Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by merlins beard 

27th April 2015:
No pen and paper this time, because I'm on my phone.

You must be getting sick of me by now... but I'm not quite done yet.

Oh my god! Thank god he's ok. I was terrified. Seriously. Never do that to me again!

I think its great that the healer lets the fox stay, and it's perfect that Percy is the one to save Fred.

Ron is so sweet, thinking of Fred when he has that comic book...
So when are Mr. and Mrs. Granger going to get back from their holiday and to their bookshop again? (Yes - I'm onto you. I know what you're doing there)

That is a very good solution for Grimmauld Place, but it leaves me a little worried about the Weasleys and their plan to sell the Burrow. I guess Harry will fix that some time.

George really needed to be cared for. up until now, everyone was just too busy or sad to notice how hw's running himself to the ground. I'm glad his siblings (and I'm very happy to count Harry among them) step in and get him to come home for a while.

The end of this chapter is soo sweet. Harry finally gets the father figure he needs. Sirius or Remus could never do this for him because they didn't know he needed it. They didn't have any experience being a father. James would have been great, had he gotten the chance, and Harry will be a great father one day, but he needs one now.

I love where this chapter is going (when you're not accelarating my heart rate or making me pull my own hair out -no i'm lying. I love it even then)

There are a couple of little typoes in this chapter. One of them is pointed out here:

(...) whole so big I knew it was gonna swallow me up too!

It should be hole instead of whole I think.
Can't wait for the next chapter

Love
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dianainga 

15th November 2014:
This is a wonderful story. It has brought me to tears several times.the latest when Mr. Weasley sits up while Harry sleeps and has nightmares and Harry finally feels safe...how sweet and dear. Thank you so much for this wonderful, well-written story.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I am always so pleased to hear from people who are enjoying my writing. I really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and let me know you feel.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Kenna 

15th December 2012:
I just wanted to leave a quick note for you, in case you still check this, that this is one of my favourite stories on here, and one the I keep re-reading and coming back to time and again. I don't even have the words to describe how much I love it, and how outstanding your writing, and especially your diction, are. I absolutely understand that life gets in the way of writing, whether it be busyness, or writer's block or some terrible combination of the two, but I just wanted to say that I hope you haven't stopped because you think you've been away too long, and that no one would even care if you updated, because that's not true. I certainly would, and I'd be shocked if anyone else isn't. This story is incredible, a real gem. And you are too. So I guess I just really wanted to say that if you ever write anything else, whether it be six months from now or six years, I would be clamoring to read it. Anyways, just a thought. You really are an amazing writer.

Author's Response: I do check this, and I really appreciate the note!

Thank you so much for your comments! It makes me feel so good to know people still read my stories after all this time, and after leaving people hanging for so long. You seriously made me blush with your compliments on my writing!

I have had a dreadful combination of both those things you mention. Real life has been a beast, but stress has also kind of squished the muse and given me a horrible case of writer's block. I[m trying to work through both issues, though, so hopefully there will be more soon. I wish I could give you a more straightforward date than that, but it's the best I can say for now.

But, I can say that reviews like this are what makes me want to work through things and keep going. Thank you! I really appreciate this!


 Report Review

Review #4, by CandyK 

9th December 2012:
Post soon! I miss this story so much and cannot wait to see when its updated! been waiting a year, you're killing us here!

Author's Response: I'm sorry! I don't mean to be killing anyone! Real life has been dreadful, and when I get stressed, writer's block sets in. Between the two, I haven't written in ages.

But I want to! And I'm working clear up those issues, so please keep checking. Eventually, there will be more.

Thanks for your loyality, patience, and wonderful words of support!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ShePotter 

8th June 2012:
Hey, glad I found this story again. Please come back and finish it. I love your writing, but specially the time between Mr. Weasley and Harry. Looking forward to the update, soon please.

