of danger every time Harry and Ron had to quickly Confundo someone else. I liked the ending, too, where the others were trying to convince Harry to once again take a lead role. The poor guy really can't catch a break, can he? Also, Susan--just love her. It's great how she can still crack a joke even while in recovery, and hopefully she enjoys having a bit of time off.

Nice work! I hope this is helpful! :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Even knowing how the story ends, I feel badly for Hugo in this situation. He's having a hard time convincing his wife of how much danger they're really in because the whole thing still seems like a bad dream to him. Unfortunately, it's about to get very, very real...

Charlene was definitely a bit annoying with the benefit of hindsight. Her dialog probably is a bit overdone. But your point is correct: all over the wizarding world there are people who believe in what Harry represents and they want to see him as the hero who's going to set things right in the Ministry. The last person to see it, of course, is Harry.

The care chase was an idea that was part of the plot outline from the very earliest drafts, so I'm glad you liked it. It was a lot of fun to write. And Susan does do a really elegant job of making her point, doesn't she? Will Harry finally come around? We shall see...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! Your insights are always helpful.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pixileanin 

13th June 2012:
Aww, snowglobes! They will always have a special place in fiction for me. It's good to see that I'm not the only one that uses them.

Hugo's scene was appropriately tense, with the waiting and the arrival of Security and his thoughts about Rose. You did an excellent job building the anticipation and worry.

Charlene reminds me of Sister Mary Loquacious from the Chattering Order of St. Beryl from "Good Omens". Except Charlene eventually gives them useful information, so she has one up on Sister Mary.

""You didn't cast the spell, did you?" Ron asked quietly.

"Nope. I reckon she's confused enough as it is.""

Witch Weekly puzzles too. Awesome! Besides the little things, I also appreciated the forward-rushing momentum of the scenes. Thereís nothing like a mad ambulance chase to get the blood pumping, especially when Ron's driving. Good thing he's learned a few things over the years.

Lots of things happened here and your action swooped by really fast, which was great. I think my favorite little touch in the chase was when Ron cushioned the Stupefied Ministry people. I'm sure none of them are really bad too, they're just doing what they're told.

I'm glad Harry didn't have the opportunity to do his crazy plan thingy. It would have ended badly. I liked that even in her weakened state, Susan was able to set Harry straight about his leadership skills. It's reasonable that he doesn't want to get involved on a higher level, but sometimes you have to step up and just do it.

Great action-filled chapter!

Author's Response: Wow. You like snow globes *and* you've read Good Omens? I think we're long lost siblings. I love that book. One of my all-time favorites.

Poor Hugo is in way over his head. Nothing in his life has prepared him for the types of pressures he's dealing with in this chapter. Everyone he cares about is in mortal danger and he's just survived an attempt to kill him that left Susan critically injured. So it's not surprising that he's struggling.

I was so pleased to be able to get so much out of Charlene. For a bit-part character, she really comes through.

I'm really, really glad you felt the momentum here. This scene had to be fast-paced and frenetic if it was going to work.

Harry is still not in a great place, psychologically. There are things that almost make sense to him that really shouldn't. And he still doesn't want to be the one making decisions that could get somebody killed.

Thanks so much for the awesome review. It's fun to find out what you have in common with other people!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ashling586 

18th May 2012:
Here I am with your review request. Let me first congratulate you on your Golden Paw Award. I am sure someone has already contacted you about it, and If not well I sure let the cat out of the bag.
I liked the scene at the beginning with Hugo, I like the fact as the story goes along the reader is getting more and more involved with not only the older generation from Hogwarts but also the new generation as well.
I applaud your ability to maintain so many characters in one story. So far I the most I have been able to maintain is five main characters. Though I have been inspired by your story so much I have decided to write my own mystery with about 10 main characters in it. So thank you for writing such an inspiring story for us fellow writers to be challenged by.
I really liked the welcome witch Charlene, she was just so cute. Part of her reminded me of my three year old who just starts rambling at a person and it seems like she will never stop talking.
Ron's driving was just plain scary. As I was reading I was trying to envision Ron driving and I was cringing at the crazy ideas that were popping into my head. I can only imagine what you have in store for me to read in the next chapter. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate all of the kind things that you and everybody else said about my story. It's nice to be counted among such a talented and inspired field of authors.

