Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cirque Du Freak 

4th June 2013:
Lots of Freddie and Dom in this one which i was mucho pleased about yay ♥

AND STILL ARCHIE IS LAX BUT NOT LAX HERE AGAIN! HOLIDAY HOMEWORK.
HOLIDAY
HOMEWORK.
Goodness, Archie he's almost a real teacher and that's scary, you know, considering his personality and the fact that he hates his job but still keeps at it (he reminds me of someone in that respect...AHEM ME)

Its also really weird when you think about that everything Muggle has to be explained in complete detail like the whole unicycle tricycle thing because we wouldn't normally think of simple things to be explained, but its like kids who want to know everything (to a point) so THATS WEIRD.

and im tired now and havent napped yet AND I PROMISED REVIEWS so there we go.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jack 

13th May 2013:
I seriously love this story, its hilarious and witty and cheers me up greatly!

Author's Response: Thanks Jack! Really glad I was able to amuse you :D

 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charm 

7th May 2013:
Aw sad times when I miss out on the 150th review, oh well, I'll aim for the next landmark review!

It's fine Archie the amount of teachers who have shown me films around Christmas is unblievable, so you probably wouldn't get fired!

I'm almost surprised that Dom and Fred didn't include Mean Girls in their favourites, but I can imagine why they would like Grease, those dance moves are classic!

Haha I loved how you could tell what a type of person they would be due to their nail varnish and the fact that Hogwarts had an emo sub-culture. I never thought about them having the same sort of cliques but it makes sense. Ive painted my nails both black and pink, so I guess Im a Barbie and an emo!

The muggle tour actually sounds really fun, and if I was a wizard I would love to go one! I cant wait to see the reaction of Archies girlfriend though, I can imagine she wouldnt be nearly as delighted I would be if I found out I was going on one!

Another awesomesauce chapter, and I can't wait to read on :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Films are pretty much a muggle christmas standard, so I though Archie might be able to get away with it (and if he was going to be fired, I can imagine there'd be a whole host of other reasons to fire him which would be slightly better reasons).

MEAN GIRLS! I'm going to HAVE to make a mean girls reference at some point. I hadn't even thought about that. THANKS for the suggestion.

Ahha, nail-varnish-defines-your-personality. Did no one ever tell you, you Barbie-emo? ;)

THANK YOU for such a lovely review and glad you liked the chapter :D

-Helen


 Report Review

Review #4, by AlexFan 

18th April 2013:
I wanna take Muggle Studies now, this sounds like an awesome class (it sounds a lot like my math class actually). Everyone is just so laid back and easy going. You know, I suspect that Archie is fond of some of his students (shocking, I know) but he just won't admit it.

Dom seems to have a particular knack for Muggle Studies from what I can tell and next to Archie, she and Shelly are y favourite characters.

Author's Response: Pah, if I was a muggle born I'd DEFO be one of the students who took Muggle Studies for kicks. I reckon it'd be hilarious and... why not get a qualification in it?

I love Dom. THanks for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by ariellem 

21st May 2012:
he appreciated this references to muggle culture, but was slightly unsure whether it was appropriate or not. He often found himself asking that sort of thing around those two.

Sir, Ive asked my dad for some muggle drinks for Christmas, I thought we could all have a taster session.

Ah Freddie and Dom, the two weirdest students around. I love how you have them dancing to Grease (complete with Fred sticking his finger up Terry's nose).

Author's Response: Hey ariellem! SO glad that you're enjoying this story as I've had a blast writing it. I love archie. I love Freddie and Dom. I love your reviews :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by SerpentineOffering 

10th May 2012:
I laughed. A lot.
Another wonderful chapter to a great story. I like how weird Archibald is, it's fantastic! It's hilarious how he regards his students. The nicknames are priceless. I wish I had of had a class that I basically did no work in, just watched movies. I would have been in heaven!

Excellent job!

Recenseo

Author's Response: Hehe, glad you're finding it funny! This is one of the stories I just love to write because it's so ridiculous and, well, plotless. Nicknames are always fun, right? I have several over those classes - bad news for grades, though.

Thanks for the review! :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #7, by NaidatheRavenclaw 

5th May 2012:
Dear Helen,

I like you. A lot.

Love, Naida.

Idk, I felt like starting it off with something different for once :P Okay. I'm going to make a list of everything I have to review and update it as I go along. I also discovered that I haven't reviewed every chapter of TAOS *gasp* so I have to fix that.

Muggle Studies: 3/5
Saving Grace: 10/17
TAOS: 17/18
Silence in the Library: 0/2
All the Abstract Nous: 0/3

OKAY. LETS DO THIS.

