Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 

16th June 2012:
She was dirty and ill-groomed, with lips chapped and a complexion pale and rubbed raw like that of old bones found half-buried in the sand. And she was absolutely perfect.

^ Good grief. I swoon. I don't care what anyone else thinks, I was attracted to Lucius from the moment you introduced him and now his thoughts, his need to see Narcissa and the way he's kind of territorial about her and considers her his already, well, it attracts me to him even more.

I don't even know where to begin. Genius way to weave in the Dark Lord again. Just when I think you're going to lead us one way, you take us down another path, one I would not have figured. I think what I really want to know is if they are able to actually defeat Circe because of the Dark Lord. I mean, it would make sense if they could get rid of Circe, just like her wolf pack with the basilik arrows but then it's like...can you really get rid of someone that powerful? I know Voldemort gets killed in the end of the HP series but still his ideas live on, kind of giving him power so maybe someone would still believe in Circe, like Mrs McNair and that would essentially give her power.

Jeez, I'm rambling and I've just confused myself. Excellent chapter as always!

Author's Response: Oooh I love your thoughts on Circe. I do know what will become of her, and I need to get around to writing it. I am so hopelessly bad at balancing stories. I estimate that I won't pick up this story again until I've finished writing my other primary WIP, so maybe...August? Blargh I feel awful about that. I think that I just can't pick Lucius and Narcissa back up again until I can devote all of my attention to them, so that I know they'll be written well. Wow, I am rambling. I should just shut up now. XD

 Report Review

Review #2, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 

1st January 2012:
Another amazing chapter! Unfortunately, I'm making this review short so I can get to the last chapter that you have posted! But know that I find you to be an amazing, brilliant writer! :)

Author's Response: You are very kind. I am eternally grateful for all of your lovely reviews. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rosa 

27th October 2011:
I've been reading this story for the last few days. Before I say anything else, I'd like to state that I am totally and utterly in love with it. I've been studying for my pre-lims and in the small amount of spare time I got, I was on my IPod reading this story.
The amount of detail you put in is stunning, you really have a gift (I'm glad to hear you do original writing as well). I felt I could really relate to these characters, specially Lucius. I've never really spared the Malfoy's any real thought while reading the series. But you have opened my eyes, and I have become very interested in them. My favourite character has always been Severus, as I am a rather large Slytherin fan. But recently I've been finding myself thinking alot of Lucius -not Joe Rowlings Lucius- but rather yours. I think you portray his character very well, along with Cissa. Her character is fantasic; I like a story female character.
It's funny sometimes, while I'm reading the story I forget it's fan-fiction. The story is a good stand on it's own story. I was reading the last few chapters today and I found myself wondering; aren't death eaters from Harry Potter?
The fairytale theme is great, I love guessing what things came from which story. You really deserve that Dobby!
I'm itching to do fan art for this, is I possible if I could? I'll link it to you if I do.
Thanks again! Can't wait till the next chapter! Hope it arrives soon.

Author's Response: Before I forget to address this, I would ADORE seeing fan art! That is pretty much the best compliment ever. I'm very flattered. :)

This review knocked my socks off. I'm always surprised to see reviews for my most recently updated chapters because I always expect to have lost everyone a few chapters into the story. It's so lovely to get positive feedback like this, and it always spurs me to start writing the next chapter. I'm going to try to get the next chapter written and posted within the next week, hopefully.

Severus is one of my favorite characters as well! There are so many layers to his character, and I find his motivations and the push and pull of light and darkness within him utterly fascinating. A little bit of info for you - he will appear in this story later on. :)

I'm so pleased that you like my portrayal of Lucius and Narcissa. I appreciate you taking the time to read this story and for leaving a review.

:)


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica 

27th October 2011:
YUS! Finally a chance to catch up with my beloved Narcissus.

You have this attention to detail that is so marvelous, in the very literal sense of the word. I marvel at it frequently. Your description of Lucius's tentative interactions with the barrier was a fantastic example of this; I could visualize him approaching it with mild curiosity and interest, like a scientist peering delicately at his finished work.

On a slightly different note, his adoration for Narcissa is so heartbreakingly beautiful. You characterize her as not being a princess, and yet the way he feels about her captures every longing emotion that women all over the world seek to find in the princes of their dreams. He has evolved so poignantly from being a monster to being the very man to sweep her off her feet and save her in her time of need. Brilliant. And Narcissa, calling out that she's still there... now I want to cry.

I love your use of Rookwood and Karkaroff in bridging together the separate parts of the story. I fear for Lucius and what he may get himself into, but I'm fascinated nonetheless. And poor Narcissa! I like how you discussed her discontent with her Mark, as I think it reflects the secret feelings of many of Voldemort's Death Eaters, particularly toward the end. Lucius, of course, is a perfect example of this.

Wonderful, darling, as always. Can't wait 'till chapter 21! :)

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi, Amanda! ^_^

Eee allow me a few minutes to squee like a moron because of what you said about Lucius. To say that he has evolved from monster to a hero-type is just GAHH. YES. THIS IS WHAT I WANTED TO ACCOMPLISH. So a million thank you's for that. :D

Karkaroff and Rookwood are only a couple of familiar faces that will begin cropping up. We're slowly entering Death Eater territory, so you'll see many more to come. I wasn't sure who to use for this job - I bounced back and forth between several before I decided on those two, and I think I'm satisfied with it.