Hugo is in way over his head, but he's trying. The next generation plays a key role in the rest of the story.

Having so many characters going at once is actually my biggest anxiety, so I'm glad you think it's working well. Every chapter, I have to make tough decisions as far as which of the minor characters to focus on in between the major plot segments featuring the main characters. In fact, sometimes I get a little ambivalent about where to draw the line between "main" characters and "supporting" characters.

Charlene was lots of fun to write. If you remember, she is actually introduced way back in chapter 5 when Harry takes Artie and Dennis to visit Frank and Alice Longbottom at St. Mungo's. It was great to be able to pull her off of the shelf and have her do something interesting. And I definitely get similarly random, wandering explanations from my 4-year-olds. ;)

I thought Ron did a pretty decent job of driving, under the circumstances. You try driving an ambulance while guys on brooms fire curses at you and see how well you do! ;)

I'm really glad you enjoyed the chapter. It was far and away one of the most fun to write. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Elenia 

10th May 2012:
I'll try to remember everything I wrote (:

So, the first scene was awesome ( like everything else in your entire story, you're probably tired of me repeating this every single time ) I'm really liking Hugo, I think you've done a wonderful job with his character. He's a lot different from the others I've read which is always a good thing.

Fiona! She was so frustrating! I kept drumming my fingers nervously, waiting for them to get out of there but she just kept arguing and arguing. Although I do understand what she was just trying to understand the situation. What I'm trying to say is good work ^^

Oh no, poor Hugo! I bet he'll be worried sick because he had to 'abandon' Rose and Octavia to save his wife and child /:

Getting the feeling that maybe we'll soon find out what Octaviaís part in all this is, or at least take one step closer to finding out d:

Loved the plan how they got out of the hospital. Clever as always. Imagination, that's definitely your strong point. You have so many scenes like this in your story, but they all are so different from each other, you take advantage of all the different sides of the magical world and develop them further. That keeps everything in your story so interesting and captivating.

The chase was perfect, I always find my eyes getting glued to my screen when I read these action scenes of yours. I can practically feel the adrenaline pumping in my own veins.

Perseverance! That's why I like your characterization of Harry so much. He'll never give up, he would go through a solid rock if he had to. He proved that with that little plan of his. I wonder if it would've worked if Justin and Neville didn't come in time.

And then you had me chuckling at the aftermath of the fight where they're joking about Neville's flying abilities. The flying ace, I loved that ^^

Can't wait to see what happens next!

I'm pretty sure I'm forgetting something really important I had to say about this chapter, judging by the length of this review, the first version was a lot longer... Oh well, I'll let you know if I remember it. And next time I'll be sure to double check that the review comes through (:

Take care and see you soon ^^

~E

Author's Response: Hi, there! Always a pleasure!

Hugo and Fiona's scene was meant to be a bit frustrating, so I'm glad that came through. Going all the way back to when they were first introduced, I've tried to show that their relationship is not the flawless, happy, forever-and-ever-amen affair that Rose makes it out to be. They love each other, but they have their flaws like any other couple.

Since the very earliest outlines of the story, I've been fascinated with the idea of a broom-car chase. I'm really glad that you liked the way it turned out. It took a lot of tweaking to make it feel right. I do really think that Harry would have tried the crazy stunt of apparating into mid-air if Neville and Justin hadn't come along. It's an indication of where his mind is at the moment, and Ron is right to be concerned about it.

Neville on a broom! Isn't it just the craziest idea? As soon as I thought of it, I just had to do it. He's so brave and so dedicated to his friends, but face it, he's a terrible flier. Always will be.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by shadowcat2 

30th April 2012:
I feel so bad for Hugo. Making that decision and leaving his sister stranded will make him feel so guilty for a while.

Charlene. Haha. The way she distracted the guards was really amusing.

