Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.





  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hdawg 

15th August 2012:
And as I clicked on this chapter, Luna appeared in the top banner, clutching her Quibbler with her Spectrespecs on. Too apt for words.

And only Luna would look upon God as being an artist: "The artist responsible for this world had not given her a form, only essence. She wished for the paint brush to grant her a body, legs to move with, hands to feel with, but It did not appease her." I like that. She looks upon the higher powers with such a childish innocence that you can't help but feel for her. And yet she is so deep and caring, older and yet younger beyond her years. Once more, Mel, you have created a Luna that is just so perfect.

"I had a dream that was that same colour as your eyes. It made me think, it'd make a very nice shade for a water colour.../They were strong, hard-working hands, she could tell, but their strength did not exclude their capacity for tenderness." Once more, I really enjoy reading the way she looks upon Rolf, as an art subject to be studied and admired. With all that she's noticing about him, it is obvious that she admires him, but once more I like the way that everything seems slow, natural and new to her.

Well this is certainly turning out to be an adventure! Not only in the literal sense with all the hiking etc, but also in the way that Luna has changed and progressed over the past four chapters. And she has. Whilst she is undeniably Luna, she is also deeper, finds more meanings in things than was possible for her when she was younger, and yet she seems, dare I say it, happier. And I really like Rolf (and Barney of course, I love him), he compliments her so well - what with him warm earthy tones and her ethereal ones.

This is beautiful. As ever, your way with words astound me ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jchrissy 

19th July 2012:
I don't know of there are any other ways I can tell you how much I'm loving this story. But I really, really am. I feel like I'm part of her amazingly pure soul, just taking on everything as it comes.

Okay, try not think I'm crazy, but Luna makes me want to pay more attention to all the beautiful things in life. She makes me want to enjoy everything I have instead of simply having it... If that makes sense.

I'm still captivated by your amazingly poetic imagery ♥

Author's Response: Hey!!

Omg. Jami. Your support for this story is astounding and continues to blow me away. I think something you said here, "I feel like I'm part of her amazingly pure soul, just taking on everything as it comes." is one of my biggest goals for Luna, and so thank you. That is honestly a huge compliment. Also this, "Luna makes me want to pay more attention to all the beautiful things in life." Like, aalsdkjfaoijaoiej -- those things are /why/ I write luna... she forces me to /see/ the world and gah.

thank you.


 Report Review

Review #3, by forsakenphoenix 

7th July 2012:
I still can't get over how magical this story is. I really admire your imagery in this fic, the words you choose to describe the setting - I've said it before, but everything is so vivid and beautiful.

I love Luna's dream sequence. The colors, her friends, and Luna stuck on the edges. I love that she's swept into the dream, given form, by her partner (who I'm assuming is Rolf because that would be lovely).

The Tibetan woman is so sweet, but I do love how Luna enjoyed watching the dust motes floating in the morning sunlight. Such pretty imagery. Your descriptions of her room too with the figurines..I can picture everything in my head while I read and I just love that about this fic.

And Luna and Rolf! They are just so cute together. I love their conversation over breakfast and Luna's observations of Professor Davin, which are so unlike anyone else's. You stay so true to her canon character and I really admire you for that.

Hee, I love that she knows what they're looking at and Rolf seems so surprised. I can only imagine what she has in store for him. I can't wait to read more about their adventure together. This is really just such spectacular work. I really hope you find the inspiration to continue. It would be a shame to let this fall by the wayside.

Author's Response: Finally attempting to review to this. :)

When I write this story, I go into a very specific head space (which is probably why I haven't updated it in foever), but it is very important for me to paint the scenes as they happen. I always sort of see them as soft, water color on that thick grainy sort of paper that tend to beal up if you rub to hard... I don't know. lol.

I really cannot thank you enough for your kind words and praise. I know I shouldn't let this story fall away, and I hope to get back to writing the next chapter before the summer is over.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Akussa 

6th March 2012:
Hello, hello!

