Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Quill and Sofa Shop 

21st May 2013:
Hey Hey Hey!

I started reading this a while ago, and then I decided to revisit upon a re-venture into the land of Harry Potter fanfiction. I thought that HPFF was a desolate world, but your fics bring such a smile to my face I can't help thinking that.

I love this one so much! While I must admit, I am a bigger fan of Etc. Etc. (who can resist Sexy Albus?!), this is one of my favorite fics-nay, works of literature, of all time. Whenever I read this, I'm constantly laughing aloud and smiling, something that's not that common for me. I think that for the most part, you captured the ridiculous and fun spirit of the earlier pre-Voldy's-going-to-kill-us-all spirit of Hogwarts. I remember when I first picked up the books about reading a review comparing Rowling to Roald Dahl, a spirit that got lost in the series (which was unfortunate but necessary), and ever so much in the fandom. So I'm glad you made it your mission to revive it! There are of course, holes which isn't quite Hogwarts, like your femme fatale, but the person flavor you add to this just makes it that much more delicious.

I just had to review since you mentioned George. I generally read exclusively Next Gen (with some Marauders thrown in), because I hate people screwing with canon and canon characters. Frankly, I was terrified when I saw the setup for George, because the twins are so horribly misconstrued in fanfiction.

And you hit the nail on the head! Your George was absolutely perfect. The only thing was is that I felt sad that Fred wasn't there to finish his sentences. :'( I also was a little surprised that George was open to Bea working with Malfoy, considering he treats Bea like one of his own kids and the Weasleys have had so many bad experiences with the Malfoys. I know they're supposed to be all open-hearted and good and all that stuff, but from what we saw in the series, the Malfoys and the Weasleys were pretty set against each other for centuries. Especially since George and Draco are both business owners, you'd think George would have overheard the shady dealings of the Malfoys and given at least a light warning to Bea. That's my interpretation anyways, but each reader sees the characters in their own light!

Thank you for bringing such a large smile to my face!

Author's Response: Sorry about taking so long to respond! Thank you so much for the review, it really brought a smile to my face as I've been struggling with this current chapter. I don't ever aim to write like JKR, but her world has been undoubtedly very inspirational, and that magical feeling is what stays with me through the years. There's a quaintness and innocence and thirst for adventure - who didn't wish at some point, to be a part of that castle and run around with a wand? Hah, funny you mention the femme fatale - the other inspirations I had for Capers was Oceans' 11 and Inception :D Which you can mostly see in Fred and Anjali.

Eee I'm glad you like my George (I nearly typed Fred, and then I was sad). I like to think of George as the ~cool uncle~ to everyone. After losing Fred, he adopts a more laidback lifestyle, and just wants enough to live comfortably so he can spend as much time with his family as he can; he's not into holding grudges with anyone, including Malfoy. Very zen. That's just my take!

Thank you very much again! c:


 Report Review

Review #2, by spreaddapoo93 

30th November 2012:
Poor Bea... I feel like it may have been really harsh, but she sort of may have needed it. Still, that scene just broke my heart (Bea is just so adorable, I want to make a little Borrower clone out of her and put her in the Dessert drawer!)

Well, things are really getting (even more) interesting~ I can't help but feel a bit of trepidation about Malfoy & Co. Something seems oddly fishy about that business, but it's even more complicated because Scorpius sounds like a good man... Still, that contract is so fishy! I don't know what to think! I don't know what I WANT to think! (You have that effect on people, dear).

Anyway, I can't wait to find out what's going on with the whole Malfoy/Patil thing. Gah! Lord knows it's probably not Love... Well... Not the conventional kind, at least! :)

Well! Thanks for the awesome read!

Author's Response: I'm such a Fred, really; I couldn't help but go realist on her. There's a lot of pragmatism scattered about Capers, a lot of the wisdom and hard-learned lessons of my attempts of translating dreams into reality. But at the same time, Capers is totally a fic for the dreamers. I know I said Game was my kitchen sink fic, but Capers is such a kitchen sink fic too.

I love Scorpius and Anjali's backstory! It's a rather understated, slightly-tragic element of Capers, but it's the one thing I can vouch for being cohesive xD


 Report Review

Review #3, by PhoenixPulse 

24th August 2012:
(*sniffle*) Such a lovely chapter...

God, I'm such a wimp! That part when they began to accuse Bea and crush her dreams brought tears to my eyes, which I'm really embarrassed to admitt, but I will anyways. Poor Bea, she can't help herself. I mean yeah, maybe she asks for a bit too much, but her heart's in the right place, I'm sure. She's just too hyperactive to focus. Heck, I'd cry too if all my friends suddenly turned against me.

Lucy, oh how much I love her. The way she tries to console Bea is adorable, with all the face pinching, and squishing, and such. I'm surprised she isn't a Hufflepuff like Al. Through this, I can see her as a Puff as well. By golly, woman! I think Hufflepuff has now become my favorite house. I really do believe that they are undercredited in canon, so cookies and brownie points to you for making Hufflepuff awesome.

As for Rose, I honestly don't know whether to like or dislike her in this story yet. Your perspective of her, is by far the most unique perspective of Rose that I've read. I mean, the way you describe her makes me laugh, but she can be fairly cold and brutal with words too, as I've seen in this chapter. Rose, Rose, Rose...