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading and leaving another one of your wonderful reviews. They are very encouraging and I appreciate it immensely. :) :) :)

~ Sarah


 Report Review

Review #5, by Loony_Scorpy 

23rd October 2011:
WOW. So I saw that you got a Dobby for this (Congrats! Completely and utterly deserved!) and I figured I should read it since I've read and enjoyed some of your other stories. My mind was blown. This story is amazing. I am absolutely in love with it. I love your portrayal of Lucius, and Narcissa as well. I really love the way you have written this; I read it soo quickly as I was whisked into their world! I also loved the way you have weaved the fairytales into the story so seamlessly! Ahh I cannot wait for more! ♥

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I still cannot believe that I won a Dobby. It feels so surreal. And you are such a lovely reviewer - you read quite a lot of fics in one go, it seems, and I'm flattered that you've read more than one of mine. This story is very close to my heart, so thank you for reading it and for taking the time to leave such a lovely review telling me that you've enjoyed it. I have a lot of fun making fairy tales Potterverse-compliant, and the time it takes to write it really pays off to hear these positive thoughts from reviewers.

:)


 Report Review

Review #6, by TenthWeasley 

15th October 2011:
I don't know WHY you were so concerned about this chapter! This was one of my favorites you've written in a long time, especially the beginning, when we see Lucius. It read so naturally, almost like a conversation, and it was very easy to get lost in the story, without having to think and process too much. :D And sometimes that's a good thing, not thinking - it allows for the story to become a part of you, rather than forcing yourself into the story. I enjoyed it very much.

Narcissa's predicament seems a bit hopeless - your imagery certainly helped to convey that, the gray and the rain and the bleakness - but then again, at the end there, I'm pretty sure what's going to happen. :D And if it doesn't include running into others' arms and being swept up in a tide of fervent weeping of joy and kissing, someone's going down.

Lucius's part, though, as I've mentioned - that was definitely my favorite. I can say with fairly firm conviction that he's my favorite character in this story. :3 You write him so well, you really get him, but you manage to make him your own, too. He's not a cut-and-dry copy of what we've already seen in canon. He's got feelings, of all things! And I like his interactions with the Death Eaters, that was very much appreciated. :D The morphing of canon and imagination is, once again, flawless.

CIRCE-WOLF. She needs a good swift kick in the pants. Also, I know there's Rapunzel and Red Riding Hood in here (I creeped on your reviews; it's a problem), but I saw some 3 Little Pigs too? Or was that totally unintentional?

Honestly. My brain. Pay it no mind.

BRILLIANT, AS ALWAYS. And here ends my first review on this story as a Dobby winner. /The/ first review on it as a Dobby winner! HOW DOES IT FEEL? Because on this end, I'm pretty darn proud. ♥ It deserved it, Sarah, so much.

Author's Response: THREE LITTLE PIGS DID NOT EVEN CROSS MY MIND, BUT I WILL TAKE CREDIT FOR IT ANYWAY.

:D

This chapter brought out one of the biggest parts of Little Red Riding Hood, but in reverse. In the story, the grandmother turns into the wolf. Here, the wolf turned into the grandmother - or old woman, at least. I'm excited to depart from Rapunzel and to move the plot forward - if my muse comes back to me, of course.

I've decided I'm not going to write another chapter of this story until I wake up one morning and /want/ to write it - not to update for the sake of updating regularly, or because I feel that since this got a Dobby and a snitch, that it would be disrespectful not to write it. But this way, at least, I know that I will post only writing that I love and can be proud of. And I have you to thank for this new mindset, as you pretty much gave me permission to stop straining myself. IF ONLY I COULD MAKE YOUR BRAIN DO THAT AS WELL.

And, like you said, my plan is to focus only on the plot. No more irrelevant descriptions that sound nice in theory but serve nothing to the story - basically imagery just for the sake of it. It's got to /mean/ something. Thankfully, I do know the direction I want to take and I think it will make the tempo of the story a little bit better.

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING AND REVIEWING AND BEING LOFFLY.



 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp 

14th October 2011:
OMG this is brilliant. It is a little confusing at places but I guess your writing is just so awesome it dazes me :P

No, really, this is spiffing amazing! I am loving this story! The magic in it is so surreal. Truly remarkable!! Now I'm eager to see where Narcissa lands! Voldemort has summoned her, I wonder if she'll meet Lucius. I'm truly intrigued. You've an awesome story here. Great job!

10/10

Cheers!
AD

Author's Response: Lol, I think it's probably less that it's dazzling and more that I was inside my own head too much while I was writing it. SORRY ABOUT THAT. Poor Narcissa. She's always stuck somewhere, all by herself, miserable. Usually hungry or thirsty, and almost always seeing things that shouldn't be there. I really am horrible to fictional characters.

The next chapter, though, will be a bit of an improvement. REUNION SAY WHAT?

^_^

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHeirOfSlytherin 

13th October 2011:
"What startling green eyes you have,"

That's sounds like Little Red Riding Hood. :D

Oh, I've missed this story. So much. It really deserves the nomination. ^.^

I can't wonder what's happened to Narcissa and I can't wait to find out what the Death Eaters are planning with Lucius and their... Friend. LOL. :D

10/10!

Author's Response: You have guessed correctly! This chapter was a mix of Rapunzel and Little Red Riding Hood.

I'm sorry it took me so long to update. On a positive note, I've been properly inspired for the next chapter, so it won't be long before it's up.

Thank you so much for saying that about the nomination. I can't believe it was nominated, much less that it made it to final voting. I was happy/dumbfounded/flattered beyond belief.

In the next chapter, you shall see exactly what the Death Eaters have in store for Lucius and Narcissa.

Thank you so much for continuing to read and review. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review