This story is just waltzing forward beautifully. I absolutly loved every part of it from her heart wrenching dream to Rolf's amazement that such a wonderful girl could have dropped unannounced in his path.

I said if before and I'll say it again : you really do a great job at capturing Luna's personality and her strange mind. How positive she is about everything and how much she trusts in the stars' guidance is just wonderful; I wish I was that much of a free spirit!

I only spotted one little ponctuation mistake in this chapter, nothing alarming!

"...He turned towards Rolf Make sure..."

Overall, it's a great addition to the story; a nice way for Rolf to discover Luna and their shared loved for nature and unusual creatures. They work together wonderfuly and I just love being a part of their story; great job!

Author's Response: Hey!

Sorry for the lengthy delay in this response. School sort of ate my soul. I'm so glad you are enjoying this story. I really admire Luna as a character for all the reasons other people think her strange. I relaly hope to continue to do her story justice as I write it.

Thanks again!
Melissa


 Report Review

Review #5, by apocalypse 

14th January 2012:
Hey, I'm back for another review for you!

Wow. WOW. W-O-W! Really. I'm in awe of your writing and it's gonna take me a lot of time to get over it =D You're a magic worker and I love the way you weave words together! It's almost like you paint reality! Whoa. Reading your poetic words has done something to my brain and now I'm talking poetic. =P Hehe.

This chapter was so.. amazing! The start got me immersed into her dream immediately and I wished that she would stay in it; in her own little world where all they do is dance with someone who compliments you. I really liked how you described the entire scenario and then made her reluctant to wake up from the dream. Brilliant job!

Luna's character is so honest and straightforward, it's hard not to love her. She says what on her mind and I love how you bring out that particular side of hers. Especially the part where she complimented his eyes, I loved her characterisation there. =P The fact that out of all things Rolf would find this sentence of hers the most awkward was extremely amusing and I was grinning from ear to ear when I read that part. =D

The adventure that they've begun now has gotten me curious now. I wonder what Demiguises are and what will happen next. you've such an amazing skill with words and you can pique someone's curiosity so well with such a simple scene, I love it. Keep it up!

This chapter was one of the best you've written. I really love this story and I must say that you're totally worthy of the Dobby Award you've won! =D

Author's Response: -blushing and melting into a puddle-

I really don't know the secret of how I get into the scenes and her head, but when the mood strikes, I can usually see and feel the scene as I write it. Of all the chapters I've written, this one is my favorite, and all your praise means the world to me.

I always forget I wond a dobby for this. That fact still feels surreal.

Thank you so much.


 Report Review

Review #6, by HollyTheHolidayHorklump 

24th December 2011:
Ooh I felt like I was walking right through her dream. I could sort of see it floating in clouds around her room as she slept. But no, no more dreaming Luna; adventure awaits!

Luna please say things all the time. It's so lovely and awkward, except a Luna sort of awkward, so it's only awkward to other people, which makes it infinitely adorably amusing. Describing the professor as eager, and then telling Rolf very plainly that he has gorgeous watercolor eyes.

Whatever words he was searching for seemed to escape him, and he shifted uncomfortably in his seat. The sound of a jingling collar and a rolling gait excused Rolfs turn in the conversation. Barney, boy. Can I just hug all of that right now?

Luna knows how to do a proper adventure! :D The more I hear the Professor and others, the more distinct Luna's voice is, in contrast. I get absorbed into Luna's thoughts so quickly - it's so lovely to look through the world in her eyes.

It's no wonder you've won a Dobby for this! :) Beautiful writing!

Author's Response: Looking back at it, that dream was the weirdest thing I've ever written, but I really adore it for Luna's sake. She's very straight forward, never really seeing a reason not to be. Rolf may take a bit to get used to it, and perhaps he never will, but it intrigues him if nothing else.

baww. I still can't believe I won a dobby for this. So surreal. All the more reason I should get my act together and update this once and a while.