Author's Response: Thanks you! My life has been crazy for the last few years. I finally finished a degree I was working on, and now I have to catch up with everything I let slide while doing it. I AM working on the next chapter, however. I won't be a mega-speedy poster, but I WILL finish. Look for chapter 10 sometime in the next few weeks.

Thanks for your loyalty!


 Report Review

Review #6, by mmauvahp1 

29th January 2012:
Great chapter! Love the story! Update again soon please!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! And I'm working on it. Real life just keeps getting in the way. *sigh*

 Report Review

Review #7, by Cat 

25th January 2012:
Yay! I'm so glad you posted a new chapter . Brilliant as always! Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you! Always nice to see readers come back. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Pacific Wizard 

2nd January 2012:
1917 Farmgirl: Wow...just...Wow! You really know how to tell a story and weave all of your subplots so seamlessly.

Love the way you had Percy heroically come to the rescue and then let his emotions get the better of him showing that caring, human side he's so afraid to show because he considers it a weakness. He's more like his Dad than any of his brothers but he struggles with it. I think he wanted to make his mark at the Ministry to make up for the way the elitist pureblood Ministry officials treated his father all those years. Percy put aside all that was the best of his father and pursued a dream of honor and glory he felt should be his father's after decades of dedication. Now he knows the "richness" of his family lies in their love for each other. As much as he may have denied it, it was always in his heart, otherwise, he could not have had that reaction to what happened with Fred.

Harry's "prank" on George was so well done. The way you had Charlie, Bill, Ginny and Kingsley help him pull it off was brilliant! And Fred's letter...funny and inspired. It was so Fred to know how George was going to react that he not only wrote the letter but sent Ginny to deliver it. He knew that George would never have a go at Ginny because she's his little sister and because he's frankly more afraid of her than anyone else in the family. Great humor!

Harry's conversation with Kingsley and McGonagal was brilliant as well. The solution to lease was an excellent way to solve the problem. Harry's concern for Kreacher was just...so Harry.

Finally, the last scene with Arthur and Harry so reminded me of the last scene in To Kill a Mockingbird when Adicus would stay by Jim's bed for the rest of the night. This last scene made my eyes well up just like that classic did. That's the kind of Dad I have. Thanks for that image Farmgirl. Hope that's the image I am for my girls.

Well done Farmgirl. Very, very well done. PW

Author's Response: Look at this, totally slow responding to a wonderful review YET AGAIN! I am so very sorry. Someday, I'll have things in real life under control to the point I will actually be able to keep up with these in a timely manner, but sadly that day has yet to come.

Ah, Percy. You rather nailed everything I was trying to say there and couldn't get out! That's exactly how I feel about Percy, although I do think he also struggles with an intense need to follow the rules.which is not althogether bad. I kinda have a soft spot for Percy, and as you said, I see a great love for his family there, even if he can't quite figure out how to express it. It was very nice to let him play the hero for once, and to also let him release his emotions for a bit as well.

As for George, that boy can be very stubborn! I'm the author, and even I couldn't figure out how to get him to go home and rest for a bit! I finally decided that it was time for Harry to win a trick against the twins. But you're absolutly right, it took the whole family and some outside help to pull it off. That really was a fun part to write though, so I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I actually have 70 pages of the sequel to this story written already. I never meant to write Healing, but I realized there was more to explain than I could put in a prologue for that other story and so Healing was born, and now it's grown huge. Anyway, why I mention this is that Kreacher play a small but somewhat important part in that future story, so I know one of the things Healing need to do was settle that issue. After everything that happened there, I have just never been one of those who could see Harry cleaning Grimmauld place up and living there with a wife and kids. I felt like he would want to put it behind him, but I didn't want to just dump Kreacher! Glad you liked my solution.

Aw.Now you're making me cry. I'm so glad that last scene touched you. I have that kind of dad as well, and I really wanted Harry to experience that at least once in his life.

Thanks again for reading, and for being so loyal even though I'm the world's slowest writter AND review responder.