So Archie is quickly becoming better and better. Though Fred is awesome too. And Dom. Ahha, it's a wonder Hogwarts is still standing with all these cray cray students running around the place. Though if Archie was the Muggle Studies teacher, I'd totally take Muggle Studies too. I'd be the awkward kid at the back of the classroom that laughed much too loudly at everything.

Because just the mental image of Fred dancing the routine from Grease made me crack up.

And he has a girlfriend, how sweet! :) If wizards can go on Muggle tours, why can't Muggles go on wizard tours? :( Can you imagine how fast that would sell out? :P RIDE A BROOM. VISIT WIZARDING SITES. DUDE, WE COULD MAKE MILLIONS. Archie should make it happen. He can collaborate with Arthur Weasley and we can have a Wizard amusement park!

Oh wait...we already do xD

Awesome job though!

-Naida

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

15th April 2012:
'Star Wars', 'The Notebook', and 'Mean Girls' being his particular favourites (films were the instant-solution to a double period with rowdy students, something which he had learnt well in his time). His copy of 'Grease' had been worn out by Fred and Dominique Weasley repeatedly watching it so they could learn the dance moves.

Do you like any of those movies?

AH! Star Wars! Ah, movies I like, besides the Notebook! Ah, Star WARS! Grease. Dom and Fred doing the musical numbers? I WISH THIS STORY WAS AN ACTUAL MOVIE! Us Muggles love to see such entertainment. It would be an instant hit. A cult classic.

Archibald resisted the urge to suggest 'x-box' purely because Xavier Boxton hadn't understood the concept at all, and had threatened to file a complaint against him unless he deceased with the nickname.

I DID NOT UNDERSTAND THE NICKNAME THING AT ALL. And then I started to read the next section and it clicked I laughed hysterical and then I sneezed all over my computer (yuck). These poor children and their horrible names. I thought Apple was bad!

and in the end he had read the ones by muggle authors primarily to understand more of the culture, of course and he'd thought that he ticked the 'being yourself' boxes by inviting her on the holiday-of-a-lifetime.

I no longer have to think about it because it's official...I HAVE A CRUSH ON ARCHIBALD...and I'm not ashamed. WHY ARE ALL YOUR CHARACTERS ALWAYS SO A-M-A-Z-I-N-G?

Author's Response: AHH YES. The Mean Girls one sort of snuck in their for the kicks (not that it isn't a fabulous film) and the Notebook well... oh, Archie. AHHA. Grease. Lol.

THAT WOULD BE COOL. THIS BEING A MOVIE. Although they'd be no plot, so it would have to be a little like The Boat that Rocked where it's just a load of people having a really good time, ahha. BUT IT WOULD BE REALLY AWESOME.

AHH. Sneezed all over your computer. So much love.

Apple is a bad name. I'd hate to be called Apple. Ewwy.

IT'S OKAY I HAVE A CRUSH ON HIM TOO BECAUSE HE'S FABULOUS (sorry for, you know, taking ten days to reply to this).

You're wonderful

~AC


 Report Review

Review #9, by CloakAuror9 

14th April 2012:
Hey there! I am so so sorry for taking such a long time! I thought I had finished with my review...apparently, I'm not. (My goldfish-like memory always fails me...)

MEAN GIRLS, ftw! Hahha! One more reason why we should all just love Archie. Dom and Freddie are just hilarious! Teletubbies! OMG. I thought they only existed in my world! I remember watching them as a child and I used to be so addicted to them...good times. xD

I really love how you manage to make the whole story believable and the characters too! I love Archie so much! He is such a silly, funny, and quirky character! Words cannot express my love!!

So, we've heard about the 6th, 4th and 3rd year students...I wonder what's next?! HOMG! The fifth years! With the OWLs and the Sevenths with their NEWTs! :D omg. omg. omg. omg. I am so so excitedd!

Yeah, excitement can't be contained,
CloakAuror9 xx

Author's Response: That's okay, I love your reviews and I personally think you get to them in super-quick time ;)

MEAN GIRLS. Ahha. He has such good taste when it comes to films and stuff. And obviously teletubbies are very important to life. Yup.

I have so much fun writing this, with Archie just sort of flying off my fingers and being all amusing and great. Really, I love him.

OOO. WHAT'S NEXT? I think you're going to hear about all of them plus a few extras, but... the 4th years are more distant than some of the others ;)

Thank you for such a lovely review! :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lillylover22 

11th April 2012:
He is so quirky. I love it 9/10 : )

Author's Response: Bah, he's certainly... different ;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by lizmusic45 

18th March 2012:
How can anyone not like this story? it's funny, witty, quirky, silly, but still has a great plot line, fantastic one lines, and paragraphs that make you laugh out loud. I sometimes wonder how you do it.