Thank youu again.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lanks127 

7th November 2011:
I'm really enjoying your writing. Luna always seems so unappreciated it's interesting to read something from her perspective. And I feel like you captured her fanciful nature. Awesome.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #8, by onestop_hpfan18 

15th October 2011:
Ah, Mel, this was a brilliant chapter! Really was the best yet! I love Rolf already, and you're Luna is simply divine. You've really stuck to Luna's characterisation from the books in developing her as a young adult. I also loved the comment Luna made about Rolf's eyes, it just struck me as very Luna-like, especially with Rolf feeling uncomfortable after she made it. ;) Very cute.

Also, I loved the ending, too. It showed more connection between both Luna and Rolf, like they were on the same page. The only critic I have is that some misplaced/missing commas in a few places and at the end you wrote 'drams' instead of 'dreams'. At least that's what I think you meant to write. Other than that though I really loved this chapter. It was so rich in description and flowed smoothly, very Luna-esque. :D 10/10

Author's Response: Leslie. Your reviews never fail to make my day!

Rolf is like my lumberjack dream man, so it makes him very fun to write. I'm glad you are enjoying this story, and hope you continue to do so as I begin updating it again. Also, the misplaced commas will be dealt with promptly. I never really took this fic seriously until it garnered all sorts of attention in the Dobby's, so it never had a beta before.

thank you again.
xoxo


 Report Review

Review #9, by Owlpost68 

10th October 2011:
Aw, that was great. I love how you always start with her dreaming, but the way you write her character, it is very like she's dreaming all the time, but in a realistic way, if that makes any sense lol. It's great she's trying their version of an adventure, and I've come to the conclusion that there are many types of them. Both have their good points as well :) Rolf is definitely taking her personality in stride, almost like Harry did. I thought it was cute she told him a little about her dream though. You've really captured how Luna is. I find it really refreshing that, out of all JKR's characters, the stories I've read with Luna as the main character have all been done very well. They didn't want to get Luna wrong, because she's so unique. We can all put a bit of our own uniqueness and still get her character right actually. She's a great character to write. There were a spelling mistake or 2, but it's very subtle. lol I've actually been thinking of going into editing because I'm able to catch things like that. Even if it's been beta'd, that happened once lol. Anyway, great job! You totally deserve being up for a dobby, really great job.

Author's Response: Hey again! I never really thought this story would be particularly popular or whatever, so I never really bothered scrutinizing it for typos. I'm in the process of having it beta'd so I can edit it and polish it up. Thank you so much for everything!!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by HarrietHopkirk 

10th October 2011:
I'M GOING TO BE SO COHERENT AND ELOQUENT AND EVERYTHING AND GENERALLY MAKE WONDERFULLY COMMENTS ABOUT THE BEAUTY OF THE LANGUAGE AND THE IMAGERY AND SYMBOLISM BUT LOL REALLY I'M GOING TO COPY AND PASTE LOADS AND LOADS OF QUOTES BECAUSE YOUR WRITING IS SO DREAMY...

Oh my days, Melissaaa... dis so gd mun.

Obviously the dream is totally and wonderfully gorgeous. It's so... Luna, and you've got her wonderfully canon and so beautifully characterised that it's just so pretteh n luvlih. I love the reference to her old room (it must be so long since she's been there) and her friends - as much I love Rolf and Barney, I'd love to see some more interaction with Harry n da gang.

Luvin on da paintbrush metaphor ting (it fits with the picture): The artist responsible for this world had not given her a form, only essence. She wished for the paint brush to grant her a body, legs to move with, hands to feel with, but It did not appease her.

The clouds and stars had joined in alongside the couples, dancing as only they could. ♥ ♥

SHE TINK DUST IS PRETTEH. DA RYTING PRETTEH 2.

"You know, I had a dream that was that same colour as your eyes. It made me think, it'd make a very nice shade for a water colour."