 Report Review

Review #9, by @shley 

25th November 2011:
:D you just made my life ten times happier! :D haha thanks so much for sticking with this story, even when life gets super busy :)

Author's Response: Yeah! Glad I could make you happy! And thanks for sticking with me! I promise there will be more of this story soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by angie123 

25th November 2011:
Oh my god! You're back! Yes! I'm so glad you are back, love. I missed your lovely writing. I thank you for not killing Fred. Or anyone for that matter. What I found odd was the identity of the Death Eater not being discovered. Or I think I missed it. Possibly.

Bu yay, you're back! As always, a 10/10

Author's Response: LOL! It does rather seem like the end of the world, to see an update from me, doesn't it. Sorry I've made you wait so long! Real life was just so overwhelming this last year I couldn't get any writing done.

Thank you so much for waiting for me to return! And coming back to read again.

And you are welcome for not killing Fred. :) As for the identity of the Death Eater, I never said. I figured there are probably lots of DEs out there that we don't know by name. I didn't want to go to the trouble of naming one. I guess I'm lazy. LOL

Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #11, by blueirony 

19th November 2011:
The thing that I liked about this chapter (this whole story, really) is how you contrast the happy parts with the sad parts. Sometimes, you are happy and enjoying a laugh with family and friends and the next you're terrified. It's what healing is all about and you really embody that in this.

Now, I could go through my usual gushing but I won't. You know that I absolutely adore every word you write. And this was absolutely no exception. How could it have been?

I think my favourite part of this was how you had Percy be the one who saved Fred in this. I don't know why, but I have always had a soft spot for Percy and I like that he was the one who was the saviour in this. You haven't neglected him or just pushed him into the background of the Weasley family. And I love that. Especially that part at the end where he realised just how close he had come to losing Fred once more. You've made him a real character in this, one who has emotion and feelings just like everyone else.

McGonagall and Kingsley were a welcome relief in this. And it was one of those scenes which I was talking about at the start of this review. They are so happy one moment and joking around, and then they're worried in the next. You contrast it beautifully. I think if you had only one of the two, it wouldn't be real. And this is real. You make it real. I don't know how you do it, but you do.

Trust Ron to find comics! I can't wait for Ron and Hermione to be back in England. And I really, really hope that Hermione finds her parents soon! I can't wait for you to write that scene.

Those things that George said. About how he lost half a soul. Good God, how do you come up with stuff like that? It's so simple, heartfelt but so heart-wrenching. And so in character. You're amazing at that.

I loved Fred's note! It's so Fred. You have such a good grasp of the twins!

That last scene with Harry and Mr Weasley just warmed me from the inside out. Yes, it's horrible that Harry is still having nightmares but the way you wrote it, I felt this... gentleness and kindness about the scene and that is exactly how I always pictured Mr Weasley to be. It was just so sweet. I'm a huge sucker for dad-and-kid scenes and this one was just so lovely to read. Poor Harry, though. Again with the contrast - it is so easy to forget how Harry is still recovering but you never let the reader forget it. And that's what I love about this. It's so sad but so real. And amazing.

Author's Response: Joop! Reviews from you are always like Christmas! I love them, and this is no exception! Thanks!

Ah, happy vs. sad.sometimes the bane of my life. I've always written my stories like this, mixing it all up, but that doesn't mean it's easy! Sometimes I just want to tear my hair out and say forget it, they are all joining the circus! I'm glad you enjoy it at least. I suppose that makes it worth it, LOL.

*blushing from the gushing, btw*

Ah, Percy... I have always had a soft spot for the boy as well. I just really wanted to show that he was back...still Percy, but dedicated to his family now. Him saving Fred was my way of doing that. And it was fun to write.