This chapter was so action packed. The part about the ambulance and the brooms was amazing. I wish Harry didn't become so reckless. I guess it must be hard on him. Finally, Neville. Haha. He still can't fly properly. I was just wondering how did Neville know that he might need to fly? I guess he got informed my Hermy. It's not important. the question just popped into my mind.
5 more to go. See you!

Author's Response: Poor Hugo is in way, way over his head. He did have to make a very difficult decision, but it was probably the correct one.

You may recall Charlene from way back in chapter 5. I was very pleased to be able to re-use that character and get something really amusing out of her.

I had this idea of including a broom-car chase in the story from the very beginning. The precise structure of it went through a few iterations, but I think it turned out alright. It gave me a chance to include Neville in a pretty entertaining and canon-consistent way, which was a bit plus.

Neville knew that Susan was badly hurt and that Ron and Harry had taken her to St. Mungo's. He definitely realized that they might need some help to get her to safety.

Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #11, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

25th April 2012:
Ever fiber of Hugo's being wanted to blow up at her. To let her know how ridiculous her question sounded. To hex some sense into her. But she was his wife and she was also holding his child, so he forced himself to remain calm.

I have to say I was annoyed with his wife. It seems in times of danger and distress we women are more concerned about packing. You don't understand how much it gets on my nerves when I have to go somewhere important with my mother or my sister and they're more concerned if their shoes look good with their pants and top.

'Charlene, don't you believe any of the horrible things that the pure bloods say about the muggles, because you have muggle blood in you and muggles put their trousers on one leg at a time just like..."

At first I didn't like Charlene. She just seemed like trouble to me but then when she came up with that entire plan! Oh, that was so clever. Where did you come up with that? My mind was boggled with the whole astrology and roman numeral mention. I thought for once Harry and Ron would get out of danger easily.

But that would be boring, wouldn't it? And besides they never have any luck.

"You drive," Harry said, causing Ron to give him an incredulous look, as though he couldn't imagine that Harry had seriously considered any other possibility.

I was excited to see if Ron's driving skills had improved! One of my favorite parts in Harry Potter is Ron driving the car. It was great to see that element in the story and to see he improved slightly but was still a bit reckless and uncoordinated (but who wouldn't be with spells flying at them?). The way you included Neville! I never would have guessed. I thought he was going to meet them at the hospital at first and then I thought he would see them around their hide out or he would be the one to take Susan but I didn't expect to see him and Justin come to their rescue. Neville has always been good at popping up at moments when he's needed the most.

It'll be interesting to see what pushes Harry to finally lead everyone again because that's the only way they're going to be able to fight what's coming to them, isn't it? I feel like he's making the same mistakes he did as he was a teenager. He didn't want to lead anyone to battle with him, I understand he doesn't want anyone to die, he didn't then. He always needs a push and it's going to be something with...ROSE!

I forgot all about Rose. Oh no! Rose and Octavia. You are going to do something to Octavia, aren't you?! That would be more powerful than Rose because who wouldn't want to save a little girl who has her entire life ahead of her?

Author's Response: What an awesome morning! Reviews from several of my favorite readers.

I think it's completely fair to be annoyed with Fiona in this situation, although you also have to think about things from her point of view. She had never dealt with anything like this, and suddenly her husband is rushing home, flustered and out of sorts, demanding that she pack up and leave on no notice. I'm not suggesting that she shouldn't take it seriously, but Hugo also hasn't done the best job of conveying the gravity of the situation.

Ah, Charlene. Her part was originally meant to be much shorter, but the more I wrote, the more fun I was having. You may recall that she actually first appeared back in chapter 5, when Harry brings Artie and Dennis to St. Mungo's to visit with Neville's parents. It was nice to be able to dust her off and have her actually contribute to the plot.

Ron has become a fairly skilled driver, and it definitely helps them to escape. I wasn't sure whether I could pull off a broom-car chase and make it believable, but I was pretty happy with the result. And being able to bring in Neville and Justin was just the icing on the cake.

Harry is being pushed more and more in that direction. War is imminent, and people will follow him, whether he wants to be followed or not. I'm not sure I'd go so far as to call it, "making the same mistakes", but he's certainly behaving in character.