And Freddie! I like Freddie. I like how he's always dragged into something no good, but at the same time, he gives things thought and takes things rather seriously. I love how he also watches out for Bea, but also encourages her at the same time, like a true friend should. I'm honestly wondering how he must've felt after reading that headline. One thing's certain, he doesn't like it.

And yeah, I'm delaying my sleep again. As of the current time, it is 1:05 am. I don't know why I keep this up, I was yawning all over the place today. But I suppose that's the consequence for being sucked into a fab-tabulous story. Not that I'm complaining ;)

Author's Response: Bawww :c not to sound terrible, but I was really hoping for something like that to happen xD Friends' tough love hurts the most, you know?

Lucy's a bit of a clever child, so I put her in Ravenclaw (also so she could torment Rose xD). I love 'claws just because I unquestionably am one, but 'Puffs have got to be a close second 8D

Rose doesn't have a too major role, so I just hope you like her for the laughs she brings xD She'll grow out of her Roseness (i.e. the unbridled exemplification of her mother), maybe not in this story, but she will ;)

Freddie is the best friend one could ask for I think ^__^ patient and thoughtful even if he doesn't exactly know how to show it, or even is kind of embarrassed to show it.

♥ thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Aderyn 

5th August 2012:
Hi again!

So, trying something different this time, a running review, so likely it will be very random xD

Flitwich is the coolest headmaster ever. Even Dumbledore didn't have dancing cupcakes. Bam. Also, Rose: "Bea, some of us have lives." As long as she isn't talking about herself in that, she's all good :P

Oh Bea, get to the point. It is slighlty painful to watch you try to explain. Though I get that. Like you said, the girl isn't an orator--you can't have everything.

Lucy and her fortune cookie fortune stealing. That sounds like a very bad crackfic spinoff. Also, that is quite the melodramtic fortune cookies fortune. I used to think that they all had to be happy and positive until I got a fortune that told me I was going to experience failure soon. I guess they throw in one bad fortune, so all the ridiculously happy ones don't seem overly positive xD

Bea and her shop. I feel a bit sorry for her, actually. I mean, having your own shop at 17 may not seem probable (as the others point out, never mind that their own demands -cough-themepark-cough- are silly) but she's got a blank contract, which isn't the most probable thing in the first place! She should take chances! Scorpius wouldn't dissuade her. He would be right there, helping her figure out to run the shop.

Also, did I see she has a goat patronus? Seriously, I missed all the best little jokes the first time I read this chapter!

Yay, after all that, they do get Bea sweets and cheer her up.

Fred reading the paper has become a fixture. Apparently the Prophet does have some important news after all, even if it is of the semi-scandalous sort. Hee, the engagement news isn't a surprise for me now, reading backwards, but I remember being very surprised by it all when I first read it.

For some reason, the title seems to have a double meaning in this case for me. It feels like it's asking how would you solve a problem like Bea would -and- how do you solve the problem of Bea. I don't know which you intended, but they both sort of seem to fit.

Anyways, I will keep leaving backwards reviews, when I have the time. Hopefully they will have more structure than just random observations. But you never know xD

Author's Response: ikr. Pottermore actually said Flitwick had a cupcake troupe. I DIDN'T EVEN MAKE IT UP. that is how awesome Pottermore-canon is.

lolol you totally reverse-burned Rose. ♥ and YOU GOT A BAD FORTUNE ONCE?? all mine ever have are terrible lotto numbers.

I had the weirdest time juggling real life lessons and the fact that Capers has a foundation of crack and improbability xD I still am not sure if I'm doing it right, but I did want Bea to get a bit of responsibility, so I went ahead with that route.

SHE DOES HAVE A GOAT PATRONUS. SHE EATS EVERYTHING SHE SEES 8D

yush, Fred has fixtures. Like ties and scary girls.

aha, I did not intend that in the title! (one level of cleverness is all I aim for) but hee I like how it fits :3

♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by Bluestreakspirit 

22nd May 2012:
Oh my GOD, I am in love with the quotes you use as your chapter summaries! And I also adore your chapter images. They make me laugh :) Although that little talk between the Wotters and Bea nearly made me cry. I was so sad; it was like she was losing some of her innocence. :( Poor kiddo!

Author's Response: Eep! Thanks! I was wondering if anyone noticed them ^__^ Haha they're usually just a lot of random things I could never fit anywhere else. And baww, I'm glad you felt for Bea ♥ it was a tough but necessary talk for her. Better to learn early with your friends than when it can get worse later on.

 Report Review

Review #6, by WhatAboutRegulus 

7th March 2012:
That was harsh. Harsh, harsh, harsh. Rose isn't the shiniest penny in the den of nifflers is she? Poor Bea. She just want's a shop! I understand that, especially with her family life. She doesn't want to live day to day, she just wants to have the money ready to go and be able to support herself by her self. And what with that head line! Scorpius and Angi ENGAGED? WHAT.? I thought they weren't dating or whatever any more! SoOOoo - can't think of anything.

Nice chapter! Onto the next. after I get out of sociology..