"Barney better toughen up," Luna skipped ahead of the pair, "This is an adventure after all."


THEY ARE IN EACH OTHER'S DRAMS?

DRAMCEPTION.

BUT IF IT'S MEANT TO BE DREAMS.

THEN INCEPTION.

EEE WELL GOOD MELISSA. REALLY. TRULY.

Author's Response: Hattie. ♥♥♥

DREAMCEPTION. BRM.

Thank you so much for your review. After going so long without writing this -hangs head in shame- I was a little leary about whether or not it captured the same style as previous chapters have. I am happy with the outcome though, and so happy that I was finally able to update.

ahaha. I had hoped that the Barney line wasn't too out of character for her... but it was cute-funnay in my head so I had to throw it in there. You must know that I have no real plans for this fic... each chapter sort of just happens as it may, so whether or not we see harry and the gang is unknown to me.

Thank you so much for reviewing... and I'll have you know, Chapter images are on their way. Complete with Barney, Rolf, and Luna. ♥

Love and hugs,
Melissa


 Report Review

Review #11, by Mihali1432 

10th October 2011:
The way Luna takes in her surroundings makes me believe it's Luna! Wish I could write like this myself, it's amazing.

I think I saw one small spelling/grammar mistake, but we're only human! And I can't find it now so... Yeah.

I have no idea what to say but keep on writing! :D It's really good and I'm glad you requested a review from me (Because I doubt I would've ever found this if you didn't)!

Author's Response: Aww. Thank you so much!! I am so glad that I requested a review from you too! I'll have a look over it again with my fine toothed grammar comb.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Toujours Padfoot 

9th October 2011:
MELISSA! I KNEW THAT AN ETERNITY OF NAGGING WOULD EVENTUALLY PAY OFF. I AM STILL TYPING IN CAPS LOCK.

See, this is why you are a finalist in the Dobbys and Snitches. You could go another four months without updating and I would still come back to read this story. From the very first sentence, it's /so/ Luna. I really, really admire your ability to step inside the head of a character like that. I've said it before and I expect you'll tire of hearing it, but Luna is this dreamy, otherworldly person but she also has sense, and it's a slippery slope to walk. You do it absolutely perfectly.

I loved the colors here, and how everything was so floaty and dreamy and soft. Luna just does things without question, nothing ever a coincidence, and she just drifts from day to day. I would love to be a little bit like Luna, always appreciating the good things, radiating positivity. I am just completely awestruck over the way you manage to write her so well.

And Rolf! The dream! I was like YAYY IT WAS HIM, IT WAS HIM, WASN'T IT? And the way Luna told him that his eye color was in his dreams, just so matter-of-fact like, "So yeah, I dreamed about your eye color." *continues to eat her breakfast like it's no big deal* And he's all :O WHO IS THIS WOMAN?! They are so meant to be. Squeee. I cannot wait to see what happens in chapter five!



Author's Response: CAPS LOCKS IS THE TYPESCRIPT OF THE GODS.

I'm so happy you lot have nagged me consistently for the last four months to update this. I really love this fic. I love Luna and the place in my head where I have to be to write this. It is so surreal to me to be a FINALIST.

To be honest (and I think I've said this before) I use description, and the way Luna sees her world to convey her character. She's one who very much lives inside her head, views the world and takes nothing in it for granted. Floaty and dreamy are always my aims for her, so the fact that I can keep producing just that without sounding repetitive is amazing to me.

I would love to be a little bit like Luna too. Though, I really do believe that a little bit of her lives in all of us. It's that little bit left over from childhood in which simplicity is beautiful.

And ROLF. I won't be spoiling any surprises by saying that it was him. Though do keep in mind that there was that mention of his wife in the last chapter... Luna doesn't grasp society's guidelines of what is appropriate/awkward (Hawkward, Awkwalrus) She says and lives as she feels she should.

Love you, love this review.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login
Add a Review