Rose and Octavia are definitely at risk here. More on that coming very soon...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by CloakAuror9 

8th April 2012:
Hey there!
Apologies for taking forever to give the review. A series of events popped up here and there, and things (as always) got out of control. :P

Any who, I am truly annoyed at Fiona at the very start. Like Albus, I very much wanted to bang my head into a wall so hard. I mean, if you're family was being threatened why would you even ask questions like that? I don't mean to say she's stupid, but she's really stubborn. Also, she needs to know that Hogwarts is the safest place ever built on this planet, so she can stop worrying about that. ;)

I'm so relieved that Susan was alive, I mean you dedicated three chapters for her, then you're going to kill her?! So yeah, I was really happy *fist pump* when she was alive. I was like doing all sorts of crazy dancing in my head.

The ambulance/car-chase scene was fantastic! It was so cool! I've only been in an ambulance once, and though I know that they are only used for a misfortune of events...I still want to drive one. They always go past my house, and the drivers just go against the flow of the traffic without a care. Omg. So cool. ( A bit off topic )

Anywho, another great chapter and I can see that there's a lot of progress going on, good job! :D

Ta-ta,
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: Hello, again! Please do not fret. We all have many things in life that take precedence, which is why chapter 28 only made it into the queue on Friday night. ;-)

I'm glad that you felt a bit annoyed with Fiona. At the same time, Hugo was all out of sorts and probably didn't do a very good job of conveying to her just how much danger they were in. The biggest thing that I was trying to get across, aside from the fact that Rose and Octavia are now stuck in Britain, is that the "perfect" relationship between Hugo and his wife that makes Rose feel so insecure is not in fact perfect.

I do believe that Susan will be just fine in the end, but nothing is set in stone, unfortunately. The ambulance chase has been part of the story since the very earliest drafts and I was really excited to finally get to write it. This also made it kind of stressful, since I'd built it up so much in my head. At any rate, I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. And I do hope that you don't have many opportunities in your life to ride in an ambulance, no matter how cool it might seem. ;-)

Thanks so much for all of your time and great reviews!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Remus 

5th April 2012:
The beginning of this chapter is fantastic. The way you portrayed Fiona was fantastic. I felt myself getting annoyed and frustrated just like Hugo towards Fiona. Her line though, about not being thirty seconds was great. Cannot believe that Hugo left his sister but circumstances are understandable in way.

Yay! And Susan survived! I'm glad. I was worried that my 'Liking-A-Character-and-Therefore-He/She-Will-Die' had happened again. Charlene's conversation made me laugh and want to just bang my head against the wall. Actually, I pictured Harry doing that in his mind. Also, her way of distracting the guards was great. I absolutely love how your characters, big or small, manage to come to life. They seem well rounded just by reading a bit and you manage definitely make me like them or hate them.

By the way, speaking of hating, whatever happened to that guy Xerxes? Is he ever coming back? It felt like that's a bit of the plot you've yet to come back to. Just wondering.

Great action scene with Ron and Harry against the Ministerial Security. Neville's reaction about flying...totally had me laughing. Glad he's still the same old, Neville we all loved but much wiser this time around. Still scared of flying and brooms but wiser.

Question, what of Susan's family? She not married? I have no idea if you added her story. What of Neville's wife, kids grandkids? Will we ever see them? Just little things like that...maybe you should start a whole 'Lost Chapters' spin off. Haha! Or side stories. About how many more chapters do you think you have left? Not rushing you, just wondering if we're halfway through the story or nearly to the end.

Great chapter! Finally got around to review it!

See ya next time!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Fiona seems like a rather difficult spouse, doesn't she? Part of that is her small fraction of Veela blood coming through. I'm not at all trying to imply that she and Hugo are heading for a divorce, but clearly Hugo's married life is not as "perfect" as we were led to believe way back in Chapter 3 when Rose was feeling insecure by comparison.

Yes, Susan has survived, and I expect that she'll make it through to the end. I have plans for her if I ever write a sequel. I don't know whether you remember, but we met Charlene way back in Chapter 5 when Harry brought Dennis and Artie to St. Mungo's to meet Neville's parents. It was a lot of fun to use her as a distraction in this chapter.