WhatAboutRegulus

Author's Response: Alas, the harsh words come out at last D: Unfortunately I wrote poor Rose to be so mean, but she's quite right, if a little... tactless. But I don't think Bea has listened very well to tactful. But everyone group hugs! With biscuits! Stale, crumbly biscuits.

What Bea goes through is something I think, a lot of creative people go through. It's many of our dreams to be able to work for ourselves. But it doesn't just -happen-. It's a lot of work and sacrifice, and sometimes things we don't like. I never thought it'd be something I'd touch upon in this fic, and this set of scenes was actually unplanned, but I think it fit to explain a lot of Bea's drive.

And yes muahahaha~ mysterious headline is mysterious~


 Report Review

Review #7, by hdawg 

7th January 2012:
THEY BETTER FALL IN LOVE IN THIS CHAPTER. IF NOT, THEY BETTER DO SOON. HANNAH IS GETTING ALL FAN-GIRLY.

"she stopped any further attempts for her table by spreading her arms across the surface like a beached whale until the others arrived". Not that I've ever had to describe this situation, but this is spot-on. Perfecto. Couldn't have said it better myself.

Wow. This should definitely be put into a film: "Flitwick...ended up leading that year's flash mob with his dancing cupcake troupe." Warwick Davis in the middle of a flash mob. Interesting...

"Imagine all the things..." Lucy's eyes grew wide." IMAGINE ALL THE PEOPLE (at Albus' private theme park. They should definitely go for that). But wow, that fortune cookie is deep.

"All in favor of ignoring her?" She raised her hand, and thumping the table for support. "Come on, democracy doesn't work if the people don't speak up." I don't know what type of democracy Lucy is on about, but I like it. It's...different.

NO BEA, DON'T CRY. THEY JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND ABOUT THE BALCONY BARBECUES, BUT I DO! Gina, why? :'( why do this? She's half the crazy she used to be now, hardly even devouring all the biscuits before everyone else realised there were any now :(

"I am most definitely not using you as a pillow," came the muffled reply." Oh she is wonderful. But I have been used and abused like Fred as a pillow for so long...

WAIT. WOT. WOT IS THAT AT THE END OF THE CHAPTER?! HOW DARE YOU DO THAT TO ME (and Bea). HOW COULD YOU! :'( even so, I am clicking onto the next chapter now hoping that it's an elaborate joke. Don't do this to me Gina :'(

Author's Response: Doesn't it feel deliciously cool whenever you spread your arms over a desk? 8D I LOVE IT and then I realize what I look like.

Flitwick can crunk better than the rest.

Can you see the SA Lucy/Rose feud here? It is my favorite import.

BEA CAN BE SAD WHAT IS THIS? A SAD THAT CANNOT BE FIXED WITH BISCUITS? EGADS, ONLY BY SCORPIUS' EMBRACE -- I really shant encourage you ;D

Baww, are you Julia's pillow? That user!

HEEE ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by WitnesstoitAll 

2nd January 2012:
Omg. Gina I feel like a broken record when I tell you this, but this was my favorite chapter yet. It was strangely lovely to see Bea so vulnerable and not happy, if that makes sense. Like, it's not often the heroine is shown in such a low sort of place and I commend you for that.

Of course there were lots of funny moments as always, so I won't comment on them here. I was just blown away by the depth of the characterizations as you slowly advanced the plot. Brilliant, really.

And finally. I SO SHIP FRED AND BEA. I DON'T EVEN CAREEE THEY ARE PERFECT FOR EACH OTHER IN A RELUCTANT FRIEND ZONE SORT OF WAY.

LOVE IT.
MEL

Author's Response: D'aw I'm so glad you like it ♥ I really do love delving deep into conflicts, although I never know if it's too much. Or if I'm rambling. I tend to ramble.

HEE MEL YOU WILL GO DOWN WITH THAT SHIP WON'T YOU? I admit that I don't think they think of each other that way, but their friendship is the most gratifying for me to write :D Bea might consider Albus her best friend, but in truth, she'd go through much more for Fred's sake, and vice versa.


 Report Review

Review #9, by TallestTower 

1st January 2012:
That is, until Flitwick dashed her tour de force by zapping the rule out of the book, saying that it was "out-of-date rubbish" and ended up leading that year's flash mob with his dancing cupcake troupe.

"Private theme park," Albus breathed, de-plastering his face from the table.

HONESTLY, DO YOU WANT MY HEART TO MELT INTO JELLY-GOO? I DON'T THINK IT WORKS AS WELL LIKE THAT, AND I'M RATHER FOND OF IT.

Albus was actually holding his breath and appeared increasingly uncomfortable as the silence dragged on.

GOO.

On the other hand, there was Bea who trudged into the hall at half-past, looking like she had stumbled out of a lobotomy.

Just perfect, perfect writing teeheeez.

She seemed so peaceful as she laid there, her elbow on a waffle.

Why does that sound so comfy?

ALSO NEW BANNAH WAHAEGH-CRAZYDANCE-DIJFNF!! THAT'S FUN!

Things all got a bit serious! Well, aside from all the hilarity and Albus o'corse. But yeah, scary-future-planning times for Bea. I enjoyed it though alotlot. You balanced the serimoose and hilarimoose well I thinked. ♥

PLUSH- CRAYCRAY ENDING SAY WHUT!?

