Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Off the Rails, Chapter 10: ten
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by onestop_hpfan18 

30th July 2016:
Ahh! I knew James was bound to slip up eventually.. but after that cliffhanger, I'm left wanting to read on now. Gah. -races off to read ch 11-

Author's Response: Silly James! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by gigi 

31st August 2014:
So what happened to Ron and Hermione? After 10 chapters that included a family wedding and their son's game, they're blatantly MIA. They're not goners are they? Nice story though.

Author's Response: I'll be the first to hold my hands up and say I'm not very good at juggling a large cast. In the beginning I was making a concerted effort to include all the Weasleys, but that soon fell by the wayside as other plot developments took over. They don't just vanish though, they will crop up again! Thanks for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by LavenderBlue 

18th May 2014:
Brigid & James' friendship is such a beautiful thing. Brigid is the best, period, even though she forgoes James' advice and greets Carlotta with a severely snarky remark. I was holding my breath during their meeting. I really wanted the two to like each other, and now I've got my wish granted. :)

It's so fascinating reading the comments from James' fam & friends, over and over again, about the dangers of dating a Muggle and the Statute of Secrecy, blah, blah, especially when I'm in the midst of KYD, with purebloods warning each other off from Muggleborns and halfbloods in much the same way. It's funny how that door swings both ways, isn't it? Because as much as I'm sure most of James' acquaintances don't mean to be xenophobic, they really are. Then again, we're all a little xenophobic, aren't we?

Wow, Ryan. What a class act. Lol. I love how Rose really does take after her mother, though. Clearly SOMEONE at a table of drunken magicfolk in a Muggle setting ought to be a little worried, and Rosie is just the person for the job.

Awe. Team Carlotta and James to the rescue, thwarting Brigid from getting low over what a bleepity bleep Freddie is being, as usual. I really like that they're both well aware of how to look out for her. I also find it highly adorable that the Fam goes to Hugo's games.

This line: "I'm not at all big-headed, I'm just confident in my ability." Hahaha. Love it. It's so James. And it's quite a bit Harry, too, m'thinks. :)

Kreacher cameo! I like how you worked him into the story (as if you didn't already have to seamlessly work in every Potter-Weasley ever!). It's little touches like this that endear the story to me even more and make James' world that much more real. Wuv wuv.

AND OMG. I KNEW IT HAD TO HAPPEN. Everyonnne warning James that he'd break the Statute of Secrecy, and sure enough, he has. EEP. What shall transpire?!?!

Fantastic chapter!

Author's Response: Oh, Brigid. The voice of reason in hers and James' friendship - because he has none whatsoever. She and Carlotta have the capability to get on very well - magic not withstanding that is.

It was actually really uncomfortable to write these conversations with James' family, when they were all trying to stop him seeing Carlotta. Because while I knew they didn't mean to be xenophobic, it really doesn't sound good - "stay away from the Muggle". Yeah, friendly. But they have their reasons, and at least James understands that. Even if he doesn't LISTEN.

One thing Harry and James do share is that ability to value their strengths and weaknesses without getting arrogant about those strengths. Although James isn't always this good at self-assessment, the poor guy...

Oh Kreacher, he's been such a darling to write into this, bless him. He'll pop up again!

...it happened. OF COURSE. Thanks for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by slytherinchica08 

15th March 2014:
Oh my goodness gracious this chapter is just so not even fair! This is the chapter I was going to end at for the night being that it's after one am but now with that ending there is no way I could just stop here! I absolutely need to continue reading so I can find out what James will do next! Obviously Carlotta found out that James is a wizard and I just need to know how it ends up going down! I just can't even word right now! I'm complete mush at your story right now and all I can think about is hitting the next button so I can keep reading which I think I'm going to do right now! Great job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: BWAHAHA cliffhanger o'clock! This chapter made me squee with joy :) Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Slide 

18th May 2012:
Oh, JAMES. You were warned.

Author's Response: James doesn't take warnings very well. You may have picked this up.

 Report Review

Review #6, by ForTheLoveOfWords 

10th March 2012:
Oh my Merlin. I've been grounded for a while and just got to read this...dying. I absolutely loved the interacting between Carlotta and James's crew but SHE FOUND OUT. OR NOT REALLY BECAUSE SHE DOESN'T EXACTLY KNOW WHATS GOING ON YET BUT STILL SHE SAW THE PICTURE AND THAT APPARATING AND AH. I'm sorry. I just had to get that out.

Author's Response: HAHA. Yeah, it's all gotten crazy. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by MargaretLane 

3rd March 2012:
Yikes. The end of this chapter really shocked me. And it shouldn't have, because earlier when he first told her about the key, I was thinking "that really isn't a good idea". But it still didn't occur to me that she might be in the flat, even when Cordelia started screeching. I actually sort of thought it might be one of Harry's enemies. I'm sure he's made a few in the last 25 years or whatever it is he's been working as an Auror!

I'm really looking forward to reading the next chapter and finding out how James deals with this!

Author's Response: Yeah, there were a couple of little hints in the chapter that something was about to go wrong pretty sharpish :P But yeah, this is an exciting part of the story for me to write, cause this is where it all starts happening, as I've said, so I'm hoping the chapters will start to come thick and fast now :) Thanks muchos, and thank you so much for beta reading all my stuff, it's muchly appreciated :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Leela 

14th February 2012:
I love it. Your writing is so, so good! They're witty and teasing and just make me smile. I like your characters.
I can't say I didn't expect Carlotta to find out... but still, I was kind of taken aback by these last paragraphs. Nice, the way you did that, there!

Author's Response: Aaah, thank you so much! It really means a lot, and I'm really glad you're enjoying so far :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by ms4aisa 

14th February 2012:
oh, wow! you have to update asap! :) I can't wait, not after such a cliffy... the whole story is awesome and I love Charlotte! great work :)

Author's Response: Don't worry, hopefully I won't keep you waiting too long! Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by hermioneism 

13th February 2012:
:) Love it. Now its going to get fun. Good chapter. :)

Author's Response: WORD to that! Haha. Thank you! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review