Kingsley and McGonagall are fun to write together! I think they make a good team, don't you? Maybe they can start their own talk-show. I'm not sure what we could call it, but I'm sure it would be a hoot to watch! Can't you see them both, sitting on a couch, interviewing celebrities? Anyway, I digress...but thanks for liking this part! I worry that the "boring" parts of the story that are taking care of nessesary buisness will make people run away, but I guess they're going okay after what you say.

Ron and his comics was a given. I've wanted to do that for Ron for a long time, so this was a perfect opportunity. The parents will come.patience...

Poor George...he's been holding that in for a long time. It just sorta exploded and came out. Didn't really plan it, but it worked so I left it. I did know that's how he's been feeling, but I didn't know this was the chapter he was supposed to let it all out in until it was happening. Funny how writing works like that, isn't it, but I'm pretty sure it's not because I'm amazing. :)

Fred's note. Hehehehe. Gotta love him. Glad you liked it! And I just love the twins, that's all. I'm not the best at them by far.

Your last paragraph was incredible to read! That's exactly what I wanted people to get from that part, and you totally did! YIPPY! Don't worry, Harry will get better. Mr. Weasley and the rest will see to it..

Thanks so much for another amazing review! LOVE them!



 Report Review

Review #12, by jrg0715 

16th November 2011:
Welcome back! Great chapter and what a relief that Fred is okay. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! It's nice to BE back! And yeah, I was pretty mean with that cliff-hanger, especially for so long. Sorry about that!

Thanks for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jet LaBarge 

15th November 2011:
I am so glad you are back to writing this story. I have just re-read your chapter 4, and it never fails to bring tears to my eyes. Brilliant writing!
Poor Ron and Hermione. And of course Harry could help with a little money, but there is no easy way for Harry or anyone else to learn about Ron and Hermioneís problems.
I like that you have Arthur watching over Harry. So many stories have Ginny the sole care taker of Harry, sometimes with Molly. Arthur gets forgotten.
And all the reviews shows you have a legion of loyal fans.

Author's Response: Jet LaBarge!

I was so hoping you'd come back to read when I finally posted another chapter. I'm thrilled to see this review!

First of all, thank you so much for the continued high praise for Chapter 4. I also have a soft spot for that chapter and so hearing people like it makes me feel good about it. Sorry about the tears though. Need a hanky?

Yes, poor Ron and Hermione, scraping by. I know Harry would help them in a heartbeat, but Australia is a large place to try and find two people. Don't worry too much, however. They'll be okay.

I love Ginny watching over and helping Harry, but I also believe once you've been adopted as a "Weasley" you're going to get MANY people watching over you, and I wanted to show that. And I'll be honest, I just have a soft spot for Arthur. He makes me smile. I wanted Harry to feel what it was like to have a father, even if only for a bit.

And yes, I have to say a HUGE thank you to my loyal fans who have stuck with me for so long and waited patiently while I worked out my real life so I could eventually get back to fic.

THANKS!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Klsmd 

13th November 2011:
Yay!!! New chapter! I've been checking back everyday science I finished the last one! Well done I loved it, you showed the emotions of each character do well. :)

Author's Response: Thank you, for both your great review and your devotion! I know it's been forever since I updated and all I can say is I'm very sorry. Sometimes, real life ruins our best plans.

Anyway, thank you so much for your great praise! It made my day!


 Report Review

Review #15, by CambAngst 

13th November 2011:
So I've just read your entire story in the span of about 4 hours after seeing it in the Chapter Updates thread. I feel almost robbed that I never knew about it until now. It is brilliant. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

You have a tremendous knack for writing. I love where you've taken the situation with Fred. Bringing the family through a different kind of struggle is a great twist on the usual kind of post-Deathly Hallows plot. I also like the way you're developing Harry and Ginny's relationship without turning it into an instant, falling-all-over-each-other, happily-ever-after snogfest.

I did notice a few spelling and grammar type things in this chapter, but overall your writing is very technically solid. I hope your muse takes up permanent residence and doesn't wander off any more, but this is added to my favorites and I'll wait if I have to.

