Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
35 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilverMoonFairy 

7th August 2016:
So, I love Clemence's take on the school and their sorting and she's absolutely right! One thing I love having in my stories are inter-house friendships, because really, the only reason Harry and Ron made it through school without dying was because Hermione should have been a Ravenclaw. Chalk it up to the Hat getting one wrong for a change.

I'm still in desperate need for this Dom/Scorpius/Pickett thing to be cleared up. And what does Rose think she's doing anyway? A war? Well, crap. I didn't think this story would get that heavy. I've still got 17 more chapters!

Found one little technical:
His mouth open like a goldfish and he is a sliver away from toppling off his chair.

And that's all!
-Liz

Author's Response: Exactly! I think the basic concept of sorting based on similarity is flawed! Surely we can do better than to listen to a talking hat, even if it's sassy and old. It even hinders the suspension of disbelief required to think that all of our protagonists come from the same house.

A story about fangirls wouldn't be complete without a shipping war, would it? ;)


 Report Review

Review #2, by my_voice_rising 

19th October 2014:
Hi Gina! I've finally (finally) gotten around to reading more of this wonderful story. And I've binge-read the last 7 chapters in one day. Just wanted to pop in and say that it's brilliant. Your ability to be succinct while also setting a scene or telling backstory (and still leave enough up to the reader) is really nice. At first I didn't quite ~get~ Clemence--like how are you mean but also nice what are you. But she's a wonderfully developed character. Just wanted to drop by and say hello before I read on!

Author's Response: Thanks!! :3 Hopefully you caught the edited version of the chapters, which still aren't up to par but I will leave them be because NEW chapters need to be written. And an OF.

I see Clemence as an angry intellectual, which is what I draw a lot of inspiration from. She gives reasons for everything she does and makes herself seem right; it's a rather manipulative way of presenting herself! There is much more of her character to come c: the fun has barely started!

♥!


 Report Review

Review #3, by spreaddapoo93 

3rd December 2013:
Your chess metaphors have killed me. Checkmate. That's it. I'm dead.

Despite this obvious dilemma, I will sit down *slightly* patiently to write this review.

Ahem, you should know my thoughts on Clemence's "elaborate, metaphorical daydreams"--I mean, even her FANTASIES have literary integrity! Only Clemence... I do love her very much. I think I admire her view on herself. I think it was in a previous chapter (my memory is fantastically terrible), where she said that not Albus, nobody, would be her downfall but herself? I like that idea of taking responsibility over her own life, where even the bad things that happen to her are HER FAULT, things she must realise is her own doing. As troublesome as that philosophy may be, I think it's very fitting and maybe even noble, in a narcissistic way, for a journalist like Clemence.

A war...? GINA, A WAR?! As the first first-person account of Rose Weasley, through Clemence, she really makes her presence known. By golly, she's as fearful as Dom, although perhaps not as socially butterfly-like. It was perfectly timed and insightful to have Dom's perspective on the feud between herself and Rose; and all the more crazy to have Rose spring out of the blue like that!

By and by, I am absolutely stunned, chapter after chapter... You are a GODDESS!

Much love,
~spreaddapoo

P.S. I love your literary allusions, etc. that you use for titles. They make your fic all the more interesting :D

Author's Response: LOL omg my terrible chess metaphors have charmed *someone.* In my mind I make a lot of apologies for them because I think they're overused but chess pieces are just so pretty, like playing cards. Even in word form, they're pretty.

Clemence is even elitist in her dreams. Less metaphorical dreams aren't up to par, see. And YES, her judgement over herself is both her strength and flaw and a major driving quality in everything she does, from refusing help to the absoluteness of her beliefs, etc. It's one of the main traits I share with her--runs in my family, really--so I totally understand how ingrained it is in her. The responsibility bit is spot on; in some ways, I like doing things on my own so that my mistakes only affect me, and I tend not to take risks unless I feel like I can succeed, because everything I do is a show of myself. Slightly narcissistic that, too. You can see where a lot of Clemence comes from, eh? 8D

♥! Bahah, I wish I could remember more sparkly literary metaphorical things; I've been away from literature and history for a shameful amount of time after four years in a science major.


 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm 

6th September 2013:
Hello again!

The two short sections at the beginning of this chapter were really great! I love how on edge Clemence is now because itís so funny to watch, and I canít wait to see how this ends up. Then the little rumours about Scorpius and Dom made me crack up as I could sense Clemenceís silent annoyance about that happening and I couldnít help but feel a little too.

