Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Off the Rails, Chapter 9: nine
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal 

4th April 2017:
Okay - not what I expected when I started the chapter. Grandmother's birthday I was thinking Nana-Molly particularly when they all bought presents. Then for it to be Lily Evans-Potter. I'm sorry to say I'm a little 'um - okay.' I guess I don't get the idea of buying material things for a deceased loved one like the book and broach and then burning it. It just simply does not make sense to me.

Now I will say it is sweet and wonderful the whole potter clan appreciating the deceased Lily and visiting her grave at regular intervals and the flowers make sense to me too as that is traditional. Is the physical gifts that are presented at the grave site and then burned a cultural thing?

Still the united front was good it was a nice moment seeing all the Potters together - also I did enjoy the quips and back and forthing between the parents and siblings. Oh, and it is sweet that James is like no I can't go out the night before. I like how he is firm on that it adds to the sweetness of the united family.

Which brings me to the fact that I also liked the dialogue at the start of the chapter about maybe not being at the Tav next week when everyone knows she will be.

Author's Response: I think that Harry, having grown up all his life without having parents to give presents to, would see the Weasleys doing exactly that, and then experience his kids doing the same for him, and want to have that moment himself. Even if his parents can't actually receive the presents, he still feels like he's giving them something and marking that they did exist once.

Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp 

4th April 2017:
Here for Slytherin!

So James' training is going on and it's difficult for him to see Clara, of course. I can see their relationship building up and the budding romance, and I hope things get to work out between them soon and they get to have a nice meetup. Clara being muggle and James magical obviously complicates matters. I was wondering why grandma's birthday was not a nice day, but then the ending bit made sense - it was Lily's birthday. The little ritual they did at the end of putting down the presents at the gravestone and then burning them before placing flowers was beautiful. A little strange but also very sweet and heart-touching. It's obvious that Harry has taught his kids to respect and love their grandparents and those values and sentiments can be seen which is really nice.

I loved the snappy dialogue exchanges in this chapter, especially between the siblings as it established their dynamics well while also giving us backstories to what's going on in each of their lives. The conversation was casual and school-oriented and overall done in a believable manner so it was easy to read and get involved with the situation.

All in all, great going and the story looks like it's headed in a nice direction.

cheers
angie

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by onestop_hpfan18 

30th July 2016:
Aww, this chapter was so sad, yet heartfelt. I'm definitely tearing up. That last sentence really caught me off guard. I wonder where all the turmoil amongst the Potter family comes from. I can imagine why they would still stand united anytime they visited Harry's parents' grave. I just want to know what's with all the tension between Harry and James. I'm sure we'll find out in due time... but I want to know now. Anyway, great chapter.

Author's Response: Yeah, this chapter was quite sad to write. But oddly enjoyable at the same time. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Aleine 

11th June 2015:
I loved the last bit... So touching...

Simply, amazing!

Author's Response: That was an emotional moment to write. Poor Harry. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by LavenderBlue 

18th May 2014:
It has been TOO LONG. I'm so excited to have snagged some free time for a healthy dose of OTR. Yummy. :)

Dawr. It bothers Jamsies that he hasn't seen Carlotta in over a week. It bothers him that he has to turn down plans. Why is that James? Why, oh why? >:] Also, it cracks me up every time Cordelia makes a rando appearance like in this scene. I want me a pygmy puff something fierce.

More father/son tension. :( Makes me saddd. But I'm looking forward to unraveling just why their relationship is so tense over the course of the story. Meanwhile, Lily is being an overachiever. Merp. I think Ginny gives her some good advice, and she really should ease off the gas. I was the most psychotically Type A kid when I was younger, and sometimes I wish someone had told me I didn't need to work QUITE so hard at every subject ever.

Now I'm thinking about all the ways that Muggle Studies could go wrong... o.o

Haha, I love that all three Potter kids have the ultimate trump card when their parents try ragging on them for breaking the rules. "Yeah, well you broke into the Ministry!" Bam. Shut down.

THAT ENDING THOUGH. Here I was, thinking, "Yeahh, James better pick out his own present for Grandma Weasley, because she'll be able to sniff out an insincere one from a mile away..." But no. No, it's not Grandma Weasley at all; it's the grandparents he never knew. D: The hand holding. The burning of the presents. The lilies on Lily's grave. Ugh, my heart. That was such a beautiful vignette. And I'm going to have to keep reading immediately, because now I'm in a very sad place.