Cheers,
Dan

Author's Response: Wow! The entire thing in one sitting! I admire your ability to stick to a task! Thank you so much! I'm so glad you noticed it! I love getting new readers.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and praise! I am always so happy when someone likes my way of saving Fred. I still hate that she killed him and so I knew I'd have to bring him back, but I wanted to do it realistically, well, for magical people of course.

I really like Harry and Ginny together, but I never gathered any hint from the books that the two of them would be instantly in each other's arms the second the war was over. Ginny is too practical and stubborn, and let's face it, Harry can be too dense. LOL. It's actually kind of fun drawing it out.

I'm sure there are probably the editing things I still need to do. It had been so long since I posted I think I rushed it a bit. I need to give the whole story a good edit for typos and consistency of spellings and such, though, so I hope to catch them when I do that.

Thank you so much for reading!



 Report Review

Review #16, by Miranda Jones 

12th November 2011:
I am really in love with this story. I really think that you've put every character into the right state of mind, and made it so much more real than any other story of the same sort that I've read, including my own. I really applaud you for that.

Author's Response: Thank you! I've tried really hard to keep the character's true and in character, so it means a lot to hear from readers that it's working. To hear it from another writer of what my beta theelderwand likes to call "Book 8's" is doubly wonderful! Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #17, by GInny 

12th November 2011:
i liked it i hope you write more

Author's Response: Thank you! I sure plan to write more, so keep your eyes open.

 Report Review

Review #18, by theelderwand 

12th November 2011:
All Hail the return of the MIGHTY FARMGIRL!!

And what language, do you ask, is it that "1917" translates as "mighty"? - Elderese.

Farmgirl you have not missed a beat or lost a step. I am so throoughly impressed by how seamless this chapter is. Even reading it thru now again, its brilliant!

Loved that Percy saves Fred. And the fury he unleashes was just palpable. There are very strong emotions all the way through this chapter - Percy and George's rage, Harry's angst, all wonderfully done.

Broken record time - You have so totally gotten the twins down - NO ONE anywhere writes the twins better - not even JKR. Their switch of conversation after the attack, talking about Gus, was perfect. As was Fred's letter to George. Loved also that it was Harry's plan to hijack George and get him back to the Burrow. Of course, it never hurts to have an army of weasley's as back up - Bill and Charlie were great, and Ginny's "sweet dangerousness" never fails to put a nervous smile on my face.

Ron's scene in Australia was excellent - but I do desperately hope they find the Granger's soon. Gotta get that noble git out of that horrid cow costume. Very in character that he's thinking of the twins, too.

Now, your last scene with Harry and Arthur - sorry I can't write about that, but a bug just flew into my eye...

It is absolutely wonderfully awesome to have you back writing again sis!

Eldy

P.S. Everyone needs to know that this story was a 2011 Dobby Nominee for Best Post Hogwarts FanFic! It was a VERY tough competition just making it to the nomination phase and the farmgirl came awful close to eeking out a win. Well deserved and CONGRATS to you!

Author's Response: *Blushes* Bro, you aren't supposed to make me blush from the onset of the review! And I'm not mighty! Not really. Well, maybe Mighty Slow, or Mighty Behind, or even Mighty Weird...but not how YOU are using it!

Elderese - That's a new one. Were can I get a dictionary for that?

I feel like I've missed a lot of steps, taking such a long break like this, but thank you just the same for such a nice compliment. You know it's because I have an amazing beta who keeps my stuff flowing that this is so, right?

Percy - I figured it was time to let him have a moment of being a hero, instead of a jerk. It was fun to write him as a good guy!

*Blushing agin at the twins comments* I don't know if I write them well, but I LOVE writing them, so maybe that's part of it. I just get them, is all, and it makes it fun to write. Glad you approve.

Harry tricking George - I just needed to get George HOME, and the dang boy is SO stubborn. I'm sure George will make him pay, eventually. Staple his underware shut or something. (Did that to my brother once while he was in the shower...good times.)

