Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GoGoWeasleyPants 

8th August 2016:
I'm so hooked! Great story and I really like the way you write it too.

Author's Response: I'm really pleased that you're enjoying the story. Thank you for reading and for leaving a review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by mysuv1 

4th February 2016:
this is an unusual concept

Author's Response: Writing is more fun when you try to do some unusual things.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Veritaserum27 

9th January 2015:
Hiya Dan,

I wasn't intending to do this, but I couldn't help myself when I saw your twitter post. :). And it seems only fitting that you get a review to go with your 100,000th read.


I love the idea that dark magic can interfere with bodily decomposition. It just makes it seem more creepy.

I'm still trying to figure out what is going on with Percy. My gut says that he's guilt-ridden from the murder, but something just doesn't add up...

And Hermione is simply amazing here! I can just see her engrossed for hours, working on the diarama and sorting through the files. Good therapy for her. Is Percy's mini-figure pointing a wand meant to be him simply threatening or does Hermione know the truth?

LUNA! She is so amazing here and I love your description of her. I see that she hasn't changed much and I'm really just GUSHING over the fact that she brings to light the absurdity of Tom Riddle's journal in away that no one else can! The reader is dumbfounded, right along with Harry, Ron and Hermione. Of course it's a ruse.

And this chick is seriously evil. Iif my guess is correct, there is more to be revealed about her and her connection to the wizard ing world. But I really have to commend her genius, here. Let the small minded folk fight amongst themselves and leave her to deal with what little bits they leave behind. Be they Azkaban escapees, The dredges from the shadows of Knockturn Alley, or the pure blood racists. They are all the same in Lady Tenabra's mind.

Great chapter! Can't wait to read more!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi, Beth!

Thanks for leaving such a special gift on this amazing, humbling occasion.

Dark magic seems to interfere with pretty much all natural processes, so I decided that bacterial decomposition wouldn't be any different. I also don't think it bothers her that the Aurors found Flint's body, so long as they didn't find it right away. She's making it clear that they're never going to get too close to her because anyone who knows too much gets dealt with.

You're partially right and partially wrong about Percy. It's more complicated than that, but guilt is a major factor.

Hermione will always be the one Harry and Ron turn to when they need some heavy-duty thinking done in a hurry. Hermione and Ron do know the truth about Percy and Edwin Stoops. I've been arguing with myself for over two years about whether I should go back and edit one of the early chapters to make that point clear. I have this feeling that if I open that can of worms, I won't be able to resist tweaking other things. It could really snowball from there...

Luna doesn't appear in this story nearly as often as I would have liked, but all of her appearances make an impact. I had more ways that I meant to incorporate her character, but they didn't work out in the end. I'm really glad you like her, though. She seemed like the only choice for this particular revelation.

There is a lot more yet to be revealed about Lady Tenabra. You are correct that they are all merely pawns in her game. The question remains, though. What is she really playing at? What is her end game? Time will tell...

Thanks so much! Gah, what a great day!


 Report Review

Review #4, by GingeredTea 

1st December 2014:
I really enjoyed the way you dealt with the logistics of a magical murder which is first identified by muggles. I think you really excelled in making it seem realistic and compelling, allowing me as a reader to believe innately in your presentation.

-He hated the smell of morgues. It reminded him of the Great Hall on the day of the battle.-

This is evidence of that a small detail can really add a large weight to a story. Bringing this up was brilliantly done.

Percy, you fool - what are you doing? On the other hand, this sounded exactly like Percy. Is this person really 'just a friend'? I know she gives him advice so the likelihood they're having a physical affair is small, but perhaps he has some emotional investment in her? He's such a fool, although I certainly understand how murdering someone and then not being able to breath a word would do that to him. He must be terrified of her closeness. At least he did go home...

That scene with the Kriffin was funny and terrible all at once. I did enjoy how Harry handled the elf!

--At the moment, miniature Percy was paused outside of the last cell on the row, pointing his wand at miniature Edwin Stoops.--

I've just now forgotten --- does Hermione and Ron KNOW Percy killed Stoops? He did, right? Oooh, now I have the itch to reread.

LUNA! :D

"Why would he write down his secret plans if he never meant to die?Ē

Yes, exactly. Excellent point, Luna. :)

I'm still unsettled by the fact that the only physical attribute you'll let us know about the Lady is she has blond hair...

I can feel the plot thickening!

Wonderful chapter, as always, and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

Oh, definitely. I love stories that aren't afraid to dive into the nuts and bolts of how the magical world works. The interface between the magical and muggle worlds is especially interesting to me.

