Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Run, Chapter 1: Newcomers
  
72 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sortinghat 

6th February 2016:
Is it called *Run* because they eat at a bad fast food place with GMO in it and have to *run* to clean it out?

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lin 

21st September 2015:
Truly the most perfect story I've ever read. All the pieces fit together so perfectly, like hand-crafted furniture. This will stay with me for a long time. Thank you.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Maelody 

5th February 2015:
This is fantastic! How did you ever come up with an idea such as this? Seriously, what a beautiful concept!

I think it's a little sad that Cedric wishes for his two friends to come to him so quickly, knowing that would mean they would be dead. But, then again, I can see his perspective of loneliness and boredom. Poor kid. Though, I love the detail oriented around the entire chapter!

Miss Trelawny was a real treat, seeing as how she could still possess her powers even in the afterlife. And Godric Gryffindor flirting with Rowena Ravenclaw, stamping on her garden as he does so, just adds so much character to this little village. It's haunting, but yet peaceful all the same. Cedric thinking about the Quidditch games makes me laugh, and him frantically putting a fence around Rowena's garden was perfect!

The station attendant should think of doing his job a little more nicely. These people just died! They're confused! They have no idea how many times he goes through this speech! Though it really adds to his character and believably. He has gone over this a hundred and one times. He knows all the common questions. He has to do it a hundred and one more times. Poor guy. Must be no fun to be the death informant. No wonder h takes a little pleasure out of it.

I like to picture the Grotta as a type of hell for the bad witches and wizards, and the Cliodna's Clock as, not exactly a heaven, but a peaceful resting place for the 'good'.

This was really well written! And I love the concept. I'm super excited to read more! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinchica08 

4th February 2015:
So I'm really sad as I had a pretty decent review written out and then my phone froze and reloaded the page only for my review to completely disappear! Oh well, I'm back and I pretty much remember exactly what I said.

First off, I want to congratulate you on having your story featured as the first book club story! I'm super excited to use this story as its one that I've been meaning to read for years but for some reason never had. But thankfully I'm here now and will get to experience this story for the first time!

I really enjoyed this first chapter. I thought that it was very well written and that you did a great job with your opening chapter! You gave us readers plenty of information without overwhelming us with it and already began evoking questions in me about this story. I'm really curious about this "island" of sorts that these characters are on for their afterlife. What is it really and what is going on there?

The characters are all really awesome. I love that we started off the story with Cedric after he has already gotten accustomed to being in the afterlife and then also bringing in the fact that Cassandra Trelawney still gets prophecies in the afterlife. I think that that is a really cool detail that I had never thought of before but now that you have brought the idea to my attention I wonder why I hadn't thought of it before because its a very smart and interesting concept. But then to move on from Cedric to Fred and Colin was also a really good idea. I loved seeing them and their confusion to the afterlife and the fact that they are actually dead. I love that Fred kinda joked about it only to find out that its real. It just really brought out his character to me.

Then the amount of description and detail that you put into this opening chapter is also really wonderful. From the fact that prophecies still exist in the afterlife to the mention of Colin's brother Dennis dying in 20 years, the crows call being an indicator for how many years a person has lived on Earth, it was just all really well thought out and it just really added a depth to your story and really makes the readers understand the amount of work that went into this!

I don't have a single negative thing to say about this chapter. It was really well done and a great beginning to your story. I'm very much interested in finding out more about this world that you are painting for us! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

 Report Review

Review #5, by horcruxxx 

5th January 2015:
Wow, I'm so glad I found your story, because it is so original and amazing. I can't wait to read more.

 Report Review

Review #6, by LiveBreatheNeedHP 

10th December 2014:
Yay!! I found this story again! I originally found it ages ago and then I lost it but I found it again and I am so happy that I did because it sounds amazing and I think about it a lot ... This story is so awesome. I love your description and your writing style, it is really really good. Love the banner, and can't wait to read more.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Karou_Marauder 

6th October 2014:
Hi there!

This is a great start. You've got me intrigued - I wonder what the races are, and who Cliodna is/was, and what the Grotta is (I'm guessing it's the bad place?) How long has Cliodna's Clock been around, anyway?

The descriptions are brilliant. I especially like the part about Rowena's roses, and the bit with Godric's cat made me laugh.

The premise of this story is so sad - and when the attendant thought Fred was George...oh dear. It's good to know, I suppose, that Dennis will live a lot longer than Colin. But 36 is still really young! :(

Let's go find out what the races are.