I'm going to have to ask what is it with Archibald Penrose and Mean girls? That movie wasn't one of his finnier choices if I'm judging, but I'm not, I'm just wondering :)

Did like this chapter so very much though, and I'm sorry I haven't been visiting this page as much as I should, I really like your stories and recently started reading the art of breathing, really all your writing, it just is so, so, so, amazing.

Keep up the good work :)

Lizzie

Author's Response: I KNOW RIGHT? Lol, Jk, there are plenty of reasons why someone might not like Archie. I mean, they're silly people bcause Archie is fabulous.

OH HE JUST LOVES MEAN GIRLS. He's just so G.
Lololol.

Oh, I hope you're enjoying TAOB! And thanks for the lovely review :)

Helen


 Report Review

Review #12, by SexyDoorFrames 

18th March 2012:
Hey. Once again, I loved this chapter, the story just gets better with each chapter you post. Archie just gets better, I mean, he loves mean girls and the note book, that is just made of awesome right there. You also just get funnier each time, I really applaud you for that, as the humour never feels forced, it's just there. I mean, incident with a space hopper? That is just genius. In all, perfect chapter, once again! I'm loving this story so much and now I'm sad cause they're is only one more chapter that is up to go, but thank you for writing such a funny story!

Author's Response: Hehhe, Oh, Archie :)

He might acutally be one of my favourite characters of all time just because he's so... well, hillariously fabulous to write and yes. I love him. I used to hate writing humour, because angst seems to be my forte, but now it's like a second first love.

Thank you for such a lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by Sarahthebookworm 

18th March 2012:
As usual, I loved this chapter. Have to love the wacky Weasley twins! I like how you introduce the next gen characters like the Weasley/Potter family and Professor Longbottom while staying true to your theme. I also love how you introduce the class in the beginning of the chapter and have a different curse each time. I think it demonstrates Archie's character very well.

Favorite quotes:

'Now they occasionally performed them to him in the corridors, which he always through was quite funny even though Professor Boot had never quite forgiven him for the time he had wound up with Fred Weasley's finger up his nose when he'd been a little too erratic during the a recital of the final, fantastical number.' (There's an extra 'a' here ^, you might want to edit that)

'her novelty flamingo pen (oh, how proud Archibald was)'

'Archibald resisted the urge to suggest 'x-box' purely because Xavier Boxton hadn't understood the concept at all, and had threatened to file a complaint against him unless he deceased with the nickname. Bloody spoilt brat. Nobody appreciated geeky muggle jokes anymore.'

"I've asked for a bicycle," Gina McLaggen said..."To help mum with the washing up, you know, but I don't think she'll get one - dad is clueless about things like that." Nope. Dreams crushed. Just another day in the life, Archie supposed.'

"Probably has commitment issues." Gina said, looking up from her doodling - now a slightly decapitated santa clause. Poor girl.'

"Fine," Archibald sighed, slumping down on the edge of the desk, "knock yourself out."
It was sad that he felt the need to add 'not literally' onto the end of that sentence. There was something in Fred Weasley's eyes that made him think it would be unwise not to...'

Anyway, this was a great chapter as usual, and I'm curious to see Archie's girlfriend. Maybe you could introduce her during the summer months?

Author's Response: The introductions and the 12+ curses (I'm going to run out soon, I think) were actually added a little while after this story, so it's good to know that you think they're a good addition. As I do quite enjoy writing them :D

THE WACKY WEASLEYS.

In my head, Dom and Freddie are almost /always/ best friends. Although, I've written several next gen stories when they're not... to me they're like /tight/ as Tom Hardy would say.

OH, unfortunately Archie's girlfriend really didn't take to the muggle close and totally dumped him (poor Archie) but they'll be more on that later. BUt I couldn't et Archie be alone! Don't worry! ;)


 Report Review

Review #14, by justonemorefic 

28th February 2012:
lolol Archie setting up a magical projector reminded me of how I once used a magical blender in one of my stories, which was essentially the same thing as a non-magical one, but just magical. Oh wizards, your physics are so weird.

But I suppose wizard or not, always go to movies to occupy your students when you don't have anything else on the syllabus. AHA THE NOTEBOOK AND MEAN GIRLS. Oh Archie what is your taste even.

XAVIER BOXTON. LOLLL. OMG THAT IS THE MOST UNFORTUNATE THING EVER. You know how I love the word jokes :3

Hee name doppleganger. ANGSTILY COLOURING. lol wizards are too gothic to have an emo culture. It'd be mainstream.

bantering about his dating life heee. I love Dom and Fred.