Author's Response:
HOLONO GOO. I have missed you. And I have much gladness for your return and many quotes. Also yes, the serious has returned, but it's all right, there are biscuits.

NEW BANNAH because I could not resist :3



 Report Review

Review #10, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

31st December 2011:
Gasp! :O
Great chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by forsakenphoenix 

23rd December 2011:
Oh, poor Albus. Um, at least he made the team like Lucy said? Poor kid can't catch a break. Also, I don't think I mentioned how much I love that Bea keeps calling Scorpius SMARMY.

...private theme park? Oh goodness. Albus is a big dreamer, what with his Hufflepuff-ness. Haha, and Bea's stomach is always thinking for her too. A thousand cupcakes, indeed.

I was just thinking about how profound Lucy's statement was and then she went and blew it by declaring she stole it from a fortune cookie. Figures. I love how ambitious Bea is, wanting to start her own shop, and I know Fred is being a fuddy-duddy but he does kind of have a point (and wow, I never thought I'd say that).

Heh, homicidal wombat. I mean, really, where do you come up with these things? Comedic genius, I'm telling you. Oh, dear, poor Bea. I get where her friends are coming from, I really do, but ouch, if I was Bea I would probably have started legit crying. None of that "dotted with real tears" nonsense.

FREDDIE IS THE BESTEST FRIEND EVER. I think sometimes I get frustrated with him and his lack of faith in Bea but then he pulls out with all that stuff like her being proud of herself and what not and I'm just like, 'aww, Freddie!' Bea's lucky to have him. He's kind of like an annoying conscious but he does what he thinks is best and I can't fault him for that. Also...I suppose I'm not surprised if Scorpius and Anjali are engaged (though I can't tell if it's legit or not). Makes business sense so I think definitely merger, not love.

Author's Response: Albus will get his moment in due time, I shall say, mostly because I can't wait to write it :D And hee, the nicknames were never meant to be a thing (and neither were the cupcakes and blazers) but I'm glad they stuck.

Even if Lucy were the smartest person out of them all and she would never use her intelligence for anything bigger than trolling and upstaging Rose. Yep.

Impromptu interventions never bode well, but this does seem to be on the better end. It had biscuits, after all.

AND I COULDN'T END ON A DOWNER, I JUST COULDN'T. Fred's really just the tops - and someone has to be sensible! Plus, he makes a good pillow.



 Report Review

Review #12, by Ellerina 

7th December 2011:
GINA YOU DISCO-ING JELLYFISH.

I remember all the flailing that went into this chapter and I have to say that now that I see it as a whole, it was totally worth it. The breakfast scene totally cracked me up -- Bea crawling under the table to give Fred a hug LOL. I also thought there was lots of really good ~character development~ which I know you are afeared of. DON'T BE. DAS ESS GUT. I did miss Scorpius in this chapter though, and Anjali and her sexy legs. Franjali MUST PREVAIL -runs off to make shipping banner and paints face with war paint-

Bea cleared her throat so loudly that nearby Ravenclaws turned, wondering whether a Norwegian Ridgeback had somehow made its way to their common room. What was that? Oh, it's just Bea, the resident Ravenclaw dragon. NBD.

Rose Weasley will not be used like a tissue! Rose using third person had me pissing. She is such a . Prefect

Little did they know, their words had done their deed and the saccharine sympathy Bea once would have gladly welcomed now tasted as bitter as cough syrup. There is nothing worse than ruining Bea's enjoyment of sugar. Monsters.

I DEMAND MORE SCORP GIVE IT TO ME I DEMAND ITTT.

Annir

Author's Response: ANNIR YOU GIFFING MADWOMAN.

DAS GUT? You know, I don't think it was ever the character development itself that scared me, but the entirely long-winded approach I take to it. Because I let my characters flail around so much and have SUDDEN PARAGRAPHS OF INTROSPECTION flanked by crack and waffles. Yep.

Bea makes /entrances/.

STOP BEING SUCH A HERMIONE, ROSE, especially because you lack the awesome.

I love that the optimism in this fic is judged by its level of desserts. It is strangely appropriate.

I KNOW, SUCH A VOID OF THE VELVET BLAZER. Sadness.



 Report Review

Review #13, by prettywishes 

5th December 2011:
So I pretty much just raced through this fic, because it was just so good that I didn't want to wait to get to see what was happening next! You've managed to come up with such a good plot, one that I love extra because of the fact that it deals with magic much more than most fics do. For even if they all take place in Hogwarts some people somehow managed to overlook the magic sometimes.

I also really think that Bea is one of the best OC's that I've read in a long time! She's just so easy to identify with, especially once her flaws were sort of brought to life. But of course I want everything to end up working out for her in the end, just because she's so lovable.

Also, on a rather unrelated note, what's the name of the actress/model or whatnot that you use for Bea in the chapter images/banner and whatnot?

Author's Response: Thank you so so much ♥ Magic's always been the best part of Hogwarts, and it's really one of the top things I try to keep in mind whenever I write this. The charm, the crazy, the complete lack of common sense, on occasion -- that's what makes wizards so wizardy!