-Karou

 Report Review

Review #8, by findingalways 

26th June 2014:
Hiya!

So, I had heard of this story, and how great it was, quite a while ago and then after a fellow member recommended it, I couldn't help but to come check it out - and I am SO glad I did!

First off, this is such an incredibly original idea and I completely adore it! I have never read or even heard of a story with this plot, but it is pure genius and I am so glad this plot bunny found it's way into your brain!

Your writing is stupendous. I enjoy reading things that aren't chock-full of grammatical errors that make it hard to understand, and yours is clear of them for all that I could tell. Plus, your writing style is perfect. You're detailed without overdoing it so much that it takes away from the story.

The setting of the story was so intriguing. It's a totally interesting and new take on life after death and the whole village was so well described. I felt like I was really there! Everything from the clock to the way the crow caws once for every year of the newly deceased'a life, that was genius.

Cedric captured my attention from the first paragraph of the story. He's so three dimensional and interesting and I enjoyed what I saw from his perspective. I also liked the casual mention of Sirius - nice touch.

Adding Godric and Rowena were very nice touches - I didn't think they would be included as well!

I loved that you added Gideon and Fabian - Molly's brothers - as well.

Then Colin was cute, although I doubt I will ever be able to stop from seeing him as the eleven year old he was in Harry'd first year. I still imagine him small and goofy, yet sweet.

Now, my favorite, adding Fred. Gosh, I adore him so much, and you captured him perfectly. He's a personal favorite character of mine - *sobs as I remember he died in DH* - and he's already who I want to win the competition. He's so great, and I loved how he thought it was a hallucination.

Now, the station attended was just utterly great, I loved him. You could tell he's helped a lot of people and gotten a lot of the same questions and that he's bored. He's a little cold, but I enjoyed his characterization a lot.

Well, I think I've written a novel length review so I'll call it quits now. Great, phenomenal job, you're an incredible writer!
10/10

 Report Review

Review #9, by StoryWebber 

9th April 2014:
Amazing!!!
This story is wonderful... very creative idea, and a very good style of writing!
It's one of the best fanfictions I've ever read!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Courtney Dark 

28th July 2013:
Hey there!

So I've actually read this whole story a while ago, but I may or may not have been reminiscing about it a couple of days ago, and remembering all my favourite parts, and I couldn't help myself - I just had to come back and re-read the whole thing, because it really is such a creative, imaginative, unique story which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Anyway, I just thought I'd leave a review letting you know I'm about to enjoy your story for the second time - and I'm not one for re-reading fanfiction, so this is big for me!

Oh, and by the way this is the perfect opening chapter! The little details that you include are so great - and I absolutely love the way you characterize Cedric Diggory. I've seen other writers depict him as a very bland, one-dimensional character.

Anyway, TTFN! I have a craving for the next chapter!

Courtney:)

 Report Review

Review #11, by loveology 

26th July 2013:
Okay, so I'll start at the beginning, and just say that that's an excellent choice of quote at the beginning. :) Like, it really set the mood and all that. :P

Okay, so this entire idea of having a story take place after death has been done before, but not in this way. This is creative and imaginative and massive kudos for coming up with it. Also, I love how Cedric seemed so enthused at the idea of seeing people he knew but also dreading it obviously because that means they died but yeah, and i love the slew of familiar names too! It makes me feel more knowledgeable about the story and like i know more than some of the characters even. ;)

I also really like how you ended the chapter with a cliffhanger! It left me wanting more so much that, I must confess, I went through some of the chapters for sneak peaks. I still plan on reading it though, don't worry!

All in all, I'm really excited and this story seems grand and I think it definitely deserved a dobby award, heck, maybe you should change names and get it published, i'd read. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by soliloquy 

27th June 2013:
I...love this. I reread the first chapter to remind myself what on earth I've missed in terms of small details.

And honestly, I quite forgot how well written and amazing it is. Though, I'm not surprised because well, you're Sarah. As in, you're amazing and awesome.

I love the detail you put into this world -- the description is rich and inventive and really allows the reader to imagine what sort of place Cliodna’s Clock is.

And I love the description of Cedric's daily life, as well as all sorts of juicy tidbits about the inhabitants. Everything is so realistic and wonderful. I can't wait to catch up on where I left off...

P.S. I suck at reviews...most of them will be mostly squeeing. I hope you don't mind ;D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Debra20 

18th April 2013:
I've been meaning to read this for such a long time now, and now here I am. Ready to immerse myself in this mystical world I've heard so much about!