I'm glad you liked that bit about the smell of morgues. Sometimes it's the little things that occur to you while you're writing that end up making a big difference.

Percy's involvement with the Minister's secretary is... complicated. She's definitely a friend and a confidant, but I think the rest of the family is rightly concerned about whether her interests in Percy go beyond that. You're correct that Percy's broader situation is also complex. The emotional burden he carries from the killing of Edwin Stoops weighs on him.

Poor Kriffin. Kriffin is what I imagine a more traditional house elf -- i.e., one that didn't have Dobby's thirst for freedom or Kreacher's mental illness -- would be like. He's loyal, dedicated and very emotionally attached to his house and his work. That said, he has a small -- very small -- ability to think outside of the box and make compromises when he can see that it serves his master's interests.

Hermione and Ron knew all along that Percy was the one who killed Edwin Stoops. A number of reviewers have asked about that, to the point where I'm tempted to go back and make it clear. In my mind, there was a tearful confession while Harry, Ron and Hermione were in custody. Percy probably offered to turn himself in and confess to the Ministry. Harry and Ron were probably unwilling to hear of it, and together with Hermione they devised the plan of allowing the Ministry to orchestrate a circus trial in which the Trio was all but guaranteed to be found not guilty because there was no real evidence. The trial took all the attention away from Percy.

Luna is very perceptive, in her own way. Everything is very simple to her.

I don't know that I'd read too much into Lady Tenabra's blond hair one way or the other. She's a master of deception.

Yes, the plot thickens! Many more developments to come. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by dobbywhisky 

7th June 2014:
Amazing. No words. Must.keep.reading. ...

Author's Response: Big smile on my face over here. I'm really glad you're enjoying it! Thanks for letting me know!

 Report Review

Review #6, by APerkins 

22nd October 2013:
Oooh I love the Percy/Audrey scene. Have several times tried to write about indecision and torn desires, and (if I do say so myself) upon each occasional I have failed dismally. But this? This was how it should be done!

Following on from that, talking to himself in the mirror? mehhh. not sold. well on the mirror? Sure, but wasnt sure what you were trying to convey by highlighting his dependeny on the receptionist while trying to restore his marriage.

My guess is that you are trying to say he is fooling himself by thinking he wants to restore the marriage when he is still so double minded and needy of another woman.
I think sometimes reviewing after every chapter is not fair, because I am not sure what you wanted to do with that, but you will (probably ) reveal that in the next chapter. If I would jsut wait instead of giving my thoughts, then all would be fine! (And i would have nothing to say!

Hermione is so Hermione it is funny. I love Luna, and I am impressed with the leap of logic that Harry and Ron made the the journal being a ruse.
Teh reader is already considering the idea, based on the circumstance of Flint's death, but Harry and Ron dont know it, so for them to consider stealing a book a ruse?
Well.I am impressed. That is all.

Author's Response: Poor Percy! He really isn't doing well in the relationship department at this point. I'm really pleased that the scene works well for you because I've always been a little worried that he comes off as being too pathetic. As far as his dependency on the Minister's secretary... well, you'll just have to wait and see about that. More will be revealed, as you suspect. And reading a mystery novel isn't supposed to be fair. It wouldn't be as much fun if it was. ;)

I really love writing Luna. I wish I could have made more opportunities for her in this story.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Courtney Dark 

22nd July 2013:
Wow, I'm enjoying this story so much that I just realized I didn't leave a review on the last chapter. Sorry about that!

The plot is really starting to thicken now and all the mystery is getting very exciting. I think I'll quickly name my favourite moments of the last two chapters before moving on to the next:

Harry using the Polyjuice Potion to disguise himself as a maintenance worker and steal that file was great - although for some reason I really, really don't like that Dynt woman, especially because she seems to be meddling with Percy and Audrey! And she also seems a little too suspicious for my liking. But anyway, I loved Hermione's reaction when Ron informed her that Harry had gotten hold of the file in a way that wasn't quite legal.

I also loved Harry's message at the Quidditch game - perfection!

Luna! I'm so glad you managed to incorporate her in this chapter, because she is always so fun to read about - and I think you wrote her perfectly, which I know (from failed experience) is a very difficult thing to do. I loved her story about those dragon mites - definitely very in-character. And it was great to see her out-of-the box perspective helped/confused Ron and Harry and Hermione even more!

Still officially creeped out by Lady Ten...I'm just going to call her Lady T because I can never remember if it's Tenabra or Tenebra.