Dom with a Beaterís bat = some scary 12+ word! The old hour rivalry appearing in this chapter was great! I really love how youíve kept it to a minimum throughout but of course Quidditch would cause it to resurface. BURN! (in reference to Clemence saying the thing about Scorpius in front of others) Poor Clemence sheís probably going to need to get herself committed with all this recent craziness! I really like the revelation about Dom and Rose though as it helped me understand them a lot more than I did before. Also, yay for Hooch still being there!

Hmm, so another strange Albus/Clemence occurrence and I still havenít come up with a ship name for the pair. I liked how Dom got a little bit of revenge with saying that the Witch Hunt was now over, it made me laugh a little too darkly. The analogy of the chess game was great and I loved how it played on with Pickett. I wonder what scheme those two will come up with in regards to Albus and Dom, or whether they will at all. With those two you never know!

Oh, god! Angry Rose is really coming out now! This is not good. I donít even want to know what rage she can wage (see what I did :P) against Dom. Another really fantastic chapter! ♥

-Kiana

Author's Response: I remember this chapter being the first one after a long hiatus, and it's when things start getting a little sinister and too close for comfort for Clemence. She's always been the one who has every bit under control, the one who knows everything so far in the narrative. But now the ugly bits are coming out. She isn't the one in charge, when it comes to her and Dom's relationship, and I think that's an important distinction when it comes to two such assertive characters. She also has doubts about what to do with Dom, but fails to push her agenda. It's the first real show of cowardliness from her, to her self-proclaimed best friend no less, and it insinuates a lot about how Clemence treats close relationships.

People like to go for Almence or Clembus for the shipname. I personally prefer Clambus for the mental image :D



 Report Review

Review #5, by Misschievous12 

23rd June 2013:
I am still reading! lol I know, it's taking me all day, but great chapter! ^_^

Author's Response: Bahaha take your time! Once you get to the end, you'll have to wait for updates!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hedwig_Pie 

26th November 2012:
al and clemence's banter is the funniest thing to read, it's definetly one of the best when concerning sexual tension. i really like the pair together, they seem just as messed up as each other and i cant wait to read the date/non-date. WHAT WILL HAPPEN? secretly, i think al has a hidden agenda, that sneaky devil. greaty story, can't wait till the next chapter !

Author's Response: It's so fun to write characters with such fight in them :D similar in how they act, but totally different opinions. Heh, in my stories, it's more likely than not that people have hidden agendas xD

thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Elfo 

15th September 2012:
Great chapter! It was quite nice to see some of the whole Rose/Dom thing going on from a different perspective.

Author's Response: Thanks! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #8, by slytherinchica08 

12th September 2012:
Wow, this chapter really starts setting things into motion for even more drama and fun! I can't wait to see what is going to happen between Rose and Dom and of course Al and Clemence! You've really got me hooked into this story! EEK and next chapter is the date not date thing and i'm so excited to see how that turns out.. if it will end up more like a date or not. I thought this chapter was wonderful and very well done! It does a great job of setting up the major conflict between Rose and Dom and I cant wait to see where you take it from here! Great Job!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: It was a bit of a setup chapter, I remember I wrote this after a huuuge hiatus, so I got a bunch of new ideas in that time. It's still taking me forever to use Rose and Dom to their full potential, but I love writing their feud, because it's the sort of senseless fighting I see time and time again, heh.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Serendipity1234 

14th June 2012:
I love this so far!!
One thing I noticed-
"I don't realize how cold it is until how warm I am now"
I think you should edit & correct this sentence because it seems like a fantastic metaphor. Kind of how she's changing and noticing different things with Al in her life and whatnot.
This sentence is just after Albus plops his cloak on her head.
And you could probably fix it to something along the lines of...I didn't realize how cold I had been until the warmth of the cloak set in.
Without the cloak I hadn't realized how cold I'd been.
The cloak's new warmth made the cold stand out, though I hadn't noticed it before.
Or some more eloquent version of that. It's just kind of a choppy/ambiguous/weird-grammar type sentence right now. I can't point out exactly what's wrong with it, though, because I'm no grammar genius and I haven't a clue how to put it in words.
Anyway I'm hooked on this story and I'm looking forward to reading the rest of what you have so far :)
The whole thing seemed relatively plausible until I reached the Q.G.A. stampede part. That was sort of weird and unexpected, but it really helped move the plot along. I hadn't been expecting ridiculous thigs to that extent because none had happened yet, but I thought it was funny and I quickly warmed up to the little shift in...er realistic-ness? Haha.
I like your characters and how Clemence, Dom, and Henry are all so perceptive and intuitive. It's fun to read Clemence's metaphorical and analytical observations of the people around her (and herself!! Haha). She's intense but she also has this fun, sort of reckless side that makes her endearing.
Update soon :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for pointing that out! I haven't been editing etc. very much, so I've missed a lot of things. I think I'm going to shift it around too.