Wow...just wow! I feel like I've fallen in Wonderland and I'm Alice, discovering a new world and following favourite characters adapt to this new world. It's amazing what imagination can do, and clearly yours is very rich. Otherwise, there'd be no way to create such an amazing start of something that I'm sure is going to be a grand journey.

I'm so happy to see my dead favourite characters again. Setting aside my sadness at their deaths in the books, I've always wondered (as I do in real life as well) what happened to them after they died. Did JK ever imagine what was next for them? I've allowed myself to believe that she has because that particular quote you used, the one Albus Dumbledore said is a very strong hint in that direction. At least that's what I like to tell myself because I can't bare the thought that death is the final stage of one's life and there is nothing beyond that.

I recently read your reply to the "Conflicting constructive criticism" thread on the forums and I remember you said that your reviewers usually fall into two categories: the ones that tell you that too much description can detract the plot and you should tone it down, and the ones that love it. Well, I will join the team that praises you endlessly for your descriptions. Not only the ones about the setting or the surroundings but the descriptions of the character's thoughts and feelings as well. I think description is an essential part of story-telling and one can never truly go overboard with it (well, you CAN overdo it but I'm certain this is not your case). Your story especially needs a great deal of description because you are presenting the readers with a whole new world, unlike what we've ever seen before and if we aren't able to imagine how everything looks in the 'beyond', we will only get confused when trying to picture it ourselves, and THAT would be a real turn off.

I'm really excited about "Run". I am really eager to know more about these races and what they mean. Can't wait to find out :D Amazing start!

Author's Response: Hi, Debra! Eeep, thank you for stopping by! One of the first things I hear from new readers is that they've heard of this story before and come into it with somewhat elevated expectations, which quite honestly intimidates the beans out of me.

While this story is advertised as an action/adventure, since there is quite a bit of dueling, at its heart this story is really about "living on" after death. It's about all the characters we've heard about who have passed on, trying desperately to scrap together some semblance of a new life. Some people just can't move on, and it destroys them. Some people move on at such a speed that they forget all about life on Earth. The different ways these many characters react to their new immortality is what "Run" is all about. I really, really hope you enjoy the journey. :)

Eee, I'm so glad to hear that my imagery wasn't overwhelming! Sometimes I get so excited to paint a scene that I forget to stop doing it. I wanted this to be a visual experience and I want readers to become familiarized with every square inch of Cliodna's Clock.

Thank you so much for your review! I hope you continue to read and enjoy. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rainpixie 

16th April 2013:
Wow!! What a unique and creative story idea! I am so glad I found this story!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you've stumbled upon it. :) I hope you enjoy Run!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Cianna 

20th March 2013:
Ooh! This is a very exciting concept. I'm excited to see how this will progress.

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you continue to enjoy it. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

25th January 2013:
An absolute amazing first chapter! It's nothing I ever expected. Cannot wait to get to the next to see what happens! :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Firstly, so so so sorry for taking so long to respond to all of your fabulous reviews. It's an author's dream to have such a dedicated reader leave such wonderful feedback. :) Thank you for reading and reviewing 'Run'!

 Report Review

Review #17, by HarrietHopkirk 

3rd January 2013:
Eee!! This is exciting stuff. Obviously prompted by Gina's spoilers in the logs, here I am. And I don't know why I didn't get here sooner. This is awesome! I love everything - even the little details like Godric and his sonnets and Phineas and his portrait and the depot man.

I love it.

Author's Response: Hattie I suck forever for taking so long to respond to your reviews. -hangs head- BUT I AM HERE ~

Godric and his sonnets. ♥ He's a diva. He likes to show off. The depot attendant was a personal favorite of mine. He's pretty sassy.

Thank you for swinging by and reading this, Hattie! I hope you like it. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by long_live_luna_bellatrix 

30th December 2012:
What really did me in this chapter was your pacing. It was absolutely flawless. All the descriptions rumbled up to these fabulous discoveries, all the speeches settled perfectly, all the events lined up with ease. I can think of few other stories that drag one in so well!

I've heard about this story a lot, and I've read bits and pieces but I do want to come and make my way (perhaps slowly, I'm afraid) through it. It appears to be a fantastic example of great writing coupled with an incredibly original thought.