Great chapters!
Courtney:)

Author's Response: Ha! Don't worry about it. No big deal.

I really enjoyed the cloak and dagger scene with Harry impersonating the maintenance worker. It was fun to write and I thought it showed just how adept the Aurors are at getting into places they're not supposed to be.

I felt like I was making Harry a bit immature at the Quidditch game, but it was fun and I think it helped to keep him in character a bit.

One of my great regrets is that I didn't find more opportunities to work Luna into this story. She's so much fun to write, but also very challenging. So I tried to make the most of the few opportunities I found.

Lady Tenabra will probably continue to creep you out. She's quite a piece of work.

Thanks again!
-Dan


 Report Review

Review #8, by Cassius Alcinder 

19th June 2013:
So now the plot is starting take form a bit more. Lady Tenabra seems like quite the formidable foe, and I'm pretty anxious to see what her endgame is.

It was great to see Luna make an appearance, and it seems like one of those times where her outside the box thinking is just what they needed.

The characterization continues to be very strong, particularly in how Hermione is struggling with her new condition, and the pressures Harry is under.

But I still think the best thing about this story is the attention to detail. Gonna read some more!

Author's Response: Hi, there! It's awesome to see you back.

Lady Tenabra is a very clever and cunning villain, and she has a lot of different angles that she's playing in this conspiracy. Her endgame is tied up very intricately in several of the story's subplots.

One of my greatest regrets is that I couldn't think of more opportunities to work Luna into the story. She's such a fun character to write, although rather intimidating at the same time.

I'm really pleased that you like the characterization. I worked really hard to try to keep them all true to the books while aging them in a realistic way.

Details really help to sell a story, I think, so I appreciate the complement.

Thanks so much for the review. I'm really glad you're enjoying it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing 

10th May 2013:
Eugh - the part in the morgue really made me shudder. Poor Harry, reminding him of the great hall on that day. That can't be easy for him.

I've told you a few times but I have to tell you again, your characterisation of Harry is way too good. Everything he does is just the Harry we know so well from the books. His little temper tantrum at the books was very well placed!

I absolutely love Luna. I love that she just says things like they are and makes absolute sense over things people get so confused over. 'They think they are' So it that the deal with this book? It's nothing to do with Lord Voldemort but everyone thinks it is and so everybody jumps on board? Well the pure blood fanatics anyway. If it is I seriously have to praise you on how amazingly thought out this story is. Lady Tenabra is a fantastic villain. The way she speaks to the 'army' she's made is quite unnnerving.

Okay, so I've left all the parts about Percy until now with very good reason. He's still kind of confusing the heck out of me but I've had this crazy thought that might kind of answer some of the questions I've been asking myself. I still don't fully get why he's being like he's being with Audrey and he's actually annoying me a bit with it. I don't like this version of Percy.

This crazy thought though, I don't know whether to tell you in case it's the silliest thing you've ever read in one of your reviews. I kind of feel like I might know who Lady Tenabra is but I'm not sure...

You see in my orginial review I was having my little rant about Percy as above and I was also going to mention the fact I really don't like Dynt after the last two chapters. But then I kind of noticed that Arabela Dynt is an anagram of Lady Tenabra. Kind of like the whole Tom Marvolo Riddle, I am Lord Voldemort set up? And she works for the ministry which is convinient and files were missing from a folder she sits down the hall from. Percy also keeps having 'lunches' with her and then acting strange with his wife. Am I going crazy and reading too much into this? If I am, the anagram thing is a really mean trick Dan!

I'm dying to read more but it's really late here so I'm going to have to call it a night but I can't wait to read more. I'm absolutely hooked!

Lauren :)

Author's Response: Hi, Lauren! Sorry it took me so long to get caught up. My wife has an understandable problem with me spending too much time online over Mother's Day weekend. ;)

Since Harry is the main character of the story, I worked harder on his characterization than just about anything else. So it really pleases me to know that you thought he sounded right. He's a tough one to figure out at times. Very stubborn about the guilt and abuse that he heaps upon himself.

Ah, Luna! One of my biggest regrets about CoB is that I really wish I could have found more opportunities to work her into the story. So I relished the few chances I did find and tried to make them count. She's a little scary to write, to be honest. Getting her to sound right is like abstract art or being in love: you know it when you see it, but it's impossible to explain it to another person.

Percy, Percy, Percy... All I can tell you is don't be *too* harsh on him just yet. He has a lot going on in his head, definitely more than meets the eye. But I'm not surprised that he's annoying you at the moment. That's not by accident.