I'm so glad you like it! Haha, yeah, a huge thing about etc. is just the outrageousness of it all, which I suppose is hit-or-miss depending on what people prefer to read. Some readers like the romance, others like the commentary, so it can be read as one huge satire or not. I'm just happy to give people something they like, for one reason or another.

What I love most about Clemence's insight is how it also gives insight on people like herself too, through the way she acts. She's quite hypocritical at times, or she's aware of her own weaknesses and justifies them away.

♥ thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #10, by -A 

4th June 2012:
Okay im sorry but Doms excuse for why she and Rose feud is kindaÖweak. I get she looks down on u but come on Dom has shown time and time again shes tough so why on Earth didnt she confront Rose earlier?!

Author's Response: I think it is, too. Dom reflects a lot of what I've seen in girls, because there's sort of this pressure to "be above" other girls, especially those who have different sets of values. I see it everywhere in on tv. Both her and Clemence have to face the same questions - is what they do right? are they just cowards? They both talk a big talk.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by luna_lovely 

1st February 2012:
Really enjoying this story. i love the playfullness in clemence and albus' conversations. it's like a huge build up of sexual tension. Eagerly awaiting your update!

Author's Response: Thanks :D It's been loads of fun writing them. I could have them banter all day. Hopefully I can update next week or the week after.

 Report Review

Review #12, by The other Twin 

1st February 2012:
On another note, I love this. xD I've probably said it before, that I hate reading WIPs because of the chance that they'll go inactive, but you just write so well! The only author I've read on HPFF in months. Keep up the good work! Can't wait until the next chapter! Your loyal fan, The other Twin

Author's Response: D'aw thanks :D Sorry that this seems to disappear quite a bit, but I do have every intention of finishing it (and I have the majority of this planned out). My goal is to update this and Capers at least once a month this year :) Thank you so much for sticking around!

 Report Review

Review #13, by The other Twin 

1st February 2012:
Gah, I hope school gets better for you!

Author's Response: It's quite hectic, but it's not so bad. Once I get into the groove of school, I start handling my time a lot better ^__^ I do plan to update /at least/ two things this month, so hopefully that goes well.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Jess the Enthusiast 

24th January 2012:
Oh my God, this chapter was amazing! You write so well; I think I probably tell you this in all of my reviews but it's true. I would totally buy an original novel of yours :D
And so yeah, I love this chapter, your writing, Clemence's wit and all around awesomeness, aaand I want Albus for myself :D
Can't wait for the next update! 10/10 :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :) And oh gosh, that really means a lot! I'd never dream of publishing anything.

Hehehe, you all don't reaaally want Albus. He's too high maintenance. Enigmas make brains hurt.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #15, by peppersweet 

23rd January 2012:
I AM FINALLY HERE TO READ THIS BEAUTIFUL THING.

Oh Clemence, are you a raging alcoholic now? Explains how days waste before your eyes. Or maybe you're an Albusoholic.
Oh there's tea, is there? SURE. TEA. cough secret stash of logan lerman photos cough

'No matter how I fight the thought, it stakes into my brain until I heed it. That jump in my veins: was it perfectly timed with the crash or did it happen a moment after, when I thought I saw him?
A hot flash seeps into my cheeks as I relive all of last week in a second. My eyes squeeze shut.
You're slipping.'

- plz can I just say that this is the best little paragraph I have read for a long long time. YOU CAPTURE THE...THENESS BETWEEN ALBY AND CLEMMY SO WELL.

pink unicorn knickers brb dying this guy wears /knickers/ that are /pink/

I did always question the sorting hat's judgement with putting all the brawny sorts together and whatnot.

He is not boy trouble. He is a chess game. - this is where I see Clemence as Ariadne with her little bishop totem. LOGEH GIVE HER THE KICK.

WOAH. That is a damn good symbolic daydream...

...as Pickett just pointed out. Ahem.

OH THE METAPHORS THE BEAUTIFUL METAPHORS.

Excellent excellent excellent. This fic just keeps getting better. Cannae wait for the date and the twilight levels of frenzy. ♥ ♥ ♥

Author's Response: HAAAY.

omg omg Albusholic loool. AND JULIA. IXNAY ON THE LERMAN PHOTOS.

/THE/NESS? I'LL TAKE IT! Mindgames, man. Hurting brains are amorous.

pink fashions are all the rage.

THE HOUSES JUST DON'T MAKE SENNNSE. I MEAN, HAVE WIZARDS EVEN LOOKED INTO BASIC EDUCATIONAL THEORIES. Well, considering, probably not.

omg, etception. the final twist.

♥ I CANNAE WAIT TO WRITE IT.