You also seem to have Cedric down pat. So often he's the darling boy, or the perfect prefect, or the fallen hero-- here he's just a well-meaning, enthusiastic young boy, and I think the image really suits him. To me, this is how he must have been like before the Triwizard Tournament started and before Harry liked Cho and saw him as Cho's boyfriend. He seems, above all, like a nice guy. I really enjoyed reading him.

Really curious about the rules of the afterlife here-- especially how that man knows when Dennis will die. And at 35, too! Not to mention Cliodna's clock and the Grotta, and everything else you mentioned in your summary. On the whole, it sounds like a story well-deserving of it's reputation around here. I'm excited to see how things play out!

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, there's nothing that intimidates me more than to have a reader coming in saying that they've heard about this story before. It worries me that expectations will be higher and I'll end up disappointing. I really hope you continue to like this!

Cedric's characterization was inspired by TenthWeasley and her story "Leaping Obstacles", and I think I wrestled the hardest with his characterization. We really knew so little about him, except that he was a Seeker and a Champion. So I'm relieved that you like how I've written him so far.

Cliodna's Clock has a lot of mysteries - its mysteries sometimes overshadow the actual Duels, as well as everyone's personal issues; the Grotta will be explored in further detail later on. Thank you so much for reading and for your glowing review! It made me smile.


 Report Review

Review #19, by LovlyRita 

8th December 2012:
I can totally see why this story beat mine in the Dobby's this year for best Action Adventure :P

The concept of this is out of this world amazing. Seriously. I absolutely adore it. It grabs you and pulls you in. I really like the way it starts off with Cedric, the way he is looking forward to people dying, which is a bit bizarre, admittedly, but understandable. And I loved the mention of Gideon and Fabian, they are two of my favorite minor characters, so that was really cool :)

I also really like the intake guy. He is very interesting, I like his nonchalant attitude. It must be so annoying dealing with people who have no idea what is going on every single day, but on this day in particular it must be exhausting. I honestly wonder what will happen when Bellatrix Lestrange DOES come through?! I mean, she be crazy, how o earth are they going to get her to where she is supposed to go?

And poor Fred, during this time, having just died without any idea. And still being mistaken for George, even after death! One thing I found interesting was how very quickly he seemed to forget what he was doing right before he died.

I honestly cannot wait to see what this world will unfurl and the things you have planned. I really haven't been this excited to read a story in a long time.

Your writing style is pristine, with specific attention to detail. I just adored the whole thing. Great job :)

Author's Response: From what I hear, your story was excellent competition! I still can't believe that I won. I'm so happy to hear that you liked this first chapter! Starting off with Cedric was my way of introducing the island without having to explain it in too much detail - as seen through the eyes of a newcomer.

The depot attendant is one of my favorite minor characters in this story. He changes form according to whoever's looking at him. He looks different to everyone.

Bellatrix probably had to be magically restrained or something. I would hate to be the person who had to tell her what to do.

Thank you so much for reading and for your wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by rhysus2008 

18th November 2012:
Interesting story. I'm not sure what to think of it yet, but certainly an original first chapter. I never really thought of how someone would write a story with all the dead characters. I'm a little confused about some things but I'm sure I'm supposed to be, it is only the first chapter after all.

I'll tell you now that I am not a fan of slash. If two characters aren't gay, and they are written to be, I find that it ruins the characters and with all previous experience, I haven't been proven wrong.

Not a criticism, just a warning that I may not like that part of the story. But as long as it doesn't dominate the story, I may be able to enjoy this regardless.

I'm definitely intrigued.

Rhys.

Author's Response: Hey, there! I'm answering this quickly to assure you that there is no non-canon slash. There isn't any explicit slash, actually, just the brief allusion to Gellert Grindelwald and Albus Dumbledore's relationship. I tried to make all of the characters as canon as possible. :) Their situation, and the afterlife, has undoubtedly changed them - some more than others - but I feel that any changes are a natural evolution. That said, I would leave a little room for an open mind. ;)

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by potterfan226 

21st October 2012:
What a unique story line. Seriously, kudos to you! Off to read the rest, can't wait to see what happens. Great first chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm pleased you liked it. :) I hope you enjoy the rest!

Thank you for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #22, by bob 

18th October 2012:
It was really interesting. I like the idea so far

Author's Response: Thanks! I hope you continue to like it.

Thank you for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #23, by CambAngst 

22nd September 2012:
Hey!