Hmmnnn... You *might* be onto something with Arabela. You'll just have to wait and see. :p

Whee! You have no idea how much fun it is to read all of your reactions and thoughts. I've been lucky enough to have a few readers share their thoughts and ideas as they move through the story and it's a treat every time. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

9th January 2013:
And Luna comes in and puts some of the pieces together. I love Luna. She just have a way of making impossible things... simple, I guess. Easier to put pieces together. She doesn't seem to overrationalise things. A good talent to have in a mystery. :D

Seriously, Lady Tenabra is a lady you just don't want to mess with, do you? She's got all these plans working simultaneously for one big finish, which I think might be worse than whatever the others thinking of for the New Blood Order supposedly in Voldemort's name... If Harry and the others don't stop her anyway.

I'm definitely loving this mystery, the whole plot is so interesting. I can't wait for more every time I read. :)

Sam.

Author's Response: Isn't Luna awesome? One of my great regrets with CoB is that I wasn't able to find more opportunities to work her into the story. She's so much fun to write, although a bit intimidating.

You really don't want to mess with Tenabra. She is completely ruthless and she doesn't leave loose ends. Once she no longer has a use for you, your days are numbered.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm really pleased that you're enjoying the story.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Illuminate 

23rd November 2012:
Hi!

Much development here! I think that they're certainly getting to something here. So the journal was a ruse! So really what is Tenabra doing? Why does she not want them to see her face? It's all very creepy, and I'm beginning to think that the Trio are really going to have a hard time of it, and that it won't be something easily resolved.

Poor Percy. It looks like his marriage has failed since Ginny's death and the incident after. I hope Percy can confide in her and that their relationship can work.

Your Luna is great! Very ditzy but somehow logical! I loved it. And nice to see Hermione being Hermione again, being organised and clever. I feel sorry for Harry, I think it's very like him to be so angry that the attack seemed to be for nothing. I hope they figure it out soon. And what orders are Kriffin under? Is Draco up to something?

Great work, again! Loving it.

Author's Response: Hi, there!

This chapter was very heavy on plot delivery, so I'm glad it didn't seem boring. The journal was indeed a ruse of sorts. There is a book that is very important to Lady Tenabra, it just wasn't the one Flint stole from Malfoy Manor. She's incredibly cagey. The trio are indeed up against a formidable opponent.

Percy is going through some extremely difficult times. It's like something is clouding his judgment. Wonder what? ;)

Whew! I'm glad you liked Luna. It's very, very difficult to get her to sound right, at least for me. Hermione is starting to feel more like herself, but she can't quite get over her issues with the chair. Again, there's a deeper story here...

Like all house elves, Kriffin is magically bound to never reveal his master's secrets. In this case, the secret is the fact that Draco is broke. So Harry has to sort of wheedle the truth out of him in such a way that he doesn't directly reveal it.

I'm really glad that you're enjoying it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by academica 

14th July 2012:
Hey Dan! Here with another requested review! (Personally, I love author's notes whether they appear at the beginning or the end of a chapter.)

I like what you've done with Percy. His self-loathing seems reminiscent of what I usually see with (and do to) Remus, and yet I feel like it fits Percy just fine, considering his regret over betraying his family. I also think it's very much like him to propose a "holiday" where he can still work. The scene between him and Audrey was a bit soap opera-ish and melodramatic for my taste, but I can see how it fit, and I wasn't terribly turned off by it.

The scene at Malfoy Manor was interesting. It seems that what Malfoy has lost is his precious Galleon (and Sickle and Knut) collection, hmm? Very intriguing. It's also interesting to me that Harry destroyed the book. I mean, I totally get that he was upset, and I get that staring at Lockhart too long would probably send even the mildest creature into a fit of rage, but that book was still evidence, in a way. I think I would have held onto it as long as I could just to make sure there wasn't anything else to find, given that it seems so... innocuous.

Octavia! Did I somehow miss/forget the part where she was present at Ginny's death? I probably did. Anyway, Luna - I loved her. I think you wrote her perfectly, and I love that it was her matter-of-fact logic that helped catch the trio up on things with the book and the New Blood Order. The toucan earrings are just so Luna (although I'm sad to hear that Rolf never got to see her wear them).

A souped-up version of the Imperius Curse? Interesting. Sometimes I feel like Tenabra's plans and hints are a little too subtle for even me to follow, but I like her devious nature and the way she uses her intelligence to command her lessers. I guess I'll just have to see what happens next!