And that you say she's relatable makes me flail even more. I worry sometimes that I've made her too silly. I think of her as someone who prefers to act outrageously because it's in her nature to grab attention and avoid serious topics -- which is a problem once she actually tries to be serious. That side of her plays a large part in her growth :)

I used Seo Hyo Rim on the banner and Victoria Song on the CIs :D I prefer to imagine her as Victoria, as she's actually Chinese.

and again, thank you for the review! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #14, by FoundriaPenguin 

4th December 2011:
HA YESSS. SCORPBEAUS SHOT DOWN. ANJUBBIUS FOR THE WIN! HOPEFULLY FOR ETERNITY :D /anything's possible, but it's alright if it isn't. :P DON'T DISILLUSION ME IN THE NEXT CHAPTER, GINA. THE ON-OFF COUPLE IS FINALLY OFFICIAL EHEHEHE ♥ the two of them together are so hot, honestly.

okay, so i know technically i already left a review on this chapter, but after you ADDED IN THIS OTHER BIT *flails madly* I HAD TO COME BACK AND GIVE YOU MY FEEDBACK. i didn't even notice, sadly, until i decided to re-read it because i've missed reading capers for a while :P YOU SHOULD TELL PEOPLE THAT YOU PUT IN THIS NEXT PART, YOU KNOW, BECAUSE THEN YOU WOULD HAVE SCREAMING READERS AKIN TO THE QGA COMING AND UPPING YOUR READ COUNT.

-ahem-
anyways, BEA IS BEING UBER INDEPENDENT AND GROWN-UP! at least, i hope she is, because you always do that one-eighty thing and "not everything is at it seems" as you put in your little tidbit at the end. but i admire her determination to pull all-nighters like that. she is super cute, i agree with Rose. also, i would like to learn this advanced tongue yoga!

this was super entertaining. i find that all of those little details you put in like "swath of jam warpaint" and "looking like she had stumbled out of a lobotomy" and "dented stack of waffles" just induce large amounts of chuckling and wonder at your brilliance.

also, i don't remember Verona being mentioned before o.O i assume she's a roommate of Bea's? will she important later in the story??

HILARIOUS AS ALWAYS, LOFF. ♥
i eagerly and greedily await your posting of the next chapter.

--jordan ♥

Author's Response: OH JORDAN. Well, you'll get to hear more about it, for sure 8D Big ol' chunk of Scorpius/Anj, but whether it's happy or not -cough-

I AM GOING TO SAY SO WHEN I POST CHAPTER 12 which will hopefully be tomorrow or something of that sort.

Oh oh oh, don't worry she is. It's been a long time coming. You know me and my ~coming of age~. She can't survive off funtimes and sweets forever. Then she gets something called diabetes.

SILLY JORDAN. DO YOU NOT REMEMBER VERONA WOOD, VE-RONA WOOD? 8D

♥ OH YOU SILLY GOOSE YOU.


 Report Review

Review #15, by faerieall 

3rd December 2011:
OH MY GOD. OH MY GOD. "The Engagement of Scorpius Hyperion Malfoy and Anjali Patil-Davies"... GINA YOU ARE A CRUEL MISTRESS. Caps lock is necessary, ahem.

I've sat down to read this chapter at least 8 separate times and I always end up having to go do something else. But fkgdlkgh this was so wonderful. Beatrice and her wounded puppy-dogness at the beginning of the chapter. Cute Beatrice and Fred friendship. (also, my fictional character crush on Fred? Still there.) Albus and his Hufflepuff imperviousness to morning.

And then of course - yay Bea is hopefully getting a store! And Anjali and Scorpius... I cannot believe that happened. I am in shock. Someone get the smelling salts.

Can't wait for the next chapter, this one was great Gina! 10/10 (as per usual) ♥

Author's Response: HEEE. It's not as dire as you think. I had that backstory for them since before I even posted Capers.

asdfgh you are so wonderful. I've been writing today, so this review was like joy. JOY IN MY SOUL. I finally stopped being mean to Fred for once - always wanted to showcase their rapport more. Your crush is well appreciated ♥

Admittance - contract was never really that relevant to the plot. Character arc, maybe? 8D my plot points show up at the most unplanned times.

all the loffs to you ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Lumos_Nox 

13th November 2011:
This made me want to shoot Rose, honestly.
But yeah, another brilliant chapter as usual. I expected nothing less from you, and you delivered.
:)
Worth the wait. 100%.

Author's Response: Aw, Rose has a bit of a point; she just doesn't know how to communicate it gently. And gentle wouldn't knock it into Bea's attention, anyhow.

Thank you! ^__^ hopefully I can post the next chapter this weekend!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aiedail 

12th November 2011:
GINA. IT HAS BEEN TOO LONG.

I also don't think I have reviewed since YOU WON SOME DOBBIES SO CONGRATS FOREVER ON THAT (H) (H)

Firstly, Albus is so adorbs--private theme park is definitely the first thing that I would want, besides probably a thousand cupcakes. I love how that trips Bea up legitimately though and she's like how have I not thought of this.

And Oh, Bea. I'm not entirely convinced she can't do the shop thing while she's at Hogwarts but when a person isn't convinced something that is going to be difficult is going to be difficult then there are so many times, HUGE PROBLEMS.