So I have been meaning to check out this story for the longest time. Everyone raves about it and about you as an author. To some extent, I avoided reading anything about it because I wanted to come into it completely fresh. So far, I'm really glad I gave myself the opportunity!

You have an amazing knack for blending sensory details in counter-intuitive but very meaningful ways. I'm talking about the way that you sort of freely mix sight, sound, smell and sensation when you describe scenes and events. It's a pretty amazing technique, and I felt instantly envious of it. It allows you to utilize extra dimensions when you paint the settings and events, and also makes it so that you pretty much never run out of adjectives.

The premise of this story -- at least what I think it is -- is unlike anything else I've ever seen in HP fan fic. I'm going to guess just a bit, but it seems to me as though all the "good" characters end up in Cliodna's Clock (a brilliant name for a town, by the way) and the "bad" ones end up in Grotta? The nearest thing to the concept that even comes to mind is a pretty amazing Star Wars fan fic called Emperor's End by Brendon Wahlberg.

Some of the ideas you're throwing out so far seem like total winners. Cedric Diggory playing Quidditch with Sirius Black (and getting mad because he cheats). Phineas Nigellus Black sort of transitioning back and forth between this afterlife and his portrait existence. And now Fred and Colin arriving to discover their new reality. You've set a magnificent table. I am really intrigued to see where you take this.

As I said at the outset, your writing to magnificent. Rich, textured, eloquent, and nuanced. You do a terrific job of working important information into the flow of the plot instead of piling on a lot of awkward exposition. I'm still so blown away by the way you mix up your descriptive adjectives that I have a hard time putting it into words. You are a fantastic writer.

I'll cut myself off before I gush any more. This is a terrific beginning and I'm eager to read more. And I shall!

Author's Response: Hi!

Egahh, that really terrifies me, to be honest. I know from experience that after hearing about a certain story over and over again, my expectations reach an impossible point. I get nervous whenever I hear someone talking about Run because I worry that when others try it, they'll think it's overrated.

Sensory blending is pretty deeply ingrained in my writing habits, and I haven't fully realized this until you pointed it out! But it's definitely true, now that I reflect on it. Sometimes a sound could be better described by a taste, and vice versa. I mix colors in just about everything, too. I get this weird mindset that if I don't replicate exactly what I see in my head word for word on-screen, the result won't be as vivid as I want it to be - so I stop frequently to paint descriptions so that readers know precisely what I want them to see.

The Grotta and Cliodna's Clock acquire their residents in ways that are dangerously subjective, which is something you will find out more about much later. It's not divided evenly between good and bad, I think, but that's being attempted here by the person deciding who goes where.

The premise! I always feel like I'm misleading people because I take, like, twelve characters to lead into the Devil's Duel, which is the bulk of what is advertised about this story. Originally the Devil's Duel took up most of the focal attention, but underlying plot points started snowballing; by the end, there is a lot more going on than just the tournament. I'd like to think there's a little bit of something in this story for everyone, so I really, really hope you enjoy this!

I feel so bad for Cedric. He's been waiting a very long time to have real friends again.

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving me such wonderful reviews! You of course do not have to review at all, and I'm very appreciative that you took the time to do so. If I'm slow at responding, it's because I very stupidly decided to take a break on review responding for two weeks and the result of doing so killed me. My backlog is so scary now, I think it's started to grow teeth.

Again, thank you!!!

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #24, by ginny_malfoy1231 

15th August 2012:
I love it. Honestly, the part where Colin asked about his brother made me want to cry!
10/10

Author's Response: Aww. Poor Colin! He was just a baby; I'm not sure if I can forgive JKR for killing him. :(

Thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by xelha horse 

18th July 2012:
Wow. I'm at a loss for words for how amazing this is! When the banner first caught my eye, I knew I had to read it, because what the heck was Cedric, Snape, Slytherin, Ravenclaw, the Lupins, and Sirius doing in a story together? I'm so glad I stumbled upon this, and have a lovely afternoon ahead of me to devour it. This first chapter just seemed full of new things that I can't wait for Cedric to explore. And I like the bit about Phineas Black, and how the book says George not Fred, and how the station guy was eaten by nundu -- and just everything! ahhh, so excited! Must run and read some more! Thanks for the lovely story!

Author's Response: It's a very strange cast, for sure! XD I jumped at the chance to write about a place where they're all grouped together. Thank you for telling me those details you enjoyed - it's rewarding to hear specific bits. I rather liked the nundu part, as well. ^ ^

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I hope you continue to enjoy. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>