Great work! I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hello, again! I'm kind of a sucker for author's notes, myself, but based on the change in the number of unsolicited reviews I got before and after I started putting the A/Ns at the end, I think the end works better for that purpose.

Percy's self-loathing is mostly due to the fact that he feels like he's losing control over some key aspects of his life, like his relationship with his wife. And for someone like Percy' not being in control is a terrible feeling. As far as why he's losing control, well, you'll have to keep on reading. He's caught up in something that's much bigger than him.

The Malfoys have indeed fallen on hard times, as I've been alluding to. It gives Harry a unique opportunity to build a relationship with Kriffin, which definitely proves helpful. I went back and forth on whether to have Harry destroy Draco's copy of Magical Me. It is very un-Auror-like, but it's pat of a pattern of behavior on Harry's part that continues to build throughout the story. Stay tuned...

Octavia's presence at Ginny's murder was alluded to back in chapter 3, but it isn't really explicitly described until this chapter, so I doubt you missed anything. It's a very important detail.

One of my biggest regrets with CoB is that I've had so few opportunities to work Luna into the plot. She's so much fun to write and her perspective is so unique.

A souped up Imperius Curse is one way to look at it, but it's more than that. The whole thing is described in much greater detail a few chapters down the road.

Your reviews are always very helpful. When you're so close to the end of the story, it's easy to forget about all of the little details that built up to get there. I really enjoy having a thorough, detailed reviewer like yourself who's still in the middle of the story!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Gin_gin06 

24th June 2012:
DAN! Lovely chapter, evil ending. and yes, I do agree with that person. I'm usualy to busy wanting to read the story I skip the top Author Notes.

1.) Percy run after her you nancy boy! Oh why is the world so cruel?

2.) What doesn't Draco have? I'm confused. :/

3.) oooh, Luna, smart one that girl. I was wondering the same thing myself. Was Lady Tenabra hoping that the others weren't smart enough to think about it that seriously?

4.) Must read more!

10/10 hun!
Gin

Author's Response: I keep learning new things the longer I'm part of HPFF. Putting the author's notes at the end was a great idea, because I can also talk just a bit about the chapter without ruining it for anyone.

Percy is struggling with his own mind. He desperately wants to follow Audrey and fix what's wrong, but something won't let him. Much more on this to come...

Draco no longer has money. That's why the goblins have been harassing him. So Kriffin can't pay the witch who purges dark magic. Harry volunteers.

I love, love, Love Luna. I'm sad that I haven't had more opportunities to write her into this story, so I make the most of the few chances I have.

Well please continue to read, then! I absolutely love your reviews! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #14, by homerHarris 

3rd June 2012:
I'm not happy that ginny is dead but I'm still enjoying this story, I realise everybody can't wright the same type of story but what anoyes me most are draco and hermoine stories so this one isn't too bad lol

Author's Response: I had to make some difficult decisions in order to make the story have a compelling central conflict. Unfortunately, the loss of Ginny was one of them.

Nevertheless, I'm glad that you're enjoying it! Thanks for taking a moment to review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jchrissy 

31st May 2012:
I cringed when you were talking about the smell of the morgue. Then wanted to cry with the reference to the great hall, poor Harry :(!

Percy is serious infuriating me. Iím sure most of his pratness is due to something Ďsheí is doing to him, but Iím still angry at him. Considering you managed to make me angry and disgusted in less than handful of paragraphs, and the real kind that makes me want to throttle him, I would say thatís another testament to your writing skills. ;)


I really like the emotions you showed in Harry during the Malfoy Manor scene. His little temper tantrum with the book was so ridiculously canon that I wold swear you have JK Rowling standing over your shoulder, snickering as you type.

I want to know what the deal with this fake journal is!! Why on earth did they need to get into the Malfoy Manor if it was for nothing?! Did something get planted there? Lady T didnít need a real reason to kill Flint, she could have made up anything and done away with him. Was it to get the Aurors spread thin??

You are killing me over here. Iím going to throw in a little personal stab at you; Iím currently working (not getting fired, donít worry) and sitting outside in the new york sun drinking some coffee and reviewing away on your story. I hope you are trapped in an over air conditioned room, or a not air conditioned room that is much too hot. I know this sounds harsh, but after putting me through so many emotions with CoB, you deserve it ;)!



PS; I am still in shock about how great your characterization is, and not just Canon.
I am terrified, intrigued, disgusted, and a little awestricken by lady T. You have made her such a complex character that I never have just one or two emotions toward her.