LOL LUCY. "We will amount to nothing..." That sounds like a mafia phrasing. I appreciate this.

And while Rose kinda is being drama queen there's a point in everybody's life when a friend just has to lay things down for them in a way that shakes them outside of themselves a little bit. I always think of The Philadelphia Story when Cary Grant's character just like lays stuff out to Katherine's character because she's a pompous jerk and they're actually perfect for each other etc etc.

Emergency biscuits should be in everybody's life :)

This is a WUNDERFUL CHAPTER GINAAA. I like that it's that reminder to even us as readers that things can be fun but you're always just kind of a kid trying to figure out what you're like and what you can do in life at this age. That's something that sadly not a lot of fics portray and that fits in well here, and that you've written masterfully.

Also, my 200th review!! For a v deserving chapter & story.

-lily (HEARTS FOREVS)

Author's Response: LILYYY. I've been saving this reply for muse.

(H) (H) (H) Heh, they look like dumbbells.

Bea couldn't believe she was trying to be mature and prepare for her future when there are cupcakes to be had. And not just any cupcake, -all the cupcakes-.

POOR BEA BEING STUBBORN. It's always possible, but life gets in the way so much faster than you'd think. I admit that I'm basing this bit off a failed t-shirt venture of mine, and oh god, the -optimism- and -dreams- I had going into that, even though it was such a little thing.

The responsible people never get any love ;A; BUT THEY'RE -RIGHT-. Terrible world for them.

Baww Lily, ♥ you do the childhood-growing-up thing best; I'm just a leecher of your awesomeness.

YAY 200TH ALL FOR ME :3 ♥ FOREVS.


 Report Review

Review #18, by crookedshanks 

11th November 2011:
Oh gosh, I'm still prancing around singing Bea's filthy, filthy rich. Please, please do let her rip off the Malfoy fortune though I bet her shop won't even cost him one of his er, very tasteful suits. At least throw in 500 more tarts with extra custard for her, will you? And I love Al (fangirls), the Potters really should have their own theme park.

And poor Bea's starting to make decisions! I'm crossing my fingers that they amount to more than stale and salty crumbs (HOW COULD YOU). Update soon with more of your Dobby-deserving quotes, and we'll love you like Malfoy's hotcakes!

Author's Response: I totally read that as 'please let her rip off Malfoy's tasteful suits', which made that sentence quite interesting in a different sense. I should mention that perhaps Scorpius' fortune is also a little exaggerated, especially the amount that Scorpius has himself ;)

Decisions, decisions! Sadly, the world cannot be just desserts. Breaks my heart, too.

♥ thank you for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Toujours Padfoot 

10th November 2011:
So by now you should expect rambling reviews of drivel and capslock and trollspeak from me, so I shall now shamelessly review in said style without further adieu:

beached whale analogies LULZ! Reserve for the reserves! Rose preventing ANNUAL FLASH MOBS WHAT IS THIS, I WANT TO ATTEND THIS HOGWARTS.

With a snooty nose in the air, she had declared, "No unchaperoned dancing in the Great Hall."

Oh Rose, you hammer of justice, you.

Oh my god, you said tour-de-force. IN FIC. YOU SAID TOUR-DE-FORCE IN FIC. WHAT ARE YOU, GINA. ARE YOU HUMAN. QUESTION MARK.

Flitwick, you are awesome. Cupcake troupes. Oh lord. Bea could be his prodigy.

INTERRUPTING HERE TO LOL FOREVER AT KITTY WITH MONOCLE AND TOP HAT. THIS IS CANON GINA FOREVER. MATRIX RAINING IN BACKGROUND FOREVS.

Desperation is the last biscuit in the tin. Again with the cracky analogies. ♥ I am going to have to google what a cerberus is. Fred can identify the scent of a contract like a basset hound, natch. ALBUS'S FIRST THOUGHT IS FOR A PRIVATE THEME PARK. Oh god, he is such a Hufflepuff. A shop in Hogsmeade, that is so brill.

"Like Uncle George!" exclaimed Albus, crawling closer to the contract. "And then we can visit you and get free swag!"

ALBUS, YOU ARE MY NEW FAVORITE PERSON EVER. YOU JUST SAID SWAG. THIS ACTUALLY JUST HAPPENED.

WHO IS SASHA. WHAT IS THIS NEW DEVELOPMENT WITH FAMILY MEMBERS WOT. Oh Bea, you dreamer. YOU GO GET THAT SHOP, DON'T LISTEN TO THESE NAYSAYERS.

You only ever care if we help you or not, and Rose Weasley will not be used like a tissue!
BRB DYING. If I were Bea, I would be telling Rose just where she can shove her moral compass. Homicidal wombat lulzz.

Aww Lucy, I think I like you. FRED, TAKE BEA'S SIDE. COME ON, CAN'T YOU SEE SHE'S SINKING HERE. Hee indignant fourth years not knowing she was in their house.

Everyone needs to stop attacking Bea! Wait, never mind! Keeping attacking! Drive her into the waiting arms of the enemy! It can be Scorbeaus against the world. *adjusts shipper goggles*

"You didn't even consider the theme park idea."
Oh Albus, how I adore thee. Let me count the ways...