Don't get to anxious about Ron (especially since unlike everyone else, you've actually READ the outline, LOL.) They will find Hermione's parents, I promise! And the purple cow suit will NOT be perminant. hehehehe

As for thinking of the twins, yeah, he's worried about them. No one's caught the bitter irony about his gift yet, however. Guess they'll get it later.

You get bugs in your eyes a lot. I think you need better screens on your windows. Just saying... *grins*

It is so nice to BE back writing again! I've promised myself I'm getting caught up on reviews before I post anything else, but I have great plans for this holiday season, so I hope your inbox is open for fic!

And yeah, that Dobby nomination - I really need to thank all the folks who nominated me! I'm SO honored that my little story would make it to the voting stage! THANKS EVERYONE!



 Report Review

Review #19, by Aurorofthelight 

12th November 2011:
Well flibbering flobgobblers! SHE'S BACK! Hail Dorothy, the wicked witch is dead! (OOPS! Sorry! Wrong story!) ;) Hail the return of 1917farmgirl with another wonderful chapter in this burgeoning masterpiece! Loved this one to pieces! A perfect blend of suspense at the beginning and comedic relief at the end! Here's hoping that deathmuncher is rewarded with a lifetime membership to Club Azkaban! It's also safe to say we can chalk up Percy as yet another Weasley you don't want to tick off! I about fell over laughing at the prank Harry nailed George with! Only the son and godson of two of the original Marauders could have pulled that off on one of the twins! Brilliantly engineered, I must say! It isn't a surprise that Ron still hasn't told Hermoine about his real job! Ron hasn't always been the brightest wand in a room full of lumos spells! Can't wait to see how that little secret comes out! Great to see you back on this story, FG! This is a real gem and I hope it's not too long until the next update!!! :):):):)

Auror

Author's Response: Hehehehehe. You'd given up on me, hadn't you? And wicked witch - that sorta fits. Just ask my students.

I'm so glad you're still reading! I was afraid everyone had forgotten about this fic in the year I let it sit here. (BTW, I finally replied to your other review as well. Only a year late...)

And just so you know, you ALWAYS make me blush with your reviews!

Percy - He IS a Weasley after all, so of course you don't want to make him mad.

George - very, very stubborn boy. Of course, I'm sure he will make Harry pay for that trick sometime.

Ron will have to come clean with Hermione at some point. Stay tuned to see when that is. LOL

Thank you again so much for your support and reviews! They always make my day!


 Report Review

Review #20, by megaaan  

12th November 2011:
Another fantastic chapter! I'm so glad you updated - I didn't find this story long ago, but I have to say I was one of the ones who thought it was abandoned; and I'm so glad it isn't!

The characterisation is brilliant, the plot is lovely - but my only point would have to be that where did the Death Eater go?? He seemed to vanish into thin air!

I also love the idea of getting a portkey to take George home - wonderful!

A fantastic chapter, well done! I hope the next one will be written soon? :-)

Megan xoxo

Author's Response: Thank you! And sorry I'm a little slow getting to this response. You might have noticed I'm VERY behind on review responses and so all I can say is at least I wasn't a year late with this, like I was with some others. :)

It was very nice to update, after a rather fic-less year. Always feels good to be writing again, and to know people are still wanting to read what you write makes it even better. And yeah, sorry about making you think it was abandoned! I have every intention of finishing it, if it makes you feel any better. I have to, as I have 86 pages of the sequel written that I can't post until this one finishes, LOL.

The Death Eater - sorry if that confused you. If you read carefully, you'll see that Aurors and hospital security arrived and took him away. I imagine he's on his way to the Ministry, and a trial, and probably Azkaban after that.

George was very difficult to get to go home, so glad you liked the solution!

I am not and never will be one of those authors that spits out a chapter every few days, but yes, the next one will go up much sooner, promise.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review