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I don't think anybody likes the smell of morgues, but for Harry, I imagine it would have that additional bad vibe.

Percy isn't meant to be all that sympathetic at this point in the story. Suffice it to say that you may find it a lot easier to root for him later.

I also thought that it was well in character for Harry to hit a point of frustration where he might lash out. And as long as he's only destroying a copy of Magical Me, where's the harm, really? ;)

The attack on Malfoy Manor was about creating a certain perception, both among her followers and the wizarding world in general. More on this to come.

Ha! At the time you wrote this, I was sitting at my desk at work, trying to figure out why a SQL extract I had written was doubling up some of the data. There was air conditioning, although it was not, strictly speaking, needed. And I was working on chapter 34 while the DB server was chugging away. So not like I was sitting on the beach or anything, but not terrible, either. :P

I'm really glad you like her. It's both a challenge and a lot of fun to figure out what she's going to do next.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Akussa 

24th May 2012:
Hi again!

Another great chapter and I'm so happy you brought Luna in that scene! It was a lovely touch to have her have tea with Hermione. Her view of the mystery was really accurate; it doesn't make sense from the information they have.

Poor Percy; I've got a feeling something else is going on with him. Can't put my finger on it but I feel like his attitude isn't fully is own... I might be wrong though, just expressing my feeling :)

I think my strong point for this chapter goes to the description of the book at the end, how the runes take a slightly different meaning evertime she reads them, more poetic and cryptic. Beautiful.

Oh I noticed a little slip I thought I should point out (they are so rare!) :

"...Harry reckoned that me might live to be older than Dumbledore and not learn all there was to know about house elves."; should be 'he' instead of 'me' in the beginning of the sentence

That's it. Brilliant chapter, I really love this story moe and more and hope I'll have some time to read some more soon!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I love Luna. One of my big regrets is that I haven't found very many opportunities to work her into CoB, so when I do, I really try to make the most of it. She is very insightful, isn't she?

I'm afraid that in the interest of not spoiling the story, I'll have to stick with my standard line on Percy: he's caught up in something much bigger than he realizes. The true scope of it won't be apparent for some time.

I think of runes as being like that: a very symbolic, metaphorical language. Subject to interpretation.

Thanks for spotting the typo. I'll get that patched up!

I'm glad that you liked it. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by shadowcat2 

29th April 2012:
Hi there! The plot is getting more and more interesting. The old Hermione is back... well, sort of. But at least she is getting better in a way. And Luna is finally here. I think it was brilliant how Luna helped Harry figure out so many things. I have just one question. In the crime scene model Percy was there pointing his wand at Ginny's murderer. So that means both Ron and Hermione knew the truth? I am just a bit confused. that's all. thanks. as usual reading the next chapter now.

Author's Response: Hermione is beginning to get over some of the emotional injuries, but the largest one still lingers. She is back to being a very helpful part of the team, though.

I just couldn't write this story without fitting Luna in somewhere. I love how her quirky perspective sometimes reveals small truths that the other characters miss.

This is something I probably should have made more clear way back in chapter 4, but Ron and Hermione also both know the truth about Percy and Edwin Stoops. At least they think they do...

Thanks for all of your awesome reviews!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Pixileanin 

18th April 2012:
I'm liking the combination of wizard and Muggle means to figure things out. I think it works well in your story, to show how the wizards and Muggles have built up relations over the years since the last war. It also gives the opposition a point to rage over, like, "what's next?"

"He fell into the rubbish bin and had a heart attack."

If only it were that easy! And poor Percy is having a hard time of it too.
"It occurred to him that he'd be purchasing a new copy of Magical Me."

Ah haha! The things that amuse meÖ I know. I'm strange that way. I just used a Gilderoy Lockhart reference in my own fic very recently. I guess that's why. : )

I think that Luna hit on something there, but the rest of them failed to see it. As usual. She needs to be listened to more often.

Author's Response: Hello, again.

I've tried to sprinkle in a believable amount of muggle technology into the story. It's hard to believe that witches and wizards forty years into the future wouldn't be using a considerable amount of technology, at least to me.

Percy is struggling a lot. He wants to do the right thing, but his mind seems to be fighting him. Much more on this to come...

I felt duty-bound to take an easy, cheap shot at Gilderoy Lockhart. Would have loved to have been able to take a crack at Umbridge, too, but I just couldn't find the right opportunity.

Luna is definitely on to something, but I think that Harry, Ron and Hermione definitely see it. Based on her observation, they all start to speculate on what the Blood Order is really all about if it isn't a sincere pure blood revolution.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Elenia 

7th April 2012:
(Tag!)