 Report Review

Review #16, by lily_evans_ginny_weasley 

19th January 2012:
This chapter was incredibly well-written, as always. I felt like I didn't follow everything that was going on - there is so much depth to some of the characters' relationships that I'm pretty sure I missed some of the intricacies. But that's nothing to do with your writing (it's excellent) and everything to do with me forgetting some of the stuff from previous chapters!

I did love Clemence, as always - she is becoming more and more obsessed with Albus, even though she thinks he's purposefully leading her on. She is an excellent change from so many funny/quirky girls we get in next gen (not that I don't love them, because I do!)

Looking forward to more, and I do love this so I think I'll have to go and reread!! Thanks :)

Author's Response: The info on Dom and Rose will continue trickling in :) I like to leave a lot of it to guesswork as well, but there'll definitely be more in the chapters to come.

I love writing that part about Clemence! Terrible situations are so tempting sometimes :D just for that bit of excitement and curiosity.

Thank you! ♥ I really appreciate your review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Captain Kill Wormtail (Not Logged In) 

18th January 2012:
Ooh! Clemence is fantasizing.. What can that lead to?!

Ah, Pickett, although not continuous, he is amazing and awesome!

10/10
Update soon!

Author's Response: Never to anything good, but most definitely entertaining ;)

I'll try!


 Report Review

Review #18, by SunSation Gal 07 

17th January 2012:
Oh, this was a very good chapter to read when sick. Made me smile and laugh out loud, which I really needed today. Especially loved ' pink unicorn knickers.' hehe. Love the teasing between Clemence and Albus. And Twilight levels of frenzy coming? Oh boy. :P

Author's Response: Hee, glad you like :D Pink is a fashion statement ofc. He will defend that to the ends of the earth.

Oh yes, when I say Twilight-level, I mean -Twilight-Level- Signs. Shirts. Punching.


 Report Review

Review #19, by nightingale14 

17th January 2012:
Haha, I love the excerpt "I'm an exception, of course."
Sure, Clemence, sure. :)
I am so glad you finally-FINALLY-updated on this one--it's is one of my favorites and I love it.


Author's Response: Clemence is so ~calm and cool~ and totally not fantasizing, of course.

Thank you! :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by A. 

17th January 2012:
It's always refreshing to read a new chapter of this. All the metaphors floating around make me happy~
Anxiously waiting the next chapter! Love your work.

Author's Response: Thank you! :D I think you're the first person who mentioned all those metaphors! Those bits make me happy too 8D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Crescent Moon  

17th January 2012:
Great chapter!! I loved it!!
So funny XD
I really can't wait to see how the war's going to go :D
I'm also really looking forward to their date.
Please update as soon as you can.

Author's Response: Thank you :D The war - It's ... it's going to be quite interesting hehehe. It won't crop up for a while, but there will be mentions of something stirring up :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Cavell 

17th January 2012:
Brilliant, as always. I love Clemence's character, and the way you write her, and I enjoyed Rose and Albus in this chapter. The way Clemence kept drifting off into la-la land was good, and Henry was also excellent. Keep up the good work, and update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you :D Clemence has her weaknesses, whether she's willing to call her fantasies that or not, and so I'll exploit that for as much amusement as possible ;) Glad you like the other characters as well!

 Report Review

Review #23, by MelonCoke 

17th January 2012:
awesome chapter!!! yeah i was looking forward to the date but i agree that it was important to set up the Rose-Dom thing. Can't wait til the next one!!

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Now I can leave alll of next chapter to Clemence and Albus, hehehe.

 Report Review

Review #24, by WhatAboutRegulus 

17th January 2012:
I think it's good you didn't do the date chapter yet. It keeps me interested until the next update :). You are the only author on here that would make me stop studying for mid terms to read a chapter. I saw you update and was like NO!!! why!! I must! I loved it as usual. Does Rose know something about Clemence I wonder... hm.

Awesome chapter!! 10/10

WhatAboutRegulus

Author's Response: You have a patience that many people (especially me) don't have 8D I salute you. Procrastination, well, you do seem to be just like me in that regard.

Rose is mostly warning Clemence in this scene :) There are things afoot!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Vanillaberries 

17th January 2012:
amazing. this chapter, this story is actually amazing.
i aam soo glad you updated, it's been a while :) but it was worth the wait! i lovee the whole scene where he gives her his cloak although hoping for some more clemence/al action?
and i love loved the scene with rose! you got me really hooked into that drama and i'd like to believe rose isn't as bad as dom makes her out to be...and what are the things clemence doesn't seee?! i'm curious soo please update soon! -VB

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Pretty much all of next chapter will be them, so I hope that'll make up for it. Clemence does see in the end what Rose means - I'm being a bit vague on purpose because it'll be explained a bit more later on. But just expect very ugly things ;D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>