If she were a pilot, there would be 'Mayday! Mayday!' screaming through her pupils with extra exclamation points.
I love how cartoonish that was. I love you. You are bomb. ♥

The conversation's gotten too serious, hasn't it? Bea, think of puppies! I'll go get the emergency biscuits!"
Oh, Lucy. You enabler, you.

GINA UPDATE IMMEDIATELY. LIKE RIGHT NOW. BECAUSE I AM ALSO A JELLYFISH AT A DISCO AND I NEED MOAR.



Author's Response: I'D BEEN SAVING THIS REVIEW TO RESPOND TO ♥

FLASH MOB FOR ALL THE THINGS. I think Annie's actually incorporating it somewhere.

I AM NOT HUMAN; I'M A COMPUTER. HAVEN'T YOU LEARNED ANYTHING ABOUT ME, SARAH? IT'S THE ONLY REASONABLE EXPLANATION.

Omg, Bea as Flitwicks prodigy. lololol training cupcakes to dance. Now I'm imagining the hypothetical AU spin-off timeline of this.

CERBERUS IS FLUFFY!

OH SARAH, YOUR ATTENTION SPAN IS THE SIZE OF LE SCORP'S HUMILITY. I see your shipper periscope next to Juliar's

LUCY = ENABLER = TOTALLY ME. jsyk.

I LOVE YOU LIKE A PEANUT LOVES JELLY. ♥ I AM EXPLOITING THIS REVIEW AS MUSE.


 Report Review

Review #20, by peppersweet 

8th November 2011:
NUUUH BEEEAAA ASDFGHJKL;

*runs across internet, countryside, smashes fourth wall, breaks into hogwarts, gallops to beau's side, hugs bea, runs to kitchens, force house elves to make a huge batch of cupcakes, runs back to bea, forces bea to est cupcakes, runs to dungeons, grabs scorpius (and his blazer), runs back to bea, foists upon the other then flees back out of hogwarts, over the fourth wall, and, as gubby put it so well, jetskis into the wilderness*

ahem.

yes, Lucy. Imagine ALL the things!

Hogwarts flash mobs and balcony barbecues? Moar, moar pls.

Short review this time (nhnuuuhhh but I am typing this on my phone and my hands are well cold and etc etc). BUT THIS CHAPTER, homg. Rose pls just go sit in a corner and think about what you've done. Fred, cuddle bea. Albus...keep being cute. And Lucy...imagine ALL the things! Sorry idk why that tickled me so, h3h3h3.

Another stupendous chapter of sublime splenderifnosity, my dear. Keep it up and...SCORPIUS WHAT DO YOU MEAN INVESTMENT NOOO THIS DOES NOT BODE WELL

p.s bea should totally open her shop. I wouldn't. Mind reading a sequel about it nudge nudge wink wink hint hint.

Author's Response: -RUNS AT YOU WITH FLAILING ARMS THAT DO NOT KNOW WHERE TO DO-

GDI, I JUST PUT UP THAT FOURTH WALL. NOW I HAVE TO BUILD IT UP AGAIN. Scorpius has the sympathy of a scouring pad, unfortunately. I doubt he would help. But his blazer is fuzzy! Fuzzy is good.

ALL OF THE THINGS. It tickled you because WE ARE LUCY OFC. Bad idea bearing all over the place. All of the things, all over the place.

lolol I love how all the reviews are like MATURITY? THERE IS NO PLACE HERE FOR MATURITY WHEN BEA IS CRYING. Emotional manipulations leaking through the fourth wall.

LESS OMINOUS THAN YOU THINK... OR IS IT?!

lolol oh if only you knew what the sequel would be about, if this had a sequel ;D


 Report Review

Review #21, by DetectiveMenace 

7th November 2011:
YAY! An update! I know what you mean about school eating you up - me too (just figuratively. I'd be very freaked out if it was literally). And less of a wait for Chapter 12? Totally awesome!

Oh, Bea. It's true that she expects a lot out of her friends and tends to take some of the things they do for granted; but the sadface! No one can say NO to THE SADFACE. :(

A store! I think that's a good investment for Bea to make; her inventions are great and would definitely sell well. (Heh. Rhyme.) However, she needs someone like Fred to keep her on track, and I think Fred would rather go on to bigger and better things than being a shop clerk.

The store really is a good idea, although Albus' idea of a 'private theme park' and Lucy's idea of 'a thousand cupcakes' sound equally as wonderful (maybe even more wonderful!)

I was looking forward to a Capers update last month, but alas - school must come before fanfiction. :( Congratulations on your Dobby win! Or should I call it wins, since one of your banners won one too? Haha. Won one. Sounds strange - like this review, actually! :D I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: ;_; Hellish week coming up. But I'm enjoying the brief break before that all comes crashing down.

YES THE SADFACE. Oh the irony of it, eh?

The shop is really just a fleeting idea Bea has for now -- she's unsure about the future and she's kind of going between ideas, trying to figure out what's best for her.

She is definitely considering the cupcake idea ;D

Thank you! :D Hee, I did get two ^__^ I still can't believe it. I'm on that page with so many legends!


 Report Review

Review #22, by RuuunItsJoanne 

7th November 2011:
I AM ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE WITH THIS.