I'm back once again. Had to take a teeny tiny break so I could finally finish my new chapter, so now I have more time to read again d:

Loved this as always. You're truly a master at plotting! Every part seemes to be moving forwards perfectly, tying some loose ends and opening more questions! That's one of the things that makes everything so interesting.

Also the fact that you take everything in consideration, that's really something. Like the beginning, and the explanation their going to give the muggle police, I really love the fact that you mention all those kinds of things and don't leave anything hanging.

The part with Harry and Kriffin was interesting. Loved the house-elf and how you've written him. And also the fact that Harry paid for the cleaning was a nice touch. It was definitely something I could see him do.

Can't wait to see where you're heading with this whole Percy/Audrey -thing.

Ooh, Luna's here! I really liked how you portrayed her. She was just like I pictured her to be, and I think it was perfect that it was her who noticed the fact that it was a stupid thing to think that Voldemort had spilled his secrets into a book!

Once again, brilliant chapter! I really loved it! I'll continue reading very soon (:

~E

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I like to keep several plots going at all times. It gives me more options when I write new chapters. Of course, it also makes it a bit easy to lose track of certain threads. I keep drawing pictures with lines connecting different sub-plots, then I have to completely redraw it every 3 chapters or so...

I try the best I can to keep all of the loose ends tidy, and some reviewer usually reminds me when I miss something, so I get lots of second chances when I make a mistake. I've enjoyed finding ways to slip in elements of the muggle world into the story, especially where the Aurors are concerned. To me, it makes the world feel richer and more plausible.

I like writing the various elves who have appeared in the story. They are a mix of child-like wonder on some topics and a very deep understanding of others. Their unwavering loyalty and somewhat myopic dedication to their masters and houses also makes for interesting situations.

Ah, Luna. I loved being able to include her, even if only briefly. She brings such a unique perspective to any discussion, and she's often able to see things that others miss just because everything is so black-and-white to her.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I love your reviews immensely.


 Report Review

Review #20, by ashling586 

11th January 2012:
Let's see what to say. This was another wonderful chapter to a great story. I liked that you had Harry secretly help out Draco to clean up all the dark magic. I also like the hints of muggle CSI tactics added in to the Auror stuff.
Part of me wishes that someone would smack some sense into Percy. I know that towards the end of the chapter it looks as if the secretary friend might have lecture him into making amends, but until that happens I hold to my opinion that the boys need to get together and knock this mid life crisis out of him.
I am a bit confused about the journal though. At first I thought that they didn't find the journal because she threw the lockhart book away, but then I saw her with the journal so I assumed it was the cover that she threw away. Only to find out that the lockhart book was thrown away with Flints body. So did they actually find the journal at Draco's or did she already have it and it was all a rouse.

Author's Response: I think that Harry understands Draco enough to realize that he needs to keep his little act of charity secret. Moreover, I don't think Harry necessarily wants it known that he did something nice for Draco.

Aww... Let's just say that you might feel differently for Percy by the time it's all said and done. But, this obviously isn't the first time that most people have read something that made them want to smack him.

As I respond to this, I have the benefit of already having seen your review of the next chapter, so I know that you've arrived at a conclusion about the journal. And I think it's pretty close to correct.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by sophie_hatter 

9th December 2011:
Well first of all, yay for Luna! I might have known she would be the one to spot the flaws. But then, as someone once told me, she's a very special witch!

I loved the description of the Muggle morgue, and great to have JFF back. And Tenabra gets more devious and evil by the chapter!

Author's Response: Ah, Luna! Including her can lighten even the darkest story. She's a joy.

The morgue... well, I'm glad you liked the description. I think they're kind of creepy. ;)

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

30th November 2011:
Ah! I can already see their downfall. Runes! Hermione can read runes, so if she starts to look through books and all that stuff or if they can find the book or steal the book or something they can defeat these evil people!

Or not.

I'm never right with these things.

Anyway. This was another excellent chapter. I can't wait to read more and yes, it is true, they pay more attention to the authors note if it's at the end and not the beginning. It's funny someone said that to you because I remember reading that someone got a flame once soley because they put their author's note at the beginning instead of the end of the chapter and apparently that just appalled the reader.

It's crazy, isn't it?

Author's Response: I haven't been flamed about my author's notes, but I'm sure it's coming sooner or later. This is the Internet, after all.