Author's Response: Hello again! Lovely to see you back for more. :)

Seriously, if you're ever looking for cheap humour in a post-Wheezes fic? Throw a pygmy puff into it. An ENDLESS source of amusement. And, yes, I'd also love a pygmy puff of my own. If only.

The Harry/James ... yeah, that's a slow burner. Certainly there are reasons for the tenseness. And Lily... well, in some ways yes, she's an overachiever, but again SHE has her reasons for wanting to do so well. The girl has a hard life at times, poor thing.

HA, yeah, I would imagine it would be hard for Harry and Ginny - and Ron and Hermione - to discipline their kids given all the school rules and laws they've broken over time. Although those were mostly in the name of stopping Voldemort, I suppose...

Guh, Lily's birthday. ALL OF THE EMOTIONS. Thanks for reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by slytherinchica08 

15th March 2014:
Oh wow what a very interesting idea! Honestly I had been think of Molly and not lily for whose birthday they were celebrating so adding that in really gave this story something different and a reay unique idea. I love that James would never show up hung over or have someone else help him pick the gifts it really adds another depth to him and his character. Carlotta already seems to be sort of attached to James and him showing up at her job though I do understand that since it's always nice when you find someone fun to be around once they are gone you just want to have them come back and make things fun again! You can feel the tension in this chapter between James and Harry and it really makes me wonder what exactly happened to make the two as they are. I feel that Harry would be a really loving and protecting father so the fact that he's not on very good terms with one of them is very interesting. I hope that this will come to light soo. Great job on another chapter!

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Oh, this chapter. I did love writing it, although it was sad too. Poor Lily and James! And yes, this is one moment which our James recognises the importance of. He has a heart and means well, even if he's not all that good at looking after himself at the moment. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Genia 

28th March 2013:
The end was really touching! ... I wonder what's going on with James and Harry, though...

Author's Response: This chapter was definitely a hard one to write, but at the same time I did enjoy it... and I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Slide 

18th May 2012:
I thought James was taking Molly's birthday unnecessarily seriously. Sad times for House of Potter. :(

Author's Response: Sad times indeed. :(

 Report Review

Review #9, by ashleym15 

15th January 2012:
this was such an amazing chapter. i wish there was more James/Carlotta though

Author's Response: More James/Carlotta is coming :) thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Yas 

3rd January 2012:
This is a very funny, compelling story with real emotion to it :)

Would love to see the rest :)!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Clarissa 

2nd January 2012:
MORE PLEASE! I love this, and i'm excited to read more!

Author's Response: Next update will be very soon! Thanks :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dee 

2nd January 2012:
I'm reviewing from the first chapter up until this (sorry, but I was more transfixed to just keep reading!)

I'm really enjoying this story so far, and I find the characters quite funny!! It's sad how Harry and his son, James aren't very close :(

None the less, it's amusing to see that James is totally head over heals for Carlotta (I love that girl!) But he's just denying it to himeself :D

I can't wait for the next chapter and keep up the amazing work!! xx

Author's Response: Yeah, Harry and James have ... issues. They'll come up later in the story :) I love that you love Carlotta, she's the bomb. :) Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by TheGoldenPheonix 

2nd January 2012:
i liked the end of this chapter... it made me kinda sad but in a good way. I love Lily in Ch 8...shes hilarious. Update soon please!

Author's Response: It was sad to write, this chapter :( Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by ForTheLoveOfWords 

30th December 2011:
I was so excited to see this story was updated! This chapter was really sweet in a sad sort of way. I definitely thought it was Molly's birthday, but the whole concept of buying presents and leaving them on the grave for Lily was really sweet. Do they do the same for James? And I'm glad James (the 2nd) didn't go out and get drunk. When are he and Carlotta going to go on a real date?

Author's Response: Yeah, it was sad for me to write, this one. They do it for James' birthday too, yes, and for Christmas too. The visit for James' birthday will feature later in the story, when we get to it. And he and Carlotta aren't dating, because they're both adamant that they don't date, so there won't be a real date for a while. They both have a lot of growing up and self-accepting to do yet... :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review