I'm not sure whether we'll see Xerxes again or not. Several reviewers were speculating that he was somehow behind the whole conspiracy, so I just wanted to show that he's nothing but a sleazy, despicable pawn in Lady Tenabra's game. If I can think of a clever way to use (or abuse) him, I'm certainly not opposed.

Poor Neville. He still hates flying. But he managed to pull it off. He's always reliable in a pinch.

You know, I'm really glad that you asked about Susan's family. My original plan was to have her involved in a committed, long-term same-sex relationship. I thought it would send a really positive message about progress and tolerance in the magical world, and it would also explain why she didn't have a horde of children and grandchildren in tow. -- OK, I guess it wouldn't *completely* explain it, but it would be easier to explain. -- Then I read that even that seemingly very benign situation would require a Slash tag. To me, that seems pretty regressive, but, hey, those are the rules. So I've just sort of left it out. You can think of her as a person who's married to her job, I suppose.

In my mind, Neville is widowed. I haven't really thought about how it happened or whether he has any children and there hasn't been a good opportunity to address it in the story. Based on the tradition of Dumbledore and McGonagall, it would have felt weird to have a Headmaster of Hogwarts with a spouse. They always seem to be married to the job. I think I will have to write some spin-offs some day.

As always, I really appreciate your reviews. You ask the questions that nobody else seems to think of. Hope to see you again soon!


 Report Review

Review #14, by ginerva_molly_weasley 

24th March 2012:
Love love love this story as much if ot more than any other story I've read. I'm getting so into this and really do't want it to end any time soon although 25 chapters in it is already long (although I an DEFINITELY not complaining)

I like this chapter because it shows just how much people have to try and protect themselves from the ministry and that even results in Hugo leaving his sister aand his niece in the UK all unprotected and not even knowing what's going on!

The whole scene with the witch was actually hilarious because I can totally see a fan girl of Harry's acting like that. The way she tried to distract the guards truly was sensational and it just showed her stupidity and a little bit of naivety at the fact that she was actually helping fugitives escape.

The idea of them also going in an ambulance was just pure genius! Muggle modes of transport ftw. It's good how you had a whole action scene with them being followed and having hexes thrown at them! Neville and Justin are really just too cute coming to Harry's rescue and it simply shows that they are still good friends of Harry and still want him as their 'leader' after all of this time!

Author's Response: Come on, you're making me blush over here!

I'm not sure how much longer this story goes on. One thing on my to-do list is to sit down and map out the remaining plot into chapters and see how it looks. As I'm sure you can tell, a lot of the different plot lines are starting to converge at this point. Bombs are going to start falling left and right pretty soon, and things are going to start to wrap up. It's kind of bittersweet. This story has been a huge amount of fun to write, and I have loved all of the interaction with readers and the wonderful sense of community on HPFF. On the flip side, once Conspiracy of Blood is complete, I have a couple of smaller ideas I'd like to explore, plus it would probably be a good idea to really focus hard on the rest of my life for at least a month or two.

Poor Hugo is really in over his head. This probably would have occurred to Ron and Harry if they hadn't been so busy trying to save Susan's life. I envision Hugo as being the type of guy who has always been outshone by his sibling and cousins: not as smart as Rose or Al, not as physically gifted and outgoing as James and not as assertive as Teddy or Lily. That said, I think there's more to him than even he realizes, and I hope I can draw that out before the story ends.

Charlene the Welcome Witch was one of those amazing little happy coincidences that happens sometimes when you write a serialized story. If you recall, she appeared very briefly back in chapter 5, when Harry takes Artie and Dennis to see Neville's parents at St. Mungo's. So here I was in chapter 25 needing a way to get Ron and Harry out of the hospital that didn't involve a huge fight scene, since there are going to be quite a lot of those in the near future, and, hey, Charlene! Sometimes it's better to be lucky than good.