Yes, Hermione's knowledge of runes will come into play on several occasions.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Lessa 

16th November 2011:
The only thing I regret about reading your story is the fact that I read faster than you write. ;)
*

Author's Response: Well, the next chapter will hopefully be up in the next 2-3 days.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Remus 

16th November 2011:
Hey! Well, you know who this is so I'll skip that part. XD

I'm going to review this by sections, making it easier.

Harry's section-

Definitely interesting! I think you've finally found the flow of dialogue and description. A nice pace you have in this chapter over all. However, one slight detail. The book. If it's part of an investigation wouldn't it be in a sealed bag or enchantment in order to NOT get other prints on it? I mean, yeah, they're on file, but that book is evidence regardless in order to build their case. It was found WITH the body and it's linked to the Malfoy Mannor attack. Haha, I've seen too much cop dramas.

Percy's section-

I LOVED the emotional toll, mystery and what have you when it comes to Percy. WTF is UP with him? Audrey's emotions seem very real, making her character definitely well rounded even though we've only seen her once. You definitely feel bad for her.

Harry's Section pt 2-

Kriffin struck me to be Dobby pt 2 and I don't know how I feel about that. I mean, Dobby was Dobby and I'm not saying that the Malfoys' are bad but wouldn't Kriffin be loyal to Draco and be more distant with Harry? Idk, just an observation. O.o

Also, that book! Why did Harry destroy it?! Haha, again too many cop dramas. Harry shouldn't have 1) maybe have the book and 2) destroy it. Idk, it just seems to me that since it IS part of an open investigation, they'll keep everything they have to build a case.


Percy's Section Pt. 2-

Really...what is up with him? I mean, he's acting a bit weird, isn't he? Is Arabella a fling OR is there something more interesting going on?

Ron & Hermione's section-

This is where one of my most important question lies: how do they know that it's Percy who killed Stoops? I know that Percy told Harry...but how, with that file, was Hermione able to come to that conclusion? Because, with that file at hand, the Aurors' would've gone after Percy not the Trio. Does that mean that there's a fake file and the real file? Ron's reactions to wanting to squash Stoops...very Ron-like. Haha.

Luna...oh Luna. I loved it! She was brilliant. The way you portray her is fantastic. I'm glad you were able to capture her essence. The part where you wrote '"Tom Riddle intended to live forever,Ē she replied. ďThatís why he made all the horcruxes. Why would he write down his secret plans if he never meant to die?Ē' That was a very DUR moment for me! I never thought about it and I'm glad I'm 'discovering' it alongside Harry.


Lady Tenabra-

I really cannot comment much because she's your own creation I believe, however, I like the mystery about her. It leaves the reader still hooked on wanting to know who she really is, what she wants and her real motives. Btw, does she want Hermione out of the way as in dead? Makes me wonder it the attack at the ministry was real or just a farce to JUST kill Hermione.


Anyway! The plot is definitely moving along nicely! I REALLY want to know what happens next! Thanks for requesting! And let me know when you update so I can review the next chapter.

--Perelandra :)

Author's Response: Hello, again. I feel privileged to get a chunk of your time. I know how full your queue stays!

Since the book has already been processed, I think Harry feels that the most important next step is to make sure that it is the one that was missing from Draco's study. A plastic bag might have been a nice touch, though.

Percy - Yes, there's definitely something up with him. Soon, all will be made clear.

Kriffin is rather emotional where his master and his house are concerned. As far as destroying the book, I think you'll begin to see a pattern of Harry's mental state faltering a bit as the stress of the investigation and the bad memories it keeps bringing to the forefront take their toll.

I probably didn't make it clear enough, but Ron and Hermione are both aware that it was Percy who killed Stoops. Hermione is just incorporating everything she knows.

Luna was very, very fun to write in this chapter. She's a breath of fresh air among a lot of otherwise oppressive exposition and detail.

And Tenabra, well, she is the central mystery of the story. Who is she? What does she really want? What is the book she has? All will be revealed...

Thanks so much for continuing to read and review. Next chapter is awaiting validation, so hopefully soon...


 Report Review

Review #25, by ginerva_molly_weasley 

13th November 2011:
Ooh and the plot thickens.

I'm really getting into this story and find that its really different to any others on the archive.

This chapter gives more thought into everything especially with Luna's revelations which is what makes the reader want to go on :D

Well done :D

GinevraMollyPotter

Author's Response: That's very nice of you to say. In my observation, not many people have written stories this far into the future, but I've obviously only sampled a tiny fraction of what's there.

Luna was one of the most fun things I've written so far. I'm glad that you enjoyed her.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review
<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>