LOL the last line. God I love this whole group. ♥

Author's Response: I started responding to this immediately after recieving it, but then you were like "I've left you another" and I was all like "AH 40!!" So I copied and pasted what I'd written, but didn't put it anywhere.

Wizard-phsycis 0.o

Lololol Archie quite clearly has impeccable taste in movies, obviously. I love the word jokes too, personally. AHH.

YEAH DOPPLEGANGER. The only Helen I've ever found in fanfiction was... James Potter I mother? Once? Yeah, there should be more Helens.

Thank you so much for this lovely review :D

AC


 Report Review

Review #15, by Mihali1432 

23rd February 2012:
I'm sorry but this was awesome. The level of how much this made me laugh is next to how weird my brother is... Which is a lot.

X-boxes, Bikes, movies, xD I'm reading this and thinking "HAHAHAHA I know that!" Teletubbies... You know, that sun of theirs scares me... It's a baby head! A BABY HEAD.

Anyways, to more! Mike.

Author's Response: This story is really daft but really fab and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

The teletubbies are scary in so many ways. We watched an entire epsiode in english (cause we're doing about how children aquire language) and I wanted to cry. It was awful.

Anyway, to more!

AC


 Report Review

Review #16, by charlottetrips 

23rd January 2012:
I love it! I was so excited to see a Chapter 2 to this story as well as Robert Downey Jr in your banner. Love him oodles.

This whole chapter. This whole chapter. Oh lord! I can't even begin to say what I love about it!

x-box purely because Xavier Boxton - is a pretty good place to start. This man's sarcasm, love. He's wry and world-weary but loves what he's doing though he seems somewhat tired.

The whole interaction of the students was great! It was wizard teens mixed in with what we remember most of high school and it was real and wonderful to read. Please update soon! (In the myriad of all your other amazing WIPs)

Author's Response: Oh yayy! I'm really glad you wanted to come back for chapter 2. I realise that it's a completely silly ridiculous story, but oh... I do love it.

RDJ ftw. Seriously. There's so much win on this banner. -bows down to amazing graphic artists-

I felt the need to continue the tradition of silly names. I've got a couple of doozies for the next chapter :D

Hehe, the myriad of WIPS. I might start officially calling my authors page that. Yup.

Thanks for the lovely review! :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #17, by Traceypadfoot 

8th January 2012:
Loving the story! Please update soon!!

Author's Response: Thank you! Hopefully there should be an update soon enough :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by ShieldSnitch3 

2nd January 2012:
Oh, Archie. Two of his favorite movies are The Notebook and Mean Girls. I LUFF IT! You go, Glen Coco :D

Dom and Fred. Grease dance moves. What's with them and dancing? Actually, I don't care. So funny.

Characterization was spot on again, although I feel we need to learn a little bit more about Spencer and Boris, they just sort of popped in. Of course, Spencer was sleeping, so not much you could do with that.

Ooh, and the witty character name trend continues! Xavier Boxton, that was just perfect. And I loved how he was taking notes during the movie that no one was watching. Sad part is, I know someone who writes a novel every time she takes down notes. Or really writes down anything, come to think of it. Your characters are so believable, so good job with that :)

Favorite line by far: "his own collection of teletubbies memorabilia contained nothing quite as exciting as a cake."

My only complaint? THERE WAS NO KEVIN. WHERE WAS KEVIN. I NEED KEVIN AND HIS SUAVE ATTITUDE. But overall, loved it again ;)

Author's Response: There were a couple of others too, but they were Disney ones (and disney aren't so hot on people using their stuff :P) - but, ahha, he loves a good old chick flick :D

Oh Dom and Fred just love having a good time, me thinks.

I'm planing on going around through several of his classes, but being Archie he doesn't have all that many - so you'll be back with Spencer and Boris soon enough (and of course a bit of Kevin - who can resist??).

Ahha, again classroom antics have been helpful! Thank you physics lessons!

And thanks for reviewing :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #19, by Dani 

30th December 2011:
Love it :) Please continue!

Author's Response: Don't worry, I will! Thank you very much :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #20, by Rumbleroar goes roar 

24th December 2011:
Brilliant again! Ha, I loved how everyone started helping him with dating advice :P Will we get an appearance from this mystery girlfriend? I hope so!
And the end sentence made me snort. Love Fred and Dom! In fact, love them all. All the characters are so interesting and funny - even surprisingly lovable. I still love Archie most though ;)
I really hope you update! Please don't abandon the story; I love it! Can't wait to read more! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I actually hadn't thought of an appearance of THE GIRLFRIEND but it is so very tempting now. Oh, serious plot bunny now.