The ambulance chase scene was actually part of the bullet-point outline of the story way back when it was supposed to have been Hermione in the hospital, much earlier in the chronology. Even though that didn't work out, I still loved the idea. I was a huge fan of The A Team and Knight Rider (the 1980's originals, not the remakes) and those shows often had multiple car chases in the same episode. I'm glad you enjoyed it, because I had a blast writing it.

Lastly, you're absolutely right. People do want Harry to step up and lead them. Harry is slowly coming around, but being who he is, it will take him a while longer...

Thanks so much for another amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Roots in Water 

10th March 2012:
It's Roots in Water here with your review!

First, let me just say that I loved, absolutely loved this chapter. It was interesting, action-packed and, perhaps best of all, funny. I had a huge smile on my face from Fiona's last line and all throughout the seen at Saint Mungo's.

I think that you did a great job with the scene at Hugo's house. I can only imagine how difficult it would be to be have to flee your home, especially when your wife didn't believe the seriousness of the threat, and I think that it was great that he didn't snap. It says a lot about his personality- I probably would have snapped with worry, with the danger of the unwelcome security officers' visit looming over my head. As well, I also understood Fiona's reaction- I'm not too sure I would have believed a person, no matter how much I loved them, if they all of a sudden said that the governement was out to get me immediately. However, I loved her reaction when the security officers blasted the door before the thirty seconds were up! It was unexpected and a very small thing to blow up about, but all the same those thirty seconds would have meant more time to plan.

As well, I feel bad for Hugo but I understand why he acted the way he did. It was highly unlikely if not impossible for them to apparate out of the situation with the wards up and he needed to get his family to safety. Hopefully he'll be able to construct another portkey so that he can help his sister leave England. If not, maybe Rose will find a way to escape herself. In fact, I'm sure she will.

I think that you came up with a very plausible plan to get Susan out of Saint Mungo's. Not being able to apparate or portkey really put a damper on their plans and I think that a muggle vehicle was their best bet. As well, I loved Charlene! She was the typical person who wants to help but then isn't as quick about their helping as they could be and was very realistic. I especially enjoyed her stalling technique- I had to reread her paragraph on the "ingenious" rearrangement of Harry and Susan's names several times before I understood it- it was very complicated. She definitely had those guards confused!

Finally, I enjoyed the car chase. It was very well done and Ron's line, "Not bad for a Friday evening," Ron replied. "If we weren't being attacked, it would be a pleasant drive.", was very funny. It definitely seemed like something he would say.

All in all, I really enjoyed this chapter and I look forward to the next one. Your action scenes were very well written and it'll be interesting to see if Harry once again picks up the mantle of leadership. He's grown a lot more mature since the last war and, even if the situation is different, the premise is essentially the same. If he does become the leader, I know he'll do a great job. Thanks for requesting!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

So I really had to put some humor into these past three chapters because the underlying action is so ominous and dark. Really terrible things are happening, and to foreshadow just a bit, they're about to get a lot worse. Without the humorous elements, this wouldn't be much fun to read or write.

It seems like every time Fiona comes up, I'm writing something that offends her sensibilities. She might not really be cut out to be part of the Weasley clan. But Hugo loves her and she loves him and they have a great family, so I expect she'll stick around. Since she was already very stressed out, I think that getting shorted on her thirty seconds just caused something to snap inside her head.

Charlene was just one of those on-the-fly inventions that makes this type of serialized story-telling so much fun. I first introduced her when Harry brought Dennis and Artie to visit Neville's parents at the hospital way back in Chapter 5, not thinking much about her at all. And as luck would have it, she was available to help with a key moment in the plot. I'm glad that you liked her. I was really afraid that she would come off as overly cliched or just goofy.

And I am so relieved that you like the car chase. That was one of those "big ideas" that I feel like readers are either going to love or hate. But I really wanted to do it. I was a big fan of several 80's action shows where car chases were always a big thing -- The A Team, Knight Rider, Magnum, PI... if you back me into a corner, I'll even admit to watching the Dukes of Hazard, just not the horrid Coy/Vance season.

The wait on the next chapter will probably be a little longer since I'm still working on it. I really got into a groove there for a while. Now, I need to go read the next chapter of Wilted Flower!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review