Okay, I just really needed to point that out. Heh, Anywho! This story is just brilliantly written and it's no wonder I can't stop reading this. I love the humor, the amazing portray on the characters, the awesome and original plot ideas, and not to mention Beatrice Chang in general. Everything is laced together perfectly, from the wacky, completely mad inventor to the cool, suit-wearing, point man, side kick.

Yeah, so all I'm really trying to say is that this story is way rad and you should update soon. (:

Author's Response: THANK YOU :3 Ahh I've been working hard on edits, so this really means a lot ♥ I'll be sure to update soon! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #23, by Snapdragons 

6th November 2011:
Darn you, because as soon as I read the chapter title, I got the Sound of Music stuck in my head. Thanks a lot.

(also, you split it up. hmph! Probably better for me because I'm supposed to be doing homework right now...)

(also I was going to rejoice that my stalking skills were coming back but then Jordan beat me to reviewing so hmph on her)

Albus is the reserve to the reserves ♥ gah how much more adorable can he get? I dare you. more Albus please. All Albus all the time.

Flitwick. Flash mobs. Unchaperoned dancing in the Great Hall. Dancing cupcake troupes.

Also, whatever happens, Bea should definitely ask for the thousand cupcakes. Let's be real here: there a certain priorities that need to be taken care of first. -nods- cupcakes > life

"We will all amount to nothing one day as the sands of time cover our tombs and we are forgotten in chaos of history," Lucy declared, unfazed.

Rose rolled her eyes. "How deep."

"Thank you. I stole it from a fortune cookie."
e so deep. So philosophical. omg Lucy's so smart.

Basically I felt like giving Bea a hug and crying too :( BEA! 'Beatrice Chang, you nearly got all of your friends killed or worse, expelled without so much of a cupcake in their honor. It's a wonder they put up with you' -sniffs- (also, I sense some Hermione in there)

When even custard creams taste off, you know you've got a problem.

YAY because this made my day and although I clearly need to refine my skills in both reviewing and speedily jumping on updates but I shall have to be content. I can offer no constructive feedback other than I liked it but meh. I liked it. It made me giggle. :)

Also, I am super excited for next chapter because it's got Scorpius in it. And secrets and scandals. EXCELLENT!

Fabulous job as always! And the Sound of Music is still stuck in my head...

Author's Response: I did split it D: ALAS. BUT I WILL MAKE IT UP TO YOU. WITH UM. SOMETHING. I'M SURE. QUICK UPDATE? HOPEFULLY? 8D

Albus appreciates your love and gives you all the friendship rainbows ♥ Albus is Bea's closest friend, so definitely a lot of awws in the future. -cough stargazing atop the Astronomy tower-

Priorities what are theyyy :D I do not even have them in real life.

Bawww, GROUP HUG. Except Bea doesn't want the group hug and is like, NO NO, PLEASE TAKE ME SERIOUSLY.

I loffs you and your procrastination ♥ may the hills be alive for you~


 Report Review

Review #24, by foundriapenguin 

6th November 2011:
LIKE A TRUE NINJA I SNAPPED THIS OUT OF THE RECENTLY ADDED. 8D MUAHAHA.

I HAVE BEEN WAITING SO LONG FOR THIS NEW CHAPTER EHEHEHEHE :D AND AS MUCH AS I LIKE THE FUN, IMMATURE BEATRICE, I LOVE THE MATURE ONE, TOO!!! *dances around happily*

I. LOVE. LUCY. SHE'S HILARIOUS. I LOVE HOW SHE POPS IN RANDOMLY AND OFFERS HER TWO CENTS. A THOUSAND CUPCAKES. BISCUITS. BUT ESPECIALLY HER FORTUNE COOKIE STEALING ABILITIES. 8D THAT WAS MY FAVORITE LINE IN THE WHOLE CHAPTER WHEN ROSE SAYS, "HOW DEEP." AND LUCY SAYS, "THANK YOU. I STOLE IT FROM A FORTUNE COOKIE."

TOO. HILARIOUS. ok i think i'm done with the caps now xD But anyways, I thought this entire chapter was rather hilarious even though we were witnessing a slightly more serious side of Bea's personality where she's trying to grow up and stuff. Poor Bea realizes that she's kind of been taking her friends for granted, then? Or did I misinterpret that? :P

i lurve this story. and i lurve you so much that i don't even mind that you split the chapters. I JUST WANT ANOTHER CAPERS UPDATE & MY LIFE WILL BE COMPLETE. ♥

your best fangirl,
jordan :')

Author's Response: OH JORDAN. THE CAPS ALMOST MAKES MY HEAD SPIN.

Poor bb is trying so hard to grow up. As Gubby put it (and I am totally stealing this), the dark side of being adorable: no one takes you seriously.

I AM TOTALLY LUCY IN THIS CHAPTER. The eternal bad idea bear ofc. I also had to ask Julia if fortune cookies were common enough in Britain to use it ;D

I think Bea's always known that she takes her friends for granted, but it's always been in little bits that she shrugs off. But now they're -telling- her this and all at once. I think it's very different when things are said aloud; she can't avoid it.

♥ I WILL TRY


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review