I love Archie the most too and don't worry - there will be no abandonment. I had far too much fun writing it :D

-AC


 Report Review

Review #21, by Crescent Moon  

24th December 2011:
So funny, I was laughing so much!! XD
I don't normally read things like this but I'm so glad I did, love Fred and Dom XD
I really can't wait to read the next one of these, please update as soon as you can.

Author's Response: I'm very glad you read it too. I had a lot of good run whilst writing this, so I'm glad I'm not the only one enjoying myself. Next one should be up sort of soon. Thanks again! :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #22, by Stitch 

22nd December 2011:
I'm laughing because this is as funny as hell XD How do you make this so funny AC? I'm also quite fond of your auther notes...not sure why though.

Once again you have amazed me with your writing skill and amazing way to make a simple story make you laught so hard (whoops I snorted making my mum give the most weirdest of looks)

Can't stop reading this masterpeice! Please wrote more *craves*

June Knight
GOOD NIGHT!

Author's Response: Thank you! I sort of figured this would be one of thoes things when I was the only one to find it funny, but never mind eh! AHha, I can't resist writing authors notes now.

Thank you very much! Hopfully they'll be another chapter soon (I have two halves written, its just a matter of which of the ten WIPS gets updated first).

-AC


 Report Review

Review #23, by sophie_hatter 

14th December 2011:
Yay! Chapter 2! And I loved it! It's another winner and it's great to meet the 6th years.

I love the idea of getting the students to watch films. Although I think since some of those films are 'girls' films, I think you could get even more humour out of a middle aged wizard loving them:-)

The teletubbies reference was great though, and worked really well, and idea of Dom using fake ID on Penrose was genius!

Penrose is also on form. I loved him being proud of the flamingo pen, and impressed with his co-ordinated 4th years.

And finally, I know you said this wasn't edited, but here's some picky stuff:

I would prefer 'something of which Archibald Penrose was acutely aware' as a sentence structure.

Best line - 'not after the incident with the space hopper'

'Dom was sporting a pair of elf ears jauntily place on her head' is missing a 'd'#

'His entire 4th year group had filed in the subject line' should be 'filled in'

'My parent's decided to get divorced' doesn't need the apostrophe

Author's Response: Ahha, there were a few more girly films in there... but you're not allowed to reference Disney films (which is gutting) so I had to take a big wad of the films out. Good old Archie, with his chick flicks.

So, we've now heard a little about his 6th, 4th and 3rd years.. whos next?

Thanks for pointing thoes things out! I'll be editing shortly and changing that. Cheerss :D

And thanks for reviewing!

-AC


 Report Review

Review #24, by niceone 

12th December 2011:
First off all - "...technically her real name was Shelly, but, quite frankly it amounted to the same thing." Good one -) Then again, pretty much every Archibald's line is laugh out loud hilarious.

Also, I like the way you direct your cast. (Well, I should've said, work with your characters, but I feel like I watch the story rather than read it; some kind of sitcom vibe going on there, if that makes any sense.) Every single student gets a bit of a backstory, a distinct personality and a witty line or two; besides, great job with character dynamics.

Good luck with the story -)

Author's Response: Archibald might be becoming one of my favourite characters I've written of all time... yeah, he's definately close. I love writing him, its so easy and beautiful.

Thank you very much! Thats kind of funky: I'm a strange person who can't visualise things... I mean, I can't see pictures in my head at all so the whole watching thing is really intersting. Borris, Spencer, Shelly, Dom, Gina and Fred are very greatful :)

Thanks again!

-AC


 Report Review

Review #25, by marinahill 

12th December 2011:
This fic is wonderful. It's so witty and funny and dry and Archie is such a cool character. He doesn't say much, but he doesn't need to - his character just oozes out from his inner thoughts and he's so readable.

Favourite lines:

Professor Boot had never quite forgiven him for the time he had wound up with Fred Weasley's finger up his nose when he'd been a little too erratic during the a recital of the final, fantastical number.

His entire fourth year group had filed in the subject line with 'doss studies' and the form line with 'Archie's minions'

teacher, dark brown hair, interested in either gender

"Could we just do a poster instead?"

The whole bit with the dating agency ad was hilarious! The poor bloke.

This story almost makes me miss school. Almost ;)

Great job!

Marina

Author's Response: Its funny that I'm able to write something about school in a remotely good light considering how much I hate it at the minute - but I had a lot fun with this :D

I think thoes have to be my favourite lines too (I like the poster one... :P) and I'm go glad that you found it funny and not just a little weird :)

Thank you so much for reviewing!

-AC


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>